Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hôtel Océan Vagabond 4 stars

4, Bd Lalla aicha, angle rue Almoukawama, 44100 Essaouira, Morocco

#73 of 88 hotels in Essaouira

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 132 hotel reviews

7.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.2

  • Comfort

    7

  • Location

    8.2

  • Facilities

    6.6

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    6.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 38

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    5.0
    Totally over priced - terrible condition
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Unik Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Where do I start - it is horribly run down ; door onto our balcony was hanging out of hinges and couldn’t be locked or closed.People could get onto balcony by climbing from either side easily as abutted each other. Curtains hanging off hooks and faded. No towels when asked they were being washed and dried from previous day. When delivered the most disgraceful towels I have seen.No lift though they helped us with luggage up steep steps. Air conditioning didn’t work was told to leave windows open : we were 2 females who are security conscious . As it turned out we couldn’t close door onto balcony anyway. Great location but dog barking all night ; cars tooting no sound proofing. This place is like faulty towers it needs a complete makeover or pulling down. This was an expensive hotel for this area( Essouira is fabulous) when we walked down sea front promanade and saw what we could have been in for the same price we nearly cried. If we had been staying another night we would have moved.

    Staff helpful and very friendly; almost ott I think to make up for the horrible state of this property. Breakfast good.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    6.3
    Nice staff, cute facility, but horrific bug issue.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Unik Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioning was chut down in the entire facility. Bug infestation

    The staff was extremely friendly and welcoming. Breakfast was fantastic. Rooms looked nice. The property was more of a large villa or a boutique hotel, small and intimate. However, our vacation was pretty much ruined due to lack of sleep. The property is infested with all kinds of bugs, ants, roaches in all sizes, flies, mosquitoes... The receptionist leaves at 7 pm, so there is no one to help overnight. We spent our first night fighting off mosquitoes that feasted on our skin, waking up with red marks and swollen faces. The second day, a little fly repellent was installed in our room, which did nothing. We had to keep our windows open since the air conditioning system was not functioning in the entire facility. Second day we discovered an ant colony behind our curtains and hundreds of fruit flies, so we were moved to two other rooms, which looked beautiful, but we came across large and small roaches all over the rooms and bathrooms, in the middle of the night. We had kids with us, which made the experience much more difficult, since they are afraid of bugs. We left Essaouira with swollen faces and limbs due the merciless mosquitoes. The most front desk could offer was an apology and a late checkout saying they would pass along our displeasure to the home office. We didn’t get to enjoy our vacation or relax the entire time we were there. I wouldn’t stay here again. If only the air conditioning was functioning, I would have been able to tolerate my stay better. We felt like we were trapped in a horror movie where we had to keep the windows open to breathe, and fight off night creatures all night. Not my idea of a relaxing stay.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    8.8
    Excellent staff and great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Unik Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    It looks like like it is in need of a bit of TLC in some places. Also some of the decor looks a bit dated and would benefit from a facelift.

    The staff are a real credit to this hotel, they are so welcoming and helpful. It is located just outside of the Medina so both the beach and Medina are easily accessible.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    3.8
    Totally overpriced and very run down
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Unik Prestige Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    This was an incredible disappointing hotel and we feel that booking.com has misrepresented the overall expectation. You have listed the hotel as 4 stars - so when we paid a premium price for the stay we had an expectation to receive a certain standard of quality. The building is incredibly run down. Towels are badly stained and frayed on the edges. There was a blood stain one of the pillows. Water does not drain from the sink in the bathroom. Bathroom window can't be opened without it dropping completely on the toilet. Windows and door t balcony didn't lock. Overall the room smelt of mould and it was very dusty. Hotel food was also terrible! Breakfast as well as lunch/dinner offering. We moved to Le Médina Essaouira a block away for the same price. It was an exceptional improvement!

    Nothing!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    7.5
    Good hotel in a perfect location with great staff. Cleanliness needs to be improved.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Unik Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    I spent an hour on the sunbeds by the pool outside in which I got a number of large rashes over my body. The cleanliness of the pool and sunbeds were not the best.

    The staff were very helpful and friendly. They were able to answer all of the questions we had. One member of staff also took us to a cafe in which we did not know the location off. The location of the hotel was perfect. Couldn't ask for a better location.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    7.5
    Nice B&B. A good base for a trip to Essaouira but not a destination in its own right.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The place was a little tired - the photos oversell the place. Describing the view from the room of the ocean as 'magnificent' is also stretching things a bit as there were other properties between the hotel and the sea blocking most of the view. There was no bar and no parking. It's very much a bed and breakfast and as such it is fine but we were expecting more for our money than this. The Ocean Vagabond beach bar is a completely different place.

    The rooms were nicely done out and the staff friendly.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    5.0
    Shameful....
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Unik Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I'm upset at the description of the hotel from ur end of it. It stated some rooms have air conditioning and upon arrival I was informed that the entire hotel did not in fact have a/c. I'm appalled at the customer service I received from your end of it as I was told that it would be dealt with and that I would receive a call back for an update. I never received any communication except after the fact that I emailed for some customer service. I, in the end, had to deal with the hotel itself, after them not helping me out initially. For such a large company as yourself, to not assist with the circumstances of the issue, is extremely disappointing! I will never be using booking.com again in the future and will continue to advise others against your ethics and policies.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2017

    9.6
    The hotel has a lovely shabby chic feel to it!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Unik Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Towels were a little worn!

    Lovely breakfast - eggs cooked to your request! Comfy bed. Clean room. Asked for hairdryer was delivered within a few minutes!! Heater in the room! Nice Toiletries provided! Good sized room with plenty of wardrobe space.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2017

    6.7
    Staff was really personable, professional, went above and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Unik Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    As I said, hotel need a serious upgrade (bigger TV with better selection, coffer maker, stationery, elevator etc). For the price, I got an other hotel the next night either all amenities and cheaper.

    Staff was really personable, professional, went above and beyond to make my stay very pleasant. However, the hotel needs a serious upgrade. Hanan was very helpful, nice. Mrs Fatima

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2016

    6.3
    The hotel advertised as having a'heated' out door...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Unik Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The hotel advertised as having a'heated' out door swimming pool. This pool was not heated it was fricking freezing - icy cold and absolutely unswimmable. The sole reason for booking this hotel over the many many cheaper and equally as nice options was the heated pool. I feel thoroughly misled.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2016

    10
    Treated like Royalty in Paradise!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Unik Room
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. Only the WiFi was a bit temperamental, but nothing to spoil our great stay!

    Staff couldn't do enough for us and I would like especially to thank Hanane for her help and graciousness. The pool was lovely and clean - a joy to swim and cool down in.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2016

    9.2
    Simply the Best !!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Unik Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff are so nice,Henna at front desk was and is the feeling to hotel !!! Relaxed classy and very professional the minute I walked in I felt at home, room was really Cool African vibe great food, lovely garden and pool to chill in, this place is also unbelievable location !!! Stone throw to beach and medina !! But still mantaince it's relaxing vibe !!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2016

    8.3
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air con. Probably not a problem most of the year round...but our visit did coincide with an unusually hot period. Room became too stuffy. Also, wifi was a bit haphazard.

    The location was good, next to the beach, yet not far from the medina. The breakfast was good, home made and freshly cooked. Staff friendly as well as helpful. The hotel has a lot of character, and we would definitely stay if visiting Essaouira again.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    9.2
    Will go back
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Unik Prestige Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No room service

    The room is specious with a terrasse and nicely decorated ...

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    9.2
    Very relaxing and homely
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Unik Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Pool was a bit chilly and not enough towels for the number fo sunloungers

    Reception staff were so friendly and attentive. Yummy breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    9.6
    Light, bright, comfortable rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Unik Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast area was quite chilly.

    Light, bright, comfortable rooms. A fantastic library.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    7.5
    Very friendly staff. Pleasant stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Unik Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only on street parking when booking.com say the hotel has parking.

    Friendly staff

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    9.6
    Well located.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Unik Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Well located. Clean and quiet. Helpfull staff.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    10
    Location and staff friendliness
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Unik Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioning

    Location and staff friendliness

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    9.6
    Breakfast was AMAZING!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Unik Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing really to note

    Breakfast was AMAZING!! Staff very attentive

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    9.6
    Amazing personal.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Unik Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Curtains smell

    Amazing personal. Nice private hotel garden.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2017

    4.2
    Poor quality.its not worth the money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Unik Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel needs renovation.

    Nothing

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2017

    8.3
    A perfect place near the beach and Medina
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Unik Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Probably only breakfast could be better.

    Location was perfect. Receptionists were also very kindly and friendly.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2017

    9.6
    too many stairs
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Unik Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    too many stairs

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2017

    6.7
    Location/staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Unik Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room not clean.

    Location/staff

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2016

    7.1
    lovely staff and great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Unik Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    could have been cleaner and room smelled very musty

    lovely staff and great location

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    8.8
    it was realty nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Unik Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    everything was ok so

    it was realty nice

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    8.8
    Well located for beach and the medina
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Unik Prestige Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The receptionist was super friendly

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2015

    9.6
    Staff was very friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We got our car towed from the street beside the hotel where we had it parked for a day. The hotel told us to park there on check in even though the curb was painted as no parking. They said usually it is not a problem since they had an arrangement but for some reason the police decided to tow. The hotel took care of paying the fee to get the car returned and sent someone from the staff to drive the car back to the hotel. No serious problem on my part but be sure to park in a designated space along the curb. Essaouria is very windy and makes going to the beach very difficult unless you can get out of the wind.

    Staff was very friendly and helpful. The location was convenient to the medina and the beach. Rooms were fine. The staff also brought my wife a birthday cake after we had checked in and saw her birthday from her passport which was a very nice gesture. The pool looked fine. Breakfast was pretty standard for Morocco. This is a good spot to stay in Essaouria for a day or so.

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2015

    9.2
    Staff were very kind and upgraded our room to a suite at no...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Would recommend a suite with balcony as standard rooms are quite drab and do not have an outdoor space or balcony so you feel a little claustrophobic.

    Staff were very kind and upgraded our room to a suite at no extra cost! Breakfast was great especially the omlette and staff could not do more to make our stay comfortable. Great location and brilliant sea view. Would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2015

    10
    The hotel is so tranquil in a lovely part of essaouira.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Nothing at all

    The hotel is so tranquil in a lovely part of essaouira. Just off the promenade and 5 minute walk to the main square. Nothing to complain about. Great value for money too

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2015

    7.5
    Very good location, nice and warm rooms (we visited the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    How many times those napkins have ben washed? They look ugly. Towels are not much better. Staff was kind of emotionless...

    Very good location, nice and warm rooms (we visited the hotel in January so heating was important). Breakfast was also ok.

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2015

    7.9
    The breakfast was delicious and the woman who served it very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The breakfast was delicious and the woman who served it very nice. Nice decoration in the rooms

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2015

    9.6
    Location was fantastic and easy to walk into the medina.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location was fantastic and easy to walk into the medina. The facilities were very nice and the pool a great place to cool off.

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2015

    9.6
    Great breakfast, awesome bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No wifi in the room, but no great problem really.

    Great breakfast, awesome bed. Sheltered pool and friendly, helpful staff.

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2015

    10
    The kindness of the staff, the location and the pool.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The wifi was temperamental in our room. But the hotel did fix it when we told them.

    The kindness of the staff, the location and the pool.

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2015

    10
    The location was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The location was great. Near to the medina and the beach. Staff friendly and helpful.

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2015

    10
    location, rooms, staff, breakfeast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    bath room would need some renovation

    location, rooms, staff, breakfeast

There are also 6 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 38