Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Riad Louaya

24 Derb El Halfaoui - Dar El Bacha, Medina, 40000 Marrakech, Morocco

#327 of 855 hotels in Marrakech

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 264 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8.4

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    8.4

  • Staff

    9.5

  • Value for money

    8.6

  • Free WiFi

    8.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    10
    Fantastic place to stay in the center of Marrakech.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Ambre Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    If using the futon or the sofa bed make sure to ask for the bedding as it was not readily available in the room.

    Riad Louaya is gorgeous. It is set in the old town about a 5-10 minute walk from Jemaa el-Fnaa. You enter a peaceful courtyard through an ornate wooden door from a walkway. The roof top has several comfortable seating areas and is a very relaxing area to hang out with friends. The rooms are traditionally decorated with great ensuite bathrooms. Hakim, the owner, is very helpful. He contacted us before we arrived to arrange a taxi to pick us up and to direct us to the Riad. Breakfast was delicious. Riad Louaya totally lived up to our expectations, in fact surpassed them. I would highly reccomend staying here.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    7.9
    The property itself is situated in a beautiful riad in an...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Ambre Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had the uppermost room where there is no WiFi signal. We had to go one level down to get a signal. The rooms are pretty worn down although clean. The room is pretty dark. Generally I think it is a little bit overpriced. The location is not the best: it is pretty remote, you have to walk at least 15 minutes to the main square and even more to the palace and the tombs.

    The property itself is situated in a beautiful riad in an area that is quiet. Breakfast is typical Moroccan breakfast- fresh orange juice, some breads and cake and coffee. WiFi is generally pretty good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    5.4
    Don't stay here. There are dozens of very similar Riads in Marrakech for half the price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Ambre Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This Riad advertises having a spa and wellness center, but these claims are completely untrue. What they mean is, there's a spa a 5 minute walk down the road. It's an entirely separate business and guests at Riad Luoaya don't receive any sort of discount. By this logic, every Riad in the Medina could claim to have a spa because there are spas and hammams everywhere. We were really disappointed and felt misled. I strongly advise staying somewhere else in Marrakesh, this place isn't that nice and there are dozens of wonderful riads in Marrakesh for much less money.

    The staff were friendly, the room was nice, and there was a nice terrace on the rooftop.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    4.2
    Not light, not confy and not clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Ambre Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room had water in the floor, bed too small, not much light, it was not very clean and felt unhappy touching the boanket covering our bed.

    Not much.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    8.3
    ...the staff in charge went right away and bought me some...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Patchouli Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No honey for breakfast (which I would expect in Morocco) but...

    ...the staff in charge went right away and bought me some (honey), it was extremely nice to do this. Also the night before the staff came with me to help me find something to eat near the riad. The riad is lovely, thoughtful decoration, nice courtyard.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    7.5
    It was a very nice stay, very good overall feeling, although not very good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Patchouli Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had to pay cash in local currency for everything including the stay and it cost me a fortune in exchange rates. I wish we could have been told about this before.

    The staff was very friendly and helpful. The breakfast lacked variety but was nice, great coffee, fresh orange juice, and the diner excellent. Very nice views of the Medina from the terraces. Lovely property.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    8.8
    Perfect holidays spent in this riad, wonderful and with a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Ambre Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect holidays spent in this riad, wonderful and with a good position. The breakfast on The terrasse was great and take a tea with the purfume of orange tree was fantastic! Thank you to Ali very Kindly! Me and my cousin loved spent time here. We will come back as soon as possibile!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    8.8
    Very pleasant stay in old-city
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing major or particular.

    The location is really very good. Being in a narrow street it might seem a little hard-to-find in the beginning but once you learn about your whereabouts you realize that it is just on the main-line crossing through the old city (property is just next to Dar-Bahca) - so you can easily reach anywhere in the old-city on foot. Ali (the main housekeeper) -together with other employees- is a calm, friendly and helpful guy who is always willing to help the guests in a best way.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    10
    Can highly recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Jasmin Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    WI-FI signal did not reach to the room. Shower cold / hot knobs were mixed meaning red is cold and blue is hot

    Very friendly staff. Nice location. Excellent facilities

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    10
    It was a great experience staying there.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Neroli Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It was a great experience staying there. We requested a pick up from the train station, a very convenient way if you are tired or not very good at finding ways (kind of hard to find if you don't have someone to show you the first time). Riad is clean beautiful and traditional, and you get to wake up with the sound of birds singing, lol. The guy @ reception is super friendly and helpful, gave us a lot of useful advice. Definitely recommended.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2018

    8.3
    Good riad, friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Jasmin Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We went on a rainy and very cold weekend, the riad it’s not ready for the cold, we had a heater but not enough. The bed was quite hard.

    Proper Moroccan riad, the patio was lovely and so was the terrace, shame we didn’t use it as it was raining the all time. Very good breakfast

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2018

    7.5
    The staff was prompt and polite, the riad was clean and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Ambre Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The experience met all of our expectations except one, the room we booked "the hombre room" seemed to be occupied when we arrived and we were given a different smaller room. The language barrier made it difficult to resolve this and the alternative room was nice enough we didn't want to bother with it.

    The staff was prompt and polite, the riad was clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    10
    The riad is very typical, and the staff are very fiendly and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Ambre Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The riad is very typical, and the staff are very fiendly and helpful. We were impressed by quiet and silence, we are hosted in ambra room at the ground floor, but never i slept so well. Riad is very colse to the main place to visit, and always we moved only by walking. Breakfast are very good and rich.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2017

    10
    Would recommend this place to everyone and will definitely stay there again if we ever get back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Patchouli Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Great location, thankfully we were escorted to the Riad upon arrival, otherwiese it would have been difficult to find on our own in the labyrinths of downtown Marrakech! Beautifully appointed room in a serene and quiet part of town (relatively!). Wonderful terrace with lovely seating areas. Fantsatic breakfsat which varied every day. Very relaxed and extremely professional and helpful staff.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    7.1
    Staff was friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Jasmin Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little bit expensive

    Staff was friendly and helpful. Breakfast ok. A little bit more expensive than other riad in Morocco, but the only one which issued invoice and asked for passports.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2017

    10
    Friendly and helpful stuff, good location, clean room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Patchouli Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Same breakfast every day, it was delicious but a bit boring after 4 days. Wifi was not too strong.

    Friendly and helpful stuff, good location, clean room.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    9.6
    Authentic stay in the Medina of Marrakech
    • Group
    • Jasmin Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Riad Louaya was great. Staff was extremely nice and helpful, Ali and the owner Hakim helped me a lot during our stay! The location was good, too: you could come quite near the riad with a taxi. It is difficult to find at first, since the alleys of the Medina are labyrinthine everywhere, but the riad can pick you up from the airport etc. Good breakfast, loved the orange trees in the courtyard!!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    9.2
    I would move into this riad, if I could!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This riad is absolutely gorgeous! The courtyard with the lime trees and fountain is a wonderful spot to sip tea and enjoy breakfast (which is delicious with fresh pastries, fresh squeezed juice and good coffee or mint tea); and the rooftop is quiet and tranquil. We were welcomed to the Riad by the exceptionally helpful and friendly staff and were served mint tea. A staff member even went out to the pharmacy to fetch some medication for my friend who had a terrible headache at the time of check-in. The staff was incredibly kind and very accommodating. Parking was located about a 5-10 minute walk from the Riad, but if you have light baggage, it is no problem at all.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    9.6
    Best nights in Marrakech
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Jasmin Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff Was adorable, best location in Marrakech, far from the crazy noise but still in the center of Medina, near some very nice streets to buy souvenir and everything. Very safe. Very good breakfast. Very comfortable room with air conditioning and wifi. Great rooftop to enjoy a beautiful sunset.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    10
    Great value for money!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Patchouli Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The riad is both, traditionally designed with modern details. The location is central, only 10-minute walk from Jemaa El Fna. The room and the bathroom are very spacious and clean. The host was very caring and helpful, he printed the necessary documents for us immediately after we asked. Great value for money, highly recommended!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2017

    9.2
    Relaxing and comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little bit hard to find

    First of all, Halil, our host. He gave us heartwarming welcome and helped us with everything first night (the parking, the bagagge, the dinner...). Also, the lady who looked after our rooms. Location was excellent (in medina). Rooms were clean. Breakfast was delicious. Absolute quietness in the night and birds singing in the morning.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2017

    9.2
    The best quality-price in Marrakech!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Patchouli Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The only disadvantage for the rooftop room is that during the day time, it's a bit hot but not that much. We can always hide in the shadow of the courtyard downstairs.

    This riad only has five rooms, which means there are only a limited number of guests so that it's very quite. All space is cosy with tasty local decorations. We are given the only room on the rooftop. The big advantage is that from the room we have the direct access to rooftop terrace. Although it's a shared place for all, but as I said, there are only a few guests, so most of the time, we have the whole terrace on our own, where we can read, work, relax or for afternoon tea. The reception was warm and decent. We feel like at home.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2017

    9.6
    Excellent emplacement in Marakech.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Ambre Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The man Who welcome us was very polite, a gentleman always ready to help us.the terrasse was great and our room "Santal" on the roof!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2017

    10
    Amazing traditional road hotel, the rooms were beautiful and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Any noise in the building is very loud as it echoes in the courtyard, but this was rarely an issue

    Amazing traditional road hotel, the rooms were beautiful and really made us feel like we were in marrakech, not just some anonymous hotel that could be anywhere.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2017

    10
    An ideal riad; Cost-effective, clean and caring.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Jasmin Double Room
    • Stayed 12 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We really can't think of anything!

    Ali and Najat were both wonderful. Ali was not only always available to look after us but was a great source of advice on a range of things; souk prices, places to eat, places to buy things. .. He also went the extra mile to accommodate extra needs we might have. Najat was always friendly and kept our rooms clean and beautifully made up daily. She also did our washing periodically, a great bonus on top of everything. The riad is ideally situated, far enough away from the souks and big square to be quiet but close enough to walk to everywhere of interest. It was very comfortable without being luxurious and expensive.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2017

    8.8
    Great riad experience near the city centre!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Jasmin Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was a little bit noisy, I suppose because of the acoustic of building, but not at the point that we couldn't sleep. The terrace was under renovation works so we couldn't go there. We couldn't pay with a card (like in almost every place in Marrakesh).

    Riad Louaya was a good surprise for us. Great decoration of the bedroom and common areas. The staff was helpful without being annoying. The breakfast was good, thought it was always the same.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2016

    9.2
    Fab little riad!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Neroli Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Highly recommend hotel transfer from airport as it is hidden away from the streets.

    Lovely staff - very helpful and friendly. Really cute little terrace. Comfy bed.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2016

    9.6
    Very nice place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Jasmin Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I couldn't pay with card as the machine was damage so i have to pay with all the cash i had at the moment

    Very clean, confy and pretty. The location was excellent and the manager couldn't be more helpful. Very happy to choose this place!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2016

    8.3
    Awesome staff, breakfast and good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the rooms were not so good as they seemed in the pictures, although they were comfortable enough. It is easy to find after you get used to, but the first time was very hard

    The staff there (Ali) went the extra mile to make sure we were comfortable, helped us with tours and even went with us to some places to show us the way. He was always there to help, even late night or very early morning. This things made all the difference for us. The breakfast was with no doubt the best we had in Morocco. 10 min walk from the square

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2016

    10
    * The Riad of wonders *
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Patchouli Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    -

    all perfect. so perfect that I would enshrine the existence of this Riad just for me. the extremely friendly staff, friendly. few rooms with attention to detail, an inner courtyard and a private terrace colored elegant and romantic. The riad is in a safe area and close to the souq and the square Jemaa el Fna.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2016

    9.2
    Comfortable and friendly
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Neroli Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bit hard to get to, but matter of getting used to. The approach lane Was a bit dark in parts. Patio was quite cold

    Great host, Hakim was very helpful as were rest of the staff. Comfortable and clean

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2016

    7.1
    Not a bad Riad
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Ambre Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lower room 'Ambre' is the only room downstairs. It gets noisy as you can hear every word if anyone is in the courtyard and sometimes the staff need to stay up to let other guests in. The room may have some plumbing issues as there is a funky smell. The room is very dark (some may love this) however we are all about the natural light. At 8am it felt pitch black. Unfortunately we weren't able to leave our windows and doors open as this room opened directly into the courtyard. Wifi did not work upstairs in the chill out zones and lights weren't on at night up there which would have made it more inviting. Card machine not working so had to pay by cash for the accommodation & extra bits.

    The lady who does the breakfast and the cleaning is amazing. She doesn't speak English but is always laughing and does a fantastic job. She even did our Laundry even thought this isn't a usual service provided as we were desperate for clean clothes. Hakim meet us to direct us to the parking near the Medina.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2016

    8.3
    Good value for not big money
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Patchouli Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom was non-trim. Especially the shower walls. Apart of that everything was good:)

    The staff was very helpful!! Breakfast was good. The room was nice. Location good!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2016

    4.2
    Disappointing and sexist
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Patchouli Triple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had an awful experience with the manager Karim 3 days into our stay where he went as far as threatening to call the police on us because we came back "late". We had no knowledge that there was a curfew as its not written in the description, their curfew was 1am and on 2 occasions we came back after 1am. The hotel keeper Ali had told me that he stayed up all night waiting for us to come back to the Riad as he expected us to spend the night at the Riad but we didn't. He didn't complain about anything he just stated that he was up waiting and we apologised. Next thing you know the manager comes out and starts shouting at me asking me to check out because he can't condone such behaviour! He wasn't pleased that we got in late but he jumped into conclusions because we hadn't been reprimanded before this incident. He was very rude towards my friends and I, we were 3 young black girls aged 22. He also went as far as saying we should go back to London or look for another Riad even if we had paid for the complete stay, he demanded that we check out 3 days before the actual date and said he didn't care if we had made the full payment and that its his hotel and he can do what he wants. He doesn't know how to speak to women and it's unfortunate.

    The lady called Najet, who cleans the Riad was very nice and friendly even though she didn't speak much English. She made us breakfast and even got things such as eggs when we wanted them.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2016

    10
    Marrakech is cool!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Neroli Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some ice cubes would be handy, if you wete smart enough to bring something to drink!

    Helpfulness of staff, great breakfasts, grea coffee, relatively quiet, .

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2016

    9.6
    Great Riad in Medina.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Neroli Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Be good if they kept some ice in their freezer! A couple of small,hidden fees and charges, like an inflated exchange rate and " incidentals" charge, should be advised up front.

    Breakfasts great, especially the coffee and the fresh orange juice. Some fresh fruit instead of carbs would be nice, but only if you stay over a few days. Mine host Hakim a great help, very friendly , speaks good English. Narjene who works is also delightful and cannot do enough. Lovely and quiet at night, not often found in Maroc.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    9.2
    The place is an hidden gem.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The place is an hidden gem. We had a great relaxing time. The owner was very kind and cooperative happy to fulfill all our requests. Recommended

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    10
    Very kind staff and a beautiful ground.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Ambre Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very kind staff and a beautiful ground.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    9.6
    The staff were very friendly and so helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Ambre Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can’t think of anything.

    The staff were very friendly and so helpful. Ali even walked us to the bus station to get tickets for go to Agadir.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    9.6
    Lovely little riad for Marrakesh visit
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Jasmin Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very helpful staff. Quiet. Good location. Pretty riad.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    9.2
    Everything was perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Ambre Triple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was perfect. Staff, position, cleanliness. Recommended 100%

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    9.0
    Perfect location, great service, delicious breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Ambre Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was a little bit too hard for partner but it was perfect for me. He likes a softer bed!

    Delicious breakfast, super friendly staff.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2017

    8.8
    Very helpful staff, great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Jasmin Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very helpful staff, great location.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2017

    9.2
    great location, nice building
    • Solo traveller
    • Ambre Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    a bit cold in the night, the same breakfast every day

    great location, nice building

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    10
    very nice!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Ambre Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    there could have been a better breakfast, maybe eggs or fruit, youghurt.

    cosy place, nice staff

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2017

    10
    Definetely our best choice!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Jasmin Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hospitality of its employees. In particular Ibrahim, he made our accomodation incredible. It has been a pleasure in all terms.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    8.8
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Patchouli Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Location

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    7.9
    A modest but pleasant place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Neroli Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were 2 ladies travelling together. We required two beds. The room had one double and one very uncomfortable single.

    Very helpful staff

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    7.1
    Great breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Ambre Triple Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    They gave us a room smaller than we booked even at the end they offered us a bigger (without aircondition)

    Great breakfast

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    9.2
    Such a peaceful little haven, so relaxing :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Patchouli Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Such a peaceful little haven, so relaxing :)

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    8.8
    Breakfast was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Patchouli Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast was great. Staff were really helpful and never pushed anything.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2017

    9.6
    very clean and quiet place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Ambre Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dont have quilt in the room, it could be cold in the night

    very clean and quiet place

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2017

    9.2
    A very nice and pleasant place to sleep. Very quiet and well placed. Welcoming staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A bit difficult to go to the Jemaa El Fnaa place, the riad should suggest a map of the riad.

    The welcome tea offered when you arrive at the riad.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2017

    8.8
    Pretty Riad with adequately sized rooms with friendly and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Ambre Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Quite difficult to find.

    Pretty Riad with adequately sized rooms with friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2016

    8.3
    Personnel, court yard, terrace, the wine
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Ambre Triple Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    When the Riad is full, you hear each other - but then of course it is a Riad. 7 days is just too much.

    Personnel, court yard, terrace, the wine

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2016

    8.3
    Good home made breakfast, helpful staff, clean and peaceful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Patchouli Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good home made breakfast, helpful staff, clean and peaceful.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2016

    10
    good experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Ambre Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    nil

    good location,good Manager, clean, cozy place.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2016

    10
    Friendly staff, clean, good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Jasmin Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly staff, clean, good location

    Stayed in October 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2016

    10
    Ultra nice staff, very nice rooms and awesome patio and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There was just small misunderstanding about our late check-out. So we found our stuff pre-packed in different room :) You will not find it without help (google maps will not help you - but stuff does). Call number on profile is to France, not to the guest house.

    Ultra nice staff, very nice rooms and awesome patio and rooftop terrace. Ali, the manager, was very helpful for us. He helped us to oriented in Marrakesh, organised the trip for us and also did all bookings in restaurants we wanted to visit. They did us laundry for free (we ask them and they were so kind to do it for us - even if it is not part of service).

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2016

    5.8
    it was a comfortable stay overall we had no issues with the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The hotel manager Hakim was very difficult to deal with - we found him to be bullish and quite suffocating, dictating what we should and should not do (disregarding the fact that we have visited marrakech on multiple occasions)

    it was a comfortable stay overall we had no issues with the facilities - Ali and the care taker lady were very helpful.

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2016

    2.5
    Hakim was very disrespectful and indeed very racist , we...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Hakim was very disrespectful and indeed very racist , we were 3 girls and with watever reason was he was keep on shouting at us. He told us he would never accept anyone from our country as we complained about the women who made breakfast for us, when we asked for another orange juice she added water to it and brought us. Their bedsheets were old and one was ripped he wanted to blame us for it. He accused us of not respecting the riad which there was notting to respect or disrespect. I will never recommend this place for anyone. And when we complained about the room he offered me another room for no charge but told me not to tell the owner who was coming from France apparently she was a women. And when we had one day left he kicked us from the riad and didn't give us the full amount of money.

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2016

    7.5
    The staff was very helpful and the place is right in the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The bed was very firm and the water pressure in the bath was quite unstable. The room was really noisy during the evening hours as people were hanging out in the opened terrace. Also some maps & directions and parking options could have been sent out in advance to make life so much easier.

    The staff was very helpful and the place is right in the heart of the medina.

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Amazing! beautiful decor, great location, extremely comfortable, very efficient and hospitable staff. Ali was the best host ever! Made my trip extra special.

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2016

    10
    I love the surrounding in Riad Louaya.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    No complaints. Everythings are perfect. The owner Hakim made me felt welcomed on my first day.

    I love the surrounding in Riad Louaya. Beautifully setting. The staff are excellent specially Ali n the lady. ALU is very helpful n polite. The lady called Nazib(not sure this is the right name).She made some lively home cooked Morocco's dishes. I had a fantastic time staying over there. I will go back again and introduce to my friends.The breakfast is too much for one person. Very generous in the portion of food.

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2016

    9.6
    Very quite rooms and they stay so dark during day light...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    They don't give you drinking water or tea and coffee. Tea and coffee will costed me. They sell you tea and coffee. Horrible breakfast. Just bread and jam. And some other sweets. No cheese or eggs or meat. No protein.

    Very quite rooms and they stay so dark during day light thanks to the nice curtains. Good location.

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2016

    9.5
    - Very friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    - Heating only with small electrical devices (general Moroccan problem in winter nights)

    - Very friendly staff - Central situation near Jamaa al fna - Nice stylish riad, newly renovated - Comfortable room and bathroom - Atrium and rooftop terrace nice for individual relaxing

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2015

    9.6
    Me and two of my girl friends stayed at Riad Louaya after a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Me and two of my girl friends stayed at Riad Louaya after a long two days of traveling through the mountains and the desert in Morocco. The Riad was beautiful and a short walk to the market. The rooms were clean and comfortable and the staff was more than accommodating. Since we arrived at the Riad late at night, one gentleman who worked there asked if we were hungry and offered to order us some food since he was doing the same for himself. This was extremely nice of him as we were starving but nervous to walk around the streets so late at night looking for food. Our flight out of Morocco was early the next morning and this man let us use his computer to print out our boarding pass and set up a taxi for us to get us to the airport. He was a HUGE help to us and made our stay at the Riad comfortable, enjoyable and memorable! On top of it all, the next morning he brought us to the markets and helped us bargain, let us know if we were getting ripped off, or if products were of good quality. We loved our stay at Riad Louaya and recommend everyone to stay here if visiting Marrakech, Morocco!!

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2015

    10
    The staff was super friendly and they made you feel like you...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Make sure that you ask the staff to pick you up! It is truly a maze and for us it was very difficult to find the riad, until we bumped up into Ali, he took us to the riad. Luckily! :) From our experience it is very nice and you should try a riad for a couple of days!

    The staff was super friendly and they made you feel like you were in your own house! They were there everytime you needed them. The riad was also very beautiful and it was located on walking distance from everything.

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2015

    9.2
    The airport pickup was fantastic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room we stayed in had no enclosure for the bathroom and it was open into the room, which for me was a problem because as it turned out, I had stomach problems... so it wasn't convenient, but it wasn't at all bad. Just not a personal preference.

    The airport pickup was fantastic. Very convenient considering how confusing the narrow alleys are. I would highly suggest to book an airport pick up to avoid any headaches and not to rely on pushy local kids who will haggle for money in exchange for taking to the riad.

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2015

    9.6
    If only we had spent longer at Riad Louaya.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    If only we had spent longer at Riad Louaya. We had such a great and comfortable stay. The staff were fantastic, so friendly. Riad Louaya gave us the impression it was a traditional Riad with the class and comfort of a luxury hotel. We were so impressed.

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2015

    9.2
    small riad with only 4 rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    small riad with only 4 rooms. the staff, especially Ali, is very friendly and always care about your needs. nice sun terrace and good traditional breakfast. 10min walk to main square.

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2015

    8.8
    The staff was very friendly helped us for a very early check...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The floor was quite dusty when we arrived but it was cleaned better after housekeeping came. The airport transfer was too much, fortunately, we took a taxi not from the hotel and cost half the hotel charge.

    The staff was very friendly helped us for a very early check out. In addition, we were able to checked in early because the room was available without additional cost.

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2015

    7.9
    We spent a few days in Riad Louaya in Marrakech.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We spent a few days in Riad Louaya in Marrakech. The Riad is located about 15 minutes walking from the place Jemaa el Fna. The Riad itself and the rooms are small but pretty charming and clean. The Riad's rooftop terrace invites you to relax a little bit from all-day walking through the Souks. The personnel in Riad Louaya is very friendly and attentive and they prepared a great Moroccan breakfast for us. They really tried to make our stay as comfortable as possible. We really enjoyed our stay in Riad Louaya and we can highly recommend this place.

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2015

    4.6
    Nice interior, good location (might not be easy to find if...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room was never cleaned during our stay, rubbish was never taken out. Floor was covered by dust. There were huge cockroaches in the room (we managed to kill one) which activated at night and produced strange sounds while crawling. Also I caught a bed bug though we didn't get any bites. They didn't give us entrance key so we had to knock at the door every time we returned.

    Nice interior, good location (might not be easy to find if you don't have a navigator). Hot water. Acceptable breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2015

    9.6
    The staff and service was excellent throughout the whole...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The staff and service was excellent throughout the whole stay. They'd do anything to help and make the visit as pleasant and comfortable as possible.

There are also 15 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Riad Louaya traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: