Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Palais De Fès Dar Tazi

15, Makhfia Er'cif, à côté du cinéma Amal, Fes El Bali, 30200 Fès, Morocco

#57 of 172 hotels in Fès

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 381 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8.2

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    8.6

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    7.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    9.6
    Great authentic atmosphere (also in decoration of the room),...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Lala Touriya Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Although the meals are great (try the mixed salad specialty of the house) a bit more variety would be nice if you stay longer than two days. This is not a real negative issue though!

    Great authentic atmosphere (also in decoration of the room), helpfull staff, good restaurant, restaurant has fantastic view over the city, parking not at hotel itself but 500m away and guarded (staff will bring you there and also take care of luggage, so first report at hotel). Ask staff for a guide to visit the city, they will be glad to book you one.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    5.0
    The number of staff in this hotel exceed the number of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Maria Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The number of staff in this hotel exceed the number of tourists...my friend and I were the only guests in the hotel on that day. The owner of the hotel recommended us a day-tour guide, but he didn't guide us to the place we wanted to visit, instead, the tour guide took us to the shopping places. And we requested an early breakfast to catch the bus on that day. The owner promised us to provide early breakfast (7.45am), but when we got to the kitchen on 7.50am, it was empty...no staff, no food...so disappointed

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    9.6
    Amazing hotel with breathtaking view from its terraces over old Fez Medina.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Lala Amina Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The only disadvantage was a distance from car parking: you have to walk about 400 m there. Especially upon your arrival to the city at night can be quite troublesome or even terrifying.

    Excellent hotel in Moroccan style, just next to the entrance to Medina. Fantastic view from the terrace, where also breakfasts (very tasty) are served. Helpful staff and beautiful hall in a local style. Highly recommended in Fez!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    9.6
    Kind staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Yakouta Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Kind staff. They pick up us from police station after we getting lost and even write a note with the name of their hotel in both French and Arabic to avoid our second lost. Plus they didn’t blame us for late checkout. There lobby is like a huge museum which is full of paintings and carpets.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    7.5
    Dar Tazi is a beauttiful palace outof the 1001 and 1 night...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Yasmina Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The unorganized staff resulting from poor management: no permanent staff at the reception, very long waiting for breakfast and other meals to be served, etc. The palace is a labyrint with numerous stairs and corridors where it is very easy to get lost.

    Dar Tazi is a beauttiful palace outof the 1001 and 1 night fairytales!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    10
    Its like living in history with great hospitality.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Lala Touriya Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    For us, the stairs were no problem.

    Staying in this former palace is a great experience. Samira is a great hostess and the rest of the staff is very friendly.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    7.5
    Uncomfortable experience with staff
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Yakouta Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    On the day we checkout, we waited half an hour for breakfast which makes time extremely tight to catch the CTM. Tried to ask staff what’s going on and they didn’t say anything during the half an hour. Only when they finally served the food they explained it’s due to too many customers at the same time however I don’t accept. Actually during the half an hour, waiters kept serving all tables except ours and they glanced us several times to check our reaction. They can let us know half an hour ago that you are out of hands and we may go out for breakfast instead of in hotel. Or they can at least serve us some yogurt or juice first which doesn’t need much preparation. I told manger about this when checkout but received no explanation. I wondered why and hope to have the response from hotel. Is it due to that we’re Chinese or due to the tip problem I mentioned to manager so this practice is a kind of “punishment”? Anyway this made my experience in Fez uncomfortable. I have to say the staff help with luggage and work at the reception are really nice, but not those waiters.

    Moroccan style decoration, clean and cozy room, good location in medina and easy to get taxi, some staff are really friendly

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    7.1
    If you drive to Fez, it's good for you but you have to contact hotel staff to meet up.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Lala Amina Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very nice decor lobby with beautiful rooftop view to Fez Medina. But room is quite old furnished. Ventilation is not that ideal. We had a hard time finding the hotel because the address showing is wrong in neither Google nor Apple. You have to call the hotel to locate it. Though it's actually a big building with a plaza in front of it. You shouldn't miss it while driving on the only car-driving main road within the Medina.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    8.8
    Great experience; amazing food; loved the room; male staff a little pushy but female staff = great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Lala Touriya Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The Wi-Fi did not work in the room, and the signal was weak even in the common areas.

    The restaurant and dinner were outstanding -- if the weather is good, insist on sitting on the terrace instead of the interior dining room! Everyone was very nice, especially the women staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    10
    Outstanding location and facilities that are true to Moroccan culture. Very spacious rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Lala Amina Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only down side is that they are in the process of putting in an elevator to get you to the roof patio and restaurant that are accessible only by stairs. We had no problem getting up to the patio and restaurant but for those with disabilities it could be an issue.

    Well located the hotel had spacious rooms that were well well restored to their original glory. The staff was excellent along with the restaurant which has a great view of the city. Dinner and the complementary breakfast were outstanding. I would recommend this hotel to others who have decerning taste and want a feel of Moroccan culture.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    10
    A palace indeed in the heart of the Labyrinth-FEZ
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Yakouta Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel was indeed a PALACE! Staying there was like being in a museum. Everything was speaking about old times: the walls, the paintings, the vitro-windows and the dance of the sun-colours during the sunset, the carpets, the bathroom, furniture, doors. You could stare and gaze for hours! The breakfast was fresh, very tasty but the quantity was so big to finish! The restaurant was extremely expensive, although we ate the first night, because we arrived late night. There was a fireplace! The view from the balcony was amazing: you have Fez with all the minarets! The staff was very helpful. A big thank you to the kind-hearted "giant" who took care of our every need.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    9.2
    Exquisite building with great terrace.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Yasmina Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Weak WiFi in the room. Staff was kind but not always accessible for questions or requests

    Exquisite building with great terrace. A pleasure to spend time there. Location is convenient, being in a square reachable my Taxy (better at night when it is dangerous to walk in the Medina). Good breakfast

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    9.2
    No.1 choice without any doubt.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Yakouta Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Some parts under renovation including the installation of an elevator. Traditional room means heat keeping rather hard.

    No.1 choice without any doubt. Uncomparable panaromic view of the city. Luxious decoration in the interior. Unforgetable experience to enjoy the excellent breakfeast while the city wakes up bathing in morning sunshine.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    9.2
    Great view from one of the best Ryad in Fez
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unfortunately there were some renewal working. But trust that those will make the structure even better

    Very nice Ryad. Probably the best in Fez. The team was very polite and supportive. Also the restaurant is highly recommendable. Next time in Fez, 100% I will go to the same structure.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    8.8
    Very nice hosts, perfect location near medina, a friendly...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Ghita Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Slightly intimidating;)

    Very nice hosts, perfect location near medina, a friendly atmospheric cafe just across the street. The place itself is a work of art, they should run tours there. Great view of medina. The room is ok, has everything a traveler usually needs.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    9.2
    The breakfast was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Lala Touriya Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was under construction at off season so the garden on the ground floor was not same as the picture. It was not easy to find the staff there.

    The breakfast was good. You can see the view of medina at the terrace when having breakfast.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2017

    6.7
    Great view of the Medina and great, convenient location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Maria Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Felt like a place that used to be great but not any more. Breakfast was basic (most of the bread was not even fresh), and service lacked hospitality. The Medina guide they arranged for us was really bad. WiFi was disconnecting all the time and was really slow.

    Great view of the Medina and great, convenient location. Chilling in the roof terrace to see the sunset was a highlight of our visit in Fes.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    6.7
    You mostly pay for the location and the design of the place, not for comfort.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Yakouta Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was dark (no natural light coming in) and cold (we went in November and the air conditioning was not enough to heat what seemed like a cave). Breakfast could have been better (although traditional, we have had a lot better in other places).

    Very well placed, right next to one of the main gates of the medina, just outside of the whole madness. Overall charming building, old moroccan style, intricate interior, it really felt like we were in a palace. Also, the staff was friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    9.6
    Authentic Riad in Fez
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Lala Touriya Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lots of steps to climb but soon to be installed elevator will elevate the issue.

    Great location, authentic Riad with magnificent décor, fantastic restaurant and wonderful view from terrace

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    9.2
    Nice room and terrace
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Yakouta Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The matrasse was old, had a "u" shape ( so you would end up rolling to the middle). It was uncomfortable. Most of the restaurant staff was not very profesional and didn't speak english.

    Room was very pretty and special. Breakfast was good and had a lot of choise. Terrace is lovely and some of the staff was very friendly. They serve alchohol

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    10
    Very impressive Riad
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All are good. Just the tour guide from agent who recommend by the Riad reception is impatient.

    The Riad since from 17 century which looks ancient and wonderful. The place of Riad is easy to locate. Dinner is very delicious but expensive compared to local ones. Breakfast is good as well.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    6.7
    I do not recommend this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    This is a big compound building, which was said to be a restaurant originally. The hotel was under reconstruction for more rooms. So the passage to the dinning place was dirty and dusty. When you sit at the table on the terrace the wind blew the dust your way. The key point is the rooms are over priced. It can't make you feel any special there vs how much you pay for it.

    It is by the entrance of the Medina.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    7.1
    Lovely staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Nacer Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Many stairs to make it to the room The breakfast is to be improved; it does not reflect the city’s seal. Most of the visitors talked about the manager in good words but for us he was the weakest link of the chain; he was not friendly at all mainly during the checkout. The mattress in the room where we stayed should be changed.

    Very good and easy to find location; close to most of the main monuments of the old city. The terrace gives an excellent view on the old city. The decoration design is stunning and amazing. The staff is excellent very friendly and helpful; they offer their services with large smile and will do everything that will let the client feel comfortable. We enjoyed a lot the very nice Moroccan launch we had the day of our arrival to the hotel, it confirmed the idea we have about this city’s meals.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    9.6
    Perfect place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Maria Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The building has a lot of steps (it wasn't a problem for us, but could be inconvenient for elderly people), but in the days of our stay there were construction works in the preparation for an elevator :)

    Two Croatian girls come to this riad only to be treated like princesses :) It is a perfect place to stay in Fes! The staff is lovely and attentive and we are thankful that they made our stay so wonderful! From the services they provide (airport pick-up where the driver waited for us for an hour because our flight was late, arranging a day trip to Chefchaouen with a driver and a half-day tour with a guide to show us around Fes medina - this turned out to be a preferable option than going by ourselves) to everyday friendly communication - everything was truly delightful. Excellent location, right next to medina and also only a few meters away from the road where taxis are, but offers peace and quiet once inside the building. Delicious and bountiful breakfast served on the terrace, dinner as well (dinner excluded from the price). And rooftop terraces (plural!) have THE MOST beautiful view over the city. Fans in the common area and AC in the room help beat the heat, gorgeous interior details and cozy atmosphere make the most authentic and memorable Moroccan exlerience.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    9.6
    Great Location, Lovely Staff, Delicious Breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Lala Touriya Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no curtain between the shower and the sink.

    Location is great, near to the Old City. The manager is lovely, he is so nice, arranged a local guide and a taxi to Chefchaouen for us with a good price. Breakfast can save you lunch money, it was delicious. Great view from the top.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    9.0
    Felt very much like the independent travellers.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Lala Touriya Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    You are in the centre of the local evening meeting place, so rooms at the front will have the hum from outside until nearly midnight.

    The terraces are wonderful, and you will not go hungry from the breakfast. Dinner was somewhat pricey, but attentively served, authentic, and in the fantastic setting.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    5.0
    Won't be going back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Ghita Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We had a falling out with the owner because the 'suite' suitable for 4 adults was actually a double room with two small sofas made up as beds. To be fair, we were eventually given an additional room at no additional cost but the process was pretty unpleasant and unnecessary as we were still paying more than if we had booked two rooms on the day of our arrival. Refurb work was also being undertake meaning that the place was very noisy during the day.

    Lovely old building with traditional décor.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    7.1
    Excellent location and property, but not good at service and food quality.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Clearly the hotel has an issue with service. For some reason there was lack of management follow up, I did not see the hotel manager around, waiters, cooks, and the swimming pool team were working without any monitoring or management.

    The hotel was good in terms of location and property, in addition to friendliness.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    7.5
    The hotel has it's own great aura.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Lala Touriya Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The price is rather expensive for the same quality of other hotels I've stayed in Morocco. The room is quite small for three persons and my windows were to the square which was extremely busy and noisy till 12 pm or 1 am, and the sound isolation was not there due to original design of the building. the restaurant offers only menu options, so it's not possible to order a salad only if you are not hungry

    The hotel has it's own great aura. The staff is extremely friendly. Great view from the rooftop restaurant.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    8.8
    Will stay again for sure!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Yakouta Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Need to walk up stairs to the toilet, a bit inconvenient but acceptable.

    Nice experience in this special riad. Fantastic rooftop with wonderful Fes view. Dinner and breakfast were both good. Good location.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2017

    9.6
    Beautiful Palais with great view of the medina, highly recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Ghita Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This is a great 'Palais'. Location is perfect! The view of the medina from the rooftop restaurant and patios is breathtaking. The owners are very helpful and the atmosphere is warm and welcoming. Breakfast is huge and delicious. Dinner is highly recommended, both outdoors on the patio or indoors. We warmly recommend this riad for visits to Fes! If you arrive by car, use the 'find property' in bookings.com app to drive to the riad, do not park your car at the parking lots at the entrance of the medina (ignore parking attendants). Once arrived the owners will help you unpack and park the car for you.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    5.4
    Very friendly, but does not live up to expectation
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Lala Amina Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom very small and basic. Hand shower only. No curtain etc so floor is flooded in no time. Rooms are noisy Rooms seemed damp , sticky floor Rooms do not have daylight Restaurant is too expensive.

    Hotel had tons of charm and a fine restaurant. Staff very very helpful once you approach them and find them Very hospitable. Location is great, nice square in front and a couple of restaurants, atms etc

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    8.8
    Historic atmospheric property
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Ghita Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of privacy in position of bedroom, sitting area and bathroom as windows opened out onto other room and public space. But this is old palace with specific design.

    Amazing breakfast on terrace with view over Medina. Beautiful palace with fascinating architecture. Staff incredibly helpful and kind.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    10
    A jewel, fairytale hotel in central Fez
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It would be difficult if you can't walk in stairs as the hotel have any small narrow stairs to get around, it adds to the charm but probably difficult for some. Quite small rooms and no pool.However I still loved everything about this hotel!

    The hotel is a fairy tale, beautiful like thousand and one night a world in itself with a lovely terrasse facing a popular square. Excellent restaurant at the hotel, we had great dinner at the terrasse with live music in the evening. Great location close to old town (Medinan) but still easy to get to by car Would definitely stay here again, loved it!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    8.8
    Great memories
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Lala Amina Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    some more fresh air in the room would be welcome but not so easy to achieve so close to the medina I guess

    Marvellous views from the terrace. Very helpful staff. They make you feel at home. Perfect location for visiting the medina. Beautiful inside

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2017

    3.3
    Dont visit fes
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Maria Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The communication with staffs is not smooth, espeically when it relates to money. (Although we speak both english and french) First, the price in the hotel restaurant does not include the tax. Second, the staff kept all the changes without asking when he bought the bus ticket for us. P.s. Dont hire a tour guide for the medina. The guy keep stalling so he could charge a higher price. And what he has shown us are basically store store store... it is ridiculous. And I recommend you not to visit fes at all...

    The breakfast is good.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2017

    10
    Stay here to REALLY experience Fez/Morocco
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Lala Touriya Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There is a drain smell in the bathroom. The bed was very hard, but we actually still slept ok, probably because of daily exhaustion. The morning cook could make a more appetizing omelet by adding vegetables, cheese, spices. HOWEVER. All of the above would not keep me from going back. Staying here is an exceptional experience.

    The Riad is a 17th c. palace. Quite incredible. I was amazed. The decoration, history, tiles, lamps, roof top terraces, the dining room, the spaces. I couldn't believe we got to stay in such a place! The location could not be better, just walk out into the souk. Taxis can pull up nearby. Abdul kept assuring us, "Whatever you need or want, we will do it for you. You are welcome!" The staff couldn't be nicer. I would pick this Riad over the Hilton or Marriott any day, for the experience. The breakfasts were 3 course, way too filling :-) FRESH squeezed orange juice every morning, local bread/cake specialties, olives, omelet, honey, jam, butter. I usually did not need lunch. And eating dinner with the window pulled back, seeing the lights of the city, eating in such a special room - priceless.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2017

    8.8
    Breathtaking views and fantastic location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Meryem Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room was very small for 3 people. The toilet was so small that you couldnt sit on it and close the door - a bit inconvenient when 3 people are sharing a room!! Even if the toilet door had closed it has a window on the door which isn't private at all. Thank goodness there were other bathrooms on site. We didnt mind that much because we spent most of our time out of the Riad or on the amazing rooftop terrace. We had dinner in the riad one night, it was delicious but simply far too expensive for what you recieve. We ate out for a fraction of the price the rest of the time. We like a drink when we are on holiday and for a big hotel it was infuriating that for the whole week they had run out of the good value wine and we had to purchase an overpriced bottle. They should stock up more often. (I felt like it was a ploy to make money)

    The location was excellent. Next to a bustling square so it was very easy to find and out of the main souks on the edge of the medina. Also placed in front of a couple of very cheap restaurants/cafes. The roof top terrace is out of this world and the views are the best in Fes.It was worth the stay just to hear the call to prayer from this amazing location with a view over the whole of Fes. Staff were very friendly and kind, especially Natifa and Selma who were always there to serve us mint tea and make us feel very welcome. The cleaner was also very friendly and she does a fantastic job maintaining the whole riad (which is very big). Breakfast was served in abundance - plenty of Moroccan pastries, omelette and cake with orange juice and coffee and tea if you wish.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2017

    10
    THE BEST HOTEL IN FES
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Maria Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing. Somebody says it looks haunted because of the music, the light, the atmosphere, and the building is almost 400 years old! But I just like it that way! :PPP

    If you come to fes, it is definitely the best choice to stay here! it's a really beautiful palace. you can took a lot of fabulous pictures in it. And there's this beautiful music playing around in the palace, you'll feel you traveled through time and you were just the princess in it. the stuffs are really nice and helpful, most of them speak English well. you can enjoy the amazing breakfast up on the roof with the best view of fes. The location is great too, just along the main road, you don't have to drag your luggage and walk a long time in the narrow streets. If you're going to fes, you really don't wanna miss it!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2017

    9.2
    Its so beautiful and big riad, nice decoration, great lobby...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Lala Touriya Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room so tiny

    Its so beautiful and big riad, nice decoration, great lobby (furniture and decor look like a five star hotel). Great view to the old medina. Shower are very strong.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2017

    6.3
    Dissapointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Lala Touriya Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Small rooms and tiny bathroom, You have to climb stairs 4 floors to get to the room. The owner or manager is not very friendly. The rest of the staff was nice.

    Breakfast is included and good

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2017

    7.9
    Friendly staff and nice view, thats about it
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Yakouta Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was not enough room for a person to fit in the bathroom and close the doors, the doors to the bathroom and toilet didn't even close all the way, lighting in the rooms was poor, there was heater in the room but it did not heat the entire room; just a small section, shower was cold after 5 minutes, staff had to change the lights in the bathroom twice within the first 12 hours of us being there. while the hotel itself was authentic looking, the amenities were fair at best. the location is convienent, but the square where it is located is very sketchy and I would not recommend going there by yourself; espeically as a female. overall it was a decent experience, but ifI were to go back to Fes, I would not stay here again.

    the view from the terrasse was beautiful. very authentic looking. the staff was very kind, helpful, and friendly. the breakfast was the best I had in Morocco.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2016

    9.6
    I would really recommend this hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Yakouta Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Heating unit was badly placed as we stayed in the Yakuta room and its in the 1st floor so it didn't really warm the room up.

    Beautiful hotel with an amazing rooftop view overlooking the medina. The staff are also lovely with free traditional tea and biscuits on arrival!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2016

    9.2
    The place to be in Fes!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Lala Amina Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room was a little small for 4 people.

    Great staff, always very helpful and attentive; fantastic restaurant, both food and view, too bad December was too cold for al fresco dining.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2016

    10
    Amazing building
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Yasmina Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Taxi to the airport is difficult. Only small taxis that are not allowed to go to the airport.

    Really nice building with roof terrace and restaurant at the roof

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2016

    10
    The esteemed hospitality of a Morrocain
    • Solo traveller
    • Lala Touriya Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This is one riad that came to my attention as the most memorable one. It's certainly not because of the environment, atmosphere, and the comfort it offers, but the surpising hospitality the owner extends towrards his guests. The owner did not strke me as the gregarious type and he keeps an attentive eye on the performance of his staff on how the service and attitude they should exercise towards the guests of the riad. We were invited to have the lunch with the owner as he whisked away with remarks that every Friday is the couscous day. The moment we sat down on the chairs was the moment the lecture on the service began. The lunch that was served certainly could very well make one feel like the kings of the riad, not because of its extravagance, but the magnitude of the proportions to which it offered tremendously exceeded our capacity to consume them all. The owner was rather quiet during our lunch together, but his mind was somewhere else distant, and in times of needs, he drifted back to give a few more shouts at his staff and was quite "extrovert" in digging in the coucous piles. He shoved the beef into my plates without slightest bit of hesitation. He felt like a grandpa to me, eager to share what he has on the table with those around him, but throughout the fair with a stern look on his face, always dismissive of a slight hint of smile on his face. I was not discouraged after a few failed attempts at striking up a conversation and in fact, I felt closer to him from a fellow owner's perspective. We then shared the meals in silence as he lurched away in shouts at his staff and was nowhere to be seen again.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2016

    8.3
    Wonderful staff and location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Lala Amina Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bath ran out of hot water. That was a bit upsetting. They could have warned us. Bed was really hard for me. AC wasn't working for quite a while. Room didn't have a window (apparently it's normal in Morocco, I'm not sure ).

    The location is A+++, and the view from the terrace is wonderful, you can see the entire old medina from their roof. The staff is very professional and nice, and they would walk us each time to go from one property to the other. (They have two properties) The are literally they only people who didn't force upon us for tips in Fez. Really really nice and genuine people! The inner decor of the lobby and the rooms are exquisite and luxurious, really exotic and authentic for us.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2016

    9.2
    The location was perfect and the hotel one of the nicest...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Yasmina Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location was perfect and the hotel one of the nicest examples of the old architecture! It is very good maintain and clean! The staff is very friendly and helpful and the owner very friendly too and seems like a person who definitely knows how to work in the tourist industry!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2016

    9.6
    Beautiful hotel in the medina.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Yakouta Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It's in the medina so you can't drive to the door. Not even to drop your bags, so pack lightly because you can only get as close as five blocks from it in a vehicle. You must walk from there.

    Beautiful hotel, nice large rooms with great bathroom. Nice breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2016

    10
    Your best choice in Fez
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Lala Touriya Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great location, very helpful and kind boss and staff. They helped us arranged the traditional hammams and helped us to find the ride to chefchaoune and upgraded our room. The hotel is a 17th century building, very beautiful and has a nice bacony where you can have a full view of the old town.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2016

    10
    Super location, which is just 300-500 meters away from the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Yakouta Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Super location, which is just 300-500 meters away from the medina gate by walking and It is easy to find the hotel by following the google map. The decoration design is stunning, and the high roof makes it look like a palace rather than a house for a rich family. Staffs are really nice and helpful, who are patient and thoughtful. They particularly prepared the breakfast for us due to early leave, and the door man helped us to take a taxi to catch the bus to Chefchaoune.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2016

    9.6
    Large and wonderful Riad
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Lala Touriya Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only two small things: Wifi was very weak during the 3 nights stay. Some fruit at the breakfast would have been great.

    Super friendly, great location next to Medina.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2016

    9.2
    The staff were excellent and the room was just amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Yakouta Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Be aware that the room facilities are very basic. There is a laundry service but no washing machine, there is a communal television, patio and balcony. This is not clear when booking but is certainly not a reason to avoid this wonderful place.

    The staff were excellent and the room was just amazing. We were very welcome and comfortable during our stay. The checkin was a welcome relief after a long day of travel - thank you all !!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2016

    8.8
    Perfect location for the Medina.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There are a lot of steps to and from the terrace/restaurant. Not usually a problem, but very tiring in the heat.

    Fantastic location right on the edge of the Medina with roof top terraces over looking the old town. They offered to send a driver to the outskirts of Fes to guide us in! Secure parking 400m away, and the driver will take you to and from your vehicle. Lovely, if a little expensive food in a fabulous setting.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    9.6
    Right in the Medina for a real Morocco experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Yakouta Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All staff very helpful. Great assistance given to connect us with quality tour guides at a fair price.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    7.5
    Location is great, easy to find.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Lala Touriya Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quite noise in the night, my room is facing to the plaza.

    Location is great, easy to find. The terence view is good.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    3.8
    Bad smells from bathroom drains.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Yasmina Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bad smells from bathroom drains. Too noisy

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    6.7
    the location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Maria Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the room was very cold, a lot of dust, the wifi in the room didn’t work

    the location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    6.7
    Good location just outside the Medina.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Maria Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was dark without windows and the toilet was a bit smelly

    Good location just outside the Medina. The balcony has very good views

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    9.2
    Every day same breakfast, they should really change something
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Maria Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Every day same breakfast, they should really change something

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    7.5
    The breakfast was amazing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Lala Amina Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff was not nice and showed very little availability and sympathy for costumers

    The breakfast was amazing

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    10
    Perfect location, perfect interior , overperfect view from...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Lala Touriya Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Perfect location, perfect interior , overperfect view from terrace.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2017

    9.2
    Excellent traditional decoration + excellent food & staff
    • Group
    • Lala Touriya Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    However, location is in busy and crowded location

    excellent restaurant with fabulous view Staff excellent and friendly

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    9.2
    The staff are extremely helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff are extremely helpful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    10
    Second family~
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Lala Amina Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    nothing

    excellent service. All staffs are warm hearted and helpful. They also provide me a good tour guide. Strongly recommend.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    9.6
    Nice location and staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Yakouta Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location is great, just at the entrance of old medina. It's decorated in traditional Morocco style, very stunning and exotic!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2017

    10
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Meryem Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Great location. Very friendly staff. Wonderful breakfast. Beautiful building.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2017

    5.8
    Maintained and well-decorated riad
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Maria Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    1) Location is not in a good part of the city. 2) The owner

    Maintained and well-decorated riad

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2017

    10
    Superb.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Maria Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very friendly staff. Exquisite experience at the rim of the Medina, with a gorgeous view of the surrounding area.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2017

    8.8
    Live Fes in Dar Tazi
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Ghita Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    None

    Traditional style stay

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2017

    9.6
    Food and drink prices too high
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Meryem Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food and drink prices too highgreat

    Food and drink prices too high

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2017

    10
    Really great place with very amazing breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Lala Touriya Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really great place with very amazing breakfast.The location is also good, can also call a taxi to either new town or medina with 10-30dhm.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2017

    10
    Amazing Riad from 17th century, amazing and helpful staff. Highly recommended.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Lala Touriya Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I liked everything,such a kind and helpful staff.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2017

    8.8
    Like it!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Nacer Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    It'll be perfect if there's hair dryer in the bathroom.

    the panorama is fantastic!!! I love the balcony and interior decoration.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2017

    9.6
    The building is old and traditional.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Nacer Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room is relatively small and the air conditioner is not quite effective.

    The building is old and traditional.

    Stayed in December 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Palais De Fès Dar Tazi traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: