Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Riad Saltana

N 3 Ali Ben Daoud, 44000 Essaouira, Morocco

#20 of 88 hotels in Essaouira

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 412 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.2

  • Comfort

    8.6

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    8.4

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    8.7

  • Free WiFi

    6.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Comfort Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The place is located next to the ocean, 5-7 min walking distance from the beach. Really nice personnel. Ideal place to chill. Rooms were clean and cosy.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Only there for one night and two days but it’s a beautiful property, in a great location, wonderful breakfast served on the upstairs terrace overlooking the ocean. The owner in super nice and full of local tips.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Large Triple Room with Bath
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was nothing not to like. It was an excellent experience.

    Geraldine was excellent. She was knowledgeable about the area and extremely friendly. The Riad is in an excellent location, close to everything. What a treasure of a Riad.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A really beautiful old riad, easy to find in a great location. Geraldine the owner was very helpful and friendly and gave us a really good map of the Médina. Essaouira is a beautiful place, we will definitely be coming back and staying at Saltana. If you park your car at the port do not be alarmed when they ask you to leave your key with them, they seem to shuffle them around to optimise the space in the car park. You can go and get your key a few hours later.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was quirky and had a huge deep bath which was nice, but would definitely benefit from a shower curtain as the floor got soaked every time. There is WiFi in the downstairs lobby but it would be much better if it was in the rooms as well!

    The location is great, inside the medina of Essaouira, a few streets away from the restaurants and markets. Geraldine was very welcoming and her staff very helpful and accommodating. The room was beautiful, clean and smartly decorated, and we enjoyed the terrace outside our room which gave some respite from the wind and a lovely sunny spot to sit and read!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room with Bath
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast served on top terrace. This was windy, cold and wet during our stay plus being dive bombed by seagulls.

    Staff were helpful and considerate. Breakfast fine - included fresh fruit.good sized rooms decorated in a stylish manner.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Large Triple Room with Bath
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    - We didn't like that the cleaning staff were so thorough in tidying that they even put away our personal things and packed our bags, felt somewhat like invasion of privacy.

    - It was located in a lovely part of Essaouira with a beautiful view from the rooftop terrace. - We were lucky enough to have a room on the 1st floor where the WiFi reached us. - The water was hot for the majority of our showers, bar one evening where the water was luke warm. - The argan liquid soap provided smelled heavenly!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room with Bath
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The internet didn't work in the room but they did tell us that when we go there. No problem using it downstairs where there are plenty of chairs to sit. The house does have some wear and tear on it but it is clean. The breakfast came with the room and could have used a bit more protein in it.

    The location is very good as it's right near the medina seawall and just a 10 minute walk or so from where a taxi will let you off. There is a very nice rooftop terrace where breakfast is served and you can see and hear the surf from up on the roof. The room we had was large with a double bed and single bed. The staff was helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    When we paid at the hotel, we were charged by additional 3 EUR/night/person, although it was not stated in the booking.

    Perfect location, right in the middle of the old town. The rooms are very nice, clean and authentic, the staff ensured a nice baby bed for our 10 months old baby. Amazing view to the ocean from the rooftop and the delicious Moroccon breakfast was served there as well. The staff was very nice and helpful, the owner sent me an email with all important information (how to find the riad, parking options, etc..) in advance and the receptionist gave us a map and explained where to find the sights. We enjoyed it a lot and if we go back to Essaouira we will choose this riad again. :)

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couldn't find fault.

    The riad was very beautiful and had wonderful view from the roof terrace where we had our breakfast. Charming and helpful staff.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not exactly a negative, but we didn’t know when we booked that this was a cash only riad, good to know beforehand because most ATMs in Morocco will let you take out a maximum of $200. She accepts Euros along with Moroccan DH. It can be a little chilly in the rooms in the winter with the tile flooring but I imagine it would be really ideal for summer to keep the rooms nice and cool.

    The owner is extremely helpful and willing to suggest places to eat, where to go, and the best routes to take. She gave us a map and was very friendly with an upbeat attitude. Also, taxis here have a fixed price of 7 DH in the morning and 8DH in the evening so don’t let yourself get taken advantage of. Her riad is very close to everything so you don’t really need a taxi unless going to the bus station etc. We enjoyed the breakfast with a view of the ocean, with hot coffee/tea, various breads along with jams, and a yogurt drink/juice. Very cute rooms and this is a nice place to stay if you enjoy the theme of staying in a riad, e.g. tile flooring, stone themed bathroom, no TV, breakfast on the rooftop, etc.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lights were too dim.. the stairs are too high so you need to put you luggage’s for three or four floors which is not good for girls and elders.

    I arrived late but the staff was very nice, she told me how to get to the parking and drew me a map. The terrace is very good for breakfast in summer but too cold and crazy wind in this season. The breakfast is still good though.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location in the heart of the old town. Staff were so friendly & helpful. Loved our room & the fact that it was so different to the others. Loved eating breakfast on the roof terrace each morning & always had something different. Highly recommended!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room with Bath
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast was good, but a little simple- would have liked it if some type of protein (e.g. an egg or omelette) was included because there were so many different kinds of bread which felt a bit carb heavy.

    Overall, it was great value, good location, friendly staff and would recommend it to anyone!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Bath
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel is very cozy, the management is friendly and the location is nice. I loved breakfasts served at a roof terrace with the view. Perfect for its price!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I liked everything about this Riad.

    Everything was wonderful. The welcome from Geraldine,the lovley smiley staf and the wonderful map that got us around on our first day. Every morning started perfectl with an amazing breakfast on the most beautiful balcony.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely and cosy interior of our room, equipped with everything you need. Best equipment is your host Geraldine, expert tips for evening and sightseeing events, serves excellent maroccean wine and is the heart of the riad and probably whole essaouira.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    The amazing hospitality that the owner showed unfortunately wasn't shared by the rest of the staff. The breakfast felt rushed even though it was nowhere near 10:30. They started clearing the table when I had finished while my partner hadn't, and we had to literally ask them to leave some stuff. Also it wasn't really filling, and we weren't offered more bread (admittedly this seems to be a tendency at all Riads I've been). When we HAD finished, we wanted to take some pictures with the view but couldn't because we were non-verbally chased away by the staff already setting the table for another family (even though there were other empty tables available). Maybe a small remark: the bathroom lighting was a bit dim, and because the only mirror in our room was in the bathroom, this made applying makeup somewhat difficult. Definitely no deal breaker - but maybe just a tip for the owner. Small change (adding a brighter bathroom light), big improvement in comfort!

    The lady of the Riad was amazingly hospitable. She made us feel extremely welcome and took her time showing us the map of the city, as well as recommending some dinner options. Also we only booked one night so had limited access to the room but she went out of her way making sure we could store our luggage safely at the Riad for the remaining hours of our time in Essaouira! The Riad is very close to the sea, so the roof terrace offers some amazing views.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Wifi limited to downstairs lobby - would be good to get in to the rooms (a problem for the kids more than the adults, who were happy to limit access to be honest!)

    Amazing roof terrace overlooking the sea, where a lovely breakfast was served daily. Geraldine, the Manager, was great, very accommodating and helpful in recommending local restaurants, hammam etc.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    the bathroom drains didnt work. We had the shower and the bathroom with flooded water (it was the same with the sink). The sanitary flush valve had a problem, too. There was nobody in the front desk and the owner is always away. They do not have wifi in the rooms.

    the rooftop The owner is a kind person

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bedroom Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was very beautiful, however, I would not sell the room as "with sea view" as you need to be standing next to a window in a certain angle in order to see the sea. Unless you speak French do not expect much information exchange. The terrace could be nice, however, Essaouira suffers of a huge dawn humidity meaning that the sofas are soaked (no marquee). In comparison to my other riad in Essaouira and the once in Marrakesh I felt that this facility was overpriced.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the view from the rooftop terrace is great! staff is very friendly and explains how to walk around in Medina. hotel looks wonderful and traditional. rooms are big. they have an incredible shower gel with argan oil. you cannot reach the property by car, but from the Medina main entrance is 10min walk and really simple to find the hotel using their direction from the mail.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff were very friendly, although only spoke french which could be an issue for some travelers. The rooftop patio had an amazing view and the breakfast was delicious.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Was far from the parking and had to pay a lot from aggressive parkers. Riad sent someone to help transfer our stuff to the riad, which was nice. Once settled it was fine.

    Nice riad in a good location with a great view from the terrace. Staff friendly and helpful in letting us know good places to visit and the beach. Did not have enough time to see all we wanted to see. Very windy when we were there and that made the beach disappointing. Like sunning in a sand storm. The nearby square was entertaining.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    If we really had to find something we didnt like it would be that we like wide beds and ours wasn't ! But we didn't ask for one in advance so we couldn't really say this was an issue.

    You can be sure of a great stay here. Geraldine and her staff look after every guest very well. You are welcomed like a guest in a private home, the town is explained to you and you will have all the best answers to your questions. It's really charming and extremely clean. Excellent location....quiet but next to everything. Delicious breakfast on the rooftop terrace where you can see over the Medina and watch the waves pounding the rocky side of the beach. It is everything the description says it is and more.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Riad owner was super helpful and gave us a very insightful guide of the area, marking off the best places to shop, eat and explore. Our room was great too, very comfy and very clean.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was in a room on the top floor which got very windy. Oftentimes it sounded like someone was trying to enter the room!

    Check in was a breeze and the owner was very helpful with pointing out local places on a map. The staff was also very kind and learned my food sensitivities for breakfast :)

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 10 nights

    Super friendly and welcoming host Geraldine who gave us advice and excellent recommendations throughout our stay. Breakfast included every morning, on the sunny terrace with a sea view. Would recommend to all!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Comfort Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If you want a good smile or find someone to help you with something. Thats not the place to go. Is to expensive for what they offer you.

    The view, it is amazing. The rooftop is wonderfull. And the breakfast was different every day. Everything was clean and tide.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    While checking out they said 48 euro including city tax. when I booked it say 42 euro including vat tax. I find it wrong so I told the receptionist who can barely speak English to call the owner who apparently live in France. There was a language barrier which was making it even harder to communicate. So I end up paying 42 euro for 1 night. Later they said it's 45 euro including 3 euro city tax. If it's 45 euro then why would the receptionist said 48 euro at the very first place? The entire trip was ruined by this 3 euro they are insisting me to pay via booking.com even after I left essaouira. In the morning there is no egg with the breakfast. The only place to eat is at terrace where wind is blowing from left to right throwing all the breads in the floor.

    Breakfast was poor and wifi is only at the ground floor. If you live at the top floor then good luck. It's more like a hostel.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room with Bath
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    You can't pay with credit card which was really annoying. The beds were extremely uncomfortable , the decor was cheap, the bathtub sprayed water everywhere and the owners were never there. Got into an argument with them due to our disatisfaction and they were intolerable and were not accommodating at all.

    Location was good

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Triple Room with Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed Matrace was covered with plastic under the blanket and was a little bit worn out.

    Nice Rooftop where you have breakfast . Nice view on the ocean , sometimes a bit windy. Breakfast was good and reasonable to the price paid. Some fruit , coffee ok , croissant and pancakes. Rooms are very spacy and have atypical Maroccan look .

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room with Bath
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was very large with a separate seating area. The linens were impeccable. The owner was a lovely and helpful hostess. We enjoyed the rooftop patio in the evenings very much. In the Medina close to everything.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    hot water might be off a little bit if too many people take shower at same time . wifi not as hot in the room, but why want wifi on holiday anyway.

    Owner Geraldine she was a total delight / bag of laugh / energy / we wish we stay longer lots of tourist friendly information from manager restaurant / bar / place / culture / love it room was good / shower was good / breakfast place is good / Surely will come back

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room with Bath
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Language barrier with other staff

    The terrace was such a peaceful place to relax and switch off Geraldine was so helpful with any queries we had Discount on hammam and car rental

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    non applicable

    Difficult to find at first but once your there you enter an oasis with warm and friendly Suad and Omar and a pot of mint tea. Wonderful, hardworking people who will assist you with anything you ask. Delicious and fresh breakfast served on the terrace overlooking the sea even serving it early so we can catch the the early bus. Clean room comfortable bed and lucky enough to meet Geraldine on our last day with plenty of good advice and recommendations.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 2 nights

    As the riad is near the sea, the room can become damp and humid. Also the sink in the bathroom area is too small and water doesn't go down too quickly.

    Lovely views of the rough Atlantic ocean from the terrace. Riad was in a quiet part of Essaouira and the room they gave us was like stepping back in time. Breakfast was always served on the terrace and portions were generous. Geraldine the owner really makes an effort to ensure that your stay is comfortable and she suggested some very good fish restaurants.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Large Triple Room with Bath
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bathroom equipment could be improved.

    This place is a hidden gem, all calm and charming. we enjoyed everything: the breakfast in the terrace, the warm welcoming from the owner Geraldine, the friendly and helpful staff...

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This riad is absolutely beautiful and the owner, Geraldine, is really friendly and helpful. We stayed here for three nights and really enjoyed our stay. Would come back anytime!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We couldn't fault this place, we had a great time.

    Staff were friendly and gave great advice for our short stay. The room was lovely and had a great view. The terrace was amazing to watch the sunset.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Triple Room with Bath
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The breakfast was cleared away almost before I had put my knife and fork down. This happened every morning. Lack of internet in the rooms was a real nuisance, it was very inconvenient to go downstairs each time I wanted to check emails etc.

    The terrace was in the afternoons was lovely, full sun and facing the sea. I thought it expensive for single occupancy compared to other Riads

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bedroom Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unbeatable value for money! The location is great, the views are fantastic, Geraldine and the staff are superb, the room was spotlessly clean and tastefully decorated and the shower water had strong pressure and was piping hot. The breakfast was simple but fresh and delicious!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room with Bath
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The woman running the Riad (Gèraldine) was a fantastic hostess. Her tips on where to go to eat,hammams and general information on Essaouira was perfect every time. Views from the roof terrace over breakfast were breath-taking.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Large Triple Room with Bath
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Wifi in the rooms would be nice, but that would be complicated task with the thick stone walls.

    The main supervisor was away in France, but the two Moroccan employees gave EXCELLENT service. Very kind, thoughtful, many special touches. Very impressed seeing that quality of service when the boss was away!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Triple Room with Bath
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Riad was difficult to find without asking for help. A sign indicating the name of the riad would be helpful, above the door and at the turn off into the alley to the riad.

    Very cozy, clean, quiet, family riad. Wonderful coffee and orange juice with tradional breakfast. We even had the option of ordering supper in house. Very nice for a very rainy evening.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No one on arrival to let us in. Note with phone number on door. Not good if no international roaming on phone. Breakfast not inspiring considering extensive array of food available.

    Good location. House staff friendly and helpful

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room with Bath
    • Stayed 7 nights

    wifi weak in the reception fixings in the room were rusty - the curtain pole came off the wall while closing a curtain and hit my face. the host was apologetic and window was fixed next day.

    good location, lovely terrace lady working there - lovely and helpful. fair value for money.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room with Bath
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Wifi only on the ground floor, but was informed of this in advance. Hence, was ready for it.

    Was super happy about breakfast on the roof terrace. Geraldine is friendly and really helpful.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Large Triple Room with Bath
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It would've been nice to have wifi in the room but otherwise we were very happy

    What a lovely place! The photos hardly do it justice. Riad Saltana feels breezy and comfortable like a friends beach house and Geraldine gives it a bit of fabulous French flair. I would absolutely return!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    loved the rooftop terrace with the sea view . downstairs reception was full of colour and very inviting. Geraldine was very helpful giving us loads of advice.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Comfort Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location, friendly staff, clean rooms, good and big breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Argan oil shampoo and shower gel at the bathroom

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast was pretty poor comparing to other places in Morocco.

    Perfect locations, nice restaurant just downstairs:) lovely terrace.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room with Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast included was poor.

    The room and the terrace are amazing.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The owner was very helpful and provided us with a lot of good information on the area.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Bath
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really

    The bed was extremely confy and the breakfast on the terrace was really amazing

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was fine!

    Centrally located. Easy to find. Great view. Nice terrasses. Warm and helpfull service. Perfect stay!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Polite staff, beautiful room and amazing view from the terrace. Great bathroom and very clean.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing was that the staff was a bit rough ..

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No soap in the bathroom

    Very nice room and personnel.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could diversify the breakfast

    Everything was great, highly recommended.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Bath
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wifi is provided in common room only.

    The terrace with excellent view is a good place for picture. Heater was provided in room.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lovely Riad with very welcoming owner with helpful information.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room with Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    -no wifi in the room

    -perfect location -increadible room -perfect tarrace with ocean view8

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room with Bath
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly and helpful host, great location, beautiful terrace, overall excellent riad

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    In winter a little cold and wet

    - Very personal - Great breakfast on rooftop terrace

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Geraldine, the owner, was amazing and sweet. Everything we asked for, was offered with plenty of facilities

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2016

    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Bath
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi only in reception- however they advertised to say this was the case so it was expected

    Lovely atmosphere and great decor

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Top floor is very windy

    Fantastic riad, clean, tea is delicious and breakfast too Staff and host are awesome

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely homely environment.Great location.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Large Triple Room with Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Did not get a receipt when paying.

    A nice clean riad inside the medina. The terasse with sea view was fantastic!

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No commemts

    Mohammed and all the staff are very kind and polite, nice experience :)

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    This was the place we splashed out on during our trip and it was so worth it. From the moment we arrived into the riad it was "wow" all the way. The place is beautiful and our room was top class, superb beds and a bathroom with a bath. Geraldine is a fantastic hostess, really made us feel at home and gave us great recommendations for restaurants etc. Su'ad and Omar who work there were very friendly and always had a smile for us. The room was cleaned every day, with fresh towels and beds made. The breakfast on the terrace was simply magnificent and different every day. We loved it so much that we stayed an extra night. The riad is very central, a minute from La Skala (the city walls by the sea) and the views from the terrace were amazing.

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Riad was in a great location, tucked away in a little corner but still right in the heart of the medina. Staff were lovely, the medina was beautiful. 2 terraces with views of the ocean, would definitely recommend staying here!

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The only negative comment I could make is I would have liked an additional mirror in the bedroom as the only one available was in the bathroom. However, I'm sure if I had mentioned it at the time Geraldine would have found one for me!

    The position was excellent, beds very comfortable and communal areas were smart whilst feeling homely. Everything was constantly tidy and kept very clean. What we particularly liked was our hostess, Geraldine, who could not have been more accommodating or friendly, as were her staff. Breakfast was served on the terrace and was plentiful and filling. I would gladly stay here again and thoroughly recommend Riad Saltana.

There are also 39 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Riad Saltana traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: