Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Palais Mehdi

Circuit De La Palmeraie Nakhil Bp 12338, 40000 Marrakech, Morocco

#470 of 855 hotels in Marrakech

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 158 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8.8

  • Location

    8.4

  • Facilities

    8.3

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    8.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 35

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing in my opinion to dislike. They set their standards pretty high.

    I loved the fact that the entire staff from the second you walk in pays attention to your needs. They start right from the beginning treating you like you are family.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    That I had to leave.

    The staff is the entire package. They make you feel welcome and as if you were part of their family. The property is very quiet and very clean.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My French is not the best so found it hard to communicate .. The staff are soo layed back they where professional at being slow or just doing nothing! So if your willing to sit around an dehydrate it’s best to do everything yourself! Even the menu was fully in French and they couldn’t describe what it was. Don’t bother with the spa the treatments are experience and poor quality.. the shower temperature was a joke even boiling hot I did actually burn myself to freezing cold .. ended up having to stand in the bath and shower because the water would flood the bathroom and then the shower head on the bath broke

    The staff where so friendly. The pool was relaxing and peaceful . The rooms where clean.. The breakfast was lovely except you never knew what you was going to get. The taxi service was great they would pick you up and drop you off where you liked for around 200/300 dh .. the gym was ok nothing special but I got a good workout in there

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We made the mistake of booking a Marrakesh medina private tour through the hotel. The price was exorbitant, and the guide was the worst we have used in any country we have traveled to. He did not show us any sights or explain anything, and was only interested in taking us to carpet and spice shops where there was very aggressive selling and where he obviously made a commission. While the hotel staff apologised the next day, they said they could not give a refund because they had paid the agent. This is quite unfair and not really the kind of service we expected - any good establishment would have not charged for such an incident. It spoilt an otherwise perfect stay. Would recommend that you do not book any tours through the hotel and make separate arrangements through elsewhere. A lot of the staff don’t speak English - only French and Arabic. While this was not an issue for us, something to be aware about.

    Very stylish and beautiful hotel, especially the main building and restaurant. Really feels like you are staying in a Moroccan palace. The art collection in the hotel is super (owner is a collector) and it is like being in a museum for free. Pool area is very nice and relaxing. Pity it was too cold to swim while we were there but I could see myself spending as lot of time in the pool if the weather was better. They serve a very good and elaborate breakfast - excellent cheese omelette! Service overall is excellent.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Prestige Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Just a single channel at the TV ( unacceptable for a 5 star hotel)! no hair dryer at room ( we had to ask for one). Concierge order us a taxi to city and advised us to coordinate with him the way back ( at an inflated price) when we could get 1000 free taxis at the main square at any time of the day.

    Beautiful suite and great public areas ( pool, dining room,, Lobby, gardens. Top of the line service at check in!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We visited the hotel for 3 nights and had an exceptional stay. Very clean, peaceful and relaxing stay. However I would recommend buying drinks from outside as it can be quite expensive.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Overpriced

    The Palais is situated a good distance out of town in an "up market" residential area. The rooms are huge, comfortable & well appointed. The swimming pool is an attractive oasis. Food (& water!!) somewhat overpriced.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was wonderful. The staff were amazing and made the experience perfect. Every single member of staff worked so hard to make you feel at home.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Prestige Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly and helpful staff. Good breakfast (better than Morocco average). Great pool. Caln and quite atmosphere. Good design and facilities in rooms as well.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Going home!

    We spent a week in Palais Mehdi on our honeymoon and it was like stepping into another world - absolute paradise! There is a beautiful sense of serenity in the hotel - it's a calm oasis surrounded by palm trees with birds singing constantly and gardens full of mint & exotic plants. The hotel building is an amazing piece of architecture - you really get the feeling of being in a palace with it stunning arches, columns and Morrocan lighting. There is also a very extensive collection of art and historical items scattered throughout the rooms of the hotel- well worth getting lost in! The breakfast is very extensive with eggs, fruit, cakes and lots of bread & croissants and freshly squeezed orange juice. The food in Palais M restaurant onsite was very good also although a bit on the expensive side particularly for a bottle of wine. There is entertainment most nights in the restaurant which itself is a work of art reminiscent of the Great Gatsby in its design! The pool in the hotel grounds is huge and a lovely place to relax for the day. What we loved most about Palais Mehdi was the relaxed atmosphere and the fantastic staff - from the gardeners to the waiters to the management- a brilliant team! A huge thanks to Sofia whose lovely friendly manner really made our stay special - we felt like we knew her for years! She's a credit to Palais Mehdi. We'll be back!! :-)

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The palace and pool are breathtaking. The pool quite literally .. being unheated .. but it's welcome refreshment in the Marrakesh heat. Sofia, the beautiful concierge, is helpfulness personified. There when you need something but never intrusive .. as were the rest of the staff. With only 22 rooms it all feels very personal and laid back. The owners are lovely too. As a lone female from London in need of some sunshine, I just wanted somewhere to relax in the sun, with good food and wine for a few days and palais medhi more than delivered. Free wifi throughout, free transfer to and from the airport. It's a 15 minute taxi to the medina .. 100 dirhams each way which Sofia will organise for you. If you want to be in the hustle and bustle this isn't for you. But It's exactly what I wanted! It's not Moroccan cheap but I wouldn't expect it to be so. The gatsby inspired restaurant is lovely and you can dine on a Moroccan/Italian inspired menu with live jazz to boot. I will definitely return.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is extremely pretty with amazing moroccan decoration! Amazing breakfast server directly to your table. The rooms are huge, afterall, Palais Mehdi only has suites! Value for money definitely. We felt like kings. The staff is very friendly and accommodating. Throughout the whole trip we felt part of the Palais Mehdi Family, definitely going back!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit out of town, haven't seen the restaurant interior. It was literally empty. They charged tourist tax on the end.?

    Nice interior, great that they gave us a lift to the airport

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Prestige Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    ...okay, we have been there low season (Feb.) but no reason to appear like a fairy tale castle (deep sleep - Cinderella...) hamam - closed; gym - dark and cold; massage - smile - nice try... cold room - wet towels...

    ...first impression was quite nice (okay) but when you look closer... this place needs a refurbishment (refreshment smile!) - resort-manager: very efficient - close to greedy behind the mask of politness... best: to get known to our personal driver - he was great!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast is served individually. You can have other things if you ask when you order, but this is not clear. It was very good and a lot, but less would go to waste or you could more easily get what you want, if the hotel had a Menu for all breakfast options that you can choose from.

    Beautiful location, spacious grounds with many places to sit and relax. The personnel was very nice and helpful. You are outside of the City here, which we wanted. You can go for a run, enjoy the calmness and eat in the area (rather expensive). To go into the City there are drivers or Taxis, both cost ~ 100 Dirhams.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff made us feel so welcome from the minute we arrived. The hotel food was excellent as well as the live music. Such a beautiful, peaceful hotel, stunning rooms. We can't wait to return!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi not good. Quite often dropped out. Shower/bath water lukewarm. Menu could do with a daily special as not a huge amount of choice if staying a week.

    All the staff are extremely helpful, friendly and attentive. Very impressive place. Beds huge with lovely bedding. Relaxing and peaceful. Pool perfect. Really beautiful decor and furnishings. Extremely tasteful.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Golf camp nearby to riad

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Suite
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely helpful staff real family run place not too corporate and warm relaxing environment

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing!

    Everything perfect! Staff, surroundings, food, setting etc etc - would definitely stay again.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lobby area and common areas were not heated and very cold

    Nice staff. Great pool and gardens

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The breakfast needs some improvements and they should provide more information on the service they deliver.

    The silence in the hotel

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complaints

    Everything the staff made us feel at home

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything perfect ..

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Prestige Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Reception was hidden more an office. Staff a little curt at times

    Breakfast was great. Room was lovely Pool fantastic

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    amazing venue, amazing staff too! I really enjoyed my stay here and the food was wonderful. Cant wait to visit again

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Wonderful place, absolutely stunning. Great service, and a real example of moroccan luxury design and class can be.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    So beautiful and peaceful place! Really good service! The hamman was amazing!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful room in the garden! Lovely staff.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Location and also very slow secondary level staff.

    Very nice bed and good breakfast including also other meals.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    On two of our three nights the hot water in the shower was coming out only tepid; pool-side staff seemed a bit absent-minded; foot paths through the gardens a bit irregular and easy to trip; I've stayed at cleaner places too.

    Huge room, private terrace and very comfy bed all a major plus. Food was decent and the swimming pool was both pleasant and well-designed. Hammocks a nice touch too. Service from the staff at reception was excellent.

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    If they freshen up the soft furnishing as it is quiet old and pay attention to the air on and if the tv is streaming in all the rooms as we had full Chanel's in the sitting room but not in the bedrooms

    The location is great and the staff fantastic hotel a little dated but the setting 'is gorgeous great pool and night entertainment is lovely

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Bath water was not very hot Pool was a little cold for me ( but there were people swimming in there fine)

    Beautiful building and gardens , lovely staff , the executive suite was spacious and very comfortable . Bed was huge . Food was excellent . We are in our 40 's and travelled with mature parents - we all loved the place.

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    we loved everything

    we loved the huge moroccan style room, the quality of service and his high standard, the warm welcome and the pool, also the quiet area

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The breakfast a little boring no fresh fruit the staff very slow at even bringing a bottle water when asked

There are also 17 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 35

Browse Palais Mehdi traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: