Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Riad Zahra

90, Rue Amira Lalla Meryem, Quartier des Dunes, 44000 Essaouira, Morocco

#27 of 89 hotels in Essaouira

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 624 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.1

  • Comfort

    8.4

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    8.6

  • Staff

    9.5

  • Value for money

    8.5

  • Free WiFi

    7.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2018

    10
    Luxury at an affordable price, a delightful stay at a beautiful property with thoughtful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Mini Suite
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing could have been better!

    Beautifully decorated large rooms (go for the junior suite!). Great location near the beach, super friendly hosts and staff, 2 great restaurants on site, nice breakfast with freshly squeezed orange juice.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2018

    10
    We spent a week here and lived it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Mini Suite
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can’t be helped but outside noise of local dogs, kittens, cockerels woke us in the morning but we got used to it by the end of the week. We would recommend and go back for sure.

    We spent a week here and lived it. Perfect if you want to be near the surf beach and happy to stroll a mile into the medina. We had a lovely large room, cleaned daily with en-suite and massive powerful shower. Very friendly staff, great restaurant and we used the pool everyday.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2018

    8.3
    Beautiful riad in a good location. Staff were wonderful and the seafood was excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The rooms could benefit from a little upgrading - replace the worn-out mattress and pillows, and install better lighting. Otherwise, it was great

    Beautiful riad in a good location. Staff were wonderful and the seafood was excellent. Lovely pool too.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2018

    9.6
    Lovely riad in a great location. Very clean and comfortable. Lovely owners, staff and breakfast!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely, welcoming owners always available and friendly staff. Fantastic breakfast with amazing selection and homemade pancakes. Pretty pool area, nice restaurant and traditional riad look and feel. Good location near beach and 15 min walk to medina and port along promenade.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    5.4
    Nice if you have a clean dry room at upper floors
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Room on the ground floor facing north. Moreover, it was really humid inside and nothing was drying. Also, the phonic isolation was non-existent so we could follow all discussions in the corridor. We asked to be moved with no success nor any kind of compensation or apologize.

    Awesome breakfast, nice restaurant, beautiful place in Moroccan style.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    9.6
    I highly recommand Riad Zahra.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I highly recommand Riad Zahra. A lovely hotel with lovely staff, great facilities and nice swimming pool. The rooms are very clean and everything is well maintained. The owners are so kind and take care of their guests. I will definitely come back there !

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    6.7
    There are nicer places to stay in Essaouira
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Unfortunately location of this riad sucks.Its a decent walk to medina.The area feels a little isolated and dodgy. The riad itself gave me an impression of staying in a very big "bathroom"(tails,smell of bleach,echo,chlorine from the pool).There is no air con in the room but it was very windy at the time of my stay so wasn't necessary however on the very hot days could be a different story. Staff was friendly,breakfast was alright but if i could choose again i would stay somewhere else. There are some amazing riads in medina also that would change my whole impression of Essaouira.

    Riad had a nice decor and art on the walls.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    7.9
    Nice quiet Riad 25 minute walk to Medina.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Mini Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Our first room was too dark with outdated TV and not great location.

    The owners of this Riad were so very, very nice. The place is very comfortable and our rooms were very nice. Be aware, some rooms are better than others. Some have decent views, some have a view of the dumpster. So ask before you book . The food was great. We found throughout our travels in Morocco that beds here are very firm, which I like, but my wife not so much. The pool is very large and was cleaned every morning. We enjoyed the food and the breakfast was OK. The Riad's in Marrakesh, had more variety in what they served us at breakfast compared to this Riad, but it was still very good. We stayed three nights, but I believe the city of Essaouira only deserves one or two nights.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    10
    Relaxing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Riad is exceptionally clean and beautiful, but the main attraction to it is the staff. They’re all so friendly and happy to help with whatever you need :-)

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    9.6
    relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    2x: very nice friendly hosts and their staff make you feel like almost at home. great restaurant with seaview. beautiful interior of the house. good tips and advice by the hosts.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    7.9
    Nice Riad
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurants inside the Riad are overpriced, water in the swimming pool is really cold

    Nice staff, there was good breakfast everyday, everything was clean

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    10
    Wish we could have stayed longer!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We enjoyed: the stylish and cosy atmosphere; the amazing food in the groundfloor restaurant; the friendly and helpfull attitude of the owners and staff; the view from our room; the location - a nice beach walk away from the busy medina.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    10
    Wonderful, relaxing stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A ceiling fan would have been nice.

    The staff were friendly and very obliging. The room was always clean. We could always get a sun lounger round the pool and the fish restaurant was top class.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    5.4
    The food at breakfast was good value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Our room was noisy both at night and first thing in the early morning (4.30am and with noises from just outside the kitchen at 7:30am). The property itself is run down and badly in need of a serious re-vamp. The balcony door in our room didn't lock which concerned us as we were on the first floor. Chips and cracks and decor tired, torn or worn out. Wifi erratic. Our bathroom had recently been renovated, but there was no lights in the shower area.

    The food at breakfast was good value. It was an easy 20 minute walk into the old and interesting part of town.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    10
    Tradition and relaxation at its best
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Going home

    Loved they spoke English and the Manager was always there to assist. Could not do enough. Very clean and a great retreat after our Mount Toubkal climb

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    6.7
    Nice riad, dark room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Mini Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Riad Zahra is a very pretty riad, about a 20 minute walk from the Medina and right opposite the beach. Unfortunately, the room we were in (#7) was on the ground floor and very dark. The trash cans were right outside out window meaning we couldn’t open the windows to get any fresh air, and there was no fan or air conditioning so it wasn’t very nice to sleep. I think all the other rooms are a lot nicer so try and get one of those when you stay here!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    10
    Fabulous Place with amazing staff & restaurant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    None

    The Riad is very easy to find, well posted. The Owners were extremely assisting, friendly and interacting constantly with all guests. The staff working in the Riad were the best we have seen while traveling in Morocco- very polite, nice and friendly. Our best compliments were to the chef of the restaurant, the level of the menu and the food served was up to a very high standards and made us return over and over again and eat only in this restaurant. The seafood and fish courses were fabulous with fresh catch prepared and presented exceptionally well. We highly recommend Riad Zahra, you will not regret it for a second.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    6.7
    Staff, especially the two owners, are very friendly and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    WiFi Connection in the room was poor / unstable unfortunately. Breakfast was absolutely okay, but dinner was not good - compared to other restaurants and hotels we´ve been in the same pricelevel. Furniture around the pool area was quite worn, no cushions, and yard and pool area had no "marrocan atmosphere" at all, which was a pity.

    Staff, especially the two owners, are very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    10
    Fantastic location, amazing owners making you feel welcome...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fantastic location, amazing owners making you feel welcome and comfortable. Just accross the street is a great surfing and kite school. Sandy beach 2 mins away. And the seafood restaurant is just amazing- best dinner we’ve had in thi country.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    10
    I (and the rest of group of 9 people) liked everything!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    I (and the rest of group of 9 people) liked everything!!!!! This is absolutely perfect hotel/riad.Staff is incredible.Location great.restaurant fantastic!!!Pool and the garden neat,clean and cosy. I hope that I will have a chance to visit Zahra again.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    8.3
    Good location - would recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower was quite dark and reception area felt dark and dingy - especially on first arrival. Pool was freezing but maybe it warms up as summer comes along. Breakfast could get repetitive.

    Comfortable and firm bed. Staff were accommodating and friendly. The food at Zahras Grill was delicious! Great location, close to the beach and a few cafes nearby, only a 20 minute stroll to the medina.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    5.8
    A pipe burst in our room so were moved to a lifeless...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A pipe burst in our room so were moved to a lifeless apartment nearby which wasnt ideal as the point was we wanted to stay in a 'Moroccan style' hotel. No discount was offered on the accomodation, and we had to walk back to Riad each day for breakfast, but limited options available.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    10
    Friendly family run hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The riad was within walking distance of the medina, or an easy taxi ride. A friendly family run hotel with adequate rooms. Would stay again if we come back to Essaouira.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    9.2
    As a backpacker just looking to get some quite time away...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    As a backpacker just looking to get some quite time away from hostels I was very pleased with this property. Staff was fantastic and welcoming. I would recommend this place to anyone!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    9.6
    A lovely family run hotel which helped make our holiday special.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Mini Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    My wife found the bed a bit hard, I didn't. If I was being really really picky, the breakfast (which was very good) could become a bit repetitive.

    The hotel is family run and it shows. We had a very enjoyable and relaxing stay. All the staff were extremely friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    8.3
    A great, relaxed and friendly option for those outside the Medina.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We didn’t have hot water the final evening and morning- though we understand from one of the owners that it was a temporary glitch. The wifi wasn’t that strong... but we also didn’t need it much! Last, our room faced a tree that featured some very loud birds... they woke us up at 6:30. But who can control that?! Not a deal breaker in the least.

    Friendly and helpful staff- especially the gentlemen who helped me acquire a bottle of water in the middle of the night! The restaurant was fun and great selection. Easy to get to the Medina and the beach.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    9.6
    Restaurant is incredible.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    If there were any drawbacks, and I'm sure you could make an equal argument for it too, is that it's about a 12-minute walk to the Medina, however, it's a beautiful walk (along the beach) and this distance makes it quieter as well, and ideal for families.

    Restaurant is incredible. Staff is even better. Worth it.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    7.5
    The restaurant was amazing the staff great and we enjoyed...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds were not very comfortable, the bathroom was very dark and the dirt did not lock, it was difficult to get hot water.

    The restaurant was amazing the staff great and we enjoyed the pool.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    6.7
    Standard hotel, kind of dark inside.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Hotel very sober and dark.

    Standard hotel, kind of dark inside. Everything clean, also pool and area. Staff very friendly. Nothing more than expected. Beachclubs just few minutes walk. Very nice. Vagabond on friday and saturday also open for dinner. Walk to medina about 20 minutes. Nice walk, also at night. Cabs only 7 mdh one way.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    10
    A lovely break in a warm and friendly environment with great food and wine
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    As the climate has a high humidity level, the room might be improved if there were to be an extractor fan in the bathroom but given the design of they Riad this could be difficult to install.

    The relaxed professionalism and customer care of the owners and all the staff, the choices, quality, and the excellent flavours of all the food. Nothing appeared to be too much trouble and always with a smile.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    10
    Spacious hotel, beautifully decorated, and 30 seconds away...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Spacious hotel, beautifully decorated, and 30 seconds away from the beach. Outside the Medina, but only a ten-minute walk along the beach to get there. Pool is a nice space to lay out.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    9.2
    Riad is located on the side of the city center - convenient...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Mini Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    breakfast is the same every day

    Riad is located on the side of the city center - convenient place to enjoy the ocean (near surfing school and nice beach) but not too far to reach medina and enjoy time there

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    9.2
    Cosy riad to stay in Essaouira
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit far to walk to other restaurants at night.

    The room was large and lovely, we had 2 balconies. Nice restaurant, we ate there both nights that we stayed, as it was convenient and good food.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    5.4
    No pool in winter...best for couples/friends
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was unfortunately unable to accommodate our request for adjoining rooms for ourselves and our 3 young children because of a recent plumbing accident, even though that had been a condition of booking for us. We weren't informed in advance - we simply found out when we arrived at 10pm at night.The young duty manager was offhand and dismissive, simply telling me it wasn't his fault - no apology whatsoever and at one point he even laughed at my frustration. We did have rooms to stay in, but not what we'd booked. Unfortunately the pool was empty (something that should have been made clear in advance)...so instead of a place to play in (on a hot day!) and around, it was instead a hazard for our children...a large hole for them to fall into. Fortunately the day manager the next morning was understanding of our complaint and kindly allowed us to cancel the remainder of our visit without charge.

    Great breakfast & lovely dining area with a fire for the evenings.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    10
    We discover a new world. Never travel in Africa before. We live the hotel and the service. Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was good but not much options.

    We enjoyed our staying very much, we love the town, the food and the surfing, was a shame the weather was quite rainy and cold. We are hoping to comeback on summer

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    7.9
    Comfy base for short stay in Essaouira.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Rooms were cold(December).I was given a rooftop room with two exterior walls so particularly chilly.A small heater was provided but I needed an extra one! One day there was a bad storm and the heavy rain leaked through the windows creating puddles on the floor.Staff were great and moved me down to a street facing room(less windy)which was fine. The TVs were programmed to specific language channels(eg.German/Arabic).If you wanted English you had to request but this was not a big issue.

    The dining/lounge area was cosy and social with a bar and excellent dinner set menu which I had every night.Wine was available.Owners and staff spoke English and were friendly. The Wifi signal was generally good. Nice pool area which would be nice in summer but was too windy in winter.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    8.3
    Nice, simple and well-located hotel with very friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The WiFi was pretty useless and the surreal music piped through the hotel was off-putting at times! I would've appreciate some tea/coffee making facilities in the room, but the staff were kind enough to give us some cups and hot water from the kitchen on request.

    Very friendly staff and the location is just a couple of minutes from the beach. The hotel is also just 15-20 minutes' walk from the town, so you get the benefits of both being close, but still nicely away from the hustle and bustle. The restaurant was nice, but sadly the second, grill-based restaurant was closed during our stay.

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    7.9
    Good location about 15 minutes walk from the port and very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A hairdryer and maybe better toiletries, although I appreciate priorities are different.

    Good location about 15 minutes walk from the port and very close to the sea. Friendly and helpful staff. Spotlessly clean.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    6.3
    The Riad is beautiful, staff excellent, location very good,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms are very very simple, we stayed in 3 different riads during our stay in Morroco and the rooms in this one were the simplest ones and very cold. However, the shower was the warmest :)

    The Riad is beautiful, staff excellent, location very good, great selection of wines.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    9.6
    great stay - thank you so much for being so patient with us...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    pool a little cold but then it was November!

    great stay - thank you so much for being so patient with us having a two year old running around! would definitely come back. food very tasty and just what we wanted from location.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    10
    Perfect end to a week in Essaouira
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    What was not to like! Beautiful family run Riad very close to the surfing part of the beach. Superb staff, exceptionally clean. Lovely swimming pool (a bit cold for me!) we spent 2 blissful mornings protected from the sand on the beach round the pool. Breakfast by the pool an added plus! Close to other restaurants and bars in the beach. 15 mins walk to the medina

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    9.2
    Great stay, lovely place
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We recommend to serve breakfast more in a buffet manner as we often did not make to eat everything we got served and felt bad for the food that is then thrown away... but it's more a detail.

    The owners are very caring and the Riad is very well located if you are looking for beach activities ( we were there for surfing) You can get to town by 10min walk. The Riad is very authentic but you can feel the french influence as they have a bar and serve wine. The best grill restaurant is also on the top floor and we tried it, it's really amazing.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    9.6
    Friendly, welcoming and authentic stay in Essaouira close to the beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was a bit small and the bed wasn’t the comfiest but was very clean and given the price not something to complain about!

    Being family owned Riad Zahra had a real warmth and the team were so attentive in making sure we had a lovely time in Essaouira. It is incredibly good value for money and located very close to the main beach and about a 20 min walk to town.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    9.6
    Lovely staff, very relaxed, great decor, very comfy bed...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Kettle!

    Lovely staff, very relaxed, great decor, very comfy bed (extra pillows/blankets etc). Big bottles of nice hand wash and shower gel so no wasteful and inadequate little bottles.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    9.6
    Great hotel with one of the best restaurants in Essaouira
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool was not heated, a bit too cold for swimming in October.

    Excellent restaurant in the hotel. Good location near the beach. Large rooms, clean and comfortable. Warm and personal service.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    6.7
    Jammer
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location of the hotel is perfect for people who want to go surfing. The hotel room was a bit of a letdown. Especially the bed and pillows, which were so uncomfortably hard, we couldn’t sleep well at all. The grillrestaurant was nice to eat at. At the downstairs restaurant the food was served late and it was cold. Also the coffee at breakfast tasted like it was made several hours before. It’s really a shame to leave a negative comment, because the hosts and staff are very nice and helpful people.

    Friendly staff

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    10
    Really nice Riad and great staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Mini Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    None

    Real nice boutique (Riad) style hotel. The staff is really friendly and helpful, very nice people. very close (2-3 minutes) to the beach (south part where the nice beach restaurants and watersports are).

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    9.2
    Great Location and friendly, accommodating staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great Location and friendly, accommodating staff. Our flight was at 19:00 with the checkout being at 12:00 the staff gave us fresh towels, stored our bags and allowed us to hang by the pool for the day at no extra cost. Good Breakfast also.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    9.2
    Calm and extremely relaxing stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The wind in Essaueira can be quite strong what makes it hard to go to the beach so it was great to have the swimming pool in the hotel, the restaurants in the hotel are also very good and not too expensive. A taxi to the city centre cost 10 MAD and different from Marrakesh you don't need to be negotiating and in case you prefer to walk it's only a 15 minutes walk by the beach.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    9.6
    Just relax and enjoy!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The beds... They were not comfortable and gave be a backache, but the nice-ness of the place can make me forget that :-)

    Loved this place. Oasis of tranquility in the busy Morroco. Nice to have the Spanish influences in this Riad. Loved to be here. Very very good food! Don't go and eat outside, the best food here is here inside.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    9.2
    Overall a very satisfying stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was very limited. The outdoor pool could have Heated facilities.

    The hotel staff were excellent and very welcoming. The hotel is perfectly located within minutes walk to the beach. We would recommend a better selection for breakfast for example; Cereal options, croissants, omelettes, and general other options for children

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    10
    We were sad to leave and would love to return!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Mini Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was delicious, especially the fresh orange juice. We loved staying here, the pool was clean and had plenty of space to relax. Staff were so helpful, nothing was too much trouble and the food in both restaraunts was delicious.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    10
    Rhiad Zehra is the cleanest hotel we have ever stated in!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rhiad Zehra is the cleanest hotel we have ever stated in! The breakfasts were fab. Staff were smiley and friendly and unbelievably efficient! Would definitely recommend staying here ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    10
    Very enjoyable, wish we could have stayed longer.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff were all very friendly and helpful. Breakfast had a wide range, all of which was great quality. The beach is about 4 mins away so very easy to get to. Although we never used the pool it was a good size and very clean, plenty of space where you could relax and sunbath.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    10
    A great family time was had !!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Mini Suite
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Essaouira is a really lovely place to spend some time. Although the beach was almost too windy for us to spend much time on. I guess it just depends on the weather at the time you are there. We had a few hot days, some days a bit cloudy and surprisingly cool at night, for July I thought. They do not call Essaouira the windy city for nothing !!

    Riad Zahara, was a really lovely, family run riad. We enjoyed our stay very much. The owner Xavier and his wife were so friendly and helpful at all times. All the other staff were also very friendly and did an excellent job, looking after their guests. Nothing was too much trouble. The Riad was clean, with room service every day, the beds were comfty and the breakfasts and other food, all very good. The pool, although very cool, was refreshing to swim in and there were enough sun beds around the pool to relax and sun bathe. A twenty minute walk along side the beach and you are at the fantastic medina and the port. Go in to the port and eat the freshest sardines, prawns and other fishy delights, cooked right there on a big barbeque, a must for fish lovers ! You can also get a taxi for about 70 pence , to and from the Riad Zahara to the medina, if the walk gets too much. All in all a lovely and highly recommended. Xavier will arrange pick up from the airport, just send an email before your flight !!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    8.8
    Simple accommodation done very well with great food and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Simple accommodation done very well with great food and staff - made to feel extremely welcome - have no hesitation in recommending the Riad Zahra...thank you :)

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    6.7
    Good but pool far too cold for enjoyable use.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Mini Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The swimming pool was VERY cold, even in July. With the wind on the beach so strong which makes it impossible to relax and play on the beach, unless you're windsurfing or kite surfing, a warm and decent pool is essential. That is was so cold and no one enjoyed it made the stay there a real disappointment.

    Lovely house. good location.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    7.5
    I think this Riad is a nice choice staying in Essouira especially because of large pool that makes up the lack of some..
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The triple room was very spacious with 2 balconies but somewhat basic There is hardly any plug for electronic device especially lacking 1 in bathroom Shower very nice but no ventilation Curtains do not block light which make you get up early And with a teenager...wifi is not at all powerful in the room Wifi in the lobby and poolarea is great though Would have been nice to have coffee and tea making facilities.... Walk to the medina is about 20 min or 2 km which was no problem for us but might be for others

    It is a beautiful Riad with very nice decorations 2 restaurants and a beautiful swimming pool Location just around the beach with main surfing area Staff very helpful and friendly Good breakfast

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    9.6
    Wonderful riad with great service and a good locaction.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Would have been nice to have safe and mini fridge in room and a black out curtain.

    Riad was beautiful and peaceful. Location was great, staff were very helpful without being overbearing. Service was efficient. Price was extremely good value for money.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    9.6
    A safe, friendly, clean and comfortable location for solo travellers.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wish there had been more traditional Moroccan dishes available in the restaurant.

    Spotlessly clean. Excellent breakfast. Owners and staff very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    10
    welcoming family business who care about your comfort
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    the shower in the pool area needs a bit of attention.

    the atmosphere was great the staff all friendly and happy and everyone made sure you were ok with your stay.The breakfasts buffet style with two good restaurants for evening if you wish. the swimming pool can be used on the day you check out too with a shower and changing area making airport transport very comfortable with a swim just before leaving. The airport is 20 mins away and 150 dirhams by the local taxi awaiting you at the airport. If get a large comfy transporter that was 220 dirhams from the hotel which they got for us for the journey back.Location is great makes you walk to the medina where you tend to go so use some energy!!!!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    5.8
    Great property and staff, and poor room
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property is great. But, unfortunately the room I stayed in with my wife and 1 year old daughter was not. The room in genetal was just fine, the issues were in the details, (1) there is no ventilation in the bathroom, so when you use the toilet you better keep the door shut, (2) the room is very basic, there is no facilities at all e.g. air conditioning, kettle, fridge,,,etc. (3) Old 14 inch box TV, I truly though those once we're extinct, (4) bad was not confortable, (5) curtain does not block the sun light, so we were up at 7am, (6) wifi was poor in the room. I truly believe this property is great and have lots of potentials. To be honest, if I had paid 30-35 EUR I would not complain at all, but for 50 EUR, I think it is over priced and not good value for money. My only recommendation to the the owner is to upgrade the rooms (at lest room #22) or lower the price, and I will definitely return back.

    Lobby was beautiful, friendly staff, nice breakfast (frutes were plus), location was fine, big pool, property is fresh, clean and will maintained.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    9.2
    A stylish Essaouira Riad with good hosts and excellent food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The location of the Riad is not in the best spot behind the promenade within a residential area. The birds were quite noisy from the early hours. The bathroom can do with updating the taps and lighting There is no air conditioning but still felt comfortable during our stay in the middle of June.

    The Riad is of stylish decor with delightful painting on all walls. Staff was very accommodating and always obliging with any requests... Excellent seafood restaurant which we recommended to family stopping at neighboring hotels. The pool was good size and always clean. The breakfast had a good selection of fresh fruits, warm bread and cakes each morning. Close to beach within a 20 min enjoyable walk along the promenade to the Medina

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    10
    Riad Zahra - thank you - You are amazing........ a perfect stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Xavier and his wonderful team could not do enough for us. From arranging the Airport transfer, booking taxis and hire car whilst we were there and just being caring at all times. A very relaxed Riad, exceptionally clean and with great attention to detail and beautifully decorated. Delicious food and drink available throughout the day. A lovely 20 minute stroll on wide pavements against the backdrop of the beach and stunning sea into the medina. And if you want a taxi back - of which they are plentiful - it will cost just £1.00 ( we always gave more though) and the drivers are lovely. This is a great place to come and we highly recommend Riad Zarah to all ages.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    10
    Nice stay in relaxed town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Restaurant has great quality seafood, The staff was very friendly, and the rooms were very nice and comfortable. We had 2 nights booked here but ended up staying an extra night because it was so nice and relaxed.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    10
    Amazing stay at the Riad Zahra!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Literally the only thing I didn't like was the showers! They start off really cold then quickly get SCALDINGLY hot and make it hard to have an actual proper shower for any length of time. Aside from that the whole place was pretty much perfect!

    The riad was beautiful and the rooms were spacious and comfortable, cleaned daily and were spotless. All of the staff were wonderful, so helpful and couldn't do enough for you. Made the stay so pleasant and easy! The food was brilliant too and really good value.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2017

    9.6
    Highly recommend!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing we were slightly disappointed with was our dinner at the seafood restaurant upstairs. Such great reviews.... It was our priciest meal in morocco and we both found our dishes quite bland and underwhelming. I suspect our experience was a rare one though since majority of reviews are rave ones.

    Beautiful property. Room was spacious and clean. The owners were always available and very friendly. Food at the the main floor restaurant was quite good. Pool area was very nice (albeit windy....as with all of essaouira). Good breakfast. Good location: a couple minutes to the beach, 5 min to a few cheap restaurants, and 20 min to the medina.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2017

    9.2
    Our stay (me and my boyfriend) in Riad Zahra was lovely and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wifi connection in our room was a little down sometimes and a possibility to recharge camera and phones was a little tricky since only one plug was accessible without moving the bed (which we didn't want to do). Food on breakfast was very good, but maybe an omellette or scramled eggs would be nice as an option to the mostly sweet breakfast, that could bother you in case of a longer stay. Those are just details which don't change the positive way we are going to remerber the place and I would be happy to stay again 🙂

    Our stay (me and my boyfriend) in Riad Zahra was lovely and definetely worth the money. Location was great, short walk to the beach and a little longer, but still not very far from Medina. Staff was very helpful, we recieved a map with tips where everything important was. Room was clean as was the bathroom, garden with the pool was also very nice and clean. So far I would recommed staying here.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    8.3
    Very nice Riad.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Mini Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very cold swimming pool... must be more comfy in August.

    Very nice Riad. Warm welcome and nice family room. The breakfast served at the table was just yummy!!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    8.3
    A week in Essaouira in late April for a family of 4
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The mattresses were hard, but got used to it after the first night. It is quite windy in Essaouira. If you're a kite surfer, that's great. Outside of kite surfing, there isn't much else to do in Essaouira once you've been around the Medina (our fault for not researching fully). Most of the tours online are from Marrakech to Essaouira rather than the other way around. As a family looking for a sunshine and pool holiday, this didn't bother us. However, the wind and cooler weather than the forecast suggested meant the pool was not as accessible as it we hoped, and we were bored. A heated pool would help as would an area to play outdoor and indoor games.

    Delicious and filling breakfast. The staff are super friendly and helpful offering excellent local knowledge and advice.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2017

    8.8
    Great, personal, warm service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complain; just a remark; the beds could have been larger, were a bit small in the standaard rooms.

    Great, personal, warm service. Tips, communication with Xavier the owner, reccomdations. Swimmingpool and sunbeds. Good and fresh breakfast. Felt good, personal friendly. WiFi good.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    10
    Beautiful Riad along the beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Mini Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing :)

    Situated a little bit away from the hustle and bustle of the Medina, Zahra's is about a 20min stroll along the beach in a quiet area of Essaouria. The Riad is beautiful, rooms simple but lovely, and peaceful pool area. Breakfast was great with fresh fruit and yoghurts which we loved sitting by the pool, and they also organised a takeaway breakfast for us when we had to leave early on our last morning. The restaurants are both great too - we had seafood at the grill on our first night which was delicious. All of the staff and owners were lovely and friendly which made the difference! If you don't want to walk along the beach too it's only a €1 cab ride in, and there's also a few great beach bars right on the beach in front of the hotel which are worth checking out for a drink and tapas and live music. Would definitely recommend staying here!! Thank you for a great stay!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2017

    8.8
    Amazing Riad
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There could've been a kettle in the room for making your own tea and coffee.

    A beautiful decor, very helpful staff, great swimming pool area and sunbeds.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2017

    8.3
    Great option if you want to stay outside the medina but not too far away.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    More varied breakfast (but this is being really picky).

    Nice pool with bonus tortoises! Good lunches in downstairs restaurant. Hassle-free airport pickup.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2017

    10
    EXCELLENT IN ALL WAYS !
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    There was nothing you couldn't like about it !

    The owners and staff were so friendly and helpful. The place so peaceful and safe ! The Riad was so beautiful that you didn't want to leave and the meals were perfect, the fire in the evening made it very special. It was also a good place to take a teenager with you, being a 20 minute walk from the main town, although we did not let him wander alone.

    Stayed in April 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Riad Zahra traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: