Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Riad Dar Chrifa

20-Arsat El Hammoumi-Ziat, Fes El Bali, 30000 Fès, Morocco

#68 of 172 hotels in Fès

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 160 hotel reviews

9.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.2

  • Comfort

    9.1

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    8.9

  • Staff

    9.6

  • Value for money

    9

  • Free WiFi

    8.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 38

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2018

    9.6
    I highly recommend the hotel, it is definitely worth to stay there.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Mazagan Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Ari condition in the room might be a bit better.

    Hotel location - Medina (Old town) Inside of the hotel - very-very beautiful historical decorations and furniture; clean, secure and calm place. Hotel staff - very pleasant, we were provided with all we needed (maps, tours recommendation etc.) Breakfasts - very good

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    9.6
    A nice riad with excellent service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Mogador Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The first sight I did not like that we had a room without a window to outside directly only to the patio, however the room turned out to be comfortable and the circulation of air is solved. If you can choose, the room on the first or second floor might be even more comfortable. The riad is a bit far from the souk, which sounded a disadvantage, but we also realized that it was a bonus. You may need to take a taxi if you do not want to walk and be lost in the labyrinth of the medina (you will be lost at least once for sure). Take the red taxi only and bargain, approximate cost from Bab Ziad (Ziat Gate) to Blue Gate is about 20-25 dirham.

    It is a nicely decorated riad with excellent and friendly service. The breakfast was much better than other places we stayed in Morocco. There is a great terrace on the roof which gives you a nice view of the city and its surrounding.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    10
    Lovely Riad
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Mogador Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They arranged a guide for us to take us around the Medina for half a day. She told us a bit of information but then mainly took us around to different shops (not asking if we were interested in that), was on her phone a lot and then didn't want to bring us back to the riad at the end which was frustrating as the Medina is hard to navigate around. Maybe this could be communicated better in the future to avoid disappointment. The Medina itself was fascinating though, we really enjoyed seeing it!

    Very nice and helpful staff. They gave us lots of useful information and helped us arrange certain tours (e.g. to Chefchaouen, which was a nice day trip). The Riad is very beautiful with a great rooftop terrace. The breakfast is the standard breakfast we've been getting at different places (bread, jam, olives, honey, cheese, fresh orange juice) and was good. We had dinner one night at the Riad. The food was good (though the vegetarian main not so much and it was quite expensive) and we had the dinner at the rooftop terrace which made for very nice views.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    10
    agreeable, relaxing and beautiful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Volubilis Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    nothing in particular.

    the place was spotless clean and very beautiful. it was a 10 min walk to batha and all the action, but i enjoyed that it was away from the medina, as i could have some restful time. it is also close to one of the gates to the old city, so then accessible by car easily. the staff fatma and zakaria were very helpful with us and treated us like family and answered all of our questions and were flexible with us regarding checkout or arriving back to the riad really late. the guide that fatma gave us to the old city was also fantastic. all in all, recommended.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    10
    Zakaria is the best staff we were ever met!
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Mogador Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Zakaria is the best staff we were ever met! He’s so nice, helping us with everything, from providing extremely detailed information about the city, to help us booking the taxi.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    7.1
    First day terrible. Second day good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Mazagan Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The pictures are not really reflect the actual room. The first day room is terrible. The room is in the ground floor, which closely to the place people eat. Actually just exactly nearby by the dining hall. The room is dark, and the toilet is smelling bad. Terrible night in the first day room. And then we change to the first floor by adding more money. Then everything is nice. No more people speak and eat next to your room. Not more full of darkness in the small room.

    The pictures are not really reflect the actual room. The first day room is terrible. The room is in the ground floor, which closely to the place people eat. Actually just exactly nearby by the dining hall. The room is dark, and the toilet is smelling bad. Terrible night in the first day room. And then we change to the first floor by adding more money. Then everything is nice. No more people speak and eat next to your room. Not more full of darkness in the small room.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    10
    I’m not a easy person but likely to be picky on the accomodation but everything was perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Mazagan Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Eveything was perfect. Food, hosts’ hospitality, cleaness, interier and etc... can’t even mention the whole things I liked there. And the building and the interier itself is actually a living museum. We fell in love with this place at our first sight.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    9.6
    Beautiful riad with the perfect location, easy to find.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Mogador Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just be careful that there is no sound isolation , especially if your room is on the first floor. In the morning the breakfast is served and there are no glasses in window in the room.

    Beautiful riad with the perfect location, easy to find. The staff is nice and helpful. The breakfast is very good. Costs for its price

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    8.3
    We got double/twin bed room on ground floor.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Mogador Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom wasn't clean at all. Room & bathroom are too dark. Breakfast is basic.

    We got double/twin bed room on ground floor. Location was easy access to medina but away from noise. The lobby is stunning. Friendly staff, they helped us to organize tour guide and taxi. Fatima was very helpful. The shower was broken but as we told them, they said they will change it.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    10
    Amazing Riad!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our staying at Riad dar Chrifa was very good, all the staff was welcoming and attentive with our needs, they even helped us rent a car and facilitated the discussions with the rental company. Very nice rooms, very clean, breakfast is delicious, the terasse offers a great view over the city, all in all it was a very nice trip, we couldn't expect better.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    5.4
    The location is ok.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Mogador Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room is next to the dining area which is lack of privacy and noisy. The environment of our room is gloomy especially for the bathroom. We need to turn on the flash of the mobile phone during bathing. We found that someone opened our luggage which were unlocked (because the position of the zips were changed and some leave found inside...) Luckily all the valuables were kept in our bag. One more important thing, the riad referred a guide for us, we told the guide that we wanted to see and learn more history about Fes and no shopping, but he still kept bring us to those souvenir shops. When we went to the tannery, we wanted to buy a sofa cushion cover, the seller asked for 200euro at first, we bargained at 20 euro then to 40 euro. The seller said didn't waste his time and let us go away. Once we wanted to leave, the guide came to approach us and said that the quality of it was much better than those in the street of medina and said it was not less than 100euro...100euro is reasonable! After this event, we asked other guide about the reasonable price of that sofa cushion cover, he said 40euro was the maximum price even though the goods in tannery were better... We think that the guide should help us but not cheat us and don't know whether there is some linkage between the guide and the riad or not...

    The location is ok. The bellboy is nice.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    9.2
    Nice stay, lovely host
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Mogador Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was at the ground floor just next to the "restaurant" area where they serve dinner and breakfast. We had a glass door with a big curtain, but still this might affect a bit the privacy and your sleep as you hear all the noises coming from there. Also the toilet was a bit too dark especially inside the shower. This can definitely be improved, all the rest was great :)

    The girl at the reception was simply amazing, she gave us a lot of advices and recommendations, we really appreciated her help. The room is huge and the breakfast was good

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    10
    Amazing riad!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Mazagan Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The riad and the room was very clean and comfortable! Extremely well decorated in light colous and authentic wooden furnitures. Friendly staff and more than welcoming!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    10
    Perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Ambre Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The accomodation was perfect, the service was extremely kind, helpful and quite. The rooms were big, confortable, clean and well equiped. The breakfast was very good with a huge variety of choices (mermelade, honey, cheese, croissants, fresch orange juice, coffee, milk, etc). They offer you the possibility of paying by credit car and cash (dh or euros). You can book any excursion or taxi from the hotel. They have a nice terrace with panoramic views and it is a good place to rest. We are very happy and we strongly recomend it!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    10
    Like staying in a palace!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms and suites were a dream! Majid, Fatima and Zakaria were SO welcoming. I felt like a queen while I was there. Breakfast was delightful and our stay was memorable! The location is wonderfully quiet but still close to the bustle of Tallaa Saghira and Tallaa Kabira.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    7.5
    got ripped off on arrival, left the property halftime
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Mazagan Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the main hall is cold, the food and services are expensive. we got ripped off with parking immediately when we arrived. room was on ground floor, glassless windows looked directly into the dining area, so it also lacks any soundproofing or privacy. we paid in full and left the property at halftime.

    breakfast and tea is delicious, our host spoke great english.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    10
    Very convenient location, close to the walls of Medina...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Volubilis Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was just perfect

    Very convenient location, close to the walls of Medina therefore easy to find once arriving. 10 mins walk to the Blue gate, but yet very peaceful. The whole staff was really friendly, especially Fatima who gave us all the needed info and made us feel so welcome. Rooms are so spacious and very nicely decorated. We have enjoyed every moments spent there

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    10
    • Amazing people work here, always ready to help, to give...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Mogador Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The dinner is quite expensive, prices two times higher than average

    • Amazing people work here, always ready to help, to give you advice about the city and everything • Good location, not far from the road, - so easy to find, u can park a car just in front of the door and it’s just 10 minuets from blue gate • The only place in Morocco where we have a conditioner in the room, so you can set the temperature as u like. It’s important in the winter time. • Hot water! • Good design in morrocan style • Perfect roof terrace with fantastic view on the Fes

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    9.6
    Very nice and relaxed stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Mazagan Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was rather cold in the patio where we had breakfast.

    I was there with my daughter of 18 and we enjoyed very much the breakfast, the hammam and our beautiful room. The staff were very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    8.3
    Nice riad in Fez, very helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Musc Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The in house dining is good but relatively expensive.

    Nice building, though not the most historic riad we have stayed in. Very friendly and helpful staff, excellent view from the roof. Good value for money.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2017

    9.6
    Nice stay in Fez
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Mazagan Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioner.

    Staff are very nice. Although we cannot communicate very well in English, they are friendly and helpful. Breakfast is not too much but still nice. 20 Euro for dinner in the riad, including salad, main course and dessert. 10min walk to Blue Gate. Good wifi.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    9.2
    Our most enjoyable riad stay in Morocco.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Musc Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing significant. Be aware there is no elevator but just a tight staircase. Soundproofing was minimal - I could hear others snoring and conversations elsewhere, but this is usual for all the riads we stayed in throughout Morocco and not really a problem for us anyway. I did not detect any street noise. The children's room had three single beds lined up side by side. These beds were quite narrow for our teenage girls but my girls told me that they were comfortable enough. They were about the width of a good camping stretcher if that helps. It is so easy to get lost anywhere in the medina that I would thoroughly recommend downloading an offline map into your phone. We used google maps (and downloaded the area), then at least you have some idea of where you are and which way you are walking/heading. Our kids had fun trying to help us find our way back to the riad. I'm not sure if there were any "shops" nearby for food/snacks etc as we couldn't spot any?? And we have been told by several sources that the medina is unsafe after sunset - however we ventured back perhaps 30 minutes after dark and although some alleys seemed a little eerie there appeared to be quite a few people about. You could always taxi it back I guess? We crammed our family into a taxi which was inexpensive (although he did try to double the agreed price - 20D from tanneries) and then once exiting the taxi it is still super confusing to know where you are anyway (but google helped us over and over).

    Our favourite riad in Morocco for our family (2 Adults 3 Children 15, 13, 10). Friendly and helpful staff, who although most struggled with English we didn't find this too much of a problem. Outstanding email/phone communication. Much help and assistance was provided with sightseeing and bookings etc. The riad had lovely decor. The breakfast was typical of Morocco but once again presented and served extremely well and efficiently and we sat in a delightful private area. The freshly squeezed oj was appreciated at breakfast. The beds were comfy and the bathroom facilities were excellent too. However the only air conditioning unit was located in the "main" parents room and our kids room was pretty cold (but ok with the thick blankets provided) - it was early December for our stay and Fes had just received its first rains prior to our arrival (pleasant sunny days and chilli nights). Good and strong wifi.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    10
    Highly recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Mazagan Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to mention

    The first impresion of the hotel was so lovely. They offered upon our arrival the most delicious mint tea in Morroco. The room was clean and spacious. They even made us breakfast earlier than provided normally becoause we had to check out at 7. Lastly they offered us a small present to remember them that we really appreciated. Highly recommended.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    7.1
    The staff was kind and certainly helpful, but there was no...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Mazagan Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The property isn't close to where the action is in Fes, nor is that part of town easy to reach by foot through the maze that is Fes medina. There are also no decent restaurants in the immediate vicinity. I stayed one night, then moved to a place close to the blue gate and couldn't be happier.

    The staff was kind and certainly helpful, but there was no real click like I had elsewhere in Morocco.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    10
    Amazing homey place
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Mogador Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    They were so accommodating, friendly, the management really helped us feel at home. They helped us organise day trips, things we wouldn't have seen by ourselves. They even had a male escort us to restaurants when it was late at night for safety. There was even an option to have henna done. Amazing value for money and very close to madina. There was nothing else we could ask for, highly recommend this place.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2017

    10
    Stunning Riad.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing.

    Staff excellent, welcoming, helpful and keen to assist. Really good bedroom, fab breakfast. Couldn't believe how beautiful the Riad is. Don't be put off by the outside, the inside is stunning. Eat at the Riad one night, very good.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2016

    10
    Huge and delicious Breakfast provided, easy to get to as was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Encens Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The breakfast was great and we had different local breads and baked goods each day, but it would have been nice to try some of the other local foods which I saw but didn't find get to try, like the Nougat and huge selection of local olives.

    Huge and delicious Breakfast provided, easy to get to as was by edge of the Medina, but still only 5-10 minutes walk to the blue gate and local restaurants and food. We had 2 bedrooms rooms with a super king sized bed in one which was large enough for me (I'm 2m tall). The bathrooms was nice, and we were provided with fresh towels every day (So no need to pack them!). There was staff available at almost all hours, for example I went downstairs at 11.30pm because I was thirsty, and there was someone there who was happy to give some bottled water. One of the ladies downstairs also gave us great advice on what to do each day, and helped us book a rental car, as the local company didn't speak any English.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    9.6
    beautiful stay in fes medina
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Mogador Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    super kind staff and helpful, great dinner and breakfast, beautiful place with terrace, very comfortable and above average bathroom

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    8.8
    Traditional riad style accommodation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Mazagan Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was located on the ground floor, very little privacy!

    Traditional riad style accommodation.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    10
    The host is super nice!
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Mazagan Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The host is super nice!!!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    10
    Beautiful riad, very authentic decoration, extremely nice...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Encens Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful riad, very authentic decoration, extremely nice and helpful staff. I can only strongly recommend!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    9.6
    Perfect introduction to Morocco
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Mazagan Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing!

    Breakfast, price, free room upgrade, help on our itinerary, checking us in after midnight as our flight came in late

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2017

    10
    Great location and’ lovely staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location and’ lovely staff

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    10
    The staff were so hospitable and went over and beyond to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Volubilis Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The staff were so hospitable and went over and beyond to make my stay comfortable!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    10
    the room are very beautiful, With typical Moroccan decor.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    the room are very beautiful, With typical Moroccan decor. the breakfast is very good and abundant. the staff is very kind and helpful.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    10
    I loved it
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Mogador Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean and tidy , staff were very helpful , view from the terrace was amazing, I loved the place !!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2015

    9.2
    Loved the friendly staff, very helpful and even escorted us...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The water pressure in the shower was very poor making it difficult to shower Location was a bit far from everything but still worth the stay to be away from the hustle and bustle

    Loved the friendly staff, very helpful and even escorted us to a local restaurant on our first night. The riad is stunning, ideal of you are looking to experience traditional Moroccan accommodation. Stunning views from the rooftop terrace and room decor

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2015

    9.6
    Very good staff and position, very beautiful place,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing.

    Very good staff and position, very beautiful place, comfortable, clean, good breakfast.

There are also 13 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 38

Guests also reviewed these properties: