Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Riad Le Grand Large

2, Rue Oum Rabia, 44 000 Essaouira, Morocco

#54 of 88 hotels in Essaouira

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 678 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.1

  • Comfort

    7.5

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    7.5

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    7.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    5.0
    A claustrophobic, dirty place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was no parking available but I understand it. The reception lady was sort of disinterested in the arrival of the new guests. I did not experience anything 'enchanting' there. When I come back to the description of the place on Booking, I see they mentioned some SPA and wellness center... What?! There was supposed to be some restaurant there... Well, I saw none. They also put some room service... no experience of such whatsoever. I understand it was a traditional Riad, etc but the standard it offered was way below our expectations. The room was dark, gloomy, the bathroom was just filthy. The room was rather disgusting. The WiFi extremely poor. I am still not sure it was the real Riad experience... I am confused and disappointed about this place.

    It was supposed to be situated in the heart of Essaouira's historic centre and it was.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    7.1
    We loved the location, breakfast was good in a beautiful...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We got bed bugs in our room. We discovered them before going to sleep and we were not able to get much more sleep after that. We’ve been dealing with the bites and now drying our stuff at high temperatures plus throwing away some of our belongings because of this. We really loved the place and the great value for money but taking into account the consequences, we would not stay here again.

    We loved the location, breakfast was good in a beautiful rooftop and staff was really nice. Our room was big and with so much light.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    9.6
    Excellent Riad
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    everything was great.

    This place was great, it was in the middle of the Medina, everything was close by, the staff were very friendly when we checked in and also at breakfast; which was simple but delicious, good coffee good juice and toast with a selection of jams and honey. our room was serviced daily with fresh towels everyday which I didn't expect but was really pleasantly surprised by, I would definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    8.8
    Stylish riad at the heart of medina
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very beautiful riad - with great terrace, stylish, clean rooms in the heart of medina. Definitely would go again. Breakfast served at the terrace - bread, jam, orange juice, tea and coffee.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    7.5
    Nice place for liw budget, but could use an upgrade
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room felt a bit damp, the bed and the linen felt a bit old... towels could be fresher/newer. One of the days got burnt toast . It is a budget place, but it still should feel clean.

    Location is good and the terrace is nice

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    5.0
    The property is very dark, no sunlight except for the...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property is very dark, no sunlight except for the terrace, my room was very poor, only one small window but inside the corridor! The bathroom was really awful, the lavabo broken, no windows !

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    9.2
    Simple but beautiful, friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom doors in our room didn’t close fully - if you and your friends/partners need more privacy in the bathroom this might annoy you.

    Friendly staff, great location in Medina, beautiful terrace. Cute rooms. For the money you pay you get a great value.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    8.8
    Great location in the middle of the souks and an easy walk...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower head has to be held in your hand and the bathroom floor would get wet

    Great location in the middle of the souks and an easy walk from the bus station. Lost of shops and restaurants around, not far from the beach. Breakfast on the rooftop patio consisted of toasted bread, butter, jam, coffee, juice, and another item that changed daily

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    8.8
    Nice place in the middle of medina
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very good location -in the middle of medina. The breakfast was served on the roof terrace which is nice but the seaguls tried to steel our food. They are after the butter not the bread so just hide it from them:)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    8.8
    Great value, friendly staff and super location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Shower curtain was too short so the water spilled on to the floor each time we showered. Our room was directly below the kitchen so we were woken early most days by all sorts of kitchen sounds and moving furniture.

    I loved the small, cozy, intimate room and it's beautiful colors. The bed was comfortable and pillows were good. The staff was very friendly and rooftop terrace was lovely. The location of the hotel was absolutely perfect. Right in the middle of town and yet we were not bothered by outside noise. Breakfast was also good however we did buy our own fruit to add to our breakfast. Small, cozy & romantic. :)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    7.1
    not worth the money. photos show better then it is
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was smelly and a bit mouldy. Or they put so much chlorine for cleaning to remove the strange smell (The bathroom. Had no window. I had a room with window indoor.) No air circulation. I was disappointed because the fotos let it show much better. And I am not sure if the room was healthy. Either because of the chemical cleaning stuff or the mould/ black stains in bathroom or room.

    The roofterasse was the best. Breakfast was alright. Road very central in media.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    10
    Beautiful riad in the heart of the Medina
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything was perfect.

    We had a beautiful room with a super nice bathroom. The terrace is just amazing, the breakfast is good and the staff very friendly. The riad is in the middle of the Medina and thus super easy to reach and to find. Highly recommended!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    9.6
    Great central location, staff were very friendly and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit noisy in the reception area late at night especially as I was trying to get some sleep.

    Great central location, staff were very friendly and helpful in terms of helping us organise activists e.g-horse riding.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    10
    Compliments for this beautiful and charming Riad.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Compliments for this beautiful and charming Riad. I really enjoyed my stay. Nezha, the owner, was very friendly and took a lot of time explaining everything to me and gave me a great tip for a hammam. I had to be at the airport very early the day of my departure. Nezha organized everything for me and booked me a taxi. I was especially happy about my breakfast, which she gave me in a 'breakfast box' for the trip. The Riad was very clean and well furnished. I really felt very well and can only recommend it.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    7.9
    I thought Le Grand Large was a very good place to stay, central, friendly staff, great breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A couple of things to be aware. My bedroom (double) was on first floor facing the alley. The Riad being close to the main street, and windows single glaze, as mentioned in other reviews it can be a bit noisy till late at night... and you might hear the first prayer call. The Riad could be better indicated from main street. I passed it a couple of times before asking and finding it. The clue is a big orange sign for the Hammam down the same alley. Could help to add something for the Riad itself. Other suggestions: Provide more chairs or seat protection on the terrace... the big cushions can be a bit too humid to sit on at breakfast.

    Le Grand Large is a nice Dar and the staff is very friendly and helpful. Special mention to the cleaning lady who helped out when I arrived. The reviews spoke of the very good breakfast, and I wasn't disappointed. I had been travelling across Morocco for 10 days before arriving in Essaouira, so I had quite a few to compare with! Good coffee (and you can ask for refill!), bread, msemen, fresh orange juice, choice of jam (not just the apricot one!), butter - to be enjoyed on the roof terrace. Be aware of the seagulls when you leave - remember to cover up the butter if there is any left! (these guys don't care for bread ;-)). Bright spacious bedroom, comfortable bed, riad centrally located, hot water... all in all a very good place to stay.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    7.9
    Calm place near the Port
    • People with friends
    • Double Room or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    -The rooms without external windows were poorly ventilated.

    -Nice & comfy place to stay in. -Fantastic breakfast served in a wonderful roof terrace. -If possible request the rooms with natural light.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    6.7
    The location of the hotel was amazing, breakfast was very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was not very cosy and quite small. Also the bathroom could have been cleaner and there were ants everywhere unfortunately.

    The location of the hotel was amazing, breakfast was very nice and beautiful terrasse!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    7.9
    Great location, very nice stuff, nice decorated rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bad internet connection (but it’s normal in Morrocco). We asked for a foot towel for the bathroom, but they could not offer one.

    Great location, very nice stuff, nice decorated rooms

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    8.3
    Riad Le Grand Large is located right in the old town and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Talking about breakfast, there's room for improvement. Less bread, butter and jam and more variety- some fruit or a hot meal would be great. Be aware that streets of Medina can be quite noisy until late.

    Riad Le Grand Large is located right in the old town and offers great view from the rooftop terrace. Our room was beautiful and cosy, property staff was friendly and kind. Definitely recommended.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    9.6
    Great roof top terrace
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi wasn't working in our room Very basic equipped bathroom (no soap or bin) Front-door was locked one night

    Great roof top terrace Freshly renovated Friendly, English speaking staff

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    10
    Good spot for location and quietness
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi was weak to non existent outside of the reception area but this is due to the thick walls, which aid a quiet environment so this was fine.

    Really quiet and homely place, centrally located. I had a large double room on the terrace level, very spacious and comfortable with en suite bathroom. A simple but filling breakfast.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    9.6
    Fantastic
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The tap in toilet got some problems of its position, when I open the tap the water splash out all over my pants.

    Fantastic place! I wanted to stay for one more night but the reservation was full so I have to go find another riad in the same price. And when I get there I found it’s a very dirty and uncomfortable place, it makes me love the grand more.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    9.2
    Great except for the wind on the awning of the roof!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We got very little sleep because if the plastic covering over the courtyard roof blowing very violently in the wind. Nothing that could be done, but we were very tired the next day and it really was loud! Best not to stay on the top floor.

    The roof terrace, the bathroom, and the staff were fab.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    7.5
    Lovey Riad but avoid room 7 or you won't get any sleep.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Please at all cost avoid room 7 which over looks the main alley as there is constant noise 24hr. There is also pharmacy opposite which has a green flashing strobe light that illuminates the room and did cause us 3sleepless nights.

    The location is good. Breakfast is one of best ever in Essaouira served on the roof terrace byavery helpful young lady. Very clean riad and in good order.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    6.3
    for this price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Both sockets next to our bed didn't work, so there was just one and this one we needed to have heat. The light next to the bed also didn't function. There is no socket in the bathroom. The mattress felt too used, it should be turned around more often.

    It was close to the beach.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    7.5
    Nice!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cold water after taking a shower of 2-3 minutes... (small boiler)

    Breakfast was very nICE (juice,coffee/tea,bread,omelette,Jam,marmelade and honey -Like everywhere)! Located in the centre of the Medina. Took us just a few minutes (3-5) to the famous place. The pick up at the airport was great!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2018

    8.3
    Very nice place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Wifi quite chill in rooms. Beds are not comfortable, small pillows.

    The atmosphere of this place is very nice. Nice crafted rooms with vibrant blue color implementation. Stuff is very opened and friendly. Location is good in the most downtown everything is just few steps away. Central bus station is like 15 minute walk, CTM bus station is like 35 minute walk. Very nice roof top terrace where they serve small breakfast each morning with a company of seagulls. In the cozy yard it has nice library stall. For cold winter nights they have heating in all rooms.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    7.9
    Nice place in a nice town..
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Outdoor rooftop breakfast in a cold windy town with seagulls standing over you makes for a lot of cold uneaten toast...

    Right in the heart of the medina in Essaouira. Comfortable, clean room, with amiable staff... Good wifi and easy enough to find..

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    10
    Excellent clean, friendly riad.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was really large and overlooked the Medina. Great terrace to enjoy the sun and have breakfast. Riad also offers water, tea and coffee onsite which was really nice. Would totally recommend this riad.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2018

    7.9
    Decent place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It took the breakfast lady 15 min to make breakfast to a couple that showed up before us for breakfast, and with another couple also waiting for breakfast before us we figured it would take us at least another 15 min to get served. We showed up for breakfast 45 min before the bus we had to catch, but had to leave without breakfast because it took too long.

    Good location. Big room. Good shower. A lot of power outlets. And a heater.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    8.3
    Tasty breakfast- freshly squeezed orange juice, mint tea,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room 6 bright and large although overlooks the street and the pharmacy light flashes outside the window all night, Room 9 dark and dingy, you have to step through the shower to get to the toilet and because of the design the shower floods into the room which left a puddle making the room smell like a swimming pool (in their credit the hotel provided extra towels to mop it up as soon as we complained and apologised for not having another room free).

    Tasty breakfast- freshly squeezed orange juice, mint tea, coffee, toasted baguettes and condiments. Nice helpful staff. Great location in the middle of the Medina. The Riad is a 5 min walk from the medina entrances (vehicles cannot go in).

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    6.7
    It is a nice place with some cons, but we would probably stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Compared to other Riads we stayed in and the service we received there, the price was a little high. The room was clean, but the facilities were covered with limestone. Also, the towels had stains on them and were ripped at some ends. They were freshly washed, but still - we would expect clean towels.

    The owner of the Riad is really nice and we were welcomed warmly. We could leave our luggage to explore the Medina while the room was being cleaned (we arrived early). The Riad is in the middle of the old Medina of Essaouira, so it has a perfect location to reach everything within minutes by foot. Also, the roof top terrace is really nice to enjoy some sun. The owner even helped us book a moroccan cooking class, which we really enjoyed.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    8.8
    Great location, nice people, nice Riad with beautiful...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor internet connection ( no connection in our room), dark room ( no outside window) and poor breakfast.

    Great location, nice people, nice Riad with beautiful terrace and view, definitely worth the price. Rooms were clean, water was hot.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    6.3
    The breakfast included and the location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The size of the bed sheets were so small that me and my boyfriend couldn't share properly. the room didn't have a bathroom originally, it was adapted to have one so the humidity from the bathroom never dries.

    The breakfast included and the location

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2017

    9.2
    The Riad is very nice looking, very clean and the position...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Riad is very nice looking, very clean and the position is perfect, right in the centre village. Fantastic terrace for breackfast or drinking a cup of marocan tea. Very recommended!!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    8.8
    Great location in the middle of medina.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location in the middle of medina. Great value , stylish and clean . Breakfast ( toasted baguettes ,jam ,marmalade , freshly squized juice and coffee plus egg or pancake ) was good .

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2017

    9.6
    Everything was perfect, the riad is located in the centre of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was perfect, the riad is located in the centre of Medina, so don't expect it to be quite at night. The medina is very nice. Breakfast is served at the roof terrace. You must park your car somewhere in the city, not in the Medina

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    7.5
    nice stay, very good price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the bathroom was a bit strange, but I guess the old riads are like that. breakfast has to be improved, very basic: toast with butter and jam and orange juice. in other places they make you moroccan crepes or things a little bit more elaborate. anyway we could not eat the second morning due to food poissoning we got in a restaurant :(

    the riad does not look much like in the pictures but it's still nice, an old riad in the medina. we got food poissoned and requested to check out later on the day because we had fever and they did not put any problem, so this was nice from them. I think for the price we paid it was perfect.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    8.8
    A bargain, friendly staff, great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    First night flashing light from an opposite building which lit up our room at night. We changed rooms to the top floor which was really great as we had the roof top terrace. However, there was a bad odor from the bathroom.

    Staff friendly and great location, good price

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    9.6
    Everything was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It turned out to be a bit difficult to find the place, because there is no sign on the big street, but the nice seller from the neighbour shop showed us the door. It was noisy in the room, but it is expectable in the center of Medina.

    Everything was great. Nice staff, tasty breakfast, you have opportunity to use the kitchen, the room was small but clean and warm.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    9.2
    The riad is located in the middle of the medina, down a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bathroom is an odd design, with an open shower in front of the toilet, not really a problem though! There was a window next to our bed overlooking the stair case, but again, just shut the curtains and it isn't really a problem.

    The riad is located in the middle of the medina, down a little side street. It was relatively easy to find. We were given keys for the front door, which is unusual and made us feel slightly more comfortable about coming and going without disturbing the staff. The room was big and comfortable, there was no air conditioning but the temperature was ok without anyway. The room was cleaned daily and fresh towels were provided.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    9.2
    Great place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was really nice and traditional, it was the nicest hotel we stayed at during our trip through morocco. The location is great, staff are friendly and helpful, wifi works well. The room was big and had a good bathroom.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2017

    6.7
    Good location, but not great if you like a good night rest
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed wasn't really comfortable because the mattress wasn't tight, so you kind of sink in it. The toilet was missing a toilet seat.. At night there can be too much noise outside from drunk people and boys who play loud music.

    Very friendly staff who helps you with good tips for restaurants or spa facilities in the area. Breakfast is a bit basic but it's enough to fill your stomach. The location is nearby the souk, the beach and a healthy walking distance from things right outside the medina like the bus places of Suppratours or CTM.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    5.4
    The internet connection was quick and the location was great
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was dump, no natural light in the room and we find bugs in the bed. Every time you have a shower the plug hole doesn't drain quick enough and it makes a flood in the whole bathroom with no ventilation.

    The internet connection was quick and the location was great

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    5.8
    Bedbugs
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were left knocking and waiting outside when we arrived as receptionist was out somewhere. First room (1) had a bathroom that flooded, toilet was noisy, and ended up stinking of urine. It made our room damp overnight as you cannot close the bathroom doors without the inside lock. They moved us to a second room (8) and we thought it was better, but discovered bed bugs that night on the mattress when we were in bed. Booked another hostel and left in the morning after paying for the two nights.

    Good location in old medina

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    7.5
    Good value for money!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The terrace is nice but we expected more because of what we showed in the pictures. The staff was not very helpful sometimes when we asked about recommendations about what to do/visit around.

    The breakfast served in the terrace is good! abundant and tasty. The location of the riad is great! Easy to find, right in the middle of the medina.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    7.1
    Generosity and Flexibility of staff to adapt to my wishes...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room Terrace
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I somehow wasn't Aware that the terrace in front of my room was open to all guests of the Riad, so I had people chatting right in front of my window until late at night and again early in morning, as breakfast was served, there. When I mentioned that to the staff I was immediately given another room!

    Generosity and Flexibility of staff to adapt to my wishes and requests!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    7.9
    Not fancy, but Good value for your money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is great, right in the medina off one of the main alleys. The room was fine: more on the basic side of a riad room, bathroom was a little run down and the sink didn't drain well plus the shower curtain had no effect whatsoever on the water seeping onto the floor so there was a constant pool of water in the bathroom at all times. But, the price was really cheap; so I guess it'd be comparable to staying in a private room in a hostel. One huge plus however: the give you a key to the outer door along with your room key so you can come and go at all hours without disturbing anyone

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    3.8
    Location is not bad but noisy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We did not have internet for the whole of our stay (2 days) nor compensation for it. The room is very small specially compared to all other riads we have been before. You get the light through the window and wake you up, so does the noise from outside. Breakfast is served in the terrace which is not very clean and seagulls are awaiting to eat your food. Coffe is not very good (with a lot of sediment). They mentioned a 24 h reception but we didn't see anyone there when we were looking for them. There is No TV room in the location as mentioned in the description. Overall no good value for money. We would not repeat.

    Location is not bad but noisy

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    9.6
    The staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room Terrace
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff! From the first moment of my arrival they tried to make me feel comfortable and welcomed. They were willing to satisfy all my inquires in the best way possible, always with a smile.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2017

    6.7
    Great location but some improvements are needed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The riad itself is good and the location is perfect. However, communication prior to the stay was inexistent. I tried to reach the riad beforehand to arrange check in time (we would arrive around lunch time and weren't sure the bedrooms could be ready) and the best way to get there and got no response. When the group arrived, there was no greeting, we were just handed check in forms and the bedrooms weren't ready. I found it quite impersonal. Breakfast could also be improved.

    The riad itself is good and the location is perfect. However, communication prior to the stay was inexistent. I tried to reach the riad beforehand to arrange check in time (we would arrive around lunch time and weren't sure the bedrooms could be ready) and the best way to get there and got no response. When the group arrived, there was no greeting, we were just handed check in forms and the bedrooms weren't ready. Breakfast could also be improved.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2017

    7.5
    Stylish and good value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There needs to be someone on reception more of the time. Most of the day there was no one around. Not helpful when you need assistance.

    Stylish decoration and great location. Very good value for money.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2017

    10
    The staff at riad grand large are so kind and helpful but in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing- our stay was perfect.

    The staff at riad grand large are so kind and helpful but in a hands off way, just the right balance of customer service. The roof top balcony is also a welcoming calm retreat from the hectic medina.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    7.5
    The staff are a dream very very nice young woman and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The owner could put a few coins into fixing up the basics such as toilet seats and plumbing that doesn't flood each time you shower or use the sink.

    The staff are a dream very very nice young woman and extremely helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2017

    8.8
    Great choice little to fault
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing much a little cold at night but due to weather. Very lovely & charming place

    Great place. Very friendly staff. Fantastic location. Definitely would go back.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    8.3
    The riad was nice and clean with comfortable beds and a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The riad was nice and clean with comfortable beds and a decent bathroom. The terrace was beautiful and gave a good view of the city. Also wifi was really good which is the first time we've experienced that in morocco.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2017

    2.5
    Cheaters! Dont go there
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I really do not understand positive comments on this hotel. We book an amazing light room with window (based on pictures) and we got dirty+mouldy, dark, no window, noisy room. First I saw the room I kindly asked lady Fatifa to change our room for the one we booked but she said this one is full (really? Even if I booked it?) so after I asked she gave me discount what I found fair enough and we both happily agreed on TOTAL price. No problem for me. Next day while we paid she charged us extra fees even though she agreed day before to have a discount. At the end we paid the same price as we would not have any discount and I did not have energy to argue any more. I am not even talking about she gave me probably manager on phone who was shouting to me and arrogantly saying we need to pay more than they said before. While checking out I asked for late check out (12->13:30 o'clock) and they said NO although I have it approved on booking reservation! They do not care about their costumers at all and only thing they want is your money without providing any service. Our room was dirty, mouldy, disgusting bathroom and noisy.

    Lady who served breakfast was lovely but that's all what was good in this hotel

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2017

    8.3
    Pleasant stay in a location a few minutes walk from shops restaurants and bars.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Quite noisy if you have a window on the street side of the building, but I guess that's inevitable in the middle of the medina !

    Good central location in market area. Excellent broadband. Basic, but excellent value for money.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2017

    5.8
    Good location,poor breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was poor.they really need to improve that. Very loud street,we stayed in room number 1 and we could hear everything what's going on outside. They're cleaning rooms every day,but cleaning product for floor is awful,it smells like someones smelly feet and that smell stays in the room half of the day. Wifi in our room was poor.

    The room was big and good.the staff was more than great-they pick us up at 22 pm at the bus station and they don't normally provide that service,for what we are thankfull.the location was great,in the heart of medina

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2017

    8.3
    Solid bet in the Medina
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing - for me it was good value for money.

    The staff, the location, the WIFI. Actually, it is a nice hotel and very central. It is a hotel between good and very good!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2017

    7.9
    Favourite town so far in our month in Morrocco...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    An authentic Morroccon experience, Rooms were small but provided the essentials, own bathroom/toilet. Rooftop terrace gave us a great view of the medina and the location was perfect.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2017

    7.5
    Good enough
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights

    For someone that eat no jams in the breakfast there's nothing to eat.No butter,just margarine Cleaning Lady started to clean our room while we still had our bags there,we had little more than hour left. Too dark in the room

    Location good.Breakfast on the terrace.Staff

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2017

    7.1
    Decent riad with amazing roof view!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lock of the room is not easy to use. The toilet will keep dripping water and it's noisy at night.

    Breakfast here is really good. Glasses of orange juice and coffee with bread :) I like the roof top the most. From there we can see the whole view of the town and amazing sunshines.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2017

    6.3
    Roof terrace for breakfast is nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There room was pretty small, but still ok. I had a view on a street from the first floor, but because there was no double glass you could hear everything from outside.

    Roof terrace for breakfast is nice.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2016

    8.8
    Clean and friendly hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Nothing to dislike.

    Zara and Fatia were very polite and went out of their way to be helpful. The hotels location in the Medina made it easy for shopping, restaurants and sightseeing.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2016

    9.2
    Amazing location, very convenient.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Would've been nice to have some fruit with breakfast :)

    Amazing location, very convenient. Chose the terrace room and very glad we did because it was lovely

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2016

    7.1
    Amiable obliging staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location, it was in the middle of the Medina, convenient but noisy from the street.

    We liked the very sincere sweet friendliness of the staff (Female)

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2016

    9.2
    Very good Riad in a lovely town!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    It is exremely well situated near a main street, so quite easy to find. Also, the staff is very sweet, the room is comfortable. I recommand the riad!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2016

    8.8
    Great location, very friendly hard-working staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was pretty basic, linens have seen better days and rooms without an outside window are very stuffy and muggy.

    Great location, very friendly hard-working staff. Internet is great on all floors and they cleaned the room each day.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2016

    8.8
    Vary good riad to stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff speaks only french Tarrace could be more clean but this is case in each riade Doors to riad are closed from outside and there is no staff on the reception all the time

    Location Tarrace Huge room with private bathroom Lady who was preparing brakfast Clean room

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    8.3
    Super staff. Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff are lovely,especially the receptionist and woman at breakfast - such warm welcomes! Good coffee at breakfast as well. Essaouira medina is really cool and the riad is perfectly located amongst the little winding roads.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2016

    10
    good location good for the price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Linen was old and worn out

    Hotel is lovely however make sure you are not in room 4 or 9 they are so dark no windows at all pay extra for the terrace room staff are lovely

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2016

    7.5
    Grande Large riad
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although the bed was made daily I highly suspect the freshness of the linens (not changed).

    Good location, decent view. Included breakfast (coffee/tea, fresh squeezed orange juice, toast, jam, honey) Security lock on front door & room. Room cleaned daily with fresh towels & extra toilet paper. Floors mopped trash removed Comfortable bed. A fair selection of books in the lobby in every language. I read 4 (all the ones I found in English).

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2016

    7.5
    Cheap and cheerful !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms are very dark due to lack of windows.

    We stayed for one night and it was a pleasant stay with a tasty breakfast served on the roof. Slight language barrier with the host so brush up on your french ! Other than that a lovely stay.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    10
    Great place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything

    Nothing

    Stayed in May 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Riad Le Grand Large traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: