Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Riad Dar One

19 Derb Jemaa El Kebir, Mellah, 40000 Marrakech, Morocco

#185 of 922 hotels in Marrakech

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 109 hotel reviews

9.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.7

  • Comfort

    9.4

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    9.1

  • Staff

    9.6

  • Value for money

    9.1

  • Free WiFi

    7.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 50

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    10
    Highly Recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Oasis Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A tranquil and serene atmosphere amongst the hustle and bustle of Marrakech. A home from home, friendly and happy staff. All of our needs were catered for. We will be back again soon. Well done!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2018

    7.1
    The room was clean and very comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was not happy when I realized the car parking is not private! Like for all Riad facilities around Marakech, you will have to park your car somewhere and carry on your luggage up to the Riad. It's not worth the 10euro fee applied by the property.

    The room was clean and very comfortable. The breakfast served at the terrace was an high value addition we all liked very much. Having a shower in the bathroom is an absolute pleasure.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2018

    7.1
    The room was clean and very comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    I booked three double rooms via booking.com. The following morning I was told by the property that one of the three rooms was not available as reserved to some "special guest". However they did all their best to support me on booking in one of the nearby facilities. Wish I could had a lovely breakfast with all the family united together, but that wasn't the case.

    The room was clean and very comfortable. The breakfast served at the terrace was an high value addition we all liked very much. Having a shower in the bathroom is an absolute pleasure.

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    9.2
    Beautiful minimal chic riad, can’t wait to return !
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Saint Exupéry Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The calming ambience of Dar One was exceptionally lovely. Staff happy to help in any way. We couldn’t really fault anything - and are already booked to return later this year !

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    9.6
    Very nice riad
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Dune Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Riad is even nicer than the photos, with a very "design" look. The breakfast in the inner courtyard or by the cheminee was a nice start for the day. Location in the Medina is central and proved to be safe, although looked a bit isolated during the night. We did not try the food except the oranges with cinnamon which we highly recommend for dessert. Staff is very kind and always ready to help. Thank you.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    9.2
    Excellent. Would recommend it to anyone.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Saint Exupéry Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All good!

    The breakfast was excellent. The staff are really really good and helpful, me our stay feel very comfortable and relaxed. It really was Moroccan hospitality!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    9.2
    Serene Oasis
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Sirocco Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Some of the outdoor spaces are beginning to show wear and tear. Smoking is permitted in common areas so if there are smokers, it's hard to escape the smoke. Don't book excursions with the hotel.

    Stylish and unique property right in the heart of Marrakech. This riad is very quiet and serene. A great place to unwind after a day of exploring.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    7.1
    Comptepory Hotel. Nice decoration.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Sirocco Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The car parking is far alway. It took about 10 minutes by walking. And the riad was difficult to find by self . And wifi signal was poor. My room was on the second floor of the building, there was no signal at all . After daily cleaning of the room,no complimentary water provided.

    Breakfast was very nice. Staff were nice. The riad was very well decorated, Paul Smith Style. Good location.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    10
    Beautiful oasis in the middle of the Medina
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Dune Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    That we are leaving, tonight :(

    We loved the location and ambiance of the Riad The rooms are tastefully decorated . It's an oasis in the middle of the Medina The staff was really kind and helpful Jean respond all our questions and acomódate our needs We certainly recommend Riad Dar one

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2017

    10
    Riad dar One is a little paradise in the Medina.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Sirocco Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing

    Riad dar One is a little paradise in the Medina. Walking in you feel like to entering a secret retreat. It is very quiet, staff is wonderfull, rooms are lovely and the terrace is great! We want to come back!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2017

    9.2
    Recommend staying at this riad
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Saint Exupéry Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This is a very comfortable and clean riad situated close to the Bahia Palace and about a 10-minute walk to the main square. The owner and other staff were very helpful and provided good advice on restaurants and places of interest. The room was of average size, comfortable and well-appointed. Breakfast was ample. We would stay here again.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2017

    9.6
    Perfect for weekend getaway.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Mirage Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lighting in bathroom could be brighter for make up. Would love tea/coffee making facilities in room.

    It was very peaceful and beautiful there. Loved the bath and felt very safe. Loved the information booklet in the room with recommendations. Arranged transfer from airport and met from taxi as would never have found it on my own.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    9.2
    Beautiful riad with stylish furnishing and great service
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Saint Exupéry Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The style of the riad. Beautiful riad, with beautiful decoration, yet tasteful more modern furnishing. Also the service was very good, from restaurant tips to spa and restaurant reservations.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2016

    9.2
    An amazing riad that is built with love
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Sirocco Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only concern is that the walk to the riad is a little difficult to find so take the airport transfer. Also the neighbourhood where the riad is located could look a little run down but it is perfectly safe.

    Lovely little boutique hotel located near to all must see sights and restaurants. Amazing staff who will point you in the right direction for all your enquiries and purchases.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2016

    8.8
    Stylish tranquil Riad with great owner and staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Sirocco Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have loved "proper" Italian coffee in morning as opposed to American filter, but that would just have been perfection! Wifi did not work in Sorocco room but no big deal to go down to communal area.

    Smooth friendly easy stylish from pick up from airport to Riad, to welcoming tea, to the attention and extra help for booking guides/tickets from Jean Peres...great flow and flair...lovely room, beautiful quiet riad, could not fault it. This place is about details and they really get it right! Will never forget the sound of the little birds singing inside the Riad...this place is lovely, if in Marrakesh we would come back or visit Jean Peres other Riad White.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2016

    9.6
    Raid Dar #1
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Dune Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Staff were outstanding. Incredibly friendly and more than happy to help you. Riad is stunning and a brilliant place to relax after the busy streets of Marrakech.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    10
    Very friendly and helpful, the place is stunning!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Oasis Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly and helpful, the place is stunning! Exactly what we wanted! Was perfect for our stay

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    9.6
    Small, boutique Riad in an excellent location and lovely...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Oasis Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small, boutique Riad in an excellent location and lovely staff

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    8.3
    Staff were lovely.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Dune Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No A/C. No TV.

    Staff were lovely. Very comfortable quiet and clean.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    9.6
    An oasis from the busy Medina. Spacious rooms, attentive staff with a nice relaxing rooftop lounge
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No signage outside- fortunately a child was guiding us otherwise I would have been Leary

    Spacious clean rooms with a simple but elegant decor

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    9.6
    Very good for a short break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is adequate for the size.

    Simple, very comfortable, clean, nice employees

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    10
    Wonderful
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Saint Exupéry Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Na

    All perfect wonderful hotel and staff

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    10
    Lovely Riad, great staff, and superb location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Sirocco Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely Riad, great staff, and superb location. Would definitely stay again.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    10
    Super Stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Saint Exupéry Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Building architecture and design Friendly service Value for money Location

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    10
    Best place in the Medina
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Sirocco Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    NA

    Loved everything, the staff was really nice and the Riad it's beautiful

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2017

    10
    Impeccable excellence
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Dune Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very friendly, knowledgeable staff Beautiful design Lovely room with open fire

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2016

    10
    Couldn't have been better!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Petit Prince Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved everything. Fantastic accommodation and staff!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2016

    10
    Kindness, availability, cleaning.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Sirocco Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Kindness, availability, cleaning. I liked everything, definitely positive experience

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2016

    9.6
    Lovely stay at great Riad
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Petit Prince Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely staff and the Riad is very nicely decorated. We stayed in the petite chambre but there was more than enough room.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2016

    10
    Great Riad near Bahia Palace
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    no wifi on top room

    style, friendly staff

    Stayed in October 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2016

    9.6
    Extremely helpful and friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Check out was a bit below par, as we were on a tight timescale to get an early bus and ended up in a rush

    Extremely helpful and friendly staff. Breakfast on the terrace was a wonderful way to start the day - at whatever time we wanted it!. Dinner was also a fine experience, lovely food presented beautifully in a lovely setting. Location excellent, close to everything central but still quiet

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2016

    9.6
    We had such a wonderful stay, nothing was too much trouble...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    These certainly did not detract from our great stay at Dar One, but we would have liked to see some fresh fruit at breakfast, the shower heads were a little small and thus not very powerful and the dressing gowns were a little frayed.

    We had such a wonderful stay, nothing was too much trouble for Jean and his staff. Room was spacious and bed comfortable. Breakfast could be taken anywhere on the terrace, in the courtyard and at anytime. Dinner was specially prepared with lovely locally sourced ingredients and taken on the terrace. Perfectly located in the Jewish Quarter its was a simple walk to the Jaama el Fna Square and the Souks beyond. Would highly recommend this Riad.

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2016

    10
    This was my 3rd stay at Riad Dar One and it never ceases to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    This was my 3rd stay at Riad Dar One and it never ceases to amaze me how great it is. Jean and his staff, as ever are so accommodating. It always feels like we are coming home. The rooms are comfortable and stylish, the location is fantastic and the service is incredible.

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2016

    10
    Every single thing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Every single thing! From the riad fragrance when they open the door for you to every well decorated corner! We booked a airport transfer with the Riad and everything started in a great way! The driver was nice, amazing car and he left us just beside the riad, up to where cars could go, but the manager was waiting for us on the street and walked us to the Riad in less than 5 minutes! First impression was WOW! It's exactly like the pictures and even more! The cleaness, the nice fragrance, calm ambient music, the water running to the swimming pool, the living room with fire place, everything was perfect! We booked the biggest room, on the rooftop and couldn't be better! Big enough for our 4 nights, super comfy bed, nice toilet and a terrace just for us with a nice view from medina. We woke up one day early in the morning to see the sunrise from there, and it was amazing! But as a saw, even the smaller rooms were extremely nice, so you don't need to book the most expensive one to have a nice stay! ;) Breakfast was served anytime you wanted, what was great, because sometimes you just don't want to get up early just to don't miss breakfast. They served either downstairs or on the terrace. We always had it on the terrace, just to enjoy the super hot winter sun! Everyday we had coffee, milk, fresh orange juice, yogurt. But also every morning they offered a different way to cook eggs, different kind of breads and pastry. Plus honey and jam for pancakes! The breakfast was great! One day I missed fruits, and just went around the corner on the Jewish quarter and bought 1kg of strawberries for just 1 euro! All the staff were extremely nice all the time, including Jean, the owner, who gave a nice welcome to us during our first breakfast. Riad Dar One was the perfect stay in Marrakech! Sometimes the day might be a bit stressful after walking around through the souks and trying to get rid of sellers, or bargain a price...

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2015

    10
    An absolutely oasis in the crazy but amazing Marrakech!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing at all!!

    An absolutely oasis in the crazy but amazing Marrakech!! Gorgeous accommodation, friendly staff who couldn't do enough for you. We loved it

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2015

    9.6
    The staff at Riad Dar One was exceptional.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The only disappointing part of our stay was the weak wi-fi signal. We were unable to get a strong enough signal to use this service in our room.

    The staff at Riad Dar One was exceptional. The hotel offered such an incredible and tranquil escape from the bustling streets of city. I highly recommend this riad.

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2015

    9.6
    Great, friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No complaints

    Great, friendly staff. Beautiful, peaceful hotel with a great breakfasts. Ten minute walk from central square but all the chaotic noise of the streets is totally cut off in the hotel. Perfect stay and at amazing value.

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2015

    9.6
    Dar One is one of the most atmospheric, stylish and friendly...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The only reservation I might have is a little one that the sunbeds on the terrace were extremely dusty throughout our stay, but that seems difficult to avoid throughout hot summer months due to the amount of dust and sand everywhere in the city.

    Dar One is one of the most atmospheric, stylish and friendly places I have had the pleasure to stay in. The decor is a stunning fusion of traditional Moroccan and contemporary, simple yet luxurious, and the sound of the little birds and the scent of the cactus oil quite unforgettable. The staff are all wonderful and helpful, and I can see myself returning many more times (that was my second visit).

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2015

    9.2
    Comfy beds, Large rooms
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Some of the rooms didnt have a shower so if thats an issue, make sure an book room with shower. Breakfast service could be slow so dont be in a rush

    Comfy beds, Large rooms Great location

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2015

    10
    Staff was fantastic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Difficult to find

    Staff was fantastic. Hotel was very comfortable, vary clean,and very classy in an understated way. Smelled marvelous. Quite and peaceful. Would stay again

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2015

    10
    Everything!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There was nothing we didn't like.

    Everything! The staff are the best, friendliest most helpful people we have EVER met. Jean Pierre has a lovely team!!

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2015

    9.6
    Very tastful interior
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    We had a great time and loved Riad Dar one. If we have to mention anything negative, we missed the outside-windows in the bedrooms (window looks into the patio).

    Very tastful interior Location Large and beautiful bathrooms Great breakfast

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2015

    10
    Beautiful decor, we were in the 'Sirocco' room which...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Beautiful decor, we were in the 'Sirocco' room which is located on the riad roof. This meant we had direct access to the gorgeous roof terrace (accessible to all guests). It was a great space for the kids (2 and 7 years) to run around!

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2015

    10
    The welcome we received was like no other.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very little to complain about. The light fitting was damaged and needed fixing, but that was about all really.

    The welcome we received was like no other. The staff could not do any more for us. We were both very, very impressed and look forward to our return. Breakfast on the terrace was a wonderful way to start the day. Beautiful food and a glorious setting. The Atlas mountain were covered in snow and a superb backdrop to our Moroccan adventure.

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2015

    10
    Jean's warm reception and helpful tips.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Whilst rooms are beautiful the soundproofing isn't great (a common riad problem). It didn't bother us but may trouble some.

    Jean's warm reception and helpful tips.

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2015

    10
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Great location. Very quiet room in a loud city.

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2015

    8.8
    Fantastically clean, beautifully appointed, well located.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Fantastically clean, beautifully appointed, well located.

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2015

    10
    Everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Everything.....location, service

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2015

    10
    Very friendly staff, great breakfast and dinner
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very friendly staff, great breakfast and dinner

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2015

    10
    Service was fantastic and better than the top branded botels
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Service was fantastic and better than the top branded botels

There are also 18 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 50

Guests also reviewed these properties: