Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Riad Bel Haj

60 Derb Moulay Abdellah Ben Hssaine, Medina, 40000 Marrakech, Morocco

#77 of 923 hotels in Marrakech

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 189 hotel reviews

9.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.5

  • Comfort

    9.3

  • Location

    9.8

  • Facilities

    9.1

  • Staff

    9.8

  • Value for money

    9.4

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 59

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2018

    10
    One of, if not the best place we have stayed during our 2 and half months of traveling.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The manager, Muhammad, is amazing and extremely helpful. You might say he was our personal consierge, helping us get oriented to Marrakech, making all the arrangements for our trip to the Sahara Desert, and on our final evening cooked us an amazing dinner. He made a wonderful visit, " extraordinary". The location was excellent to start wondering the city. The rooftop terrace provided a great view for sunsets and a peaceful place to escape the hubbub of city. The beds were was very comfortable. This will be our first choice to stay the next time we come to Marrakech. The evening of our return from the desert they did not have a room available , so he found another Riad nearby for us to stay prior to leaving for the desert. The other Riad has a Booking rating of 9.1 but the service and hospitality did not even come close to Riad Bel Haj.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2018

    10
    The best place to experience Marrakech
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Difficult to book as it is often booked out.

    A place like home! Very nice and helpful staff, cozy corners to relax, nice authentic rooms, clean, very good food for breakfast and dinner. Good location in the old town, the best place to experience Marrakech and the best of its people. The manager always helpful, accommodating special wishes, helping to arrange trips or bring you a free coffee or tea when relaxing on the roof or in an other part of the hotel.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2018

    10
    Perfect place to stay in Marrakesh Medina
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Absolutely nothing, it was perfect!

    The riad was gorgeous, really homely, great view from the roof of the Koutoubia minaret and great location near a main gate to the Medina so it was easier to find our way back in the maze of streets. Myriam and Mohammed were wonderful hosts and served us a fantastic breakfast ever day at the time we wished. We would love to stay there again.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2018

    10
    A wonderful stay in a beautiful riad.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was perfect

    The accommodation was fantastic and the staff could not have been more helpful, they treated us like family and took care of us in every respect. The wonderful breakfast on the terrace was such a great start to the day. The location was perfect and the local people were friendly and courteous, I would return to The Bel Haj should my travels find me in Marrakech again, it is a beautiful riad with very nice people taking care of you.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    10
    Peaceful Riad in a great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The host was one of the most kind-hearted people we've met in Morocco. He was super helpful - went out of his way to make us an early breakfast and also helped us get a taxi to the airport. With regards to the Riad, it is a beautiful and peaceful Riad situated in the heart of the city just around the corner from the main square. Excellent price quality!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    10
    Little heaven!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    NOTHING TO COMPLAIN ! GO BOOK NOW !

    This place was our favorite from our trip to Morocco. We trully recommend it ! We booked 2 rooms very last minute( after the time booking.com should allow it) and we got there 15 minutes later. Mohammed ( the host) was a bit suprised to see us at his door at 10pm . He greeted us beautifully . Made us tea and prepared our rooms while the owner told us more about the place. ( He happened to be there as well and he lives in France) . Our rooms were great with private bathroms , the beds are very confortable , we had the best sleep . We felt like home since we stepped foot in this amazing riad. The place is beautifull and very well maintained . The breakfest was absolutely amazing! Meriem and Mohammed made our breakfest at any hour that we woke up and made sure everything was stil hot and that we had everything we needed. This riad is great for quality and price. Marrakesh can be very expensive. You won't find anything else for the perfect location ( close to everything ) , parking very close ( if you have a car) at this price. I would like to write a special thank you Mohammed! He made our stay so special and perfect! He is the perfect guide, cook and host!! Here are of couple things he did for us : - recommended us a hammam ( it was very cheap compared to the best spots google recommends) , - a great typical morrocan food restaurant -he came and helped us with the luggage from the parking lot and made sure we pay the right amount ( so we don't get ripped off) - he cooked us an AMAZING DINNER !!! best lemon chicken tajine and pastillas . they had wine as well. and it was very cheap - did our laundry for free - recommended us where to buy spices, bags, carpets or anything you could think off for a good price and great quality. Un grand merci encore !! We will stay again here when we will be back in Marrakesh. Don't hesitate . Go book now !

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    10
    Amazing trip with great memories and our host helped create.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The property and host are top notch. We also used hotel to arrange day trips and received world class english speaking guide and car for trips to Atlas Mountain, etc. Prices at hotel match what is online but it's a more personal experience. Be prepared to be spoiled with breakfast. )

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    5.8
    Food was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no pool. Remove this from your website. I needed a pool to swim for a bad back and was very disappointed. 2- there was no toilet paper for the first 5+6 hours of our stay. Which is not really acceptable.

    Food was great. Atmosphere was great.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    10
    Beautiful, cozy riad in the perfect location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Amazing Riad! We stayed in the Casablanca room, the smallest on the property, and it was very cozy. The decor was lovely, and there were lots of nooks to put your bags so that even though the room was small it didn't feel cramped. It was a great location, and the staff is SO kind and helpful. Breakfast was also a highlight! Huge delicious spread served on the beautiful terrace, it kept us full until dinner!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    10
    Excellent riad! A wonderful stay in paradise!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was AWESOME on the terrace. There were bathrobes and rose petals on our beds. Our beds were so comfortable, we slept so well! The staff were so friendly and the location was perfect.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    10
    Great location...even greater staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There wasn't anything I didn't like about the property. It was very easy to locate and whilst it is very small was fully booked there was never an issue with noise/privacy etc

    The location and staff are the biggest assets of this riad. The staff couldn't do enough for you in terms of ensuring you're comfortable and happy! In particular I would like to extend a massive thank you to Mohamed who cooked us a lovely meal on our last night! He also arranged a private trip to Essaouira for us. Which I recommend our driver Rida was great. A fountain of knowledge and enhanced the day greatly! To Miriam & Wedad (apologies if I have misspelled the names) who took care of our rooms and delicious breakfast most mornings (even early afternoon on one occasion) and afternoon teas. Always smiling and made you feel nothing was too much to ask. It was our first time in Marrakech and it definitely won't be our last! I would definitely recommend Bel Haj to anyone visiting for the first time or who wants to try a new location/riad.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    9.6
    Best part of Marrakech to stay at & best value for money riad!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I loved this neighbourhood, it's my favorite to stay in Marrakech! Very close to the main square, but also filled with really nice local mini stores and great restaurant with the loveliest rooftops! The Riad is great value for money. The owner is super nice, got up @4 to make us breakfast for an early flight, arranged a taxi and was overall very nice. The riad is small but charming and would def recommended, especially for short stays!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    8.3
    Very good location which offsets the flaws.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room we got was very small but I don't know about the other rooms. We were given a ground floor room. Breakfast was average.

    Very good location which offsets the flaws.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    10
    Bel Haj a great Marrakech experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was foul smell coming from outside the riad to our room when the windows facing the street were kept open. Also I would prefer the bed sheets changed and they were looking quite old and dusty

    Mohammed made it a home for us in Marrakech, great host and he helped us with his team in every way possible. Videt was excellent too. It's a good riad closer to Medina and access to all tours. Breakfast was excellent, Mohammed cooked us dinner for a night and it was quite satisfactory. All in all will recommend and prefer staying here if we plan our future trips

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    10
    Excellent location - we were able to walk to and from from...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent location - we were able to walk to and from from the main square, the markets, or the various restaurants and tourist attractions throughout the medina. It was close enough to be able to stop back in the middle of the day, if needed. The riad itself is comfortable and charming, and the breakfast (a feast, really) on the rooftop each morning was a highlight of our trip. Mohammed helped us to buy our bus tickets to Essaouira, taking the guesswork out of it. Our stay was a great value and we would highly recommend Riad Bel Haj as a comfortable oasis from the hustle and bustle of Marrakech.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    10
    This place is magical
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We had a beautiful stay at Riad Bel Haj.The location is greatful, very closed to Place Jemaa el Fna and the Medina, easy arrive here by taxi; the riad is new, has a beautiful terrace and Mohamed, the manager,tooks care of us, he is very careful. Mohamed is an excellent chef, cooked for us three tipical and delicius dinners , also the breakfast is very good. Very raccomanded the food. This place is magical.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    10
    Beautiful stay in welcoming and open Riad
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Staff was very nice, openminded, helpful, and good in English. Amazing view from terrace. Breakfast was divers and good. One day we had a very delicious Moroccan dinner in the Riad. It was adapted for us vegetarians. Riad was very beautiful and well preserved. Amazing location, both for the medina, but also for other parts of the city, because the bus station was close by.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    10
    A fantastic stay with a friendly crew in a beautiful Riad.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing, it was great.

    The Riad Bel Haj is a wonderful heaven of peace fantastically located in Marrakesh's Medina, close to the Jemaa el-Fnaa place and many activities. Fatima and Mohamed were kind and helpful, they did their very best to make sure we had a great time. Breakfasts were also super yummy and taking those on the roof was a highlight of our trip :)

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2018

    10
    Cosy, comfortable, authentic, good value, excellent location, beautiful breakfasts
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was disappointed to find out after booking, that there would be an extra charge for credit card payments. This ought to be included in the advertised price.

    Fantastic location just the right distance from everything. Gorgeous breakfast, slightly varied every day, and served after 11 if we slept in, which was greatly appreciated. Lovely, friendly, non-intrusive staff.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    9.5
    Charming, clean, friendly, yummy breakfast, and perfect location for walking everywhere.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It got quite chilly while we were there in December and it took a long time for our room to heat up, even with 2 extra space heaters.

    Great location, staff, breakfast, and the place smells amazing like flowers throughout. The riad is located on a small quiet derb only a few hundred meters from where cars can drop you off at the old city wall (as opposed to having to drag suitcases etc. into the maze of the unpaved souk like to get to some other places). The beds were more comfortable than large chain hotels we stayed at in Marrakesh. Mohammed gave us great tid bits of advice like where to exchange money and answered all of our questions on getting around and visiting. He went above and beyond by procuring our bus tickets for our trip to Essaoira and arranging our taxi. Next time I would take them up on the pickup service from the airport.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    10
    Amazing staff, 5 minutes away walking main square.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Amazing staff, 5 minutes away walking main square. Breakfast was super good also. Value for money is definetly a plus. I don't think you can get any better given the location, comfort at this price.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    10
    Just perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    We stayed in the double queen deluxe room. It was clean, comfortable, beautiful, good breackfast. The riad was amazing, the staff was very helpful and did more than needed. For example we had an early check out and they woke up at 03 AM to prepare some breackfast for us. The position of the riad is very good, about 5 minutes from Jama El Fna Square.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    10
    Excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very welcoming and helpful staff. Helped us organise a great day excursion to the three Valleys. Lovely breakfast every morning on the roof. Taking the optional airport transfer is a good idea. Excellent location, all tourist sites in Medina old city are easily walkable.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    10
    A little gem.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing I can think of.

    Great location, just 5 minutes from the souks. Clean and well appointed with lovely terrace. Cake for breakfast! Friendly and helpful staff, particularly Mohammed.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2017

    9.2
    Great Riad, great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing serious to complain about!

    + Very friendly and attentative staff + Great service (e.g., helping us to negotiate a treatment in the public hammam) + Beautiful Riad in perfect location + Clean facilities + Great breakfast on the rooftop terrace

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    9.6
    An oasis of calm in a mad city.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff made us feel very welcome and nothing was too much trouble. The breakfast on the terrace was a treat and the two evenings meals were far superior to the food we had in some of the more expensive restaurants.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    10
    Stunning place, perfect location, excellent staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I walked by this place on the first pass since the signage isn't the most obvious.

    What a beautiful riad! I stayed here because the location was excellent, but was so pleased with everything else. The location is right off a main road, and so easy to get to. Simply look for the large black ornate door on your left as you enter the street it is on. It is maybe a five minute walk to the Koutoubia and Jemaa el-Fna, and perhaps ten minutes walk to Medersa Ben Youssef, Maison de la Photographie de Marrakech, Le Jardin Secret, and the Marrakech Museum. The location is excellent and so convenient to everything. The staff is absolutely wonderful. They will go out of their way to ensure your comfort and convenience. The breakfast is fantastic, and the wifi is solid. The beds are very comfortable, and the place is spotless. I enjoyed working and relaxing on the numerous terraces and lounges available.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    8.3
    great value for money riad
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Room quite small but totally fine

    Centrally located at the end of the medina, easy to access also with public transport. Very nice hosts, small with only 4 room, which keeps it very personal

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    4.2
    The room was so small that there was not enough floor space to open luggage,
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When we booked this Riad in booking.com, it indicated - only one room left, but we found we were the only guests there for 4 out of the 6 nights we stayed. There was one guest stayed for one night and a couple stayed for another night. They actually had many rooms available. Our room was a very small one that there was no space for us to open our luggage, so we had to do it on the bed. The bathroom was extremely small as well that the space could only for one medium sized person standing inside. There was no shower curtain and the shower drain was clogged. When taking shower, the water not only wet the bathroom floor (there was not much floor space anyway), the wateralso came to the room . We didn't think the size of the room could be this small when we booked the room. However, in our last day, I happened to see the room next to us which was bigger and with bigger bathroom too. Since we were the only guests and stayed for 6 days, I don't understand why they didn't give us a better and bigger room. We didn't ask to change another room in the beginning because we thought we got the last room as they put out 'only one room left' on booking.com, then we thought they might not have bigger room. When I found they did have bigger room , it was our last day already. That was disappointing. I wish they would include some vegetable and/or fruits in breakfasts.

    The location is easy to access to the major attractions,such as the palaces and the square. However, when we arrived from the airport, the taxi dropped us at the other side of the median, to a street with similar name as this Riad located. I wish they could have given more detail descriptions where it exactly locates.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    9.2
    a welcoming riad
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights

    pluming could be a bit better

    the staff made us so welcome and we were the only people in the riad if we wanted anything the answer was always no problem Mohamed made us feel at home and organizing all our tours /taxis at a moments notice

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    10
    Great place to stay in Marrakech
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can not find anything.

    Everything. The location was excellent, as being close to the gate and in the quite street. Easy reachable, easy to find, close (walking distance) to the square, suk, mosque. Great people working in, ready to ensure your comfort, helpful with walks, trips, taxis.... Refreshing pool, nice breakfast, great service.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2017

    9.6
    Lovely stay in Marrakech with outstanding service!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The outdoor pool isn't really a swimming pool but more of a feature (tiny tiny criticism)

    Such lovely staff, honestly they couldn't have done more for us if they tried! gorgeous place and room. great location easy to navigate too and from. Had a lovely meal there- highly recommend doing this during your stay! Great value for money. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2017

    10
    Very beautiful, quiet Riad, a real comfortable place to stay...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was perfect.

    Very beautiful, quiet Riad, a real comfortable place to stay with wonderful and very attentive staff. A big thank you to Mohamed and Pierre who did everything to make our experience in Morocco the best possible. I travelled with my husband and my son, this trip being a birthday present for our son who wanted to see the desert. Mohamed organised the trip into the desert, one of the most memorable experiences in our lives, he also organised another trip for us to see Atlas Mountains and the waterfalls, a visit to Hammam, he cooked the fantastic dinners that we had at the Riad and the biggest surprise, he made the Birthday cake for my son absolutely for free, a Birthday present from the Riad for him. Every morning we had a delicious and varied breakfast even if staff had to prepare it very early most of the time as we went in different trips. The beds were very comfortable and the room was very clean provided with air conditioned, the towels changed every day, plenty of hot water, shampoo and shower gel smelling extremely nice also provided. The Riad is located very close of the main square Djemaa el Fna and Mohamed gave us a map and explained how to find the main tourist attractions in Marrakech. Even if Pierre wasn't present at the Riad he was in touch with us all the time, making sure that we have a great, agreeable stay. We highly recommend Riad Bel Haj if you go to Marrakech both for exceptional service and the friendly, hospitable staff. Thank you, all of you, Pierre, Mohamed, the lady and the gentleman who helped Mohamed during our stay! Your Riad will be for sure the place to stay every time when we'll come to visit Marrakech.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2017

    9.6
    The room and beds were very comfortable and really clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was rather noisy at night as it was alleyway side and a lot of locals seemed to gather to socialise very loudly under our window well into the early hours. It would have been nice to have some fruit for breakfast as there is so much around in Marrakech but none available at the riad.

    The room and beds were very comfortable and really clean. It's a very pretty riad with a lovely roof terrace, plentiful breakfast and attentive staff.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2017

    10
    Fantastic staff and peaceful riad
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Almost nothing! Our room was on the ground floor so lacked a little privacy.

    Lovely peaceful riad close to the main square. The staff were great and made the holiday.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    10
    Must be the best riad in Marrakesh
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Really nice riad with friendly and helpful staff. The location was great for walking to the sights of Marrakesh. Breakfast each morning was amazing and the roof terrace was the perfect place to chill out.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    9.6
    Perfect with amazing staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Wifi was available in the room but was not working while we were there.

    The staff were lovely and extremely accommodating, the whole place was clean as a whistle, bed was massive and super comfortable. Location was perfect, only a few mins walk to the main square. And the breakfast! SO GOOD.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2017

    10
    The personal touches make all the difference
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Riad was beautiful and very quiet but what we liked most was that Mohamed and the rest of the staff did everything they could to provide us with a very personal and friendly service. They made us feel very welcome and went over and beyond to help us with everything.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2017

    10
    Wonderful experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Everything was perfect.

    Breakfast was delicious and plentiful. Nothing was too much trouble. They prepared breakfast early when we had an early morning tour.The room was clean and comfortable and always plenty of hot water. The location was perfect a 10 minute walk to the main square so never got lost. Would highly recommend this riad.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2016

    10
    What I liked most about Riad Bel Haj was the friendliness of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing actually

    What I liked most about Riad Bel Haj was the friendliness of the staff. I can't thank Mohammed, Pierre and Widad enough for their lovely smiles together with a splendid breakfast every morning. The location is perfect, only about a 5 min walk to the famous Djema El Fna square. Mohammed is a talented cook, don't hesitate to have dinner at the Riad during your stay. The rooms are traditionally decorated. Soon Pierre is opening Riad Bel Haj2 right next door. Our next stay will be at this lovely riad again.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2016

    10
    Best place to stay in Marrakesh
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    No complaints

    The staff was excellent. Location was great. Food fantastic. Mohamed and Vidaad were very helpful. Mohamed made the best chicken Tajine. Rooms were very clean, nice and comfortable.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2016

    9.2
    Very nice stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room and bathroom were very small. They can not do anything about that but they could think about an other design like a closet for clothes and in the bathroom planks to put stuff like shampoo on it. Further was it really cold the week we were there also the room the room very cold so a heater could be usefull.

    Location was perfect close to the jemaa el fna. I advise to let pick your up from the airport with their taxi because for the first time it will be hard to find the Riad. After 1 time you will know it. The staff were so nice!! Mohammed was really friendly, helped very good, always happy and helped us with the excursions very much!! The cleaning and breakfast were also very good prepared by a woman(we forgat the name)! Riad was very beautifull and clean!

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2016

    10
    Amazing, Wonderful, Memorable, we will be back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    nothing!

    breakfast different every day and always delicious, Mohammad and Ouidet were extremely helpful and made our stay extra special we ate dinner on a couple of occasions and Mohammad is an excellent chef, the food was better than any restaurant we ate in while in Morrocco. the riad is central to everything, not far to walk to the Medina, Mohammad arranged some trips for us that were excellent, we are already trying to plan a return trip! The beds were honestly the most comfy we had ever slept in and everywhere was spotlessly clean, nothing was too much trouble for the staff, they all deserve a pay rise!

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2016

    10
    Fantastic little gem by the Media!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room didn't have a lock. Every thing was safe but it's still strange to not be able to lock our room.

    The bed was incredibly comfortable, the staff were so accommodating and location was perfect! The roof terrace had incredible views and breakfast in the mornings on the terrace was brilliant!

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2016

    10
    Excellent value for money - strongly recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    None - everything was perfect !

    Excellent location very close to main highlights (Djemah and Koutoubia). The Riad is beautiful and new features are coming up - can't wait to come back ! The host Pierre is very friendly and his two employees are really lovely and helpful too ! The bed was really comfy, the shower gel smells like heaven, the food is delicious and there is plenty - I recommend that you dine there, Mohammed is a very skillful cook (he even did a pastilla on demande specially for me !) Excellent value for money - strongly recommended

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    10
    Thank's I spend a great moment thank' to mohamed and widad
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maybe the wi fi slow

    Place staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    9.2
    Great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice atmosphere, very friendly staff, Great location in Medina

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    8.3
    Decent place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lacked the energy and vibrancy of other riads we have stayed in.

    Lovely decor, good roof terrace, good location - close to centre but quiet.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    9.2
    Great place, in a good location, with really nice hosts!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 4 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was a little cold but they were able to provide space heaters in the rooms to make up for it.

    The hosts were wonderful and the breakfast was great!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    5.0
    If you want back to nature I recommend this place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No water for cleaning up in the toilet Room is too small Breakfast is not enough No TV

    They were helpful

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    10
    Fantastic place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fantastic place to stay. The staff were fantastic . Would highly recommend .

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    10
    Perfect stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything is perfect

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    10
    Perfect!
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 4 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    That I had to leave :-(

    It is a beautiful, peaceful, calm, and very comfortable place to stay, with wonderful staff.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2017

    10
    Staff was friendly, breakfast included and quite filling...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Staff was friendly, breakfast included and quite filling (very good quality), and the location is excellent to visit the main areas of the inner city

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2017

    10
    Very helpful and peaceful Riad
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff were really nice; went out of their way to help us with our stay and to find us excursions. Also, the breakfast was amazing.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2016

    9.2
    Lovely place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Lovely riad, with very friendly staff and tasty breakfast. Great location easy to walk everywhere and the nice sunny roof terrace was a bonus.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2016

    10
    The Riad Bel Haj is a great place to stay when you are in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The Riad Bel Haj is a great place to stay when you are in Marrakech. It is located only a few minutes walk from the Djemaa el Fna square. After a noisy, tiring day in the city, the riad is an oasis of tranquility. Mohamed and Quidad are very nice and they do everything to make you feel at home. The first night we had dinner at the riad and it was the best we have had in Marrakech. The beds were good, the room was cosy and very clean and the breakfast was great and delicious. If you plan to go to Marrakech, this riad is a lovely place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2016

    10
    I spent at Bel Haj 6 nights at the end of May.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    I spent at Bel Haj 6 nights at the end of May.The location is perfect - close to one of the doors of the Medina providing an easy point of reference while travelling around. Mohammed and the all equipe made my stay in Marocco really special!The breakfasts on the terrace, the directions and advices on how and where to go... I travelled solo and having them made a great difference!it was like staying with friends!I m looking forward to go back . Chokran bazaaafi Mohammed!

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2016

    10
    Extremely friendly and helpful staff, centrally located,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Nothing I didn't like about Riad Bel Haj

    Extremely friendly and helpful staff, centrally located, beautiful rooms. I've been to a lot of countries - this was one of the best experiences ever. The breakfast alone was worth the stay. I would recommend this place to anybody.

There are also 16 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 59

Browse Riad Bel Haj traveller photo gallery