Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Riad Etoile De Mogador

8 Rue Allal El Waquawi, quartier rue d' Agadir Medina, Ahl Agadir, 44000 Essaouira, Morocco

#50 of 88 hotels in Essaouira

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 308 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    8.3

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    8.1

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    8.7

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 74

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Mini Suite (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bathroom door needs a handle from the inside.

    Really loved this place. It's very home-like comfortable and clean. The staff was really friendly and accommodating. The breakfast was one of the highlights of the whole stay - served on the terrace with a nice view. The room was clean, spacious and comfortable. The hotel is on a small street in the medina so it's really quiet and tranquil while being close to everything. This has been one of the best accommodations ever.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no cold water in lavatory, because it was broken, the light over the bed was not working so the room was quite dark.

    The stuff was very nice and always there to help, although english was a little problem with some stuff. They cleand room every day. They were so nice that they offer us breakfast earlier on the day we left.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Mini Suite (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was nice but if coffee was fresh would be even better!

    Comfortable clean and delicious smelling room, with beautiful decor throughout! Lovely staff, very accommodating and helpful. Nice terrace to relax on.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Make sure to book on the top floor, the first floor's air circulation is not as good, and can lead to a stuffy room.

    We enjoyed the top floor rooms, the terrace with an ocean view and the hospitality of the owners. Breakfasts were included in the price, a tad monotonous, but still a nice start of the day. Definitely the best riad in it's price range

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Slightly noisy at night if staying in the room on the terrace but nothing a good pair of earplugs doesn't fix!

    Very friendly staff, fantastic terrace with good views and all day sun, delicious breakfast, wifi throughout and great location. As a solo female traveller I felt safe, comfortable and well looked after. Thank you for a wonderful stay.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Mini Suite (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The terrace has a really nice view, but it wasn't clean and maintained at all.

    The mini suite was everything except mini, spacious and really nice. The staff was really helpful and the wifi connection great.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our guests were wonderful, going out of their way to make us comfortable and welcome. The breakfast was very good. Room was comfortable with every necessity needed whilst on holiday. Location was very central, in walking distance to most sights, shops and restaurants. We had a great time and would happily recommend this Riad to fellow travellers.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Mini Suite (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly and helpful. Breakfast on the terrace was good and varied. Room was cleaned up with fresh towels every day, with the added touch of rose petals on the bed. Good location made it easy to nip back to at any point in the day.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    People in the riad were so helpful and kind. Breakfast was super delicious. Our room was small, but comfortable and well decorated. There were big towels and there is an option to borrow a hairdryer if you need.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff weren't very helpful. Didn't really help us with luggage and we were on 3rd floor. Also weren't very helpful with recommendations.

    Was a very pretty Riad with beautifully decorated rooms and bathrooms. Very clean. Good breakfast and nice roof terrace.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Mini Suite (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Perfect location - close to the beach, Medina, bus station. Perfect Moroccan breakfast on the rooftop terrase. We stayed for 2 days and breakfast was not the same every day. Beautiful room, very clean, WiFi, hot water, rooftop terrase with sea wiev. We loved it!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No heating in the room (as it was December) but it was ok. A bit noisy from the outside but that's normal in most riads.

    Central, calm and great view from rooftop, nice rooms and nice + helpful staff. Nice breakfast on the amazing rooftop.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I ordered a shuttle but it was not at the airport. There was alot of noise. They could not find the key when i came back to the riad nd there was no staff to find a solution. That was the reason to leave the riad inmidiatly.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We travelled with our two adult children. Their room was fine. Our double room was smaller and smelt musty. The breakfast was good but there was no choice. We were unable to pay by credit card as the machine was out of action .

    The staff were very friendly and efficient. The Riad was clean and well furnished. Good quality breakfast. The Riad is well situated and we all enjoyed Essaouira

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We really liked everything

    A great riad with nothing to dislike - super stuff, comfortable rooms, very nice terrace and good location. Strongly recommended

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Mini Suite (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast was quite bread heavy, it would have been nice to have some fruit.

    The Riad is in a very good location close to the beach and all the shopping streets. We arrived by bus from Marrakech and it was a quick walk. Our room was spacious for three people with a very large bathroom and lovely hot shower. The room was cleaned every day with new towels. Very friendly staff and the roof terrace was nice.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Mini Suite (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cute Moroccan room aesticically pleasing. Booked the 4 people room. Hot water. Working WiFi. Balcony to hang and watch the sunset. Easy location inside the walls.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The streets around the property are not very clean, but that seems to be the case for many places in Morrocco.

    Staff was great. Room was clean and cosy. Location-perfect for sightseing.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nice place to stay, clean and comfortable and the hosts were very nice. Good internet connection and the view from the terrace was beautiful. Delicious breakfast was provided.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Mini Suite (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No tv in the room.

    The staff were very friendly and helpfull. Nice quiet place. Clean and comfortable. Breakfast was lovely and filling. Easy to get to the main center and beach.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quite easy to find and well located, a 10 minute walk to the beach and a range of souks and cafes and restaurants. Lovely filling breakfast every morning on the terrace with plenty of delicious mint tea - the best we had in Morocco! Room was cleaned everyday and clean towels left in the bathroom. Would recommend - a lovely riad!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    I spent here 5 nights in July, together with my girlfriend, and I think it's the best place you can choose to stay at in Essaouira. Lovely staff – always smiling and easy-going, very good breakfasts and a wonderful terrace where you can relax and sunbath. We also loved the interior design of our room. I hope to come back there and I will recommend this place to all of my friends!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Mini Suite (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was beautifully decorated, attention to every detail even roses in your room! It is by far the cleanest place we have stayed on this trip in Morocco. The room is exactly how depicted very spacious and the bathroom big. The bed is very very comfortable. The terrace is also wonderfully decorated and has ocean view. The breakfast was very good and fresh. In all since we asked early we were able to leave our luggage for the day since our bus was later, and even use bathroom before leaving. Thank you very much. Highly recommend.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Mini Suite (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit too much bread for breakfast

    Good location Superb value for money Friendly staff Plenty of hot water and good pressure Decent sized bed - But it was only king sized not super king as advertised.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fantastic location close to the main streets of Medina, easy to find. Not so far to the safety parking. Beautiful terrace and very kind manager, useful and helpful. Very tasty breakfast

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Sun deck (above the terrace) needs some attention.

    Nice B&B/Riad. My third visit to this Riad. The staff is very nice and service minded. The location is good relatively close to; bus station (Supratours), the harbour and the beach. It is also relatively easy to find (the first time). Very nice breakfast. The rooms are minimalistic decorated but with good taste. The WIFI connection worked very well. Nice terrace.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    I felt comfortable and was very grateful for the extra blanket and heater provided for the cold nights in this time of year. Do go with Sadiah to the hamam in the kashbah. She looks very well after you and is a caring and giving person. It will make you feel clean as a newborn baby. This visit is a must :-)

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Mini Suite (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Although it's near one of the exits of a "regularly-designed Medina", the signs do not clearly mark the address if you arrive at night-time

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Mini Suite (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A TV would have been nice even at an extra cost.

    Great room, awesome staff always pleasant and smiling even at 3am😀😀😀! When the wi-fi worked, it was super fast.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing we didn't like about the place, was just perfect to relax for few days to finish our holiday.

    Very friendly and helpful staff. Nice big rooms just in the centre of everything, short walk to the port.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Mini Suite (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The stuff was amazing and very helpful! The room was perfect!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No safe in room or in the riad No air con

    Lovely breakfast on the terrace Good location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Mini Suite (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the Weather haha

    Host is very nice and polite, the Breakfast was really good, our Room was really clean (and cleaned every day).

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very nice and helpful owners. Merci :-)

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Mini Suite (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Some rooms have windows only in to the hall, not outside.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly english speaking staff, beautiful terrace

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Mini Suite (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Little gem in the medina nice terrace

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very sweet staff and nice breakfast.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very nice and clean hotel, very friendly and helpful staff, good location

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No kettle for making a drink

    Peaceful/ spacious,clean.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Value of money wifi was very poor in our room and not much facilities

    Location is very near to the beach and the souq

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Mini Suite (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too much sweet bread in breakfast, I would preffer some fruits

    Location, very helpful staff, roof terrace, fresh juice in breakfast

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small room

    Authentic riad experience

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    mantenance

    very helpful and nice staff (ABDU and girl)

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Mini Suite (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No proper lock on room door (padlock)

    Nice breakfast area on roof

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    poor wi-fi stuffed shower, water went through badly

    staff is very friendly nice breakfast

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 13 nights

    A nice place - calme - and a nice tarazze from which you can see the sea

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Nice little riad with a great feeling and great location inside the old city. Breakfast was awesome!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Mini Suite (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    bed linen could have been better

    Location great. Couldn't hear the calling to prayer at 4.00am . Excellent value for money

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The lighting in the room was too weak and the wall bracket for the shower head needs to be replaced. New carpets in rooms and corridors would be nice.The roof garden is in need of an update, more plants and new furnitures, it looks a bit dated :(

    We loved the staff !!! Abdou, Sadiah and Kaota were fantastics. Always smiling and ready to help. Sadiah cooked some amazing food for us (tagine and coucous). Abdou prepared the best mint tea and Kaota was very helpful regarding where to go and what to do!

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    I stayed in the terrace room, the light streaming into the room in the morning was wonderful. The manager/receptionist was very helpful and friendly, and his English was much better than my French.

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We were given a very small room because we had pre booked and felt that biggrt and nicer rooms were being saved for people who walked in off the street.

    Enjoyed the terrace.

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    More light. Although there were flowers around and an attempt to make the riad attractive, it was gloomy to such an extent that we left a day early. I think this was caused by the fact that there are more floors (4) to this town riad than at any other where we stayed in Morocco, and the atrium was narrow. Even our room with a welcome window (rare for riads) was dark. Difficult stairs to the terrace. Etoile de Mogadar had some nice architectural touches - like the doors and tiles - but somehow lacked the style, care, and charm exhibited in the other riads we stayed in.

    The location was very close to the Marrakech Gate on a quiet side lane. Our room was rather large for riads and included a sofa and table. The nice bath was also large and included a round shower opening like a shallow pool - interesting. The continental breakfast was served on the 4th floor roof terrace.

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Would be nice to have a front door key to avoid having to wait to be let in.

    This riad is in a great location. The bedroom and bathroom were comfortable - the breakfast was good and overall it was good value for the money. The staff were helpful - the decor was charming.

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The riad has much character, the location is great, quiet but near everything, breakfast on the terrace super. Staff friendly and very helpful. Sun terrace with sea view icing on the cake!

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great breakfast on the rooftop terrace w sea views. Loved our rooftop room with our own private balcony. The hosts were great and cleaned our room every day. Location is superb right in the middle of the medina but tucked away from the main street. Great value for money, highly recommended!

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    All the staff is great here. Everyone was nice with me and helped me with everything. They also have some organized quad trips that was very good. The breakfast at the rooftop is really nice. I highly recommend it!

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Overall this riad needs a little upkeep The room lighting could be better, ground level common area a bit more charming etc

    The location was great, room very comfortable and spacious. Nice breakfast on the roof terrace.

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I booked this Ryad as it is very close to the main parking in Bab Marrakech and was a very good price. Our room was cleaned daily and fresh towels provided. Only a 10 minute stroll from the beach. Comfortable, safe and friendly. Sea views from the lovely terrace. I would stay here again :)

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Great hotel, clean and welcoming. Quiet and peaceful and near attraction sites. Very good wifi and breakfast. Sadia and Abdul were very helpful. Would stay here again on my next trip to Essaouria.

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The girl in the reception didn't speak english ...

    Great location, quiet. The rooms and interior are authenticly old ... charming. Breakfast on the roof was great.

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very friendly, welcoming staff, the place is beautiful, clean and comfortable. Breakfast is very good on the lovely roof terrace with stunning sea view. Only short walk to beach and shops, restaurants etc.

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The staff is very helpfull and friendly. The location is at walking distance from the bus station, the beach and city center. Breakfast is good and served on the terass. I had a great stay here.

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Original riad not located as displayed on booking.com. collaboration of more than one riad, means you do not know in which one you are actually staying

    Rooftop Pool in partner riad

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Everything was OK

    Breakfest on the roof was super... Enough, nice, tasty...

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Nothing. Everything was great. Great terrace on the roof for breakfast and to chill.

    Great staff. Always wanted to help and take their time for you.

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Everything was great.

    Everything!! :-) 1. Friendly staff 2. Delicious breakfasts 3. Good location 4. Relaxing atmosphere

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Great breakfast, fantastic location, large terrace with sea vie and friendly staff. Highly recommended.

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    near the beach.

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The mattress was a bit hard.

    We loved the place. We particulary enjoyed the long breakfasts on the terrace. The staff was amazing.

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The shower was hanging loose and the bed in our first room was really hard.

    Good location inside the medina and close to the beach.

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    no problems

    Great location, easy to find, close to buses. Beach and port nearby. Very nice breakfast served in room.

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    They speak basic english ...

    Great breakfast on the roof terrace. Authentic interior, really original. Very good price.

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Lighting was a bit dim.

    lovely terrace for sunbathing & breakfast

There are also 16 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 74

Browse Riad Etoile De Mogador traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: