Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Riad Kalaa

3,5 Rue Zebdi, Rabat Medina, 37000 Rabat, Morocco

#21 of 60 hotels in Rabat

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 102 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9

  • Comfort

    8.8

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    8.9

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    8.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 40

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2018

    10
    The staff was incredibly accommodating and attending to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Oriental Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was incredibly accommodating and attending to every detail. We have the service to be most personalized in the smaller riads as opposed to the larger hotels.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2018

    8.3
    Enjoyed our stay, would recomend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 1000 Parfumes Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Need to address the ant problem in the room and dining area, and somehow prevent pigeons from using swimming pool to bathe in!

    pool was great, the building was beautiful and charming.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    9.2
    The staff was quite nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 1000 Parfumes Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately the spa was closed due to Ramadan, which was a pity, since it was one of the main reasons to book ìt. Also in the first night it was really loud during the night, since we were in the ground floor.

    The staff was quite nice. The rooms look nice and the breakfast is good. Nice riad and interior.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    10
    We had a great stay in riad Kalaa.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 1000 Parfumes Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a great stay in riad Kalaa. It was easy to find, we had a very nice room and amazing breakfast. We also liked the rooftop and the view from there

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    9.2
    Wonderful Riad in Rabat
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 1000 Parfumes Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The weather. It was raining on our visit so we could only look at the terrace and think what would have been.

    The Riad was stunning, with a gorgeous rooftop terrace. The Riad has a spa and we enjoyed an amazing hammam on our last day. Very helpful and accommodating staff.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    6.7
    Ideal location, in a traditional riad. Could be a little more flexible.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Saharian Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some of tha staff were lovely, but we had a partcular waitress on a couple of days who came across as pretty grumpy. The breakfast was excellent, but we were unable to get a light snack or sandwich in the evening. It was the full dinner or nothing.

    The location was excellent for us. It was close to where our daughter is studying for the next few months. The room was neat and tidy and the courtyard beutiful.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    8.8
    Wonderful hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 1000 Parfumes Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of English channels on TV.

    Excellentl accommodation. Beautifully furnished and facilities. One of the most beautiful hotels I have stayed at. Good restaurant. Most of the staff was very helpful and friendly

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    9.2
    Great position, nice staff but not well organised. I wouldn't stay anywhere else but there are a few
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Saharian Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I only stayed 1 night, had 2 showers and both had no hot water at all. My wife was able to have some hot water in her very early morning shower. The breakfast wasn't up to standard for the caliber of the Riad. No eggs, as were offered in all other raids I stayed at. Forgot initially any fruit salad but came late and apologised as forgot to give it, but very small portion. The little things are important.

    Excellent Riad. Rooms luxurious and with all amenities required for for your needs. One of the best Riads in the Medina of Rebat. The evening meals at the restaurant were excellent.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    6.3
    Disappointing stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 1000 Parfumes Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    While staff were helpful they were not very warm or welcoming. Only a curtain separates bedroom and bathroom. There were ants in bathroom and bedroom. Bedroom suite which is locked by a padlock was on main walkway onto courtyard on first floor, could hear people passing our door, not as much privacy as expected. We were on our honeymoon, had mentioned this when we booked but staff failed to acknowledge it.

    Tea on arrival. Fruit in room. Good location.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    10
    A beautiful stay in Rabat
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 1000 Parfumes Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Riad Kalaa had excellent service. The hostess at the Riad helped us to coordinate taxis and a car to the next leg of our trip in Marrakech. In addition, the Riad itself is gorgeous, airy, and open. While the Riad is centrally located near many landmarks and restaurants, we chose to dine at the Riad and we did not regret it! The spiced Moroccan fish was amazing, as was the lamb tagine. Highly recommend.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    9.2
    Very beautiful Moroccan style hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 1000 Parfumes Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very hard to find , better instructions to find the hotel would help! Maybe meet quests at a convenient location and guide them in ?

    Such a beautiful building , unique and interesting!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    8.3
    Beautiful Riad
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 1000 Parfumes Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant service is painfully slow. Other Riad's with small kitchens seem to have figured it out.. anyway, for a min of 300 dirhams, you will be dissapionted, mostly by the wait (starter and desert were cheap choices) though to be fair the beef was extremely well cuisined. Staff did not care one way or another. My partner was not feeling well and wanted small salad or plate of veg, but they could not accommodate. If we were to book again, we would just eat out.

    Beautiful Riad, great location, wonderful rooftop with pool. Room is well appointed but dark, lovely bed and well decorated. Loved Rabat.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2017

    5.4
    Too expensive for the services offered...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Starry Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Unfortunately, the cleanliness of the bathroom was unsatisfactory - the toilet didn't flush properly, the shower head was rusted, and there was a foul smell rising up from drainage (we covered the drain with a cup to shield the odour). The room was well fitted out however the lights were a little too dim - reading at night was difficult. Wifi only worked downstairs.

    The interior of the Riad was stunning! The intricate woodcarvings and gorgeous floor tiles were a lovely touch. We booked the Etoille Suite and the beds were very comfortable. Breakfast service was slow but the dinner service was quick and the meals were divine!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2016

    7.1
    Earplugs are essential
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Oriental Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel restaurant opens till 12 am. Since it's a small riad, once people are having dinner it gets a bit loud which makes sleeping an impossible mission.

    Rooms are amazing, staff is friendly and the location of the hotel is just perfect.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2018

    9.6
    Derek and Georgette’s one night stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Starry Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unable to give us dinner as we had not booked

    Ambience attention to detail

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    10
    Amazing property and amazing staff especially the guys who...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 1000 Parfumes Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amazing property and amazing staff especially the guys who helped me locate my phone in Casablanca

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    9.6
    Excellent location easy to walk to all the sights, excellent food, lovely roof terrace
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Oriental Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lower rooms are a little dark, request a high floor room

    The food in the hotel it didn't.t warrant going out to dine

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    7.5
    Great for dining, less so for sleeping.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Saharian Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room, while spacious, felt very dark, with little natural light, and poor ventilation.

    The property was lovely and dinner was excellent.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    9.2
    the riad is very pretty with traditional designs while the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 1000 Parfumes Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the riad is very pretty with traditional designs while the rooms are modern and clean. the hotel restaurant is also very good.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    8.3
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Saharian Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Difficult parking but can't really see how this could be improved as it is in the medina

    lovely friendly staff, lovely rooms and decor

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    8.8
    Some noise in the room form AC equipment.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Some noise in the room form AC equipment.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2016

    9.2
    A very nice property with excellent staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 1000 Parfumes Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food was a bit overpriced for the area, but the meal was good.

    Excellent staff and a very nice property.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Staff was a trifle too restrained and distant. Perfectly helpful and friendly when engaged.

    Beautiful Riad with lovely furnishings. Dinner in the center courtyard under the open sky was a soothing pleasure.

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2016

    7.9
    Nice and very clean facilities, like a theme hotel, with...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The breakfast was a bit poor in comparison to other Riads we have tried. The staff was professional, but a bit reserved.

    Nice and very clean facilities, like a theme hotel, with very traditional decoration.Beautiful terrace with a small pool. Located in the Medina, close to the market. Wifi was also good.

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2016

    9.6
    The location was perfect near the oceon and the medina,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    The location was perfect near the oceon and the medina, riad is very clean very comfortable, the saharian suite was so good with great ambiance and high roof, The bathroom is great too. Both brkfst and dinner wr perfect . They also have a small nice hamam . Aicha was great and very helpful.

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2016

    10
    This is not a regular hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Not a bad experience, but venturing in and out of this hotel during late hours without company of local is not recommended.

    This is not a regular hotel. It is a stately home located in the Medina (original old city), that has been converted. The pictures do not do it justice. It is upgraded to match any of the best hotels in terms of amenities. A small and cozy kitchen caters to a small but amazing menu based on fresh market availability of each day. Walking distance to local hotspots, restaurants, clubs and bars in Rabat. Small staff that goes out of its way to accommodate all requests

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2015

    9.6
    Beautiful hotel, perfect location, delicious food, and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Horrible wifi, decent service but not excellent.

    Beautiful hotel, perfect location, delicious food, and relaxing rooftop pool. Great place to stay for a night or two!

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2015

    7.9
    Its a lovely small Riaad with great staff and close to all...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Its a lovely small Riaad with great staff and close to all tourist sites. Staff are friendly and go the extra mile to make things comfortable for you. Highly recommend this property if you staying for a few nights.

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2015

    10
    The Staff very helpful and professional .
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nothing

    The Staff very helpful and professional . The space beautiful decor . The feeling calm and tranquility . The breakfast delicious . The cleanliness and air conditioning . Terrace and pool . I loved everything about this Riad .

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2015

    5.8
    The location was good and the hotel was nicely presented.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The toilet was not properly secured to the floor! Very unsafe and probably unhygenic.the window lock outside our room was broken so anyone could have entered our room easily.management were not very helpful because we did not speak French. Communication was difficult.

    The location was good and the hotel was nicely presented.

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2015

    9.2
    A beautiful room and a fabulous terrace
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    We experienced many warm welcomes and some fabulous customer service during our other stays at Riads throughout Morocco, and the service at Riad Kalaa just didn't come close.

    A beautiful room and a fabulous terrace

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2015

    7.9
    Best medina riad access location for Morocco trip with car.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Suites are located on immediate edge of central gathering area. Noise until after 11 at night.

    Best medina riad access location for Morocco trip with car.

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2015

    9.6
    The staff were so friendly and we had a lovely evening meal...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Not exactly a bad experience , but would have benefited from a telephone to reception in our room

    The staff were so friendly and we had a lovely evening meal on arrival even though it was quite late in the evening. Breakfast was excellent

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2015

    10
    Whole ambiance - location, staff friendliness, including...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Hot water intermittent in the morning. Shower when hot! When relaxing round the pool, too many staff coming and going - just being perhaps too critical!

    Whole ambiance - location, staff friendliness, including pick up from railway station ( get the raid to collect you as you may not find it first time in the dark! OK after a few trips in and out!) Courtesy of the waiting staff, cleaners etc.. Cleanliness. Food.

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2015

    9.2
    The location the food and the staff were all excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We like to read in bed and the rooms are too dark. we had to use a torch! But otherwise an excellent stay

    The location the food and the staff were all excellent

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2015

    9.6
    Terrace and pool area are lovely
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A drinks tariff would have been helpful.

    Terrace and pool area are lovely

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2015

    8.3
    NICE RIAD
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    HARD TO FIND ON ARRIVAL

    NICE RIAD

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2015

    10
    Everything!
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Everything!

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2015

    9.2
    The bedrooms are individual and are stunning.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Only disappointment was that there was no hot water for a shower when we arrived late afternoon.

    The bedrooms are individual and are stunning.

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2015

    9.6
    Our welcome was great and the rooms were spacious and clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Bathrooms have no doors. Showers have no curtains.

    Our welcome was great and the rooms were spacious and clean.

There are also 7 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 40

Guests also reviewed these properties: