Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis

Reviews of Riad Soleil D'orient

Derb Al Haljar N 131, 24000 El Jadida, Morocco

#1 of 27 hotels in El Jadida

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 114 hotel reviews

9.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.8

  • Comfort

    9.6

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    9.6

  • Staff

    9.7

  • Value for money

    9.2

  • Free WiFi

    9.5

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 43

  • Reviewed: July 18, 2018

    8.8
    Lovely stay in el jadida
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Pourpre Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It's in the heart of the city next door to the mosk A bit shabby nabourhood but very ssfe

    The villa is beautiful. The food is homemade and fantastic meals and breakfast. Also we had one of the best maroccan message girls where great both for me and my wife. I will recommend to my friends

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 8, 2018

    10
    Delightful Moroccan design of the Riad with central...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Ivoire Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Delightful Moroccan design of the Riad with central courtyard plus a sunny rooftop area. The best Moroccan food of any I have had in Morocco. Very good wine list.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: May 12, 2018

    9.6
    Excellent quality of food (dinner as well as breakfast),...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Nuit Savane Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Food and Room rather on the expensive site for Marocco

    Excellent quality of food (dinner as well as breakfast), warming host & personnel, central location in El jadida, nice terace for relaxing in the sun

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: December 4, 2017

    9.6
    Beautiful riad with friendly owner...too bad that El Jadida is not using its full potential !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite Savane
    • Stayed 1 night

    Medina in El Jadida Some advice of places to go (restaurant and café) and visit around the city would have been nice

    Friendly owner and staff Beautifully decorated Riad

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: October 15, 2017

    9.6
    Lovely, comfortable, brilliantly managed Riad.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Nuit Savane Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No complaints. The Location only got a good rating as El Jadida is off the main tourist route, But that could be a plus, it's quiet. Except when the muezzin is doing his thing.

    This is a wonderful Riad, by far the best run I stayed at in my 2 weeks in Morocco. Eco-green, organized, well decorated, comfy, and Oliver and his staff lean over backward to accommodate guests with a smile-- even making a full breakfast for guests needing to leave at 5 am! Also parking and delivering our car whenever we wanted. Wow.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: September 22, 2017

    10
    One of the best run roads I have stayed in.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Everything was great.

    Very helpful and friendly service which included a delicious early breakfast as one of our party had an early flight. Dinner in the courtyard was lovely - a really relaxed ambience. This was our second visit. Wi-Fi is now excellent.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: July 24, 2017

    10
    I love everything about this place.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Suite Savane
    • Stayed 10 nights

    Be prepared to be waked up every morning at 5am for the first call for pray, from the mosque near by.

    I love everything about this place. It was the best choice I could have done in El Jadida. An oasis to rest after a long day, where everything is prepared for that. The staff makes you really feel at home. The food is delicious and the garden is fresh and cool. I will be back in September.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: June 11, 2017

    9.6
    Magnificent Riad, excellent staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Nuit Savane Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Amazingly good looking Riad, Oliver really puts his heart in his establishment and that pays out well! It was like an oasis and perfect end of our holiday!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: January 2, 2017

    6.7
    Great food
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Pourpre Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    El Jadida is not a tourist town. If u go outside there are just local markets and shops. Mostly fabric and second hand stuff.If u have not done your shopping it's very difficult to do it there.

    The food in the Soleil D'orient was amazing. It's worth every penny to eat there. The chef is a gem. We asked for see food and boy oh boy did we get a treat. 3 nights we ate there and each night we got a new surprise. It's a good spot for resting before u fly back. It's only a short drive to Casablanca airport.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: October 29, 2016

    10
    Perfect riad with excellent food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Nuit Savane Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Everyone was exceptionally helpful. We really appreciated the staff helping us to buy canned sardines for bringing home. We also loved the breakfast and dinners. The rooftop terrace is amazing. The staff is very well trained and extremely efficient and friendly. We were lost on our way to our next riad in Casablanca and the owner of Riad Soliel de Orient was most helpful in making a contact for us with the riad. We highly recommend this riad..

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: August 22, 2016

    9.6
    Very good Riad in El Jadida with excellent value and comfort
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Nuit Savane Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night

    Located outside the Old Medida of El Jadida, the Riad might be a bit difficult to find.

    The Riad is pretty and a great value for money, the Owner and staff were great and it was the best breakfast in Morocco we had :)

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: July 30, 2016

    9.2
    Very charming riad
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Nuit Savane Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night

    The wind--not the owner's fault - makes a lot of noise via the rattling pole on top of our room. It really sounded like there was a construction next door, making it hard to sleep. Perhaps they can do something with the poles erected at the upper terrace.

    Very nice proprietress, and very welcoming staff. Like most riads, very cozily decorated for your comfort. I like the toiletries that they provide and well thought of plan for the rooms. I highly recommend. The view from the terrace is quite nice.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: May 24, 2018

    10
    Top of top!!!!
    • Solo traveler
    • Nuit Savane Terrace
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Excellent breakfast, outstandingly helpful owner Olivier!!!!!!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 9, 2018

    10
    Highly recommend when in El Jadida
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Nuit Savane Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing to complain about.

    All perfect.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: April 14, 2018

    9.6
    Enjoyed our stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Ivoire Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    A bit overpriced (especially the bottled water!!)

    Nice room and bathroom, comfortable bed with lovely flat pillows, good shower, good heater.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: December 4, 2017

    9.6
    Excellent interier , friendly stuff, Old Portuguese Port...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Ivoire Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Riad doesn t accept payment by credit card

    Excellent interier , friendly stuff, Old Portuguese Port about 10 minutes walk from riad.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: September 25, 2017

    10
    very nice, will stay there again when in the area
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Nuit Savane Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room, the staff the evening meal and breakfast all very good.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: May 24, 2017

    9.6
    Superbe
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Ivoire Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nothing

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: January 3, 2017

    10
    Great owner and breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite Savane
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Great owner and breakfast

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: October 13, 2016

    9.6
    Beautiful place, extremely friendly staff excellent location...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite Savane
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Beautiful place, extremely friendly staff excellent location very peaceful and quiet, delicious hearty breakfast , excellent wi-fi .

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: August 23, 2016

    9.6
    Pretty oasis in El Jedida
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Beautiful rooms, great breakfast and a warm reception by Oliver and his staff. We loved the garden courtyard, and also the game room.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They're no longer included in the property's overall review score, but they might still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: April 7, 2016

    9.2
    Excellent location in the medina, beautiful interior design,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Slightly overpriced for a city like El Jadida. Minaret just opposite the riad, so expect call to prayer to wake you up in the early morning (I didn't mind but others may find it annoying..)

    Excellent location in the medina, beautiful interior design, great attention to detail, superb and rich breakfast with fresh ingredients, ample terrace with view, welcoming and helpful staff.

  • Reviewed: November 21, 2015

    7.9
    Friendly owner (upgraded our room) and very helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Strong focus on the money side of things. Expensive dinner tho I expect food great. Ltd TV

    Friendly owner (upgraded our room) and very helpful staff. Best breakfast in the country. Great cook. Good courtyard & rooftop terrace, but unfortinately ltd use for us due to rain.

  • Reviewed: October 27, 2015

    9.2
    Once inside the Riad it was all excellent especially the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It would be impossible to find without specific instructions especially if arriving by taxi. It is in the old town through a busy medina, which in some places is not attractive.

    Once inside the Riad it was all excellent especially the staff.

  • Reviewed: September 6, 2015

    10
    We stayed at Riad Soleil d'Orient for two nights in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There is nothing negative to refer about this Riad. Everything was perfect. The only less positive point would be the wifi, which sometimes failed. But this is absolutely normal in a building with large walls and different floors.

    We stayed at Riad Soleil d'Orient for two nights in August. The location is perfect, in the medina and 5 minutes away from the Cité Portugaise and 10 minutes away from the centre of El Jadida (walking). The place is perfect, very carefully thought and maintained. You can see how the owner and the staff put attention to the details. The breakfast was delicious and even if you may find cheaper options, we think this Riad offers a good value for your money. Olivier, the owner, is very nice and always available and all staff is very friendly and absolutely dedicated to the guests. Even if located in the middle of the medina, it is quiet and peaceful. I definitely recommend this place.

  • Reviewed: September 3, 2015

    7.9
    Very comfortable, an oasis from a not so great area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    A host who only appeared upon request and never made us feel welcome. In two trips to Morocco we have stayed in 6 riads and this is the only time we have experienced this behaviour.A beautiful riad but you are on your own.

    Very comfortable, an oasis from a not so great area.

  • Reviewed: August 16, 2015

    9.2
    A beautiful Riad with wonderful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    A beautiful Riad with wonderful staff. Every room was artistically done with a lot of attention to details. The downstairs eating area was lovely and we enjoyed sitting on the deck at night. I highly recommend Riad Soleil. Oliver was a great host.

  • Reviewed: May 9, 2015

    9.2
    I highly recommend this Riad.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler

    Very few taxi drivers knew how to find the Riad. It's at the end of an alley with a sign. Took the map the Riad gave me and handed it to the taxi drivers then I had no problem.

    I highly recommend this Riad. I'm a solo woman traveler and felt very safe. The attention to detail in the decor restoration is fantastic. Food is homemade every day. Enjoyed 3 dinners at the Riad. Each dinner comes with appetizer, entree and dessert.

  • Reviewed: May 5, 2015

    9.2
    The riad is a lovely oasis in El Jadida, with a very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The mosque next door is rather loud - not the fault of the riad though, and we easily got back to sleep.

    The riad is a lovely oasis in El Jadida, with a very friendly, easy going owner, Oliver. He was very helpful in sorting out dinner at the riad for us even though we hadn't booked in advance, and arranging a veggie option for me. The room was excellent, and breakfast in the courtyard delicious. The old Portuguese city is a short walk away.

  • Reviewed: April 22, 2015

    8.3
    Entering from a fairly uninspiring street into a beautifully...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The wifi was a bit temperamental and fairly slow.

    Entering from a fairly uninspiring street into a beautifully gardened courtyard was a delight. The bedroom was spacious and comfortable. We had the best dinner in any of the riads we stayed in and an interesting wine list was produced. Breakfast was also excellent.

  • Reviewed: April 6, 2015

    9.2
    Hospitality of owner and staff.
    • Couple

    Onfortunately the terrace was not available due to construction works and the WI FI on the rooms was not very good

    Hospitality of owner and staff. Very beautiful room with excellent bed. The way the rooms and dining room were furnished were very tasteful and were done with style and love.And the cook ( a woman made very delicieus meals and extra mintthee for us)

  • Reviewed: March 31, 2015

    8.8
    Lovely rooms, comfortable beds, very welcoming host and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler

    Building work ongoing on terrace upstairs, which I was not warned about until arrival Internet did not work at time of arrival for duration of stay, but Oliver (the owner) did absolutely everythig he could up fix it, even calling out engineers late on Saturday night

    Lovely rooms, comfortable beds, very welcoming host and lovely staff The food is excellent and the views from the terrace are great

  • Reviewed: February 13, 2015

    8.3
    The owner has built a new Riad in the traditional Morrocan...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Building works restricted our enjoyment of the beautiful terrace gardens currently under construction. There wasa problem with the hotwater to our bathroom which meant only warm, but not hot showers and baths. The souk and El Jadida generally is run down and dirty and didnt feel very welcoming for travellers:Good beachside cafes though.Payment is expected in cash which is inconvenient and considering the owners are French seems a bit primitive!!

    The owner has built a new Riad in the traditional Morrocan style around an oasis of peace garden courtyard. We stayed in the ground floor suite which is beautifully fitted and very comfortable.the staff are extremely helpful, especially Rachid who was happy to guide us around the souk, and the old Portuguese Medina.

  • Reviewed: January 29, 2015

    9.6
    Everything about the Riad itself was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Being next to the local mosque you cannot fail to hear the morning call to prayers, however this was a minor issue.

    Everything about the Riad itself was great.

  • Reviewed: January 21, 2015

    10
    I rang ahead to say I am veggie and to order a meal.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler

    I rang ahead to say I am veggie and to order a meal. The cook is fantastic here. I had a 4 course meal for 20 pounds. Breakfast is just as fantastic. Olivier the owner is every helpful and it is a stunning raid to stay at

  • Reviewed: April 9, 2016

    7.5
    This beach town does not have the ambiance of Essouira...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Not much to distinguish the place.

    This beach town does not have the ambiance of Essouira although it is okay.

  • Reviewed: March 28, 2016

    8.8
    very nice staff, nice breakfast and nice views from the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    nothing

    very nice staff, nice breakfast and nice views from the terrace

  • Reviewed: January 2, 2016

    9.6
    Oasis of relax in the middle of busy El Jadida.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Oasis of relax in the middle of busy El Jadida. Design, cleanliness, and especially food were outstanding.

  • Reviewed: October 9, 2015

    10
    Fantastic Riad excellent staff and wonderful food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Fantastic Riad excellent staff and wonderful food. Rooms were beautifully decorated.

  • Reviewed: August 24, 2015

    9.6
    Extremely friendly and helpful staff, very nice environment...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Extremely friendly and helpful staff, very nice environment and lovely food!

  • Reviewed: August 19, 2015

    10
    Staff were very friendly and helpful, especially with the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Staff were very friendly and helpful, especially with the kids

  • Reviewed: July 26, 2015

    10
    Very friendly staff, excellent breakfast and lovely rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very friendly staff, excellent breakfast and lovely rooms. Very pretty gardens and upstairs terrace! We loved Tod the owners dog.

  • Reviewed: January 7, 2015

    9.6
    Great host, smiling staff, excellent food and facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great host, smiling staff, excellent food and facilities.

There are also 4 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 43

Browse Riad Soleil D'orient Traveler Photo Gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: