Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Riad Fes

5, Derb Ben Slimane, Fes El Bali, 30000 Fès, Morocco

Review score

Based on 162 hotel reviews

9.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.3

  • Comfort

    9.1

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    9.1

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 65

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    9.6
    wonderful 5 star Riad in the middle of the medina.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    some guests were loud and unpolite

    wonderful 5 star Riad in the middle of the medina. Nights quiet. Short distance to fancy restaurants. Great spa. restaurant in the hotel acceptable, but you dine with the music of a great oud player

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    10
    Luxurious Riad
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There’s not much I didn’t like about the property. Although a little pricey (net total $278 US Dollars in June which is high season) you do get what you pay for (luxurious Riad and inside old Medina)

    I loved the fact you are given a warm welcome (customary Riad tradition, your party is given mint tea and delicious dates) yet it felt like a luxurious hotel at the same time. There were two bars, a restaurant and a beautiful pool (I only stayed one night and didn’t use these accommodations so can’t give a review) Even though I paid for a standard room I got bumped up to a suite, free of charge (not sure why-I just accepted and went with it). Well, the suite was obviously amazing!!. It had marble floors, French doors opening to a beautiful and private terrace. The spa bathroom was huge with double sinks, and a separate shower and spa tub!! Although I can’t review the standard rooms, based on my experience, they must be, at the least, comfortable and stylish! One of the other main attraction is the close proximity (really just inside) to the old Medina, where thee real charm of Fes lies!!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    10
    Amazing experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Ambassador Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms could be just a tad renovated but all in all it was good.

    I loved the style of this hotel truly a Moroccan gem. Everything was just perfect and amazing!!!!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    10
    Riad Fes is an absolutely divine place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Riad Fes is an absolutely divine place to stay. A sanctuary amongst the hustle and bustle of Fes. The staff are incredibly attentive. Riad Fes is definitely to only place to stay when in Fes

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    9.2
    The property was very beautiful and had its own spa.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Concierge service could be better. They were helpful but a bit lacking in information and communication was an issue at times. The hours of the front desk and concierge service didn’t seem like the usual hours in other hotels, but this could have had to do with Ramadan.

    The property was very beautiful and had its own spa. The Hammam was definitely an experience! The restaurants in the hotel were also quite good and the rooftop was a nice place for drinks overlooking the medina.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    5.8
    It was a different experience from regular hotels, it matches the vibe of the town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the access of the property is in the middle of old town maze, easy to get lost. The pictures make you believe is prettier than it actually is. The hot water on the showers takes more than 5 minutes to arrive. The staff insistance that you dine or have breakfast there at point that it is bothersome.

    The beautiful courtyard of the entrance

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    9.6
    Beautiful Moroccan riad
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was fairly small and somewhat not user friendly (bathroom downstairs), fairly dark even with all lights on. There was a hiccup with our airport transfer when we arrived but it was sorted out eventually.

    The location, the gardens, the bright and radiant lobby and its grand piano, the maids in grey uniforms, the mix and match tile patterns etc. Overall very, very tasteful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    7.9
    Staying at this hotel was not the experience advertised online.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Riad is being outsourced as an entertainment venue, and to guests not staying at the hotel, with dinner parties in the main garden on two of the three evenings I was staying at the hotel. As all the rooms at the Riad are connecting in some way with this main central garden area, you can't esacape the loud lounge music being played. I thought Riads were meant to offer peace and tranqillity not resort party activities. One expects to sit quietly listening to trickling water. The dinner party on the last night was for 30 people.

    The staff were friendly.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    8.8
    Jawdroppingly beautiful Riad in the best location of the medina. Luxury stay, but expect to pay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A bit expensive, and they try to squeeze everything they can out of guests. Breakfast was overpriced, and at many other Riads it is included with the stay. Spa was also a bit overpriced, it would be amazing if they would be able to heat the pool during colder months. Wifi worked well in central areas but not rooms. Staff wasn't particularly warm towards guests, but it may be because I am younger than most of the guests they were used to. All in all, I don't think there is a more beautiful Riad in Fez.

    Great location, amazing aesthetics. Truly a beautiful riad, the entire property was picturesque. The entire riad had a heavenly scent.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    8.3
    Beautiful hotel, friendly staff, good value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our room's layout was a bit awkward. We were at the hotel in winter during a cold spell and the heat in our room was just ok.

    Beautiful hotel. Staff was friendly and helpful. Location was excellent. Food was also good.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2017

    9.6
    What stood out about this place was the staff, who ascertained we were having a great time!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We loved Riad Fes! The only drawback would be that breakfast was not included in our stay (it was included in all the places we stayed in Morocco).

    Riad Fes is a gorgeous hotel in Fes. The interiors are an art in itself!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    8.8
    Gorgeous and extraordinary rooms and public spaces.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The service overall was good but fell just short of the luxury I expected from a Relais and Chateau property. The service in the lobby and for the tour of the property I felt could have been more personal/warm. Similarly, the restaurant staff could have been trained to explain dishes up front or help choose wine/food vs. being just order takers/deliverers. Just the little things that push hotels into that memorable category vs. good. We had issues with the bathroom in our first room: the shower knob was broken and came off the fitting, adjusting the water temperature was impossible and the shower leaked so water flooded the bathroom. We were given different accommodation in the newer wing and thankfully those bathrooms were fine. Babysitting at USD 20 an hour was absurd given we were in Morocco.

    Gorgeous and extraordinary rooms and public spaces. We had a somewhat unique experience in that we stayed in 3 rooms across our 2 nights and each room was very different and luxurious. The rooftop terrace views are amazing. Breakfast was a real highlight. Staff in the restaurant were very friendly, especially to our child. Bath products (including local soap and clay) were a lovely touch.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    9.2
    Luxury riad located just outside the Medina of Fes and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    From our experience: Do only book a guide, if you do not feel safe strolling through the Medina on your own. If you book a guide, check the price beforehand again to make sure, there are no suprises. The staff of Riad Fes was very helfpul in sorting things out, though.

    Luxury riad located just outside the Medina of Fes and therefore relatively easy to find. Well equipped and spacious rooms and beautiful facilities. Do not miss a drink on the rooftop bar overlooking the Medina of Fes. Good breakfast, too, but rather expensive.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    10
    Beautifully appointed Riad with an excellent location and fabulous, sincere staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The place was perfect.

    The property was a beautiful Riad located just off the Medina in Fez - design/furnishings were outstanding along with facilities and food and beverage. The pool was great as was the amazing rooftop - simply done but a perfect vantage point to take in Fez both by sunrise and at sunset. All staff were sincere and some of the most hospitable and some of the most helpful that I have come across in travel. We had an excellent stay and would most definitely recommend this as a an accommodation option.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    9.2
    Views of the medina!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    On our last night, we had trouble with the air conditioning in our room, which caused one night of very poor sleep as we had to be shuttled in the middle of the night to another room. The second room had a noisy ac unit, which then kept us awake. Our first two nights were perfect. The riad is down an alley way which we did not feel safe enough to venture from at night- but such is life in the old medina. Still, I imagine this is likely the best location in Fes. It would have been nice to have breakfast included in the room rate.

    The view from the terrace of the medina and surrounding hillsides is amazing! The staff was very friendly, especially those working on the terrace.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2017

    9.2
    Luxorious hotel in heart of Fes Medina. Very professional staff.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Vastly overpriced breakfast, more expensive than a 5 course meal in most upscale Moroccan restaurants with no option of a la carte.

    Professional staff. Great location. lovely main courtyard.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2017

    9.6
    Amazing riad!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The spa was closed on Monday, so unfortunately we didn't get to experience it. Next time!

    Lovely riad with wonderful décor and architecture, beautiful pool and bar area, friendly and very accommodating staff, comfortable and spacious room. We will be back for sure!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    9.2
    Gorgeous stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hierarchy between staff members was a little too demonstrated by the supervisor

    Spotless luxury accommodation. Staff exceptional. Great location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    7.5
    Mostly happy. If we'd feel more welcome. We would be happier.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff could be more friendly.

    Design of the property.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    10
    Riad Fes is amazing...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amazing Riad! Nothing else to say...

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    6.3
    Location / Riad
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast very weak for this type of hotel

    Location / Riad

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    4.6
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise on the terrasse and way too expensive for the offering

    Location

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2017

    9.2
    Beautiful Riad at the edge of médina
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service quality in unstable

    Hotel decoration

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    8.8
    everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    everything

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    10
    Just amazing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast could be included in the price

    Everything was flawless

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    10
    Great position and friendly people.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great position and friendly people. Helpful always. Amazing decoration! Fancy for photo.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    10
    This riad is definitely beautiful and elegant.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This riad is definitely beautiful and elegant. The location is quite easy to find. The riad staff is very helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2017

    10
    Fabulous hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The stuff were great.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2017

    2.5
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Love everything

    Excellent food and environment

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2017

    10
    Recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Food was excellent.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2016

    9.2
    Great location, great place, worth the stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception staff attitude and help

    Architecture, interior design

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2016

    10
    Loved the charm of the property and its location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Loved the charm of the property and its location. Staff was very friendly

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2016

    9.6
    Best hotel in Fes
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool a it cold!

    Loved the roof top views, restaurant and especially the waiter, Fatar He was brilliant

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    10
    The most beautiful, luxurious riyad
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    This is the perfect Riyad and fulfills every expectation whilst also providing great comfort and a loverly spa and pool. Just superb.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2016

    9.2
    The barkeeper with his daily coctail-suggestions
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Niks

    The barkeeper with his daily coctail-suggestions Zalig verfrissend zwembad Diner en Breakfast !!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2016

    10
    Perfect Stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    N/A

    The staff were very friendly. It was the perfect location and the premises were beautiful.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2016

    9.6
    Beautiful large riad, architecture and design are in a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The Hammam was broken sadly, but these things happen. The room was quite small with no working desk. No bath.

    Beautiful large riad, architecture and design are in a traditional Moroccon style. Aparently the hotel is five riads tastefully combined, so there is a sense of grandeur and space in the public areas. Food is excellent. The garden is a walled secret garden with historical buildings. The staff were very helpful.

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2016

    8.8
    The location,the quiet, very helpful staff, the public areas...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Like many hotels the bedside lights were not strong enough to read by in the evening.

    The location,the quiet, very helpful staff, the public areas and the roof top bar. Delicious dinner beautifully served on our arrival.

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2015

    9.6
    This is a beautiful riad with great staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Our room didn't have a shower. We had a tub with hand hold shower. We should have asked to change rooms but we didn't think about it until we used it. By then we were unpacked so we didn't bother.

    This is a beautiful riad with great staff. The breakfast was lovely. We had two dinners at the hotel as well and they were both excellent. We really enjoyed the local wines they were offering at the wine bar. This riad is in a great location. We would definitely recommend this place.

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2015

    10
    It was beautiful , you had no doubt you were in an exotic...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It was beautiful , you had no doubt you were in an exotic location , but still had all the modern comforts that can sometimes be missing in Morocco . All the extra touches , fresh dates and biscuits made it very special .

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2015

    9.6
    The Riad is fabulous, the decor perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No wifi in most of the rooms. Water not hot in the showers. The massage a huge disappointment, a 50 minute massage reduced to 35 and it was only very ordinary. I do not recommend a massage. Staff a little inattentive at breakfast.

    The Riad is fabulous, the decor perfect. You could get no better looking Riad. The food in the restaurant and breakfast was excellent.

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2015

    6.7
    The room (a junior suite) was absolutely amazing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The food and beverage section of the hotel was completely inefficient. We had to open our own bottle of wine on the roof terrace. The restaurant was mediocre. The downstairs bar badly staffed. F&B was a disaster.

    The room (a junior suite) was absolutely amazing! We had a little private terrace and loved our room.

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2015

    7.9
    The lobby was beautiful and the riad full of character.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Bad lighting in bedroom and bathroom for reading and make-up. Only shower over bath, and nowhere to attach it to, so only hand held possible.

    The lobby was beautiful and the riad full of character. Staff friendly and helpful.

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2015

    10
    Five old homes in the old Fes medina very tastefully redone...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    No wifi in rooms.

    Five old homes in the old Fes medina very tastefully redone into a beautiful hotel - full of exquisite tile work. very comfortable and elegant rooms. Great staff and service.

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2015

    9.6
    everything , the room , the place , the hammam
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    the excursion and guide service, We had our own guide and chauffeur ; we double checked the prices with the hotel just to check... It was 40 percent more expensive .. Not really fair from the hotel to take such a high rate ...

    everything , the room , the place , the hammam Did not try the restaurant

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2015

    9.6
    High quality architecture and interior decorations, very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bathroom (terrace suite) did not have a good shower, no good doors.

    High quality architecture and interior decorations, very good restaurant, very pleasant & helpful staff.

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2015

    8.3
    Riad is authentic, beautiful with modern amenities,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wifi not very strong in bedroom. Lighting in bathroom wasn't excellent and there was only a small wall mirror.

    Riad is authentic, beautiful with modern amenities, restaurants and service. Amazing rooftop cafe and wonderful rooms tastefully decorated in the gorgeous Moroccan style. Staff are super friendly and always eager to help.

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2016

    9.6
    Room was a little too dark
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Room was a little too dark

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2016

    10
    Staff at reception, spa and restaurants were just perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Staff at reception, spa and restaurants were just perfect. Want to thank them

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2016

    9.6
    Excellent deco and great maintenance .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Internet has problems in the room and even in the lobby.

    Excellent deco and great maintenance .

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2016

    9.6
    L'art architectural marocain
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    L'art architectural marocain

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2016

    10
    This is my second time at Riad Fes.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    This is my second time at Riad Fes. Everything was pure perfection. Thank you for a fantastic stay.

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2015

    9.0
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    None

    Location

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2015

    9.6
    The service was excellent.
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    The service was excellent. The cuisine was immaculate and the views over Fez medina was spectacular!

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2015

    7.1
    Location, breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No ironing board or iron

    Location, breakfast

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2015

    10
    Beautiful raid, conveniently located, excellent food and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Beautiful raid, conveniently located, excellent food and service.

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2015

    4.5
    The shower did not drain and there was a bad smell it is an...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The shower did not drain and there was a bad smell it is an old and decaying medina this fact seeps into this historic shabby chique hotel.

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2015

    7.9
    I loved everything about my stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I loved everything about my stay

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2015

    10
    Charming and clean facilities, good restaurant and roof top...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    None

    Charming and clean facilities, good restaurant and roof top bar, very friendly staff.

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2015

    10
    An excellent restaurant with impeccable service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    An excellent restaurant with impeccable service.

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2015

    9.6
    Everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Internet conection was bad

    Everything

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2015

    9.2
    Everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Everything.

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2015

    10
    Location of the hotel is right in the old medina.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Location of the hotel is right in the old medina.

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2015

    6.3
    Property with a character of its own
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    everything else was below the expectations...cleanliness, service

    Property with a character of its own

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2015

    7.9
    Gorgeous Riad with accommodating staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Lack of knowledge of young ladies at desk about dining recommendations.

    Gorgeous Riad with accommodating staff.

There are also 33 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 65

Browse Riad Fes traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: