Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Palazzo Desdemona

12-14 Rue Youssef El Fassi, Ahl Agadir, 44000 Essaouira, Morocco

#29 of 88 hotels in Essaouira

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1447 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    8.2

  • Location

    9.5

  • Facilities

    7.9

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    8.4

  • Free WiFi

    7.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2018

    6.3
    good location but not the best
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    car has to be parked around 100 metre's away. so difficult if you have children and suitcases. I would say a 3 star hotel

    good basic breakfast, location is in the heart of the centre, clean hotel

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    9.6
    Perfect Location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Charm Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    You can improve the shower, to not get everything around wet :)

    Certainly, it's the best location you could ever find in Essaouira: just close to the port, the parking lot and the door of the Medina. Although it has no direct view of the sea (except the last level room), you have a great view to a beautiful and full of life (not noisy) square. The staff helps you to book a restaurant, advise you on the best routes to go after Essaouira and they are really sweet. It's a comfortable and relaxed small hotel.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    9.2
    Perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Terrasse Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were in room 17, One of two terrace suites. Cannot recommend highly enough - so worthwhile having to walk up the many steps.. to get to the most charming room with fantastic outdoor space. Wouldn’t hesitate to book the same room again on another trip to Essaouira

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    9.6
    Very nice accommodation and friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Charm Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very nice accommodation and friendly staff. We had a very spacious room, beautifully decorated and furnished in Moroccan style overlooking a square and city wall. We can certainly recommend it and hope to return.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    9.2
    1 night rest
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Confort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff was really nice. We’ve got an upgrade without asking for a sea view room. Location is perfect, you can see and hear the ocean and sleep tight like a baby.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    9.6
    Location was excellent!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Confort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location was excellent! Right in the Medina..close to the action. Delicious restaurants & amazing shopping near by. Free breakfast was delicious. We loved our room with a small cute balcony overlooking the Medina. This was one of our favorite places in Morocco. Will definitely book again! Beach is a short walk from hotel. Rooms were comfy cute & clean.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    8.8
    Great stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The view from the room is not on the beach. We can nearly see it. But it stays beautiful.

    We liked our room (Charm) a lot, it was really cosy. The Riad decoration is nice. The location is also great as it is close from Eassouira Port and the Medina. The breakfast was good and fulfilling.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    9.6
    Great location, friendly staff, cosy rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Charm Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Payment process was quite intransparent. They just took the money from credit card without letting you know.

    Great location, friendly staff, cosy rooms

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    9.2
    Great find. Would visit again
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent location close to parking and easy to find. This should not be underrated when access into Medina’s can be difficult especially with luggage. I chose this riad because of its clean rooms and historic architecture. I was not disappointed. The details are lovely and comfortable. Each room is beautifully appointed, spacious with lots of light and a good breeze. There are some shared common spaces. The staff offered a delicious breakfast and gave us a good recommendation for dinner. I only wish the main common area were a little more attended. It is such a nice space, I wish it offered a few dining options or had the same attention to detail that the rooms had. That said, there are plenty of cafes and restaurants nearby. I would recommend they sell big water bottles. Also great value!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    8.8
    Very good location, close to the parking near the port.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Charm Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We have rooftop room. It is little old and this age smells little bit. Room, at least rooftop, needs renovation. Breakfast - marocan pancakes, if you want omlet, you must pay extra...

    Very good location, close to the parking near the port. Old building with the nice, authentic interior. Nice place. Nice view from the rooftop. We like our stay and beautifull city of Essaoira...

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    8.8
    Beautiful old palace with great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Palazzo Desdemona is very good located. It is an old palace from 15 th centuary. They upgraded us and we got a suite, so it was very nice from them. The suite like all hotel is very nice decorated in traditional Moroccan style with a lot of paintings.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    9.2
    We liked the building itself and also the room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Beds could be a little more comfortable. You can feel all movements of your partner in double bed. But that does not spoil our overall impressions.

    We liked the building itself and also the room. Old wooden details as doors were amazing. Location is very good as it is in Medina and also quite near the beach.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    10
    The staff are great especially the main chap on reception I...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Terrasse Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing it was perfect

    The staff are great especially the main chap on reception I think his name may have been samir most helpful hotel worker I have ever known. If you are going to essaouria and don't need a 5 star luxury resort stay here trust me it's great. Would 100% stay here again. Great location on edge of medina aswell

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    8.8
    Laid back and chilled in essaouira
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lots of stairs, kept us very fit.

    Rooms were beautiful, beds comfortable, Windows opened to let the fresh air in. Within walking distance to beach and medina.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    7.9
    Staff upgraded our room to a suite which was really spacious...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast can be earlier and more variety, it would be useful to show on the map where to park and the price quoted at the car park is more than the price quoted in the hotel information (usually the case in Morocco, probably because we don't speak French)

    Staff upgraded our room to a suite which was really spacious and pretty, excellent location, very nicely decorated hotel in the medina

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    10
    Brilliant!
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The most beautiful riad so close to medina! :) we loved it there, the breakfast was excellent everything was clean and lovely! Staff is is really nice and helpful and they have great wifi!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    10
    Very beautiful, stylish clean and spacious riad.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Charm Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Man on the parking will try to park u in the place, where seagulls are defecating, in order to wash your car later and earn some money). But Palazzo Desdemona is not relevant to this.

    Very beautiful, stylish clean and spacious riad. Perfect location, because it is located in medina but municipal parking is so close. Port fish market is located in few hundred of meters and it is amazing, so u can buy lots of different seafood wich can be cooked in near port cafe.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    9.2
    Breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Charm Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast. Slow service, very limited choice of products. Should rather be marked as 'Continental breakfast' rather than 'Very good breakfast'.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    9.2
    The position just outside the medina, very near to the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast is not as good and aboundant as in many other places in Morocco

    The position just outside the medina, very near to the parking, the port and the beach is definitely the best you can find in Essaouira. Moreover the riad is very nice and beautifully furnished

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    7.9
    Had 3 nights here, great little spot, lots of stairs
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can be a little loud early morning when other guests are leaving with their luggage

    I liked this charming little hotel and great location. Was a good price, would stay here again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    7.1
    Good position, great restaurants in the lane behind. Chefchaouen is a beautiful town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Confort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The stairs - 44 narrow steep stairs to our room & 63 for our friend’s room on the roof. The showers were poor - water went everywhere.

    Great position

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    7.9
    The location to the medina and surrounding beaches was great
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    One of the nicest things about Morocco was the Raid hospitality - on arrival one is served with mint tea and olives. On arrival here - we were not offered anything, were asked to fill in all documents immediately and then shown to our rooms. The pictures on the website far exceed the actual accommodation - there was not even a soap dish in the shower.

    The location to the medina and surrounding beaches was great

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    10
    Pretty superior riad, if you ask me.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Confort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Pretty superior riad, if you ask me. Clean, spacious room with tall ceiling and four-poster bed. Good wifi all throughout the building, even outside. Good location, very close to famous clock tower, beach, and port. The staff were appropriately friendly and helpful. In my whole stay in Morocco, this was the best value place I've stayed in so far, best value, with a generous breakfast that includes a warm baguette.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    9.6
    Super place to stay with lovely staff and great value for money!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Confort Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Not enough choice for vegetarians in the restaurant. The quality of the towels could be improved.

    The staff at the hotel were so friendly and helpful. From the moment I arrived, I was made to feel welcome. The room was clean with good basic amenities and I had a great sleep in a very comfy bed. Breakfast was enjoyable and it was possible to ask for extra tea, coffee etc. The hotel is in a great location if you want to explore the Medina and old town with a very short walk to the markets, cafe's, port, and much more. As a single traveller I felt comfortable staying at the hotel and would happily return.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    9.2
    Charming, beachy, casual place to stay for a great little beach town. Close to everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Charm Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This place was in a great location just inside the old medina, close to everything. The building is over 200 years old, and has a lot of charm, for the price, it's perfect, there are some nicer more expensive riads near by I saw, but this place was prefect for what I needed and had a cute casual charm. If you need a blow dryer, ask the front desk. I stayed 2 nights in #16 (up 4 flights of stairs) good for 1 person, and the last night in #2, on second floor, bigger room. Breakfast was included in my booking, crepes, bread, coffee, & juice.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    9.6
    Location was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Charm Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location was great. If we had a room with more a view that would have been great. Room 14 is probably the one to request but it was great. Close to everything. Easy to park and walk to dinner at night. Staff was helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    7.9
    A great hotel in a great town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Terrasse Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The ventilation in the bathroom, meant leaving a window open, allowing the room to be overlooked. The benches on the terrace need some minor repairs.

    The room was open, airy and comfortable. The decoration was to a good standard and there was a fantastic view of the sea from the roof terrace.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    9.6
    It was a 50/50 experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Charm Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    You had to climb many stairs labyrinth like to get to my room at the top. Checking out on the last day the staff was not very friendly as I explained I had paid already and that the desk staff the day before had asked for me to have breakfast earlier because the cab was arriving soon, they were dismissive and looked put out so I just left without breakfast with my long cab ride back to Marrakech. Not even a gesture to hand me a bun or something for the road. I was not impressed!

    I liked that it was situated just before the entrance of Médina so it was away from the crowds yet the Médina was super close. Staff at check in were amazing

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    4.6
    Great location but not value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pillows were unfortunately very hard and quite painful to sleep on. The bed sheets had cigarette burn holes on them. There were ants everywhere in the room and the bathroom was not overly clean

    the Room was very big with high ceilings and a little balcony with a nice view. Breakfast was lovely and the home made yoghurt was excellent! Great location very close to everything you need to see and close to the coach station.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    10
    10 star hotel for this price
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Confort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No

    Very helpful and polite staff, they help us to send postcard :) Nice and big room Stable Wi-Fi Stylish decoration Nice breakfast Very nice view terrace Better then expected Good location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    8.3
    The rooms and hotel altogether was wonderful and chick, with...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Confort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    In breakfast you don’t have selection of food, just some bread, jam, coffee and orange juice. Rooms can get quite damp, but still it is lovely hotel which I highly suggest.

    The rooms and hotel altogether was wonderful and chick, with a lot of history. We lived in the room on the roof with a wonderful view. Stuff was great and very helpful. Hotel is in the center, but it manages to be quiet.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    10
    Lovely place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Charm Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Advertised as organising all sorts of sports, but you are simply directed to the beach if you want to do a water sport.

    Lovely place. wonderful, helpful staff. V close to Médina and Beach.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    9.6
    Most recomendable
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent Palazzo!!, beautiful bedrooms, staff welcoming and nice, very good breakfast, nice cafe bar, we did not try the restaurant but all the rest, great, most recommendable! Location absolutely perfect

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    8.3
    We drove in by car therefore location was perfect, a big car...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Charm Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    To note rooms are spread across multiple flights of narrow stairs (to be expected in Morocco) however to be considered if you have mobility issues. Had lovely little communal areas with sofas and chairs...roof terrace offered good view of sea front and Medina however it's a shame such a good space hasn't been kept up! Could do with a few comfortable chairs to relax in!

    We drove in by car therefore location was perfect, a big car park (40 dh a night and paid upon arrival - car park staff super helpful) one minute walk away and right next to the Medina entrance. Well decorated and very clean inside; paid for a room with a sea view... it's a sea view between buildings...so not much of a sea view! Bedsheets and towels extremely clean! Also had a duvet (which a lot of Moroccan Riads/smaller hotels don't always offer!) Check-in was good, receptionist assisted us with carrying luggage up to room however no welcome drink offered which is custom upon checking in. WIFI password given to us as soon as we arrived without asking and all further information such as breakfast times and check-out. Breakfast served between 8:30 - 10:30. Freshly squeezed orange juice and selection of bread/cakes with jams.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    9.2
    Perfect place to stay in Essaouira.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Traditional room door locks with padlocks. Part of the authentic look but make quite a clatter with comings and goings. Less of a problem if you 'ease' yours with a little black soap.

    Really spacious riad style accommodation n a great location and with a rooftop view of the sea.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    9.2
    Great Essaouira location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Confort Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The demarcation between the hotel and the separately-owned restaurant is not clear enough and can lead to issues.

    Staff were really friendly and helpful. Best location in Essaouira. Closest hotel to both transport and the Medina.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    8.8
    Great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Terrasse Suite
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The restaurant is actually a separate entity from the hotel and quite expensive.

    The room and the terrace were lovely. The restaurant had friendly staff. Cats were friendly. The location was fantastic.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    9.6
    Very clean room, with comfy bed and seating area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Terrasse Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing to dislike!

    Very clean room, with comfy bed and seating area. Wonderful views from the terrace. Great breakfast and very helpful staff. The location is excellent; within walking distance of the beach / harbour.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    7.5
    Great location, great city, shabby yet pleasant hotel. Glad we stayed here.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The place needs some serious tlc, especially the roof terrace which could be fantastic but is borderline dangerous, such a shame as the views are to die for. The rooms were not very clean, lots of dust and no attempt for a shower curtain meant water went everywhere when showering. The steps are many and steep. Worst of all which isn't th hotels fault was the dog that barked from 3.30 am every morning and the the call to prayer iat 5.15 so not a great sleep for me for 3 days. I found the mattress too hard, maybe personal choice but for me didn't help with comfort factor.

    The location. Essaouira is a great place with a great vibe and the hotel is in the heart of the old town. You can see the beaches and port from the roof terrace and it is only 3 mins walk from the medina and then many restaurants. Breakfast was nice, though the same every day so it would get boring if you were there for more than3 or 4 days. The staff were helpful and check in and out no,problem. There was lots of hot water and the wifi signal,was pretty good. You can't reach the hotel by car but if you park in the carpark, €2.50 per day it's only a 5 minute walk, there are old guys with little trolleys that will take your luggage and show you the way if you want for a small payment of 10 or 20 dhs.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    5.8
    Poor lighting in room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Poor lighting in room. Only 1 glass in bathroom!!! No toilet roll holder!! No shower curtain therefor the bathroom floor was always wet after a shower, no matter how hard we tried.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    7.1
    Fair- saved by the location and staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Charm Double Room
    • Stayed 11 nights

    French doors in our room leaked as it was rainy on 3 days, caught by management deployment of soggy rolled-up towels. Bed linen was not changed during our 10 days. Furniture was a little basic/ absent. Fixed Wardrobe was in the bathroom. No shower curtain so floor flooded every day. More towels would have helped!

    Location in the Medina and the close by restaurants and spa opposite that was wonderful. Hotel restaurant and wine choice good. Very friendly/helpful staff.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    9.6
    excelent stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    They had some free rooms and we got an upgrade which was really nice. Staff was very friendly, location was also good because everything is nearby. No complaints :)

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    7.5
    Good location near the gate of Medina.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Confort Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was quite basic. There is a nice terrace but unfortunately it wasn't clean and we couldn't use it.

    Good location near the gate of Medina. Good restaurants.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    9.2
    recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Confort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    our bathroom smelled of drains at all times and the wifi had poor connectiveness in our room

    GOrgeous room, great location, quietness and great care, beautiful decoration throughout

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    8.8
    Helpful stafff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is now an independent restaurant downstairs so seating for hotel guests seems cramped. Lots of the restaurant users seem to smoke so there’s an unhealthy atmosphere. Also the smell of fish radiates up to hotel rooms!

    Helpful stafff Location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    9.2
    Kindness of staff, extremely convenient location, at walking...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Confort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My room was facing a back road and wifi was a bit weak.

    Kindness of staff, extremely convenient location, at walking distance from medina, bus station and the beach. The room was clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    8.8
    cozy, confortable and nice staff.
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    stairs to clime, but not unconfortable.

    The way the house is distribuited with rooms to read and rest. fire place who makes the restaurant very cozy.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    3.3
    Don’t stay here! There are
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Terrasse Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our stay at Palazzo Desdemona was a disaster. Before we even got there, things had gone wrong. They pre-charged the wrong amount to our card (too much) and charged us for “exchange rate charges” from sterling to Moroccan dirhams. We stayed in the “suite” at the top of the hotel (5 floors up and no lift). This room is not fit for winter habitation...doors and windows do not fit, door to roof terrace doesn’t close properly and the fireplace was inoperative with no wood provided. The room was dirty (make-up on the sheets) and the bathroom was really unpleasant, in urgent need of modernisation. The roof terrace was filthy and the terrace furniture was covered in birds droppings. To make things really impossible, we returned from dinner to find that there was no electricity in our room (the rest of the hotel had power). We were told we would have to wait at least an hour for someone to come, and that the same thing had happened the evening before. While we were waiting, we went across to the Villa Maroc, found a room there, went back, packed up in the dark and left. Palazzo Desdemona is lacklustre, shabby, lacking in facilities and it seems as if something has gone badly wrong in the running of the hotel. It has the air of a backpackers hostel, which is fine but that wasn’t the price we were charged!! I have sent them two emails of complaint and to ask for our money back...a month later I still haven’t had the courtesy of an acknowledgement. I strongly recommend that people avoid this place.

    T

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    9.6
    Beautiful and fascinating palace and rooms. Highly recommended.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    The restaurant downstairs was fairly expensive if compared to the price of the rooms.

    It is the fifth time I travel to Morocco. This is one of the best rooms in which I've ever stayed in. Actually it was a small fascinating flat, beautifully furnished with traditional pieces, fireplace, nice decoration, comfortable beds, and nice view. Location was perfect, just outside the inner city walls but within the historical centre. Compared to the quality, the price was excellent. We loved breakfast.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    9.6
    A true gem!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Terrasse Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed in Terrace suite with view to the ocean and private terrace. Felt extremely cosy durong the storm at night. Romantic place, amazing view, helpful staff.

    Beautifully maintained old building in the very centre of Essaouira.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    8.3
    lovely city and very nice, unique place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No form of heating and the room had no outside windows so a little cold. Resident cats in the dining room!

    Nice friendly staff good breakfast very central location beautiful building, very nicely decorated

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    6.3
    Good position, nice rooms but it ends there.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were so used to having lovely friendly staff in our other accommodation in Morocco but at palazzo desdemona the staff were incredibly rude and unfriendly, unhelpful. They seem very understaffed with one person doing breakfast for all guests which can be a lot of people and at the same time clearing tables and checking people out which meant long wait times cold food, the coffee is disgusting and basically undribkable they don’t even help you carry your bags up the many stairs to your room or on leaving either. Building work goes on ALL day everyday even Sunday’s so it’s noisy all the time. Rooms were freezing dnd don’t believe the photos of heating in the rooms as the fireplaces are not in use.

    The room was spacious and nicely decorated but as the water pump fot the hotel is in the ceiling and goes on each time anyone in the hotel uses water in their room it’s noisy.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    10
    Perfect location, 5 minutes from the beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Perfect location, 5 minutes from the beach. Really friendly and helpful staff! Rooms are spacious and comfortable. Good breakfast. Beautiful roof terrace with lovely views, especially at sunset.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    7.5
    Excellent wifi, great views, nice staff at check in,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Terrasse Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Too expensive for what you get. The "private" terrace is partially shared with another unit. Poor breakfast of only sugary options, the only day of a 10 in Morocco when neither a boiled egg or cheese was offered, how difficult can that be? Pounding construction noise from next door started before 8 o'clock in the morning!!!

    Excellent wifi, great views, nice staff at check in, charming building full of character.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    5.8
    Central location., big rooms, good
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very noisy buildings g works at rear of property starting 8am every morning. Chalky dust on balcony and so couldn’t open windows. Rooms were very cold at night .

    Central location

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    9.2
    Beautiful room and view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Terrasse Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our terrace was open, so people could walk onto it and look in your window. The drainage in the bathroom wasn't the best.

    It was a beautiful room, terrace, and view that was really close to the plazas, restaurants, and action. The view of the ocean was great!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    9.2
    Location is very good you can find address easily.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location is very good you can find address easily. Breakfast better than outside and if you want something extra they will help. Personals are helpful.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    9.2
    Great place to stay and have sex with your partner!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I found a romantic partner from a hostel and decided to book a fancy hotel with her for the night. Palazzo had a great offer and they upgraded us to family room for free. We had a memorable night together and we felt luxurious having sex in the nice bed and bathroom together. Would recommend for couples!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    7.5
    The bed sunk in the middle which we didn’t like.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed sunk in the middle which we didn’t like. And it took about 30 min after sitting for breakfast until we actually got served. Very slow. And always was a wait at reception to pick up or drop off your key. Didn’t seem like it was maned consistently.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    9.2
    Beautiful location, wonderful colors, great room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The stafff wasn’t really Helping us with simple questions like where the next atm is or whether we could get a second blanket. Also, room number 2 has a very loud water boiler for the bathroom that continues to make warm water all night through

    The colors of the place are beautiful. The room was also very nice with a super comfortable bed and warm blanket (you need one in January:))

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2018

    6.3
    I won't back there
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Charm Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathroom was small. It was like a box in the room - I had to be carefull to not hit the ceiling with my head. This property is overrated and overpriced. I always traveled with some camera and other equipment. This hotel was the first one, where i had some problems with it - someone stole it all from my room. The staff wasn't really helpfull by calling police - the tourist police station is located ca 100 m of distance from hotel. They wanted to send me to go there. First my negation and then adjuration to call police once again brought some effect. But I had to spend all evening and next morning on the police station to explain, what happened. Hotel manager wasn't able to find a couple minutes to talk with me about this situation (not at this terrible evening and not at next morning) or even somebody else to say "sorry". I had really good experiences in Morocco, but not in this place.

    This property has a very good location - just a couple steps a walk from harbor, beach and old town. Actually it is located between city walls of Essaouira. Its not very modern, but pretty good to stay in.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    9.6
    I fully recommend if you want to stay in the centre of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I fully recommend if you want to stay in the centre of Essaouira. Very charming palace with many spaces to sit and relax. Room was quiet and comfortable. Breakfast great. Nice staff.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    8.3
    Good stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The view was average, the room was a bit cold and the shower.... well it is clean and functionnal but there is no bracket to hang the shower so it is annoying ( it counts a lot for me)

    The staff was outstanding, the breakfast is very nice . The rooms are big and clean.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    7.9
    below expectation
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Confort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    a little overprice, didn’t worth 60 euro /night. It’s my last night in Essaouira, I choose to stay here because the good reviews on Booking.com. But it way below my expectation. I lived other hotel in Essaouira, they all better and cheaper than this one. 1. They gave me a so called“free upgrade” room, on the rooftop, which is fifth floor no elevator, but I looked up on Booking.com that night, this room only need like less than 40 euro, and what I already booked actually the price is over 60 euros. Not a upgrade at all... 2. no windows in my room, only a door leads to the balcony, which really can’t locked, feeling unsafe, after all it’s not a private balcony! And mid night, there’s a storm, literally the wind push my door open... 3. No hairdryer 4. No bottle water. At night I went back to my room and found out there is no drinking water, and they charged 15 dirham for one small bottle of water, which only worth 2 dirham. Totally overpriced. 5. The shower broken 6. Really noisy outside, after 10 p. m. , you still can hear loud music from street. 7. the WiFi is really slow. 8. Didn’t feel welcoming here.

    Location great Breakfast good Bed is super comfy Nice decor

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    8.3
    A great base for exploring Essaouira
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very noisy - inward facing with lots of creaky wood!! Slightly random wonky room with one of those crazy space saving stair cases between to the bed room / bathroom / 'suite'

    Excellent location, very easy to find. Fanastic sea view from the terrace. Comfy bed, friendly staff, fast wifi.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    3.3
    Horrible disappointment - we did not stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Photos in booking.com pages lie a lot! Rooftop suite with fireplace and own terrace was just a room, with dirty little terrace with a broken vinyl bed and flaking wood table. Fireplace is not in use!

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    5.8
    Interesting. We joked it was like a faulty towers by Moroccan sea
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Terrasse Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I appreciate to have to the view and to stay in the terrace suite you must be up high but being pregnant and short of breath(or elderly or disabled) it would have been good to know this before arrival. Not being informed there was no lift and it being up 7 flights stairs was challenging. Cleanliness of the room was adequate but certainly not as clean as it could have been. Shower basin and plug hole were rusty as were the sink taps. Walls to the room were made from thin wood panels, often with gaps between them, again no real problem in summer, winter was a little breezy, especially at night. Would have been nice if staff had made the fires in the rooms, rather jan just having unused fireplaces and plug in electric heaters instead. Wood around windows and door rotting. Just generally rather old and in a state of poor repair. Considering the price I was surprised at the basic facilities and involvement of hotel staff. The curtains in the terrace suite had many wholes in and didn’t cover the entire windows, a strange feature! Roof top was neglected and had a sad selection of loungers with holes in and no plants or real care, attention or thought put into it. A shame as it was a big and potentially lovely space for breakfast in warmer months. It just nearly felt like it could do with a overhaul and refresh!

    The view from the top/the room was lovely. Great location.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2017

    8.8
    Location and beautiful spacious room with a lovely view
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no shower curtain in the bath resulting in small puddles every time one of us took a shower.

    Location and beautiful spacious room with a lovely view

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2017

    7.5
    Great location and good start to the building. Breakfast and decoration need attention/lower pric
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Terrasse Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Balcony a little bleak and undecorated for the price. Toiletries in the bathroom were poor standard. Breakfast was 3 different types of bread which is not worth the price we paid.

    Wonderful staff. Beautiful room.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2017

    8.8
    We informed the hotel in email that we were going to arrive...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We informed the hotel in email that we were going to arrive between 1 AM and 2 AM (when we booked the room, we provided a time of arrival of between 12 AM and 1 AM). We arrived sometime after 2 AM and the place was really quite, the wooden doors (number 12 and 14 Rue Youssef El Fassi) were closed and locked, the signs above/around the doors were not really obvious, so we were not sure whether at all we were at the right place. We knocked at the door of number 12 and then had a look at the other potential entrance, with glass doors, on the other side of the building, but it was completely dark inside the hall. Afterwards we gave a call to the hotel but received no answer. We got somewhat desperate. Finally, a local helped us and decided to knock hard at the door of number 14 and then we were let in. So if you arrive late to the hotel, knock firmly at the door of number 14 :-).

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    10
    Adorable place
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    Super friendly staff, fast wi-fi, nice breakfast and great rooms! All was clean and fresh. Beds are very comfy and the hotell is very well located. Would stay again!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2017

    8.8
    Lovely romantic interior design, (a)typically Moroccan.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Charm Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lobby interior is a bit eclectic in comparison with the rooms.

    Lovely romantic interior design, (a)typically Moroccan. Stunning architecture. Decent breakfast. Good service.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2017

    9.6
    Fantastic location and a great staff that works here.
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No fault of the hotel since all the hotels seem to serve the same breakfast...bread, jam, yogurt, cheese, juice and coffee or tea. However it would be nice for vegan guests if some fresh fruit were available.

    The location is excellent. You are just minutes walking distance from the port, the beach and right in the old town. The staff is very friendly and very helpful. I wanted to mail a package back to the United States. One of the staff went with me to the post office to help me fill out the forms which are only in Arabic and french. The room itself was spacious and very nicely decorated. A pleasant stay all the way around.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2017

    8.3
    A very pleasant stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Charm Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The breakfast is very basic, bread and jam really, nothing healthy at all, coffee could be better too. The bathroom needs upgrading; sound proofing is non existent in some rooms due to the nature of the building, you can hear the maids first thing (and they do like nattering) and anyone entering or leaving their rooms. The pillows are hard like cushions, not pillows really. However it is a good place to stay for this category, clean and offering good value when/if discounted on Booking.

    The location is very good and the staff very nice.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    9.2
    Ideal location, friendly staff & great food. A must-try!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bolts on the doors can get quite loud, and the walls are very thin. Nothing earplugs can't fix though.

    Friendly staff, delicious & copious breakfast (and restaurant) in an ideal location! Less than 5 min to beach.

    Stayed in December 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Palazzo Desdemona traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: