Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Riad Al Karama

119, derb Jdid - Quartier Dabachi, Medina, 40000 Marrakech, Morocco

#122 of 212 B&Bs and Inns in Marrakech

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 160 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9

  • Comfort

    8.3

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    8.1

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    8.5

  • Free WiFi

    7.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2018

    9.6
    Beautiful property, carefully decorated.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Coriandre Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a little difficult to find at first. Thought I was going to feel insecure getting in and out from there at night time but it turned out ok, the alleys are very well illuminated!

    Beautiful property, carefully decorated. Comfortable bed with a very clean bathroom. We had to leave very early in the morning so they were kind enough to serve us breakfast at 6,30 am! Thanks

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    10
    the natural spirit of morocco is inside this Riad.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cannelle Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    If you stay at the ground floor take care of the mosquitos..

    the natural spirit of morocco is inside this Riad.The terase is amazing and has a wonderfull view in kutubia!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    10
    Highly recommend this well-located and beautiful building - splurge on one of the nicer rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Coriandre Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    While it was fun to wander down the narrow alleyways, as a single women, it was a tad scary at night. Even though it was uneventful.

    My room was upgraded due to a slight snafu and it was delightful. The building is beautiful - from the short entry door to the actual rooms to the central courtyard, roofdeck, and common eating area. They were also helpful in getting a taxi to the train station who carried luggage to the car.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    7.5
    Not interesting Riad, could find better elsewhere for the same price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Muscade Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    - No welcome tea - Poor breakfast ( industrial/chimical orange juice, tea bag???? in Morocco , the country of real green tea,.. such a shame.. and also , only bread with jam..... I mean, it is really a shame, because in Morocco , you have orange juice, msemen, harcha, sfenj, khringou , khli3, olives, eggs, 9richlate even croissants .......etc etc etc The moroccan cuisine for breakfast is SOOOO rich, and what do we have here ? a ridiculous breakfast : bread and chimical industrial juice. Seriously, please review your breakfast. I saw many foreigners bringing their own food in the morning .. - Personal is cold - the riad is boring ( too quiet) - there is a bad smell as soon as you enter the riad, and more in the rooms. - THERE IS NO KEY to close your room door . Hopefully we stayed only one night because it was a source of stress during the whole day for me to leave all my valuable in a open room. Once something is stolen from you, I am sure the personal wouldn't care. So please put a locker on room doors. - the toilet of the rooms has a window on inside the riad, so everyone hears you enjoying toilets and smells the toilet parfumes .... I won't go back because you can find way better elsewhere for the same price.

    - the personal at night is nice

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    6.3
    No good room downstairs
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cannelle Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a room downstairs. It was smelly. There is no much the owner can do about it, but there is too much umidity and some mold. If you stay there make sure you get a room upstairs, much better Breakfast can be improved.

    Position. Even if it is in a little street is still very central. Aziz, who works there in the night, is a very nice person

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    7.1
    Nice stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Safran Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room smelt a little like smelly feet from the last guests. Think they needed to wash the floor more thoroughly. Really difficult to find, wouldn't recommend coming alone as wouldn't be nice walking through back streets alone at night.

    Nice riad with a lovely roof terrace to watch the sunset and the mountains. Ali was very kind and let us have breakfast early before we checked out. Great bathrooms.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2017

    5.8
    No mint tea for breakfast :O
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Cannelle Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    -Noise, you're right next to lobby/breakfast area. Doors make an incredibly loud noise trying to close and open them. People preparing for breakfast will wake you up. Very little privacy due to this, you can hear what goes on around you as if there are obstacles in the way. I'm sure people having breakfast could hear me on the toilet too. -Wifi can only be used in the lobby, it doesn't reach as far into the bedroom downstairs. -To me, the place just feels empty, bedrooms and bathrooms have no life to them, it needs internal decoration. -No heater. However I was offered a second blanket, so thank you! -Bed was uncomfortable, pillows we're old. The bed now slants to each side; where it has moulded into shapes of people of the past. - Due to these reasons, I did ask to be moved upon check-in. I was just unhappy as I paid more than I usually would (and a hidden tax fee too) but the gentleman just shook his head.

    The bathroom decoration and lobby was nice. Lady serving breakfast was also full of joy.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    9.2
    Riad is located very good - in silent street really close to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cannelle Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    You dont get keys from the street door neither from room - rooms on ground floor even dont have doors. Quite bad smell on whole ground floor, but we experienced it often in riads.

    Riad is located very good - in silent street really close to main square in Marrakesh. Beds are comfortable, and decoration of whole riad is really nice and comparing to others riads we slept in VERY ELEGANT, and decent - that was the best.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    7.9
    It was clean, and confortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Coriandre Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No staff around to recommend you things. Like where to go, how to get to places, what to arrange for visiting. The guard at night was really helpful, and gave me good advice.

    It was clean, and confortable. Location was ok, but because someone accompany me the first time. Anyway GPS works till there. There was no one there so as a solo traveler it was kind of lonely, but that's not there fault. If you are a couple or a group it would be better.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    8.8
    Nice place for a few days in Marrakech
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Muscade Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No air-con or fan in the room, very inconvenient in the summer months

    Very nice staff Good breakfast Perfect location - max 5-10 min walk to the Main Square Great value for money

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    10
    Authentic riad in the heart of Medina
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Coriandre Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The atmosphere is extremely cosy, interior of the riad is very aesthetic and authentic and the rooms are beautiful and very clean. Probably the best accommodation choice in our three week trip through Morocco.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2017

    8.8
    The riad is nice and even if it's in the centre it's...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Coriandre Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Like all riads in Marrakech, I needed advise from a local to find the place.

    The riad is nice and even if it's in the centre it's quite quiet around. The terrace on the top is nice for a relaxing morning even if they don't have a bar like other riads. The staff is very nice and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2017

    5.0
    beautiful place spoiled by terrible staff, cheap food and sewage smell...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Coriandre Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    1 the room was not lockable and someone came in the room while we were not there 2 we had to upgrade to another more expensive room because the initial room was not clean, the air was damp and smelled 3 air con controller was not handed to us on repeated request and the personnel made up multiple excuses 4 without air con we had to leave the windows open through which other guests could see us in bed... 5 the breakfast was ridiculous and cheap. The staff was very unfriendly and even dismissive. When other guests complained about the dry bread, the staff literally screamed at them

    the place is beautiful

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    6.3
    Quiet location yet very close to Djemaa El Fna.
    • Solo traveller
    • Cannelle Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    While Marrakech is a dry city, the room I was in (ground floor) was humid/damp. There was a hint of humidity/dampness even on the bed sheets. I left the door of the room closed but returned to find the room door wide opened. The staff member said that they tidied the room and left the door opened. But the room has not been tidied. The bed was not made, etc. I would have rather him tell the truth to say that they were airing out the room, rather than say they tidied it when they obviously haven't. I would have liked to keep the window opened for more of the time, but was not comfortable doing so since a staff member was sitting right across from that window (which opens up to the courtyard) much of the evening.

    Quiet location yet very close to Djemaa El Fna. Good value for money.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2017

    5.8
    Location and breakfast top, the rest could be better
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cannelle Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The lady which was working there was so unfriendly and not really nice. Check-out was agreed on 1130, 1135 she was already very unrude and told us to leave. She didn't say goddbye or anything else, which you expect as guest when you are leaving. The room was too dark, the smell in the room was mouldy and the bathroom had no light in the shower.

    The rooftop was very beatiful and peaceful, the breakfast was delicious and all men staff were friendly and helpful! the location is also good (5Min walking-distance to the famous Jemaa el-Fna square)

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2017

    10
    The place was owned and managed by a guy from France.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Coriandre Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was on the ground floor. The bathroom had a window in the direction of the main hall. Unfortunately, the window didn't have any curtains, therefore, allowing anyone to see me taking a shower.

    The place was owned and managed by a guy from France. The facilities were clean. The staff were appropriately educated and had sufficient English capabilities.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2017

    7.1
    Beautiful room, average experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Paprika Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If you don't speak french you will have trouble communicating about normal hotel stuff and getting any help with the usual tourist questions. The long walk down narrow streets at night (not unusual in Morocco). They listed laundry for their riad but didn't actually have that service. They also listed tour desk, but really i quess only if you spoke french, i'm sure our experience would be much more favorable if we did.

    The room was excellent, very comfortable, nicely decorated, great en-suite bathroom. Top notch! Fatima and Aziss were both lovely people and kind staff.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2017

    10
    Nice riad for couples
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cannelle Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Riad is an oasis in the hustling surroundings of the Medina. It's owned by a French man and he makes everything right. Beautiful interior and a good breakfast.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2017

    9.6
    Beautiful, quiet riad in the heart of Medina.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Cannelle Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This was the best riad we stayed on our trip to Morocco. It has absolutely stunning, traditional decor. Our room was on the ground floor, spacious with a comfy bed and large, lovely bathroom. The staff was very friendly and helpful, they helped us to print our boarding passes and although breakfast was starting at 8:30 they served it just for us at 6:30 as we had an early flight. I can definitely recommend it.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2017

    10
    The staff were very friendly and went above and beyond.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Coriandre Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Finding the riad for the first time was a little difficult so some directions would have been helpful.

    The staff were very friendly and went above and beyond. The place was clean and nice.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2016

    6.3
    Nice rooms but nothing to recommend a honeymoon couple looking for privacy
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Cannelle Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No isolation of the rooms, you could hear sounds from the toilet in one room to the other. I payed for two extra nights and didn't get any receipt when i payed and got extremely bad exchange rate. This was not the work of the manager but another one in the staff, probably trying to get some extra salary besides the ordinary one.

    Nice rooms, nice breakfast and lovely roof top terrace

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2016

    7.5
    Good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Muscade Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room smells too bad we said that but they didn't care. Room was dark. Rooms are so close to eachother ,there are old windows and door in room that means everyone can hear you even in toilet or what you talk in room.

    Clean,good location,stuff

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2016

    10
    We've stayed 8 different places in our Morocco trip and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Coriandre Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We've stayed 8 different places in our Morocco trip and this one is the best. It is really close to square and souq, clean and good rooms. Lovely breakfast and staff.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2016

    9.2
    Amazing riad to stay in Marrakech!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cannelle Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had a ground floor room and they wifi didn't work very well in the room, but not a major problem! Everything was great!

    Our room was extra comfortable, with a spacious bathroom and everything perfectly clean! The riad features a very beautiful roof top terrace, very good breakfast as well. The staff was also very welcoming, they served us breakfast earlier because of early departure without any problem, he even helped us with carrying our luggage to the bus station! Great place to stay in Marrakech!!

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2016

    7.5
    It's very close to Jema El Fna.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Paprika Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    As all other riads, it's not that easy to find them. Bads could be sometimes brought outside to sun, because there's much moisture inside. WiFi was poorly working on 1st floor.

    It's very close to Jema El Fna. Staff is very kind and they speak English (that's rare in Morocco). They organized taxi back to airport for us. There is a guard 24/7. Room is very big and decorated in Moroccan way.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2016

    8.8
    A little gem of a Riad in a central location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Coriandre Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The Riad, like many others is located within a labyrinth of dark, narrow alleys. As a solo female traveler, I had a bit of trouble finding it, as I had arrived at night and was not expecting this. Also, because taxis cannot go inside the Djema el Fna during the afternoon/evening, you will need to walk about 10 minutes to get to it. A good GPS is a life-saver. Also, there are no padlocks on the doors. Each bedroom door locks using the traditional Moroccan locks but there is no key, so technically anyone can just open your door. But the staff was very trustworthy so there was no issue there for me.

    The Riad Al Karama is a little gem of a courtyard house in the middle of the maze of Marrakesh's medina. The extrerior is non-descript like all of the other structures but inside is a beautiful little courtyard and a panoramic terrace with sun-loungers and a tent. Perfect for an afternoon lazy sunbathe or a night-time mint tea under the stars as the sound of the drums from Djema el Fna makes its way in the night air. The staff is courteous and the place is clean, good value for money and comfortable. Each room has its own newly furbished Hammam-style bathroom.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    9.6
    Staff was more than welcoming
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Paprika Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff was more than welcoming

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    10
    Unforgettable experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Paprika Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was traditionally designed. You could feel like in the moroccan house it was unforgettable experience. Everything was clean and tidy.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    9.2
    Room design, staff, location, peaceful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cannelle Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room wasn't very private

    Room design, staff, location, peaceful

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    10
    Best stay in Marrakech!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cannelle Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Staff was very kind and helpful! Location and room are perfect. Very cosy and decorated typically Moroccan style

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    9.6
    Really nice room and staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cannelle Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was simple

    Really nice room and staff.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2017

    10
    We had a fabulous 2 nights in Riad Al Karama , the room was...
    • Solo traveller
    • Muscade Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was perfect

    We had a fabulous 2 nights in Riad Al Karama , the room was perfect with a nice comfortable bed ,the shower super clean .

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2017

    10
    Good value, stylish riad
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Coriandre Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stylish rooms and helpful staff

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2017

    7.1
    Comfortable bed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Muscade Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Sewage smell from bathroom drain No locks on room doors Not able to print boarding pass at the hotel

    Comfortable bed Nice roof area

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2017

    10
    Super nice stuff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cannelle Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothin...everything was perfect

    The location and personal

    Stayed in December 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2016

    10
    Location is very close to the big square but still very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Wifi didn't reach our room on the first floor, but on the second night we had a room on the second floor and it worked fine

    Location is very close to the big square but still very secluded, room is clean and they have attentive staffs. Michel helped us to book the desert tour, and we decided to book another night in our return. Since we had a late train to leave Marrakech, they were kind enough to lend us a room for us to have a quick shower

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2016

    10
    Great staff!
    • Couple

    Getting to the Riad may be confusing the first time, but you are in Marrakech after all!

    Great staff! Specialy ALI, always smiling and ready to answer any question or solve any problem.

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2016

    9.6
    Friendly team and owners, very stylish Riad, perfect Terrace...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Difficult to find only first time, but You can always ask locals kids, for 10Dh they will bring You to the doors. This is Riad, and don't expect 100% privacy, but we liked this approach more than typical hotel.

    Friendly team and owners, very stylish Riad, perfect Terrace to relax, watch stars and listen to the Jemaa el Fna sounds. Good shower/hot water, wifi, and tasty morning coffee.

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2016

    9.2
    The staff were kind and oyr privacy was respected.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    I think they could offer some information about touristic agencies

    The staff were kind and oyr privacy was respected. The architecture is beautiful and the rooftop is a place you'd want to have in your house!

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2016

    7.9
    Very quiet - a peaceful haven in the Medina.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The cost was noticeably higher than the booking.com quote. No itemised bill so I am not sure why - and my French not good enough to ask!

    Very quiet - a peaceful haven in the Medina. Lovely terrace to read and relax. Would go back.

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2016

    9.2
    The Riad Al Karama is a little wonderful Riad in the middle...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The Riad Al Karama is a little wonderful Riad in the middle of the medina. It is really easy to find and very comfortable. The breakfast was really good. Enjoy your stay!

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2016

    10
    Super personel, Aziz, Fatima and Ali at your service for...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast was sufficient but could be a bit more varied but certainly a filler.

    Super personel, Aziz, Fatima and Ali at your service for your every need. Situated in almost silent street yet only 2 minutes from the hustle bustle of the souks, restaurants and Jamaa al fna square.

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2016

    9.6
    A quite beautiful Riad,comfortable, welcoming and an oasis...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We stayed for a few days and didn't need to have our room serviced, but it turned out that meant we didn't get a new daily supply of drinking water. (Easily rectified by asking the staff, who then went out of their way to keep us supplied with hot water for tea / coffee while we worked). The breakfast, while generous and good quality, suffered from not having a cooked component (net even boiled eggs), particularly after a few days

    A quite beautiful Riad,comfortable, welcoming and an oasis of peace after the craziness of 'the Square'. Michel and the staff were extremely helpful, and the rooftop terrace is a wonderful place to start the day (or even spend a day recovering) ...

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2016

    10
    This riad is super clean, comfortable, beautifully decorated...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    This riad is super clean, comfortable, beautifully decorated and has helpful staff who assist in anyway they can. Couldn't recommend it more. Centrally located but very quiet. Loved it so much we have already booked it again for our return to Marrakech!

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2016

    7.5
    Location is good as you are only 5 minutes from the square.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We were kindly offered a bigger room when we booked an extra night for our return from the desert, but when we came back we didn't get it and didn't explain why.

    Location is good as you are only 5 minutes from the square. The young night receptionist was lovely.

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2015

    7.9
    we managed to get a very good price for the room but also...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    bad wifi as well where signal was strong (terrace, near receptor)

    we managed to get a very good price for the room but also the standard of our room was less than the others. the staff was very friendly

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2015

    10
    The customer service was excellent and the taxis they...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Minor issue - Finding the Riad was a challenge the 2nd time we arrived (after coming back from the sahara with an independent driver) - we had to ask locals who then tried to fleece us out of lots of money for finding the Riad (Found out the hard way this is a common problem endemic in Marrakech) When we arrived the Riad told us that we could have called them to pick us up from the street. It hadn't occurred to us that this was an option, a clear instruction that we can do that will save other customers from that hassle. Other than that, we loved our stay.

    The customer service was excellent and the taxis they arranged to/from the airport was a breeze. They even took the time to walk us to the main streets to give directions and escort us to the nearest cyber cafe so we could print out our return tickets. Very patient and kind.

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2015

    10
    Such a beautiful little place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    At first a little hard to find, but once you know, it is very easy

    Such a beautiful little place. Our room was lovely, quiet and well looked after. The riad felt like a little quiet and calm haven from all the hustle and bustle of marrakech. Very helpful and friendly staff, and very clean and amazing value for your money!

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2015

    10
    Michel and his friendly, hospitable staff made our stay very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Michel and his friendly, hospitable staff made our stay very enjoyable in this fantastic riad. The rooms were clean and comfortable and a delicious breakfast served each morning. Take the 5 min stroll to the central square and soak up the vibrant atmosphere. This riad is definitely worth a visit.

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2015

    9.6
    The staff was extremely friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    WiFi signal could be stronger. It worked ok on my laptop but wasn't always strong enough for my phone. The drain in the shower did not work very well.

    The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. I was leaving early so the manager woke up to make me an early breakfast which was very nice of him. The riad was very cozy, it's 5min walk from Jamaa El Fna square and is pretty easy to find.

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2015

    4.6
    just one young man was kind and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    the service was not good and that room the room was very small and dark.The boss was in a hurry about the rent and he wanted as soon as posibel to recive that, obwol I should get it from bank. He charged also with higher rate as normal.

    just one young man was kind and helpful.

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2015

    10
    amazing Riad, the best on our trip through marocco!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    amazing Riad, the best on our trip through marocco! beautifully furnished and very clean rooms and delicious breakfast on the lovely terrace with view on the atlas mountains!

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2015

    10
    Al Karama means dignity, and we were certainly welcomed with...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Can't seem to find anything that I didn't like. It may seem difficult to find, but just let a local guide you from the main square, and give him 10 or 20 dirham for the effort. Afterwards, you'll find it easily.

    Al Karama means dignity, and we were certainly welcomed with dignity in this wonderful riad. The owner, Michel, is around to help you find the hidden treasures in this marvelous Marrakech. Ask Michel for the romantic restaurant! The paprika room was the biggest, with extra space to sit around to plan your day - although you can do that on the lovely rooftop terrace too of course.

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2015

    9.2
    Clean room with decent breakfast and good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No heating in the room. Wifi signal is poor in the room.

    Clean room with decent breakfast and good location. Right in the heart of medina, a few minutes walk from the Djama el fna square. Good hot water pressure. Staff is warm hearted and always put a smile on their face.

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2015

    6.7
    The personnel smiles nicely.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The bread at breakfast was awful and confiture tasted like clay. Only lukewarm water in the showers. Bad beds. Very difficult to find the first time. At the end a very modest budgety place which is only pimped up a little.

    The personnel smiles nicely.

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2015

    9.6
    Location was fantastic and having read previous reviews we...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location was fantastic and having read previous reviews we decided to ask Michel to organise a taxi for us from the airport - a very wise decision as it is not easy to find! We spent our 3 days walking round the city on foot and coming back to a friendly welcome and comfortable bed made it all very easy. Breakfast on the roof was a great way to start the day. Would recommend everything about it especially the friendliness of all the staff.

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2015

    9.6
    The owners and the staff were great, and welcoming, and the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Like most of the Riads in the Medina, it is not easy to find, especially once you turn the main road and enter the alley. At night, after 8:30pm, despite the safeness of the city, it is unpleasant to walk these streets.

    The owners and the staff were great, and welcoming, and the Riad is very well kept, clean and gorgeous.

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2015

    7.5
    In the beginning we had problems with finding this riad, but...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    None

    In the beginning we had problems with finding this riad, but then we discovered it's actually situated in a very convenient location, very close to the main square. Staff was polite, room had comfortable beds, I didn't manage to have breakfast as I left early in the morning

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2015

    8.8
    We felt welcomed from the moment we arrived.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Make sure you know exactly how to get the riad prior to arrival (it's a bit confusing), unless you want to ask a "kind" stranger to show you and be hassled for money when you get there.

    We felt welcomed from the moment we arrived. We were offered tea up on the rooftop, which was very cozy! The owner as well as the rest of the staff (especially the night security guard) were very friendly and helpful! Breakfast was delicious! :) They catered to our needs as we had to leave for the airport bright and early in the morning!

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2016

    7.9
    Nice and friendly staff good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nice and friendly staff good location

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2016

    8.8
    AMAZING staff and super clean Riad.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    You can hear everything (Snoring and toilets flushing). No locks at the door.

    AMAZING staff and super clean Riad.

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2016

    9.2
    The rooms and great decoration of maintained property.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Breakfast.

    The rooms and great decoration of maintained property.

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2016

    8.8
    Friendly hosts, nice breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Horrible stink of the cloak system, no locks on doors. Good price but -82% per cent advertised by the website was a lie

    Friendly hosts, nice breakfast

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2016

    10
    Fantastic bed, great breakfast and very service minded...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Impossible to find something bad to say

    Fantastic bed, great breakfast and very service minded people.

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2016

    10
    Very comfy bed, beautifully decorated and easy to find in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Very comfy bed, beautifully decorated and easy to find in the medina - thank you for a lovely stay!

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2016

    10
    The staff was super nice and the riad had a beautiful...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The staff was super nice and the riad had a beautiful terrass with a turtle where we enjoyed a lot of sunsets eating olives and drinking wine...

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2015

    8.3
    Staf was very good, hotel decoration is very nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Staf was very good, hotel decoration is very nice.

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2015

    9.2
    Conveniently about 5- 7 minutes walk away from Jama al Fana...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Conveniently about 5- 7 minutes walk away from Jama al Fana (the main square).

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2015

    9.2
    Breakfast and staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast and staff

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2015

    8.8
    Easy and feel like home.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    None.

    Easy and feel like home. Nice terrace and breakfast. Boss and colleagues are indeed helpful !

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2015

    6.3
    Excellent food for dinner.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Dampish bed. Snoring and toilets flushing audible.

    Excellent food for dinner. Taxi from airport kindly arranged. Nice staff.

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2015

    10
    Rooftop <
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    No WiFi in the room due to walls. Understandable but annoying.

    Rooftop <3 Staff and breakfast were awesome.

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2015

    9.6
    Working distance to the Jemaa-el-Fna square.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Working distance to the Jemaa-el-Fna square. Enjoyed the excursion to the mountain

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2015

    9.2
    - great hospitality
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    - nothing

    - great hospitality - beautifully renovated riad - good shower and bed - pet turtle

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2015

    9.2
    We only stayed one night but it was a beautiful place, clean...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A bit hard to find but so is everywhere in the medina!

    We only stayed one night but it was a beautiful place, clean and interesting, lovely rooftop :)

There are also 13 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Riad Al Karama traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: