Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Riad Alkantara

24 Oued Souafine-Douh Fès Medina, Fes El Bali, 30004 Fès, Morocco

#55 of 172 hotels in Fès

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 99 hotel reviews

9.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.5

  • Comfort

    9.4

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    9.4

  • Staff

    9.5

  • Value for money

    8.7

  • Free WiFi

    9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 44

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    10
    Stunning Riad with friendly helpful staff right in the centre of Fes medina.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Senior Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Riad Alkantara is a beautiful place to stay. Our room was exquisite with wonderful fabric, beautiful decoration and was cleaned daily to a very high standard. Breakfast on the terrace was excellent.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    10
    A really good bang for your buck!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A small thing, but it would be nice to have a pad on the pool loungers.

    The grounds and pool were lovely. The rooms elegant and very spacious. The Riad gives the feeling of staying in a small palace. The management and staff were so helpful and very friendly. They arranged for a guide to take us around the Médina and I would highly recommend you doing this at the beginning of your stay. The price was very reasonable and experience invaluable. Our entire stay at Alkantara was wonderful and welcoming. We stayed 3 nights in Fès and 4 nights in Marrakesh and wish we had reversed the number of nights in each. The Médina in Fès was less hectic and the merchants were friendly and less aggressive than in Marrekesh which made for a very pleasant experience. Better to brush up against a donkey or mule in Fès than being rundown by a motorcycle in the Marrakesh.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    10
    My stay at this stunning Riad couldn't have been better!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    My stay at this stunning Riad couldn't have been better! The staff were so wonderful, welcoming and were always making sure I had exactly what I needed. The grounds, room and gardens were stunning and the location is fantastic!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    10
    An unforgettable experience with an incredibly helpful and accommodating staff. The place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The Riad is a hidden palace of tranquility. It was the perfect place for my girlfriend and I to spend a week relaxing by the pool, while providing us with so many options for excursions and dining in Fez. The attention to detail is paralleled only by the incredible efforts of Samir and his team, who were perfect hosts during our stay. Simple gestures like cleaning our room when we weren't using it, rather than a fixed time every day, and offering food options like a fruit salad that wasn't on the menu show how personalized an experience Samir wishes to offer. When we wanted to book a spa, taxi, or restaurant Samir and his staff we always available and accommodating. Would highly recommend eating the incredible dinner that is offered by the Riad, as well as taking them up on their offer for transfer to and from the airport if you're flying in to Fez. The Medina can be an intricate labyrinth, and this ensured we got quickly to the Riad with extra help with our bags. Riad Alkantara exceeded our expectations in every way, and we would recommend to anyone traveling to Fez .

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    10
    Gorgeous place and fantastic staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Senior Suite
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing except for the shower that didn't work too well but it was a minor inconvenience.

    I was particularly impressed with the staff. The cook was brilliant and lovely. The team was very friendly, Samir and Neouman were extremely helpful and kind. They were always prepared to go the extra mile to make sure our stay was perfect. The maids did a fantastic job too.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    8.8
    The staff at Riad Alkantara is excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff at Riad Alkantara is excellent. Particular kudos go to Samir and Noman for the outstanding hospitality and services they extended to us during our stay.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    10
    We had a wonderful stay in the middle of the huge Fez Medina.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Some of the room lighting was a little dim, especially for reading.

    The Riad is really spectacular. The bedrooms are in a building filled with lovely Islamic decoration -- tiles, plaster mouldings, carved and painted ceilings. All the rooms are really large. The breakfasts are excellent, and more than ample. There is a beautiful garden full of orange, lemon, and grapefruit trees, lots of flowering plants, and a very big swimming pool. It is a great place to simply sit in and enjoy.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    8.3
    Beautiful riad, gardens & pool. Very well located!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very low lighting in the room so we had to ask for an extra light which still wasn’t quite enough. Expensive breakfast (approx 12 Euros each for not that much food). There was possibly too much space in the bedroom - it could be furnished better. Despite it being 27 degrees in the day, the pool was freezing cold because it went down to 8 degrees at night (November). Not necessarily the riad’s fault but something to be aware of.

    The swimming pool, gardens and the building with the bedrooms in were all beautiful. There’s an amazing view across the medina from the bar terrace and an even better one if you go up to the roof (we had to ask for access). The main market street was only a 5 minute walk away so it’s a great location. We we were extremely lucky to be the only guests for 5 of our 7 nights and even then we barely saw the other two guests. We were also given an upgrade to a junior suite which meant we were upstairs overlooking the centre of the riad. The room was huge with the loo on one level and the bath/shower below. The staff (all 3 of them) were extremely friendly and helpful. Samir was fantastic and always happy to give us advice on where to go and what to do. Nouemane who looked after the place at night was so nice and always a happy face to return to after dinner! There’s also a friendly cat called Marco. It was amazing as it was in winter but In summer I think this place will be absolute paradise.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    9.2
    Just book it
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Nothing - it was a great start to our Morocco holiday.

    A hidden gem in the heart of the medina. Staff were attentive, helpful and interested when you wished and out of the way when you wanted to just chill at the pool. Room was large,good air conditioning and in a traditional riad style. Pool and it's surround was perfect after wandering round and round the medina. Staff great,breakfast fine. No bar maybe the only consideration but that is the culture so can't complain. We stayed 5 nights and would happily recommend.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    10
    Beautiful Riads and grounds to retreat in after an exciting day in Fez
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing

    Riad Alkantara was a beautiful calm oasis to relax in between sightseeing and souk exploring. We loved coming back to our riad to relax by the pool in the afternoons, we had it to ourselves most days. The breakfast on the terrace was delicious and all the staff were friendly and made us feel at home. We can't wait to go back and would recommend it for staying in the medina. The location was good too, we were close to nice restaurants for the evening. Recommend downloading google maps offline to make your way back as the Fez medina can be hard to navigate.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    10
    fantastic
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I'm impressed. The site is huge and the place is so beautiful and elegant. The people are very gentle. It was so comfortable having conversation with them.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    10
    Had a wonderful time and feel very lucky to have experienced such a beautiful place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    It would have been extra special if the fountains around the gardens had been turned on.

    Large and beautiful room with fantastic wooden shutters and a really luxurious bathroom. The air-conditioning worked very well and was a must in the 40 degree August heat. The pool area was spotless and the gardens lovely. All the staff were friendly and extremely helpful. The whole Riad is wonderfully peaceful with only the sounds of the birds helping you relax.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    9.6
    Like paradise!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The most beautiful place with palatial rooms, stunning swimming pool and fairytale garden. The only hotel in the Medina with a pool and a garden. Extremely helpful staff and delicious food cooked for us.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    8.8
    Helpfulness of staff, smell of plants in the pool, relaxed...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't like the guide recommended by the hotel. Not professional in his behavior, sly with a touch of arrogance. He didn't want to respect agreed time of guided tour in the Médina, under the pretext that content is what matters and not time. On the other hand, he insisted on taking us to a pottery association outside the Médina... Idrissi was his name, I think.

    Helpfulness of staff, smell of plants in the pool, relaxed atmosphere.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2017

    10
    Great authentic moroccan riad
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Most calm and relaxing place with gorgeous moroccan designs and great pool. Located in great place in medina, many spots around to look at and to have some local food. Staff is always ready to help, they let us stay on the territory after the checkout and organized transfer to railway station for our late train. Highly reccomended.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2017

    9.6
    An oasis of calm and luxury....
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Senior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the rooms lack TV but that does add to the relaxed atmosphere. The bathroom though luxurious could do with a better functioning bath & shower.

    All of the staff are really friendly and eager to please. (Thank you Loubna for finding my credit card and phoning me) This is a truly impressive and historic Riad with a lovely large pool and gardens. Our bedroom was huge and beautiful with its intricate decoration.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2016

    9.2
    Great pool and surrounds although weather not conducive.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Great pool and surrounds although weather not conducive. Lovely room and not far from souks and easy to find (not the case with all Etihad). Staff great. I was ill and they went to pharmacist etc for me. Nothing was too much trouble.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    10
    Breathtaking
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    None

    Probably the most beautiful hotel we've ever stayed at or seen. The staff was friendly and the food was amazing. Breakfast was among the best we had on our trip. The Moroccan salads we had at dinner were truly unexpected - wish we had a restaurant like that back home. Hope to return someday.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2016

    8.8
    Haven of peace and quiet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Pity they didn't have currency exchange facility. Just like all the other Riads in Fes it is very difficult to find at first.[ they did send someone to collect me from the parking zone.]

    The staff were extremely helpful, accommodating and hospitable. Breakfasts were delightful and substantial. My room and bed was very comfortable.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2016

    3.3
    Bribe to get a decent room
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The staff at reception ( 4 People & Manager for a Hotel with 5 rooms!) :A lazy bunch, headed by an Arab Manager who, in one week never spoke to us. As most of the 5 large rooms, the window in our room did not give to the outside, but into a majlis area. So no fresh air As there were no other guests, THEY offered us after 3 days of struggle an acceptable room if we wrote a letter praising the Hotel and promising that we would not write the truth about the place. This manager even edited our letter which we did not sign. No wonder they have so many nice comments. We can, however repeat a previous preview that the towels are washed only very occasionally. I still have a skin rash. When I was sick from the wood staining fumes, they refused to give us a slice of bread we got it from a friendly , professionally run Riad next door. #BIGGEST DISAPPOINTMENT IN 25 YEARS OF TRAVELING

    Very nice Restaurant called Ruined Garden just around the corner

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2016

    9.6
    Stunning Grounds
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Senior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Riad Alkantara is one of the most beautiful properties I've every stayed. The grounds are incredible and our room was huge. The staff bent over backwards to make sure we had a nice stay. Hadija in particular was so sweet and an amazing cook! Our stay happened to coincide with Eid Ul-Adha and most of the restaurants were closed so Hajija insisted on coming in to work just to prepare dinner for us. The hotel is also extremely well located. I would recommend staying here to anyone looking to visit Fez.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2016

    9.2
    Calmest space in Fess
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We didn't stay long enough

    The staff and the assistance given by Loubna was quite simply outstanding. She helped us right from the start and didn't stop until we were in the taxi on our way to the train station.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2016

    9.2
    Riad buildings and pool were fantastic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Even better if they could offer fresh fruit for breakfast.

    Riad buildings and pool were fantastic. Chicken tagine was incredible. Late check out was really useful.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2016

    10
    Don't miss this amazing place
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is an amazing place, a hidden oasis in the middle of the medina. Amazing pool, very large riad, nicely decorated, very well managed with a great staff, very helpful and pro. Food is also very good. I highly recommend this place.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    9.6
    The facilities were beautiful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The facilities were beautiful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    9.2
    The property is beautiful and the staff were wonderful,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The pool was not heated (and too cold for swimming).

    The property is beautiful and the staff were wonderful, really going beyond our expectations.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    10
    Very interesting
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Senior Suite
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    An oasis of beauty.The Riad is a work of art. The staff are excellent and the food in the Riad delicious.We will return.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    10
    Wonderful
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Wonderful stay. They made us feel like princesses. All the employees were really nice, gave us a lot of tips and helped us a lot.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    10
    The best place we could possibly have stayed in fes - will definitely return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The gardens were beautiful and amazing sized pool for fes. Really helpful and friendly staff.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    10
    Relaxing and enjoyable in a beautiful setting.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful tradional riad that was quiet and elegant. 5 Stars across the board

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    9.6
    An oasis in the maze that is the Fès medina.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    An oasis in the maze that is the Fès medina. Beautiful garden and pool area, very friendly staff and a comfortable room. Breakfast was very good.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2017

    8.8
    The staff and the pool
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff and the pool

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2017

    9.2
    Very nice riad in convenient but quiet location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Senior Suite
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Layout a bit awkward with dangerous changes of level here and there.

    Friendly staff. Secluded and quiet place to stay within medina.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2016

    9.2
    Great place, with very kind staff, ideal for a quiet getaway!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The water in the pool was so cold, that we couldn't enjoy it.

    Great place, with very kind staff, ideal for a quiet getaway!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2016

    9.6
    The breakfast is good and the staff is So kind and friendly !
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast is good and the staff is So kind and friendly ! We would love to come back some day. We felt like princesses in a palace.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2016

    8.8
    The sfaff is very friendly and always there to help you.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    However, a few things could be improved. We had to ask every evening to restock our toiletries in the bathroom. Which is something that shouldn't need asking at all. And beware of the misleading L'Occitane toiletries pic. That's not what you will get. Also, the breakfast is included in the stay, but it's not a buffet. And the choice is very limited. No cereals, no biscuits, or other sweet treats of the kind. No fresh fruit either. And if you're looking more for an English breakfast, forget that as well. They will only cook omelettes. Having said that, the quality of the food is amazing. Finally, I've noticed during our stay that the towels, that they give you for use at the pool, are not washed after your use. They are simply put to dry on a fence, folded, and then given to the next guest who requests them. Without washing them. Considering that this is kind of a boutique hotel, these things shouldn't happen.

    The sfaff is very friendly and always there to help you. The Riad is lovely, and it's even better than in the pictures. The rooms are actually all suites, so they're spacious and well equipped with all possible hotel amenities. The garden and the pool are well kept, and they are a nice place where to relax after some Medina exploring.

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2016

    10
    I booked this hotel for my birthday.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing! Everything was great!

    I booked this hotel for my birthday. It was perfect! The staff are so lovely. The food is great. The bedrooms are stunning! It is right in the city. So you can easily go for a bit of shopping!

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2016

    9.2
    Excellent service, very helpful staff, especially true for...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There was no door to separate our bathroom from the main room.

    Excellent service, very helpful staff, especially true for Loubna. Delicious breakfast. The lovely staff fulfills every wish when it comes to serving whatever you like for breakfast. The riad itself is wonderful, romantic and nicely decorated. The garden with its pretty flowers is a true gem and the best place to relax from the hustle and bustle of the medina. Loved the pool.

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2016

    10
    We liked the friendly and service minded staaf.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We liked the friendly and service minded staaf. The home cooked super delicious dinners. The cooking class moroccan food. We selcted Alkantara for its original design after a careful review of all Riads shown on Booking.com . We are very satisfied to have seen so many tiled floors and walls with zillij mosaic! The beatufull well kept garden with pool. Open courtyard wth a lot of air and sunshine. The Riad is located in a quite location inside medina.

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2015

    8.8
    This riad was absolutely gorgeous and had good lighting...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Quality of the linen (sheets and towels) disappointing for the price. Unable to pay by credit card as their credit card facilties was not working fortunately we had sufficient cash.

    This riad was absolutely gorgeous and had good lighting which is unusual for riads. The rooms and the shared facilities were beautiful and truely a haven from the hussle and bussle of fez medina. The staff were so friendly and helpful. We needed to get bus tickets for the following day but it was incredibly difficult to find your way around the medina especially at night so the hostess was nice enough to go and get the tickets for us. This was above and beyond but topped off an already fabulous stay.

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2015

    10
    The hotel was beautiful, everything was perfect and clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The hotel was beautiful, everything was perfect and clean. The rooms were decorated with such class and the staff made our stay perfect. They were so friendly, helpful and made our time there even better. Particularly the two female staff members khadija and lobna who did everything they could to accommodate us , from arranging taxis, breakfast and information of the area. Book this hotel, it will not disappoint:)

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2015

    9.6
    Everything!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    I had a little difficulty arriving, no one answered the phone... because the road is in the medina, you need to walk a short way, usually someone is there to pick you up. Luckily, after refusing to get out of the taxi for 10 minutes at 23:30 at night, another traveller arrived who explained this to me, and walked me to the riad. Not a great start, Other than this, a very nice stay and would stay again.

    Everything! Pool, breakfast is the best I've had in Morocco, room is amazing. Close to nice restaurants.

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2015

    9.2
    The staff were all very friendly, helpful and attentive, the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The staff were all very friendly, helpful and attentive, the Riad is beautiful, tranquil and lovingly cared for.

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2015

    10
    Pool garden rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Pool garden rooms

There are also 3 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 44

Browse Riad Alkantara traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: