Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Riad Fez Yamanda

1/3 Derb Ben Doud Zerbtana, Batha, Medina, Fes El Bali, 30200 Fès, Morocco

#15 of 172 hotels in Fès

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 148 hotel reviews

9.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.5

  • Comfort

    9.3

  • Location

    9.8

  • Facilities

    9.2

  • Staff

    9.7

  • Value for money

    9.2

  • Free WiFi

    8.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 48

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Maimonide - Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi was very spotty/essentially non functional in our room (very fast in the lobby).

    We got so lucky - we were upgraded to the suite on the top floor (room 10) and it was gorgeous! Tons of natural light, enormous, beautiful, and super clean. Breakfasts were delicious and huge. Youssef, the property manager, was fantastic - he walked us through the map of the Medina, gave great recommendations, and was kind/ helpful throughout our stay. Beautiful terrace with fantastic view of Fes. Gorgeous inside - what you imagine when you think of a beautiful Moroccan riad! 5 min walk right off the main drag of the Medina. Very accessible to all of the sights, very safe at night, easy to find.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Ibnou Batouta - Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were some details that could be improved to take the road to the next level, such as the quality of the toiletries, making sure all the lamps work and the towels are not ripped.

    Youseff, at the reception was super nice and helpful. He took the time to show us he most important places on a map, and made sure we had all we needed. He helped us find bus schedules. All the staff was great! Best breakfast in Morocco (spreading cheese! At last something salty!). Hotel has an amazing terrace with a great view of the medina

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Ibnou Batouta - Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    We liked everything about Fes and Riad Fes Yamanda The people at the Riad were very kind, trusting and would do anything to help out and make our stay enjoyable The Medina is very good and exciting place to visit - one minute and we were in the Medina Amazing place I would go back to stay at the Riad if I were to go back to Fes anytime

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Maimonide - Double Room
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing major. Bathroom wall could have use a good scrub down. WiFi in upper rooms is marginal.

    The location cannot be beat with respect to close access to taxis while also being close to the Main Street of the Medina and Baj Boujloud (the blue gate). Staff were all wonderful and helpful. The courtyard was beautiful and comfortable for breakfast or just hanging out.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Léon l'Africain - Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was just great, nothing bad to report.

    Great location, in the heart of the Medina, but easy to go out of it when you get tired of the chaos. They have Wi-Fi, clean rooms, and even their food is excellent and not even too overpriced, compared to other touristic restaurants in the area.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Léon l'Africain - Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing !!

    I liked everything here , everything was clean my room was spacious looking to the courtyard. Wifi Access to all areas. I enjoyed a variety breakfast served by professional staff (MOKRAD ) the owner youssef was very polite ,attentive and helpful. Don't forget to try the experience of Moroccan Hammam and a relaxing massage also great dinner with good price .

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Ibnou Batouta - Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The first impression is not exactly copied in the rest of the hotel. Rooms on ground level are okay, but ours on the second floor missed a female touch. We had a double room with one chair, one glass and no water on the room. The tv set was not connected to the cable and the knobs on the shower where exchanged. Even then it took a while for the water to heat up. They would be given similar ratings by us like from other people if they had paid a bit more attention to the details in the room.

    This is indeed a riad as you would expect it interior-wise. Having tea or breakfast in the hallway is a treat. We had a large enough room which had some original elements (a three-step tile old oven or so) which was only useful to place your luggage on. Well-serviced every day and a good sleep. This riad is located in a quiet area though still close to the two main streets of the medina. So. Food and shops are closeby. It is also near the blie gate or the fountain square where there are taxis. So good connection possibilities. The view from the terrace is as good as from the more touristic spots around town.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Ibnou Batouta - Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Management has changed for the worse. We were given a cheaper room (Leon l’Africain) than we had booked for (ibnou), and were charged 20 euro more than the price quoted in our confirmation email (240 compared to 220). To our surprise, we were told during check-out that the riad no longer takes card and had to scramble for cash before leaving to catch our train in the morning. We trusted the riad to be honest until it was too late - beware and make sure to bring a printed confirmation.

    Breakfast was great, with plenty of fresh pastries, baguettes, and fruit. Location was also good, not too far out from the main streets of the medina and very walkable. Shower had good water pressure.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Léon l'Africain - Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This riad was recommended by i friend of mine that she spent couple of night in that beutiful place .I got a very good sleep on the night that I spent in Riad Fez YAmanda recently. The staff was very kind and friendly The room I got was the family suite was fairly spacious, clean, and cool - great terrace to enjoy drink during the night . I enjoyed the breakfast and like their dinners as well.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Léon l'Africain - Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    We visited Fes and stayed at this riad for one night, but wish we stayed more. Great service and very helpful professional staff ( youssef and said ). The riad itself is beautiful and comfortable. The breakfast and food was also very good.in addition to a very beautiful terrace with a great view over the medina Highly recommended!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Léon l'Africain - Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff is extremely friendly and helpful. Fatima, the manager of the riad was so nice and made us feel like if we were at home among the family. Great location and beautiful facilities indeed!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Ibnou Batouta - Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathrooms needs a bit of maintenance.

    Fantastic place in the medina but very close to the wall so it was easy to get out. Fatima is a great host, extremely friendly and helpful. It was really nice to meet her. The place is beautiful, we felt like we were staying in the palace. The bed was very comfy. Cute kitty is visiting everyday as well.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Ibnou Batouta - Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The building was quite cold, but this seems to be quite a common thing for winter in Morocco.

    Fatima was so so helpful! The house is also super nice, but Fatima is the best!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Léon l'Africain - Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We slept on the fourth floor where the WiFi can’t be connected. The room is quite small. If you have big luggage,it will be a lot of work moving it to your room.

    The lobby of the riad is beautiful. The personnels are super nice. Fatima gave us lots of advice and helps us getting the bus tickets. The breakfast is superb. From the terrace you can have a good view of the city. There is an air conditioner in the room.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Léon l'Africain - Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    The Riad is very beautiful, and Fatima is the best host, with great hospitality and of great help! The room is in very traditional Moroccan decor style. Shower was great, room is warm which is super important for a person like me having suffered the coldness in Sahara desert for the past 3-4 days... Anyway, everything is perfect! Do not miss the Riad if you are in town.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Léon l'Africain - Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    While the house is beautiful, it is 200 years old, and this is most apparent in the bathroom which was clean and serviceable but felt plain in comparison to other spaces.

    The Riad home style emphasizes beauty within the home rather than on or around the exterior. This Riad was no exception, and it felt like a palace hidden in the heart of the medina. We were upgraded to a suite with huge wooden doors, a high carved ceiling, lavish tile works, and beautiful furnishings. The staff was the other highlight. The manager, Fatima, was a delight. She helped us organize our time in Fes and provided excellent advice and recommendations. She also hosted a sort of henna party at the Riad in the evening for the female guests, which was very well received. This Riad is lucky to have her on staff and we were lucky to have her as our hostess.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very nice and helpful personnel, fantastic interior with traditional decorations. Location in the Medina, but close to main street. Underground parking not far from the Riad, just about 5 min. walk.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Ibnou Batouta - Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Great location in the medina and close to everything you want to see. Good food and great staff. We were upgraded to the suite which was a huge Moroccan style room ensuite made us feel part of a 1001 night fairy tale.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Léon l'Africain - Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    It was just a perfect stay. Amazing staff, very helpful and friendly. The Riad is located just next to the Souk in a small, quiet street, it is very clean and offers great breakfast. We could leave our car in a guarded garage. Thank you very much!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Ibnou Batouta - Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    As the riad wasn't fully booked, we received a free upgrade to one of the big suits. It was probably one of the most beautiful rooms we've ever stayed in! Amazingly beautiful and spacious (thank you, Fatima!). Fatima has been a great help when it comes to spa and travel arrangements, and was overall a very pleasant host. Our stay was further enlightened by the extensive breakfast that Khadija prepared for us every morning. Thank you for making our stay unforgettable.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Ibnou Batouta - Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    More than beautiful! Marrocon style Riad breathtaking entrance hall and beautiful room. VERY authentic and even close to the blue gate of the Medina! Fatima made our stay perfect very kind and helpful person. Wishing her all the best

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Ibnou Khaldoune - Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Our night was simply amazing! The suite room was super and i felt like a princess. Fatima is a extraordinary host available to give a lot of important info on the City. What about breakfast on the terrasse? A magic view on the medina! Thanks Fatima, our staying has been magic.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Léon l'Africain - Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    - the riad is traditional, thus few things are different from western hotels (doors, taps, sound and temperature insulation); this is something normal in any riad and I prefer authenticity.

    + Fatima, the manager, is simply THE single most valuable thing in the riad. Super nice and very helpful, she will make your stay well worth it. I rarely found such great host (and I traveled quite a bit from cheap to luxurious places) + Location is perfect: close to restaurants for the evening and 5min away from deep medina (all closed at night) + great breakfast + relatively easy to find (not to discount in Fes!!!)

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Ibnou Batouta - Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The overall atmosphere and the ambient smell could be better if more attention was paid. Especially in the suite.

    The manager helped upgrade me to a suite which boasts a very high ceiling and was very spacious. The lady manager also gave me a beautiful henna.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Léon l'Africain - Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My only complaint comes because I was ill and wanting to get to sleep fairly early (before 11). It wasn't easy because the cooking class in the common area lasted until about 11 and was a bit loud.

    The property is beautiful. It's like being in a palace is some ways. Staff is incredible and made sure I had what I needed when I had a bit of an illness while staying here.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Léon l'Africain - Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was good.

    Fatima is such a kind host and person! She gave us several tips to make our trip even more wonderful. We also got a free room upgrade. The Riad itself is very beautiful and preserved. We would stay here again next time, for sure.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Ibnou Batouta - Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing.

    Our host Fatima was really really wonderful, we even spent an evening cooking with her and learning about Moroccan food. Utterly amazing place, ancient and stunning. Highly recommended!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Ibnou Khaldoune - Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Neighborhood surrounding is dangerous. Best to stay in after dark.

    Friendly staff, beautiful room, great location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect!

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    • People with friends
    • Ibnou Batouta - Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing was bad

    Everything was good in this riad , staff ,food ,terrace best view Thanks to youssef,said(happy) and kamana

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    breakfast, lights in the room, furniture in the courtyard

    the rooftop terrace is a highlight

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Avempace - Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We loved the rooftop and the helpful service provided by Fatima.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Léon l'Africain - Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Location, position, staff... everything!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Léon l'Africain - Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Incredible beutifull rijad and extremly kind and helpfull staff - Fatima helped us to fine tune our itinerary for the rest of the trip.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Léon l'Africain - Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All is perfect.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great Riad! Great rooms! Great roof! Great everything!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Léon l'Africain - Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Little run down, not good wifi.

    Staff was wonderful, great location and breakfast.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Ibnou Batouta - Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Friendly staff and beautiful rooms.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Léon l'Africain - Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Fatima was super helpful with everything from directions to restaurant recommendations to hammams etc.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Léon l'Africain - Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fatima is very pleasant and hospitable manager! She is the heart of the Riad.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Léon l'Africain - Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything, but especially the host. Fatima was especially accommodating and helpful. We got a free upgrade and loved the room and decor.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Léon l'Africain - Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    You gotta check which floor your room on coz there are a lot of stairs involved

    Fatma the manager is really helpful and got everything under control

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Excellent value for money, and the hostess is a very friendly and helpful woman. Breakfast on the rooftop terrace was delicious. It is located inside the medina, close to most the interesting parts of Fez. The place itself is one of the most beautifully preserved buildings you'll find in Fez.

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Fatima welcomed us to Riad Yamanda which is located 2 minutes away from one of the medina's main streets. She was extremely friendly and helpful, highlighting places we could visit and giving us a great introduction to Fes. The room at the riad was spacious, extremely cosy and comfortable and clean. Would highly recommend and definitely return here :)

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Some very minor points: If you are visiting outside the summer months, I would advise that the riads can get cold as they are not properly heated. this is the case for all riads, not just this one, since they are all historic buildings and designed to stay cool in the hot summer months. Just something for you to be aware of, you might want to bring a sweater or warm PJs for wearing at night. Also be advised that there is a small charge on top of the booking fee for VAT and city tax that you must pay at the time, and that you need to pay in cash.

    the host, Fatima, was fantastic and very helpful, also the breakfast was amazing. The riad its self was extremely beautiful, with ornate ceilings and walls, and the room was very comfortable.

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    This was a fab place to stay, I can't think of anything negative!

    Fatima really went out of her way to make our stay a good one, she gave us lots of useful information (more detailed and relevant than that given by other riads we stayed at) and helped us massively when we had a 2.30am train out of Fez. The breakfast was also amazing!

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2016

    • Group

    No

    Good host and room decoration! Terrace with great view!

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    no hot water

    beautiful building with morocco feeling

There are also 8 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 48