Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Riad karmela

10,derb el ferrane azbezt Marrakech, Medina, 400008 Marrakech, Morocco

#130 of 930 hotels in Marrakech

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 299 hotel reviews

9.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.5

  • Comfort

    9.2

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    9.2

  • Staff

    9.5

  • Value for money

    9.1

  • Free WiFi

    8.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more- opens a dialog box
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2018

    10
    staff (extraordinary helpful), excellent location, rooms and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to dislike - was perfect especially as was traveling with four teenagers and one adult.

    staff (extraordinary helpful), excellent location, rooms and overall atmosphere (Moroccan paradise), breakfast

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2018

    10
    Excellent all around!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing.

    The Riad Karmela was a beautiful and fantastic place. We stayed 4 nights and everything was excellent. Everyone on staff is extremely friendly and will go out of their way to accommodate their guests...hats off especially to Khalid and Nasi (?) behind the front desk. They were most attentive to us the entire time!

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2018

    8.0
    Overall a nice stay, but if making any special requests avoid involving the night shift clerk.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Airport transfer driver provided by the Riad needs a bigger sign with only the hotel's name on it. The sign had 2 hotel names on it and so we missed seeing the Riad's name on the lower half. The night shift clerk needs more training and communication between the different shifts could be better. Checking in, night shift clerk could not find our reservation in the computer and at 2 in the morning, it's tough to have to wait. He finally used our printout to find it. When we were checking out, again, he could not find our info. He also did not know we were to have breakfast downstairs (pre-arranged the day before) before leaving so nothing was prepared. We ended up with bread, cheese, dry cake and coffee. Nothing like the breakfast that 3 other guests received right before us fruit, juice, croissants, meats and cheeses. So the first impression and the last impression of this property was mediocre.

    The Riad is beautiful, tranquil. Breakfast on the roof top had a nice selection of meats, cheese, yogurt, fruit and fresh juice. Our room was large and comfortable, the AC worked well. The bed was comfy, but the pillows were a bit too high and hard. The shampoo and soap smelled really nice, had an aromatherapy feeling, not perfumey. Nice to hear the birds chirping in the courtyard in the mornings. The Hammam experience was wonderful, relaxing. We did the scrub and 1 hour massage. If you want to have dinner at the rooftop restaurant, need to make a reservation. We were able to request a city tour and the Riad provided an informative and entertaining guide, Aziz. There is no elevator, so if you have trouble with stairs, request a room on the ground floor.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2018

    9.6
    A lovely, comfortable, well maintained, well-managed,...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The riad would have been very difficult to find at first without an experienced driver, but the communication system between the taxi service and reception is excellent, as is luggage carriage to and from the square close by. Finding our way through the nearby soukh was actually an adventure that added to the exotic experience of being in the Maghreb. The water pressure in one of our bathroom taps was a bit low, but this is a minor detail, given the age of the building we were staying in!

    A lovely, comfortable, well maintained, well-managed, tastefully decorated traditional riad right in the medina, with excellent service and loads of traditional atmosphere. A haven of peace amid the bustle outside, yet a short walk to some of the main sights. Very helpful host and staff who made great recommendations about places of interest and how to find our way to them through the soukh! We really liked the and simple décor of our cool room and the attention to preserving many architectural features and details of a traditional riad: the tiled tadelakt bathroom with ornate brassware and fittings, the beautiful courtyard with its light and shade, cascading greenery, painted traditional doors and windows, serene zelig tiled fountain and sitting areas. Very attractive small communal living rooms off the courtyard to lounge or read in the cool as well. Very good buffet breakfast and wonderful traditional dinner served up in the roofgarden amid limewashed walls at shaded tables in flowering pot garden visited by twittering birds. Attentive, charming waitstaff, all trilingual in Arabic, French and English and with an excellent level of Spanish, Portuguese, German and more between them. Excellent security. Our gratitude to the honest and very obliging chambermaid who went out of her way to personally deliver us a valuable left behind in our room. Impressive. Chapeau au patron et au personnel!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2018

    9.6
    Small oasis in the middle of the busy medina
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The medina is a special place but late at night does not always feel safe. As taxis cannot get to the riad easily, you could consider taking a tuk tuk to and from the riad

    The riad is connected to two other riads and therefore you can choose different spots and corners to sit, eat & drink or relax. And three roof terraces and (small) pools / jacuzzis! Most staff is very friendly and helpful

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    10
    Great property in great location for exploring the Médina.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    An oasis of calm and peace amidst the chaos of the Médina. Staff went above and beyond to make our stay enjoyable. Meals on rooftop were romantic and tasty. Peaceful fountain in center courtyard with lush foliage was so relaxing and charming.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2018

    9.6
    A+ excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I think a foot guide on 1st day could have been helpful....

    Riad Karmela caters to your whim and fancy..the other guests were a nice evening interaction. Food was great and staff super helpful in arranging trips, tours etc....

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    10
    we loved the contrast of the hussle and bussle of the Medina, with the calm oasis of the Riad.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Absolutely no complaints!!

    My niece and I visited Marrakech to celebrate her graduation. We both loved the riad and the city. A totally relaxed atmosphere and the staff were, without exception, helpful and efficient. Day trips, dinner reservations and a cookery course were all organized for us.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    9.2
    We stayed for 4 nights and had a very enjoyable stay and would recommend the Riad.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I got lost so many times so it is necessary to learn the routes. I was worried about getting an early morning taxi and finding the driver, but I needed have worried as the driver was on time and took us to our pre-booked car.

    We liked the simplicity and friendliness of all the staff at the Riad and we had a lovely welcome of mint tea and local cakes on arrival. The taxi was organised for us to and from the airport and this is a must unless you know where you are going. The location is in the heart of the Medina which is a maze and we should have paid more attention to the instructions given to us by the Riad staff. Breakfast was lovely with a good choice of juice, drinks and cold and hot food available including eggs cooked as you would like. The only downside was the steps which I hadn't taken into account and this is a personal matter only as I have bad knees. The breakfast and dinner is on the terrace, so if you have any joint problems request a downstairs room and breakfast downstairs. This will be accommodated I am sure.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    10
    nice riad!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    our room was very big! We loved the decorations in our room, you can tell the riad is very popular, it is way bigger than other riads we have been to. Also, there were 2-3 turtles in the lobby, very cute. If you want to go somewhere far, ask them to book a round trip taxi for you!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    10
    Magical dinners on the rooftops, thx Mohcine & Khalid!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My vacation was too short!

    Special regards to Mohcine and Khalid! Amazing, thoughtful staff who took care of every detail of our trip! I was wondering how to start my review: the beauty of the courts, the mint tea, the central location, the delicious food freshly and specially cooked, the continuous care, the privacy, the many rooftops, the views, the originality of decorations, the turtles, the tropical flowers, the songs of the birds, the perfect sunny weather, the private guided tours? By far, the answer is: each and everyone who works here will welome you with a warm, friendly, open smile!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    8.8
    Riad Karmela is a wonderful place to stay in this wonderful city!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Breakfast selection good (loved the fresh rasberries and home-made marmalade and pastries every day), but it could be a little more varied. Choice between thin bed linen and heavy woollen blankets did not quite fit the spring weather, one option was rather too cold, the other too hot.

    Beautiful courtyard, very cozy and amazing and child-friendly staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    8.8
    we went left leaving the alley and got into an area that was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    scammers.. tricking us to go this way and asking for money...

    we went left leaving the alley and got into an area that was not so nice and got lost... better if we had gone right.. toward souks etc for visitors.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    8.8
    Busy lively and eye opening
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    In depth directions how to get to places recommended restaurant and advised us how to deal with people who may try and take advantage as we were tourists

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    6.7
    Overall a pretty setting but a lot of flaws
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very important-This Riad does not have taxi access. You must walk at least five to ten minutes to catch a taxi. When you want to go back to the riad at the end of the day, and try to catch a taxi, the taxis do not know where it is. Also, the owner seemed very curt. Did not even say thank you upon our departure after three nights. Hammam was a strange and unpleasant experience.

    Pretty setting

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    10
    Amazing place
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Good location, extremely friendly staff. Room is large, clean and adequate. Bathroom has everything we needed. The diner is beyond amazing, the free breakfast is unbelievable. Every one there went above and beyond to serve us. What a wonderful experience!!!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    10
    A hidden gem in the heart of the city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    N/A - there was nothing you couldn’t like.

    Wonderful Riad in the heart of the Médina.Do not miss the traditional Moroccan food served for dinner, it is fabulous, the chef is very clever.All of the staff were very professional and provided a 5 star level of service.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    10
    Great riad in the medina
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very beautiful chambers. Great breakfast. Cozy roof terrace, perfect for an afternoon chill. Very friendly and helpfull staff! They arranged the pick up at the airport for us and we could leave the luggage we didn't need when we went on a 3 day Atlas and Sahara trip. Next time we visit Marrakech we will book this Riad again.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    10
    Great service, pure Marrakesch atmosphere...absolutely recommendable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had an amazing stay at Riad Karmela. Everyone was very helpful and made our stay in Marrakesch unforgettable. The Riad is as shown on the pictures, the service very good and very friendly and the organization (shuttle, trip to Essaouira) perfect. We also had dinner which was very fresh and delicious (Riad Princesse) Thank you so much for the good time at your Riad.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    8.8
    A pleasant and relaxing stay with very friendly staff who looked after us very well.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The smell from the shower drain.

    The orange and passion fruit juices provided a breakfast were lovely. The bed and pillows were really comfy and the towels and dressing gowns provided were great. A lovely powerful hot shower every morning was fab.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    9.2
    The Riad is great with an awesome roof terrace. but their greatest asset is the staff, brilliant!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 7 nights

    No TV, Telephone or a small refrigerator in the rooms as advertised (not a big issue or a showstopper but these amenities were highlighted as available during booking on the website - false advertising!!!) ; the apartment room that we stayed in could have done with a bit more privacy; as well as separate toilets/bathroom (the only way to get to the bathroom was via one of the rooms and with 5 of us in the apartment it was a challenge initially).

    The ambiance..totally different from the usual 4 /5 * hotels. Made us feel very much at home.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    10
    Lovely riad
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Lovely riad, very clean and well kept. Beautiful interior. Very service-minded and attentive staff. Great location. Would definitely stay there again.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    10
    Excellent service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The staff really take pride in what they do. They make sure everyone staying at the Riad is having a wonderful experience. From providing tips on places to visit to accommodating meal requests. I am very picky as to where I stay and a frequent traveler but I highly recommend this riad if you want to explore the true Marrakesh and be close to all the popular sites, without having to take taxis. I do recommend bringing a PM2.5 mask if you will be strolling around the little streets in Marrakesh all day, due to the motorcycles making it very polluted for pedestrians (and yes, there are a lot of motorcycles!)

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    9.6
    We stayed at the Princess Karmela(new building) Great property and staff. Happy we stayed here.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The management could do better regarding the breakfast. It seemed a little less and everything was cold. For vegetarians hardly any options.Breakfast options could be more and better.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    10
    A very warm welcome, front of House were superb, ensuring...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A very warm welcome, front of House were superb, ensuring our stay in Marrakech was easy and memorable. All staff were attentive, the setting was sublime, the rooms very comfortable and eating the delicious food on the roof terrace was spectacular.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    9.6
    I want to go back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There is nothing I didn't like.

    Loved this hotel. Not sure why but we were upgraded to the Riad Karmela Princess right next door. It was our little haven away from the hustle and bustle of the crazy medina. The hotels (both the Karmela and the Princess) are beautifully decorated and you really feel like you're in Morocco. The staff and the owner Joel went over and above to please us. We loved coming back to the hotel for a swim in the afternoon to cool down from the 40c++ temperatures.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    10
    AMAZING
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    First time in Maroc, I had many doubts when I was booking our accomodation. My choice clearly overpassed my expectations!! - Amazing friendly staff. When we left, we were feeling somehow we were already part of that family. Mrs bouchard (Riad's director) and all the staff were helpful, friendly, always willing to please you and extremely kind. No words to thank them for how they made us feel confortable there. I travel a LOT due to my work, all over the world. Believe me, is rare to find a gem like this one. - We were accomodated in the Riad Pricesse (upgrade with no added fee). New Riad right in front of the Riad Karmela. Brand new place, extremely clean, very nice arranged and decorated. - Location is great, 5-10min walk North-East of Jemaa el Fna square. You have ths Souks in your doorstep. - I highly advise to contract the taxi service that the Riad is offering you. Otherwise, it's true can be difficult to find. - Breakfast is good enough. There is all you need to start the day with the right foot. We did not tried the restaurant's food as we were having our meals in town. - Quality/price ratio is in my opinion, unbeatable. Thanks a lot to all KP's family for making our holiday in Marrakech something unforgettable! We will come back!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    10
    A peaceful, stunning haven amongst the madness of the medina
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The walk from the Riad to the Souks/Main Square is only a short walk - however it's tricky to find. Be prepared to be bombarded from young locals wanting to show you the way for a fee. All part of the experience in our opinion though x

    This Riad is a beautiful, quiet haven amongst the madness of the medina. Was my husbands 50th & we were kindly given a free room upgrade to the next door Riad Princess Karmela (only 4 months old). Staff couldn't have been more helpful. Would recommend eating evening meal at Riad 3 courses for €20 food was amazing.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    6.7
    Pretty oasis in the medina. Beware other loud guests.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Guests that stay on the roof terrace past dinner and speak loudly until well past midnight. Acoustics in some areas result in the sounds echoing loudly in the rooms making it difficult to relax or sleep.

    Beautiful with many gorgeously tiled and decorated hidden lounge spaces.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    9.6
    Would stay here again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast fare was generous but not at par with the quality of the Riad amenities and rooms.

    Comfortable and relaxing. A great place to come home to after a busy day at the souks or the desert. The hammam and massages are a must!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2017

    9.6
    Relax, renew and breathe
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    EVERYTHING! Especially the staff who were absolutely wonderful! The beautiful fountain, orange trees, tortoise's walking about and the steam room and massage are great too!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2017

    9.6
    Very beautiful hotel and friendly personnel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very beautiful hotel and friendly personnel. Keep in mind that it takes some time to walk there from the car or any road. Nice terrace on the roof top with jacuzzi and sun beds

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    9.2
    Beautiful Riad for a wonderful stay in Marrakech
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing we didn't like was the bed. Not really comfortable because the mattress was too hard.

    The riad is beautiful! A real Marroc experience at a good location in the middle of the old medina. Very friendly and helpful staff. Thank you for a wonderful stay!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2017

    10
    Just lovely
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The riad is just beautiful , with lovely features in the building. There are orange trees growing in the courtyard where meals are served and fresh flowers everywhere. It has a tranquil feel to it and a pretty roof terrace. We were also well advised by the owner on getting around, what to pay for things, where to eat etc which is really helpful in such a different place.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2017

    8.3
    The staff were very friendly and cheerful!
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The first room we stayed in was freshly panted and smells so strong. The sheets didn't feel like cotton or Lenin for a high end riad, the pillows were stuffed with polyester filling that made my head swit all night and they are very uncomfortable to sleep on. we ended up moving to another room (also smelled like fresh paint but little better), the room is dark red colored including the ceiling. No privacy at all times, you could be easily seen by other guests,could not keep our green and red checkers curtains open at all times! It was suffocating. Although we stayed in five nights, the owner was not curious to have a chat with us at all.

    The staff were very friendly and cheerful!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2017

    9.2
    very enjoyable stay in a delightful small and quiet riad, away from the hassle.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Not very much, although the bed was a bit hard. Although the dinners were of very good quality, they were all based on a variation of a tagine. We would have liked a Couscous at least one night.

    The location was very good, close to various museums and very quiet. The staff bent over backwards to help - lovely people. They give you a map and explain everything when you get there. Transfer to and from taxi was smooth although the cases had to be transferred some distance from where the taxi stopped, which was done by a man with a cart. The Riad Transfer was essential and worth the money. Watch out for hangers on trying to charge extra for the service. The roof terrace was fantastic, as was the restaurant area. The whole Raid was beautifully restored and authentic looking. The food was very good. Breakfasts were healthy, with fruit, nuts, cereal, yogurt as well as a hot dish and muffins. Eggs also available. We ate our evening meal in the Riad every evening and had a different main dish every time.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2017

    8.3
    An oasis in the middle of the mad medina
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location although very close to the medina. Was extremely hard to locate and through some treacherous alleys with building work and motor bikes to avoid.

    The calmness and decor, lots of relaxing places to sit. The owner and staff very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2017

    10
    Just lovely.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just lovely. Impeccable. An oasis in the Medina where little song birds make their home among orange trees and a cool fountain. Cozy fireplaces in the winter, airy rooftop in the summer. Delicious and abundant typical local breakfast and home made jams. Kind and most helpful staff. Tasteful decor and fresh roses really complete the atmosphere.Spa with Moroccan beauty treatments.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2017

    9.2
    Wonderful holiday stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lighting could have been better in the rooms and the beds were not the most comfortable- but small areas for improvement- I liked the traditional style to the rooms and decorative touches.

    The staff was absolutely lovely - incredibly friendly and welcoming. We were overwhelmed when we first entered the beautiful courtyard space with its traditional details and decorations and then warmly greeted with tea and Moroccan pastries. Breakfast was great and the dinner event we went to was fantastic with delicious food. The roof terrace we discovered looked comfortable even on a wintry day, and the new property next door with its more modern touches looked interesting.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2017

    10
    Friendly helpful staff in fabulous surroundings!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The staff were so helpful, attentive and friendly. The breakfast was wonderful......the fresh orange juice, fresh moroccan breads, and lovely selection of fruits, cheese, pastries YUM!! We ate in most evenings and it was so quiet....away from all the bustle of the medina. perfect end to busy days sightseeing. The rooms were wonderfully decorated and the lounge areas were so cosy with olive wood fires lit for us each evening.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2017

    10
    A Hidden Paradise
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The staff could not be more friendlier or accomodating! We were always greeted with a smile, asked how our day had been and if we were enjoying our stay in Marrakech so far. They also made sure to let us know that if we needed anything else, to just ask. The riad, itself, was like a hidden paradise! Walking toward the Riad through a dark and narrow alley in the Medina, it doesn't look like much. But, once you open the door- Wowww! Completely different atmosphere! They made us feel at home by welcoming us to the riad and offering us traditional Moroccan mint tea and sweets, while they went over a map of Marrakech and explained where the sights were in relation to the riad. They then left us to enjoy the rest of our mint tea and sweets and just relax and settle in. And I cannot forget to mention how wonderful the food was here! We had dinner here on our first and last nights at the riad, and both times, we were so impressed by the quality and flavor of all of the food we were served. They made sure we did not have the same thing twice, as well, which we very much appreciated. Overall, we really enjoyed our stay at Riad Karmela, and if we ever find ourselves back in Marrakech, we will for sure stay here again.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2016

    8.8
    Friendly, cosy and clean riad at good location. Definitely worth to stay when visiting Marrakech.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only thing we did not like was the bed: rather small and very hard.

    Very friendly and helpful staff, all speaking really good english. We were welcomed with tea and baklava. Comfortable and cosy riad at a great location on walking distance from the big square. Lovely breakfast.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2016

    8.3
    Everything is great.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 4 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Never forget ear plugs. The hotel has many patios, you may have morning noises from people going out of their rooms, breakfast etc. but that is really a tip more than something I did not like.

    Everything is great. If you arrive late in the night nearby, call the hotel and they will come to collect you whatever the time is. I loved that it is remote though it means you have to walk there and it's not easy to find. Do not hesitate to tell the phone number of the hotel to the driver so they can call to find the place. A car or a taxi will drop you to bigger streets or a little square nearby but you will have to walk a couple of minutes. This is actually very nice to stay in a remote place like this.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2018

    9.2
    Nice stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower could work better

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2018

    10
    The location, the beds, the towels, the WiFi, the lunch
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location, the beds, the towels, the WiFi, the lunch

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2018

    9.2
    The stay was even better than we could hope for
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The roof-terrace was excellent! Very good service! It was so calm and relaxing on the Riad, Close to the very busy surroundings.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2018

    8.5
    Beautiful decorations .
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful decorations . Staff helpful and super friendly. Easy access to the main square

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2018

    5.8
    Poor communication and organization
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor communication and organization

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    10
    The staff are always warm and welcoming.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, everything was perfect

    The staff are always warm and welcoming. The room was perfect and the location is amazing for the square.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    6.7
    Location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cockroaches in one room. Okay but not impressive breakfast. Staff not the warmest

    Location. Clean. Nice property

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    9.2
    If you are looking for Moroccan experience it's a good...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If you are looking for Moroccan experience it's a good place to stay. Just ask for the second floor unit.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    10
    Highly recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were amazing

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    9.6
    Happy Customer
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/A

    Good customer service (staff are very friendly and approachable).

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    9.6
    The staff was very kind and efficient
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was very kind and efficient

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    9.2
    Lovely Riad. Oasis of calm in a crazy city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Bed was a little hard.

    Friendly, knowledgeable staff. Lovely setting. Easy transfers from airport.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    10
    Amazing jewel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff and the beauty of the Riad was excellent

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    10
    Raid Karmela was a asthetically pleasing and friendly place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The spa could have been better

    The eye to detail as to how we liked our eggs each morning and the speed of service

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    10
    Excellent Riad close to the spice market, we loved it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Very friendly and helpful staff. Delicious evening meal at the Karmela Princess sister Riad. Vegetarian and child friendly.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    10
    I can’t wait to come back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite with Balcony
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breackfast and hard pillows

    Great authentic property. Location is the best, close to everything in Médina. Staff friendly very helpful. Thanks to all.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    9.2
    Beautiful interior.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful interior. Friendly staff - familiar atmosphere. Lovely terrace.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    10
    Can't wait to go back to this magical city
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The breakfast was excellent. We ate twice at the Hotel and it was also excellent. They also had snacks available all day and were of high standard

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    9.2
    Absolutely delicious food (in both the traditional and the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Absolutely delicious food (in both the traditional and the modern restaurants), super helpful and nice staff, very comfortable room

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    10
    The Riad was full of charm and character as well as the most friendliest staff we've come across
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Atmosphere, Friendly and helpful staff who were very attententive

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    10
    Just a super location and calm oasis in the middle of a wonderful city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything was as always perfect, great staff, great location and good and plentiful breakfast.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    10
    Bed was very comfortable and staff really great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Bed was very comfortable and staff really great!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    7.1
    It was quite an experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The transfer taxi to the airport didn't show up.

    It was like an oasis among the chaos in the streets outside.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    9.6
    1000 and 1 nights stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfectly situated in the old Medina close to the square and the souk. Beautiful Riad with excelent staff

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    10
    Super relaxing and such helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower

    Beautiful riad, inner courtyards and lovely roof terrace

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    10
    Unbelievable, customer service, room and breakfast 10/10
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything the riad was perfect

    This riad was next to none, great position excellent service and amenities.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    10
    Incredible experience and likely to come back
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything - the staff were excellent, the food was great and the experience was amazing

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    7.5
    I grows on me, so I had a wonderful stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location

    Friendly staff

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    6.3
    A calm environment, with good staff all round, the breakfast could be better with some hot choices
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The fact that it is so close to the market

    The bed is comfy, the property is tranquil at all time

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    10
    Exceptional property - close to the souks
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Truly an "oasis" - staff was very courteous and accomadating

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    8.8
    There is a hammam right at the riad.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is a hammam right at the riad.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    8.8
    location, the staff, shuttle service
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The furniture is a little bit old and used.

    location, the staff, shuttle service

    Stayed in May 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: