Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Riad Alwane

39 Derb Chbouk,Bab Khemisse, Medina, 40000 Marrakech, Morocco

#587 of 855 hotels in Marrakech

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 250 hotel reviews

7.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    8

  • Location

    5.2

  • Facilities

    7.8

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    7.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little bit noisy if there's people in the pool.

    The Riad is very nice, with all details considered. The room is perfect, with an amazing bathroom. The pool is relaxing and very useful with this hot weather. The staff very kind, they prepared the breakfast before the time because we had to leave early.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had the most wonderful stay here and really didn't want to leave. The breakfast was amazing and we were made to feel so very welcome. Couldn't recommend enough!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    staff does NOT speak english, only French, Arabic, and the manager also spoke Spanish. Also, we could not bring our keys with us when we went out, always had to lieave them in the Riad on a basket exposed to everyone. And location was not great, far from the main square and road so be prepared to pay at least 50 MAD for every taxy ride.

    Housekeeping was very efficient, they even provide Turn Down service. Ladies are very cute. Great breakfast

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel wasn't close to the taxi stands or shops. As two women it was intimidating walking home in the evening with all the young boys hassling you.

    The hotel itself was good, beautiful building and lovely staff. The breakfast was simple but enjoyable.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was cold although the heater was on, because the isolation wasn't great. The door to the 'balcony' couldn't close properly and there was a fire pit too, where cold air would enter... The water temperatures would fluctuate too, I guess it's a better option for the warmer months... The location is alright, but it's located within the maze of the old town, about 2.5 km to Jmaa El Fnaa and probably equally as long to Jardin Majorelle (opposite direction of Jmaa El Fnaa). After 1-2 days you get used to the location, but first day was a shocker.

    Staff members were kind and helpful, they tried to accommodate my vegan needs for the breakfast as well as possible. They even packed a pasta salad for me on the day I checked out, because I was heading to the desert - which is more than they needed to do! They helped with the booking of the desert trip too, which cost us 60 EUR per person.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Riad was a bit cold including our room. But we were given extra blankets and after the first day the room was a bit warmer.

    The staff is very friendly and helpful. Tasty traditional food. Very clean. Cosy room.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was extremely cold and a/c was not heating enough cause it was set to 24 degree celc. The night we arrived a/c was not working at all and they did not do anything to help. Staff does not speak and understand English at all. Also hot water was not available until second day of our stay. Location hard to find, really scary to walk late night and taxis does not go inside cause streets too narrow. Mugs and plates were dirty.

    Interior design of the room and riad was nice. Room was big. Breakfast was okay with many choices.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The neighborhood is not the greatest. We recommend you not to walk to the property from the main square and rather take a taxi, which should cost about 30-50 MAD (3-5 euros), ask to take you to the Bab Khemisse Post. Also locating the property from there is very tricky, there is an arrow with the letter 'A' to guide you, but from my point of view, it should be more specific and to write 'Alwane'. In our case, a little child helped us locating the place, but the people offering you help, usually expect a few Dirhams in exchange. We visited Marrakech in February and during the night the room was very cold. We tried using the AC on the heating mode but it didn't make a difference. Heating would really be an improvement for the comfort of visitors. Also, a bin in the bathroom would be nice.

    The property looks really nice and the breakfast was authentic and delicious. The staff was very friendly and helped us with absolutely everything even helped us organize a tour with the camels.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely clean and beautiful, all the staff polite and happy, even when we returned from a night out at 4am... couldn't have asked for a better riad to stay in, 100% would return and reconmend 👌

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    not enough sign on the way to riad. easy to get lost in the Medina and people on the street will trick you for misleading. and hot water for shower was not sufficient for both people.

    nice breakfast and cozy riad. we enjoyed the stay there and made some friends. bed was comfortable.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The whole city, the beaches, and the surrounding countryside are extremely polluted with plastic waste, metal cans and etc. We were all very sad to see all this contamination with waste, it ruined the whole trip.

    The staff was very helpfull and nice. Nice and beautiful inside area.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The location was quite uncomfortable to reach. The neighborhood doesn't feel very safe at all, even though nothing happened to us, it was an unsettling feeling when you are travelling in a foreign country. There was a lack of communication with the guy running the hotel, since he only spoke French (even though their site says they speak English). I have been to Marrakech many times and in comparison to other complimentary breakfasts, this one was incomplete.

    The bed & the pillows were nice and comfortable. Room was nice and clean and the shower was spacious

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not the property’s fault but the children that would ‘guide’ us to the Riad and then ask for money. You have to quickly ring the doorbell and hop in to escape.

    The staff were very friendly, I had a cold whilst I was there and they were so helpful. lovely hot shower, good breakfast and WiFi connection.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Very tricky to find. I advise you take taxi straight from the aiport (offerd by riad for cca 15 EUR) to the riad, will save you time and your nerves. Ask staff to show the way to main road or Jemaa el fna market, streets are tiny and simillar looking, so you will most likely get lost. First impression of the location was shocking, but than we appreciated to exprerience real Morroco. Staff speak mainly french,little english. Get your self a pair of slippers, room floor is pretty cold.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location was a bit uncomfortable as people kept staring at us from the moment we arrived to the time we left. It wasn't easy to find as well. The fact that the staff spoke very limited english (it took us at least five minutes and a considerable amount of time with google translate for a yes/no question) didn't help at all. We rented three rooms and there were some issues with the faucets which we weren't able to communicate properly with the staff, again because of the language barrier. Taxis don't go all the way to the property so you'd have to walk in the alley (which could get a little scary especially at night if you're not used to it).

    The place itself wasn't so bad. Breakfast was nice.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked a tranportation from the airport and the driver arrived 1h later (we had to call the riad before). The driver left us in a very dark and scary street without awaring us in advance. We did’t feel safe. The riad is in a very bad location. We preferred to change the riad for the second night, rather than staying there and have to come back there when it was dark(since taxis can’t get into that neighbourhood).

    We had a good breakfast even after the time limit.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 9 nights

    pretty hard to find and quite scary down the long dark allys

    an absolute oasis after the traumas of the souk and numerous alley ways etc. very welcoming, clean and tidy and the staff could not be more helpful

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's a little tricky to find, definitely book a taxi through the Riad to get there but leaving you can flag one from down the road and get it for less than half... But you'll never find it first time if you try to get there on your own! They mainly speak French so I'd brush up in this, ours was shamefully bad. There are some annoying kids around the immediate area who'll try to get money off you so don't be shy telling them where to go!

    Really lovely staff. The Riad is very pretty and traditionally decorated,feels very much like you're in morroco. Rooftop sun deck was great to have as somewhere to relax.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Compared to other hotels and riads we stayed on our trip, the breakfast and coffee were not very tasty. The street in which you can park is about 10min walking distance, if you know where you have to go.

    The rooms were nice and comfortable and we got a tea for welcome. We only had a short stop, arriving in the evening and leaving in the morning again, so we can't say anything about helping with activities etc.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location is not good. It's far from the center of the medina and in a very narrow street. We called the Riad and a member of the staff went to pick us up near the closest hospital entrance. He went there, but since he did not immediately see us, he left. We tried to call the Riad again, but the phone did not work anymore... We had to pay a man to bring us to the Riad. When we were coming back to the hotel after dinner in the evening, a man started begging money and he did not leave us alone until we found another man to whom we asked help. We did not feel safe because we were on a narrow/dark street alone. Even if the Riad is comfortable, we would not like to stay here again :(

    The room was comfortable. The place is well-decorated. The breakfast is served on the roof and it was good.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The riad is in a poor location with nothing but dark alleys around. Me and my partner didn't feel safe leaving the place and when we did we got robbed by the locals. The riad doesn't serve food every night which we found odd as there was nothing else around. In fact because of the location we checked out within 2 nights of our stay and moved to a different area of the city.

    The breakfast was good with something slightly different everyday and the riad was very clean. The staff even though they don't speak English we're nice and helped best they could

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Though the geo-mapping of our riad proved that it wasn't in the town centre, our host Rachid came with mule in tow to navigate us and our luggage to his quaint Riad Atlas 4 Seasons. (Go through town, over the river on the main road, just past the building across from the hospital is a trail off to the left that you need to walk down for about 5-10 minutes - they should see you coming once on there)

    The riad resides in a small family village with views into the valley and of the picturesque mountains. Rachid and family were gracious hosts and supplied us with information on the area, kept us well hydrated with fresh juice and mint tea, cooked some spectacular meals and were all around the best hosts one could ask for in Morocco. The views and price of this riad makes it a steal and I would highly recommend staying when visiting Imlil and the Atlas mountains.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We booked this hotel because they claimed they have an outside pool. The pool is inner though. We complained right away, they said booking.com must allow that. We stayed one night and dealt with booking.com and asked for the refund as the description wasnt accurate. The owner refused and said the pool is outside. He must have been joking... Anyways, we left after one night and nobody helped us to get the money back... NOT RECOMMENDED

    Nice hotel, small room though. Inner pool down there. Be aware - there is no pool on the terrace - dont get fooled by the pictures! Breakfast was OK, staff is very friendly. The owner is NOT FAIR though!!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is a beautiful and peaceful spot which is close to all the main attractions in Marrakech and the Medina.The service is exceptional and the staff really go out of their way to make sure guests have a good stay. The breakfasts are very generous and a nice mix of European and local food. The rooftop terrace is a super place to get some rays and there's a refreshing plunge pool in the little green courtyard. Highly recommended!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The Riad is very well maintained, breakfast was lovely, comfy beds, awesome roof terrace and lovely, helpful staff. It's only a 15 mins walk to the entrance of the souks once you know the way (which the lovely porter will show you, he also is very well known in the neighbourhood which is great- he even went out to the local shop at night when we ran out of water - couldn't be more helpful)

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a long walk to the centre of the Medina. Arrival down a dark, lonely alley was unsettling at first, but in fact it was totally safe.

    Beautiful inner courtyard. Nice roof terrace. Traditional feel. Excellent breakfast. Friendly staff.Comfortable bed.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location was horrible. If you are looking for a homely place,this riad isn't good place for you. The staff doesn't speak English.

    The guy who served the tea and breakfast was very nice.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    You should be aware that some navigation skill to the main centre is required and that it takes about 30mins on foot. Taxis are cheap at only 20dhs though or 2dhs for a bus. The staff will give you a map and local SIM cards are available if you want maps on your phone without roaming fees.

    The staff were lovely. They couldn't speak English but we got by with my GCSE french and some broken English :) The breakfast was lovely and plenty to keep me going til I wanted to venture out for dinner most days. It's was very peaceful. I was the only guest for much of my stay which meant having the pool and the sun terrace completely to myself to relax and read.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's about 25 minutes walking to the center. We couldn't bring any food or drinks in our room. No bin in the room.

    The breakfast Staff Rooftop Cleanliness Hot water shower! The room was nice and quiet

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    First of all the reservation was a misery, we gave our credit card details and there was a little number mistake, but thanks to booking.com you have 24 hours to correct that. We did that, but the personal gave our room to someone else because the said "we were not trustworthy enough". After complaining to booking.com we got our room back. Then it started....The personal treated us really bad. There was no trash can. They 'cleaned' the room every two days. There was no proper bed laundry to cover the blanket. They couldnt speak english. There was mold in the bathroom. The 'map' to the big square djemaa el fna, was a handwritten joke. And you could see that the manager was corrupt, because we counted the money to know how many we have for buying some more gifts before we go back home. And as we wanted to pay for rhe rest he made a bad trick, he took us the money from the hand, switched the bank notes rapidly and said he wanted some more for changing. But me and my friend counted that it was enough we thought okay maybe he wanted to give us a big bank note back, but he just said that it was enough and gave himself a 200 dirhams tip. We are pacifists and we just wanted to go so he can have his 20€ if he feels better. Strange... Holidays should give the costumer a good feeling not the corrupt manager. There was another group of two girls, they also treated them really bad, I know that because I had to translate a little between them. All together don't go to this riad. It is the worst hotel I've ever been and it is totaly different from the real moroccan hospitality. I know that because I worked three years at the reception of a four star german hotel and my parents are from morocco. Don't go to this riad.

    The main court.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The riad is a little bit far from the center located. At night we preferred only to take a taxi directly to the riad because we were afraid to get robbed.

    Service was very good. The breakfast was very good.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 10 nights

    The location is not tourist-like. No restaurant or other locations nearby. You get walked home from random guys and children ask for coins. I didn't feel completely safe the first night alone at the street. If you are in a group (at least 2 persons), it gets easier and you'll find out that most people are nice.

    What an unexpected place when you get there for the first time! It was very familiar and quiet in the Riad, the staff was helpful and nice- but you should be able to speak at least some french or spanish! I got a warmer blanket after some nights and the bed was very comfortable. I enjoyed also the welcome tea and the breakfast with homemade jam and cake a lot. Even if it was not a big breakfast (bread, omlett, fruits, juice, jam), the service was so nice and the place so beautiful, that everything tasted better than usual.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Locations is horrible, it's approximately 1,5-2km from the center of medina. Riad is also not accessible by car.

    Very nice staff, although they didn't speak English at all we managed to communicate

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No locks on bathroom, No TV, Broken shower, Broken AC, The staff changed my room half way through my stay into a smaller room and that room had broken shower, Bad location

    Only one member of staff who was the cleaner.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    If you don't like walking think about staying here (unless you don't mind taking a taxi). The neighborhood is cool and interesting to walk through but it still takes you a while to get to the place. I would say at least 30 minutes. Definitely worth the walking though.

    The staff was very friendly and helpful. It was impressive how they were able to draw maps so we'd actually find the places we wanted to go to without getting lost (the first day they even walked us to the Souks). If you're paying attention on where you're going it's easy to find your way back to the Riad. Also the pick up at the airport worked out fine. We liked the breakfast a lot and you for sure won't be hungry afterwards. The rooms were clean, got hot water, WiFi worked without any problems. We were two young women travelling and felt safe at any time even at night. Definitely recommend.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    We thought the location was a bit closer to the centre than it was, in the morning this is fine but at the end of the day it is quite a walk home.

    We really enjoyed our stay at Riad Alwane. The breakfasts were nice and fresh and the hosts were very accommodating. The Riad also had a very nice, relaxed atmosphere to it.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There weren't any faults, just more my lack of languages. It may be slightly tricky if you don't speak French, however the staff did their absolute best to ensure we got the right information and arrange things for us.

    The staff were super friendly and happy to help wherever they could. The room was clean, quiet and easy walking distance to everything you needed. Your calm oasis with a smile away from the heart of the Medina!

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Menu was limited unless few hours notice possibly because we visited in off season. French/Spanish speaking only no English which was a challenge. Location also an issue as it is difficult to find at first and it's half hour from the square even when you know route, and some parts of souks are shut after 10pm which means the route back changes at night. Depends where you want to be though. Tip for Marrakech - ignore youths who tell you the route is closed cos of Mosque 😉

    Staff and owner were fantastic, Patrice especially went the extra mile to make sure our stay in the Riad was a real pleasure. Breakfast was simple but tasty and filling and rooms were clean and bed comfy. Real cooling breeze in the courtyard too which makes a pleasant break from the heat outside and the Riad is a pleasant oasis from the Marrakech hustle and bustle.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No one in the staff speaks English.

    Very Friendly and helpful staff. Nice and generous breakfasts. Impressive value for money. Very good and clean rooms. Good terrace.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The dozens of bees during the breakfast, the lavatory water leak, the broken hairdryer

    The location and the staff is discreet and nice

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is not in the heart of median Marrakech.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff is very kind and polite. The riad itself is very cute and cozy:)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very well looked after, amazing breakfast, organized mountain trip was excellent

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower head was a little low for my 6ft2 partner

    Wonderful breakfast, very helpful staff, pretty setting with a lot of thought and effort.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A cozy riad with a very friendly staff. Good wifi and delicious breakfast

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nice place with helpfull staff. The breakfast was delicious. Not far from the most interesting destinations.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location

    The riad

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff did't speak and very little understod eanglish.

    Very good breakfast.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The AC wasn't working, so we couldn't heat the room.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very far from the big place JamElFna

    Ver nice Riad hidden within the real Marrakech

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quiet place in the middle of the hectic medina

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Its quite far from the markets and the plaza. And at night is very dark.

    I enjoyed the place, the riad is nice and staff is very helpful.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location!

    Stayed in November 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    I was in Room 1 for 5 nights which is adjacent to the restaurant. I was asked to move to another room due to mistakes with bookings. It was less noisy upstairs which I much preferred. When I booked with a Genius discount, I was advised transport would be provided to and from the airport. I was picked up from the airport but had to pay for a taxi for the return. I was advised by a member of staff there had been no agreement re return transport to the airport.

    Decor within the Riad

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2016

    • Family with young children

    The staffs there are amazing, Brian (I may spelt it wrong) the manager and the other very smiley guy are both very helpful and friendly, they took very good care of our baby as well, it's not easy to find the place for the first time (google map doesn't take you to the exact place), however after the first time you'll find it no problem. Only 10 minutes walk to the medina, where all the souks are. Breakfast was nice too, different every day. Lovely sun terrace.Miss them already!

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The aircondition didn´t work the first couple of days. We had a little discussion with the head of staff during our stay because we wanted to change our room. First from the main floor to the 1 floor, and then to a second room due to the aircondition not working in the room on the 1 floor. It took, about 40 min to walk from the riad to Jamaa el fna (main squarre), and the neighbourhood the riad was located in, was not suitible to walk in alone during the night. The Breakfast was mainly empty carbohydrates.

    The staff was pleasant. The hotel owner made us a map several times so that we could get around in the city. The terrasse was excellent. The noise during the night was non excisting. The young waiter/piccolo made our stay in the riad much more enjoyable due to his smilling face and helpfulness.

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The shower was a bit cold at night after a few minutes.

    Patrick the responsible of the riad, is so polite, friendly and ready to help. Our bus from the dessert arrived one hour later than the time we supposed to be, we asked for the free transport they offer and the taxi driver they sent was waiting for us anyway. Was late in the evening and we were tired so was very cool to have a person waiting for us. In addition we asked a small dinner and they gave us without problem. The riad is beautiful, perfect if you want to rest a bit from the crazy Marrakech. I hoped to stay more than one night there! Thanks to Patrick and his team they were so kind !

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    For us, it was difficult to communicate with staff as they don't speak English, but if you've got a decent handling of French or Spanish, you'll be fine. The location isn't particularly great, taxis have to drop you 5-10mins away and navigation can be difficult at first.

    Lovely breakfast, slightly different each day. Lovely, attentive friendly staff. Quiet and relaxing spaces to enjoy, especially enjoy the rooftop. Clean comfortable and great value room!

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The Riad is situated quite a distance from the main square El Fna but it is a pleasant walk through the markets and the main souk which I realise may not suit everyone. We tended to walk during the day and when going out in the evening for a meal we would take a taxi which cost approx £3.

    This was our second visit ro Riad Alwane having been there Dec 2015 and now Mar 2016. Patrick the owner is very nice, polite and very helpful. Brahim and Aimad are extremely polite and helpful. They are there and available morning, noon and night. The accomodation is excellent, clean and roomy. We had different rooms for each visit and had no problem with the wifi. Breakfast was plentiful though tended to be repetitive which may not suit some people but given the price paid for our stay it was excellent value. At night Brahim would arrange a taxi for us and the driver would come to the riad door to pick us up. We would ask him to retrn at a specific time to pick us up in town after our night out and he was always there waiting for us and the charge was always the same approx £3. Also Patrick arranged a taxi to pick us up from the airport to bring us to the Riad for no charge. The return taxi to the airport cost 100 Dirham approx £7. Taxis in town should cost no more than 30 Dirham always use the small yellow cabs. There is a lovely sun terrace at the top of the Riad to sunbathe

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We had the same towels for one week, unfortunately. And one day we didn't have any toilet roll paper.

    Very nice and friendly staff. We definitely recomend for young people.

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The place was a bit difficult to find at the beginning but we got used to it, always got to Bab Khemis and followed the big red A sign with the arrow on the walls.

    The owner was friendly and helpful so was the other boy. The room was big, nicely decorated, the bed very comfortable and cozy. Bathroom was also big and clean with towels and toiletries. The roof terrace is a nice place to relax, unfortunately we didn`t have much time for that. Breakfast was modest but enough with orange juice, tea and coffee and there was no problem to have it quite early in the morning when we went for day trips. I would recommend this riad!

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There were no restaurants nearby.

    The staff were lovely. Very kind and helpful.The food was very good, and well presented. and the room was comfortable and clean.

  • Reviewed: 29 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The neighbourhood was not the best, but if you want to get to know something from the real Marrakesh, you are on the right place. Believe me, it's worth!

    Real Moroccan style, with Europian cleanness. The owner and the hotel servant were very kind and helpfull. We enjoyed our time there.

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    the only small issue is everyday on breakfest we got very tasty, but the same food.

    Very helpful staf. Didnt speak english, but it wasnt big problem, because they wanted help with everything.Fresh food.Very peacfull and clean.They care about small things so you feel great suranded by Maroccan atmosphere.

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    See the "though..." on the "like" list. That's really all.

    The staff is amazingly kind and helpful (though none of them speak English). The place in itself is magic, rooms are extremely comfortable and the rooftop is great (though only available in daytime). Many people weren't satisfied with the location/position: I believe they were just lazy and scared to walk in the medina.

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We were a little disappointed by breakfast, especially the coffee, it was barely coffee! Sweet bread based breakfast not our thing, eggs more often and fruit would have been so much nicer, but the homemade strawberry jam was fab!

    The staff were nice and despite our lack of french were helpful and informative. The room was clean but the place overall was not as good as it looked in images!

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Expect to use taxis a lot if you have a poor sense of direction, as the direction from the Riad to the main hub of the medina can prove a bit of a challenge-the streets north of the souks are maze-like!

    Brahim, the manager, was extremely patient and helpful despite my poor ability to speak French! Everyone was so kind. The breakfast was a treat each morning and the room where I slept was very elegant with a very comfortable bed. Such a quiet haven.

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The location is a bit out and not in the best part of town so we needed a lot of taxis, which thankfully did not cost much thanks to the great deal the Riad manager organized for us

    The staff was amazing. only french speaking so might get difficult for non french speakers, but they do their very best to accommodate everything. They booked trips for us provided us with tips and tricks. Amazing.

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I didnt like the area as much, but that is not their fault. As I said they even picked us up and were very patient when I tried to explain where I am.

    The owner and staff were very nice and helpfull, allthough my french is not really good. They were very patient and also picked us up after we called and described where we are. They also helped us telling us a fair price for the taxi driver, when the taxi driver insisted to call. The rooms were beautiful and very clean and we even got tea when we arrived.

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    A good 30/40 minute walk from the main centre of Marrakech. Was supposed to be collected from the airport but the owner 'forgot' which was a little worrying.

    Free breakfast, quiet peaceful riad. Friendly staff despite speaking very little English.

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A little far from the centre of town, making it a little hard to find on the first couple of days. however this added an interesting dynamic as it allowed us to see the local Moroccans and how they live

    Beautiful riad, staff very friendly and helpful, a very personal experience. Lovely plunge pool and roof terrace, with gorgeous decor throughout. locals were very friendly. Area nice and quiet so very good for relaxing

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The breakfast could have been more diverse. I would have really liked some eggs, ham & vegetables, not only sweet things. The location is not very central, but you can take a walk to the middle of Medina. The route is picturesque.

    Chic & clean rooms, nice top terrace and great interior courtyard.

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Air con diddntt work. But it was fine as the riad was much cooler than outside. You will be thankful of this :P

    Staff are very friendly. place is beautiful, exactly like the photos.

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Great value for money. Staff there were so lovely and helpful despite the language barrier! Excellent wifi and great breakfast spread.Short walk from the main medina.

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The Riad itself is lovely but as a solo traveller the location to find it is very had and daunting in the mid of the medina . Also the Riad ask that you don't bring food into your room for hygien reasons

    The owner was so accomdating and helpful. Accompanying me to taxi after a bad morning getting lost and providing me with fresh fruit daily . Only French speaking but helpful with use of I translate. I had my mobile stolen whilst walking streets so the use of free WIFI was excellent . Room was clean and tidy daily along with an excellent size.

There are also 8 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Riad Alwane traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: