Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Riad petit Karmela

7Derb el ferrane azbezt marrakech, Medina, 400008 Marrakech, Morocco

Review score

Based on 72 B&B reviews

9.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.3

  • Comfort

    9

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    9

  • Staff

    9.6

  • Value for money

    9.5

  • Free WiFi

    7.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 22

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mattress was just a little firm for my liking however that is just personal preference and would not stop me going back.

    This place was just incredible. The beauty of the rooms takes your breath away. Absolutely stunning. The owner and staff were always very keen to help us too. We ate at the main Riad on 2 nights and the food was fantastic. Location is also great, very close to quite a few attractions.Breakfast was lovely with lots of choices too. If I were to go back to Marrakech in the future I would not bother looking elsewhere, I would go straight back to Riad Karmela. It completely surpassed my expectations.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Location is a bit tricky. We would recommend getting a guide on arrival as it might cost you a lot of time to find your ways back to the riad.

    We really liked common spaces of the Riad - very spacious and beautifully decorated! Our room was cosy and warm ( we asked for an extra heater). The staff was exceptional - friendly, polite and helpful - especially guys at the reception! Breakfast was really ''rich" - good selection of fruit, croissants, ham, cheese, jams etc. Omelettes varied every day - I especially liked the omelette with onions! Two small things - there was no water at breakfast and coffee could have been a little better.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    A peaceful spot in the middle of the crowdy Medina. Great staff, always careful and helpful. Beautiful spot, you can have breakfast in a courtyard full of oranges trees.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Our room in Petit Karmela was rather cold (as there was no glass in the windows, only shutters, and it faced the outside not the courtyard) though would perhaps be good for the summer, and was noisy as it was located over the staff room where staff came and went through the night. The staff were extremely helpful and provided a heater and extra blankets and kindly moved us to another of their Riads for the next night (Riad Zenib), however a very loud group of guests were staying there and there was a wedding nearby with music all night. Once we were moved to a room in Riad Karmela, we slept very soundly and the room was warm. The staff could not have been more helpful. Wifi didn't seem to work in the rooms but was speedy in the main areas.

    The staff could not have been more helpful and were very friendly. After various issues with earlier rooms, the room we had in Riad Karmela (rather than the Petit riad) was very nice and comfortable. The breakfast was very good. The Riad is excellently located close to the main square, and the staff explain to you how to find your way and give you a map which is very useful. Overall, I would recommend booking a room in Riad Karmela itself.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We booked the room in the Riad but got upgraded to Riad Karmela! It is a real treat :) I believe Riad Petite Karmela has the same exceptional design as the more expensive version. Everything was spotless, bed comfortable and staff nice. The rooftop is amazing during sunset, a piece of heaven among the busy streets of Medina! We tried to reach it during sunrise, but it was unfortunately locked. However, we did not bother to go to reception to ask them to open it, which I am sure they would :) I really loved to hear the birds in the afternoon from our room and drink tea in the beautiful patio!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was not accurate to room prices

    We paid for Petite Karmela and we stayed at the luxery (>150 euro) version Karmela - without explication. The room and restroom was huge, several lovely patios.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 11 nights

    The stay at the Riad Karmela couldn't have been any better. The Riad itself is great, the rooms are all designed individually but each one looks pleasing on the eye. Even the court yard and surrounding area of the Riad is nice and eating on the rooftop caps of an excellent stay. The staff were very friendly and polite when approached and they go above and beyond to help with any of your enquiries. The Riad is situated in a great place and finding your way to local Museums, Cafe's, Restaurants and the famous Jemaa el Fna square couldn't be any easier and if you can't find your way once again staff on hand will help. Thoroughly enjoyed staying there and would recommend anyone travelling to Marrakech to look up the Riad Karmela, you won't be disappointed.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The location could have been a bit closer to the main square area, as it was hard at first remembering where the riad was as it is through many alleys and local side streets which were worrying at first. Maybe a tv set would have been good to have as sometimes you jut wanted to sit back and relax. Don't know maybe it was just the room we were in?

    The staff at the Riad were very friendly. From the outside you all you see is a big red wall, but as you enter through the gate and into the lobby it will open your eyes making you think you are in a mini palace! It all looks so amazing with an open roof over the front reception area where you can relax in front of a small water pond and with turtles walking about freely. The rooms are fairly spacious with clean beds and a big bathroom area. Breakfast was served daily from 8-10am with fresh orange juices or coffee/tea and also croissants and fruits at your disposal. The staff made you feel welcomed and the owner Joel was a very nice fella, showed us how to get by, what to expect and any issues to see him.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Suite
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Do double check airport pick up and take the riads telephone number if no one shows up at the airport

    Perfect

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    The staff were extremely friendly and accommodating. Love the décor throughout.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location was fantastic. So easy to get around from there. Great eating places nearby as well.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The staff was very friendly and close. Facilities are really good and clean. WiFi could be better.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    an oasis in the middle of the crazyness that the medina is

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • People with friends
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A lot of construction nearby Long walk from the car to riad Noisy at first floor

    Staff Best breakfast Location Rooms are great, but

    Stayed in February 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    everything was ok

    Staff was polite and helpful. Location is good and we managed to find the riad on our own (we had already had some experience of navigating through this area in Marrakech). The room we had booked was not ready and we received better one at no additional cost.

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The scratchy bedspreads and the fixed price chef's choice dinner - the chicken tagine was fine, just not special after 10 days of seeing/having chicken tagine on our tour!

    The riad was simply lovely and breakfasts were terrific. The owners and the staff went out of their way to be helpful. We were there for only 2 days but would have been delighted to have been able to stay longer.

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The smell in the bathroom wasn't great.

    The staff were lovely and very helpful. Upon arrival they gave us mint tea & biscuits and sat down with a map & showed us all the useful spots & gave directions on how to get to the main areas such as the souks, sqaure, etc. The Riad is only a short walk from souks & the square yet once inside the Riad you wouldn't hear any noise from outside. I also loved the roof top garden, it was lovely to be able to lie out in the sun after a day spent walking the Medina.

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It is really hard to find but it's not the riads fault. It's the medina. Towels could have been changed everyday.

    Staff was really nice, even if it is late night they are there to serve. It has a really nice terrace.

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The bed and cover

    The food is good

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    -

    The location and the very friendly staff.

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The staff were fantastic and really helpful.

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Peace and quiet, there is an atmosphere that is hard to define, we had sun downers on the roof every evening, and Mustafa the waiter was a treat.

There are also 4 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 22

Browse Riad petit Karmela traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: