Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Riad Ariha

Derb Ahmed El Borj 90, Sidi Benslimane, Medina, 40000 Marrakech, Morocco

#309 of 855 hotels in Marrakech

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 126 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.5

  • Comfort

    9

  • Location

    7.6

  • Facilities

    8.8

  • Staff

    9.8

  • Value for money

    8.9

  • Free WiFi

    8.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 37

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    9.6
    beautiful riad
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Jasmine Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    as with many raids in the marina its a bit difficult to find and you don't really want to walk home to it at night but staff help with this as much as would be possible.

    beautiful riad with wonderful helpful staff and beautiful rooms. Rebooked repeatedly throughout our time in Morocco and would recommend to everyone

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    10
    Nice riad, clean and cozy, breakfast is really good (jam,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Citronnier Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Nice riad, clean and cozy, breakfast is really good (jam, butter, eggs, traditional bread and pancakes), staff is also amazing specially Abdul who showed us an amazing Hammam place

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    9.2
    Lovely little Riad in the Medina. Great staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Jasmine Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The things we didn't like were more related to this being our first time in Marrakech rather than the accomodation itself. The area of the Medina is a real rabbit warren of little laneways and it's very easy to become disoriented, especially with a few local youths trying it on with tourists 'that way is closed' and asking for a few Euros to show you the long way to your door. But with the Riad's loan mobile phone and a few days we became more confident of getting our way to the Riad.

    We stayed here for 4 nights in the Jasmine Room towards the end of May. The room was as per the website pics: spacious, overlooking the courtyard, own private sitting area and bathroom with a big shower. Lovely local organic soaps, shampoo and shower gel provided. Breakfast was essentially continental style in the courtyard and we had full access to the fridge and small kitchen for chilling our wine (not frowned on by the accommodating staff) and making a cuppa. The staff - Khalid and Abdul - could not have been more accommodating during our stay. Real hats off to these guys. We have stayed in accommodation around the world and travelled extensively and you would be hard pressed to find more committed hosts: they were happy to escort us to a taxi, meet us at the drop off point when we returned, organise porters and the like, give us pointers and generally help us make the most of our time in this beautifully crazy city. They even lent us a little mobile phone so we could contact them if we were lost or needed guidance. That level of commitment and service is uncommon and they were exceptionally warm, kind and helpful throughout our stay. They each deserve 15 stars!! Our room was made up and cleaned every day to a high standard which was also appreciated. It wasn't warm enough for us to try out the plunge pool during our stay so can't comment on that but it looked tempting for a mini plunge during hot weather.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    10
    Great first trip to Marrakech! Love ogling forward to coming back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Rose Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hamid was fantastic! He came to meet us when the taxi dropped us off on arrival from the airport. He also came to meet us after dark one night, as we were just two girls walking back to the hotel. We booked a two night trip to the desert through the hotel, and that was equally good. Overall, an excellent trip!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    9.6
    Comfortable, beautiful and affordable Riad
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Jasmine Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The walk to the main attractions was quite long, and the excursion to Zagora (3rd party but booked through the Riad) was of a poor standard. The Riad also didn't respond to my email about it which was a little disappointing.

    This Riad is fantastic with great decor and ambience. The staff, Khalid in particular, were great and even arranged for birthday flowers for my boyfriend!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    9.6
    Nice and cozy riad with great owners
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Rose Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was great except maybe the access, was a little bit hard to get there at the first time but after 2 times we easily find the place. When you arrive in Marrakech ask your driver to call the riad and they will get you in the main street. (Because is inside the medina, the cars cant enter there). Other thing, at 5am you will probably get awake by prayers near by.

    Everything! The owners, Abdul and Khalid, are two great persons, super nice and they get everything you need. 5 stars. The riad is clean with a nice decoration and a cozy envoirenment. Good location, we get anywhere just by walking

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    10
    Lovely, peaceful riad! Delicious tajine dinners! Most helpful manager!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Jacaranda Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Loved our stay at Riad Ariha! The riad was lovely and peaceful! The staff went above and beyond to make us comfortable, recommend local tours, exchange money, walk us to a taxi or restaurant, and even call a henna artist during the last day of our stay. We ended up requesting dinner at the riad most nights: absolutely delicious and cheaper than elsewhere.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    5.0
    Too far for this price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Citronnier Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very bad position. Small room next to entrance and breakfast space. In case one doesn t wake up at 5am because of the prayer noise ... Will definetely wake up once the firet guest comes for breakfast.

    Very friendly staff.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    9.6
    Very friendly and helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Oleander Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The covers over the courtyard could do with tidying up a bit.

    Very friendly and helpful staff. Staff walked us to the nearest square and nearby restaurants as very easy to get hopelessly lost - but that's what happens in the Medina! Charming interior and excellent food.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    9.2
    Beautiful little riad with amazing staff.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    You have to walk through a market street to get there and it can be quite hectic.

    The staff at this hotel are incredible. They go out of their way to assist you any way they can. The property is super quiet and central.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    6.7
    Great staff, tired Riad
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Jasmine Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Riad needs a little investment to make the stay more comfortable for example a full length mirror, bathrobes, complimentary water etc Breakfast is also disappointing. It would not cost much to offer fresh fruit, cereal or eggs.

    Staff could not be more helpful, they go the extra mile

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    10
    Excellent riad. Homely, elegant and cosy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Rose Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very clean, lovely bathroom, extra helpful staff, comfy bed, lovely decor, heating in the room! Which made a huge difference on a winter break. Overall fab and wouldn’t hesitate to return. Plus, they waited for us at the airport when our flight was delayed.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2018

    8.8
    Very nice riad in the Medina
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Citronnier Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just a little difficult to find, down some small pedestrian streets. But they meet you at the taxi station upon your arrival to show you the way.

    Very friendly staff, comfortable, wonderful sheets

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    8.8
    Clean and spacious room, recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Jasmine Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location was pretty tiring. Not too far from the center though, but still impossible to find without google map.

    I was in the room upstairs where there is an open space with sofa looking in the courtyard, since there is not many people in this riad anyway, the whole floor was pretty much all for me. Spacious room, I recommend this room. The rooms on the ground floor might be less privacy as there are tables and sofas in the courtyard directly attached. Very clean and spacious room upstairs.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    8.3
    Excellent!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Citronnier Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was just off the courtyard of the place, so privacy is minimal

    They provided a mobile so I could call if I needed any info. I couldn't find the riad, so they cane to pick me up. It started to rain, so they provided an umbrella and sandals.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    8.8
    Clean comfortable Riad in the heart of the Medina
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Jasmine Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    No complaints

    This is a small Riad with very pleasant staff. It is clean and very comfortable. Excellent Breakfast at whatever time you decide to get up.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    8.8
    Very comfortable beds and bathroom, friendly host, okay...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Oleander Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is quite far up north in the medina, which makes it a bit more difficult to find, it's a bit further from the main attractions in the medina and we didn't feel very comfortable walking in this part late at night

    Very comfortable beds and bathroom, friendly host, okay breakfast

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    9.6
    beautiful riad in a calm part of the medina.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Oleander Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    beautiful riad in a calm part of the medina. very friendly and helpful staff taking care of their guests 24/7. stayed in the larger room, which was a real treat and wonderful home away from home while in marrakech. highly recommended

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2017

    8.3
    Very friendly staff, nice airy riad.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Oleander Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Only two rooms so not much chance of meeting fellow travellers. About 500 yards down alleyways from the nearest street. So location in Medina useful but a bit out of the way.

    Very friendly staff, nice airy riad. Good size room

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2016

    9.6
    A perfect friendly place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Rose Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Everything was great. The only small point is that it takes a little time to get used to finding your way to the Riad. But after a view trips its easy to find.

    A small Riad in very good condition and really friendly staff. Great Breakfast and good wifi. Very quiet and very comfortable beds. Great shower and had some great sleeps. Really helpful and pleasant staff.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2016

    6.7
    As a whole, it was very nice, except for the above metion
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Rose Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I was expecting a swimming pool as described in the web page, but it is only a Jacuzzi! The Spa is not a Spa, they provide spa services in your room, which is not exactly the same. I was sharing the room with a friend and it wasn't fair that she couldn't be in the room while the treatment. Luckily, we were the only ones, so we were given another room, but still, there were no spa atmosphere, candles or lightning, nice smell, relaxing music. We decided to have the Haman and spa experience somewhere else. On our last night, new guests arrived and they were smoking in the patio, unfortunately, all the rooms face the patio, and ours specially, so our room was full of smoke, I asked the staff to tell the guest but they weren't firm enough! One morning, we found a hair on the bread! In terms of cleanliness, this was the only issue, but it's your breakfast! Hope they can improve and change their description!

    The staff was really amazing, friendly and they were there all the time for help! The decoration and atmosphere is just what you need after the chaos of the city!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    9.6
    Friendly staff always there to help.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Rose Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly staff always there to help. Air conditioning was very good Breakfast was excellent

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    9.6
    Though it was hard to find the riad they picked us from...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Oleander Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Though it was hard to find the riad they picked us from specific location, the service and the hospitality was great. We really enjoyed our stay.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    9.2
    Charming riad with friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Citronnier Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It can get pretty loud at 5AM because of the prayer in a close by mosque. Earplugs solved the issue

    Charming riad with friendly staff

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    9.6
    Khalid is possibly the sweetest man on earth, you’ll be...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Oleander Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Khalid is possibly the sweetest man on earth, you’ll be lucky if you meet him!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    9.6
    Really enjoyed the experience of a traditional riad in the heart of the city. It was also very quiet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Jacaranda Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lighting along the lanes to the Riad was poor.

    Bread was lovely. Staff were very friendly

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    9.6
    Very nice Riad.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Rose Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I loved everything!

    Very nice Riad. The hotel is super clean and hosts are very kind. Very clean. Breakfast was amazing!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2017

    8.8
    Excellent Small Riad
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Citronnier Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Small friendly Riad. Quiet with great Breakfast

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2016

    9.6
    Great heaven
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Jasmine Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very nice staff.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2016

    5.4
    Friendly staff
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Oleander Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Basic facilities Far from centre Room cleaned but sheets not changed every day Towels not changed Bed uncomfortable

    Friendly staff

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    9.6
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Where it was situated

    We liked everything about the place

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2016

    8.8
    The general environment of the Riad was restful,pleasing and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    I did not like the location as you had to navigate numerous dark alleyways to reach this sanctuary. More posted directives would be welcome.

    The general environment of the Riad was restful,pleasing and a sanctuary after a day outside it's comforting walls. A pleasure in such a harsh environment

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2016

    10
    Riad was very clean and the staff were very helpful and...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends

    Everything was good.

    Riad was very clean and the staff were very helpful and polite specially khalid. Was always smiling and welcoming. Would highly recommend this riad.

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2016

    7.9
    The riad is simply gorgeous.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    As realtors say, the three most important things are location, location and location. And Riad Ariha's one is simply terrible. We stayed in 3 different riads in Marrakesh (plus in other medinas across the country) and this one was by far the most challenging. It is not easy to navitage through the heart of Morrocan medinas and one needs a landmark to be able to reach the riad from there. The problem with Ariha is that there's no real landmark nearby, or the one that could be used (Sidi Bu Slima mosque) is so deep into the maze that you get lost trying to get to the landmark, let alone the riad... It is so not straightforward to find your way back that not even two different groups of local kids were able to take us there and in the end we had to call the riad to have someone pick us up. I confess that this would definitely put me off staying there again.

    The riad is simply gorgeous. It's sleek, light-filled and morrocan touches galore. We stayed in the Jacaranda suite and it was lovely. The bathroom had the highest ceilling I've seen in a while with a dome. Everything was charming. The service was great as well, and probably another strong positive of the trip - we arrived late from a 14h drive from the desert and the guy managed to get us food delivered, and more importantly, he went pick us up when we were completely lost and unable to find our way back to the riad.

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2016

    9.6
    Amazing service - from booking to departure, with helpful...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Really nothing but if I am pushed, the only thing I would remove is the plastic covering over the courtyard roof as that detracts from the beauty and courtyard atmosphere

    Amazing service - from booking to departure, with helpful advice and service throughout our stay, always with a smile and made our experience feel more local. Excellent value for money, a brilliant, calm, simple and charming place to relax. A real authentic oasis serving some of the best food in Marrakech (and we ate at some of the best restaurants in the city so can say that with certainty!)

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2015

    9.6
    Excellent hospitality in great secretly hidden location...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Excellent hospitality in great secretly hidden location right in the Medina. Personnel is extremely open, friendly and helpful. Breakfast and lunch served are just amazing, everything home-made on the spot!

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2016

    10
    Liked everything!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Nothing

    Liked everything!

There are also 13 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 37

Guests also reviewed these properties: