Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Riad Palais Calipau

14 Derb ben Zina, Kasbah, 40000 Marrakech, Morocco

#99 of 153 B&Bs and Inns in Marrakech

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 241 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    8.6

  • Location

    8.5

  • Facilities

    8.3

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    8.5

  • Free WiFi

    6.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    8.8
    Great place, great staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed in Taroudant room VERY uncomfortable. Guests allowed to smoke anywhere, including right outside my room and I have asthma.

    Cleanliness, friendliness of staff, decor and smell of the place was lovely!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    10
    Wonderful and peaceful place in the middle of the busy Medina! This is definitely the right choice!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Very welcoming and helpfull staff: Abdul welcomed us with a mint tea and cookies and explained us the city; Patrice was always available to meet our needs. The room was big and very clean. Towels were changed everyday. Breakfast was good with juices, fresh fruit, milk... Lunch and dinner also very good and served by the pool! Located in walking distance from the main atractions: 15 minutes walking to Jemma El Fna! We loved it!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    9.6
    It was beautiful and really clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The internet was really slow

    It was beautiful and really clean. Our room was perfect and the staff was super helpful. The location was 20 min walking to the square.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    7.1
    It’s proximity to the centre
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The towels were old, the shower had no hook to hang it up so had to use it by hand, the door didn’t close unless you locked it. We were given the wrong room and when I asked about it I was told it was the correct room so I wasn’t happy! We should have got a junior suite ( which I paid extra for ) and instead I got a twin room

    It’s proximity to the centre

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    8.3
    Great service, recommended for ambience but a bit far from central square.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Limited breakfast selection, but served with great kindness by the very helpfull staff. Location a bit of a walk for young children (4) to get to the central square.

    Nice ambience, very friendly staff, felt like a personal service throughout our stay.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    8.8
    Located in the Kasbah area which is approximately 20 minutes walk from Jema Al Fina (big square)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The toilet doors needed a good dose of WD40, or replacing, as the swing mechanism was cumbersome and very noisy.

    Beautiful ground floor area and large clean rooms.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    5.8
    The hotel decoration and ambience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The person in charge of the hotel in the mornings, evenings and nights speaks no languages apart from Arabic and French which made communication very difficult especially with the booking out and payment process. Also the room we had was both damp and dark.

    The hotel decoration and ambience. The owner also was very friendly and informative.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    7.1
    The riad has great potential only little things are missing to fully explore this potential. Little
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked two rooms quite late, so the feels we got is that they didn’t have time to have a check on the quality of the cleaning.

    Decoration, people and service minded staff

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    9.6
    We’re should I start? The incredible roof top area, the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We’re should I start? The incredible roof top area, the amazing atmosphere, the beautiful hall or perfect location? I have to say, we had the best time at Riad Palais Calipau. Christophe and the staff were also friendly, helpful and courteous. The place itself is stunning, even better than imagined and that scent! I wish I could have taken it home with me. I traveled together with three friends and Christophe helped us organize everything perfectly: from booking our transfer from the airport to the hotel (highly recommend taking this offer!), transfers to Jardin Majorelle and back or an early breakfast... they outdid themselves. We were welcomed with thé à la menthe (btw, the best we had in Marrakech) and lovely cookies and we felt welcome and comfortable at all times. The breakfast offered continental and some marroccan dishes though we wished to have more of the marroccan food as it was super delicious. The WiFi was working moderately which for us was totally fine as we only needed it for looking up touristic things, French translations and uploading pics on instragram. I’m mentioning this as it might not be good enough for streaming if his is something you need on your trip (we for sure didn’t, as we were on a walk-all-day vacation and needed a good night sleep). We’ll be back soon and for sure will book this Riad again. Highly recommend!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2018

    10
    Very enjoyable and relaxing stay. Highly recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    everything spot on.

    Customer service exceeds our expectations in all aspects especially Hichem who looks after customers and was very helpful at all times. I would highly recommend this hotel for any trip to Marrakech and I am sure that you would be impressed by the high standard welcoming. Christophe was also of great assistance and would like to thank everyone at Riad Palais Calipau and would definitely come back. Mr Ouchen

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    10
    Fabulous. Would definitely stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was ok but a bit continental. We were surprised that we had to pay for the eggs separately.

    Great welcome with Moroccan tea. Lovely rooms and excellent staff

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    10
    breathtaking
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I strongly recommend staying at Riad Palais Clipau. It's a marvellous accommodation beautifully decorated. Christophe is very helpful. He is always one step ahead of your needs. He will make your stay memorable. Not only he is friendly, but also he will clear all your doubts about what to do around. One of the nicest accommodations in the entire world

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    9.6
    Great Riad, Great Staff, Good Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was ok but the guy (sorry I can't remember his name) was great, always happy to help.

    The riad was excellent. Wanted to go to a place where we felt like we were in Marrakech & not a generic hotel. Christophe & all the staff were very accommodating - nothing too much trouble. The riad was like an oasis in a very busy city. Going back there after the hustle & bustle of the city was just what was needed. The location is good - far enough from the main square so you can chill but near enough (10 - 15 minute walk) to be in the thick of things. We chose to have a hamman in the riad and we all thoroughly enjoyed that. The riad itself was beautifully decorated and comfortable. Even though there were other guests at the riad it felt like we had it all to ourselves.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2017

    7.9
    Pleasant traditional feel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was a little run down in areas, they could do with fixing a few things (e g. Air con in the room was rather clunky, some of the paintwork was chipped, the shower wall attachment was broken so had to be handheld). All minor things but did slightly reduce the rating of the hotel.

    The hotel was lovely and peaceful after the madness of the main square. The rooftop terrace was a lovely place to relax in the sun.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    10
    A beautiful attack on the senses!!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    wonderful Riad right in the heart of the city, staff couldn't have done more for us!!!! Our flight was so early leaving and they prepared breakfast for us wonderful!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2017

    8.3
    Perfekt place to be romantic with someone you want to spend a good time with .....
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights

    meal breakfast ! More cheese, more meet and different kind juice !

    location personal room service easy to find a Riad close to everything by taxi but still not so close to most busy part to Medina !

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2017

    6.7
    Not what i expected!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms upstairs defo need a refurb. Wifi didnt work in our room. Lack of privacy in the rooms

    We liked the look of the hotel. The staff were friendly and helpful. Hicham in particular, woke up extra early to make us breakfast before our early flight. The pool area was lovely and the roof terrace was a nice bonus however would of been better enjoyed in the summer months i imagine. Breakfast was VERY limited however we personally did enjoy the pancakes and were given fresh orange juice and mint tea every morning. Location was good in terms of proximity to main sites.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2017

    10
    awesome place in Medina
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    really a nice and good place, with the staff that is always there to help you! 100% i will recommend this place to everyone, couple, friends, family, old and young! it is how it looks from the photos

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2016

    10
    Great experience!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff were incredibly friendly and accommodating, especially when we needed to make a local call to confirm a tour that was leaving the next morning. The Riad was beautiful and peaceful and we were disappointed that we were not staying longer. We will definitely stay here again if we return to Marrakech!

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2016

    8.8
    Fantastic time in Marrakesh
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Suite
    • Stayed 13 nights

    Wifi reception could be better, water in the showers warm earlier (bathtub worked great, though).

    Very friendly and most helpful owner and staff. Amazing views from terrace: Marrakesh, storks, Atlas mountains.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    8.5
    Very authentic Riad in the Kabah district.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very authentic Riad in the Kabah district. Lovely breakfast on the roof. A pool on ground floor with sun loungers on lovely roof terrace. Loved it all. Had a great time.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    9.6
    Riad and the personal were great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sat tv not working, we did nit mentioned.

    Riad and the personal were great. Nice and quiet location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    7.9
    Clean and friendly staffs
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Deluxe Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean and friendly staffs

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    10
    Wonderful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The place and the ambient

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    9.6
    Lying in the bathtub was so relaxing;
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Deluxe Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check in process was a bit complicated.

    Lying in the bathtub was so relaxing; expecting breakfast; good wifi

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    9.2
    Good breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good breakfast. Nice roof terrace to relax unser the sun. Good location.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    9.2
    the staff is very helpful and very kind with us.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    the staff is very helpful and very kind with us. help me a lot! Excellent

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    7.5
    Riad arranged transfer to airport.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Riad arranged transfer to airport. Once there the driver charged 50% more than agreed and would not listen at all. NOT OK

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    2.5
    We have booked/ paid for 3 nights however left after staying one night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cold, humid and dark rooms. Heating did not work, dirty bathroom. Unfriendly Staff and location hard to find.

    Nothing

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    7.5
    Staff friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They had christmas show in there but we didn't get invited.

    Staff friendly. nice and clean riad.breakfast ok.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2017

    6.7
    Very clean but smoke was annoying.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Cigarette smoke permeated our room and clothes. Very noisy late into the night and intense cigarette smoke then .

    Location

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    9.6
    Feels like home...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/a

    The staff especially Abdul, very friendly and helpful staff,Abdul always treat me with best Morroccon green tea,

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    9.6
    Amadou
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Amadou

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    4.2
    Overpriced
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dirty bed; bad breakfast; on picture everything looks fancy but in person most things are either dirty, low quality or partially broken

    Quiet

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    10
    Amazing!!!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We liked everything

    The swimming pool and the hospitality

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    3.8
    I liked the layout
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service was really bad

    I liked the layout

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    10
    Delightful Riad
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No

    Staff so helpful and responsive and beautiful Riad. Breakfast on the roof was relaxing and plentiful.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2017

    10
    Is a quite and beautiful property. Rooms were spacious and clean. Washrooms are big.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not easy to locate

    Interior, Beautiful decorations

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2017

    8.3
    Service was great, very friendly and helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn't like that the bathroom was all open

    Service was great, very friendly and helpful

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2017

    8.8
    Good servis
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everithing was excelent!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2017

    10
    We stayed for 5 nights and enjoyed every minute. Cl
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Very friendly and helpful staff. Comfortable quiet room and good hot water. Lovely roof terrace

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2016

    10
    Yes
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room we had was different from description on the website.

    Breakfast was good, staff friendly

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2016

    10
    Long weekend to escape November blues and stepped back to summer
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Couldn't fault the attention to detail and any request catered for. The food was excellent, and service to match.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2016

    9.2
    Lovely raid.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stronger wi-fi would be nice.

    Lovely Riad.Excellent staff service.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2016

    7.1
    Staff was very friendly and accommodating to us.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The location is terrible and very inconvenient to downtown. The food in the hotel was very expensive, and was not open late at all (I think closed at 830pm?)

    Staff was very friendly and accommodating to us. They went out of there way to help us with all questions and things we wanted to do.

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2016

    7.5
    Beautiful Riad, spacious room, no lack of hot water and even...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Although breakfast visually looked initially much more enticing than at other Riads it was pretty much the same! Same old bread, pancakes - shame no one serves fruit, fresh bread etc.

    Beautiful Riad, spacious room, no lack of hot water and even proper central heating! Definitely more luxurious than the cheaper Riads. Bit of a walk from the main souks but the Kasbah area is interesting to explore.

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2016

    10
    A beautiful little haven in the madness that is Medina.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Could be a bit more variety for breakfast when staying several days

    A beautiful little haven in the madness that is Medina. A wonderful stay. Small and boutique style.

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2016

    10
    A true hidden gem .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A true hidden gem ....you are teleported to five star but traditional riad. I would highly recommend to all my family and friends. I Cannot Wait to return. Stunning

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2016

    10
    Very friendly staff and nicely decorated rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There weren't any negatives for us.

    Very friendly staff and nicely decorated rooms. The location is superb for exploring much of the old town; and when you get tired of the noise and hassle of the Marrakesh's street the riad is a rather nice place to relax with its terrace and pool. Breakfast is good by any standard, and I would certainly recommend dinners - albeit somewhat more expensive than you can find in town, they are very good in terms of food and equally good in terms of value for money (and indeed there are plenty of touristy places in Marrakesh where you get less for more).

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2016

    10
    Location is brilliant, right in the heart of the Medina, the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location is brilliant, right in the heart of the Medina, the riad is beautiful, staff are brilliant, special thanks to Hossam and Salma. We had lovely time - Asim and Abi from UK

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2016

    4.6
    The hotel's interior decor was indeed beautiful and it...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The description of the room does not match what you get in reality. The three course meal which the hotel offers for your first night is also preselected for you (without you being informed) unless you specifically ask for a menu before you arrive to chose the options.

    The hotel's interior decor was indeed beautiful and it was very quiet and peaceful

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2016

    8.8
    Great large room, beautiful roof terrace and really friendly...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Don't eat the cornflakes they're stale and not sure if the pool is a swimming pool or a water feature but if it was a problem I'm sure we would have asked, as the only complaints it's pretty awesome.

    Great large room, beautiful roof terrace and really friendly helpful staff.

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2016

    8.8
    Very peaceful, staff are good and so friendly!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    We travelled with a 1 year old, they do not have their own fridge as they are not a hotel so travelling to tHe kitchen every time for milk was a mission. The pool is always cold to swim in and is very deep.

    Very peaceful, staff are good and so friendly! They look after you very well. very clean place. Ideal if your travelling with kids over four. And the mint tea... Is amazing!!!! Location wise it is in medina.. Don't be put off as the riad is walking distance from a lot of tourist places so we saved a lot of money... And average price of a taxi from the riad to the square is 25-30 dirhams! Don't get ripped off!!!

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2016

    9.2
    It was loavely we really enjoyed it and will definitely go...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast WAn't fantastic and also the coffee was cold so I had to ask them everytime to Make a hot coffee for me

    It was loavely we really enjoyed it and will definitely go back .

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2016

    2.9
    The location was decent in the very bustling kasbah area
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Went to visit the riad 4 days prior to make sure all was okay with the room and checking in at 9am. We weren't able to see the room and were told everything was okay. We arrived at 11am 4 days later and were told the room wasn't ready and that they never take early check ins. Even though we had a confirmation and asked in person 4 days prior. We left our bags and continued our Friday to return to the Riad at 7pm. No member of staff that knew anything was present at the riad apart from the chef who gave us our keys. The luggage was in the room but the room was poor. Bath plug didn't work, shower hose leaked, the standing shower was blocked....so were the sinks. The wifi didn't work in the room, there were no batteries in the TV remote, impossible to get into sachets of shampoo (not very 5 star) a window which you could push open and get into the room from the corridor with no lock. We pointed out these problems to the sole member of staff that evening and asked to speak to the manager. But that wasn't possible. We slept the one night there, and were woken up at 6am by the parrot. (This riad has paper thin walls by the way) we had our breakfast which was very poor and standard packed our bags then went to see the floor manager, who presented us out bill. We told her about our issues and she didn't really care. She then acknowledged that her chef told her we were unhappy last night but didn't start of with an apology or asked us about our room. She just pretended as if she knew nothing until we kicked up a fuss. Not once was there an apology from her or her arrogant boss who I spoke to on the phone. This is not 5 star. It's 2 star service and very tired and in need of serious refurb and better management. Don't get lured in by the pool, avoid at all costs

    The location was decent in the very bustling kasbah area

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2016

    9.2
    Lovely hotel, looks like a palace on the inside.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great hotel, but small complaints: The location is near the main square, which is convenient, but the direct area around the hotel is not the safest. Taxi dropped us in the middle of nowhere, make sure to arrange transport in contact with the hotel. The breakfast could have a few more options.

    Lovely hotel, looks like a palace on the inside. Nice people and nice rooms. Dinner in the hotel can be requested and is tasty and for a good price. Lovely place on the roof to catch some vitamin D!

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2016

    7.9
    Convenient for walk to central square, nice style and well...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bathroom needed refreshing - basin drain plugs missing/broken, bath shower holder broken, shower curtain torn and mouldy, etc, etc.

    Convenient for walk to central square, nice style and well managed. Breakfast simple but good, as were evening meals. Nice rooftop sun terrace. Good quality car park available some 10 minutes walk away. (50 Dirhams per day)

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2016

    10
    One of the best places we've been to.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    One of the best places we've been to. Great place, amazing and very helpful staff, great rooms, great breakfast, good location in the center of the Old town. Couldn't ask for more.

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2016

    10
    Everything about this place was perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    They lied about having a hammam on site but they actually recommend a hammam which we purported to visit.

    Everything about this place was perfect. The atmosphere was amazing! I loved the mint tea. Staff particularly stood out: Hisham and Selma were really nice and helpful in organising excursions for us. The pictures on booking.com are very accurate. The superior triple room we stayed in was exquisite, the beds comfortable.

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2016

    10
    Everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing to report

    Everything. It was as if we were at home in our own little palace. We loved the place and the staff. Nothing was too much for the owners and staff.

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2016

    9.6
    Absolutely beautiful riad, perfect to relax after the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Room a bit cold but plenty of warm bedding.

    Absolutely beautiful riad, perfect to relax after the madness of Marrakech, either around the central pool or on the rooftop sun terrace. Staff really friendly and went out of their way to be helpful. Room big with comfy bed that had piles of cushions and an extra furry blanket. Just as pretty as I had imagined a Morrocon palace would be.

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2015

    8.3
    1) Riad was very spacious
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    1) would have liked a bit more privacy with bathroom facilities 2) limited natural light in bedroom

    1) Riad was very spacious 2) staff were exceptionally helpful - one of the staff took my husband to several pharmacies on his motorbike on Christmas Eve to buy some emergency medicine for our 22 month old son.

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2015

    5.8
    The location was fine but maybe could be a little...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Everything they wrote through booking.com about their faculties didn't match when we arrived. They said there is a safe which there was but didn't work and they didn't sort it out for us either. They also state they have a fridge which they didn't at all. There was no phone in the room so you would have to go down and speak to someone if you needed something. There was no heating when it was cold but luckily enough the worker gave us her own personal electric heater. Don't know how everyone else would have coped. Thy stated there is an indoor and outdoor pool when they only have an indoor one which seems like you can't even use. One worker said the mint tea is always free but then the other worker was saying we charge. They didn't change the bed sheets all week which was not good at all.

    The location was fine but maybe could be a little uncomfortable for tourists with it being situated in alley ways.

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2015

    2.9
    Large room and bathroom with walk in closet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    First, the staff. The older man who works here pretended not to speak English on the first night we arrived. It is located in a dangerous alley and we felt extremely unsafe walking back alone. I called to ask him to walk with us from a nearby restaurant, and he pretended to only speak French. On our last day, he broke out very good English, making it obvious that the prior lack of understanding was only an excuse. Next, the lack of cleanliness. The bed had NO SHEETS at all, only a blanket and a bare mattress underneath. Disgusting. As a result, we had to ask for extra blankets to use on top of the bed, since we couldn't get in it. The staff never gave us sheets whatsoever. Last, I got sever food poisoning from some bad eggs I had from their breakfast. I ended up in the hospital, connected on an IV due to severe dehydration from the vomiting and diarrhea I got from having a small breakfast here. Last, as previously mentioned, the Riad is located in a very unsafe location, outside of the medina and in a small alley where people start harassing tourists right outside the door of the Riad. They have a tight security system, but every time we left and entered the Riad, we were on edge and nervous. Note that we had stayed in Riads in Tangier, Fes, Merzouga, and Oarzazate, and never felt unsafe until our stay here.

    Large room and bathroom with walk in closet

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2015

    8.8
    The riad is in the middle of the busy kasbah area but once...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Be aware of pickpocketing in and around the main square on a few occasions we caught the kids having a go

    The riad is in the middle of the busy kasbah area but once you step in its quite and relaxing, staff very friendly and extremely helpful (especially Salma and Asham ) the room was basic but clean and serviced everyday, breakfast was included also lots of mint tea, wine expensive. It's about a 10 min walk to the main square or staff will call a taxi, in the evening it is daunting at first but an amazing atmosphere, we packed alot in, had a lovely spa with an hour massage, the souks are a must but remember to haggle .

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2015

    7.5
    The staff were extremely attentive and went out of their way...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room we were given was not the cleanest and needed some remedial works.

    The staff were extremely attentive and went out of their way to ensure they provided a first class service.

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2015

    10
    Relaxed and super friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Relaxed and super friendly staff. Very accommodating when I asked to check out late. This was our second visit and we will definitely return once again.

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2015

    7.1
    The pool area was beautiful, the overall palais itself was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Our ground floor Junior Suite was not a suite it was a large triple room. There is no minibar as mentioned in their website. There is no "living room" - the photo misleadingly shows the area outside of the room as potentially being part of the suite. It isn't, this is a public area outside of the room.Hand held shower. Not a luxurious experience, the room was a comfortable basic room.Breakfast was also very basic though adequate for myself as not a big eater in the morning.

    The pool area was beautiful, the overall palais itself was authentic and clean. Candles lit at night, the ambience was lovely.The staff were excellent, very helpful and friendly.

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2015

    10
    What a great experience!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    What a great experience! The staff was very hospitable, we felt right at home. They take very good care of their guests. The Riad is beautiful! Dinner by the pool in the center of the Riad was superb. We canceled another reservation to come back to this place!

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2015

    9.6
    Absolutely beautiful riad, a very tranquil place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Bathroom in our suite was quite dark. Lighting could have been a bit better. Would be nice to have a fridge in the room.

    Absolutely beautiful riad, a very tranquil place to stay. Good location - 10-15 min walk from Djemaa el Fna.

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2015

    7.1
    Staff really friendly, nice pool area to relax,close walking...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    It's really hidden and we were always a bit scared coming back at night.

    Staff really friendly, nice pool area to relax,close walking distance to all historic attractions

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2015

    8.8
    Our room was on the ground floor next to the pool.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The breakfast could be improved and we had no shower curtain on our shower which meant you had to be careful to avoid water pooling on the floor.

    Our room was on the ground floor next to the pool. The room itself was nicely decorated and the bed was comfortable. The staff were attentive and friendly! We were downstairs so Wi-Fi was mostly pretty good although did have moments were my phone struggled to pick it up (could have been my dodgy phone, rather than the Wi-Fi).

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2015

    10
    The staff were outstanding, they anticipated our every need.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The staff were outstanding, they anticipated our every need. And the hotel itself was everything you should expect from a five-star Riad. We were also surprised by the quality of food. And Abdul in the restaurant was exceptional.

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2015

    10
    Lovely tranquil place to escape from the cultural chaos...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Our original suite had no bathroom door- apparently this is the traditional style. However we were moved to a beautiful suite from day 2.

    Lovely tranquil place to escape from the cultural chaos outside.

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2016

    3.8
    Not mcu
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    It is not 5 star, nothing in the room, no car park, very bad breakfast

    Not mcu

There are also 19 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Riad Palais Calipau traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: