Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Riad Dar Othmane

198, Derb Essakaya - Issebtyine- Medina, Medina, 40000 Marrakech, Morocco

#349 of 855 hotels in Marrakech

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 237 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.2

  • Comfort

    8.9

  • Location

    8.4

  • Facilities

    8.8

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    9.3

  • Free WiFi

    7.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    9.6
    The guy who works there don't really speak a great...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Azur Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It'd be a 10 score if he's English was a bit more fluent, excellent experience anyway.

    The guy who works there don't really speak a great English and he's a bit shy but he knows how to get understood. He does the extra-mile if needed to make you happy. My girlfriend forgot her earrings and he emailed us just the next day saying that he was trying to arrange something to get them back. Great person!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    8.3
    The best host in Marrakech Mr. Hassan with all the things you need.
    • Solo traveller
    • Azur Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The host Mr. Hassan represents the perfection of hospitality, no other riads I have stayed in have offered such a dedicated host. He will go beyond your needs to make your stay safe, enjoyable and comfortable by providing professional service and friendly care.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    10
    Hassan was an amazing host.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Andalouse Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hassan was an amazing host. He was very welcoming and made us feel at home. Communication was always easy and quick. He helped us to find our ways in the Medina (which can be a hard task) and also took care of booking our desert trip. Definitely recommend this riad to everyone visiting Marrakech. Lissara and Rosi.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    9.6
    Hassan is an amazing host!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Ourika Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    a little bit far from medina (around 20 minutes walk) and you have to use a map, otherwise you will get lost.

    Hassan is an amazing host! The room was nice, clean and the breakfast very good.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    7.5
    It was clean and very quiet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Azur Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It wasn’t easy to get to and it was completely crazy outside with traffic, cars, motorbikes people and madness on some very narrow streets

    It was clean and very quiet

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    10
    a verry relaxing and comfortable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Ourika Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Hassan was a perfect host ,we loved everything, the breakfast, and room and location, and cleanliness , we were glad we took the taxi service offered from the airport .

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    9.2
    First of all, Hassan (host) was very helpful and friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Azur Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    First of all, Hassan (host) was very helpful and friendly. The breakfast was great. The room was a bit small, but perfect for the aim. The main square is about 10 minutes walk from the riad, its easy to find and on the road there is a lot of things to see. You can also find good restaurants nearby the riad. I absolutely recomend this place to everyone.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    10
    perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing.

    It is a nice quiet riad in medina with wery helpful owner. Hassan organizes all transport, excursion, everything what you want. Definitly worth for that mony. Have a nice terace (not wiev but comfortable for relax. Close to djama al fna and medersa ben jusuf, on the other way inside is quiet and paceful. Not least, wery good breakfast. Recomended.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    10
    Tranquil Riad in the Medina
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Azur Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent location, right inside the medina. We arranged for an airport pickup, and then a porter came to take us down the narrow medina streets. When we arrived we were greeted with traditional Moroccan mint tea. Our host was helpful and gave us maps and made sure we could find our way around the medina. It is a lovely and quiet place to escape the hectic soukes. Close to the major monuments, the soukes, and the exciting Djemma el-Fna square. I would definitely recommend this riad for your trip to Marrakech.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    9.2
    Not recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Azur Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I'm sorry to report that I had an unpleasant experience with the manager, who got unreasonably angry with me after my arrival was delayed due to interminable queues at the airport. Not a great introduction to Morocco for me. He continued to be rude until near the end of my stay, when he apologized for his behavior, which was appreciated. Update: This is my second review. In his response to my original review he made up an ugly story about my trying to sneak a Moroccan man into the hotel, something I would never do as it's against the law in Morocco. If you read the other reviews, you can see he wrote this exact same story in response to a couple of other negative reviews to try to discredit them. I would take anything he says with a grain of salt. Sadly, this negative experience cast a shadow over my time in Marrakech. It's a shame because this is a great property otherwise, but kindness and honesty are so important.

    Good value, efficiently run, centrally located, and the breakfasts are nice.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    9.2
    Very calm and friendly place in the heart of the city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Atlas Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We loved the local breakfast with delicious orange juice and mint tea. Also Hassan was really helpful, he helped us a lot with the excursions, finding the rigth direction and everything, it's worth to ask him, if you need something.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    10
    Great tranquil place to stay amongst the bustle of the medina
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Ourika Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    The host was incredible, so polite and friendly, we only stayed one night but would have happily stayed longer. It's right on the outskirts of the Medina so is super close to the main markets. Maps given by the host were super useful if you dont have maps on your phone. Wifi worked, welcome drinks and snacks were amazing and the breakfast spread was awesome! Could not recommend this place more highly

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    10
    Awesome Riad!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Andalouse Suite
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hasan has been a great House owner, He treated us like brothers. He gave us many tips and helped us "live" through the streets of Marrakech. The Riad is very clean and comfortable, 5 minutes walking to the Jemaa El Fna square. Clean towels and sheets every day. Good breakfast too. Really recommended!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    10
    Lovely and peaceful asylum in Marrakech.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bathrooms could be refreshed and ventilation in the room downstairs could be more efficient.

    Riad run by Hassan is cozy and very welcoming. It is a peaceful asylum that you need to have in crazy Marrakech. Hassan makes sure everything is well organized, that you arrive to his place without any problems, serves nice breakfast. It was a lovely home away from home, thank you!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    5.8
    Nice room with en suite bathroom, comfortable clean bed, sun...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Azur Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Difficult to find (no sign on door) and then the owner was very frosty with us because we arrived earlier than expected. I understand this would have been annoying but there was no need to continue to be frosty for our whole trip! He had a major chip on his shoulder which ruined the experience for us despite the nice riad! Also the shower was mouldy and the bath mat looked like it had never been cleaned, we didn’t want to touch it

    Nice room with en suite bathroom, comfortable clean bed, sun loungers on terrace, nice riad courtyard, good price

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    9.2
    Great accommodation a short walk from the center ...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Andalouse Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Perhaps just the weather if it came out ... One advice. If you travel by taxi to the hotel from the airport, which is about 10-11 km, the price is about 140-200 dirhams !!! We taxi drivers, we paid 300 dirhams and that's a lot. The taxi will not take you to the hotel because it is in the old building. I suggest you call the hotel, explain to the taxi driver where to go and order your luggage transfer from the taxi to the hotel and rikša will lead you to a hotel that is not marked, so it is hard to find. Drops for removing luggage about 20 dirhams. I recommend replacing the money at the airport, although you pay a fee, but you have a certainty of a solvent deal. Remaining money can be exchanged at the end of the stay at the same exchange office.

    Accomodation in the historic center of a town. Breakfast was great. The manager advised us how to get to the city center, he was always nice and always glad and well advised. The accommodation was in Arabic style, I strongly recommend. We were staying in Marakese and another, cheaper hotel, but it did not match.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    10
    The trip was very nice despite the weather, and our host was great in all regards.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Azur Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The staff was very nice and helpful at all times. The rooms were cleaned each day, the breakfast was fresh and delicious. The location was central, it is only 10 minutes away from the main square.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    9.6
    Short stay in spacious room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Andalouse Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice spacious room. Even though we were leaving early for the airport, the host made breakfast for us and he arranged an airport pick up for us (150D).

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    9.6
    Totally recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Azur Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The one little thing that would be fixed is inacurate gps location given on booking. Actual location of Riad Othmane is probably approx. 80 m away from what google maps shows. Just have it in mind :)

    We were 100% satisfied with our stay at Riad Othmane. It's atmospheric, clean, staff was very helpfull. And I think it's really good value for money.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    10
    Best riad in Marrakech
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hassan is the best host we ever had. Very helpful and kind. He helped us with the airport transfer and his tips about the city were priceless. Room was clean and the bed was very comfy. Very good breakfast and the best mint tea in Marrakech

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2018

    10
    The Riad wad wonderful, Hassan (the host) was very friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Ourika Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast could have been a little bit more diverse and substantial

    We absolutely adored this riad! Together with my wife and godparents we stayed here for 4 nights and it was very nice. The rooms were cleaned and the towels and sheets were changed each day. Breakfast was very good and a little different every day. The riad is close to the main square, Jemma el Fna, around 10 minutes walk and easy to reach it thanks to the host, Hassan, who was very nice and friendly. He gave us useful advice, provided maps and tips and tricks to make our trip more interesting. We also bought a trip to Essaouira directly from the riad as it was easier and cheaper than by train or by car rental. Although the riad is located in a very crowded area, there was peace and quiet inside. I highly recommend this riad for a unique Moroccan experience.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    8.3
    NIce place, not too much good breakfast (could be much better)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Ourika Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The manager of the Riad was too serious, he did not look us in the face when we left and he did not smile much. I guess he was tired and his deal was not as usual with customers. Maybe, he would have a bad week. In other Riyadh the owners were warmer and more kind. Breakfast somewhat poor. A breakfast has to be complete and have something to eat to gather strength. Drinking ... orange juice, Moroccan tea and coffee with milk. Of eating, tragedy ... Moroccan cheap bread, a couple of jams, butter, a little cake and a small Rghayef or Msem'men. In any other Riad they give you an equal breakfast but instead of regular bread, they serve you some bigs Rghayef or Msem'men with honey that you want. (in the center one with honey costs 4 Dh). In short, everything went well, although for other experiences had in Riads of Marrakech, we expected more from such a nice place.

    The Riad is beautiful, everything was clean and well taken care of. The Ourika room was large and very beautiful, well decorated. The clean and large bathroom. Sheets, blankets, everything perfect and very clean. Near Jemma, a 10 minute walk.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    9.2
    Recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Andalouse Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I missed orange juice for breakfast, but it's not a big thing of course

    This is a decent, well-run riad with the most friendly and helpful owner. The riad is old, but appears brand new due to renovations. The owner will help you with directions. I also felt very safe there.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    9.6
    Homey Riad in the medina.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Azur Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    Homey Riad in the medina. Hassan was a wonderful host! He made sure we understood the directions to get back to the riad. We also booked our Sahara tour through here which was a good price for a basic desert tour. We had a good experience. This place is a really good value.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2018

    10
    Hidden gem 8min from Jemaa El Fna
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Azur Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Initially the owner was having a bad day (busy time of year) but soon made sure my stay was wonderful, relaxed and pleasant... I would definatly return here... hidden gem.

    It so beautiful inside. I was a single traveller and I could just imagine how awesome it would be slso to stay here with a group of friends. It feels athentically moroccan and the rooms face inward into a beautiful courtyard. Breakfast was always something i looked forward to (those psncakes!!) you get to live amongst the local communities... very immersive.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    2.5
    Forgot to mention, as we were leaving he sat at his computer...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Azur Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Forgot to mention, as we were leaving he sat at his computer and didn't get up to check us out. There was very little communication and conversation of any sort (especially compared to other Riads). Language was not a barrier.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    10
    just perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Andalouse Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was second time for me at Riad Dar Othmane. The Riad is close to main market. Hassan is the perfect host. It is better to ask for transfer from the airport.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2017

    9.2
    The person who ran the place was lovely, very helpful before...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Azur Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was quite small.

    The person who ran the place was lovely, very helpful before we got there and after we arrived. Location was good too - right within all the action. Mint tea on arrival and breakfast certainly exceeded expectations!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2017

    7.9
    I was in 4 riads in marrakech and this one was the most...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Ourika Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I think that kindness is one of the most important things when you run a business, so its a pity that such a wonderful riad has that inconvenient.

    I was in 4 riads in marrakech and this one was the most beautiful by far, regardless,the owner was a little bit unfriendly and he looked serious all the time I asked him a query. Good breakfast too.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2017

    10
    Brilliant!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Azur Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Host is very helpfull and friendly person!! Recommend you alll to stay there! And ask him for taxi from airport it would be very helpful at the begining... truust me, haha :)

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    9.6
    Great Riad with a very kind and helpful host.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Andalouse Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights

    We loved staying at Riad Dar Othmane. A big thanks to Hassan (Host) who helped us with everything and was always there when we had some questions or needed some help to find our way through the streets of marrakesh. Our room was very beautiful and got cleaned up every day so that we felt very comfortable. The breakfast was very delicious and every day a little different.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    9.6
    MAIL OR CALL THE RIAD BEFORE YOU GO THERE - and the extremely helpful host will guide you!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Azur Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I can not find any negative comments

    Nice and calm. Host Hassan was extremely friendly. You really was well taken care of! Highly recommend Riad Dar Othmane !! Contact the Riad in advance - then you will not have any stress in finding this place!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    9.6
    Hassan, the manager, was really friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Azur Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The organised airport shuttle was way too expensive for Marrakech.

    Hassan, the manager, was really friendly and helpful. He explained a lot to us and helped us with a lot of stuff. We can highly recommend to stay there.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    7.1
    Great value for money, but staff could be more friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Azur Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The owner/member of staff there at the time was very unwelcomely. We were greeted with the traditional peppermint tea however this was standard with every Riad in Marrakech. Other than that we was unfriendly and didn't make us feel welcome at all.

    We got upgraded to a premium room for because it was empty while we were there. Also the Riad was very clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2017

    9.2
    Excellent riad!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Azur Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Value for money excellent. Hassan is really very kind, friendly and give many useful suggestions and reccomendations. The Riad is nice and very quite and the rooms have everything you need. The breakfast is excellent! Walking distance to the main square (10 minutes). Highly reccomended!!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    7.5
    Value for money in Marrakech
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Ourika Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Mint tea, fresh slices of orange and orange cake on arrival. Quiet but helpful host. His hand-drawn mud-map gave us the confidence to head out on our own. He graciously escorted us for a few blocks, pointing out signs to remember for our return journey.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    10
    A calm refuge in Medina
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Azur Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I recommend you contact the host before coming to get the exact directions. Then do not talk to anybody "offering you help" and just tell them you know where you are going, so you do not get scammed as we did (but that is a problem of Marrakech, not of the riad, and my recommendation applies to your whole stay in Marrakech).

    This was definitely our best choice to stay in Marrakech. The location is perfect only 15 minutes walking from the Big Square. It is very clean, recently renovated, the beds are comfortable and it even has AC. The breakfast is delicious and beautifully served in the morning and we even got it much earlier when we were leaving for the dessert tour. The value for money is just perfect for this place and I would definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    9.2
    Cosy and authentic Riad, a quiet oasis in the Medina
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Ourika Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There could be signs outside to navigate to property.

    The host Hassan was very caring and informative, easy to communicate and gave us good advice. Nice interior, nothing too fancy, looked authentic.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2017

    10
    awesome place in the heart of marrakech
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Ourika Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Ladies&Gentleman, i have been at Riad last week, there aren't any words to describe this place. close to the city centre (10 minutes walking across the old streets and souks,medersa ben youssef and councerie) hassan is a good man and very helpful, he suggested where to go,he prepared us a typical morrocan breakfast and welcome tea. i advise to all, i think to come back here. thank a lot Hassan

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2017

    10
    It is a very nice riad, clean, very cheerful place and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights

    It is a very nice riad, clean, very cheerful place and it's very close to the Jemaa el-Fnaa, 10 minutes walking. Hassan was a really nice host and we felt like home. I truly recommend this place for a wonderful holiday.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2017

    9.6
    Lovely traditional Riad, amazing value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Azur Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Lovely room in a traditional Riad, great value for money and good breakfast. The location is an exciting 15 minute walk to the main square. The owner even offered to show us the way to the square on our first night in case we got lost. But with google maps it is easy to find the way. Definitely recommend this Riad!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2017

    9.6
    It is a charming place with a wonderful welcome, Hassan is...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Andalouse Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast is just ok, but with this price is enough and fair.

    It is a charming place with a wonderful welcome, Hassan is very kind and helpful. I also like the neighbourhood, far enough of the square for being quiet and authentic but close to get there in ten minuts with a really nice walk

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2017

    7.9
    Value for money Riad...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Azur Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Considering that we stayed for 5 nights, there was not much variety in the breakfast provided.

    The hospitality was good. Hassan provided very early morning breakfast when we needed and our room was tidied daily.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2017

    10
    Riad is really nice place, probably the best option if you...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Atlas Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Riad is really nice place, probably the best option if you want to feel a real Marrakech life. Hassan is very kind person and takes care about the guest. When we had to leave at 7 a.m. because of the excursion, he made a breakfast for us at 6:30 a.m. The gave us useful tips about the city. Furthermore, if you are coming at night the best option is to ask about the transfer, otherwise is hard to find it for the first time. The transfer is provided by the riad, and you have to pay at the reception (not to the driver) which is very convenient. A big plus that you can take excursions just from the riad. In the evenings is safe, even for two girls, so there is no problems how to reach the riad once you know its location. Special thanks for the mint tea! We love it!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2017

    10
    Amazing stay at Riad Dar Othmane!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Azur Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The Riad Dar Othmane is absolutely fantastic and lovely. The room was very comforting, very clean and spacious. Especially the rooftop was amazing.In addition, its location was quite centred, so one had not to walk very far, to reach the important destinations. Hassan, the manager, was very helpful and so friendly. He was always there to answer questions or to provide useful information about the city. He enlighted our trip in a very nice way! We will definitely come back.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2016

    9.2
    A welcoming, safe and friendly place for everyone
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Atlas Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights

    One is somewhat reliant on other guests' consideration of others as far as noise is concerned. There was no problem but I can see that there could have been. That is the nature of the layout of a riad.

    As so many have already said, Hassan is kind; communicative and has a good sense of humour. He runs the riad with great efficiency. I felt safe and comfortable in my room. There is a good 10 walk to the Djamaa El Fna and there is nothing wrong with that: It is best to acquaint yourself with the route which is easy after the first time. Hassan provides an easy to follow and simple map. 'La Maison de la Photographie' is so close by that you could pay it several visits, especially as the ticket allows recurrent visits. I enjoyed my accommodation and I think that is important in Marrakech.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2016

    9.2
    - Hassan.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Ourika Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    - Finding the Riad would have been impossible without the porter who picked us from a nearby square, upon a call to Hassan. A tip of 30 dirham was asked for his services, but that was stated already in our e-mail communication. To be fair, though, I should point out that in other Riads you have it much worse: Typically no porter is offered, you go into scary-looking little roads (that's how they look on your first day but they are absolutely safe), youngsters "kindly offer" to take you there and then expect an arbitrary tip. So all in all was better to have someone "professional and safe" with a beforehand known and reasonable price. It is just about the despise of Europeans against "unstated" costs, but if you are too scared of them, you shouldn't even approach Marrakech.

    - Hassan. This guy is an amazing host. Kind, humorous, and very well balanced between discreet and friendly - Information on sight-seeing, scam avoidance etc, given in print on arrival - umbrellas kindly given on a rainy day - clean and comfortable room - the complimentary mint tea on arrival was much needed after a long and tiring journey through Morocco

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2016

    10
    Beautiful oasis of peace in the middle of noisy city .
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Azur Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    -

    Very kind, helpful and positive owner, calm, quiet environment, very clean rooms and bathroom. Helps about information about Marrakech market (what price to pay for another things, for a taxi). Breakfast time was pleasant , in the beautiful traditional house courtyard, the food fresh, tasty.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2016

    3.3
    Awful!! Avoid, there's so many other options!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Atlas Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    After calling in advance and not getting a response, I turned up anyway as needed to drop my luggage. I was told off for not calling fist (!!) and ten got treated terribly throughout. No tour, no explanation of the area. Poor. Very poor. When I came to pay, I called out that is like to pay and he just sat in the office. So rude. Everyone is Marrakech is lovely, except him. I also booked a twin bed and ended up with a single. And they didn't tidy my room up between evenings.

    Location

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2016

    9.6
    Super quiet and peaceful riad that served a lovely breakfast...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Azur Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Super quiet and peaceful riad that served a lovely breakfast in the morning. Our room was small but beautifully decorated and comfortable. The place can be a little hard to find but it's also perfect for escaping the chaos of the medina.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    10
    Perfect, cosy riad tucked away in the "true" medina
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Ourika Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    What an amazing little slice of Marrakech, hidden away in the maze of backstreets that form the sprawling medina. A very warm welcome from Hassan, who ensured we had all we needed at our disposition and served a delicious (and bountyful!) breakfast every morning. The room was perfect; comfortable, cosy, lovely bathroom and fantastic AC (which you need in the summer!!!). My third time in Marrakech but my boyfriend's first, and it couldn't have been better! Thanks for everything, we'll be back :)

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    10
    Amazing stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Azur Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Everything was perfect - comfy bed, delicious breakfast, great location kind staff. Highly recommend!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    7.5
    Cheap and charming
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Azur Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location was a bit dodgy

    Hot shower, staff got up early to make us breakfast as we had an early start

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    5.4
    An introduction to Morocco
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Atlas Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Aircon/heater not as effective so a bit cold, intermittent Wi-Fi

    Breakfast was included and within walking distance to attractions

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    9.2
    Spacious room, great breakfast! :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Azur Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was really great, the staff was very friendly :)

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    9.2
    Will come again
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Every thing fine!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    10
    Excelent
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    -

    Hassan was an excelent host an help us very much. Very good conditions, very clean and good breakfast.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    10
    I would recommend this riad to my family andfriends
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The room was very beautiful decorated The staff was VERY ACCOMMODATING BREAKFAST WAS DONE WELL

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    10
    It was amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Ourika Suite
    • Stayed 10 nights

    Wi-fi signal.

    Very friendly host, nice location.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    9.2
    Nice place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Azur Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location

    Nice room, good breakfast. Very good bathroom. Opportunity to book excursions.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2017

    9.2
    Very peaceful place and very friendly owner.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Azur Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very peaceful place and very friendly owner. Nice riad. Walking distance to the main square.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    7.9
    A beautiful Riad, clean and comfertable
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 4 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location is in the very hart of the Medina, far and hard to get. You need to ask for help

    the helpful person in charge

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    9.2
    Hassan is incredible.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Ourika Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ubicación

    Hassan is incredible. Excellent breakfast and clean and cosy riad :)

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2017

    10
    Very beautiful and cosy riad
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Ourika Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I loved peaceful breakfast moments and pleasant personnel. <3

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2017

    10
    Quite Riad with an amazing atmosphere
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Andalouse Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a very nice stay. Hassan makes you feel like you at home. He his very helpful and always available. I can only recommend!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2016

    9.2
    Great ambience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Azur Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loud and rude French people who have no sense of propoquity. But this is not the fault of the property.

    Out of the way. Great ambience.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2016

    7.1
    - the owner Hassan was very friendly and helpful, he draw...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    - the room was very, very small, and we were the first guests who actually stay for 5 night, there were two other double rooms way bigger and were given to other customers who stay for only 2 night. It was not pleasant - the breakfast same each day: bread, butter, jam, milk, small cookies and tea/coffe. Too much sweets for 5 days, some eggs or anything salted would have been much better - not room itself was not too clean, but for a riad I think it was ok ish

    - the owner Hassan was very friendly and helpful, he draw mapps for us to get around -good location, 12 min to the main square Jamaa El Fna( Medina) - the bed sheets were nice and clean and Hassan change them half way through our stay, without telling him to do so - the trip to Ouzud Falls is a must do (300 Dh/per person) - it is a very small riad, but friendly

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2016

    9.6
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Only one thing: sending someone to pick us and our luggage, and this person trying to charge 30 dhm for it, when we dont even needed help in the first place

    Location Breakfast Big and comfy rooms Price

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2016

    10
    I have travelled to 20+ countries so far and have stayed at...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I have travelled to 20+ countries so far and have stayed at many different places. Hassan, the manager, was the one of the best managers I have ever met. He was very helpful since the moment we have booked our room, answered every question very detailed. He organized night dessert trip for us, which was also very nice for a fair price. Our return flight was very early which meant that we should leave the riad at 5 in the morning, he woke up at 4 am to prepare the breakfast for us. The riad is also well located 10 minutes walk from.the main square. Room was very well decorated and the riad was peaceful and calm in the middle of chaotic Marrakech. We loved every moment of our stay thanks to Hassan.

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2016

    10
    The hotel is really cosy, we enjoyed nice and rich breakfast...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It was a little bit tough to find the hotel within the labyrint of Medina streets but once we new, it was not a problem any more.

    The hotel is really cosy, we enjoyed nice and rich breakfast served in lovely patio. We recomend this place to all visitors who will enjoy this quiet little place while breathing real morrocan atmosphere.

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2016

    9.2
    Located the inner medina, 15 min walk from Jemaa El-Fnaa.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The Riad is a little bit hard to find. The Riad has no signs on the door or streets, so you should note the street and the number before you arrive. The owner of the Riad provided a helpful map to find you way to the most interesting sites and back to your hotel.

    Located the inner medina, 15 min walk from Jemaa El-Fnaa. The room was very comfortable with a nice own bathroom. The owner of the riad was very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was good standard and already possible from 7 AM onwards. Also a nice rooftop terrace.

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2016

    9.6
    Very clean, in a great location - easy to reach the Medina...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The owner was very efficient but he wasn't exactly friendly, he always seemed a little annoyed about being there. However, he was very helpful, just wish he seemed happier to help.

    Very clean, in a great location - easy to reach the Medina but far enough away to escape the bustle when needed. The breakfast was slightly different each day so it was never boring. Great price and lovely peaceful riad.

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2016

    9.6
    Hasaan the owner was helpful, friendly and really nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    nothing

    Hasaan the owner was helpful, friendly and really nice. The accommodation was a real taste of Morocco. 10 minute walk to the main square. Totally recommend this Riad.

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2016

    9.6
    Hassan is a very helpful host, he gave us lots of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Hassan is a very helpful host, he gave us lots of information on tours and what was around the area including a map of the medina. The Riad is lovely as is the breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2016

    9.2
    Hassan is a very friendly and nice man.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location is difficult to find. GPS is not working correctly. Young boys will guide you and expect money. Better you take driver from the riads staff.

    Hassan is a very friendly and nice man.

There are also 13 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: