Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Riad Sara

17, Derb el Gabbasse fes - batha- Morocco, Fes El Bali, 30100 Fès, Morocco

#7 of 84 B&Bs and Inns in Fès

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 438 hotel reviews

9.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.4

  • Comfort

    9.3

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    9.2

  • Staff

    9.6

  • Value for money

    9.2

  • Free WiFi

    9.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    9.6
    Beautiful riad
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite Medersa
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Beautiful riad in a nice location. The room had plenty of space, seating areas, and storage. The staff was polite and professional though not as warm as other places we stayed in Morocco. Breakfast had a nice variety! It was a lovely spot on our trip!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    9.6
    The ambience is fantastic, this is an ancient building in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite Medersa
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The ambience is fantastic, this is an ancient building in the Fes al Bali. The location is great, easy walk in and out of the heart of the medina. If you love ancient buildings, Riad Sara is also for you. The staff are fantastic, nothing is too much trouble and multiple languages spoken. We arrived in the evening and asked for an English speaking guide the next day and they made this happen. We needed to leave early in the morning after our stay, and the taxi was arranged for us, a packed breakfast was given to us and we were escorted through the labyrinthine streets to where the taxi would meet us. Fantastic and very good value!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    10
    Moroccan dream
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite El Bali
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was great !

    It was like 1001 nights! Everything was dreamy! The room was beautiful with very careful details. Service excellent, breakfast too. The owner, Said, is a very professional guy and has created a very hospitable and friendly structure. If you had a home in Morocco that’s how you would like it to be!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    10
    Said, Ali.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite El Bali
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    -

    Said, Ali. Aziz and the rest of the staff are so welcoming and make you feel at home right away. It is such a beautiful Riad, like a work of mosaic art and so close to everything. The rooms are stunning and the breakfast and dinners are delicious. Thank you Riad Sara, it was my second stay and I will be back again.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    10
    Stunning place with calmness and ambiance.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite Saffarine
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. It was perfect.

    Everything was Great! The room, the decor, the ambiance, the friendliness of the staff, the calmness of the riad. All wonderful!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    10
    Great Place!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Suite Saffarine
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff was very helpful and nice. The place was quite lovely. The room was very nice, and the beds were comfortable. Great location within walking distance to the Blue Gate. I would definitely stay here again!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    10
    Beautiful palace, excellent service
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite Saffarine
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I think they are doing really well

    Astonishingly beautiful riad. Truly like a palace. Friendly staff, very clean, very good breakfast. Ideal location, close to the action but quiet

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    10
    Beautiful decoration for the riad.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Suite El Bali
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful decoration for the riad. Good location which is easy to find and near the attractions. Staffs are helpful and patient. I had spend a good night to chat with the owner☺️

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    8.8
    It was a fantastic traditional Riad.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite Sara
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    It was a fantastic traditional Riad. Our hosts were very helpful in helping us with information on the Medina an beyond. The decor was lovely. Highly recommended

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    10
    Amazing riad in Fes!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite Saffarine
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The riad was absolutely beautiful. The rooms are very large, staff was friendly and helpful, and the location was great! We had to leave very early and they packed us breakfast to go which was appreciated!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    10
    I indeed recommend this riad
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite El Bali
    • Stayed 3 nights

    nothing

    Overall our stay at Riad Sara was really marvellous. Though the location is within the medina, the area isn't crowdy and busy. The Riad itself is even more beautiful than you can see at the Pictures and the atmosphere in the main hall, which is also the dinining room is peaceful and romantic. We had dinner once and all food served were tasty and freshly cooked. Breakfast served was delicious and varied day by day. The typical marocain orange flavoured cake was the best one I had in Fes. We checked out very early in the morning at 3:30 and amazingly we received a take away breakfast with my favourite orange cake, boiled eggs and some fruits.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    10
    My wife and I really liked this beautiful Riad.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite Sara
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nothing

    My wife and I really liked this beautiful Riad. Said, our host, was helpful, the meals were tasty, the whole experience was great. Definitely would come again to stay in this romantic Riad.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    8.8
    Very nice riad and big room and bathroom with bidet.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Suite Nejjarine
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fact that the riad court was covered, although it protected from rain, natural sunlight would have been awesome and ventilation too.

    Very nice riad and big room and bathroom with bidet. Phon included. Clean and close to place Batha, easy to reach the medina. Staff really welcoming and helpful if you ask or need anything.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    9.6
    Wonderful!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Suite Nejjarine
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This Riad is a little price of heaven! The staff was wonderful. The place magical ,the interior superb & the food delicious. I would stay there again & I would highly recommend it. Very relaxing atmosphere.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    2.5
    Unhappy
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Suite Attarine
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Most terrible experience I have ever had. We are four girls, living in a big room. So we want to save our time, one of us came to table first to wait for breakfast. But she got nothing after 50 minutes. Then we were told only all of us came to table together then we could be served. The employee named Moustafa was impolite, used aggressive words to me and refused to help us with luggages. But the ladies helped us. Moustafa said he is leaving this Riad. That explains why he is so impolite. But I think you should train your employee. It really ruined our mood!

    The decoration is good

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    10
    Ali, the guy that rules the house is such a great guy!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite Medersa
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Ali, the guy that rules the house is such a great guy! He helped us planning our car journey through the atlas and tipped us about Fez commercial shops and rules.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    9.6
    Good place to stay with Family !!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    None.

    The Riad is located off a main road. It’s better to inform them about your arrival so they can pick you up from the main road. The courtyard inside is very nice with beautiful mosaic art work. The rooms we stayed on the ground floor were big and have very high ceiling with nice decorations. It met all our needs for this stay. The Chicken Tagine with Lemon at this Riad is one of the best we have had during our stay in Morocco. Breakfast was good with different entrées each morning. This place is about 10 minutes’ walk from the famous Blue Gate in the Medina. The owner Said and his brother Ali helped us with arranging sightseeing trips and taking care of all our needs during the stay.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    10
    Great and beautiful place, highly recommandable!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite Saffarine
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It really looks like a palace: beautiful! And the people of the hotel are really kind and they help you with everything: organizing private guided tours, making simple pasta for our little children and picking up from and bringing to the airport.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    9.6
    Staff is friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Suite El Bali
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff is friendly and helpful. They let me stay in the lounge area until late night after I checked out. Outside was too cold to kill time so that was very helpful!!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    9.2
    Great value .. good hosts .. great location .. nice and quiet.
    • Couple
    • Suite Medersa
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A minor thing ... but a proper map would have been nice. A photo copied sheet was not easy to read.

    Great location ... beautiful room ...good breakfast ...

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2017

    10
    Good memory in riad Sara
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Suite Attarine
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Riad Sara is 430 years history house,the room is very big and clean .The bathroom all big and comfortable .this riad very smart like a museum provide good service like desert tour or find the guide for u in fes.You can taste the very authentic Moroccan cuisin. Sarah is the best accommodation for this trip in Morocco . It makes me feel like living in a palace here,I am the princhess waiting here for my prince. The most important thing is the boss said is a very very very handsome guy, gentle and charming, Young girl do not talk to him, or you will fall in love with him.haha just kidding,I will come again.i love riad Sara ,I hope it better and better.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    9.6
    The staff Ali and Said were the best .
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Suite Medersa
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Managment need to address lights in room was dark and some of the lights were not working

    The staff Ali and Said were the best . Very attentive. . It is a beautiful riad with courtyard and room and bathroom very spacious . Ambience excellent Location was great to get around

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    10
    Luxury road with great staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite Saffarine
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The callings are high and so the air conditioning Is a bit hard to cool down the whole room.

    The staff went above and beyond for us including helping with bags, arranging tours and allowing us flexibility with check in. They even found us a large bag when I bought a large piece of pottery.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    7.9
    Great hotel in the medina
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite El Bali
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom could have been better. It was ok but not up to the standard of the rest of the hotel.

    The room and courtyard are stunning. Its also a very good location and not hard to find.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    10
    Interior Design Heaven
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Suite Nejjarine
    • Stayed 1 night

    The airconditioning was extremely loud in our room - we had to turn it off because it was so hard to sleep - so make a note of that. Hot, quiet rooms or loud with aircon on.

    Breakfast was delicious: typical Moroccan style but with a fortuitous fruit salad (Moroccan breakfasts are usually very carb heavy) which was very welcome! The interiors were jawdroppingly beautiful - instagrammers I would recommend it! The bedrooms were cosy, and prettily decorated. The staff were extremely kind and helpful; recommending us a hammam (spa) nearby and giving us a discount. The Riad was conveninetly located to the centre and was in a quiet avenue; a little hard to find but if you have Google mpas you needn't worry. It was a wonderful stay at Riad Sara and I will be recommending it to everyone who plans to journey to Fez.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    10
    Possibly the most beautiful hotel I've ever seen!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite Saffarine
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Possibly the most beautiful hotel I've ever seen! Amazing staff, thank you Ali 🙂 awesome food, great service from the welcome mint tea to the moment we caught our ride to the train station. Our room was gorgeous, floor to ceiling. Huge bathroom with tub, good AC, good wifi. Walking around to medina and restaurants was easy. Ali helped us to set up private city tour and Chefchaouen tour with the friendly, knowledgeable Abdul, both amazing and priced well. Would absolutely choose this hotel again, wish we had more time there! The hotel itself is a work of art.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    5.8
    Great place... after the quarantine.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Suite Sara
    • Stayed 1 night

    The place is infested with cockroaches. Killed on on my night desk, one by my towel in the bathroom, there was one already dead next to the sink, and another one in the bathtub. I stayed one night only and couldn't conceal my sleep.

    Decoration was atop. The renovation works have been fantastic.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    9.6
    Best cuisine in Fes
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite Nejjarine
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our staying was very pleasant and the food was absolutely fantastic! The best cuisine we tried in Morocco so far, with the nice atmosphere of the patio, the sound of the little fountain and nice music in background. I recommend to try both breakfast and dinner, both delicious.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    10
    Living in a palace
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite Sara
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    This Riad is like staying in a palace. The beauty of the place is initially so overwhelming I could hardly believe I was staying in such a place. Excellent staff.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    10
    Highlight of our road trip
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite Sara
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful interior decoration,luxurious spacious room. Friendly Staff ,delicious breakfast. It was our 25th wedding anniversary when we were there and we came back from a day in Fes to find rose petals sprinkled around the room and in a heart shape on the 4 poster bed!😀

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    9.6
    very nice staff, like making jokes.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite Attarine
    • Stayed 1 night

    if you want to pay by credit card, you have to pay 3% more if I didn't remember wrong.

    very nice staff, like making jokes.... the house is just fabulous and not so difficult to find, clear directions and near the main road where you are able to catch a taxi.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    10
    Charming place to stay at in Fes ? go to the SARA Riad
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite Royale
    • Stayed 1 night

    The architecture, cleanliness, location in the old Medina of Fes, near to monuments and to souks ....and on top of to the kindness and availability to help of Ali and Said.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2017

    10
    A dream of riad!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite El Bali
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms on the ground floor (we had no 1) are pretty noisy. Better spend some more for a room upstairs.

    One of the most beautiful riads we've seen so far. Very friendly personal. The breakfast was good. We would definitely recommend the place!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2017

    9.6
    Beautiful central riad with excellent hosts
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Suite Saffarine
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing - loved it and would definitely return. Excellent value for money.

    Beautifully decorated riad in great location just on the edge of the medina, but peaceful and tranquil. Our room and bathroom were spacious and the shower was also good. Said and Ali are wonderful hosts - really friendly and entertaining guys. They made us feel at home in the riad, so at home that we actually spent most of our evenings hanging out with them on the roof terrace! They also helped us to organise taxis to and from the airport and a day trip to Chefchouen. The breakfast was good and nice that it changes every couple of days. Particularly liked the fresh orange juice and crepes. It was also great that I suggested it would be good to have fruit one night and the next day there was a fruit salad on the table! Overall would highly recommend this riad to anyone.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2017

    9.6
    Extraordinarily beautiful and welcoming RIad. Excellent value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite Sara
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Staff were so welcoming and we particularly enjoyed the home cooking- something different with each meal. Fantastic decoration in the Riad, like a palace.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2017

    8.3
    Great staff, nice riad and fab price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite El Bali
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The staff were great, very friendly and informative. We found out a lot about the local people, culture, and helped us book all sorts of activities, taxi etc. They made our stay even more memorable.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2017

    9.2
    superb
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite Nejjarine
    • Stayed 1 night

    too high commision for payment with Eurocard 10% this is not good

    very nice and good looking Riad, great value for money, very good soup (try this soup from mother cook) clean and in old Fez style

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2017

    7.9
    Staying in the Medina for a few days really broadens your view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The rooms aren't ideal for cold periods: there's no heating (there's an airco, but that's not meant to heat a room). Bed is warm enough. Although the description mentioned deposit box, there is no deposit box in the room.

    The inner yard is really beautiful (artwork, wood, carving). Personel is very friendly.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2017

    10
    Unforgettable experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite Nejjarine
    • Stayed 1 night

    Stunning raid, large, clean and well equipped room. It's like living in a palace and I don't even want to go out. Special thanks to Said for making our stay very pleasant and memorable. Excellent location, quiet yet very easy to access the places of interests. Highly recommend this beautiful Riad to all.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2017

    9.5
    Wonderful 2 nights stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite Attarine
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bathroom is nice but the door needs more privacy

    The Riad is beautiful. The room is very nice, large and clean. The staff are superior and welcoming. We must give a special thanks to Ali who is professional and friendly and is always there to assist. He made our stay very pleasant. We will return and highly recommend this beautiful Riad to all.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2017

    9.6
    Wonderful!
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Suite Attarine
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Land in a narrow alley, not easy to find.

    1.Really beautiful and special riad. 2.Enough hot water for shower. 3.Delicious and enough breakfast. 4.Higher cost performance. 5.Handsome landlord and friendly staff. 6.Have washing machine.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2017

    9.6
    Beautiful courtyard and rooftop terrace, delicious breakfast...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Beautiful courtyard and rooftop terrace, delicious breakfast included in the price every morning, helpful staff that picked up one of my friends at 3 in the morning because her plane was delayed.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2017

    10
    Beautiful Riad, excellent staff especially Ali
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite Sara
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Everything was great about the riad, very beautiful, and good location. lovely staff with special thanks to Ali who helped make my and my daughters visit comfortable. He is such an asset to the Riad and was willing to go that extra mile to make our visit comfortable!! Thanks so much! The breakfasts and dinner on the final night were great as well. Would definitely comeback

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2017

    10
    wonderful riad, just refuse their taxi service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite Medersa
    • Stayed 1 night

    the driver the riad offer from the station to the riad costs 70 dirham, which is a super high price for Fez. I suggest you to take a standard "petit taxi" and be sure the taxi driver will use a taximeter before you get in, it will cost no more than 20 dirham.

    The Riad was the best we have been to, very beautiful and clean rooms. The location is very good and safe, close to the Blue gate of Medina. The staff was very kind and cheerful, they helped us with any informations we could need. The breakfast was delicious, with fresh orange juice and various sweets. I strongly suggest you

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2017

    10
    Best Riad in Our trip in Morocco
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Suite Royale
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The reception Mr. Sayid is so nice person and gives us so many great help during the stay: he first picked us from the small square and led us to the Riad and then explained carefully to all our questions, finally he wakes up so early just helping us to prepare the breakfast due to we leave at 6:30 in the morning. The Riad is in a great location with only 5min walking to the Blue Gate. Nearby you can find food store for water or coffee or tea everywhere. The triple room we stayed is so big as a suit room, which is beautiful with many local style decorating like a palace. The bed is very comfortable and the heating is warm during Jan. The bathroom is super clean with hot bath water all the time. It is even equipped with a small electrical heating machine to make the bath room warm. It is so lovely to have it during the cold season. The breakfast is super good with so many well prepared food with different drinks. It is five star level. We satisfied with everything here and therefore recommend to all and will for sure be back again if visiting Fes.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2017

    10
    Excellent service in an impressive riad just outside the medina
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite Sara
    • Stayed 2 nights

    - Charming and helpful host (Said) who went above and beyond to take care of us, especially when one of us was ill! He made us some special Moroccan tea and even gave us some to take home. - Excellent location just outside the craziness of the Fes medina. -Delicious Moroccan/ Continental breakfast. - Impressive riad with huge rooms, bath tubs and hot water! The rooms were also cleaned every day and new towels were provided. We discovered this to be unusual in Fes. - Highly recommended and excellent value for money.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2017

    9.6
    Said is very friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Some rooms do not have blackout curtain. You can see inside from the hallway. But again, the owner offered us a different room.

    Said is very friendly and helpful. He accommodated our request to change rooms. Good breakfast. The house is nice and brighter than the other places we visited.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2017

    9.2
    Delicious breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite El Bali
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location seems to be wrong on Google and Booking.

    Delicious breakfast. Helpful staffs. Beautiful building. The whole place is very good for refreshment if you just come out of the desert.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2017

    9.6
    Best riad in Fes!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Suite Sara
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The staff is fantastic and the location is beautiful. From the riad it's easy to reach the medina by walk. There is also a place (two minutes by walk) where you can take cheap cabs. The staff is very friendly but also very professional. I really recommend this riad!!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2016

    9.2
    I liked pretty much everything, but especially the very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Suite Sara
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The downstairs rooms are a bit noisy, but that is the same for all other riads I have stayed in and it isn't a problem as long as other guests are considerate

    I liked pretty much everything, but especially the very helpful staff and the big breakfast which sets you up nicely for a long day getting lost in the medina

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2016

    10
    Excellent... definitely going back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite El Bali
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to improve. Everything was perfect.

    Everything was perfect. Staff made us feel like home. Would definitely be going back and recommending to friends and family.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2016

    10
    Everything was outstanding!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Can't think of anything I dislike.

    Everything was outstanding! This is one of the 7 Riad we stayed in Morocco, but we love this place the most. We booked two rooms. Each room has two beds. Room and bathroom were huge. Bed was comfortable and sheet was well ironed. Shampoo and soap provided in bathroom are good quality. I was told the building was built about 450 years ago. It's gorgeous like an Arabic palace! Breakfast was yummy and healthy (Pancakes, French toast, pomegranate, orange juice, etc) Staffs are very helpful and speak English quite well. I highly recommend this Riad.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2016

    10
    Wonderful, well run riad!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Suite El Bali
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The only suggestion would be to add a protein to the breakfast, an egg or yogurt.

    Lovely riad, my first in numerous trips to Morocco. Easy location once I knew where it was, very convenient to a main round-about to meet people or catch a taxi. Comfortable accommodations. Well run, special kudos to Ali who was professional and friendly, without being overly friendly which you run into with some hotel staff in Morocco. He was always there to assist, but was unobtrusive. He made my stay very pleasant. The riad is absolutely beautiful, as well as peaceful and quiet. When people were sitting in the courtyard outside of the rooms, everyone used inside voices, which was great, because I couldn't hear them in my room. Just an absolute pleasure to stay here and I'll definitely be back on my next trip to Fes.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2016

    8.8
    Really nice place and breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Suite Attarine
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location is a bit weird cuz it seems dangerous but it is not. The bathroom is nice but the door needs more privacy. The pillows are not good at all.

    Really nice and fancy rooms, delicious breakfast and good/kind staff.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2016

    9.6
    The staff were really pleasant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite Sara
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The staff were really pleasant. The location is why we chose this place. It is very much in the heart of Fes. The Riad is beautiful and our room was awesome.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2016

    10
    Great Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Suite Attarine
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the best place I have been in Morocco riad Sara is located in the beginning of the Medina near the blue gate. It's very easy to find, the location was very good and the food there was fresh the rooms was big and clean, I recommend this place to all the people who are looking for a place to stay, the service was perfect Said and Ali they were ready anytime to answer any questions we need.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2016

    10
    Wonderful gem in Fès
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite Sara
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very difficult, almost impossible to say something negative.

    Wonderful place, a true Moroccan palace.rooms are very beautiful and very spacious. Stuff is super-friendly and always ready to accomodate any need of their guests (Ali in particular). Breakfast is excellent and very filling. Location is also excellent

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2016

    10
    Beautiful, peaceful Riad in an excellent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite El Bali
    • Stayed 3 nights

    In previous reviews there was mention of live traditional music at the riad on Saturdays. In our case this did not happen, as it seems it is not routinely arranged anymore. We were looking forward to the live music, and this definitely would have been a welcome addition to our experience, but we were able to experience this anyway at the nearby Cafe Clock. This was the only (minor) drawback of our stay at Riad Sara, but overall we were extremely happy with our choice.

    Would recommend this beautifully restored Riad to anyone visiting Fes. It is in a perfect location - in a quiet street just 5 minutes' walk from the Blue Gate (Bab Boujloud) and is a wonderfully peaceful haven to return to after a busy day out in the medina. The staff were gracious, friendly and helpful; particularly Said who welcomed us with mint tea and cookies and was always on hand to answer any queries we had. Overall we really enjoyed our stay there; it was definitely excellent value for money and if we are ever in Fes again we'd definitely love to stay there again.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2016

    9.6
    Perfect place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Suite Attarine
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The location was perfect on the edge of the medina. The staff were very helpful and friendly. The Riad was beautiful and just what we were hoping for - would definitely stay there again.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2016

    9.2
    Riad Sara is really great, inside looks impresive with a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite Sara
    • Stayed 1 night

    Riad Sara is really great, inside looks impresive with a traditional Moroccan architecture like in a smal palace :)Have a nice big tarace on a top also is well located close to a medina so you can rest and relax from the noise and if you wanna go there is just few minutes. The staff is so friendly and helpful, we get to riad so tired in early mornig after all night in a bus and they was so kind to give us a room so fast. I recommend!!!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    9.2
    Very interesting and nice decoration!
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite El Bali
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room which is on the first floor has very bad sound insulation, but it was not a problem because of the lack of noisy companies:)

    Very interesting and nice decoration!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2016

    10
    Best host and stay in the country
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Suite El Bali
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The riad is so traditional and beautiful ,like a palace.the location is also perfect,it's near the blue gate, in which we can find it easily, since Fes is such a myth.Said is a fantastic host,friendly and charming, really help us a lot and give us good advises.Because we need to take the night bus to Sahara , he help us to buy the tickets in advance and provide us a bathroom to take shower before leaving.it's like a home in the total un known and not that friendly ancient city.He speak English very well which is super important for us, cause we don't speak Spain nor French.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2016

    10
    Very nice location in the calm street in medina of Fez, the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite El Bali
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very nice location in the calm street in medina of Fez, the possibility to park a car near the riad, and the absolutely fantastic inner garden. This place is like a fairy tale. Too beautiful to be reality. I've visited this riad 3 times and every time stuff was very helpful and kind, last time i've found the riad renovated and more fresh.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2016

    10
    Sumptuous, comfortable and oh so beautiful!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Suite Sara
    • Stayed 1 night

    Having to leave for Marrakech

    The staff were so friendly and helpful. Said the Manager sent someone with me each time I would go for a walk so I didn’t get lost in the Medina and to look after me. I had a cooking class at Riad Sara and it was so much fun

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2016

    10
    Great riad in Fes
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite Sara
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great value for the money. Staff is super nice and the building is very beatifull with lots of tile work and traditional Moroccan architecture. Location is great, you can walk to most attractions in old Fes including madrasa, the blue gate and the market. Breakfast was nice and exciting and room was clean. Highly recommended if you're staying in Fes either to relax or for sightseeing. We will stay at this riad if we go back to fes. You can also ask them to cook fresh Moroccan food for you which was really nice and at a reasonable price, we tried tajine with lamb and it was very good.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2016

    9.6
    A real gem !
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Suite El Bali
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Saad the owner / manager is fantastic ! Full of knowledge , helpful , great cook and a great sense of humour ! Riad is quiet , great location to Medina etc . Huge rooms very comfortable .

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    9.6
    Great riad in fez
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite El Bali
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location. Nice spacious room. Clean . Good atmosphere

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    10
    The riad is very beautiful, and the staffs are very kind to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite Medersa
    • Stayed 1 night

    The riad is very beautiful, and the staffs are very kind to help. The dinner is great, love the dessert.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    10
    Amazing place
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I loved my stay here. The riad was clean and comfortable. Staff were amazing. Especially Rabaab who welcomed us and was always there to help.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2018

    10
    We loved this beautiful riad, lovely staff and huge room!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite Medersa
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All was good

    Incredibly beautiful riad! Lovely staff and the dinner we had was so delicious!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    10
    The Building is Wonderful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite Attarine
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Building is Wonderful. A piece of art!!! The owner speaks Arabic, French, English and Portuguese!!! Fantastic Experience!!!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    7.9
    Nice big room with comfort bed
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Suite Medersa
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very poor breakfast

    Nice big room with comfort bed

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    9.6
    very kind staff, romantic interior.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Suite El Bali
    • Stayed 1 night

    very kind staff, romantic interior. The best riad I have ever stayed in Morocco!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    8.8
    The staff and the breakfast and the room was big.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Suite Sara
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom need to be maintained

    The staff and the breakfast and the room was big.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    7.5
    Good breakfast;
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Suite Medersa
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room is too dark; rooms can be noisy due to the distance to the patio.

    Good breakfast; room is spacious; staff tries to be helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Riad Sara traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: