Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Riad Maryam Taroudant

Avenue Mohamed V Derb Maalem Mohamed, 83000 Taroudant, Morocco

#17 of 28 hotels in Taroudant

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 145 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.1

  • Comfort

    8.7

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    8.5

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    8.7

  • Free WiFi

    9.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 33

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2018

    9.2
    Very good Riad inside the medina.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very good Riad inside the medina. Is not luxury but it’s very good. Don’t miss the Incredible dinner. Is unforgettable. The owner is a very good person and is always present.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    9.2
    The common space of the riad is really stunning: I've...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We never had hot water, apparently for a problem in the city. Dinner is really expensive: I made the mistake of not asking the price beforehand and I was a bit shocked when I found out (20 euro/person), but I have to say that I don't regret it. The setting is really, really luxurious and stunning, the food is simply excellent (only, we couldn't eat half of it because it was really too much, that's why it was a bit of a waste for us). Also the wine (15 euro) was good. But I think the music is unnecessary.

    The common space of the riad is really stunning: I've visited many riads in Morocco but this was by far the most impressive (the rooms are a bit too modern, though). We found a guarded parking place near the main square, for 20 dirham/night. Taroudant is a very interesting town.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    9.2
    Wined and dined excellently, slept peacefully
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The luxuriant growth of the vines keeps the communal seating area on the upper balcony in the shade, and makes it even quite chilly when sun not shining. Out with the shears. Monsieur Habib! Also, it would be nice to be able to sit in the sun on the roof...

    Monsieur Habib and his wife Latifah are excellent hosts, offering a warm and generous welcome. The beautifully tiled interior court is festooned with trailing bougainvillea and other vines and filled with bird song. Rooms are comfortable and traditionally decorated. Breakfast is a feast - fresh bread, pastries, coffee, sweet Moroccan tea and wondrous eggs (a la Berber with tomatoes and herbs, French omelette, boiled, you name it). This keeps you going all day until dinner: Latifah's cooking is renowned, not least for the variety and generosity of her salads, which makes Riad Maryam's dining room very popular with vegetarians. But it would be a shame not to mention her delicious tagines and the exceptional fish pstilla - oh, and her soups are splendid, too! Monsieur Habib is a connoisseur of good wines - what more could you possibly ask? Whatever it is, ask M. Habib. A guide? He'll call Omar Jaff to your aid, a relaxed and charming English-speaker to help negotiate the city and organise trips beyond. Or call him direct on +212 609 977509.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    7.5
    Nice hotel, but food poisoning really spoilt the first week of our holiday.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food hygiene.

    Lovely place. Kind staff. Unfortunately, after eating dinner and breakfast there, within 2 hours of checking out we both became ill with food poisoning. we were vomiting for 2 days and it took us nearly a week to recover.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    7.9
    Wonderful food, great riad, lovely staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I think the bedrooms could do with modernisation. For that to happen, more people need to visit. And trust me, I'd go back for the food and the very friendly welcome.

    Riad Maryam is all about the food. Huge amounts of incredible food. Since we are vegan, the staff went all out to load us down with nine separate delicious salads. And that was after three bean soup and before the best veggie couscous ever. And the wine is good. Gorgeous relaxed atmosphere and beautiful, somewhat eccentric decor. Can't wait to go back.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    10
    Great riad, beautiful courtyard.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great riad, beautiful courtyard. We have an excellent dinner served, fish soup, 10 different vegetables, beef tahjine and dessert. All incredibly delicious and with a bottle of wine at a very reasonable price. A must visit for each of the Taroudanntvisitors.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    7.1
    Super cool riad, in the middle of Taroundant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They don't clean the room , riad very cold and heaters not working well.

    Super cool riad, in the middle of Taroundant. Nice welcoming, we had dinner there after a long journey from a super busy airport in Agadir. Breakfast is stunning.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    9.2
    Comfortable, quiet location in the middle of the city
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Paying by card is not an option yet

    Riad Maryam was our second stay in Morocco, and a pleasant one. The rooms are comfortable, large, and clean. The breakfast was excellent, fresh orange juice, bread, eggs, and several toppings. The staff was very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    8.3
    The staff Very friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms can be chilly in the winter even there was a heating in the room.

    The staff Very friendly. The owner is a great man, so helpful and gave us a warm welcome. Really fantastic freshly prepared authentic moroccan breakfast. Møre wirth than a 5* breakfast. Rooms beautiful and cosy. Hotel in the middel of the centre.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    8.3
    Best breakfasts
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A nice place to stay for a day or two. A traditional riad with very beautiful patio. Rooms are big, however somehow over decorated. The breakfast were simply delicious.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    10
    Taroudant the real Moroccan city and Riad Maryam is the real deal.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    What can I say, this is a comment and not a criticism, the quantity of food is overwhelming, a little bit less of each salad. But it is a feast for a king

    Taroudant is not on the main tourist trail. Taroudant is fairly conservative and therefore with photos one must be sensitive. There is lots to see in the town as the souks are for the local population and not the hordes of tourists fou d elsewhere. But it is worth the visit just to stay in Riad Maryam. What a great great two nights we spent here. We had a hire car so the location is s fantastically easy to find. Parking is not an issue nearby. The Riad is lived in by the extended family and therefore you see the daily interactions. Clean, bright, traditional, great value. Wifi was ok. But the food here is amazing. We preordered dinner and what an amazing feast we were treated to. The variety is astounding. We started with a Harira soup of a fish base, very subtle and delicious. Then came an assortment of 10 salads : beans, eggplant, beetroot, cauliflower, tomato, pumpkin and more. Each flavoured differently and delicious. The main tagine was Lamb with Quince and spices and Prune. Then dessert, Milk Bastilla wow what a wonderful sensation. Coffee or tea as well wine orbeer was offered. Cost 200Mad. for this amazing meal. Breakfast also included and the Berber omelette is to die for. Yummmmmo. The family helped us when ever asked and the Riad certainly made for an amazing stay in Taroudant

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2017

    9.6
    Amazing old traditional house in the Medina.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amazing old traditional house in the Medina. Very clean and comfortable. The owner is very kind and gave us a suite when he realized my wife's birthday was just a few days before. The breakfast was amazing. I really recommend this place.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2017

    10
    It's not just a standard riad, but the best Moroccan...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's not just a standard riad, but the best Moroccan experience of 3 weeks travel across Morocco. The road is a 1600 century building owned by the same family in Taroudant. Beside the warm welcoming and the nice location, we were impressed by the restaurant. The chef is the wife of the owner, which prepares a fantastic (and huge) typical Moroccan dinner. From starter to dessert, you'll be impressed by the quantity, variety and quality. You will enjoy even more if you seat hungry! Highly recommended!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2017

    9.6
    Beautiful Riad & Excellent food
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The riad is absolutely beautiful and atmosphere serene. Food is exceptional - definitely have a dinner at the riad! Car parking was arranged just around the corner. Everything worked out perfectly although we were lacking a common language.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2017

    8.8
    Very nice Riad!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our room was very green. Very! :D

    Very nice Riad! Probably the best place for diner (reservation required) in Taroudant. There were 10 vegetable entree's, big chicken tajine en a superb milk pastilla! Delicious!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2017

    7.5
    Lost our reservation, no dinner, otherwise fine.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We got the impression that our reservation had been overlooked, as the Riad staff were surprised and unprepared when we arrived. Our main reason for staying at this Riad was the opportunity to have dinner there, thus it came as a serious disappointment when we were told that this is impossible without a separate reservation that has to be placed half a day in advance. We would recommend to future guests as well as to the Riad to ensure that dinner options are discussed as soon as possible after booking. Guests should probably also reconfirm their booking with the hotel at day before arrival.

    The Riad is well-located and is known for its excellent food, which we got to enjoy in the form of breakfast. The main court yard is beautiful.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2017

    9.2
    Lovely Traditional Riad in the heart of Taroudant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We were there at the coldest time of year so it was cold at night in the dining area although the host kindly provided a large brazier to provide some heat. We had an airconditioner/heater that worked well in the bedroom and kept us warm

    Beautiful traditional home in the same family for 240 years, Lovely balconies built around a central garden court yard. Warm welcome and lovely Moroccan food. Large bedroom and privet ensuite lounge all decorated in traditional fabrics and colours . Well placed to visit the most interesting squares and souks of Taroudant

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2018

    7.5
    Not bad, but not great
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    a bit expensive compared to other riads we've been to. Loud AC

    Beautiful garden, very quiet

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    10
    Traditional Maroccan Riad in center of town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very nice Riad/homestay close to the centre and Souk. The food, diner and breakfast, are both fantastic. Highly recommended!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    5.0
    The best thing was breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Submitted via mobile

    The best thing was breakfast

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    10
    Very good location inside the medina.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very good location inside the medina. After entering the hotel you feel like in the park - wonderful inner courtyard. Comfortable rooms and beds.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    8.8
    Great breakfast!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No trashbins in the rooms - a problem if you are traveling with a baby and have no place to put user nappies.

    Great breakfast!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    10
    beautiful and quiet oasis
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    excellent food; very friendly family who runs the place; beautifully decorated; beautiful courtyard

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2017

    5.5
    Cold but enjoyed anyway
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very cold in the Riad. Our room was not serviced during our stay.

    Food is excellent here.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    5.4
    It's a tourist trap. Nothing authentic
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The food is overpriced for the quality (micro-waved, not so fresh, tourist trap grade) Bathroom had no cold water. Shower stinks.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    10
    The hospitality and food was exceptional and unique. Highly recommend the tour by horse and buggy!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food was amazing! A truly authentic, Moroccan food experience, that can only be had with a great host!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2017

    10
    Paradise
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    -

    So friendly and helpful host. Delicious food. Most beautiful Riad. Simply amazing.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2017

    8.3
    Stylish old Riad, good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stylish old Riad, good location.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2016

    10
    The owner is an exceptional host.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The owner is an exceptional host. He turned his family house into a hospital atmosphere with great food and ambiance. The dinner was huge, so prepare room in your stomach. The breakfast had a lot of things too, all very tasty, great Moroccan food. The rooms are decorated in Moroccan taste, very clean and comfy bed. Was one of our favorite spots we stayed at during our trip because of its authenticity and amiability.

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2016

    9.2
    Many Moroccan hotels use the label "riad" nowadays...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Many Moroccan hotels use the label "riad" nowadays but this is the real thing: a large family house offering hospitality to outside guests. The rooms are comfortable and the beautifully decorated patio has lots of nice seats for reading and relaxing. The food is amazing — a very rich breakfast and a sumptuous dinner. Riad Maryam is an oasis of tranquility smack dab in the middle of town. The perfect home base for exploring the charming town of Taroudant (well worthy of the name 'little Marrakech': it's like the non-tourist-ridden version with better prices). Highly recommended!

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2016

    8.3
    Host, personal and intereior.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Host, personal and intereior.

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2015

    9.2
    Traditional breakfasts great, family friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Traditional breakfasts great, family friendly and helpful.

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2015

    9.2
    The best breakfast ever.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The best breakfast ever.

There are also 3 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 33

Browse Riad Maryam Taroudant traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: