Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Moroccan House 3 stars

3 Rue Loubnane Gueliz, Gueliz, 40000 Marrakech, Morocco

#730 of 855 hotels in Marrakech

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 214 hotel reviews

7.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.9

  • Comfort

    7.4

  • Location

    7.9

  • Facilities

    7.1

  • Staff

    8.1

  • Value for money

    7.5

  • Free WiFi

    7.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The basin drain in room 33 did not drain properly. This needs to be fixed immediately. No access to swimming pool. The roof top terrace is a mess but could be an attractive feature.

    Deco was good and staff helpful

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    One of the staff insisted on joining me on my day trip, and when I declined, he persistently contacted me via social media. As a solo traveller one expects street harassment, but this was really out of line.

    The lobby is very pleasingly decorated, and I loved how gorgeous camp my room was styled.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    When a beggar asked me money for parking in front of the hotel, where is no any signe for pay parking. When I asked for help, the staff from reception just translated for me and said me to pay without any ticket because the boy is from the security, but when I asked for a document to prove that, he don't have it and when I wanted to call the police he just leaved.

    Nice traditional hotel

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower was not working well, cold in the room.

    It’s very close to the shopping mall where you can get food and also the train station, the staff are nice but careful that they could charge you twice mistakenly.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A couple of the pillows were rock hard! Thankfully we had extras in our room. Breakfast was ok but the hot dish wasn’t working so everything was a bit cold. We thought they had an indoor pool so we’re a bit disappointed that there was only an outdoor one

    The beds were comfortable. Everything was very clean. Breakfast was ok. Good value for money. If you’re there for a quick overnight on your way to somewhere else it’s great

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 14 nights

    Breakfast area was cold in December, hard matress and pillows. We didn´t understand why the cleaning lady put tap water in our drinking glasses in our bathrooms. The cleaning lady moved our clothes and things in our rooms.

    Nicely decorated property, helpful and friendly staff. Lokation was good. Medina is easy to reach by foots, easy to get taxi, close to supermarket and restaurants.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I stayed in this hotel after camping in the desert followed by 12 hours journey on a bus, so was extremely tired. Was pleasantly surprised by the level of comfort it offered. Breakfast was very nice too. It's closer to the airport (so transfer is 30% cheaper) than if you stay in Medina, although Medina is only a short bus ride away.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Triple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    No restaurant in the hotel; hammam hours are not posted so you have to ask at the front desk every day; fridge was not cleaned out before we arrived.

    Stay here if you like hotels with charm and style. This hotel is a complete departure from your typical Marriott/Hilton/etc, so if you are expecting that kind of experience you should stay somewhere else. But if you are interested in an experience of Moroccan hospitality in a beautiful setting, Morocco House is the place for you. Their lobby is elaborately tiled and features three areas with tables and chairs. The room had stained glass doors, canopy beds, and a plush vanity. We always felt safe and secure in our room and in the hotel. The bathroom had all Western amenities: a western toilet, a shower and bathtub, a bidet, a hair dryer, and plenty of surface space. The beds were comfortable, definitely on the firm side but still a very good sleep. The breakfast was mostly pastries and bread products with fruit jams and dates, but it was enough to get us going into our day. Served from 7am to 10am. The hotel staff and bellperson were very helpful and spoke English, French, and Arabic. The hammam was enjoyable, but it was too cold to swim in the pool in November, so we didn't try it. We did enjoy the rooftop at sunset for a great view of the neighborhood. Cafe Trieze down the street had a great hookah experience. A few blocks away is Al Fassia, which was a great dining experience. Lots of other restaurants and shops nearby, and a shopping mall only three blocks away. It was a perfect location for our first trip to Marrakech. Thank you so much for having us!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    More continental style of breakfast would be good.

    Spacious room and en suite, comfortable beds. Friendly, helpful staff. Good sized pool given central location.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast wasn't so good, buiscuits tasted a bit old.

    Staff was super helpful, they helped us to decide what to see and what trip to take. The hotel is close to the center of the new town, close to commercial centers, but a bit far from the medina.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A little tired looking overall. Carpets in lobby were loose and a tripping hazard. Laundry prices too high for the location. A bit far to walk to the old parts of the city but possible. Might be nice if they had simple maps to give out to clients as well as some tourist information.

    Staff was accommodating. Price was good. Breakfast had several options though heavy on the sweets and breads-more fresh fruit would have been nice as well as eggs. Close to some gardens and several restaurants. Taxis are not very expensive in area.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was very cold and dark inside - maybe a welcome relief in hot weather, but in January it's not good! Single room had two beds but both very short even for shorter people! Lighting outside rooms is on timer and doesn't last long enough to get the key in the lock!

    Very individual artistic decoration. Staff all very pleasant & helpful. The place is very clean. The location is good for getting places quickly and easily.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower was ice-cold, and crappy pressure. Was woken up at 8am by a maintenance guy BANGING on our door. When I answered, an overalls-wearing care-taker was standing there shouting "La douche! La douche!". I told him we were in bed and to go away! And we were charged €5 for 4 small bottles of water. Considering this is a hot, dry country, and you can't drink tap water, you'd think the Hotel would charge an extra €1 for the room, and use that to buy a bottle of water to keep in that noisy fridge.

    The decoration on the inteeior is amazing. I felt like Aladdin. Bed was comfy. There was a lift. There was a TV and refrigerator in the room.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lovely Moroccan style in the hotel. The rooms are comfortable, breakfast has something for everyone. You can walk down to the square in about 35 mins or take a cab for about 30 DH. Very comfortable, small shop over the road for water etc. walking distance to restaurants in the new part of town.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bedding was old-fashioned Some of the crockery, cutlery at breakfast were odd assortments WiFi was variable in coverage Rooms were ok but a little gloomy

    Breakfast was overall fine

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2016

    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't like the man in the reception he is not polite and the bed not comfortable

    I like the style of the hotel You feel like you are in a Moroccan house

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Noisy in the street at night. Shower difficult to control. Stair lights should stay on longer.

    Attractive reception, attentive staff, well-located for dining, good value.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some of the staff was rude. They kept trying to scam us out of money. The pool looked unclean so we didn't swim in it.

    Location was good for people who want to be in a more modern and touristic part of the city. The hotel was pretty.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pick up from the airport service would be a great thing!

    It's a very nice hotel....like a Riad. Well presented in many details. Not far from Medina for who loves to stay out of medina caos but still close to everything. Good value for money and staff very friendly. I really appreciate he welcoming mint tea and biscuits at our arrival!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Classic Triple Room
    • Stayed 14 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Few doors away the snooker club, the young clients congregating in the evenings on their mopeds.

    The staff were very helpful and pleasant at all times. Made our stay very comfortable.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast on the roof is disappointing but there are plenty of cafes nearby so not a major problem

    Very professionally run hotel with comfortable rooms decked out in Moroccan kitsch. Spotlessly clean & with good restaurants & bars close by.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The price could be cheaper but everything else is fine.

    Hospitality,breakfest

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The door to the balcony cannot be closed properly because the bed frame is blocking it. At night, it feels chilly to sleep on the bed

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Large room comfortable bed very clean

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were some problems with the water pressure at times

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location and very clean very nice staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A notice from manager that after I booked the room's price was higher as if he regrets I took it

    The location and room

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very good value.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely sized room, comfortable, clean with mint tea and biscuits on arrival

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Next time I will skip the breakfast, everything else was good. Good Value.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was very nice, variety of food! And the staff was very helpfull and friendly!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/A

    Everything

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Liked it all.

    The decor and decorating are stunning. It definately has the feeling of a kasbah.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was a little too hard.

    We had just one night there but everything was good.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly staff. Especially the waiter at breakfast. Nice guy who works very hard.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    breakfast included!

    room was big, quiet and cute

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    We enjoyed al the facilities

    Very nice buffet breakfast with plenty of choice.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Nothing

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    a fried egg

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2016

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    One room had a terrible infestation of bed bugs.

    Location was good.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's a very comfort living

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    friendly staff nice spacious room

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    good..excelent..!!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bed was uncomfortable.

    Great location,friendly staff.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Two-Bedroom with Pool View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Breakfast on the roof is disappointing.

    I like the location nice to be in the new city.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The rooms are built up and around the lobby like a courtyard, creating a cavernous atmosphere so any hallway noise can be loud, especially if there are families. As with most of Morocco, the staff (while friendly) cannot and will not provide change for larger bills.

    Very interesting/amusing decor. Breakfast on the terrace was a great spread of sweet and savory pastries, breads and fruit. Even an omelet station and a toaster. Close to Avenue Mohammed V which has a mall and shops, but will need probably to take a bus or taxi to get to the medina.

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Lobby noise a problem regardless of which side of building the room is on Im the morning the intercom phone rings constantly, probably to communicate with cleaning staff. Funky shower is hot, then turns cool, then cycles to scorching. All this without touching any controls. You can get a hot shower but it will take 2X longer.

    Nice to be in the new city, away from all the hustlers and mayhem. Breakfast was among the better than the generally poor ones yoi get in Morocco.

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    45 minute walk to city centre.

    Friendly staff, rooms well equipped, near to bars, restaurants and shops. Very good value for money - would stay there again.

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We ended up in a Twin Room instead of Double. Bathroom was a bit boring. Whole place seemed slightly dated and rough around the edges.

    Practical and functional. Serves it's purpose without any problems. Breakfast on the roof was nice. Good location for the Bus/Train station.

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast was not good, being a poor quality buffet in a tent on the roof. The room was big, but the décor was 70s and could have done with a clean

    The hotel was convenient for the new town area

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Location is dodgy. Breakfast staff was rude and rushed people. The staff was moving furniture until midnight, then started again at 6 in the morning. The room was dirty. Bathroom smelled like sewage. Shower temperature was either cold or scalding hot. Way too expensive for the quality.

    The reception staff was polite and correct.

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Pool only gets sun around it from 10.30am to 2pm so not a laze about one. Bit of drilling and ring phones on my floor .

    Colourful and good for shopping in the new town

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very low lighting in the rooms which made reading a challenge when we had the time to relax.a noisy location with two night clubs close vicinity

    An older hotel Traditional design Thirty minute walking distance to Medina the pool was a refreshing treat in a hot city. Welcomed with Mint tea

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    There nothing to dislike this hotel was perfect

    Everyone was friendly spoke and understood english well Room was beauitful! Kids were comforable Breakfast basic but nice!

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Bad location Travelled with younger sister, felt very unsafe. So much so that had to leave 2 days early and lose out on money. Unclean and outdated and breakfast disgusting and smelt of smoke

    Nothing

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Rooms style is a little old / kitsch (but that is a personal opinion)

    The Hotel is in a really good position in Guelize Rooms are quiet The hotel common spaces are typical Moroccan stay Breakfast offers a lot of options

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Although we were promised a room on the terrace, when we arrived it wasn't available. This was very important to us, and we were very disappointed.

    The location was a 5-minute walk from the Plaza Djmaa el Fna. They served beer and wine in the foyer area, which was nice. The staff were helpful in telling us what to do and where to go.

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Didn't like the canopy/curtains over the bed or the leopard print bed cover, but no impact to our stay

    Good location, clean, friendly staff, good WiFi. Beautiful Moroccan furnished welcome area and dining. Nice traditional paintwork in the room. Bed was ok, firm like most hotels in Morocco. We didn't eat at the hotel. Consider this is a budget hotel so the rooms are basic but suitable. Bathroom is basic but suitable. Hot water and heating worked well in February.

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Too many kinds of cakes for breakfast Would prefer something more savoury

    Very traditional hotel with amazing decoration.the location was pretty fine about 20 min walk to the square. Rooms nice and comfy

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2015

    • Couple

    The smell in the hotel and in the bathroom is very ugly. The internet connection is poor in the room. The girl from the reception is not so nice. We ask them to print the boarding card and told that they printer doesn't work ant to go to a cyber net. We ask for the bill and the prove that we paid and first she told us that is from booking and it ok that wad paid. I said that ok, is from booking but that is not a proof that I paid thinking that I paid cash and I need the bill and the receipt.

    The location is very close to medina, you can walk if you enjoy that. Around the hotel is an area with shops and also a Mall. The room is big enough

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    smelly blankets

    Distance from train and to airport, Public areas were ok but the room was a bit tired and the blankets had a slight smell. They tried to put us into a hire car for 150 ds when a taxi charged 70ds despite the meter reading of 21 ds. Airport is a regulated fair.

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The staff got an early breakfast for us so we could catch a very early flight. Very nice.

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    No one told me not to drink the water or that breakfast was on the top floor

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There was no English or other language tv channels rather than Arabic on the tv in the room.

    Nice hotel and nice architecture.

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    40 min walk from the centre of town.

    Helpful staff. Quaint rooms. Good value for money.

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The rooms were overdecorated and breakfast overpriced

    Beds were comfortable, staff friendly and helpful

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    WiFi only available in the lobby

    Friendly staff, easy to find, parking available. Inside of the hotel is very beautiful. Rooms are nicely decorated

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    cold shower in the morning

    Interior design

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    a lot is offered by morrocan house.

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Pleasant area of Marrakech away from the hustle of the medina.

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    OLD BUILDING, SHOWER WAS A NIGHTMARE SOMETIMES HOT MOSTLY COLD.

    BED COMFORTABLE, LOCATION GREAT, STAFF LOVELY.

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    It was cold in the downstairs rooms where you ate breakfast WiFi was not available in upstairs rooms

    Staff spoke good English

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    very pleasant staff. Very different from a standard hotel

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Breakfast limited. Bit of toast would have helped.

    Location was good . Staff are pleasant. Roof terrace could have comfy chairs.

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Too cold in January in the hotel. There was no wifi signal in our room on the second floor.

    Cool style! Our room was big and nice. Good breakfast.

There are also 17 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Moroccan House traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: