Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Villa Maroc Essaouira

10, Rue Abdellah Ben Yassine, Kasbah, 44000 Essaouira, Morocco

#19 of 60 B&Bs and Inns in Essaouira

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 242 B&B reviews

9.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.3

  • Comfort

    8.7

  • Location

    9.7

  • Facilities

    8.6

  • Staff

    9.3

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    7.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2018

    7.5
    Villa Maroc is very well situated in the heart of the Medina.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Villa Maroc is very well situated in the heart of the Medina. It is an authentic Riad with a very particular charm and Essaouirian identity. I have very much enjoyed the breakfast at the roof- with a beautiful view of the sea- and being well pampered by the adorable Dadas (cooks). They sell very interesting products ( make sure to check their shops) and have a number of nice corners and a delicious restaurant

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2018

    10
    Amazing ! Wonderful ! Best staff and food !
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Sea View Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This amazing riad is just inside one of the gates to the Medina so the location is perfect with views over then fishing port and beach , we were lucky to have the suite with rooms opening to these views , the room was beautiful furnished I am going to try an copy once home ! The breakfast on the top terrace was a perfect way to start the day and Fatima who has been there 25 years was full of knowledge about the riad . The food for breakfast and we had one dinner was amazing morroccon cuisine . We stayed 3 nights and will be back one day and will stay there again , the shopping is just outside the front door .

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2018

    5.0
    Most of staff were friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Sea View Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bait and switch on ocean view, see attached picture. If you stand next to wall you can see ocean but is not what most people would like to do and it doesn’t match their online pictures. Too many stairs. Should tell because the stairs will be a big problem for people with knee problems. no a/c. Two nights were ok but one night was hot.

    Most of staff were friendly

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    9.2
    Stylish hotel in centre of Essaouira
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Swimming pool advertised in sister property can only be used as part of a (quite expensive) lunch deal.

    Beautiful characterful old building with interconnected courtyards, fantastic roof terrace for breakfasts and lots of cosy sitting areas where you can play scrabble, chess etc.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2018

    10
    DREAM LAND
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    there's nothing wrong with the place or the standard.

    it is really a magic place the location the standard of service excellent. I will definitely recommended to family and friends. Keep up the good work...we thank you so much for making our stay more relaxed and enjoyable.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    5.8
    I had a nice stay for 1 night
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My room and bathroom where so small. For 120 euro not worth the price. Book direct with the hotel half the price. For half the price room and bathroom acceptable. I book a lot with booking.com but you always get the lowest quality rooms.

    Very friendly staf

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    10
    Lovely well located villa.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely well located villa. Rooms larger than most Riad/villas. Very clean. Accommodating friendly staff. Nice breakfast on rooftop terrace with a great view

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    8.8
    Very friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Sea View Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The sea view was only a very oblique view.

    Very friendly staff. Good breakfast and dinner. The pastry making morning was very interesting although the lady teaching us did not speak English - only French.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    10
    A wonderful and very welcome break in the most beautiful surroundings!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dinner wasn't as exciting as we'd been hoping for, even though it was still lovely; perhaps it was just that particular evening's menu.

    Villa Maroc is just so beautiful but its best feature is the staff! Everyone was so friendly and helpful, Fatima always had a big smile and a warm greeting when we came up for breakfast, which is really welcoming and the food was always delicious!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    9.6
    Beautiful place, perfect location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Having a cot for our baby in the room was expensive - otherwise all was great.

    Beautiful place, perfect location! I had a treatment in the spa (which wasn't cheap) but absolutely wonderful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    8.8
    Lovely, charming with great views, staff and food
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    My only compliant is that the bed linen was a bit tired and old, with lumpy pillows and old duvet and cover. It was all very clean just not what I would expect from somewhere that was so great otherwise. Sort this out and we will definitely be back.

    Lots of things to like, the staff were brilliant, just the right balance of attention and friendliness but left you alone to enjoy the place. The food was great too, we particularly enjoyed breakfast on the terrace with stunning views. If you like a bit of privacy but also to be around people this is a good place to go.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    10
    Cozy and beautiful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Villa Maroc is a very pleasant place to stay. It´s in a perfect location, next to the beach, the lively harbor, and the narrow streets and alleyways of the old medina. Villa Maroc is tastefully decorated in beautiful colors and there are plenty atmospheric little corners and rooms to choose from for dining in privacy, or enjoying a cup of coffee. Staff was always friendly and smiling. Our room was small - we heard it was the smallest in the hotel - but we found places for our luggage and really enjoyed the beautiful color palette and tasteful details of our Berber style room. It was fun to have little stairs from the living space to the bedroom chamber. From the bedroom, there was a view towards the sea, which was lovely. It had been raining before our arrival and it rained when we arrived, but there was no dampness or humidity. It was cozy and warm inside the room. There was a fireplace in the room too. It would have been lovely to sit by the fire, but it was already warm enough without and we did not want to heat the room too much for the night. The bathroom had their own range of argan oil based toiletries with a lovely scent of jasmine. Breakfast was the nicest we had during our one week stay in Morocco - on a sunny morning we enjoyed it on the rooftop terrace looking out towards the ocean. Our breakfast consisted of fresh orange juice, sweet homemade yogurt, fruits, eggs, coffee, bread and pastries with jam and honey. We did not try their hammam, which looked very tempting - we were too curious about exploring and photographing the town and the harbor. But this is just another good reason to come back one day and take the time to just relax. Also, their other property out of town, Jardins Villa Maroc, would surely have been a real treat on a hot day. Plenty of things to see and do for the next visit!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    8.8
    A beautiful riad in the heart of the port ..... You get a real taste of Morocco
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Sea View Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Damp windows as it had been raining so lots of towels wedged on the window seals

    Our room was amazing we were in the tower so had amazing views and great natural light Breakfast on the terrace and the salons for dinner. The trip to Berber market was a must true cultural experience

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    6.3
    not worth while to book a suite
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Sea View Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I booked a suite with space - surely we had a nice room with a sleeping tower, but we could barely place tow open suitcases - the water supply for the shower was poor and mostly only with cold water - the special offer for the Hammam was not satisfying at all, maybe because I know the real Hammam - when paying my bill, cc systems did not work - Reception was unable to print the invoice as there was no ink for the printer - i just expect more quality, especially, when a customer is willing to pay more than 200€ per night - i don't like to hear from the reception, that if i had booked directly with them , that the price had be different

    the location of the Riad - the breakfast on the roof terrace and breakfast quality and service

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2018

    9.2
    Absolutely made the right choice to stay @ Villa Maroc & will return the next time I'm in Essaouira.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    It was cold in Essaouira when I was there, so my room was cold. They did provide a space heater, which really helped. However, it was a large, gas heater that I wished were electric and much smaller.

    Full breakfasts on the roof terrace were just that. More than I ever expected. Totally excellent. The staff was sensational. Not just friendly and efficient, but personable and always willing to go the extra mile. A cozy, charming bar area with a fireplace that was ablaze every evening.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2017

    8.8
    Good place. Great staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's too cold inside. Not enough heating. The place could do with some basic toiletry amenities.

    The staff is great. It's a traditional moroccon set up. Great breakfast! Superb view from the terrace.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    10
    Wonderful break for winter sun!
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing specifically in regard the property. Just be aware lots of stairs, and Morocco gets cold at night!!

    Welcoming staff. Lovely Riad in an excellent location. Would recommend!!!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    9.6
    We had a great stay at Villa Maroc. Would definitely recommend a visit!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We loved Villa Maroc, the place is beautiful and the terrace has a good view of the beach. Watch out for a few uneven steps and some low ceilings, but it all adds to the charm of the place and it didn't bother us. Staff were great and extremely helpful. They even decorated our room with a birthday message and flowers as I mentioned the reason we were visiting was for my partner's birthday. I'd definitely go back!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    10
    probably best hotel in Essaouira - lovely - will go back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    evening meals are not great

    Really nice hotel Great staff Wonderful breakfasts - best in Morocco - on roof terrace overlooking port & sea Very correct pricing for services etc

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    7.1
    Nice but felt it would have been better to stay outside town and visit for day.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Sea View Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Felt the room description was misleading . Paid for deluxe sea view room which the room details said with patio/terrace. This was not private but the communal roof terrace.Very disappointed. Toilet did not flush properly. Felt the room was overpriced albeit nicely furnished. The restaurant expensive.

    It was good location and the hotel had a nice ambience.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    7.5
    Experience would probably have been far better if we had had a larger and brighter room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bedroom was cramped, very claustrophobic; very little storage space. Shower was average. Door to patio didn't lock easily. Very slow service for breakfast as everybody more or less arriving at the same time, but this should be planned for. A lot of the Moroccan breakfast crockery was slightly chipped.

    All staff bent over backwards to help, very friendly and open. Manager very available to chat and make suggestions every morning. Fab location and spectacular view from the breakfast terrace. Lovely inside decoration with a variety of different rooms.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    10
    Lots of character, great riad for Instagram shots ;)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We are dinner in the riad one night and the vegetarian food was a bit of a letdown. Totally edible, just a bit bland.

    Hotel had so much charm and character - and lovely location too.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    7.5
    Charming, but not perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast not very good. Old windows, lots of humidity. Too expensive for the actual quality.

    Beautiful view from the terrace. Very charming. Nice location.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    9.6
    Marvelous
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff made you feel like queen and king of the castle, any request was handled swiftly and with grace. They were extremely warm natured as well. Our room was amazing, we had our own living room and the bathroom was so big it had its own lounger as well. The simplicity of the decor was by no means a detractor, it was so cozy and charming. I wanted to stay and write a novel with the beach views and sounds of gulls for inspiration. The restaurant was one of the best in town and we ended up eating there our last 2 nights.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    8.8
    Beautiful traditional hotel in the heart of the medina
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Our room was slightly noisy form the room above but that is due to the layout of the hotel being in the traditional style.

    The property was beautiful and right in the heart of the medina which meant exploring was really easy. The staff were so helpful and friendly and nothing seemed too much trouble. The breakfast on the roof was amazing - with lots of different things to try and great views.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    8.8
    would recommend to everyone - it one of the places to stay in Essaouira.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    well guess the room could have been better - from experience i know rooms in a riad can be dark, but because i wanted a separate room for kids, the only choice wasnt the best in the place. but the rest of the facilities easily made up for this.

    amazingly attentive staff. superb breakfast. lovely rooms. great view. really really good riad. will be back.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    9.2
    Great location and beautiful setting.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit noisy, number could hear the music from a close by bar until late at night

    Great location and beautiful setting. Amazing decoration with a very homey feel. I loved the breakfast in the terrace and din8ng in a private room at night.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2017

    10
    Lovely place to spend a few days of leisure
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rooms, decoration, and breakfast were amazing! The staff was pleasant and helpful and we were overall very happy with both the service and the beautiful environment. We would definitely go back to this hotel if we visit Essaouira again. It was like home away from home

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2017

    10
    The location is very good and the hotel is very tastefully...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Nothing I didn't like but you need to know that part of the hotels charm is the layout, which is tall and on different levels so there are steep narrow stairs to climb.

    The location is very good and the hotel is very tastefully decorated and furnished. The staff are welcoming and friendly. When it gets very hot it is lovely to be able to go to the hotels garden property, 15 min away using the hotels shuttle bus, and use the pool. I will go again only next time I'll make sure I get a flight to the local airport.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2017

    6.7
    The staff need to attend a hospitality course
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Sea View Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is a little bit tired and in need of a refresh. Our bathroom could have done with a renovation and there was only a small soap, a bottle of shower gel and a bottle of shampoo as toiletries. There was no safe in the room, and no minibar. The reason for the low staff score was the attitude of the staff. Across Morocco we had found the level of attentiveness of staff to be absolutely superb, in hotels, restaurants and shops. Then Moroccan people were delightful. But here, the young woman on reception was cold, dismissive, unhelpful and when we were unable to connect to the wi-fi in our room, made us feel as if we were incompetent old people, and didn't accept that perhaps the room didn't have good connectivity? Similarly when we asked if we could have some tea when we were on the terrace the member of staff there actually made us feel as if we had inconvenienced him.

    The Villa Maroc is located very centrally, inside the Medina walls, easy to get to the beach, the souk, the port. It has a nice seaside feel to the interiors, they are light, bright and airy. The breakfast was lovely, and the room was comfortable. It is good value for money.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2017

    10
    My favourite hotel in the world.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Honestly nothing. It's not a slick corporate place, it's a home from home.

    It's a uniquely beautiful, lovingly run hotel. The staff are super friendly, the food is amazing, it's a very special place.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2017

    10
    Excellent location, comfortable rooms, very friendly staff,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Excellent location, comfortable rooms, very friendly staff, great service and excellent food! This beautiful Riad consists of four ancient houses that are connected with little steps and stairs.Very tastefully decorated!!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2017

    8.8
    Characterful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our room was cold, despite the heater which struggled to make any impact.

    Characterful hotel in the centre of Essaouira. Lovely staff. Delicious breakfasts on the roof terrace. (Beware the seagulls). Comfortable beds. Good shower.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2017

    9.2
    Still wonderful after all these years, the first and the best of the Riad movement
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Some of the rooms are better than other. You do get what you pay for, so pay more and you will be happier. Call the staff to talk about room choice.

    The staff are THE BEST. So friendly, knowledgeable and accommodating. From the reception to the bar tender to the many who lit our fire each night And the breakfast staff was even more outstanding. And the cook, she is a genius--just eat there every night and even though the menu descriptions are not very descriptive just go for it--the best meals we had our trip, and even ever, were here. The owner was on site and really cares. The shopping nearby was excellent. Go outside the walls to the boutiques and go into the non-tourist medina too. They also have a property inland where you can go to swim and bar-b-que lunch. it looked quite nice although we did not try it. I think you can swim there in winter as it is warmer inland.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2017

    9.6
    A perfect place to relax from busy Marrakech and enjoy the beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was a little bit cold, but it was a nice touch to find a hot water bottle in bed that made a big difference (next time check if it's closed properly so it doesn't spill water!)

    Great location in the Medina of Essaouira right next to the harbour and markets. The property is beautifully decorated and our room was stunning, high ceilings, spacious and a very comfortable bed. The bathroom was great as well, with a powerful shower and a separated wc. What we liked the most was the breakfast on the terrace overlooking the beach, delicious food and a perfect spot to enjoy the sunlight. Would love to come back for a longer stay, one day was not enough!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2017

    9.2
    Outstanding riad
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dinner is overpriced for children, a family of 4 is 120 to 150 euros. The children will not eat some courses

    Soft bed, swimming pool available at sister resort Riad is beautiful, good location Great food

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2017

    10
    Best in Essaouira
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Sea View Suite
    • Stayed 8 nights

    internet and heating could benefit from slight improvement.

    Villa Maroc is our all round favourite Christmas holiday stop. Fatima, the head of all round housekeeper/service personnel who has been with Villa Maroc for 28 years, is a smiling treasure who makes us return again and again. Also, their inland estate, Jardin de Villa Maroc with its heated swimming pool and luscious Morooccan BBQ buffet lunch, makes the holiday complete.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2016

    10
    Beautiful riad and staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful riad and staff. We met the owner Cornelia as well, everyone was lovely and very professional. Some of the best service we received in Morocco.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2018

    10
    It was full of personality, a very unique place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was full of personality, a very unique place to stay. Breakfast on the rooftop was excellent and a wine by the fire was very cosy.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    9.2
    Wonderful authentic place in a perfect location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fatima makes a wonderful breakfast and looked after us as if we were her children. Ask for her fabulous Moroccan scrambled eggs ... yumm!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    7.9
    Very good stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Suite (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very good stay.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    9.2
    The relaxing stylish design
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The relaxing stylish design

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    7.5
    Great central location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No sound proofing at all. Exceptionally noisy and very near tannoy from the mosque.

    Great central location. Very friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    10
    I loved the atmosphere and the location was perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Family Suite (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    I loved the atmosphere and the location was perfect.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    9.6
    We loved the numerous places to sit either in the sun or in front of a fireplace, in the evening.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely roof terrace,great breakfasts,cheerful and helpful staff. Beautiful bowls of roses everywhere.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    7.5
    Great location surrounding the heart of Essaouira,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Expansive spa. A swimming-pool would be appreciated

    Great location surrounding the heart of Essaouira, comfortable bedrooms, typical breakfast

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    10
    Everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything Villa Maroc is the best for leisure in Essaouira

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    5.4
    Staff friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    To noisy children in the room above

    Staff friendly

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    9.2
    I would heartily recommend this hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All the staff were very welcoming and friendly. Fabulous location and a beautiful hotel decor fabulous

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    10
    Lovely people working three.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent entrees on the meny, but the main dish was not so exciting. Good coffee in the morning, bread and marmalade were good.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    9.6
    A lovely stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Nothing

    Very comfortable room

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    9.2
    One of our favourite hotel experiences.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    One of our favourite hotel experiences. Fatima is a wonderful lady who made our stay feel extra special.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    8.3
    A happy fun stay, food🙅‍♀️
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The view from room, It was cold in the Road. A

    Decor,staff access to amenities.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    9.6
    Perfect and relaxing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Charming riad in great location.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    10
    perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    nothing

    amazing tranquil riad very helpfull staff and service was very good.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    9.6
    Highly recommend to stay here
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No one answered the phone after 11pm.

    Breakfast, all the staff is amazing! Especially Yonus and Fatima. The owner herself greeted us.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    10
    stunning
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    nothing

    everything

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    8.3
    Nice hotel, close to everything but noisy at night
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Sea View Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy at night

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2017

    10
    Will return
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was wonderful

    Lovely bathroom. Comfortable bed

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2017

    10
    Excellent location, excellent staff !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Sea View Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Dinner menu quite limited.

    Excellent Breakfast service on the roof terrace - lovely choice!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2017

    10
    It was perfect !
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was perfect !

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2016

    6.7
    Too expensive
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Sea View Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No wifi and too many stairs far from reception and a bit expensive compare to the facilities

    The server is very friendly

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2016

    7.9
    Lovely stay in Essaouira
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lots on offer here and many nooks to curl up in.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2016

    10
    Best choice for Essaouira!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Sea View Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    Loved the location and wonderful staff!

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2016

    7.9
    Great stay at Essaouira
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The spa and the hammam and massage.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2016

    10
    This is a quirkily beautiful hotel, full of twists and turns...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We booked a 'superior' room - a rather misleading term in so far as the hotel doesn't have any double rooms below that category. The room we were shown when we arrived was on the roof - a great location with gorgeous views, but a really small space and on two levels with the double bed wedged in against three walls on a platform making it tricky for two people to get in and out of - a great room for one person but less good for two. We were given an alternative room (no 3) which, although larger, really wasn't great. The window looked directly out into someone's flat and there was a large skylight in the ceiling without curtains or blinds - fine during the day but not so good at dawn with the light streaming in. All credit to them though, when we complained we were given another room - room 4 - which, although only in the same 'superior' room category as the other two, was actually larger and far more comfortable than either of them. So, we did end up with a great room, but we really wished we hadn't had to complain twice in order to get there. In all fairness, I suppose people have different ideas of what constitutes a good room, but beware - the individual nature of this hotel - which is what makes it so special and interesting - also means that its rooms vary a good deal. I do wonder if a more finely-tuned method of categorising the rooms would help.

    This is a quirkily beautiful hotel, full of twists and turns and with several individual sitting and dining areas, all furnished with a great eye for style and comfort. The piece de resistance is certainly the roof terrace with it's stunning views out to sea and great seating areas. Breakfast -which was delicious - tasted all the better for being served in this rooftop location, and the marauding seagulls (who apparently have a passion for butter) only served to enhance the atmosphere. The staff were as charming as the hotel - a really lovely place to stay

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2016

    8.8
    The staff could not have been more helpful to us and our...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Dinner was good but we had expected better and the standard of restaurants for similar price in Essaouirra is very high.

    The staff could not have been more helpful to us and our 15month old boy. Breakfasts were excellent.

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2015

    7.9
    Nice Location, next to the harbour.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The infrastructure needs a management review when it comes to Internet (only outside the room), the terasse (shadow support) and the whole Spa.("...guests can unwind on the terrace or enjoy a moment of pure relaxation in the Oriental Spa") E.g. the hotel has no bathrobe, no dress for the Spa-staff, guest share one glass of water, the towell etc. Small things that could be improved easily...but prevent from "pure relaxation" The bar/restaurant service was under the avarage - otherwise full points.

    Nice Location, next to the harbour. Very friendly staff on the terrace were you have breakfast. We could also recommend the garden with the pool and the nice service/food there.

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2015

    8.3
    loved the sea views.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It wasn't clear that the shuttle to their sister hotel with a pool only goes once a day - and you have to buy in to the whole day experience including lunch. We only wanted to go for a dip and spend the rest of the day doing other things, so got a cab there and back instead. Next time I'll stay at a place that has a pool as that, for me, is a must - especially as the beach isn't really a swimming one. Also, staff often offered to book taxis for us, at vastly inflated rates. It's much cheaper to go to Bab Doukkala and get a cab from there (or a bus for more adventure!).

    loved the sea views. Our room was very comfortable, though a bit on the small side for a suite. Location was great. amazing breakfast! Great architecture, with lots of nooks and crannies, and loved the roof terrace.

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2015

    8.8
    Great location, lovely staff, fabulous breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Intermittent wifi but that was not the fault of Villa Maroc.

    Great location, lovely staff, fabulous breakfast. Enticing nooks in which to enjoy the lovely food at dinner.

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2015

    9.6
    We really enjoyed this place, having rented one of the top...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    We really enjoyed this place, having rented one of the top floor suites on the terrasse, with lots of light. The swiss owner and her staff do a great job, everyone is friendly and helpfull, the rooms are nicely furnished and clean. Great location at the entrance just inside the medina, close to the parking and the port.

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2015

    10
    Excellent professionally run hotel with tastefully...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    We wished an a la carte option was available at the restaurant, not just fixed menues.

    Excellent professionally run hotel with tastefully decorated rooms, a bar and a restaurant. We've enjoyed spending time by the fireplace in the evenings.

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2015

    5.8
    Great location close to harbour, beach and souk.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Requested transfer to Le Jardin one afternoon to use pool facilities (as booking suggests is available to guests), but we were informed that transfers leave in the morning, returning at 4:30pm. I notice this is a trip advertised by the hotel at a cost and includes lunch (as there is no where else to eat once there! ). When I complainrd about this an hour later having checked my booking I was told I misunderstood; the staff have excellent English as do I, there was no misunderstanding.

    Great location close to harbour, beach and souk. The Villa Maroc has lots of potential

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2015

    9.2
    - Very friendly service people
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    - Only very tiny things to mention here: - The WiFi is a bit weak in some rooms or some area but strong and fast in main area - The living room would need some cozy blankets to nestle in the living room with the private fire place, just to make it even more cozy - Everything else was just great in Villa Maroc!

    - Very friendly service people - Very nice separeted dining rooms in the Riad - Beautiful fire places everywhere, they even bring olive wood into your room and fire up your private fire place by request (which we found so romantic and very seldom nowadays) - They put hot water bottle into your bed when it is cold outside to pre-warm your bed (so nice) - Don't miss the dinner they offer, it's like a very private dinner just for you right at one of their fire places and (yes) you have to make sure that you are (very) hungry :-)

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2015

    10
    In 50 years of world travel, this hotel is one of the best...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    This is not a hotel for those who cannot climb stairs.

    In 50 years of world travel, this hotel is one of the best we've seen. Great location, very attentive staff, immaculate and beautifully decorated rooms, and a selection of rooftop, sea-view terraces and lovely little private spaces. Moroccan magic!

There are also 33 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: