Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Riad Jemalhi Mogador

6 Ahmed Ouharoune, 44000 Essaouira, Morocco

#79 of 88 hotels in Essaouira

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 313 hotel reviews

7.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    6.6

  • Comfort

    6.7

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    6.7

  • Staff

    8

  • Value for money

    7.4

  • Free WiFi

    6.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 65

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    8.3
    Beautiful riad in a great location and kind personnel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Rouge Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was no hot water unfortunately, but because we just spent one night there and everything else was great, we were too shy to ask about it.

    The riad itself is very beautiful and located in an alley right next to a main market street. The breakfast was pretty decent. The staff was very kind and welcoming, they also let us leave some bags at the reception for a few hours before we leave town.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    7.5
    Very statisfied
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Riad was clean and the staff can speak English well. Breakfast was good and the mint tea was so great! Great location, very near to the beach and center of Medina.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    8.8
    Nice, cheap riad in the center of Essaouira's medina.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Rouge Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This is a nice riad in the middle of the medina -- great access to everything. The rooms are fine and very cheap. The staff were courteous and helpful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    7.1
    The riad is beautiful although the rooftop is not at all...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Rouge Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff is not friendly and even a bit rude: as soon as we returned to the hotel after dinner we asked for towels because we didn't have any in the room. The man who was at the reception said there were no towels then and we had to wait until the next morning. As he could see we were disappointed he just said "That's the way it is" without any apologies.

    The riad is beautiful although the rooftop is not at all taken care of, which is a shame in a place like this. The room was basic and had everything we needed. The breakfast was also good.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    4.2
    was once a nice riad but needs updating.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Rouge Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    1st night - early in the morning(02:45) noise from english people above and nothing done by night porter to rectify. I had to deal with it myself. Manageress reprimanded the night porter for failing to do duty. The breakfast was awful and probably the worst I've ever had in nearly 30years of visiting Essaouira. The shower was broken and I had to show handy man how to fix.

    Location.lots of hot water for shower.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    10
    Nice places to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lovely breakfast. Very nice roof to sit. Our room was quiet, with private bathroom and window to the inner courtyard. Comfortable beds, plenty of hot water in the shower. We had a great time there :)

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    5.8
    Location is excellent in the middle of Medina where you can...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Rouge Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There’s no warming system of any kind so no wonder there was a bit of mold in the toilet which can get to your eyes and lungs after few days.

    Location is excellent in the middle of Medina where you can reach any places of interest by just few minute walk.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    5.4
    In need of TLC
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very under-staffed at times; one morning we had to wait 30 minutes for breakfast due to the number of people and only one member of staff. Rooms were in desperate need of decoration (some mould, bare wires on light, poor furnishings). Also, terrace had nice aspect but old rusty chairs!

    Helpful staff and tasty crepes for breakfast.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    7.5
    The apartment had a perfect location, right in the heart of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The apartment had a perfect location, right in the heart of the medina. The building is beautiful, the staff was really kind and helpful with us. I would recommend the place to others as well, good value for money.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2017

    4.6
    Good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed on the terrace that was introduced to us, as the riads suite.The bathroom was dirty to the point we didn’t want to use it. The bedsheets looked really dirty, that we decided to sleep with our clothes on.The room was very cold and there was no air conditions for heating. The windows had broken locks. And finally the breakfast was basic and the cups were dirty.

    Good location.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    5.0
    The riad is on very good location and it's nice inside.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Rouge Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was dirty and the toalete was leaking, when we told that to the guy on reception he didn't do anything.

    The riad is on very good location and it's nice inside. Breakfast was ok.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    5.0
    Great location, friendly staff not hygenic. Felt like we were staying in a box.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were no windows in our room it had a weird smell we couldn’t quite figure out where it came from. There was a lack of hygene we couldn’t walk barefoot in the room. The shower is like a rubix cube it will take you some time to figure it out. Unfortunately the toilet wasn’t clean so make sure you squat. This room really needs fresh air and a proper cleaning.

    The staff is friendly and showed us 2 rooms one with separate beds and one with a two person bed so we could choose. It’s located in the middle of the souks and very easy to walk from there to places nearby. The wifi was good in our room.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    6.7
    It's okay for one night sleepover
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I didn't like the smell of the old water pipes, coming from near the bed. Also it was realy hot at night, And we couldn't open a window, as it goes straight into the riad, so anyone can jump into your room. Also, it's located in the medina, so you have to leave a car somewhere behind the walls of the city.

    The staff was nice and let us leave our luggage for a while after checkout. Also the shower cabin was nice - in a black stone. And the location is right in the city center

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    3.3
    Dissapointing is an understatement
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Damp dark rooms, not clean, unhelpful rude staff, breakfast was poor. Overpriced for what it was - we stayed here as a treat as it was higher up our budget than anywhere else we stayed, and was one of the worst. Very poor value for money.

    Location was the only positive to say. Plus private bathroom. Everything else was very disappointing

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    5.0
    It's possible to be robbed, sleepy after loud night, but the staff is nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Warning! We have been robbed! Luckily we didn't leave much money in our room. We fought it's safe to left things in it. We closed it every time we went out. Once we left wallet within 17 dollars. After leaving the place we found out that 15$ was gone. Thief left us 2$. After that we contacted them, but they said it was the first time they received complain about stealing. So if you don’t leave any money or valuable things in room, you can feel safe. The room was airless, ceiling was molded and we didn’t have curtains in our window. So we must have chosen between privacy and air. During the day on the same street children were playing drums so it was really loud in the whole Riad. And during the night we couldn’t have slept because of the rooster. It could be worst, but I wouldn't choose it again.

    We stayed for 3 nights. We got two free teas, for the third we had to pay 10dh. The staff was nice and helpful, we liked breakfasts. Bread, margarine, jam, croissant, Moroccan pancake and tea or coffee - everyday.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    8.3
    The riad was very beautiful and was situated right next to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The riad was very beautiful and was situated right next to the souks, which was great. We had mixed feelings about the staff. When we arrived the receptionist was really friendly and helpful, but the next day the service (another one) wasn't at the same level. Not the biggest problem.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    7.1
    Decent, but it needs to be renovated
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    - the ceiling in the bathroom was full of mold and poorly lit (that's probably to try to make the mold not so obvious) - we had the top floor apartment, maybe this doesn't happen in other rooms - they recommended a restaurant close by, mentioning they are their partners and that they have "good prices", but it ended up being one of the most expensive meals we had in Morocco

    - good location, right in the Medina - the breakfast area looks really nice

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2017

    8.3
    From 3 latvian girls
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The tap was broken, the room was dark and small. .

    The staff was very helpful and friendly. The apartment was appropriate for the price. The terrace was wonderful and you can feel a real Moroccon atmosphere in the Riad. The breakfast was tasty with delicious oringe juice.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2017

    7.1
    Nice clean rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Rouge Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Wifi only in the basement + booking.com seemed to be blocked network-wide during our stay. Pretty basic breakfast (only few vegan options). We were charged more tax than we expected (2€ p.P/night instead of 1.50€)

    Nice clean rooms. Good working wifi.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2017

    9.2
    Super cosy!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    wifi was not really working (disconnecting you all the time, 5 minutes working and then 15 not), breakfast start at 8 (a bit late if you have to catch the morning bus)

    Super nice and COSY place! A bit worn out, but it was probably very nice when it was new. Staff was also nice. Even though we missed breakfast because we had to leave early, the guy tried to prepare us baguettes. Good location as well!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2017

    10
    To be honest , i have no dislikes what so ever , The riad...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    To be honest , i have no dislikes what so ever , The riad was perfect as well as the location, The staff were so helpfull and pleasent , For the price got to give them a 10 . noel .

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2017

    8.8
    Great Riad in the heart of the Medina
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Rouge Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location right in the heart of the Medina, but also very peaceful. Great and attentive staff who were really the highlight! Great value for money and an excellent base from which to enjoy everything Essaouira has to offer.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2017

    8.3
    A riad with a very good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I had a room in the third floor, so Wi-fi did not reach my premises. But the first floor lobby is spacious and beautiful, so I could complete my Wi-fi search there.

    The riad had a good and high terrace, what gave a wide view over the Essaouira. The neighbor terrace had a tiny yard with the chicken and peacock. The location is very good to access the tourist attractions, market, beach and the ocean side. Helpful stuff, tasty breakfast.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2016

    7.1
    The breakfast is really good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is in the middle of medina. So, it's quite far from beach or market.

    The breakfast is really good. They served bread, orange juice and tea/coffe.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    8.3
    Nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    moisture from the bathroom

    Nice plase. Very good decorated in traditional morrocan style. Very nice location and lovely town. Breakfast was good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    10
    Better than expected and very honest people
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Rouge Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The terrace lights were broken I think

    Loved the personeel and Breakfast

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    6.3
    excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Rouge Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    better cleaning of rooms needed

    excellent location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    7.5
    good location and fair price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Rouge Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the rooms odor of moisture (wet)

    the food and the location, easy to find in medina. the atmosphere and the host.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    8.3
    Amazing sunrise
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Rouge Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amazing sunrise

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    9.2
    great location, comfy room for that price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Rouge Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    great location, comfy room for that price

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    8.3
    Cosy room and silence.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My bed was a bit wet because of high humidity.

    Cosy room and silence.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    8.3
    People are very nice and the breakfast very tasty!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    People are very nice and the breakfast very tasty!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2018

    7.5
    Good
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The floors where very dirty, should be easy to clean? the breakfast is okay, but not great.

    Great Location, nice and friendly staff. Free tea!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    3.5
    not worth it
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the whole place was very damp and smelt humid. the bathrooms were dark and gross. there was no cleaning service.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2017

    8.3
    Beautiful riad, tasty breakfast, central location, very nice...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Could be a little cleaner.

    Beautiful riad, tasty breakfast, central location, very nice staff. A pot of welcomig mint tea on arrival.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    7.5
    Location, price, beds
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    As with many budget hotels small efforts in maintenance could make a huge difference in comfort and appearance.

    Location, price, beds

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    6.3
    Bedclothes were dirty!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bedclothes were dirty! It wasn't new... Breakfast was bad.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    10
    Great value - good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great value - good location.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    3.3
    Nothing
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Rouge Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very low-quality towels bedbugs

    Nothing

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    5.8
    Nice place, but very humid, bad ventilation, lack of fresh air.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very humid, bad ventilation, lack of fresh air.

    Nice place.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    10
    Comfortable beds, woken by cockerels crowing,, but not a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Comfortable beds, woken by cockerels crowing,, but not a problem

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    6.3
    Nice looking hall
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Rouge Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very moisture stinky smell In the room

    Nice looking hall

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    9.6
    Very nice, super people, inside the Medina and close to the shopping.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Rouge Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Better shower head maybe.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    7.9
    good for a short stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    change mattress

    the location

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    10
    Good big rooms,the staff is friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Rouge Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good big rooms,the staff is friendly and helpful.the WiFi works perfectly

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    10
    Amazing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Rouge Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location. Very nice stuff really helpful! The rooms are Beautiful and clean! We had a very good time (:

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    6.3
    Crowing roosters - we were not able to sleep from 4 am
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Rouge Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Crowing roosters - we were not able to sleep from 4 am Breakfasts - bread, honey and that's it. Drear.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2017

    10
    Wonderful little friendly Riad
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Rouge Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff here are wonderful and friendly!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2017

    8.8
    The place is magical, the terrace with the view is awesome.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    You are gonna be wake up by chicken:)

    The place is magical, the terrace with the view is awesome. Staff were really nice and helpful.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2017

    4.6
    Not worth it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location is good and the price is low but the room was mouldy and smelly and the wifi router was infected by an advertising diversion virus.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2017

    9.0
    Four person lux was really wonderful!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Four person lux was really wonderful!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2017

    7.9
    Unique!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Rouge Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The nights were too noisy (chickens and seagulls flocked on the roof).

    The staff were really friendly to us, and were happy to answer our questions.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2017

    10
    Really nice staff, really good bedrooms for the price and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Rouge Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Really nice staff, really good bedrooms for the price and good location

    Stayed in January 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2015

    3.8
    The location but that's all.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Everything else. The place was just dirty. Rooms were filthy, my friend found a used bandaid in his douche, my other friends found three cockroaches in their room, the closets fall apart, there were no extra sheets,the breakfast was very poor and the plates were dirty (my mum went out to buy us some eggs and stuff and made our own breakfast after she made sure to wash the pans and plates she was going to use) and I can go on. Even for this price it was just awful. Three other couples left together with us because it was just to much. Just don't go there!

    The location but that's all.

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2015

    7.9
    Actually, we liked everything, except from the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Actually, we liked everything, except from the "politeness" of one person from the staff. But perhaps his behaviour was caused by the fact that we didn't talk French and his English was very poor.

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2015

    5.4
    the location of riad jemalhi mogador is good, in the middle...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    we were very disappointed by the staff. there was one woman who was very kind and nice but two others, especially another woman, were unable to do a good job. the woman was talking on her phone all day long, not paying attention on us, the only guests. the man left the hotel during his work so that the phone rang constantly and he threw our breakfast at the table without any attention. additionally there was a bad smell in one part of our room which was probably due to a non working ventilation in the bathroom.

    the location of riad jemalhi mogador is good, in the middle of the medina but also quiet.

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2015

    6.7
    Maroccan style, a big room with very comfortable bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Insects in the room and really low temperature. We were there in March and it was too cold inside.

    Maroccan style, a big room with very comfortable bed. Pretty big and tasty breakfast

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2015

    7.9
    It was quiet at night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The first day, the wifi wasn't working, but worked the rest of the time we were there. The room smelt musty like they needed ventilation for the bathroom. Some people we met said that they didn't have warm water in the shower, but we didn't have a problem with that. The beds weren't the greatest, but they did the job.

    It was quiet at night. The staff was also very friendly and helpful. We were able to be flexible with the number of nights we stayed. Free breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2016

    2.9
    None
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Better signage better interior design in the bedrooms fountain is not working.

    None

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2016

    3.8
    Run down.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Run down.dead plants no hot water

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2016

    7.5
    Good location, day staff speak English ,good size rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Ants in our room, issue with the hot water.

    Good location, day staff speak English ,good size rooms.

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2015

    6.7
    Good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room was a bit humid. Breakfast was just ok.

    Good location. Staff were sweet enough though didnt interact much.

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2015

    6.7
    Bed is good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Nights can be cold in the winter and there is no heating in the room. No extra comfort. Breakfast is poor.

    Bed is good. Rooms are clean.

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2015

    9.6
    The accommodation and the location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The accommodation and the location. Essaouira is a beautiful city.

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2015

    7.5
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The rooms were small and very dark

    Great location Friendly staff Good value from money

There are also 17 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 65

Guests also reviewed these properties: