Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Riad Asmitou

32 RUE BAGDAD, 44000 Essaouira, Morocco

#23 of 88 hotels in Essaouira

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 221 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    8.3

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    8.1

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    8.5

  • Free WiFi

    6.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 50

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The Wifi was spotty in places and I would have preferred an egg with breakfast.

    I loved the location and the room choices! The staff were wonderful and so accommodating.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location was very lively and therefore noisy until midnight. People were playing football there. Owner was not honest, as she initially claimed not to speak English which turned out a lie. Shower water lacked pressure. Room lacked comfort, as it was very small and had only little space to organize ourselves. Initially we had an even smaller room which we changed.

    Roof terrace was top. Breakfast, breakfast room and breakfast service were top.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Family Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    We were welcomed by the manager itself, she kindly showed us all the higlights on a map which was very helpful. I stayed with two kids (12 and 17 years) Room was very small even if it's called family superior room. The breakfast was very good they surprised us everyday with something new. Thanks!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, everything was excellent!

    Comfortable bed, excellent and attentive customer service, cosy rooms and welcome local insider knowledge to get the most out of this lovely town.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no door at the toilet, room was incredibly small and the street around the riad was very noisy during the night.

    Location is very good and staff is very friendly. Also there is a big terrace on the roof.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    water in shower did not work properly, could be warmer in the room (in january)

    good breakfast on the beautiful roofterrace with a view, nice authentic interior of the riad, very friendly staff

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    wifi working only in common areas

    Right in the center of the Medina,beautiful terraces and decor,loved the beauty products they have,very good breakfast with bread,croissants,jam,coffee,etc Friendly owner

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise does carry through doors, but not a big problem as generally people were considerate.

    Tasteful rooms and decor, great breakfast, friendly and helpful staff and owner, very good location.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing !

    Best breakfast spot ever! Wonder full rooms, very friendly staff and beautiful riad. The roof terrace where we could have breakfast was our favorite!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Stayed there for 3 nights. Very nice and clean place! Very good breakfast and excellent staff! The location is excellent, in the heart of the medina and only 5' walk to the beach. I'd highly recommend it!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room on the small side and window leaked in the rain onto the bed. Shower often cold. On noisy street but likely to be the same anywhere in the Medina

    Stylish riad in heart of Medina, nice terraces and views. Good value for mid-range accomodation.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No wifi in the rooms, despite what it says in the description. Very very humid rooms, we had to ask for an extra blanket and a heater for our room on the second night. No heating in the common spaces in November. Shower and toilet were leaking on the floor. The mattress was also very uncomfortable and gave us back pain.

    Good location, in the Medina. Nice building, with two terraces. Friendly staff and good breakfast.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Door lock was broken, I advise but nobody fixed it Outside Patio not really clean Wifi doesnt work at the second and third floor, that is why I give a 7.5

    Location Room decoration Nice staff

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Location is not good. Medina (city center) is the place with dirty streets, many poor people and really bad smells. If you want to experience culture- OK. I would recommend staying in the place closer to the beach if you do not want to experience those smells everyday. However the riad is very clean and smell nice. The only drawback - there was no door to WC.

    Friendly staff, clean and comfortable Riad.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wifi was not accessible in the top room and the family room was not so clean, it did not look like the pictures. Three would be a squeeze so I was pleased that I was only one person.

    The location was central and near bus station, directions to get there were very good. The downstairs lounge and reception area was comfortable.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Riad is nothing like the images on booking.com. Host not friendly or welcoming. Shower did not work and towels were dirty. The issues were brought to hosts attention- but she became very defensive and refused to accommodate my needs. Had a uncomfortable stay.

    Good breakfast served

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Warm welcome and very professional staff. Well situated in the Medina and within walking distance from practically everything. We had a marvellous couscous course with Rabiaa and enjoyed our talks with her and her husband. Definitely recommend it!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was under construction when we were staying there. There was so much dust everywhere. We were traveling with a small child and the rooms were extremely humid, so we wanted to spend time on one of the two terraces, however it was not possible because all the tables and chairs were turned on their sides and were covered in debris. Come nightfall the neighborhood children and men around this Riad were so loud that our child woke multiple times in the night before having to switch rooms around 11pm. During our checkout, we were not asked if we wanted to have our breakfast that was supppsed to be included with our stay. All in all I would not recommend this Riad. We were very disappointed. Also, do note that if you are traveling with small children, the female manager/receptionist smokes inside on he main level of this Riad and you can smell it in the rooms on the first floor.

    The cleaning lady was so kind.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 10 nights

    We had a 10 night stay in this Riad so we are able to provide an accurate review. The staff were happy, friendly and very responsive. We enjoyed practicing our French and Arabic with the staff who were very engaging. The breakfasts were good, the coffee was excellent. The beds were comfortable, and the terraces were relaxing and lovely to have breakfast on, with good views over the Medina rooftops. If you want a real taste of Morocco this is a good Riad to enjoy the experience without it being expensive, meaning it was good value for money.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Upon arrival the host received us personally. She gave us good advice on where to stay. She is really professional and speaks several languages. She was also helping us in finding original argan oil and the local amlou blend.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Family Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    My only two issues were with Internet availability (which was sporadic) and the noise outside the Riad...but, then you are staying in the centre of a walled city designed 300 years ago (that hasn't changed very much)! Take ear plugs, chill and enjoy.

    The staff were wonderful, as was the breakfast and the endless hot water.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The property does not look like the pictures from booking.com. The room was not enough clean, we had to ask to change the blankets because dusty. The toilet bowl was broken, but has not been changed. The place It is quite noise, till late night. But the worst thing was the price, it was more then expected: I would like to advice to check before with the owner the real price (e.g., hotel, plus city tax) in EUR and local currency.

    I just liked Essaouira.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location in Booking was not the same as the actual location of the Riad. It was 5 min away and close to the center, but made us park in the wrong area. The room was not as cozy as other riads and some maintenance hurt to the room and the terrace.

    The hall was beautiful and the staff was very nice. The breakfast in the terrace was good. Good Wifi in the lobby not existing in the room.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely everything. The ladies have great taste, are super friendly, the breakfast is fantastic and the price unbeatable. Thank you! We will come back!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hostess was extremely helpful, although there was a slight language barrier she more than made up for this with how welcoming she was. A beautiful little Riad with lovely terrace for breakfast, we were made to feel very at home.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Kids playing in the street below in the late evening were a bit noisy.

    Excellent breakfast served on a comfortable roof terrace. The location in the old medina was just right.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location was good. Very nice breakfast. Nice decoration.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent customer service, staff were incredibly friendly and extremely helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location, easy to find.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi didnt reach etage 1

    grandios with 3 terasses ♡

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No bathroom door and no internet in the room.

    Nice riad with nice staff. Ok breakfast with possibility to eat on the terrace.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking was not easy.

    The staff was excellent. Very nicd people who were always there to help you

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    In summer, at least electric fan is necessary.

    Clean, and cozy Value per price is absolutely high.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Roof terrace, good coffee, welcoming and smiling staff. Good wifi reception

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A more divers breakfast will be nice

    The host was very nice and helpful .she was very kind to help us with different requests

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Family Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No remarks, maybe only WI-FI could be better in rooms.

    Great staff, great location and very clean place.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    I copy a note I read : "Hard to find...especially when booking.com is showing the wrong place on the map."

    Nice and sunny bedrooms in the morning on the last floor. Breakfast on the terraces. The staff is really nice, open, rather dynamic and gives good advices. The decor is soft and relaxing.

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very nice ambiance, clean, comfortable rooms, and very friendly staff. Fantastic location that gives you a great feel for the city. We enjoyed our time here. I wish there were more places like this!

  • Reviewed: 29 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I have been in asmitou several times. This is the first time with the new staff. The riad is pleasant as usual. The new staff is very kind. I have to say that the breakfast before was amazing, now is good anyway

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    EVERY NOISY PLACE. 1. We coulnd sleep due to plastic roof which covered patio. Each time wind blown plastic roof went up and fell down giving terrible noise! Roof hasn't been secured enough and I tried to fix it myself at 3am to catch at least few hours sleep, but I failed with the task miserably. I received appologies next morning, but I really doubt anyone will care enough to fix it for future guests. 2. DRUMS MUSIC by street kids. The same corner Riad was at there was kids music gathering which started around 19 and finished 2 in the morning. There were several kids playing drums, shouting and shooting firecrackers. Noise was unbearable. Along with falling plastic roof it was really horrible night for us. I was checking other hotels in the night to move out! Not recommending for sure to enyone.

    Patio in the ground floor.

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The room was not air conditioned so it got a bit too warm overnight and the riad was not able to provide any electric fans for our room. It was a bit silly for the toilet to be on one side and the showers and sink to be in a separate area, with no door or anything. We shared the room between two girls and a guy so it was a bit inconvenient as the guy could never use the sink when someone was in the shower.

    Great location in the medina which is close to what you need to see. Staff are friendly and helpful when we asked for suggestions of places to see and shop.

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    I stayed in top room. No hot water. No wifi signal. The floor was very dusty (I do yoga on the floor). If I paid normal price I would score this place very low. But I got special offer which was more adequate for what I got.

    The best breakfast ever. Nice staff.

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Hard to find...especially when booking.com is showing the wrong place on the map:((((

    Nice, clean room with bathroom...delicious breakfast... three lovely terraces...

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Staff is great, well located and the breakfast was great and served on a beautiful terrace.

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The stuff were very helpful, the location is perfect and the room was cozzy

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Wifi..

    Breakfast was awsome, staff awesome plus. It was like a home, with service :)

  • Reviewed: 29 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The staff is extremelly friendly the hotel is finely decorated and the atmosphere is very relaxing great choice!

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    The place and the service.

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The street noise at night

    We loved the riad the room was Nice and cosy Breakfast on the terrasse was perfect

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    very noisy due to the public drink water supply under my window

    very friendly staff

There are also 10 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 50

Browse Riad Asmitou traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: