Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Riad Al Zahia

4 Rue Med Diuri, Kasbah, 44000 Essaouira, Morocco

#37 of 88 hotels in Essaouira

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 153 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    8.4

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    8.3

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    8.6

  • Free WiFi

    7.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 49

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    7.5
    You get what you pay for!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Leila Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    After reading rave reviews, I booked this hotel for a week. I was in Leila, a single room which was large but the bathroom area was very errrrr basic, however, it all worked, and after a while I got used to it. Probably would not stay again.

    Breakfast up on the terrace very good. Bed was clean and comfortable. Excellent location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    10
    A breezy, beautiful, cosmopolitan Moroccan coastal town
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Luxury Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Riad staff were really friendly and happy to give advice about anything we asked. There was also an excellent breakfast with an amazing view. I would recommend staying here 💕

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    7.9
    Very good value for your money
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Hanane Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only minor things we didn't like so much were the lack of a proper door between the main room and the bathroom and the smell of the bathroom.

    The riad is beautiful (especially the patio) and clean with lots of small details and has a huge terrace from which you can see the sea. Breakfast was good (with Moroccan pancakes, yoghurt and omelette) and staff are friendly and helpful. The location is perfect and safe and easy to find. Soft and fresh towels too 🙂

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    9.2
    Location was great and easy to navigate from.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Leila Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Location was great and easy to navigate from. Breakfast was delish and not to be missed. The view was great from the rooftop. And the main guy was helpful in terms of recommending I take the bus instead of a grand taxi as I continued on my way come checkout.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    10
    Great riad. Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We liked everything

    Very nice riad, close to everything. - great architecutre and decoration of the riad - great upper terrace were you can take breakfast, read or look at the view - nice hosts - very clean and nicely decorated rooms

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    7.1
    A really relaxing stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room and Riad wasn't as great as the photos make it look. In our family suite, the furniture was different / downgraded from the photos and it gave the room a bit more of a hostel than hotel feel, which is disappointing given the western pricing. Overall the place is nice though, well located but could do with a bit of tidying up.

    Breakfast on the terrace was ideal and the room was a great configuration for us with a small child.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    10
    Clean, peaceful, great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Naima Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The terrace is perfect for relaxing or having a beverage and the staff is friendly and helpful. Also they will wash/dry/fold clothes for a fair price.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    5.4
    The beach dirty, without any services, old and broken sunbeds, water not clean and clear.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Soukaina Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Cleanliness poor, bad smells in rooms, old bedding.

    The staff was kind, breakfast good, location inside Medina, quiet rooms, public parking near to riad but it's not free of charge, we paid 30 dirhams for night.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    8.3
    Lovely Stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Meriem Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Some added features to the room like extra bottles of water available from reception would have been lovely.

    Lovely stay, all staff were lovely. Beds were comfy, and rooms were spacious.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    7.9
    Very nice ..enjoyed my stay .
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Leila Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I have nothing negative ..room was adequate for what i paid ..ben was comfortable bathroom part wasnt great(Leila)..but room was quiet enough

    Good location in the Medina ..friendly staff ,check in was easy ,nice rooftop for views/drinks and breakfast,traditional Moroccan decor ..very close to the main square ..some great little kiosk/shops nearby.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    8.8
    i definitely recommend this place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Naima Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    once when i wanted to take shower around 11pm, it was no more hot water haha wifi didn't work very well in the room. but I'm not too wifi person. so was alright.

    the location was about 10min walk from sprotour bus station. you will need an offline map as in midina is always like a maze.(especially pp who has no sense off direction like me) you can walk to anywhere. at night time, its a quiet area, never felt dangerous though. inside of the hotel looks very pretty. i liked everything. and room was really big for two. i thought we booked twin room, but there were 2single beds and 1 double bed. (might got free upgrade? not sure) stuffs are friendly and nice. breakfast was average. (fresh orange juice, tea or coffee, ,yourglt,fruits, bread, jam, honey, olives etc) never able to finish all of them for me. haha i will stay here again when i back to Essaouira.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    10
    Riad Al Zahia - Wonderful!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Yasmina Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely experience for our first time in Morocco. Really enjoyed our stay at Riad Al Zahia. Very friendly staff. They helped us book our Hammam and Massage. We'll definitely be back!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2017

    8.8
    Breakfast was nice;
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Yasmina Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast was nice; eggs, pancake, bread, marmelade, honey,.. but it was microwave prepared what makes the egg and pancake less tasty. The roofterrace and the locationa are great as well as the bed an bathroom. Water wasn't always hot but it was ok. The room was cleaned every day what made it extra comfortable.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    10
    what surprises lies behind the blue doors
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Leila Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The large bed was firm and comfy. I liked the walk in robe between the sleeping area to the large bathroom. The breakfast with eggs and cereal was satisfying. The staff and the owner, Clemente, made me feel very at ease.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    9.6
    our choice next time in Essaouira
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Soukaina Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Everybody, from owner to staff were very friendly and supportive

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    8.8
    Lovely clean rooms, great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Meriem Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely clean rooms, great location. Very comfortable

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    9.6
    nice place and moroccan spirit
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Leila Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    nice place and moroccan spirit

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    9.6
    Beautiful riad wonderful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Naima Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower leaked a little no problem!

    Peaceful and charming. Well located

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    9.0
    Location right in the medina.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Yasmina Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location right in the medina. Helpsome staff. Nice roof terrace where they served breakfast and you could have food and wine there in the evenings

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    9.6
    Very pleasant, laid back hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Leila Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Large airy rooms, and the lounge downstairs you can use even after checking out.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2017

    9.6
    Wanted stay longer
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Leila Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    None

    View from rooftop terrace & bar, location, room and staff

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2017

    9.2
    Wonderful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Yasmina Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The English-speaking staff were extremely friendly and helpful, and the location right in the medina was super handy

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2017

    9.6
    Great roof terrace
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Naima Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great roof terrace

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2017

    7.5
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Yasmina Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Tiled floors in the room could do with a clean and the worn out floor rugs need replacing.

    location and the restaurant next door

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2017

    7.5
    The old town and the beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The old town and the beach

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2016

    10
    beautiful riad in medina, amazing terrace and friendly hosts and staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Naima Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    All was excellent

    The riad is beautiful. Comfortable and excellent service thankyou.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2016

    8.3
    Cosy riad in the heart of Essaouira
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Meriem Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast on the rooftop was delicious. Also on the rooftop, the Croatian girls running the sunset cafe and bar could not have been sweeter!

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2016

    10
    excellent location in the medina
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Naima Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nice place in the medina with all you wish for a good stay.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2016

    8.8
    Charming atmosphere and excellent location in old medina.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Furnishings and bathroom a bit tired, but good for the price.

    Charming atmosphere and excellent location in old medina. Good breakfasts on terrace with a view.

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2016

    5.8
    our stay was fine.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    our stay was fine. the facility service/amenity wasn't that great. included breakfast was bad. but the overall experience at this riad was worsened by unprofessional staffs. in the end, the owner was not present when we checked out. because he said that we owed him little more money, he immediately charged my credit card without my permission. at best, he should have explained the situation to me first, then charged my card. just ruined the whole experience.

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2016

    10
    Nice Riad in the small street in Medina.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Nice Riad in the small street in Medina. Very good and quiet location! Comfortable room with lot of lovely decorations! Friendly and helpful staff! Breakfast on the rooftop terrace with nice views! I will definitely stay here again during my future stays in Essaouira.

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2016

    10
    Great central location in the Medina.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Substantial breakfast is high in sugar and carbs, so if you want fruit, muesli, cheese etc, eat less and wait till lunch.

    Great central location in the Medina. Helpful, friendly staff. Ethnic, comfortable, unpretentious accommodation which is good value. Roof terrace is a good place to eat breakfast and relax.

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2015

    9.2
    beautiful small riad located in the heart of the Medina with...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    beautiful small riad located in the heart of the Medina with very tastefully furnished rooms; old city wall (skala) and main souk in short walking distance (3 minutes); the stuff was very friendly and always helpful; our room was clean and quiet; breakfast was very good and served on a nice roof terrace with view on the ocean; fast wi-fi; recommendation!!

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2015

    8.3
    Easy to find, good location, helpful staff, beautiful...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The building is a bit small and you can hear what's going on in the hallways. Not much shadow during breakfast.

    Easy to find, good location, helpful staff, beautiful building, good breakfast, luxurious room.

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2015

    4.6
    Room looked nice, was clean and spacious.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Staff was extremely unprofessional at time of check out. The night before leaving we specifically asked if someone would be at the reception around 8 am, since we had to take an early bus to Marrakesh. We were assured that that wouldn't be a problem. Unfortunately the next morning the person responsible for the chek-out was not present, and we were left with settling our bill with someone who was ill prepared. To add insult to injury there was no electricity at that moment, which meant we had to run to the nearest ATM to get cash. We then payed what we were told was our bill and left in a hurry to catch our bus. As we were approaching the bus station we were then stopped by the guy from the hotel - who chased us on a bike (!!) - clamming we still owed them 160 Dh. You can imagine our stress, as we were looking at our bus about to leave, and having to argue and understand how on earth we still had to pay more! We ended up paying just to avoid further confrontations. Only on the bus, when we could finally take a minute to think clearly, we realised that they were in fact right. In any case, the person they send to chase us couldn't explain things clearly and I don't think that they took the right approach to solve this problem. Plus: there was not hot water in the shower. It rained inside the Riad, precisely in front of the door of our room (just our luck!). To leave the room we literally had to open our umbrella. But I guess rain comes rarely in Morocco...

    Room looked nice, was clean and spacious. Well located.

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2015

    9.2
    Nice small boutique riad
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Bathroom had a damp smell at times Steps to rooms and terrace are steep and there are a lot, so not recommended for elderly

    Nice small boutique riad Very close to port and restaurants Receptionist Fatima was helpful Breakfast was simple but good, especially their tasty msimin! Nice variety of room types, each with their own style

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2015

    10
    Very good, quiet location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bad smell in the room despite the heating ( in winter time).

    Very good, quiet location! Comfortable room and bathroom! Friendly and helpful staff! Good breakfast on the terrace! Close to the restaurants and wonderful beach! Amazing city! You can feel safely everywhere. I would definitely return to this Riad and Essaouira!

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2015

    9.6
    Beautiful riad, decor classy, simple, Spanish couple who run...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    As it is a riad it only serves breakfast unless you pre order other meals or drinks. After a day out walking I really would have liked to have had some mint tea but the staff had gone home.

    Beautiful riad, decor classy, simple, Spanish couple who run it are very helpful. The rooms are warm as there are heaters and the rood terrace is fab for breakfast. Excellent value.

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2016

    8.8
    Good location, quiet but central.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Plastic sheet on bed

    Good location, quiet but central. Friendly staff

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2016

    7.5
    breakfast and beds
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    breakfast and beds

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2016

    5.4
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Premises in need of maintenance. Some staff not friendly.

    Location

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2015

    8.3
    Friendly helpful staff
    • Couple

    Friendly helpful staff

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2015

    9.2
    fantastic staff, very nice house, safe, confortable and very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    the breakfast was very good but it would be even better with fruits and vegetable

    fantastic staff, very nice house, safe, confortable and very clean

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2015

    8.8
    Wonderful location, lovely roof cafe for breakfast , day use...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Mattress was hard

    Wonderful location, lovely roof cafe for breakfast , day use and sunset drinks. Staff very friendly and helpful

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2015

    8.8
    Very good position and nice ambiance.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    there was a strange smell in the room

    Very good position and nice ambiance.The terrace is a nice touch both for breakfast and evening.

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2015

    7.5
    Breakfast was good and the location of the riad was just a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast was good and the location of the riad was just a short while away from the port.

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2015

    9.2
    Cute little place!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Cute little place! Lots of character. Unbeatable for the price.

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Late in the evening we wanted some tea and Hassan was so nice to bring it and made a real Moroccan Tea show out of it: amazing.

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2015

    7.5
    Very central (in Medina) location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Ambiance could have been a bit more authentically Moroccan

    Very central (in Medina) location

There are also 12 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 49

Browse Riad Al Zahia traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: