Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Riad Safi

Derb Kanissa, Bab Chaaba, 46000 Safi, Morocco

#2 of 10 hotels in Safi

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 186 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9

  • Comfort

    8.6

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    8.6

  • Staff

    9.5

  • Value for money

    8.6

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 45

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2018

    6.3
    I’m not coming back
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower didn’t have hot water at all. It was freezing cold!!!! The bed was uncomfortable and the place extremely noisy, hard to sleep, plus is next to a mosque, and the prayer woke me up at 6 in the morning.

    Great location

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    9.6
    A peace full stay in the hectic medina
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    In the riad was a very peace full and light environment. The breakfast was just good and the food for diner excellent. The staff was very helpfull and friendly.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    10
    The staff is very friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Deluxe Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The light in the room is not bright enough.

    The staff is very friendly and helpful. The decoration is good. The location is good and very convenient, but it is better to call the staff when you arrive, it’s a bit difficult to find it without any help.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    8.8
    payments only in cash .
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    payments only in cash .. had to find an ATM and pay extra withdrawal fees. Not complaining, bhut would have been nice to know in advance, since this can be planned easily.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    10
    Centrally located lovely rooftops, wonderful breakfast, local info/help navigating. Outstanding
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I would have liked to have stayed longer.

    Chaira was an awesome host, super friendly. Accommodating. Got me cold beverages and a fast meal. The rooftop spaces were so wonderful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    9.6
    Unforgettable place. Real home, authentic and calming you down.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They serve natural food. Home made marmelade combined with fresh dark bread, eaten at the roof terrace was priceless. The host, Swiss-Italian gentleman can tell you the intercultural stories not possible to hear anywhere else.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    9.6
    Super helpful and friendly owner.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Super helpful and friendly owner. Relaxed atmosphere. Quiet and comfortable. Best for those who want to stay relaxed while enjoying the taste of Moroccan style decoration. Very close to all the main attractions.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    10
    I will definitely go again to Riad Safi
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was great!!

    The Riad Safi is authentic and in the Medina. Very beautiful and lovey and quaint. Sergio the caretaker is absolutely amazing. He did everything to make us feel like family.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2018

    9.2
    Beautiful ancient ryad in the old Medina
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The ryad has a big courtyard nicely decorated and a big terrace on the roof. Ideal place to feel the history and culture of Morocco and to relax with a mint tea.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2018

    10
    My daughter and I very much enjoyed our visit to Riad Safi and look forward to returning again soon
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    We liked everthing

    Recently my 15 year old daughter and I visited Riad Safi from our home in San Francisco – We had a fantastic time – The atmosphere was very welcoming, warm, relaxed and genuine – We enjoyed meeting interesting guests of the Riad over tasty Moroccan dinners in front of a warm fireplace – In addition, the Riad owner, took us on many super cool excursions, like visiting the main harbor (which is only a short walk from the Riad) where all the fresh fish arrive and then grilled in front of you - Amazing and unforgettable experiences

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    9.2
    Galileo was a splendid host, the Riad is beautiful, it is...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nothing

    Galileo was a splendid host, the Riad is beautiful, it is great to relax on the rooftop, WiFi works very well, there is a parking place just outside the Medina, breakfast was great, everything was clean, a quiet, relaxing atmosphere

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    10
    Fantastically designed Riad
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very friendly staff. Great location. The Riad is very nicely decorated with a lot of attention to details. Huge terrace with a great view. We especially enjoyed chatting to the friendly staff and playing with their cute house cat.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2017

    10
    Romantic and beautiful riad.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    We loved the romantic rooms, the beauty of this riad. Employees are super friendly, a must. Also, the propose/offer many activities. Quiet place with those little amazing details, a wonderful decoration.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2018

    9.2
    The staff is very friendly and nice and the room was clean...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff is very friendly and nice and the room was clean and comfortable :)

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    10
    Great Riad, expert stuff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Great Riad, expert stuff.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    10
    It was the best place to stay in Morocco!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was the best place to stay in Morocco!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    10
    You have to look hard to find such hospitality and friendliness. Our host took us out to see the rig
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was magnificent. Homemade jelly, homebaked bread made it all superb

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    10
    beautiful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could be more light in room

    Good staff, very nice room with bathroom

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    10
    Safi is the real Morocco 🇲🇦
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The host of the hotel was everything. Nicest man ever 😊😊

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    9.6
    perfect host!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    the excellent host Sergio who runs the place with passion and dedication to make people happy!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    7.9
    Breakfast on the roof
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    1. Very hard to find, taxi driver first dropped me off at Hotel Riad Safi 2. Hot water runs out very fast

    Breakfast on the roof

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    10
    Lovely stay. Not pretentious. Authentic and welcoming
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was all good.

    The manager made every effort to help and make the stay enjoyable. He went out of his way to find surfing for us

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    10
    Great experience, beautiful Riad
    • Group
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hospitality of the staff was fantastic and every item of food and drink served was delicious. We felt right at home!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    10
    Beautiful place and hosts!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful place and hosts!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    10
    The staff couldnt have been more friendly and helpfull!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff couldnt have been more friendly and helpfull! Bed super comfy and the bathroom was big and super clean

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    9.2
    Beautiful Riad in medina
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Deluxe Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    realy nice people, amazing photogenic place, good location, comfortable place

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2017

    8.8
    Awesome host.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Awesome host.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2015

    9.6
    Hosts were extremely kind and generous, rooms are attractive...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Hosts were extremely kind and generous, rooms are attractive and comfortable, bathroom not amazing but clean and pleasant. A quiet haven within the medina

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2015

    8.3
    The Location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    the lack of email and landline contact. It should be required from all properties on Booking.com

    The Location. In the middle of the old Medina. A very cherished location for foreign visitors (even nationals).

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2015

    7.5
    It's right inside the medina, up a hill.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    A small uphill hike (second left from the Bab Chaaba). The building and rooms are not quite "kept up" - e.g. missing lightbulbs. The young French owner's taste runs to very miscellaneous (but look at his collection of old postcards of Morocco).

    It's right inside the medina, up a hill. The couple who run it are Moroccan, and were good-tempered - even in Ramadan!

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2015

    10
    The owners are hospitable and genuinely concerned about the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The owners are hospitable and genuinely concerned about the enjoyment and comfort of your stay. The rooms are incredibly clean and the beds have fresh linens. Homemade breakfast is awesome and the location could not be better. If you venture a trek through the medina you can find excellent shopping and a quick exit from the medina to Bab Chabba and the museum (around the corner).

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2015

    9.6
    We only stayed here one night but really wish it could have...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We only stayed here one night but really wish it could have been for longer. We had a lovely room overlooking a great terrace for breakfast/dinner. I would like especially thank Mr Karim: very helpful and kind. The breakfast is great.

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2015

    10
    What a wonderful riad.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    What a wonderful riad. Owners are a married couple, and they both stayed up late for me since I checker in late (after 10 after since I had a long train trip). They treated me like royalty, let me go straight to bed since I was tired and helped with luggage. Prepared me breakfast at the time I wanted, helped me with a proper adapter since mine didn't fit, and gave me an even better room when I decided to stay one more night. I cannot express how warm, welcoming they are. Wonderful place to stay, great location in center of medina and great value for money should convince anyone to look no further.

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2015

    7.9
    I liked the traditional Moroccan experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Too far down into the medina.

    I liked the traditional Moroccan experience. The owners were a young couple and the sweetest people you would ever want to meet. The breakfast was good also.

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2015

    9.6
    A bit confusing to find, but helpful locals pointed us in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A bit confusing to find, but helpful locals pointed us in the right direction. Very convenient for Rabat airport - petit taxi cost 30dh I think??

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2015

    10
    Charming family running this ryad.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Charming family running this ryad.They were extremely helpful. Very good value for money. A true oasis in this bustling port.

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2015

    9.6
    It was an enjoyable stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing to say, really nice stay in Safi.

    It was an enjoyable stay. We are really thankful to Karim and Fafgm, our host, who made it possible.

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2015

    9.6
    We had the best stay in Safi thanks to Karim.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We had the best stay in Safi thanks to Karim. Everything was great!

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2015

    5.8
    the host, free wifi.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The rest

    the host, free wifi.

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2015

    10
    The people there were absolutely wonderful
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The people there were absolutely wonderful

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2015

    10
    Warm and friendly hosts
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Warm and friendly hosts Beautiful property Excellent breakfast

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2015

    9.6
    Staff - very warm people!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Staff - very warm people!

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2015

    9.6
    huge roof terrace,
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    -

    huge roof terrace, friendly and very helpfull staff

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2015

    9.6
    The owners are lovely and make you feel very welcome.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The owners are lovely and make you feel very welcome.

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2015

    8.3
    Really friendly people very very helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Really friendly people very very helpful. Lovely evening meal freshly made. Location very hard to find.

There are also 12 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 45

Browse Riad Safi traveller photo gallery