Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Riad Catalina

21 Derb Abdellah Ben Hssain, Medina, 40000 Marrakech, Morocco

#382 of 855 hotels in Marrakech

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 116 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    8.2

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    8.4

  • Staff

    9.6

  • Value for money

    8.4

  • Free WiFi

    7.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 41

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    10
    Just perfect!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A short walk from the main square it's perfectly situated. The staff are so friendly and really can't do enough to ensure you have a perfect stay. The room was beautiful and traditional, and also a welcoming temperature with the air conditioning. The pool is small, more of a dip pool than a swimming pool but more than enough for a cool down whilst looking out over the roof tops. Shall be returning!!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    9.2
    Fantastic location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fantastic location. Couple of minutes from Jemma el F’na but once inside you could be miles from anywhere. It’s not 5 star in Vegas, London or New York but it is a surreal place to stay. Staff are 100% attentive and always on hand to tend to your needs. Without doubt 10/10

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    10
    A magical experience which I would lovely to repeat. Next time I would try to book the suite!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I couldn't fault it!

    The staff were always friendly and interested in our day. The riad is quiet and relaxing. Exactly what you need after a busy day in Marrakesh! Shisha and drinks in the evening really topped off our stay.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    10
    An enchanting paradise in the heart of Marrakesh!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Nadia and the other staff were so helpful and welcoming, it made us feel like we were at a home away from home. The raid was beautifully enchanting, when we first walked in it felt like a quiet paradise away from all the hustle and bustle - the perfect place to relax after a busy day in the souqs exploring. The rooftop pool was also a very welcome place to cool off on the very hot days! We also loved meeting the resident turtles :) overall the perfect getaway in middle of busy Marrakesh! We highly recommend it!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    10
    Amazing location and great staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were amazing and really helpful throughout our stay. Nadia had all the answers and went out her way continually to sort every detail of our stay. The food was great and the setting beautiful. Perfect location to head into the madness of the square or equally Head out to somewhere a little less crazy.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2017

    7.1
    Nice pool but too many people.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was very soft, sinking and uncomfortable, the plastic cover on the toilet seat had burnt and melted!!? The pool was very very packed, could hardly sit down, everyone was pretty much on top of each other,

    Good location, roof top pool is lovely, the staff are really great here!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2017

    9.2
    Riad Catalina was a calm oasis from the activity of Marrakesh.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was a little tricky to find so I would recommend organising a shuttle with the Riad from the airport.

    Riad Catalina was a calm oasis from the activity of Marrakesh. The rooftop plunge pool and lounging area was a great place to come back to and relax after walking around the city. The staff were lovely and the food is also good here.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2016

    8.3
    Very friendly Riad
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The tables to sit and eat at were outside and as we were there in November it was a little cold so ate with our coats on. There were sofas and coffee tables in a tent like structure if you dont mind not sitting at a proper table to eat.

    This Riad was tucked away down a little alley very close to the Souks. These alley ways are light but, do take a torch (I was pleased I was with my husband, would not like to have walked this by myself). We were there off season so it was quiet but that was fine by us.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2016

    9.2
    A wonderful place to stay!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing springs to mind!

    The staff were very friendly and helpful. Their English was good. The courtyard provided an oasis of calm in which to enjoy their tasty food. The pool is small but big enough to cool down in. Room was comfy.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2016

    10
    All we could of asked for
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The Riad was in the perfect location and absolutely beautiful. Whilst it was only a short walk from the Medina, it was extremely tranquil and calm. On arrival we were greeted by extremely friendly staff and given a room upgrade at no extra cost. The rooftop swimming pool was the icing on the cake, it provided the perfect spot to relax and take in breathtaking views of the city. Will definitely stay again if i'm ever back in Marrakech. I'd also recommend eating at the Riad at least once, the food was fresh and authentic.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2016

    9.6
    Would recommended. Quite expensive but worth the treat. Stayed 3 days.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Royal Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Moroccan beds and pillows are a bit hard!

    A lovely oasis to come back to after the Souks and Medina. Staff very friendly and helpful. Food great. Fantastic location if you want to be in the middle of it all. Kids enjoyed the roof top dip in the 'small pool'.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2016

    9.2
    What an amazing oasis in the middle of the chaos of the medina.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Royal Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The coordinates provided on booking.com are incorrect. Using Google Maps and the address number gets the right location.

    The staff were very friendly, and the facilities beautiful. An amazing respite from the chaos of Marrakech. The turtles in the courtyard were a nice touch! The rooftop pool was a perfect way to cool down after a hot day wandering the streets.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    8.3
    Friendly, always smiley very helpful staff and amazing roof...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly, always smiley very helpful staff and amazing roof terrace. 10 mins from the square

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    9.6
    very friendly and helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    very friendly and helpful staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    8.8
    Intimate relaxing Riad in the middle of the Medina
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was a little small but pretty.

    Welcoming helpful staff.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    7.1
    Great location, felt safe
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No elevator, a bit pricey

    Great location, felt safe

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    10
    Perfekt riad with beautiful Design and perfekt staff! Thats it! Nothing to complain at all
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfekt staff, perfekt Service, every one that is the first time to Marrakesch should try to get a room at riad Catalina

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2017

    7.5
    Staff was very helpfull
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    wi-fi was not working in the room

    Staff was very helpfull

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2017

    9.2
    Excellent Riad in the heart of the medina!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was too firm

    The breakfast is amazing! What a wonderful Riad!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2017

    9.6
    Excellent Riad in great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Privilege Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I thought the room would be bigger from the photos but that's not a big surprise.

    The staff were just brilliant and fluent in so many languages

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2016

    10
    Great location (Koutoubia) - an old riad but very well maintained - very friendly & helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    we loved the "over-classing" into the Royal Suite

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    8.8
    Hidden Gem
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Air conditioning didnt work very well

    All staff were excellent, helpful & friendly. The location was perfect for what we wanted

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    10
    Welcoming and friendly Riad
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was very comfy and the shower gel smelled gorgeous. The tagines were very tasty.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2016

    10
    Very friendly helpful staff, cultured Riad with small home...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Very friendly helpful staff, cultured Riad with small home comforts, great pool for cooling down, made you feel very safe and welcome, perfect location next to the souks, short walk to new city too! All taxis about 50 dirhams to pretty much anywhere.

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2016

    10
    The staff at Riad Catalina are the best you can encounter.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The staff at Riad Catalina are the best you can encounter. Always with a smile and willing to go the extra mile to help you with your holiday. The Riad itself is beautiful and clean. The breakfast each morning is nice with fresh Moroccan bread and coffee. The rooms are nice and the rooftop terrace and pool are the ideal place to relax after a busy day in the Medina. No complaints whatsoever. A dream stay.

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2016

    8.8
    Staff were excellent and the Riad was very near to the main...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Staff were excellent and the Riad was very near to the main square and other tourist sites. Everyone at the Riad made you feel at home. Breakfast was excellent and the morning song from the birds in the courtyard was relaxing.

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2016

    10
    The staff were all wonderful, so helpful and nothing was too...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Only comment is that our bathroom window had a small gap in it, making our room very cold at night, and also towards the end of our stay our room was visited by ants.

    The staff were all wonderful, so helpful and nothing was too much trouble. The riad itself was absolutely stunning. Very tranquil and beautifully decorated. Situated in a very central location, just over a five minute walk to Jemaa el-fnaa. Great food, dinner at the hotel costs a very reasonable 250dh.

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2015

    7.5
    Lovely setting inside the riad
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Difficult to find as taxi didn't know where it was and took us to the wrong gate. Then we had two different people taking it is to where it was but "dumping" us in the wrong place and demanding money off us!

    Lovely setting inside the riad

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2015

    7.1
    Pool great relief from medina but got very crowded.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast lacked anything special. Crowded pool area. Food over priced, room was small and stuffy.

    Pool great relief from medina but got very crowded. Food standards average considering very high price. Staff very helpful. Noisy stuffy room with a metal bed frame which made loud clang every movement. Riad is beautiful and location good for tourist attractions

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2015

    10
    This was the best hotel at which we have ever stayed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There was nothing we didn't like. Everything was perfect.

    This was the best hotel at which we have ever stayed. The staff was so helpful and wonderful, and the premises were beautiful. I 150% recommend this Riad to others. Location was perfect - inside the Medina but easy to find.

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2015

    10
    Warm welcoming, easy-going and very gentle staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Warm welcoming, easy-going and very gentle staff. Overall, a great value for money with a very comfortable bed.The ryad is really beautiful and relaxing.

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2015

    9.2
    The location near to the main square, souks and tourist...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Steep staircase within the Rotal suite and no toiletries.

    The location near to the main square, souks and tourist sights. Peacefulness and rooftop pool at the Riad.

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2015

    8.8
    Staff were very professional and courteous.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We did ask for room service for breakfast and were told it was not available. It may have been a communication problem though.

    Staff were very professional and courteous. I had trouble finding the parking close by and they sent someone to assist. Each member of the staff very friendly at all times. The location is down a couple alleys but very good location for walking to the rue Dar bacha area where there are many nice shops. 10 minutes to Jemaa el fna on a well lit street.

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2015

    9.6
    Friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It was a little difficult to find from the main road Rue Sidi El Yamani, we went past it on arrival and had to ask for directions.

    Friendly staff. Courtyard was beautiful. Peaceful. Traditional style room with Moroccan features.

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2016

    8.8
    The staff - very helpful, the breakfast - very tasty,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The bed sloped on oneside

    The staff - very helpful, the breakfast - very tasty, courtyard - clean and well kept,

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2016

    10
    Excellent service, really friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Excellent service, really friendly staff. Great location, close to the square and souks. A beautiful Riad with a lovely rooftop pool.

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2015

    10
    Amazing service and very comfortable room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Amazing service and very comfortable room. Great swimmingpool. This is a riad that I will recommend.

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2015

    10
    They made us very welcome and nothing was too much trouble.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    They made us very welcome and nothing was too much trouble. Service was excellent.

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2015

    10
    The place is beautiful, location perfect, the people working...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The place is beautiful, location perfect, the people working there fantastic and the food great!!!

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2015

    10
    Nothing was a problem friendly staff and great rooftop pool
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Nothing was a problem friendly staff and great rooftop pool

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2015

    7.5
    Nice room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Shower not so good

    Nice room. Great staff. All clean.

There are also 9 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 41

Browse Riad Catalina traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: