Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Dar Sholmes

82 Derb Sidi M'barek Quartier Sidi Mimoun, 40000 Marrakech, Morocco

#201 of 855 hotels in Marrakech

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 283 hotel reviews

9.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.2

  • Comfort

    8.9

  • Location

    8.4

  • Facilities

    8.8

  • Staff

    9.5

  • Value for money

    8.8

  • Free WiFi

    8.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    9.2
    The staff were exceptional from the moment we arrived.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Majorelle Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom in our opinion was a little dated with visible signs of aging and required a little tlc.

    The staff were exceptional from the moment we arrived. Breakfast was quaint but enough to get you through a day of exploring the beautiful city of marrakech and the location was superb only a few minutes walk away from jemaa el fna.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    8.8
    A must to stay to get the Moroccan experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Palmeraie Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Everything was great

    Very comfortable room with a well working air conditioner, bathroom was big and the bath enormous. Breakfast very authentic and slightly different each morning prepared fresh for you. Location seems kind of eerie but actually isn't when you get to know it.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    8.3
    Beautifully located in a quiet area just a couple of minutes...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Zagora Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A tip is to ask for a room in the upstairs floors, as the room we were in was situated by the dining room/entrance hall which could get quite noisy at times. Because the windows only opened to the dining room, it got quite hot and stuffy.

    Beautifully located in a quiet area just a couple of minutes walk from the main square. Fairly good wifi, and nice breakfast. The staff was really friendly and helpful, and did their best to make us feel at home. The rooftop terrace was nice, and the hotel is very nicely decorated.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    6.3
    Wonderful if you are with someone and want some quality time together!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Koutoubia Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Location.....with no taxi at the front door is very convenient when you have 25kgs to lug around plus if you are a woman on your own, it is a bit intimidating to walk on the meandering pathways through local neighbourhood to get to the road where you can meet your taxi. I did not go out at night but i imagine it would be daunting!

    Staff and the design of the room - sort of quaint and take you back to the original state

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    10
    Amazing Staff,Good Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Koutoubia Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maybe just the room could have some more windows for the circulation of the Air, but passable anyway :)

    Amazing place!! We have been in this Riad for 6 days .... we really enjoyed every single minute , thanks to the courtesy and sympathy of the staff, especially "Ismail" who was really kind and helpful with Us. Breakfast Superb !! Many things to eat and always fresh :) We will for sure Comeback!!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    9.6
    Amazing place!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Majorelle Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s a ten minute walk to the centre through several back streets - it was confusing at first but after a couple of days you soon navigate your way around.

    The staff are so kind and the place is spotless. The breakfast was delicious and the rooms are stunning. Can’t recommend this place enough.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    10
    Everything was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Koutoubia Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Everything was great. The staff are so kind and will help you about evertything. The hotel is charmy, in quiet neighbour but so close to the main square. The girls everymorning cleans apartment and make order in everything in a room. Beautiful expirience. Highly recomend.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    9.6
    Fabulous
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Zagora Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Building is noisy, not for sensitive ears. Breakfast a little meager for Morrocan standards (and the general standard of the property)

    Very large and spotlessly clean room, friendly and helpful staff, good Wifi in rooms, comfortable bed

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    9.2
    Great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Koutoubia Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A very convenient location and the staff were very helpful. A great little place to stay if you are looking for something near the medina but not right in the medina.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    4.6
    Great location, but no windows
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Submitted via mobile

    No Windows in the room No fresh air in the room Dark No privacy - the room was situated with a thin glass door next to the restaurant. Booked 6 nights, but left after 1 night. Owner didn’t want to refund any nights.

    Nice breakfast compared to the price Good location

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    9.6
    Hospitable hideaway in the city centre
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Palmeraie Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great location for a first time visitor who wants to explore the old city of Marrakech. Welcoming and friendly staff. Great rooftop to escape from the busy centre.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    10
    Brilliant stay!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Ourika Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Safe and hairdryer didn't work - we put passports in the safe at reception so that wasn't too much of a problem. Everything else was perfect

    Loved the hot tub, big spacious beds and really friendly staff

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    9.2
    Overall we have enjoyed our stay and loved Marrakech. And Dar Sholmes did help us for this.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Koutoubia Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location is great as have already mentioned - it's safe and in a walking distance, but the youngsters (Not the kids like 7-8 years old ones and etc.) who were in front of the entrance of the Riad from dusk to dawn were acting silly sometimes... But you can simply ignore them... And secondly, would recommend you book your trips to any destinations via TripAdvisor, online. As the trip we booked from the Riad to the Ouzoud water falls (which would recommend) costed us almost twice the price, comparing to the price from TripAdvisor... 😕 and still had to pay extra to the guide...

    We've have really enjoyed our stay. And would like to say big Thank You to the staff first and the manager-Karlo (i hope haven't misspelled your name) himself. Very quite, clean and in a walking distance from the city sightseeings... The staff would always help you about everything and were very friendly and smiling all the time.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2018

    10
    Excellent!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Zagora Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This riad was so comfortable with all modern conveniences. It was a little hard to find initially but the location (within the Medina) was excellent and we (mother and daughter) felt very safe walking around even at night. The staff was exceptional, spoke excellent English, and was receptive to all our needs. Breakfast was included and was superb as well. We had chicken tagine with olives and preserved lemons for lunch one day which was the best tagine we had during our Morocco stay! I would stay here again and recommend it without hesitation.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    10
    Wonderful stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Zagora Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only request that the management is to kindly add blackout curtains to patio rooms.

    We just arrived to Marrakech, the taxies standing just opposite to the airport asked for 150 MAD minimum to take us to the Dar located in Mamounia. We walk to the huge taxi parking at the entrance of the airport, the taxi charged us for 100 MAD. We just arrived to Dar Sholmes, it's not far from the main road of Mamounia. The Dar is very nice, clean, tidy and recently renovated. We were welcomed by 2 nice ladies in red uniform (Nadia & Nahla). Nadia was our host to the Dar. In the evening we met Younis, a very helpful gentleman. He agreed to offer breakfast at dawn time as we were to fast this day. The breakfast is nice ( fresh orange juice, jam, honey, butter, bread, pancakes, orange cake, fruit salad and moroccan tea. Our room was in the patio, it was very nice. I loved the strong water current in the shower. We requested to add a third night, and Aron the owner was very kind to agree to the same price we paid previously, although the price was much higher on booking.com. On our last night, Sunday, weekend, our bed broke. Aron came himself with his dad and they fixed it themselves as carpenters were off today. The only request that the management is to kindly add blackout curtains to patio rooms. We stayed for 3 nights at Dar Sholmes. Thank you guys 😘😘

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    10
    An oasis behind a wooden door
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Zagora Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Dar Sholmes offers an authentic Moroccan home luxury holiday. Like all Riads they are a riot of colour and coolness as you step through the ornate wooden door into a tiled entrance area. We parked the car and carried an overnight bag through the narrow streets to the Riad (about 3 minutes walk). It is easy to find with google maps or a satnav. We were welcomed with Moroccan mint tea and cakes and had a wonderful jacuzzi on the rooftop terrace before dinner. The décor is a mix of stylish modern and rich Moroccan. The room was spacious as was the bathroom. Both breakfast and dinner were ample, fresh and beautifully presented. What stood out here was the attention to detail, fresh roses in the fountain and the fact that with only 6 rooms it is homely while amazingly beautiful. We have to call out Nadia who is the day manager and was so gracious and delightful in ensuring every need was met. The riad is walking distance to the souks although we enjoyed a horse and buggy ride to Jardin Majorelle, not to be missed.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    9.6
    Memorable and homely stay with excellent staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Koutoubia Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I travelled with my girlfriend in early May this year. Arran the owner immediately made us feel welcome, spending a good 20 minutes showing us the city map, and giving a great overview of the best attractions, and how to not get ripped off by the locals! His staff, Mohammed and Ismael were both fantastic too. Nothing we wanted was ever too much to ask, from opening the hot tub after hours, to making fantastic moroccon mint tea at any time. The breakfast was really nice, and varied each day. The location was really central, with the room having small touches such as swans made from the towels by the maids each day. Overall, it was a really great stay and I wouldn't hesitate to come back again. Wishing you all the best from London for the future!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2017

    9.2
    Lovely Riad.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Majorelle Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We enjoyed our stay in Dar Sholmes, all the staff were lovely and attentive. The hot tub on. the roof terrace was great and they served alcohol. Would definitely stay here again! Thanks.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2017

    7.9
    The room was clean and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Majorelle Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was on the ground floor in a small courtyard with the dining area outside which didnt feel very private. I would therefore ask for an upstairs room when booking. The hotel does not have direct access to the road. To reach the hotel we arranged a transfer with the hotel which was 20 euros. After a short taxi ride we were met by hotel staff and walked for about 10 mins through the Medina alley ways.

    The room was clean and comfortable. The breakfast was nice and the staff were particularly friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    6.7
    The room was clean and nice!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Ourika Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Some of the power plugs were broken (if removing the power cord, you would have it in your hand). Other guests passing by the room can look into the room when one doesn't close the curtains. Unfortunately one can hear the other guests talk in the court yard of this riad. Not always nice if one wants to get some sleep. No street noise (no windows towards the street). Keep in mind that our evaluation is based on the original price of the Riad and expectations one than has when comparing to other Riads in Marrakech and Morocco.

    The room was clean and nice! Matrasses are of high quality. Excellent (quiet) air conditioning, room has good WiFi connection. Bathroom is very spacious and clean! Breakfast is okay. Very nice roof top terrace and its whirlpool round up this very nice experience! 10 minute walk to the main square. Parking available on Rue Sidi Mimoun.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2017

    9.2
    Excellent place and staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Ourika Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I would like to say thanks to the riad staff, both guys at the reception (the one during the day and the one during the night) were VERY helpful and kind. The ladies in the riad were also kind and hospitable. We felt very welcome and will definitely recommend this place to anyone visiting Marrakech. The location is a bid difficult to find at firs but this is the same with any riad in the Medina. My sincere thanks and hope to go back soon.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2017

    8.8
    It's a stylish place, comfy clean rooms, nice shower and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Majorelle Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It's a bit dark downstairs, and I would have liked an egg at breakfast, to make up for all the sweet stuff you get. You have to close the curtains when you're in the room, because other people can see you. Darkness again (more lamps would be nice). The staff constantly folds the clothes we wanted to hang out, we found that quite annoying, however well-meant. I like my clothes where I left them.

    It's a stylish place, comfy clean rooms, nice shower and I liked the hottub at the roof! Staff is very friendly, honest, helpfull, but hard to talk with in English. I tried my french, but couldn't always explain myself clear or understand the answer. When I panicked thinking stuff was stolen in one of the hotels we slept in, the manager was first defensive (though I wasn't particularly blaming him or his staff) but then helped me call the other hotel. After all very nicely helped, and found out I just hadn't searched well enough.... (shame on me!)

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2017

    10
    Awesomesauce!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Koutoubia Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    You can hear your next door neighbor sneeze, but it wasn't too bad.

    The breakfast was amazing, it was a lot, but all so good! The staff is very friendly and willing to help. Khaleed will help you with everything as well. The jacuzzi was the best, especially at night. Great view at a great temperature.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2017

    8.3
    Excellent staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Palmeraie Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful shaded glass doors of the rooms are not noise-proof. Hope I did not disturb other guests with my coughing.

    The riad stands out because of the service provided, as Aron and his team go out of their way to make you feel comfortable. Facilities are good value for money.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2017

    8.8
    Great service and hospitality
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Zagora Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was next to the lobby, and it did not give us a private atmosphere

    The hotel had excellent service and the staffs were all very kind and helpful

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2017

    9.6
    Perfect proposal
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Koutoubia Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's down an alley I had no problem with this but if you're really bad with directions you may have a littlw trouble.

    I proposed here in didn't really have a plan but let them know and they made the room look amazing. Petals, roses and candles everywhere! The staff were amazing and catered to anything we asked.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2017

    9.6
    A posh house in Marrakesh
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wi-Fi Just in some points of the house. Transfer from the airport overcharged ( get a street a cab).

    Room very clean, bed extremely comfortable. House decor beautiful. 15 min walk from the main square 5 min walk from the medina. Staff very friendly and happy to help with directions. Breakfast was ok!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2017

    10
    Fantastic riad, looks like a little palace
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Zagora Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We have had al really pleasant stay in Dar Sholmes, what a great helpfull staf. When you came in it looks like a small palace at a great location in the medina. Credits for the staff, they make our holiday complete. We will recommend this place to enyone who want to be surprised.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2016

    5.4
    The riad inside design is tradition.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Majorelle Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not easy to find, Overcharge, we ordered two beers. It cost 100 drm! Crazy!

    The riad inside design is tradition. Staff are great, when we said we have to leave at 7am. He made breakfast and also helped us to the outside.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2016

    10
    Beautiful home away from home
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really! All I can think of is that if we had to get to the Riad by ourselves the first time it would have been a bit tricky like all riad's in Marrakech. However Yousuf was waiting for us at the taxi drop off point with his big smile & warm hospitality so it wasn't an issue.

    Proximity to everything and very helpful staff

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2016

    9.6
    A lovely, chilled stay...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Zagora Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Beds are small, so if you're 6ft+ then watch out! Also, the cleaning lady kept eating our Cadbury Chocolate!

    Joseph was a great host. Breakfast is good. The Riad is pretty chilled and they don't bug you or try and get you to buy day trips or anything. They are very well organised - pickups/collections from airport were on time. Service is excellent. Thoroughly recommend.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2016

    10
    Nice place that you feel intimacy and nice altitude.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Zagora Suite
    • Stayed 17 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice place that you feel intimacy and nice altitude. I spend 18 days and this hotel was my world in Marrakech . You feel that you are the most important person in the world to the stuff of the hotel. Before I meet Aaron the owner I liked Italian people and after I met him I loved them more he is a nice guy that likes his work. Khaled shows with his lovely smile a friendly spirit every day. Yousef was my brother and for sure my life in Marrakech would be much harder without him. It's a nice place with a nice people to deal with.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2016

    9.6
    A real pleasure!!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Mamounia Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast was only with sweet things. It would be nice to have something different sometimes.

    Every day, upon arrival, they had placed incense in my bathroom, it was delicious. The food was exquisite, very good Moroccan food cook. The service was exceptional.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2016

    9.6
    Amazing Dream Ryad
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Ourika Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The location is amazing, the property is outstanding, the staff is lovely, friendly and always smiling. I really felt like I was in my own home. The breakfast is beautiful and the portions are generous. Definitely a very comfortable stay. Love to the staff and the owner of the property

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2016

    2.5
    BEWARE do not take anything valuable or it may get taken by...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Zagora Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    BEWARE do not take anything valuable or it may get taken by staff!!! Checked-in at 5pm went to dinner for 2 hours (locked our door with key)...upon returning bed was remade by housekeeping...in the morning I have come to find that my perfume was gone (which I used right before dinner) and a sentimental ring that was given to me by my mother was taken both in my backpack. Not only was I in tears, upset and felt violated I was shown no sympathy by the owner...he decided to call me a liar and say that I'm making this up to not pay for the 1 night stay...oh and he proceeded to tell us that their were cameras in the rooms.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    10
    The situation of this Riad it's perfect!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The situation of this Riad it's perfect! No far walking from the center, and far enough for to be in a quiet area. The kindly staff makes mor confortable the stay. Clean, small, confortable, quiet, nice rooms, and perfect atmosphere. The nice yakutzi to the roof makes to spend a hot summer afternoon very well! Nice breakfast is served, and sometimes they have beers!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    9.2
    The staff were so accommodating, nice and extremely helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Majorelle Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were so accommodating, nice and extremely helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    9.6
    Nice find.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    In the medina but still pretty easy to find and very quiet at night. Got a good explanation of the sights. Beautifull place and friendly personnel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    9.6
    Great value, fantastic staff, amazing views from the hot tub...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Palmeraie Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The WiFi didn’t work in the room

    Great value, fantastic staff, amazing views from the hot tub on the roof

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    9.6
    Good location and room size.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Majorelle Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleanness can be improved.

    Overall is pretty good.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    10
    Great Riad, staff were really friendly and fantastic room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Zagora Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great facilities and room.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    10
    The staff were excellent & extremely helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The staff were excellent & extremely helpful

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    8.3
    A RIAD experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Palmeraie Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff very nice

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2017

    7.9
    Nice hotel at a good price with friendly staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Majorelle Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We ordered lunch which took very long to get there.

    Friendly staff, good location, jacuzzi on the rooftop

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2017

    9.2
    Great stay with friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Majorelle Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was backed on to the main area so wasn't as private as would have liked but is understandable.

    Staff were very friendly and polite.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2017

    9.2
    Staff extra helpful e.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Majorelle Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Staff extra helpful e.g. late flight so let us have a shower in a spare room. Breakfast very lovely and attentive service

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2017

    9.2
    Nice room and good wifi, you should walk 15-20 min to the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Koutoubia Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    None.

    Nice room and good wifi, you should walk 15-20 min to the city centre. The staff is helpful and nice people.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2017

    10
    Perfect Christmas break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Zagora Suite
    • Stayed 7 nights

    We can't think of anything.

    Centrally located, helpful, friendly staff. Sun terrace with Jacuzzi. We are going back there next Christmas

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2017

    9.6
    Everything was great here:)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Palmeraie Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was great here:)

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2017

    10
    Design of interier, service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Palmeraie Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Design of interier, service

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2016

    9.6
    Best riad in Marrakech
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Koutoubia Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Brilliant fantastic clean with super helpful staff

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2016

    9.2
    The staff here were great and really look after you
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Mamounia Suite
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds were not the most comfortable

    The staff here were great and really look after you

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2016

    8.8
    Great staff and service!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Majorelle Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Little spots on the sheets

    Facilities,staff,comfort

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2016

    9.2
    Jewel in the Medina
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Palmeraie Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff are genuinely helpful and friendly

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2016

    10
    Great treatment
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Koutoubia Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Maybe the location and the way to arrive to the door is difficult

    The treatment was amazing and the Riad was very clean and nice

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2016

    9.6
    Highly recommended
    • Solo traveller
    • Koutoubia Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very good place with helpful staff, the manager gave me useful advices.I appreciated the stay

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2016

    5.4
    Boring breakfast, wi-fi didn't work, hot tub only for...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Palmeraie Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Boring breakfast, wi-fi didn't work, hot tub only for guests staying more than one night..

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2016

    9.2
    The staff was extremely friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The riad itself was great; although hard to find - make sure you call them for directions from the parking lot! (Our GPS wanted to take us down roads inaccessible to traffic.)

    The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. They made the stay much more pleasant and were pleasant to talk to and gave good suggestions of places nearby (and a bit of a drive away) to visit.

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2016

    9.6
    The Staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We arrive at night and two guys help us between the scary and dark streets till the hotel. It is a bit scary if you don't know exacly the hotel. Just that

    The Staff. Very helfull very kind people. Amazing staff. Great breakfast. Good location, very confortable. Great decoration. I loved this place. Very clean. Quiet place. Big rooms. Great toilets. The staff are really nice. The terrace are amazing. Even the manager are really really kind. Amazing people working there. They help you in everything. Just thinking on your well being. Thanks a lot for all

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2016

    10
    On the course of our trip we stayed in Marrakesh 3 times and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Our room was on the ground floor and gets a bit noisier. This is a problem with all riads, but if you have the chance try to book a room on the first floor

    On the course of our trip we stayed in Marrakesh 3 times and in 3 different riads. Dar Sholmes was the first and I am happy for it. The location is great for someone new to the city. The medina is an umbelievable maze and this riad is near the Kotubia mosque and easy to find your way back from there. The staff is great and the owner was kind to give us a bunch of info on how things work in Morroco, which was super helpful. We also had dinner once and the food was amazing, would also recommend. I had my best kefta of the whole trip!

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2016

    9.2
    There were lots of little "extras" such as...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Book ahead and ask them to send you directions on how to get there - it's great location but because of the street design, hard to figure out the first time. You may need to pay a kid to get you there from the main street. That's what I ended up doing, but I booked last minute..

    There were lots of little "extras" such as beautiful soaps, a nice scent, great bed and rose petals everywhere (and very nice bathroom facilities, at least in my room). The manager walked me through the complicated, windy streets to get me to my next Location - a process that took us about half an hour. It was really nice of him to go that extra mile.

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2016

    9.6
    the room was too spacious and quiet.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    the room was too spacious and quiet. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Everything about dar sholmes was amazing. I'd recommend it to anyone and i'd definitely stay there again.

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2016

    9.6
    Location in medina,free wifi,breakfast,welcome drink...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    A long walk down alley.

    Location in medina,free wifi,breakfast,welcome drink,Restaurant with freshly cooked food..Modern room & bathroom.aircon.beautiful style & atmosphere.helpful staff.

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2016

    10
    Loved the space, staff, everything!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Loved the space, staff, everything! The space was peaceful and the rooms were beautiful! The food was soooooo sooooooo good! I loved going out to experience all the other restaurants and vendors as well but had some of the best meals in the Riad :) Was a comfort after some long days out in the hustling city, and wanting to stay in and relax.

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2016

    9.6
    The room was clean and the linen very fresh.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A misunderstanding led to us paying more for laundry cleaning we could have done ourselves.

    The room was clean and the linen very fresh. We also thought the breakfast was nice as was the peacefulness of the Riad, which quickly became a welcome retreat from the chaos of the city. The best part was the team at Dar Sholmes who were always at our beck and call and did everything we asked. This level of service is so refreshing in such a busy city, we knew we could rely on them and that was fantastic. And the jacuzzi on the roof was the cherry on top.

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2016

    8.8
    A very restful place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The distance from where the taxi drops one off was a bit far to walk especially as motor vehicles are not allowed in the small alleys. Better signposting from taxi drop off point is also needed.

    A very restful place. Clean and very comfortable. Noordeen the manager was superb in his effort to make us comfortable.

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2015

    10
    Both the owner and the manager of this hotel were very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Both the owner and the manager of this hotel were very helpful, giving us advice on how to negotiate the busy city. Khalid did a great job of making us feel welcome and even walked us to the city center on our first day. I highly recommend staying at this hotel.

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2015

    9.6
    The people are amazing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The people are amazing!!! I love the staff, I love the service, excellent amazing, 2 thumbs up!!! They went to the airport and found my passport for me. Great breakfast, really worth its value!

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2015

    10
    We were kindly met by Nordine and had a lovely greeting with...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We genuinely loved our whole stay

    We were kindly met by Nordine and had a lovely greeting with Aaron who gave us some great tips on the city and an overview of the area, with some complimentary mint tea. The riad is beautiful and authentic; beautiful rooms and rooftop. Each morning we enjoyed a lovely breakfast and felt so well looked after. We booked two trips to the desert and Atlas Mountains arranged by Nordine which were fabulous. Our whole stay was lovely from start to finish at this beautiful riad. Nordine looked after us so well and made us feel so welcome.

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2015

    10
    Everything was perfect since our arrival, we been welcomed...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room was quiet small, but it was the cheapest one of the riad, so it look fair enough.

    Everything was perfect since our arrival, we been welcomed by really nice and smilling staff, and served a delicious morroccan tea, then Nourdine(morroccan guy from reception) brought us to our room after giving us a map of the city, the best place to visit, and much more information. Once ready to go out to the city, Nourdine walked with us until the place Jemaa El Fna and gave us a lot of good advice. Our room was everyday clean and tidy up nicely. The way to is riad is very safe as it is close to the palace. the owner is aswell more than helpful and we felt there even better than at home, the terrace is beautiful with jacussi and nice transat to have a sun bath. Would definetely recommend this place to anyone,. Actually i could say that it was the best riad during our staying in Morocco.

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2015

    9.6
    Might be the best place in Marrakech: location (in medina,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Small problem with hot water, fixed by the time we left the riad

    Might be the best place in Marrakech: location (in medina, in narrow streets, just like in real Moroccan life), close to main sqare and other interest points, staff, room, architecture...

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2015

    10
    We stayed at Dar Sholmes for two days before heading off on...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    We stayed at Dar Sholmes for two days before heading off on a 3 day desert tour and then returning for 1 night. From the moment we were picked up at the airport through to being dropped off for our return flight there was nothing I could fault. The Riad is in the old city so the last part of the journey is on foot. This was no problem as we were met at the car and our luggage was carried for us by the wonderful staff. When we wanted to explore Marrakech, Aaron (the owner) sent one of his staff with us to show us the way so we would be ok. When we needed anything we just had to ask. We ate here two nights and the food was lovely. Breakfast was also lovely. Our room was wonderful - quiet and cool. The neighbourhood is safe and you get a real feel for the city. Smile and say hello and you will get lots of smiles from everyone. I have stayed at many 5 star hotels who didn't provide as good a service as Dar Sholmes. Aaron and his team are so friendly and customer focused - they anticipated and exceeded our expectations in every single way. We will definitely stay here next time we return to Marrakech.

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2015

    10
    Excellent hotel with very friendly and welcoming staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Nothing

    Excellent hotel with very friendly and welcoming staff. Noor Ud din was very welcoming and both himself and the owner told us to think of the hotel as our own home. Noor Ud din gave us his number and was always willing to help.

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2015

    10
    -the kindness if the staff ( the owner Aron and the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    -we could not stay any longer

    -the kindness if the staff ( the owner Aron and the receptionist Nouredine) -the yummy breakfast -the cleanliness of the riad in general

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2015

    9.6
    - customer service
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    - Location is a turn off at first but you get over it. It is a walking distance from the centre so it is good, but it is amongst ally ways of neighbourhoods that might look scary.

    - customer service - all needs met - very beautiful hotel - peaceful - beautiful terrace where you can have your breakfast/lunch/dinner - Food always presented beautifully - Noorudin, the host, provided us with all the help to ensure that our stay was smooth and came to our aid and looked after everything when we needed it - beautiful jacuzzi on the terrace

There are also 25 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Dar Sholmes traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: