Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Riad Mimouna

62, Rue Oujda, 44 000 Essaouira, Morocco

#27 of 88 hotels in Essaouira

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 737 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    8.6

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    8.3

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    8.4

  • Free WiFi

    7.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    9.6
    Piece of heaven amidst the Morrocon life
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amazing stay I don't usually review but I had to for here. The staff were so nice and helpful. After getting food poisoning In Marrakech.. this Riad was a little piece of heaven. Beautiful old building full of character overlooking the sea. We had a fab room with a view of the sea. And the rooftop overlooking the ocean was bliss... away from all the huddle of the media.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    8.8
    Lovely place in the heart of Essaouira
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing all good

    Lovely Riad, we stayed for few nights and we loved it, the staff is very friendly and welcoming, the room is very nice, maroccan style with the sea view, toilet a bit dated but riads are old traditional places so was fine. Not too difficult to get there, even if I suggest to do a couple of screenshots of google maps if you don't have wifi so It will be helpful, there are people who try to show you the way, don't follow them as they will want money at the end. Breakfast very good with lots of things - orange juice, handmade cakes, bread and butter and yogurt and you will have it on the roof terrace!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    8.8
    Very relaxing and comfortable stay......
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Mini Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Adjusting the shower taps to achieve a comfortable temperature took a little patience and the mattress whilst comfortable would have benefitted from having a matress 'topper' to make it a bit softer.

    We were upgraded from a 'mini-suite' to a larger one a facing the sea. Room was very comfortable with stunning views and the sound of the incoming tide crashing against the sea wall and rocks beneath us. Breakfast on the roof-top and optional evening meals with a 360 degree vista of the city beneath. The staff were friendly and very helpful and really contributed to a great experience at Mimouna. The chamber maid had a great knack of knowing when we were out and timed her daily visits accordingly The Riad was apparently rebuilt in the early 2000s from what had been a flour mill on the edge of the former Jewish 'Mellah' and retains the central (now covered) traditional courtyard.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    10
    The view from the suite is breathtaking and so pleasant !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Mini Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The suite we had was really good and big and the view was perfect but it was just under the restaurant (room 301) We could hear all the noise from the moving chairs/tables from the restaurant, early in the morning, it woke me up..

    The view from the suite is breathtaking and so pleasant ! View directly on the ocean and the medina ! Beautiful ! The breakfast is served on the rooftop terrace or restaurant , which offers a beautiful view of the ocean!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    7.5
    the place was lovely, view was amazing but not sure it was really worth the money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Some of the staff weren't personable, and there were a few times we needed help and it never came.

    we really liked the view and loved the decor of the foyer and entrance, its quite beautiful

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2018

    10
    All was amazing, It is in the center of the Médina with an...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All was amazing, It is in the center of the Médina with an incredible terrace and the workers are nice and friendly. The food in the Riad was very good; generally is difficult to find a Riad in the Médina but after you understand the location it is easy. They gave to me an upgrade whiteout I asked and I had a wonderful room with see view. All was perfect.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    7.1
    Nice stay, yet overpriced
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Floors remained unswept during our stay (4 nights), Towels were neatly folded the first day, then just shoved on the shelves the next days We had to pay for water during our dinner, which was included in our reservation. We thought it was cheap..

    Wonderful staff, Karim @ the front desk is a gem! Helpful, polite, and reactive! We reserved a room with a sea view, and were upgraded to a mini suite, lovely sight!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    8.8
    Great stay with an amazing view over the sea!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The riad is placed in a great location and offers an absolutely amazing view over the sea. The breakfast we had overlooking the sea was great, fresh orange juice, great coffee and a great variety of local foods. The rooms offer what you need and are cosy as well as clean.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    8.8
    Breathtaking views, and a very happy stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Mini Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The sinks and showers have been strangely designed so its easy to flood the bathroom. And the hotel isn't in the best part of town.

    Wonderful hotel - one of the best in Essaouira, I imagine. Incredible location, right on the walls of the medina overhanging the ocean (the corner rooms are the best, if you can get one, overlooking the ocean on two sides). Fantastic roof terrace and very friendly staff.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    9.2
    Very attractive, well located riad with exceptional service
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms had no sitting space

    Room with sea view was fabulous, had the waves beating just outside our window. It was a lovely riad although no sitting space in the room.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    5.8
    Good location, nice employees
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a misunderstanding with the front desk staff but they managed to solve it after many conversations.

    Beds and pillows not comfy but location is really good. No access to the beach.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    9.6
    The restaurant and the sun terrace
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    At first they said that the suppletory bed was small but in fact it was perfect. Bad communication which meant that we had booked a room somewhere else for the third person in our group.

    The restaurant and the sun terrace

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    10
    Absolutely recommended when planning a stayiin Essaouira
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If your room is road side, expect late night noise outside.

    Beautiful location, very clean, very friendly staff, excellent breakfast, lovely ocean view from their sun deck.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    7.9
    Beautiful riad in a great location with fabulous views of the Atlantic Ocean. Highly recommended.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hot water goes on and off - okay in summer, but may be a problem in winter!

    This riad is in a great location with fabulous views of the Atlantic Ocean. Highly recommended.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    10
    Thank you for a wonderful stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The staff was extremely helpful and kind, at any time. Very good location, a couple minutes walk from everything in the Medina, restaurants, the port and shops. All our wishes during the trip were taken into account and executed by the staff, and always with a smile. Amazing traditional rooftop breakfast with an ocean view. This stay made Essaouira my favourite place in Morocco. Next time I will book a room with an ocean view since I heard it is spectacular and worth the extra money.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    7.5
    View of the sea from the room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tucked well inside the walled city a bit hard to find your way back at night down unlit alleyways. Lone travellers might be put off.

    View of the sea from the room

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    10
    Very enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing not to like.

    Friendly, helpful, attentive. Clean, welcoming and peaceful. Excellently situated. I was fortunate to have a stunning view of the Atlantic. The waves lap the foot of the building and lull you to sleep. Beautiful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    7.5
    Hotel-style riad with truly unbeatable views over Essaouira and the sea.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The view is so beautiful that you almost don't realise it, but the rooms could do with a bit of improvement. The bathroom was cramped, and the room decor was run down and dated. The place is a bit more like a hotel than an authentic riad. No wifi reception at all in our room, had to go to the terrace for wifi. Definitely come for the seafront views, not expecting high-quality rooms.

    The view is unbeatable, with stunning views of the coast in both directions. The tide comes right up to the building at night, which is incredible -- feels like you're out at sea. The rooftop terrace is the most impressive aspect of this riad, with 360 degree views across Essaouira. You will get truly stunning views and photos. Breakfast was good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    8.8
    Very helpful, professional and accommodating staff. Extraordinary ocean views, romantic setting.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Mini Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The staff was extraordinarily helpful and kind when we needed to leave early due to a family emergency and made a request to change the name on the reservation to a friend's name. They called us back on our phone when we were told they would call and could not have been more helpful and professional. When requests were made to bring things like a heater and tea to the room, staff arrived quickly. When we needed to leave late that night, they were very helpful by sending us with a guide through the dark streets, to help us find a taxi. The room we were assigned was everything I had requested (two corners with ocean view). The upgrades to the hotel since my last stay are well done. We are looking forward to returning.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    6.3
    Not so clean, but great view
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's not clean. The bathroom was so dirty and the water has strange taste so washing teeth was not a plesent experiance (but maybe that is not hotel's problem). There is no alcohol in the hotel.

    The view is fantastic, and the location is good. A lot of great resturants are close.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    7.1
    Perfect basics, don't ask for extra services.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We did our laundry at the Mimouna and had to pay 27 euro for 1,5 plastic bag of clothes. It felt like a scam as they didn't mentioned the expenses on forehand and didn't want to compromise on the price

    Nice style and good value for money.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    9.6
    excellent view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    an older receptionist we met for a first time at check out kept the change from our bill as a tip

    excellent view helpful staff tasty breakfast and food in the restaurant in general great location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    8.8
    Beautiful Riad, great location, amazing view from the dining...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful Riad, great location, amazing view from the dining room out along the coast. I would definitely recommend opting for a room with a sea view. Hearing the waves crash the the night below you is a really magical experience

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    10
    The Ryad has a great location, an easy walk to the busier...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Ryad has a great location, an easy walk to the busier tourist area and right over the Atlantic. We also appreciated how the front desk manager went out of her way to fix a booking problem. We had booked a room with a sea view. This was not available the first night so were invited to dinner. Then the next night we were upgraded to a suite with sea view. We were very happy overlooking the sea. The front manager and other staff were very gracious about the situation.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    9.2
    OCEAN VIEW
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Mini Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    can`tell.

    This hotel was amazing. we had a small suite with the most amazing view over the atlantic. u need to open the windows at night to here the sound of the ozean - amazing. all together would recommend to everybody who visit this beautyful town.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    9.2
    Wonderful stay in a lovely hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There in February and weather was bad, perhaps the coldest and wettest they are likely to have, and hotel not designed for cold weather!

    The location was exceptional, right in the old town with an exceptional view of the sea from the bedroom window. Restaurant view, and a really good breakfast. Staff were also really friendly.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    7.1
    The restaurant & cleaning staff were wonderful, and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There are many hotels in Essa, and I would likely not book this one again. The room we booked was not the one we got. We discussed with front reception, and they helped us by giving us another one.

    The restaurant & cleaning staff were wonderful, and amazing view from the rooftop. The view from the restaurant are amazing.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    9.6
    Perfect, relaxing and comfortable stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Our room was just next to the elevator, so we had some noise in the evening when guests came home or in the morning when people went to the breakfast, but it was not very disturbing.

    We, a couple from Germany, spent three nights in this Riad and fortunately got an upgrade for our room and slept in a Mini-Suite. Amazing view on the sea, a comfortable and big bed, enough space for your staff and a nice and clean bathroom. Also the location was great, you were directly in the medina and very soon at the sea and the harbour. A little heating was available in case you feel cold. The breakfast was extensive with coffee, fresh orange juice, croissants, bread, Kiri, a cake, a hard-boiled egg, a yoghurt and a little bottle of water. The personal was very kind and welcomed us with a fresh tea. We had a perfect stay!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    9.6
    The ocean view is amazing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Mini Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only two available sockets, and the water temperature was hard to control. But these were minor details really.

    The ocean view is amazing! It’s incredible to fall asleep and wake up to the waves of the Atlantic ocean. The breakfast was good, the staff was very kind and helpful. I hope I will have a chance to come back in the future!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    9.2
    A palace in Essaouira having sensational view!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Mini Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Water pressure in bathroom is a point to be improved. Take 10 minutes of walking into consideration reaching the Riad. It is is not a thing that can be improved. There are people that can help you with luggage outside the Medina to the Riad.

    The Riad has just been renovated, it looks fantastic in its Moroccan style. We had a room directly over viewing the ocean, breath taking. Beds were large which in Morocco is not usual.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    9.6
    Incredible beautiful hotel, tradional decor and food, amazing sea/beach/rocky plateaus views fviews
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No alcohol available , but this didn't lessen our amazing time

    Staff , very helpful , polite and accommodating. Amazing views 180 degrees over beach/ sea /rock plateaus in bedroom , dining room and Terrance .Beautiful traditional decor and furnishings. Best place I have stayed, great breakfast.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2017

    9.2
    The wind palace
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We could have only one night there, unfortunately.

    Incredible location on the edge of the water. Beautiful building and interior. Amazing roof top restaurant and terrace. Friendly, talkative staff in the restaurant.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    10
    The power of the ocean
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was perfect! The room super clean with a wonderful view, the breakfast yummy and the staff nice and helpful especially the receptionst Kerim! I would come back tomorrow!!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    9.6
    Gorgeous location and beautiful room made for a wonderful stay, wifi and hot water could be improved
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Mini Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Wifi access in our room was sketchy at best and most of the time unusable - it was much better on the terrace and in the lounge. Some fresh fruit at breakfast would have been nice. Hot water was a little temperamental and seemed to change temperature of its own accord but this is an old medina so perhaps this can't be helped.

    Our room was expansive, beautifully appointed and was perched directly over the ocean - an absolute delight! Falling asleep to the sound of waves and waking up to the sunrise over the ocean was pure bliss. The staff were lovely and the rest of the property was equally stunning.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    9.6
    Wow! Spectacular view of coast & city from medina sea wall.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Restaurant didn't have many menu items (seafood) available for dinner, which was disappointing. What we did order was delicious and service was great. Highly recommend restaurant for breakfast; recommend looking elsewhere for dinner.

    Wow. The view! Beautiful, clean room and spectacular view of coast and city - from the room! Slept with windows open, with sound of waves crashing. Comfy bed, friendly staff who are very helpful and accommodating. View from rooftop terrace and restaurant are breathtaking.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    5.0
    Beautiful sea view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were suspicious short hairs in the sink basin. Flies around the lamp shade. No mini bar in room, despite advertised.

    Beautiful sea view. Not awoken by the call to prayer.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    10
    Mesmerising sea views
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Mini Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amazing sea views.. the best I have ever had. We booked the mini suite but on arrival they had given us a free upgrade to a suite. Lovely clean Riad in quiet location but 5 mins and Your in the hustle and bustle of the souks. Amazing sea views from restaurant and roof terrace. Friendly and helpful staff. Well recommend but ensure you get a sea view room as mesmerising watching the waves crash into the rocks

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    9.2
    Great ocean view!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room assigned was next to the stairs to access the restaurant and there was a lot of noise coming out from the other guests, not much could’ve done if people is noisy in the stairs and halls of any hotel :(

    Clean, lovely ocean view

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    6.3
    Not recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The humidity in the rooms was too high (the bed sheets were almost wet). The rooms had an old house smell. The drawers were dusty. The shower was dirty.

    Stunning room view.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    8.8
    The view from our bedroom was breathtaking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The Riad charged my credit card before my arrival and I assumed that it was just a hold to ensure the booking. I had cash to pay for my stay which I had set aside and would have preferred this method. Booking.com also stated "pay in local currency". The front desk could not reverse the transaction and take cash instead.

    The view from our bedroom was breathtaking. This was a beautiful Riad and the photos on the internet did not do justice. The room was better than expected and the restaurant with the equally breathtaking view was amazing. We wished that we had longer than our 2 night stay. The location was perfect and within an easy walking distance to some of the attractions of Essouira. I would highly recommend this superb establishment.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    9.6
    Amazing location right next to the ramparts and the pounding...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Mini Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some fruit with the breakfast would have been nice.

    Amazing location right next to the ramparts and the pounding Atlantic waves. Lovely lobby and public spaces. Comfortable room and great views from the roof terrace where breakfast is taken. Very helpful staff including a smooth airport transfer which they arranged.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    8.8
    Very Impressed!!! In love with Essaouria!!! <3
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A big surprise found in the corner of medina. This would be the only downside I can think of, you have to walk through the tiny, and seemingly dodgy streets, which for me, as a solo female traveller was quiet a challenge. Other than that, I cannot spot a fault.

    The hotel was absolute amazing, cannot find any faults, staff was helpful and nice. My room was facing the ocean, dreamlike. I would return any time.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    10
    Make as stay in essoira complete
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Mini Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Slow internet in room..they do not respond to requests for genius perks in a correct manner. I felt like a begger to ask for my genius perks..and yes also had no welcone drink. This hotel is only 10 points because of its view For yhe rest i eould value the plave for 8 points.. room windows whete to dirty.

    The view

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    9.2
    The view from the room and from the restaurant is amazing...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The shower wasn't functioning properly. Water would go everywhere and would take a while to drain. Also the bed sheets was a bit disappointing considering we were staying in the most expensive room of the hotel.

    The view from the room and from the restaurant is amazing and that definitely the best thing about this hotel. However if you are to choose between the Suite with Sea view and the mini suit, go for the mini suit. it's exactly the same view for half of the price and the size of the mini suite is great!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    8.3
    Great sea views in old town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shops and busy area stop about 100 yards short of the Riad, It then gets dark and run down a bit just before you reach it. You do need to be shown where it is. We were woken up by yelling of man being attacked in street below at night. Definitely not somewhere to walk alone.

    The view, the outside sun terrace when the weather allowed, the large glass windows in the dining area giving views of the coastline. The breakfast was generous and changed a bit each day. The restaurant food was quite good but very few people ate in the Riad so very quiet in the evening

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    8.3
    Riad Mimouna offers relaxation and a stress free break.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 14 nights

    A couple of suggestions; Perhaps offer fresh fruit at breakfast in a salad as there is much delicious fruit in the market. The shower could have been improved in terms of getting the heat balance and the strength of flow.

    Staff were most helpful. They really looked after us. The breakfast was very filling. The sea view from our room was stunning. The roof terrace is superb. The location is good for access to the Medina.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    8.3
    The best sea view ever from my room, looking out across the ramparts
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fantastic 360 degree views of sea and city from the roof terrace, as well as the amazing view from my room. Characterful rooms with nice tiles in bathroom etc. Lots of different items brought to the breakfast table!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    10
    People tend to linger here in Essaouira
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A little more variety in the breakfast might have been nice.

    We had a sea view room and cancelled the rest of our trip in Morocco to avoid the oppressive inland June heat and instead enjoy the delightful weather, soft breezes and crashing Atlantic waves on the rocky reefs below our balcony for five wonderful days and nights. 24/7 guarded public parking for 40 MAD/day is easy near the main plaza at the end of the main drag Mohammed V, and it's a short 7-8 min walk North to the riad from there, up the main shopping street, then left toward the seawall a few blocks. You won't need a 'guide' or a porter if you have wheeled luggage and a city map/guide. I can't imagine a better location. The riad is right at the seawall in a pedestrian-only area, so no obnoxious noises to contend with. Breakfast is typical 'continental' with orange juice, hard-boiled egg, coffee, toast and croissants, served on the fourth floor atrium with ocean views and sliding glass doors for fresh air if desired. There's also a split-level rooftop terrace for viewing the sea and town adjacent to the dining room. We didn't try the restaurant for dinner, instead preferring to hang out at Taros rooftop bar and restaurant on the main square, one of many such options. BTW there's a large well-stocked Carrefour supermarket near the Afriquia petrol station on the highway into town!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2017

    9.2
    Beautiful views - just like in the photos.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast pastries were not great as they werent traditional Moroccan bread and sometimes weren't fresh. It's the same breakfast everyday which is ok, but I prefer a bit of variety. That said, the coffee, mint tea, bottled water and freshly squeezed orange juice everyday was refreshing and we found ourselves simply having a smallish breakfast and eating a bigger lunch at one of the many delicious restaurants nearby (I highly recommend Triskala which is super close, Pattisserie Driss also close, and TripAdvisor is pretty on the ball with other recommendations in the cheap eats category).

    Beautiful views - just like in the photos. It is in a tucked away location in the Medina, which itself is very pretty. The upstairs outdoor terrace actually is too windy to enjoy however the closed breakfast terrace with floor to ceiling glass windows is just as impressive and comfortable if you want to enjoy the views indoors.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2017

    10
    Magical! and gives feeling of being remote
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Cars are not allowed in the Medina (city center) itself so you have to park your car outside of the city center. But this can be easily done for about 4 euros for one night at the parking at south side of the Medina (Google Maps: 31.510553, -9.771872). So no downsides for this Riad! Thank you very much! :)

    After we had to find and walk up to the riad (because cars are not aloud in the Medina) we received an upgrade from Superior Room with Sea View to a Mini Suite with Sea View. Staff was really really nice and in the restaurant (at top floor with amazing view) the waiter was very helpful. We had a breathtaking view over the sea and from the terrace at the top floor we had an amazing view over the Medina. Room was like we where sleeping in a castle-tower room. :)

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2017

    9.6
    great place!
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    minor thing: hot/cold water was hard to regulate in the shower. would be good to improve!

    great place! you get the view they promise!!! big windows with the ocean right in front of you... super friendly staff & the cleaning personnel paid a lot of attention to detail when making up the room! really beautiful facilities (incl. the bathroom).

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    7.1
    Beautiful location and view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Mini Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was not impressed with the Breakfast, other then that, it was a pleasant stay.

    This hotel is located in the medina, the Old city. A traffic Free zone, only accesible by foto. The luggage is brought to the hotel from the parking area by porter . The hotel is transformed from an old flourmill into a beautiful hotel. The view from some of the rooms are stunning. The Ocean breaks against the wall of the Medina. It is a little hard to find, but that makes it more exciting. The medina is a maze of small streets and allies. Very safe and friendly people everywhere.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    9.2
    The best sea view ever!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    To be honest, our room was so amazing that we didn't really spend much time in the rest of the hotel, apart from eating breakfast on the top floor, which has the same stupendous views of the sea. The breakfast wasn't the best I've ever had, but perfectly OK.

    We chose this hotel because of the sea views. When we opened the room door for the first time, I was blown away – huge panoramic windows revealed the most amazing seascape we've ever seen! It was so amazing to lie in bed and to watch and listen to the crashing waves. We kept the windows open at night so we could hear the roar of the ocean – it was wild out there! If you want to stay in Riad Mimouna, do pay for a room with a sea view... and upgrade if you can afford to. It is worth every penny!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    10
    Amazing location with Genius upgrade
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This was my second stay. I returned with my family who were visiting Essaouira for the first time. We had a fantastic stay. The hotel upgraded us all to suite rooms with panoramic windows which made the location - right on the ramparts with the see lapping below - even more special. It is just an amazing location. The staff are so friendly and helpful. My family particularly loved the breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2017

    7.5
    Had a brilliant time in a brilliant location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Essaouira,could be cleaner to avoid tummy upsets,but it's morroco after all!

    Excellent Riad staff, central location,sea views. The friendliness of the locals,cheap prices of goods and food fabulous sandy coast, good for surfing and walking.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2017

    9.6
    Pleasant stay with a gorgeous view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was almost no power at the shower.

    We were upgraded to a suite and it was very spacious, with ceiling high windows that provided a marvelous view of the shore. Hotel is conveniently located to Medina and beach. Breakfast included pastry, pancakes, eggs, yogurt, juice, and hot drinks.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2017

    9.2
    Amazing views and excellent service
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No bathrobes as advertised. Lots of stairs and no lift.

    The sea views are superb. A good breakfast and efficient staff. The building has been beautifully renovated. We really enjoyed our stay here and would book again.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2017

    5.8
    Inspirational view but too old fashioned rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very old fashioned and everything in it (furniture, bed sheets ets) as well. And it was extremely cold in the night as there are huge holes between the windows and the wall. So, be prepared literally "to breath the Ocean in". The bathroom is very poorly designed and too small. There was such a poor WiFi signal at the room that it was absolutely impossible to connect (everyone is forced to use wifi at lobby area).

    The most beautiful ocean view we ever had! Really one of the most wonderful location at Essaouira.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    10
    A lovely hotel with a stunning view
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bathroom towel rack was a bit wonky and could not support more than a hand towel or two.

    We got upgraded to an ocean view room and the view was incredible. The same view can be seen from the breakfast area/restaurant. The view alone was worth the stay. The room is a good size. The extended lobby area is beautifully decorated. The staff was helpful--particularly the night staff who were nothing short of great. The location is good. It is a bit of a walk from the outside walls of the medina, so it is not recommended for anyone who has a difficult time walking. If you are fine with walking, the location is good. It is not far from anything in the medina and it is right on the ocean.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2017

    8.8
    Relaxing stay in Essaouira
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not overly friendly staff and a little impersonal compared to other riads we had stayed at - probably due to the number of rooms and size of property. This is really a small hotel rather than a true riad.

    Good varied breakfast and the evening meal we had on night one was of a good standard. Room was lovely, good size and right on the sea wall.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2017

    9.2
    Outstanding location by the sea
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little disappointed that they charge you each time you have tea. Other riads offer it for free but this is not a big issue.

    The room with ocean view was outstanding. The waves were crashing just below our window and oh what a view. We completely loved this place and wish we had stayed longer. Loved having our tea on the rooftop terrace also.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2017

    8.8
    Great spot!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were helpful but not always Asked for the Riad to arrange transfer but there wasn't one. Happily easy enough to get a cab but need a map as car doesn't go close to the hotel would advise anyone to go to take a map so it can be found. Good in the evening definitely not worth the cost or service would recommend going out to eat. Breakfast usual Moroccan fare, simple but good.

    The view from the sea view room was incredible

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2017

    10
    Historic Hotel next to the Sea.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Historic Hotel next to the Sea. We've booked a room with seaview and it was gorgeous! You can hear the waves the whole day and night, smell the sea and feel fabulous! The rooms are full of antique furniture, the beds are very cosy and everything is clean! An extraordinary stay! We will miss Riad Mimouna!!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2017

    8.3
    Worthy view from the rooms at the sea front
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Difficult to find and rather dirty access Once your in you can start to breathe

    We stayed in a superior room with sea view and the few bucks more are well invested The view over the rocks and waves and the sounds during the nights are fabulous Friendly staff also towards our dog

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2017

    7.5
    Sea view room was gorgeous, so relaxing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi very patchy in the room. Orange juice slightly watered down.

    Sea view room was gorgeous, so relaxing. Decent bath. Very good, large breakfast. Dinner portions were huge.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2017

    9.2
    I'm definetley going back. Loved it
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pictures were not as accurate and there was no Spa at all and I mainly booked because of that and on the site it says that it's hotel and spa.

    Karim at the front desk was so pleasant, diligent and accommodating. Amazing service!!!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2017

    8.3
    We really enjoyed our room with ocean view, the terrace and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We arrived very late and discovered that the sink was broken.They could fix it in the morning though.

    We really enjoyed our room with ocean view, the terrace and the riad itself. You can have a breakfast on the terrace overlooking the ocean and feed the gulls !

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2017

    5.0
    Expensive for what you get
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old fashioned rooms, small, not clean, shower not working, way too expensive for what you get. The only nice thing is the sea view, thats about it.

    Sea view, simply great Public spaces looked nice

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2017

    10
    Atlantic as your neighbour
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lack of eating places very close to the road, although the hotel restaurant catered for our likes by creating dishes not on the menu, another plus point

    Excellent and peaceful location once you have worked out the location, excellent and helpful staff who went out of their way to assist and advice, and we were up graded due to availability of accomodation for all our stay of 1 week,

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2017

    8.3
    quality Riad in centre of city
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    booking was not handled correctly - requested rooms with extra beds but none were available when we checked in

    breakfast was especially good, location was excellent for seeing the city - right in the middle of the sights

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2017

    10
    Great location, great views.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    An alcohol licence would have been nice, but there's an off-licence just outside Bab Doukala; turn right out of the gate and it's about 100 yards on the left with a blue frontage. Closed Friday. BYO on the terrace.

    Great views from our corner room and the restaurant and terrace of the Atlantic and the daily fishermen on the rocks. Daily interaction with the locals and a short stroll to restaurants, the port and shops.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2017

    9.6
    great see view with waves just under the window
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Mini Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Breakfast menu is nice but practically same every day. Fortunately it's possible to order something from other menu.

    Great place in old medina and near castle wall, great see view with waves just under the window, very nice room in riada style and friendly workers. Specially happy to have a free upgrade to a higher class room. Was there 2nd time and will come again.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2017

    7.5
    Nice riad in the medina and at seafront
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Riad is on a hidden spot and can be reached only by walk which takes 5-10 min (no parking close to hotel) Receptionists could give only limited recommendations

    Nice location in the medina and also at seafront Beautiful view at breakfast from rooftop terrace

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2017

    10
    The view from our upgraded room was spectacular we loved...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The view from our upgraded room was spectacular we loved hearing the roaring waves. The staff was friendly and helpful I'd go back in a minute. And have recommended it to friends and locals

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2017

    9.2
    Wow, what a view!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Mini Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast on 4th floor with no lift access, ground floor should be an option for those with trouble climbing stairs

    The sea view was breath taking, definitely worth upgrading to a minisuite/suite, we didn't want to leave the room! Beautiful property with very helpful staff, I will return for sure.

    Stayed in December 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Riad Mimouna traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: