Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Riad Al Assala

Arsat Molay Moussa, Rue Du Dispensaire Et Rue Sequaia N°19, Medina, 40000 Marrakech, Morocco

#549 of 855 hotels in Marrakech

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 115 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    8.7

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    8.2

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    8.5

  • Free WiFi

    6.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 25

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    9.6
    Great location, nice breakfast, but the foremost very helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Location, Location, Location! You live right in the Medina but at the same time reachable by car. Very important part if you travel with luggages Very friendly staffs, especially help us understand the "real" prices of Marrakesh.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    8.8
    Good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Boring breakfast and it wasn't possible to lock our room door

    Good location. Small Riad, as a little oasis in between all the craziness of the city

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    7.9
    Good location of this authentic hotel close to the real action in Marrakech.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Location is excellent, a 5-minute walk to Jemaa el-Fnaa. The hotel has a nice, friendly and relaxed atmosphere. Breakfast is every morning a surprise of local treats. They also serve a great tajine in the evening.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    9.2
    True Riad experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    - wi-fi is only limited to the entrance hall and adjacent area - the communal / dining area could benefit from some improvement to make it more cosy / social

    - central location, 5min walk from Djemaa El-Fna square - good breakfast - very friendly and helpful staff - very calm and relaxed environment, ideal contrast to the hubbub of Marrakech streets

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    9.2
    Riad very beautiful!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent riad, nice room and delicious breakfast, but for us the best of riad is it staff. Thank you Mohammed, Ahmed, Lamia and the rest of the team. If we can, we will go back!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2018

    10
    Wonderful experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Wifi only works in the lobby area and there's no sign outside of the Riad so you'll need to ask the locals about it.

    The Riad itself is very beautiful, the decorations give you a resort feel. The room is spacious and have everything we need, especially that they clean the room and change the towels daily. The breakfast were simple but filled with quality, we really like the fresh orange juice. The staffs are very helpful and always eager to assisst us anyway they can (Especially Ahmed)

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    9.6
    Amazing stay. Definitely coming back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just make sure you bring toilet roll/tissues!

    The staff were so friendly and made sure we had everything we needed. Food was lovely and we felt very looked after. The Riad was absolutely stunning!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    8.8
    Very clean, very practical location, good value for money!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the way to the riad from the main road

    Big room and bathroom, very clean. Our first two days were very cold and the staff made it possible for us to find a nice warm room coming back in the evening! I appreciated that very much.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    8.3
    The staff were very friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I was unable to connect to wifi in my room, and many of the lights did not work.

    The staff were very friendly and helpful. The Riad was in a good location and I had a comfortable stay. Overall I enjoyed my time there.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    2.5
    Avoid at all costs
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They too 2 hours to make us a sandwich, tv didn't work, no lighting in the room. Barely an wifi, hit my foot twice on the uneven flooring and had to go to A and E and they took no responsibility for that. Then cancelled and was charged but the place was not up to our standards.

    Nothing at all

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    8.3
    Great location, and helpful staff. Cigarette smoke will seep into your room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If somebody smokes outside your room, then it seeps into your room. That was awful, causing my wife and I to cough half the night.

    Location is close to all the major sights and the medina. Staff was friendly, helpful, and very responsive.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    10
    Beautiful stay !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi was slow or didn't work.

    Very nice and helpful staff. (Sala is a wonderful host !) Perfect location - a minute-walk from Jamaa El Fna. Beautiful and quiet riad. Hot water all the time !! Excellent breakfast (but quite expensive ; 10€).

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2017

    8.3
    A really good staff, room and location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The prices were a little bit pricy. The break was €10.00, dinner €20.00 and the transfer was out of the normal, for €30.00. Also, the room was a little bit cold and the wifi just work out of the room, in the common area.

    A really good staff, room and location

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2016

    9.6
    A real oasis amongst the madness!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hotel transfers were a little pricey, 5 times that of a normal cab journey that they suggested. Seems a little crazy when you're paying a good price for the room.

    The staff were excellent. Very helpful and very friendly :)

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    7.9
    Perfect location in the medina near the square. With a huge family 'design' room. Kids loved it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    that we could not close the door from the outside.

    Very large spacious family room. Perfect for one night and 2 minutes from the main square.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    7.1
    Good price/quality
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Morning noise

    Good price/quality

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    7.9
    Nice position in downtown.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room is very cold and the air conditioner is not really work.

    Nice position in downtown. Big room and nice staff. Great breakfast.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2017

    7.5
    The staff helped me organize a driver to take me and pick me...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff helped me organize a driver to take me and pick me up for my event. The room was big and nicely decorated.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    10
    Poor wifi connection
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor wifi connection

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2017

    10
    Loved the Assala.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff was outstanding Zachariah is the best.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2017

    10
    Great Location!!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Slept like a baby! The location was amazing! The staff was friendly. The ride to and from the airport was an item I'm glad I added!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2016

    8.8
    Fantastic staff and amazing location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Fantastic staff and amazing location. The suite was beautiful and the attention to service was exceptional. Really enjoyed my staff and would certainly recommend.

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2016

    10
    Very well located in the centre of the Medina, just 3...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very well located in the centre of the Medina, just 3 minutes walk from the famous plaza. You feel at home with the very nice manager and all the staff.

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2016

    10
    The location is excellent, special thanks to Hajiba, Aziz...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The bathtub is slippery.

    The location is excellent, special thanks to Hajiba, Aziz and houria for the excellent service. The room is very clean. I will definitely recommend this Riad.

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2016

    10
    We have had a wonderful time at Riad Al Assala.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We have had a wonderful time at Riad Al Assala. We started our trip with 1 night in this Riad and decided to immediately book a room for a week later, when we would be back in Marrakech to end our trip. This is one of the most beautiful places we have ever stayed. The interior of the rooms is an elegant mixture of modern and traditional style. The Riad is an oasis within the hectic medina. Very friendly staff and Hajiba is a professional and kind host. Our taxi to the airport wasn't leaving before 16:00, and since the next guest arrived later that day we could use the room until then, without extra charge. Now that is good service! Overall, a big 5 stars, and we would love to come back.

There are also 9 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 25

Guests also reviewed these properties: