Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Riad Malaïka

17 rue Zayan, 44100 Essaouira, Morocco

#12 of 88 hotels in Essaouira

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 485 hotel reviews

9.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.2

  • Comfort

    8.7

  • Location

    9.5

  • Facilities

    8.8

  • Staff

    9.7

  • Value for money

    9

  • Free WiFi

    7.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing I wish was that the roof terrace was made more of a feature. Perhaps more lounges or thought into the decor. We didn’t really use it but if there was the option to enjoy it with a cold beer after a day of beach and wondering before dinner then we might have.

    It’s a stunning Riad and the courtyard was beautiful. I loved everything about the decor of the courtyard and the restaurant area. The room was also lovely. I loved that the kitchen was open and you could see the women cooking from morning, preparing the stunning meals they served in the evening. The restaurant experience was amazing, the service was great, lovely staff and the food, so good! In terms of value it’s incredible, 20 euros I think and I’d say the three course meal equates to £60-£80 per head in terms of standard, high end food. The desserts alone were a piece of art. We ate there twice and children eat free which is a lovely gesture, preparing a special meal for our daughter. They serve wine and beer which was lovely and they had lovely music also playing. Great place. The breakfast is also lovely.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    I feel like I should try to think of something to make the review balanced but I can't think of anything.

    This place is how you want all places to be, the people are friendly and there to help but are also really chilled and let you just get on with it. When I needed a SIM card rather than direct me to the shop the general manager insisted that he went down and bought it for me, and had it back within 1 hour! The room was really comfortable and the traditional decor throughout was tastefully done. The food was fantastic; great value, traditional cuisine cooked from scratch each day in an open kitchen. The owners were lovely, friendly warm, knowledgeable and they clearly know how to hire great people as everyone who worked there was a pleasure to talk to and helpful. I felt like I really lucked out choosing this place.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Standard room was small - we were relocated to larger room.

    Very friendly staff and located in perfect spot in centre of medina. Highlight was the evening meal - I have eaten at best restaurants around the world and this is up with the best!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed in a twin room at the second floor, the room was ok but the bathroom was too small and when you get a shower everything gets wet.

    The staff was very friendly and helpfull. Breakfast was nice too.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The rooms are quite small, but the welcoming attitude, service, and friendliness of the people who work here make up for the inconvenience!

    We had an excellent stay here! The staff are amazing, the food is great, the place is beautiful. We felt so at home here and loved it.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The place Looked more upscale in their photos than in real life

    A really quiet beautiful terrace that no one ever went to so there was a it privacy. I really delicious breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    If you have big luggages there isn't much space in the room to open them.

    -Excellent position! -Very characteristic bathroom all made with mosaics.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Staff were so friendly and helpful. Yasin in particular was delightful, recommending us a lovely restaurant, he was an asset to the place, we felt taken care of. The women in the kitchen worked so hard and produced amazing food, and the beds were very comfortable. Enchanting 😊

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very beautiful riad, extremely friendly staff and the owners were super nice. We felt really cozy and welcome at the moment we arrived til the checkout! I highly recommend riad Malaika

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Riad Malaika is a beautiful Riad with very friendly staff. What makes it stand out apart from the decoration is the people that work there! Girls cooking in the (very clean) kitchen were singing and enjoying their time. Ingredients for dinner were just bought by the market and looked really fresh. We were welcomed by the manager with some tea. He was very kind to show us all the places of interest on the map and recommend a few places to eat and shop. He was very kind and sincere even helping us avoid tourist traps. Highly recommended for Essaouira!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    issues with bird in cage making noise late at night and a pipe knocking off and on! Room was good bath not so as all black. Bed sheets not so good very old should replace.

    Staff friendly excellent breakfast location outstanding. Pick up at bus station very helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Terrace
    • Stayed 4 nights

    leaving!

    Fantastic staff made us feel very welcome. It was our Birthday while we were there and Meena made us a beautiful cake. Fab location in the old town. We ate there each night as the food was so good. Nothing was too much trouble and all our activities were booked before we arrived by the owners. Truly excellent holiday and we both want to return again soon.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing

    Everything. The breakfast was superb. It was homemade, delicious, copious and it varied each day. We had one evening meal which was to the same high standard. Staff couldn't be more helpful, they made you feel very relaxed.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Massive mold build up in the bathroom of Room 2, pervasive mildew in the air? My night shirt smells of mildew even after leaving Essaouira. Also, only hand held shower in Room 2, no wall mount to hang it! Room 4 faucets leak pervasively all over the floor with no ability to mitigate.

    Gorgeous Riad, fabulous staff, decor, food, location, wish I could give the facility an excellent however my room was intense,y filled with mildew. Beds comfy.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food was delicious! Dining in the evening was relaxing and enjoyable, we loved the music and atmosphere. Staff were very genuine and helpful. Loved staying here!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    nothing

    excellent place to stay very good service from the staff. I ate at the riad four out of five nights the food was excellent. very good breakfast and a very tranquil setting will stay again when in Essouiara

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Absolutely beautifully decorated Riad. Perfect location, beautiful roof top terrace and staff extremely friendly and helpful. Best breakfast so far in Morocco and Dinner at the Riad is a must. Very special!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing!

    Incredible building right in the heart of the medina but is still very peaceful and quiet. The food was incredible, breakfast was all homemade and different each morning. If you get the chance book an evening meal with them also as that was delicious and very generous portions. Staff were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    only downside is its a bit difficult to find at first as the street isn't marked but you can get it easy on goggle maps.

    Food was amazing. best tagine in Morocco. Breakfast was really nice - changed daily, our favourite was the scrambled egg/tomato and Moroccan pancake, good coffee. Staff were happy and really helpful -They had excellent recommendations for food, bikes, hammams etc Rooms are understated beautiful Moroccan elegance, a good terrace to hide from the wind and it was very quiet at night. only downside is its difficult to find at first as the street isnt marked but you can get it easy on goggle maps.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Loved this riad! My (superior) room was both spacious and beautiful, as was the bathroom. The food is excellent and the staff both gracious and helpful. The location is also excellent for exploring the medina and the plage. The cook is superb!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I don't find anything to complain about.

    Just perfect. An atmosphere of 1001 nights and a true feeling of elegance and authenticity. Seeing Mina and her assistants in the kitchen is pure delight. She is a wonderful chef and I wish her a long way to fame and recognition. Food was delicious and extremely well presented. And breakfast outstanding. Sylvie warmly cares about every details with discretion and efficiency. Abdou always has the right answer to your questions and needs. The place is furnished with incredible taste and respect of local traditions. Our room wasn't very big but perfect and with a wonderful window. You really have the feeling to be in an old home with stories to tell and since the atrium you just feel being transported in another kind of journey.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This was an amazing spot. The rooms are cleaned daily and the staff are incredibly welcoming and helpful! The space is very beautiful and I felt safe and comfortable at all times.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    A beautiful and well functioning Riad in the middle of Medina. Fantastic cuisine to be remembered long after the visit. The lady chef is a culinary artist! Despite of the location deep inside of the Medina, transport of the luggages to and from the Riad works very well.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was really lovely, and the Riad was very thoughtful in upgrading us. The only recommendation I would suggest is to have a few more pillows.

    The Riad is really beautiful and is in a great location to explore the Medina. The chef at the restaurant makes the most phenomenal lamb tagine. It was so good we had dinner at the Riad twice during our stay!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Terrace
    • Stayed 4 nights

    honestly - not a thing. I cannot recommend Riad Maliaka highly enough

    The Riad was fantastic from start to finish - the staff were friendly, approachable. The accommodation was wonderfully clean and the food was excellent. Breakfast was included in the deal, and we opted to eat dinner there one night as well (easily the food highlight of our trip).

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very nice cozy little safe haven in the busy streets of the Essaouira medina. Abdullah was very helpful in getting us oriented in a city where it is easy to get lost. EAT AT THEIR RESTAURANT! (It was really good)

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything about our stay was perfect. From the moment we booked, the Malaika team has been swift to answer our every need. I wrote in advance that we'd like hammam and massage and they were immediately booked upon our arrival; I asked about their excursions and a great tour of the greater area was immediately booked for the next day- from the very remote beach of Iftane, to Sidi Kaouki and Sidi Mbarc, we got to experience everything in half a day. The apartment is stunningly decorated and I could not take my eyes off the lobby. The entire riad is an exhibition in impeccable taste and care for detail. The breakfast is delicious- even more so at 4 am before our shuttle to Casablanca airport. The best thing about Malaika are the people. And the design. And the beds. And the breakfast. But definitely the people. Essaouira is one of my favourite places in the world and Malaika managed to make me love it even more.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Have toured round Morocco for 2 weeks and this Riad was by far the best night's sleep I had - bed so comfortable and lovely soft pillows. Breakfast was also the best. Very tastefully decorated and staff extremely helpful and welcoming

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The Riad was good but the food was amazing. Michelin starred quality food produced by a local woman working out of a small kitchen . All the staff were very helpful and welcoming. The only downside was it was a little noisy.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely accommodation, great breakfast, delightful dinner. Staff and owner were very friendly and helpful. In a great location, perfect for the Medina and pleasant walk to the beach.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved the Riad! Convenient location not too far into the medina and close to the exit into the city to see the sights! The women running the Riad were fabulous and so eager to please us with everything. Breakfast was fabulous with a wide array of food served every morning. Dinner was delish too!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Terrace
    • Stayed 4 nights

    This riad is beautiful with a great rooftop terrace. The staff and owners were very friendly and helpful. The food was fantastic with different breakfast items every day and a great evening meal menu. The presentation was amazing! Highly recommended.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Terrace
    • Stayed 3 nights

    This is the best riad we have ever stayed in. Right in the centre of town, but just tucked away enough from the business. We loved the place not just because of the fantastic deco and comfortableness and spaciousness of our room, but also because of the wonderful staff. The owner Sylvie and her team are most welcoming and accommodating people we have ever met on a trip, the chief is also amazing! Make sure you have dinner at the hotel! We have already booked our second trip to stay with them again!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit of smell of humidity in the room:( I don't know if it was because of Essaouira that is a bit humid since it is on the beach...

    The service was great! Abdallah was of a great great help, he had very good advice and recommendations.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Amazing dinners at the Riad. The resident cook could easily open her own restaurant somewhere in Paris and become very successful. All the staff were delightful, very helpful ... I think both reception guys speak 5 languages ...

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dinner was beautifully presented, particularly artistic deserts. Flavours not quite up to standard of presentation. Possibly challenging to get perfect produce, eg fruit in the heat and local conditions.

    Very dramatic and beautiful Riad, peaceful atmosphere. Very good communication and friendly staff and French owner.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This was probably the best breakfest and food in general that we have experianced. If you compare that to top New York or London venues, the riad's cooking is far better! Apart from beautiful place that is, one needs to sign up for the cooking!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was perfect

    Friendly and helpful staff. Lovely decor and ambiance. Wonderful breakfast and dinner. Perfect resting place in the heart of the medina.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Excellent Riad in Essaouira. Super-helpful and understanding staff, gorgeous food (definitely opt to have dinner here, and do it more than once), good location. Will return to stay here again, insyallah.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The soap bar looks fancy but it goes hard on the skin. Toilet could be a tiny bit cleaner.

    Beautiful architecture, excellent staff, perfect balance between small/boutique/feel-at-home and a hotel with comfortable amenities.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There are a lot of stairs for those traveling with a lot or heavy bags. The staff was helpful and carried them first us, though.

    The staff was nice and very helpful. Breakfast was delicious! Great location!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The terrace at the top could do with a little up grade but that is probably being a bit picky!!

    A really superb small riad in the heart of the Medina. The staff are excellent and both breakfast and evening meal very good. If fact we tried the top three restaurants on trip advisor and the food here was far better, you just have to order in advance, by 3PM as they only have 5 tables It is very good value for money. The inside is original decor and you really feel that you are back in time. If you want chrome and glass, then this is probably not the place for you. For us, it was just perfect.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms tend to be pretty small, and bathrooms can smell a wee bit off (Essaouira water in general has a bit of an odour).

    In keeping with Essaouira's mellow, faded seaside charms, tourists here will generally not find the sort of manicured Riad- and Dar-stay opulence they would in Marrakesh or Fez. The Riad Malaika is a very good option here: excellent location, at once in the heart of the small, charming medina, and a 3-4 minute-walk from the Atlantic seafront; very reasonable price; and a very helpful staff. The courtyard on the ground floor is cosy and charming, and the effect is recreated with blue tiles on every floor. The Wifi was excellent: the best I encountered during my trip to Morocco. I would definitely consider staying here again on a return visit to Essaouira (we recommended it to two friends as well) -- a huge thanks to Abdullah for his excellent guidance, and to the ever-helpful kitchen staff for the very nice breakfasts.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect stay!

    Very charming lovely riad in a very central location of the medina. We had an amazing room and the interior design is very beautiful - exactly what we were looking for. We also had dinner at the riad which was délicious and i recommand to everyone to live this experience. The staff is very friendly and helping with all questions you could have!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing!

    This is a really beautiful Riad. Exceptionally well managed with lovely friendly staff. The food is amazing and varied- traditionally Moroccan, beautifully presented and everything is made on the premises. Fresh yogurt and fresh cheese for breakfast with homemade jams and pancakes. Wonderfully crafted desserts complete with spun sugar tower! Lovely roof terrace with views over the roof terraces to the sea. Very peaceful despite being in the heart of the medina.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful and centrally located Riad, very nice staff that gave us great recommendations for Essaouira, super-delicious dinner (a must, 3 courses for 18€) and breakfast and we even got an upgrade to the junior suite right next to the rooftop terrace :) I can definitely recommend it!!!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A room on the first floor can get loud in the mornings, but maybe that's a good way to wake up to not miss the day.

    Special attention to the details, such as freshly made gluten free galettes for breakfast (which is served until 17.00!!! for those having it easy in the mornings), was a real treat. A glass of wine under the stars on the terrace was a nice way to close the day.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The doorless shower, that caused the whole bathroom to shower with me.

    Excellent breakfasts and really friendly and helpful staff. Being picked up at the bus station. Traditional Moroccan interior.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bedroom felt very slightly damp, but perhaps this was due to Essaouira being a seaside town.

    We were met at the bus station by a man with a cart who took us to the Riad. The Riad was central and within easy walking distance of everything. The room was clean and had a nice bathroom. The entrance courtyard is beautiful had a homey feel. The room was quiet at night. The staff were helpful and the breakfast was excellent.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    leaving to go home!!!

    we enjoyed every part of our stay at Riad Malaika. from the start a man came with a cart and took us to the Riad from the taxi stop. check in was smooth and we had a drink for us on arrival. the room was lovely and there is a roof terrace to soak up the sun and relax. we booked dinner the first night which was beautiful, so well presented we didn't want to eat it just admire the chefs work, very tasty and beautifully presented. everyone of the staff were brilliant and will help with anything you need, nothing is too much trouble. Abdul was always there to help and we have made friends with everyone.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Terrace
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was good.

    We liked everything about the place. The decor, the comfort, the location, the roof terrace.... And best of all were the charming staff, excellent organisation and help from Hakkim, and the food. THE FOOD!! Absolutely delicious and beautifully presented. We would love to go back.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Extremly friendly atmosphere. The amazing evenning dinner. The stylish settings and the helpfull staff. We Will looking forward to visit it again soon.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved the convenient location and the sun soaked roof terrace. The stafff were all incredibly friendly and breakfast was delicious. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Facilities of the room, especially the bathroom are old. The room had a sense/smell of moisture.

    The breakfast was delicious and everyday different. Very nice food in general. The location is also super comfy if you want to be in the center of Medina. The entrance and public faculties of the riad are beautiful.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed linen/ mattress TV in room.

    The bedroom was NOT up to standard The bed itself did not have proper linen nor pillows. It was not made properly each day and resulted in hours of rearranging mattress cover , mattress , sheets etc. Linen and pillow cases could improve. Decor were cheaply done and were not at even a level of '3' star. Food Excellent Service Excellent Could do with TV in room but were told Riad does not have any but most Riad in Marrakech have TVs. Do NOT recommend massage arranged by the Hotel even with their good intentions.Hammam is literally throwing water over you... leaving you in the room for 20 mins , coming back and soaping you and again leaving you for 20 mins finally scrubbing you after another 20 mins ... hour over. Massage OK say... 4 out of 10. Transport were arranged for return trip to airport... paid €20 tourist vehicle. On way back to airport on 4th Mar , the driver picked up other passengers charging them similar fare.I do not think the hotel was aware. If asked will I stay there again , answer is yes provided they improve in bed linen//decor.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a finger to put on anything.

    Excellent in all aspects, located directly in the old town Medina, but still situated in a calm area. The place is very authentic and the interior very nicely decorated / you actually feel back in history. Very nice terasse on the roof, with sun beds and relax areas, if you need a break from the hectic Medina. The resturant situated on the base, serve very nice and high standard menu / not cheap, but real value for money. We can only recommend others to visit the Riad, you will not be disappointed.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The property is lovely with loads of character. The food is excellent, a lovely filling breakfast and if you're looking for delicious Moroccan food for evening, book for dinner at the Riad. It was the best meal we had eaten all week. A special thanks to the team at the hotel, particularly when helping us with a medical issue, the service really was excellent. We would love to visit again for a little longer and have more chance to explore the area.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I stayed in this fantastic riad with my mother-in-law. Beforehand we organized a transfer from Marrakesh with the riad - and everything worked perfectly. At the riad, to our big surprise we got an upgrade from a normal double-bed room to a suite with one double-bed and one single-bed! Thanks again Piermark for allowing us to stay for our whole trip in this beautiful room, with direct access to the roof terrasse. The food in the riad was even better as I remembered (I was here 1 year ago). The cook should have at least 1 star in the Michelin guide! The whole staff is hearty, extremely helpfull, and was turning our trip into a special experience. Me and my mother-in-law highly recommend this beautiful riad in Essaouira.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff were amazing very attentive. once we booked our room we got an email from Slyvie and Piermark thanking us for our reservation and asking us if we needed any further assistance like being picked up from the airport etc. A great personal touch once we replied we got a prompt response back which was great. Very good location awesome team who provide you with a map of the town and recommend things to do. If they have the availability they'll give you a choice of the rooms even if it means you get a complimentary upgrade. Can't get better than that. If you're going to be in Essaouira give Riad Malaika a go. Definitely and Angel for us ;)

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing we didn't like.

    The staff were lovely, great bathroom with very hot water. Whole place was so relaxing and comfortable. We loved the cat!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This place has so much class! Everything was so well thought out, and tastefully furnished and decorated. They really know what travellers are looking for. Comfort, style, clear communication and reliable service. Hotel staff met me at the taxi and helped me bring back my luggage. Thanks Malaika, I'll be back!

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No heating in the room, noise in the room from people walking by in the halls / stairs, bed was too hard, room looks a little dated

    Location was great, staff is very caring, bathroom was nice, pickup and dropoff from and to the bus stop was also very nice!

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    We stayed one night and because we wanted separate beds they gave us the suite. The suite was comfortable and on the top floor near the roof terrace. We were also served an evening meal within the Riad and that was also great. The Riad itself is nice and quiet but in a good, central location within Essaouira.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would benefit from more storage space for clothes, but then we were there for a week which is probably longer than the average stay. Otherwise it was fabulous.

    Friendly and relaxing atmosphere, lovely helpful staff, great food and in the heart of the medina.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Riad felt worn (yes we realize it is hundreds of years old, but we stayed at many other Riads during our trip equally as old) and a bit dirty. The bed sheets looked very dingy with some stains and our room had a strong musky smell that made it hard to sleep. We did book the last room. I believe it was a "standard" but was excited based on the high reviews the hotel received. Maybe the other rooms are nicer? At check out the credit card machine didn't work so we had to go the ATM to pull out more cash, which ordinarily wouldn't have been a big deal but since we were headed to the airport we didn't need extra cash and of course had to pay the $10 bank fee in order to do so.

    Location was very central and manager gave some nice recommendations.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good location when you get familiar with the medina area . All the staff were fantastic ! So helpful and went out of their way to please . The design modern chic / traditional . Great eye for detail . Great breakfasts that change daily .

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Try their food. Dinner is fantastic, not to mention the fabulous desserts! And then in the morning a delicious breakfast prepared with so much care by the lovely women of the riad.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The place was in need of a little repair but it didn't affect our enjoyment of the Riad given it dates back a long way.

    Breakfast was extra special with fresh homemade delights that changed daily. Definitely a highlight wondering what would arrive at the breakfast table each morning.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bedroom could have been cleaner, it was a little damp and dusty - although the suite we were given was a substantial upgrade on what we paid for.

    On arrival, we were met off the bus by a member of staff and subsequently told that we had been upgraded to the suite at the top of the riad. Extremely spacious, lovely bathroom. Location was excellent, nice and quiet despite being in the centre of town and only 5 mins walk from the harbour. Breakfast was good quality.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room is quite small for a stay which last more than a couple of nights

    Food was excellent and beautifully presented. Well-worth checking in for dinner!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great Riad, very helpfull and nice, all of the recomendation were spot on. We had the room in the roof and it was amazing and a great value. Awesome breakfeat. The location is also very good, right in the centre of the old medina.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The town was very moist as it was open to ocean winds. So you might say how is this related to the hotel? Well as with most riads the rooms in this riad do not have windows to the outside and did not get proper sunlight. As a result the rooms smelled of moist. They should take out the beds to outside and expose them to sunshine to get rid of the moist and possibly some mite. If you are sensitive to moist i suggest that you stay at a hotel outside of the medina area. The town is very small so it is not so much trouble to stay outside of the medina. The rooms were pretty small. No tv and no air conditioning. The weather is pretty cool even during summer so i would have liked to turn on the heating. Location was supposed to be 50m to the beach. No way. Absolutely no way. That is a big lie. Beach is outside of the medina

    Very central. Very nicely decorated. Nice bathroom.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Interior decoration of the Riad was wonderful! Staff were very friendly. The Riad sent someone to meet us at the bus station and drop us off, as well as take our bags both times. Breakfast was lovely and the service was friendly. Overall a very clam and welcoming experience.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing- Everything was spectacular

    The service was amazing and the location made it even better. Very clean place . When you check in the manager seats you down to fill out a form and brings you tea and Moroccan snacks. I love the room! We stayed on the highest floor right outside the roof top area. I think we reallyy scored on that but i can back up all the other reviews😍 This place is magical. Thank you ABDELKARIM !

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very nice staff. Small riad which made it feel almost like being at home. Excellent kitchen. You could look right into it and talk to the ladies working there. Very good breakfast and nice dinner.

    Stayed in June 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Riad Malaïka traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: