Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Riad l'Ayel d'Essaouira

28 Rue Malek Ben El Morahhal, Ahl Agadir, 44000 Essaouira, Morocco

#24 of 88 hotels in Essaouira

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 252 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9

  • Comfort

    8.4

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    8.5

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    8.7

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    2.5
    - no wifi in the room, most of the time not even on the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Moucharabieh Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    - no wifi in the room, most of the time not even on the floor - on the rooftop terrace no pillow and full of stool of cats and seegulls (same on our terasse) - the muezzin next door extremely loud shouting around 4 - 4.30 in the morning - no presseure in the shower, hot and cold water changing accidentally - double bed in a separate box without window - 3 % extra fee if you pay buy card (nowhere else during our 2 week-trip in Morocco) - no cancellation in case of unsatisfaction or sickness - if the Riad is full, you have to wait to get served the breakfast

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    8.3
    Good for the price and would definitely stay there again. 😁
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Cherafa Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No mini fridge to keep our drinks cold. No TV in room. No where to dry clothes. No fly screens on windows. Mosque wakes us up at 4.30 am 🙂. Breakfast could be better.

    Good location and friendly staff. Clean and smelled nice. Come and go as we like. Would stay there again. Tissues, body wash and shampoo was nice welcome.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    10
    Very helpful and kind owners who greeted us like friends,...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Triple Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    -

    Very helpful and kind owners who greeted us like friends, with Moroccan mint tea and cookies. Breakfast was delicious and fresh, with the best orange juice and baguette we had in Morocco. Beautifully renovated and decorated riad, very clean rooms with handcrafted furniture. Spacious bathroom and shower with perfect water pressure. Best Riad in Essaouira!! Definitely coming back someday!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    10
    The cleanest hotel I saw in Morocco
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Moucharabieh Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    nothing

    Very nice place to stay. Great location - very close to the port and to the big parking. The cleanest hotel I saw in Morocco: very clean rooms and bathroom. Great hosts, very nice and helpful. They have a great bakery just across the street. Good wi-fi connection.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    9.2
    Great riad in Essaouira
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Berbère Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Because it's a traditional riad, there is no ceiling fan so we found the room at night a bit stifling. The seagulls are also quite noisy in the early morning (let alone the mosque prayers) - part of the medina charm :)

    Lovely riad in the middle of the medina. Jean-Paul greeted us warmly and the riad was exactly what we expected and the staff was friendly. We are a family of four so a bit tight in the room but everything was clean and the linens were nice. Beds were very firm. Breakfast was a simple continental (coffee/tea/juice, crepe, warm bread with butter and jam) It was a great place and we were able to explore easily from the riad.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    4.2
    No recommendation
    • Solo traveller
    • Triple Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 14 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room of my friend wasn't proper clean. We wanted to leave after 2 days but we would asked to stay 2 days more and so the owner could rent the room out. So we followed his request and payed our 4 days stay. When I saw my credit card statement at home, I found out that he charged my credit card with an other 600 Euro, without my concent. Stay away from this Riad in Essaouira.

    Breakfast was very nice. The manager was excelent and did his best. The personal was very nice too.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    6.7
    The location itself it’s great, staff was ok, the room was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Mogador Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Towels not replaced, room with bed smell, no toilet roll replaced

    The location itself it’s great, staff was ok, the room was provide with set of shower towel only for the first night, same for bed sheets and toilet roll.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    8.8
    Great location in Essaouira
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    In the rooms on the bottom floor you can hear and sometimes even smell things from outside.

    We really liked the location and the breakfast. We also spent quite a lot of time on the terrace.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    8.8
    A very good option for a budget stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Cherafa Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room had a bit of a smell, probably normal for these kind of old buildings. The terrace is nice but was dirty form the birds.

    The Riad has a good location, the rooms are clean and nicely decorated. The breakfast was good and fresh.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    9.2
    Real Moroccan host
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Cherafa Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    In the winter it was a bit cool in the room, breakfast could be a bit more abundant.

    The accommodation is located in the heart of the city, a true Moroccan-style inn.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    8.8
    Overall good experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Cherafa Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no internet connection in the room on the last floor, only outside the room.

    Nice little riad in medina. The room on the last floor was quite silent during our stay. The room was clean enough. Basic breakfast is served.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    10
    A cosy Riad with beautiful decor and wonderful staff. I would definitely come back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Mogador Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    At times, the roof top would smell very bad, it put me off staying up there for long periods of time. Some incense up there would be great.

    The staff were very polite and helpful; Lasan the manager was the only person on site who spoke English however his colleagues were always there to help where they could. The room was fantastic, very clean with a huge bathroom!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    10
    Friendly, quiet & wonderful Moroccan charm. Rooms cleaned regularly & breakfast was perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Mogador Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perhaps room was a little chilly in the evening but that was the time of year we visited & was easily resolved by putting on a few extra layers.

    Great breakfast, lovely clean room with lots of Moroccan charm. Great central location, I would highly recommend staying here.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    9.6
    Great place!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Mogador Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We loved this beautiful and cosy Riad, very nice and clean and great breakfast! Its close to everything and very quite. It has a nice terasse as well!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    8.8
    It's nice stay in a Riad
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Moucharabieh Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We took the room which is on the second floor. There were only 1 room. Bit scared in the night. But safety only.

    It's inside the Medine and near beach

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    9.6
    Lovely and homely place to stay for your holidays.m
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Mogador Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately the room we were upgraded to faced the street so we heard every single word being said throughout the night!Even the conversations being had at the end of the phone...

    We were well looked after by Hannah and Lachan we were given an upgrade of our room for the same price that we booked. Plenty of food was provided for us at breakfast to get you through the day.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    9.6
    Beautiful & clean for an excellent price!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Mogador Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ground floor room: You could hear it very well when somebody was talking outside, but it didn't bother us much.

    Super nice room and bathroom, excellent employers, beautiful Riad.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2017

    10
    Relaxing in paradise
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Mogador Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything from start to finish was perfect, very warm and welcoming, given space but they ensured we had everything we needed excellent food can't recommend highly enough

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    10
    Great location, helpful, friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Moucharabieh Suite
    • Stayed 8 nights

    The beds were a little hard but that didn't spoil our visit.

    The staff and owner were all very helpful and friendly - nothing was too much trouble. The location is excellent, in the centre of the Medina but in a very quiet street with only a short walk (5-7 minutes) to the beach.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2017

    7.5
    Good location and nice helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cherafa Triple Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We met the owner very briefly as he was on his way back to Paris where he works. He did not appear to speak much English if any, not a problem for us, but it may be for some. Some protein at breakfast would be nice-- yogurt or eggs, perhaps. The bed was not comfortable. We like a firm bed, but this just felt like a very old hard futon. The thin pillowtop on the mattress didn't help. The pillows were also hard and felt like compacted cotton--no spring whatsover. The bathroom sink had a serious leak whenever we turned on the taps. As a result we had to use one of the hand towels to keep the water from going onto the floor and by midday it was soaked.

    The location is excellent, just a 2-minute walk into one of the main streets of the medina. We felt totally safe here, and there is a restaurant that features live jazz almost next door. The staff were great too, very helpful at all times and responsive to our requests. The breakfast was OK, the usual for Morocco--bread, butter, jam, a little fruit and fresh o.j. The coffee was good and hot and plentiful. There is a nice lounge with working fireplace available to guests. The staff helped us get our laundry sent out and brought back the next day for a reasonable fee.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2017

    9.6
    Beautiful tranquil Riad in a brilliant location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Mogador Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The curtains could be a little thicker as the children across the way could still see into our room even with the curtains closed. Otherwise, there is nothing to fault!

    Beautiful riad! Paid for one of the smaller rooms but the owner upgraded us to a bigger and even more beautiful room at no extra cost. Location was perfect! Room was comfortable, and we were even supplied with a heater to get the slight chill out of the room. Would certainly stay again, great value!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2017

    8.8
    Friendly, clean Riad in the centre of Essaouira
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Moucharabieh Suite
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Beds hard which pleased me but not my friends. Rate on website is not in Dirhams, but this is what is charged! Booking.com unable to confirm the rate in Dirhams

    Staff were friendly and helpful. Charges very reasonable.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2016

    10
    Just waiting to come back !
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Mogador Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/a (except that my stay was too short, and I was sad to leave...)

    Excellent location and outstanding service ! Jean-Paul and his wife the owners, Lahcen the exceptional manager,t he kindest Hanane and Hasna (rooms & breakfast) and Rachid the night guard everyone - and all together made me feel more than at home. Thank you so much !

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2016

    6.3
    Riad refuses to issue receipt for extra billing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Berbère Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We could not arrive as scheduled because bags were lost at the Casablanca airport. We were charged for room anyway, but despite repeated requests for a receipt in order to bill my travel insurance for the delay, I have received nothing. The food was just mediocre.

    The two women running the riad were kind and very helpful.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2016

    10
    Very nice and good price
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Cherafa Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing to dislike!

    Very friendly and warm welcoming with tea and cookies, the staff was realy nice! Clean and charming Riad. Good breakfast, nice rooms, good bathroom and a nice terrace.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2016

    6.3
    Great location but rooms with little space
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Cherafa Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It was very expensive even in comparison to Marrakesh. We paid 60e per night for a small room. Somehow we were not welcomed with cookies and tea and the room was not made on the last day of our stay. No air-condition.

    Location is perfect. Middle of medina but on a small, quite street. Breakfast was nice. We were moved to a different room after first night because the windows' blinds were removed for painting and there was too much light and noise in the morning. Thank you for that.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2016

    9.6
    Lovely stay in Essaouira.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    If there was one tiny thing to complain about: our room did not have hot water and the other room's shower drain was a bit blocked. To us it did not matter that much.

    It was all we could ask for an overnight stay in Essaouira. The hostess bakes the best cookies and served us tea at our arrival (as is customary in Morocco it seems!). The host, Jean-Paul, gave us great tips on where to eat and what to see. Essaouira was our favourite destination in all of Morocco and this lovely riad definitely contributed to our enjoyable experience!

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    10
    hope to be back
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Moucharabieh Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    -

    All was perfect!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    9.6
    Great location, right in the middle of the medina and 5 mins...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Mogador Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location, right in the middle of the medina and 5 mins from the beach, nice roof terrace too.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    8.8
    Staff and location were great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Berbère Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff and location were great!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    9.6
    The Riad is realy nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The Riad is realy nice. Location is perfect since it's in the medina. Breakfast was good.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    5.8
    The location was good, rooms were clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Mogador Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The roof top was nothing like the photos. No cushions, lots of cat poo. Nowhere to sit

    The location was good, rooms were clean

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    9.6
    Very nice riad in old town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cherafa Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very nice riad in old town.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    8.3
    The staff were very helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Mogador Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff

    The staff were very friendly and accomodative.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    9.6
    Great stay. Lovely Riad
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Berbère Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great location. Friendly and lovely staff. Comfortable and clean rooms.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    9.2
    Very good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Mogador Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small room.

    Very good location. Nice owner

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    9.2
    Beautiful little riad in the middle of Essaouira
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Mogador Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    - nice and clean room+toilet+shower - tasty and fresh breakfast - friendly staff - in the middle of medina

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    10
    Great customer service
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Moucharabieh Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    None

    Great customer service Great location Great food Great enployees

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    8.3
    We enjoyed it and we had a great time in Elssaouira, Morocco
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Berbère Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    More light in the bathroom

    The breakfast was delicious!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    10
    The Riad is very beautiful and clean with comfortable beds...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Berbère Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Riad is very beautiful and clean with comfortable beds and nicely furnished bedrooms and bathrooms. The included breakfast was also very good.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    9.2
    Very friendly people.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Moucharabieh Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly people. Nice place. Very good breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    6.3
    the guy at the road is just rude and not professional at all
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    the guy at the road is just rude and not professional at all

    nice and busy location

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    10
    Affordable boutique accommodation in heart of essaouira i
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Mogador Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing - everything was perfect.

    Style of the riad, hospitality of the owners, comfortable bed, location, breakfast

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2017

    7.9
    Do not accept card even having on booking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Mogador Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Do not accept card even having on booking.com that they do.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2017

    10
    Cute and beautiful decor
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cherafa Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great service, friendly staff, great location and wonderful city. Sure to return!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2017

    9.6
    Excelent and charming place to stay!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Mogador Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was perfect but we would have apreciated different variety of food for breakfast

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2016

    9.6
    Beautiful, comfortable room.
    • Family with young children
    • Moucharabieh Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    More hot water

    Beautiful, comfortable room. Lovely reception rooms

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2016

    10
    Good location, nice interior.:)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Mogador Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I liked the interior, very beautiful and full of space bathroom. The same was with the room.Good location.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2016

    10
    Every single thing was perfect and I recommend it to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Cherafa Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Every single thing was perfect and I recommend it to everyone to try this experience.. thank you so much for your hospitality

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2016

    10
    Beautiful place very good location and lovely people
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Mogador Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful place very good location and lovely people

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2016

    8.8
    Perfect!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Mogador Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great staff, and great terrace! The room is cozy ans the riad is really nice

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2016

    6.7
    Riad is well located.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Riad is well located. We were met by 2 ladies,members of staff who were not really welcoming but pre-occupied with their own stuff. They made us waiting before they let us in into our rooms. Later we met the owner the young man, who seemed to be the only one friendly person in the house. Apart from the cold welcome, overall good experience, we stayed only 1 night

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2016

    8.3
    Very nice manager and crew, very helpful!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Very nice manager and crew, very helpful! He upgraded us for free :) He was very quick in answering our emails :) They asked us what we drink for breakfast and I said coffee and tea, so they brought us every morning both. Even in the evening they offered us sometimes a tea, we enjoyed that a lot and not to forget the nice music and the fireplace :) Thanks to you guys

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2016

    7.9
    Well located just off the Main Street of the medina.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Very smelly animal droppings (cat I think) left of the roof terrace for the whole time we were there.

    Well located just off the Main Street of the medina. Rooms beautifully decorated, clean and comfortable. Staff seemed nice but due to my basic French, conversation was limited. Filling continental breakfast in the downstairs dining room. Bright roof top terrace which would have been a lovely place for breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2016

    10
    We were upgraded the next day to a bigger suite.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends

    Cat poop was on the roof which was cleaned up.

    We were upgraded the next day to a bigger suite. We only paid £145 for six nights with breakfast. The staff were amazing and bent over backwards to help. Hannah cooked a superb meal the second night. Her Moroccan couscous was a delight. Sunroof to sunbathe before adventuring out to the mellah.

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2016

    10
    The owners Christine and Jean Paul were the perfect hosts...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing.

    The owners Christine and Jean Paul were the perfect hosts and extremely welcoming.The Riad had excellent facilities with a beautiful roof top terrace. The bedroom was large, spacious and comfortable and the bathroom was large and opulent with a columned full length bath - simply luxurious. The breakfast was sublime and served on the terrace in the sunshine. Location perfect for the medina and the coast.

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2016

    10
    An absolutely beautiful property, not a detail has been...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    An absolutely beautiful property, not a detail has been missed here. Such a calm, perfectly decorated and clean hotel. The staff are so friendly and lovely, they were genuinely happy and caring and always a pleasure to see when we came back to the riad each day. One of the best places I've ever stayed in during my travels. Thank you, 10/10. Perfect location too!

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2016

    10
    Everything was perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    ... Only the we fact we could spent just one night there, 'cos we've already booked elsewhere... Our fault!

    Everything was perfect. Jean Paul is a very kind man: we book a room, but 'cos we're the only guests he moved us in a bigger room! Love it.

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2015

    9.6
    Best Riad I stayed in during my travels in Morocco.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The staff were very friendly but I would have appreciated being offered a little more assistance at times as I felt like I was imposing when I did ask questions.

    Best Riad I stayed in during my travels in Morocco. It's absolutely beautiful inside and out (lovely terrace), they serve a fantastic breakfast and it's right in the heart of the medina.

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2015

    6.7
    We went there on october 2015.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Simple riad but not as friendly as some other places. Despite the helpful staff, I didn't feel a warm atmosphear. The terrace seems under construction and full of dirt, a pity we can't use it. They offered us the choice to choose between the "mogador" room on the 1st floor and the newer suite on the ground floor: We took this last one but it smells too much the mold (that's why there is 3 humidity collector in the bathroom) and is by the street: It is a bit noisy at night. You can close the windows (and there is a grid for safety) but this is not enough I think. Few details (nothing major though): I found some hair on the pillows, no toilet paper at arrival (simply forgotten), trash not empty. You have to share the small table for breakfast with all the guest.

    We went there on october 2015. Welcome with tea + biscuits & traditional music ! The staff is helpful but too discreet in my opinion. Well located (+ the Supratour bus station is 5min walk !) and easy to find. They can inform you on hammam and stuffs around. Clean bathroom and room well decorated.

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2015

    8.3
    The Riad is really in the medina, 2 minutes from everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The room didn't have air condition and it was really warm at night.

    The Riad is really in the medina, 2 minutes from everything. The decoration is really nice and since they are doing some construction I think it will even better. Quality/price is good.

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2015

    8.8
    Riad l'Ayel d'Essaouira was easy to find, very close...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Riad l'Ayel d'Essaouira was easy to find, very close to the Marrakech gate of the medina. Our room was spacious and clean. Breakfast - pastries, juice and coffee - was served in the dining room downstairs.

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2015

    9.6
    The staff - amazing food, great service and made us feel...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The bed was too hard, but got used to it. Noisy as we had a room with windows - but can;t avoid that.

    The staff - amazing food, great service and made us feel safe and at home Great location the room was clean, had free wifi and was serviced every day. perfect, though we had a room by the street so was a bit noisy. That comes with the territory We had an evening meal every other day and the cook/housekeeper is an incredible cook. When we had a meal outside, it didn't compare. She is a treasure.

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2015

    7.9
    Lovely and clean riad, bit difficult to find at first- like...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bed wasn't the most comfortable and made a lot of noise every time you moved! Room was a little small.

    Lovely and clean riad, bit difficult to find at first- like most riads but once found the location was excellent. The rooftop terrace was lovely and a real suntrap. Breakfast was really good and very generous. Essaouira is a really lovely town to visit and the seafood was fantastic.

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2015

    10
    Excellent central location, lovely hosts very helpful,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The room we booked for four adults was much too small, one double bed and two narrow short couch beds.

    Excellent central location, lovely hosts very helpful, lovely complimentary breakfast, beautiful bathroom, clean - excellent!

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2016

    9.2
    Beautiful small guesthouse on great location, very kind...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Beautiful small guesthouse on great location, very kind staff. Room was small but clean, with surprisingly spacious and nicely decorated bathroom.

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2016

    10
    Excellent value - perfect location, lovely decor, clean,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Excellent value - perfect location, lovely decor, clean, friendly staff who goes the extra mile, great breakfast. Thank you!

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2016

    9.2
    Nice room, clean and quiet.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Nice room, clean and quiet. We really enjoyed our stay there.

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2015

    9.2
    The stuff, the riad, the location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The riad was not very clean, it the riad would have been clean, it would have been perfect!!

    The stuff, the riad, the location....

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2015

    10
    Excellent place to stay, great atmosphere, helpful people...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Excellent place to stay, great atmosphere, helpful people,location is perfect, in the heart of medina. Rooms are very clean

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2015

    9.6
    In good location nice and cosy riad.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    In good location nice and cosy riad. Feeling like home, a tasty breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2015

    8.8
    Clean and lovely riad.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Clean and lovely riad. The staff is professional and helpful.

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2015

    7.1
    Good WIFI, great bathroom, sufficient breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    For a "suite" the room was too small and the price a little too high.

    Good WIFI, great bathroom, sufficient breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2015

    9.6
    Staff were very helpful at all times but also discreet with...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Staff were very helpful at all times but also discreet with no interference or invasion of privacy. Perfect!

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2015

    10
    Perfect location - friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Internet worked for my friend but not for me but doing without internet is ok when on holiday

    Perfect location - friendly staff

There are also 11 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Riad l'Ayel d'Essaouira traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: