Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Riad Dar Selen

8 Derb El Hammam Bab Ailen, Medina, 40000 Marrakech, Morocco

#835 of 855 hotels in Marrakech

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 30 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.3

  • Comfort

    8.3

  • Location

    6.9

  • Facilities

    8.1

  • Staff

    9.6

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 10

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    10
    I couldn’t be happier about my choice of stay in Marrakesh.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I couldn’t be happier about my choice of stay in Marrakesh. Absolutely loved the riad! My stay was perfect- I was looked after by the staff and the owner better than I have ever been anywhere else in the world. Everyone was so caring and so lovely that I couldn’t thank them enough for it! Food was amazing, bed comfortable, room clean. It was easy to find and close to everything. Would go back again and again 💕

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    3.3
    Not for tourists. Stay away
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The place smells terrible as well as the area where the Road is located. The area is surrounded by a not so good neighborhood and is far from the square. This is not a place for tourists. This will make tour stay in morroco harder and unpleasant. Please pay for a place that has more comfort and better location. You will thank me later.

    Hassan the concierge is a great person and he did everything to makes us feel at home

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    10
    Would recommend and stay again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There’s not much, there was a smell in the room from sewage but we talked to multiple other people in other Riads and they had the same. Hassan explained that it was because of the bad water circulation in the Medina

    Hassan, the host, went out of the way to make our stay comfortable. Helping us with cabs, with money exchange, placed to visit, odd breakfast time (we had breakfast at 6 am one day and 11 am another) , where to eat, etc. We had a great time and the pictures of the room are just like you find them. Would definitely recommend and stay again. The room was very comfortable, air conditioned, extra pillows, comfortable bed, and good water pressure. The breakfast was delicious and warmed up when he noticed that you were up. you are on the east side of the Medina where it is mostly local the more touristy area is 15 minute walk. We liked that, it was nice to be away from the hustle.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    7.9
    Nice stay next to the medina walls.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It's very hard to find the place, there are neither riad name nor house number on the door. Maps me is showing wrong locations so I had to asked locals. Location might be a bit scary at night for a lonely female traveller.

    The room and bathroom were clean, the breakfest is typical for the riads I have visted and tasty (they serve fresh presed orange juice). The staff is very freindly and helpfull. There was no problem with very late check in at 3 am and printing the boarding cards. Calm neighborhoods.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    9.6
    Very nice riad
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The position of the riad is near a gate of the medina, you should ask about it, but it's on a very small street, near a pharmacy

    The host there was very helpful, very nice. The riad looked very nice

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    10
    My friend and I had a wonderful stay in Riad Dar Selen.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    My friend and I had a wonderful stay in Riad Dar Selen. It's a cozy place, nicely decorated, and everything was very clean. Easy 15 minute walk to the main square. We felt very welcome! The rooftop with jacuzzi is amazing.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2016

    7.5
    Riad Dar Selen
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No one was at the Riad when we arrived. Thank goodness the kids found the staff person late at night to let us in. Breakfast was late; it's quite far from the action in the square. And we were asked to move to another Riad to accommodate another large booking on our last day, which we firmly said no to a few times.

    The room was big and comfortable.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    8.8
    A good experience overall, but location wasn't the best.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    *Poor location *Very busy build up area near a local bazaar. Amongst local residents in streets.

    Good breakfast, very friendly staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2016

    7.9
    People!
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms need updating

    People!

    Stayed in November 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2015

    6.7
    Next to Bab Aylen, you can never get lost (once you know...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bathroom had a slight leakage problem, solved. Food is rather basic.

    Next to Bab Aylen, you can never get lost (once you know where it is) and you can quickly leave the Medina. Neighbourhood is quiet, no suk. Rooms are nice and comfy, terrace good for breakfast. They work with a good taxi driver, Ali. Note: we were there in January.

There are also 4 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 10

Browse Riad Dar Selen traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: