Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Riad Norma

16 Derb Sornas Bab Ziat, Fes El Bali, 30000 Fès, Morocco

#27 of 184 hotels in Fès

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 83 hotel reviews

9.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.8

  • Comfort

    9.5

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    9.3

  • Staff

    9.7

  • Value for money

    9.2

  • Free WiFi

    7.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 32

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2018

    9.2
    The owner, Monique, is a great host.
    • Couple
    • Norma Royal Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Strange external parking garage

    The owner, Monique, is a great host. Her assistant Younis is very helpful as well. We had a wonderful time there and would come back!

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2018

    9.2
    Wonderful Riad
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Carmen Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the breakfast could be improved by offering more variety (they offer no eggs for example)

    the decoration is beautiful and the owner is very friendly, calm and peaceful location, nearby is an excellent restaurant which can be reached by walking in 5 minutes

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2018

    8.3
    Proud property owner Monique did a fabulous renovation job,...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A mild suggestion to make Riad Norma a better place by a slight upgrade of the bathroom and linens.

    Proud property owner Monique did a fabulous renovation job, it is a beautiful place and a big attraction for fellow travelers who share discerning and sophisticated taste.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2018

    9.6
    Hidden gem
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Lucia Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were disappointed that they had stopped providing evening meals a few months ago, possibly even before we booked. I think the website needs updating to this effect. Also the shower hose didn’t reach the hook on the wall so showering involved sitting the bath and holding the spray over oneself. Minor issues as we had a thoroughly good time

    Monique the owner is a lovely helpful lady. She organised taxi for us to and from the airport, and an English speaking (although only slightly) driver for a trip to Chefchauen. She also organised a tour of the Médina with an English speaking guide for ourselves and a fellow guest. The rooms are magnificent and very comfortable. Breakfast was delicious local foods. Staff are polite and friendly

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2018

    9.6
    Cheerful owner Monique greets you at the door and gives you...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Norma Royal Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Cheerful owner Monique greets you at the door and gives you a tour of her painstakingly refurbished riad. Stunning interior and adjoining garden with beautiful pool. A combination of Moroccan and French influences throughout. Attentive staff that has been with her since the beginning in the mid-2000's. Very personable and introduces guests to one another which is a very nice thing to do with only a 6 bedroom riad and results in very nice breakfast conversation.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2018

    10
    Loved staying there. Lots of great advice about where to go, where not to go, what to do and more
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Carmen Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No complaints at all.

    The staff, especially the owner, Monique, were delightful to deal with. Helpful in every way. They cheerfully accomplished everything we expected and more.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    9.6
    Beautiful Riad
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Manon Suite
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing- highly recommended

    So glad we chose Riad Norma: it is a beautiful house and garden with a lovely swimming pool but made extra special by Monique and her staff. Monique is french but speaks excellent English and is very happy to advise on places to go and help with restaurant reservations. Rooms are spotless with good quality robes and plenty of towels. Wi-fi is now very good- we gather that it has recently been upgraded. We also enjoyed meeting other guests from all over the world at breakfast and by the pool in the evening for a refreshing swim after a hot day exploring the medina.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    9.2
    Relaxing stay at beautiful Riad
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Norma Royal Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When we were in the swimming pool, one of stuff reached our belongings and did something suspicious.

    This Riad is amazingly beautiful. We saw album and could see it took lots of efforts and time to build this beautiful Riad. The owner Monique is lovely lady, we had good chats with her. The room was large and comfortable, It was not so warm enough for pool but it was refreshing. Breakfast in the garden was really nice.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    6.3
    Riad with beautiful garden and pool in a safe location close to main section of Medina!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Carmen Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    -No WiFi in room. Had to sit in foyer/outside in the garden to get internet which was a nuisance when we were trying to research things for our trip. This was one major issue for us -Breakfast was average and we were served off milk in our coffee twice. Breakfast was generally served at 8.30 am which was a bit late for our liking as many of our booked tours started early in the morning but the riad did accomodate for us -Shower had no screen and the water flooded the floor no matter how carefully you showered -Double bed had split mattress so it was uncomfortable at times

    -We were upgraded to a bigger room on arrival as it was low season and there was availability which we really appreciated -Garden and pool was gorgeous -Monique, the owner, was very lovely and her cat was adorable -Safe location close to a gate and 10 minute walk (if you don't get lost) to the main section of medina

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    10
    Highly recommend Fez and this riad.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Norma Royal Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Having to leave

    The owner, Monique was so lovely to talk to and helped us with restaurants, trips etc. All the other staff lovely too especially Janie who got up very early before our flight and brought us orange juice and a goody bag of breakfast. The swimming pool was great after a whole days sightseeing.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    10
    Excellent breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Carmen Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Excellent breakfast. Great hosting. Extremely well located vis-à-vis the Medina and the new town. Beautiful garden and pool. Very peaceful and relaxing. Birds singing, white wine, the whole nine yards...

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    10
    Perfect!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Aida Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We loved every minute of our stay here - Monique was fabulous in every respect - we felt totally at home. And sitting at the pool after a days gallivanting , was so relaxing. We had 2 meals in the evening and both were delicious. the evening dining area with a log fire and soft jazz playing - a perfect wind down before bed. Thanks Monique for a wonderful stay.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    9.6
    Like a mini Palace, great location, quiet and safe.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Lucia Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The only issue we had was no internet access. We found this difficult to look up anything or plan each day and couldn't communicate with our kids back home. The bed was a bit hard for me on the first night but after a full day of walking up and down the alleys we virtually passed out anyway.

    The rooms are stunning with huge beds, tall ceilings beautifully decorated throughout. It feels like a mini palace. The garden courtyard is pretty with a small pool and lovely orange blossom aroma from the trees. Fresh squeezed juice from the orange trees each morning is a great start. Cosy fire place if chilly at night time. Enormous breakfast. Great local wine.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    10
    An interesting experience to visit Fez and we were very well looked after in Riad Norma.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Carmen Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Unfortunately the weather was unseasonably cold with some rain.

    Monique, the owner, was most welcoming and she kindly changed our room from one on the top floor with more stairs to the bathroom to a superior room at no extra charge. She produced a superb dinner on the first night & organised a guide for us. It is altogether a beautiful Riad & the staff were charming & helpful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    10
    Monique was an incredibly gracious and accommodating host.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Aida Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Monique was an incredibly gracious and accommodating host. The breakfast and dinners we enjoyed at Riad Norma were among our best meals of the trip. She was also helpful in providing guides/suggestions in exploring Fes. Absolutely would recommend to others.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    10
    Monique was very friendly and kindly and the staff...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Manon Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Monique was very friendly and kindly and the staff exceptional. The Riad is awesome and full of handmade decorations. The rooms are huge and very charming. It exceeded all expectations, I highly recommend this place to visit the Medina.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    9.6
    A beautiful oasis
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Aida Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If staying on first floor, where breakfast is served, sounds of the morning can start a bit early - if you're trying to sleep in. But, such is the nature of an open riad like this.

    We had a wonderful stay at Riad Norma. The facilities are beautiful, well-kept and comfortable, and the location is perfect - inside the old city and within a short walk to attractions, but tucked away in a surprisingly quiet residential corner of the Medina away from the action. Staff was very attentive and caring and made us feel at home. Thank you!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    10
    Such a beautiful riad!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Manon Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I couldn't fault anything

    Such a beautiful riad! Wonderful hostess made us feel very welcome. We were spoilt rotten! We ate at the riad both evenings and everything was delicious

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    10
    Great riad in a car accessible location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Norma Royal Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great riad in a car accessible location. Excellent high end restaurant around the corner. Room (Norma) was huge and very luxurious. Monique a great host. 10/10.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    8.3
    This property was absolutely stunning.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Carmen Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    While the food at the riad was delicious, it was hard to find a restaurant elsewhere, and Monique had few recommendations. We struggled to navigate the medina our first day -- I think we needed more guidance. Our biggest issue, however, was the wifi. For the price of this riad, we expected to have excellent web connection, but the wifi barely worked, if ever. They very much need to replace their modem or find a new solution. As in, do not expect the connection to work.

    This property was absolutely stunning. We felt like we were in a castle! The food was hands down the best of our trip as well.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2017

    7.5
    Monique, the owner, was extremely gracious, and the meals we...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Lucia Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Didn't care for the location, and room was dark.

    Monique, the owner, was extremely gracious, and the meals we had were delicious. Dinner with other guests was a treat!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    9.6
    Live in a palace!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 4 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The wifi connection from the router works in some parts of the building but do not expect high connection speed.

    The riad is extremely luxurious. The rooms are huge and filled with details and beautiful furniture. The garden is relaxing and the breakfast very nice. It is quite easy to walk from the Riad to the interesting parts of the medina and there is also a public garage for cars very close to the Riad.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2017

    10
    A Riad on another Level...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Lucia Suite
    • Stayed 10 nights

    Utterly charming classy place, clean, tranquil, luxurious, attentive staff and owner, fantastic delicious food, (7 friends came round for a sumptuous dinner and were blown away!) An amazing house that is wonderful and creative restoration. (it is not possible to see the extensive attention to detail on the website). I am looking forward to returning

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2016

    9.6
    Very special place
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Carmen Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Perfect introduction to Morocco. The owner, Monique, was charming, welcoming, and available to chat, answer questions, offer advice. My room was huge, stylish, and the bed extremely comfortable. The garden was beautiful and the small pool surprisingly swimmable and cool, even on a very hot day. We had several dinners at the riad, served in the garden, and the food was uniformly spectacular. There’s not much in the immediate vicinity, but it’s easy to find a taxi, easy to tell them where to let you off, and it’s not too far a walk to the heart of the medina. Can’t wait to return.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2018

    10
    Wonderful overall experience. Very close to the old city with all the touristic sights.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Norma Royal Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No possibility of having dinner

    The host was very helpful and welcoming. The staff very friendly. Very authentic ambiance

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2018

    8.3
    The staff was extremely helpful and polite.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Carmen Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was too dark at night. Some lights should be switched on.

    The staff was extremely helpful and polite.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2018

    10
    Riad Norma exceeded our expectations on every level!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Manon Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We had an early morning flight and Reni met us at 4 AM with fresh orange juice and a to go bag of rolls!!!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    9.2
    It was a really friendly stuff and host!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Norma Royal Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a really friendly stuff and host! Beautiful garden with the pool. Breakfast was tremendous! We loved it!! Go and get it!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    10
    Gorgeous!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Lucia Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    -

    Beautiful riad with a wonderful hostess. Gorgeous experience highly recommended!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    9.2
    Wonderful old riad, very nice and helpful staff, beautiful...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Carmen Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Internet did not work in the rooms on the first floor.

    Wonderful old riad, very nice and helpful staff, beautiful garden with a small pool.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2015

    9.2
    Excellent host, staff, food, rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    We were the only guest so it lacked ambiance in that sense but this is something that cannot be helped. Although a short distance on foot from the blue gate, I did not feel safe travelling by foot in the evening back to the riad. A taxi was necessary.

    Excellent host, staff, food, rooms. Monique made us feel very welcome and comfortable. Also this riad came with finishing touches such as toiletries, towels and slippers.

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2015

    8.8
    Very well run Riad with stylish large rooms and a delightful...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very well run Riad with stylish large rooms and a delightful garden with a decent sized small pool.Lovely French owner who is fluent in English, and charming staff. Good food. Location near Bab Ziat made it easy when asking directions when you got lost.

There are also 6 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 32

Guests also reviewed these properties: