Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Ryad Watier

16 Rue Ceuta, 44000 Essaouira, Morocco

#1 of 90 hotels in Essaouira

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 212 hotel reviews

9.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.9

  • Comfort

    9.7

  • Location

    9.7

  • Facilities

    9.7

  • Staff

    9.9

  • Value for money

    9.5

  • Free WiFi

    8.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more- opens a dialog box
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2018

    9.2
    Great location right in a good place in the medina.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Th

    Great location right in a good place in the medina. Very spacious, clean and comfortable rooms. Could have ensuit stayed longer. Nice touches worth the heater on in the room when we arrived so it felt cozy and warm. Gabriel the owner was really helpful. Great breakfast

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2018

    8.8
    Lovely ambience in the hotel, spacious and comfortable room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Rooms are quite dark even on a bright day. No sunshades on terrace with loungers

    Lovely ambience in the hotel, spacious and comfortable room. Two excellent dinners in the dining room.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2018

    10
    A beautiful Riad with friendly staff who wonderfully took care of us.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    We can't think of any thing bad, it was all a great experience

    I thought that our room was delightful, spacious and comfortable. The whole Riad was beautifully decorated and very comfortable. the breakfasts were excellent and on the roof terrace was a wonderful touch.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2018

    10
    Home away from home
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast could be improved to match the greatness of this wonderful place.

    Everything! Beautiful riad and very cosy, the rooms are spacious and comfortable and smell very nice like the whole riad (it is the cactus flower you can buy it from them). The staff and the manager Hayat are like family they are very kind and attentive. I will defend stay here again!

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2018

    10
    I had a fab 4 night stay and must thank Hayat and her team...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    For me there was nothing not to like

    I had a fab 4 night stay and must thank Hayat and her team for being so welcoming and friendly and making my stay a very happy one. The ryad is perfectly placed within the medina yet calm and quiet once inside with a nice roof terrace to sunbathe on where towels and even wide brimmed straw hats are provided. The breakfast was very tasty and plentiful and something I certainly missed once back at home. I had a lovely home cooked dinner with wine on my first night which I shared with some other guests so spent the evening chatting which was nice. Should I return to Essaouira in the future I wouldn’t hesitate to book again. Overall I had a wonderful short break and returned home feeling very relaxed and with happy memories of my stay.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2018

    10
    Perfect relax holiday à la plage
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely place, large rooms, perfect location. Nothing not to like.

    La chambre, le petit déj, thé large room, breakfast, the location, the staff friendliness....

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2018

    10
    Spacious rooms, good Wi-Fi, warm and welcoming staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The interior of the Riad Watier was cosy and spacious, and the personnel was very friendly, so it actually felt like being at home. Hayat had some great recommendations for restaurants, thanks for that and the warm welcome! On top there was perfect internet connection at all times in my room.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2018

    3.8
    inside medina.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    inside medina. very difficult to reach,especially with luggage. Missed my bus because of the long way to go. also 踏平water not running well. really a disappointment.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    9.6
    Great location, fantastic size rooms that are beautifully...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite - Two Bedrooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location, fantastic size rooms that are beautifully decorated and clean. Staff are wonderful and made our stay very special. Really great with kids and definitely get them to organise a camel ride for you.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    10
    Besides the amazing rooms, wonderful staff, great location,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Besides the amazing rooms, wonderful staff, great location, relaxing atmosphere, it also had reliable, fast Wi-Fi hat actually works (a true rarity) and the best rock collection.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    10
    Fantastic location and Beautiful house.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite - Two Bedrooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fantastic location and Beautiful house. Staff were also great! I booked based on a recommendation from a friend - she was spot on for telling me to stay here. I absolutely LOVED it and will definitely be back in the future!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    10
    A very special Ryad run by a lovely team of people who care about their visitors.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    A beautiful Ryad in the heart of Essaouira old town with personalised, friendly service. From the moment we arrived the team made us feel extremely welcome and helped ensure every day of our trip was made special. Beautiful decor, lovely optional evening meals if we wanted it, great breakfasts, huge bedrooms. Nothing negative to say at all!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    10
    Ambiance that should not be missed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Leaving.

    The staff and especially Hayat ( the life and soul of this Ryad) and Jean Gabriel ( the owner) , are exceptional and will make you feel like at home right away. It was an old school that had collapsed in on its self and Jean Gabriel has brought a derelict building to life. It has attractive patio and common spaces with Jean Gabriel’s collection of art throughout. Breakfast on the roof terrace was great and set us up for the day. Evening meal was authentically Moroccan. We had dinner at the Ryad for both nights we stayed there and it felt like we were part of a large family meal.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    10
    Ryad Watier is a family friendly hidden gem in Essaouira to which we will definitely return!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite - Two Bedrooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, it was all great!

    Great room layout for families - a separate bedroom for adults and connected loft area for the kids. Lovely patio and common spaces. Breakfast on the upper terrace with eggs was delicious. Hosts had great restaurant and activity recommendations. Food at the Ryad (couscous) was delicious. When we had dinner at the Ryad, it felt like we were part of a large family meal. We loved it!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    8.8
    Excellent breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Suite - Two Bedrooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent breakfast. Also had one pre-arranged dinner which was delicious and very well priced. 9 of us including Jean Gabriel the owner ate together

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    10
    Friendly oasis
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really although some might not like the bathroom being quite integrated with the bedroom (although toilet is completely separated).

    Staff were outstanding; we were met by a huge smile as we got off the bus and that set the tone for our week long stay. So friendly and helpful throughout; hugely considerate and made our stay very comfortable. We had a lovely meal there and some very interesting visits out too. Fireplace in room was great. Location is perfect as long as you want to be in the old town rather than actually on the beach. Previous comment about exchange rate is off the mark; prices are quoted in EUR and, as stated, are converted to MAD at time of payment using current online rate. Street is narrow along with the vast majority of the streets in the old town. Seemed very safe with decent lighting and quite busy as through route too.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    5.0
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Poor value for money compared with other places. We were quoted the price in Euro but had to pay in Dirhams and the exchange rate they used was very poor. The location is down a very dingy, dirty alley and didn't always feel safe after dark.

    The staff were very friendly and helpful

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2018

    10
    1. beautiful room,with wave sound,just like live in a cabin
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    1. beautiful room,with wave sound,just like live in a cabin 2. nice staff,give me a warm lovely help,thank you again 3. nice breakfast,at terrace,you can enjoy food with sunshine seaview and sea birds

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    10
    Ryad Watier is a very impressive place that has great care...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing!

    Ryad Watier is a very impressive place that has great care given to all the details. We loved our time here. Our room was very spacious and quiet and we looked forward to breakfast every morning on the roof terrace. It was delicious and healthy - we loved the coffee served with a jug of hot milk. Hyath is a wonderful hostess and she gave us great tips for eating out and general information about Essaouria. We dined one night in the Ryad and it was a delicious meal. We can't wait to go back again !!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2017

    10
    Ryad Watier is a real home away from home!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Ryad Watier is a real home away from home! We had an amazing 4 night stay here. The property and rooms are beautifully decorated and there are friendly cats and a tortoise around too. You will truly not find a more wonderful host than Hayat, she made us feel like we were part of her family and planned our entire trip for us! We also enjoyed a home cooked dinner one night and excellent massages at Ryad Watier. We can’t wait to return!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2017

    10
    Fabulous Ryad, friendly home from home with wonderful rooms .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lipton tea just doesn't hit the mark

    The bed was really comfy . We lived this Rhian its full of works of art and very interesting. Hayat is amazing, so knowledgeable and helpful. The team are great and the rooms are cleaned to an exceptional standard.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    10
    Little piece of heaven
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The stairs - but I'd chosen the top room. Fortunately they carried my luggage up/down.

    As a solo traveller I was made to feel so welcome. The staff are lovely and I felt so much at home. Met and socialised witb many other guests and always had companionship during meals. Love their homestead cats!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    9.2
    Great place to stay in central Essaouira.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quite a few steps up to top floor.

    Wonderful rooftop breakfasts. Comfortable bed. Welcoming and friendly management. Good central medina location with interesting pictures and decor.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    10
    A very strong and beautiful experience with all the good taste and service you can dream of plus a
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Laeving the Riad

    This is absolutely one of the greatest places I ever stayed in! The staff and especially Hayat ( the soul of this riad) and Jean Gabriel ( the owner) , are exceptional and will make you feel like at home right away. This was the second time I stayed here and I realize even more that this is an unique place for it's beauty and for the fact that besides of being very well situated in the médina and the high standards of comfort it provides ( breakfast is great and Saadia the best cook in town) it's also a place where you can feel free and where the guest meet, where the dinners are passionate not only because of the quality of thefood and the wine but because of how Jean Gabriel and Hayat create an ambiance that make the guest want to exchange ideas and expierences so that your stay will be a great intellectual and esthétique experience and a great way to connect you to the state of the world since the guests are very international. I'll definitely be back here and am very grateful to all the staff of Riad Watier for making us feel better and hopeful for the future!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    10
    Exceptional in every way!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite - Two Bedrooms
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Ryad Watier is an absolute gem located right in the center of Essaouira, yet on a quiet street. It gets superb reviews for a reason. After 5 hours of travelling from the Atlas Mountains to Essaouira, we were greeted at the ryad with the most genuine, warmest welcome I have ever received at a hotel, by the owner Jean Gabrielle and the hotel manager, Hayat. This set the tone for the entire week. The Ryad itself is beautiful, filled with traditional and tasteful Moroccan artwork, rugs, furniture, antique tiles etc. Likewise, the rooms are equally as beautiful and luxurious, with top quality linens, comfortable beds, fireplaces and attention to every detail. Importantly, the rooms are all very spacious and comfortable. We were a family of 5 travelling with 3 teenagers. We shared a very large duplex room for a week which had plenty of space for all of us. The daily home cooked breakfast on the roof terrace was plentiful and delicious as well as dinner at the Ryad in the dining room; as good or even better than any traditional Moroccan restaurant in Essaouira. Jean Gabrielle and Hayat went the "extra mile" to ensure our week was filled with fabulous and authentic experiences, food, shopping, restaurants, water sports, Hammam treatments, lively conversation and more. They are generous hosts in every sense of the word. Bravo Ryad Watier! We will be back!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    10
    It was wonderful, I would come back to Essauoria just to stay here, a highlight of my 7 week trip.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was excellent, the hosts were delightful , the space was lovely. The care and passion that has gone into this riad can be felt in the guest experience and the atmosphere. The owner, Jean Gabriel is gregarious, interested and interesting and Hayat and him complement each other well in their warm, gracious hospitality. It was such a welcoming clean, comfortable and beautiful place to stay that I did not want to leave. The rooms are creatively decorated and there are some lovely outdoor spaces to relax. I only spent one night and had dinner too which was the best food I had tasted in Morocco and very delicious. I appreciated and enjoyed everything about this place!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2017

    10
    Loved this place!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved this place! Located in the old media which was perfect for us. Room was gorgeous! Breakfast was great. Moreover the staff was very friendly and happy people. We would definitely come back if we have a chance to visit Essaouira again!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    10
    Wished our stay was longer!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No major complaints.

    We only stayed 1 night, but wish we could have stayed more. First off, I was hesitant to book the location since I was afraid it would be hard to find, but that fear was assuaged by the fact that we hired a cart (20 MAD) to take our luggage from the Supratour bus station to the riad. Going this deep into the medina actually enabled us to get our bearings and see what the medina offered. It wasn't difficult to find after that and the location was perfect for being close to attractions and souk shopping. When we entered the riad, we were greeted by the manager and 2 friendly cats (there's also a pet turtoise and birds). When we arrived, we settled into the room which was spacious and comfortable. Room temperature was never an issue. Burning incense was a nice touch. The manager is what made the experience as good as it was. She provided a map and recommendations for attractions and restaurants. (If you arrive on time for lunch, recommend getting the fresh caught fish near the port). Everything is within walking distance. Breakfast the next morning was on the roof-top terrace was quite good.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    9.6
    A must-stay property
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite - Two Bedrooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    probably not the best place to visit with a car - parking is some 500m away at the port, prepaid at 30 MAD daily and then pay 20 MAD if you can haggle to have a porter bring in your stuff, unless you are easily able yourself, there is no lifts, but assistance offered - but probably not for the physically diabled - and no TV in room - but there is a common room and good internet.

    very attentive staff - esp. Hayat who talked us through everything and had a lot of useful advice as well, makes you feel at home straight away - brilliant breakfast in a very nice setting on the roof; every detail taken care of - mineral water kept filled in the room to drink, good internet signal, very rustic / original riad experience; even took care of our laundry quickly

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    10
    Wonderful Riad Watier
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our short stay of 3 nights

    Ms Hayat the supervisor made our stay wonderful with personal touches to every detail to make us comfortable and happy. It's in the middle of the souk so in a minute you are in the middle of the bustle but in a quiet ally so it's peaceful and quiet.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    10
    Excellent in every way.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing could have been better

    The owner and his staff were excellent, helpful and friendly. The breakfasts were great and the room was outstanding. Very good location.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    10
    Essaouira Ryad - the best !
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Jean Gabriel and Hayyat are both very charming and excellent hosts. The Ryad is a beautiful house with comfortable rooms, super comfortable beds, impressive artwork everywhere you look, great sun roof, friendly house cats, and a house guitar which I made plenty of use of. No better Ryad in Essaouira ! Excellent value. I'll be more than happy to return.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    10
    Delightful stay in Essaouira!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely nothing to critcize!

    The ambiance of Ryad Watier and the onsight managers consistent attentiveness to all of our needs made our stay one that we will long remember! You cannot ask for a more personable hosts than Hayat (the manager) and John (the owner). Hayat is an absolute jewel and always there to offer friendly assistance and valuable insight into how to make the most of your stay in Essaouira. For example....I usually rely on Trip Advisor for restaurant reviews/recommendations, but Hayat suggested an amazing Italian trattoria ( Sylvestro) that was not necessarily #1 on TA, but turned out to be the best meal we had during our 10 day tour through Morocco.....so good we went a second time for lunch the day we were leaving. The vibe of this Ryad is very warm and welcoming, the rooms are decorated tastefully with attention to detail, the beds are very comfortable, and the cleanliness of the property rates a full 10. Big bonus is that Ryad Watier is centrally located in the old town, which is the only place you want to stay in Essaouira. If you are fortunate enough to visit this charming coastal Moroccan city, your stay is guaranteed to be a very special experience if you book Ryad Waitier for accommodations!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2017

    10
    The best Hotel I have experienced with friendly staff and guests
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Nothing

    The welcome and accommodation were first class. The rooms, food and bo ami within this Riad is exceptional. I have never experienced a better atmosphere or service.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2017

    10
    Felt like home
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Leaving !

    From the moment we entered the door of Ryad Watier it felt as though we were being invited into someone's home. A warm smile, handshake; an offer of mint tea, wine or beer and we began a wonderful five days of relaxation, fun and laughs. As with all the rooms, our room was a large suite on 1st floor with settees, desk, large double bed, shower, sink and toilet. All spaces covered with lighting from beneath local beautifully coloured goatskin lampshades. WiFi was powerful and easy to stream if required, Breakfast is taken on the roof. Eggs (various) are offered. An evening meal is available on request at 2000 and if like-minded guests join in it can be a fun couple of hours. The meal, wine and beer are all extras and paid for separately. The 'live-in' Manager Hayat joined in and helped the multi-national conversation along as she is fluent in French and English and has a great sense of humour.. Hayat is assisted by a lovely team of smiling women. Hayat gives good advice on places to visit and restaurants/cafes. All proved good for us. She also arranged a txi to collect us from Marrakech (70 Euros - and 2.5 hrs); on return we took a coach - cost appx 8 Euros and 3 hrs. Overall, our 'lucky' choice of Ryad Watier made for an excellent and relaxing 5 days. We shall return.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2017

    10
    Beautiful Riad, the perfect stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    The Ryad Watier is incredibly beautiful. The rooms are so comfortable and luxurious. The manager - Hyatt - was friendly, knowledgeable, helpful and kind, and I really enjoyed meeting the two resident cats. It was a wonderful stay. I also booked a massage through the hotel which was wonderful.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2017

    10
    An oasis of comfort and peace within the madness of the Medina
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The weather at night was a little cool but we did have an electric fire and an extra blanket!

    The manager Hayat and her staff were exceptional, nothing was too much trouble and Hayat's recommendations on restaurants and shops were objective and spot on! Even the two cats Yoda and Minouche did their jobs perfectly keeping thieving seagulls from the breakfast tables on the roof top terrace!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2017

    10
    This is where you want to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wifi didn't really work in the rooms, though it did downstairs.

    This is a cozy, authentic-feeling, well-decorated, centrally-located riad. Great vintage prints and rugs all over. What makes it truly exceptional is the service, led by the funny and cheerful Hayat. She built us a fire and gave us complimentary wine on Valentine's day, and made us dinner reservations and a map to a delicious spot. Breakfast on the rooftop was sublime. Wonderful place.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2017

    9.6
    Beautiful & welcoming ryad in centre of medina
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were very unlucky with the weather (~2 months worth of rain was delivered in 2-3 days plus gales!) The kitchen was being re-fitted and the chef responsible for evening meals was sensibly on holiday - this meant we had to venture out to restaurants in the medina when the weather was inclement.

    Fabulous hospitality by the helpful manageress (Hayat) who is fluent in several languages including English. Beautifully furnished and spacious ryad with resident tortoises, canaries and two cute cats. Breakfast on the roof terrace in the sunshine!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2017

    9.6
    Highly recommended. We hope to return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wonderful host, comfy bed, spacious room with an open fire, beautiful Moroccan decor, delicious breakfast on the roof terrace, in the heart of the medina.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2017

    9.6
    fab place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    What a beautifully restored and tastefully decorated ryad this is...I knew that I was going to love it it the moment Hyat the house manager and hostess opened the door and warmly welcomed me in, she is so charming and delightful as were the rest of the team. My single room, Papamar up on the 3rd floor was perfect...very comfortable and it had everything that I needed. The breakfasts were delicious and beautifully presented, home made yoghurt, jams and marmalade were a lovely touch. I'll be back, inshallah! Thank you so much and shokran b'berf!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2017

    9.2
    Highly recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I loved this hotel. But the rooms were dark and there are no views from the windows, because the hotel is in the medina. But this was not a problem and the loveliness of the staff, the comfort and the breakfast make up for that.

    Great breakfast on a rooftop terrace - you can just see the sea from the terrace! Wonderful hosts. Comfortable room - we were in watier room which has its own terrace with sun beds. There is a library and a dining room with a fire downstairs. Bedrrom great.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2017

    10
    A perfect place to relax and see a wonderful Moroccan Town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 14 nights

    Nothing

    Everything we could ask for in a wonderful accommodation. It is located in a central part of the Medina along a quiet passage. We received a fabulous welcome from the owner Jean Gabriel and the rest of our 14 day stay continued to be enjoyed with the help of Hayat and her team of ladies. A hire car was arranged for days we wanted, a map of suggested places to see was beautifully drawn by JG, massages and a visit to a hammam was also arranged. Breakfast was taken on the roof garden (weather permitted) and consisted of freshly squeezed oranges, homemade yogurt, jam and marmalade.Plus pancakes and bread. Our room had an open fire which was lit each night, plus candles and aromatic oil light. All in all a wonderful couple of weeks.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2017

    10
    Definitely stay here!!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very atmospheric, beautiful riad, amazing location, welcoming hosts who made my stay an absolute joy. Excellent breakfasts, immaculate rooms each thoughtfully and tastefully decorated. Highly recommended to anyone, I will certainly be back!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2017

    10
    Best Ryad of Morocco. Feels like your home (just better).
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    nothing.

    Great house. Great food. Exceptional staff, especially Hayat, who really is a great host. She really took care of us :) Just one example: after 10 days of moroccan food, we got a little fed up with Tajines and Couscous etc. So they prepared for us a yummy lasagne, a fresh (European Style) salad and a warm, homemade chocolate cake. The next day, we had king prawns and crab. Another example: she personally made fire for us every evening in our room and brought us our favourite tea. Best place I've ever stayed (and I've stayed at MANY places before around the world).

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2017

    9.6
    Great riad and super staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The managers of the riad are very nice people who will make you feel immediately welcome. They will take care of everything you need. The riad is centrally located and is very well decorated. Our room was big and comfortable. Breakfast is served on a nice sunny terrace.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2016

    10
    A jewel in the heart of the medina
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite - Two Bedrooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We wish we could have stayed longer!

    Caring and wonderful staff, excellent location in art filled beautiful restored building right on quiet ally. Yummy breakfast each morning, lovely terrace to soak up the sun. A very special special gem.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2016

    10
    10X the value of other medina locations!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite - Two Bedrooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was perfect!

    Riad Watier was lovely and a great value for the money. The fact that the place is managed by women is a selling point in and of itself; but Hyot and her team do an excellent job of making you feel at home. The rooms are beautiful, well appointed, and sparkling clean. Do not hesitate to book this place.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2016

    10
    Riad Watier 👌🏽
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The manager Hayat was lovely and nothing was too much trouble. I booked a single room and I was upgraded to a double room. The room was beautiful and the attention to detail was superb. Breakfast was excellent and all the staff were super friendly. I would definitely stay there again.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2016

    10
    The best place to stay in Morocco.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite - Two Bedrooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything about this place is great. The host, the breakfast, the welcome. You simply can not go wrong. Don't book any place else. Stay here - and make friends for life. Wonderful.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2016

    10
    An absolutely lovely place!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nil

    An absolutely lovely place! 1. Beautiful room with a fireplace that was kindly lit on several occasions for us on request (along with a bottle of wine-perfect!) 2. Great location, very close to all the bits and bobs you need 3. Extremely attentive staff- Adelaine was always on hand for advice/questions 4. Great breakfast- lots of it!! 5. Has a pretty vast library of books in lots of different languages along with some board games if you do get stuck inside with any rain 6. Can buy appropriately priced wine from the them which is useful in a dry country such a morroco In summary- stay there.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2016

    9.6
    Welcoming;
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Welcoming; pre-arrival help; big room, comfy bed, accommodating staff,location, home made jams at breakfast, roof terrace. Thanks for a great stay.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2016

    10
    Lovely 2 days in
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Can't think of anything!

    All staff were great, but Hiatt (Hyatt-not sure of spelling) was truly a gem. She ran a very clean and comfortable Riad and was helpful in every way.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2016

    10
    Fantastic place with great personal.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    That we could not stay longer (my wife went sick)

    Fantastic place with great personal. You feel as at home. Rooms are nicely decorated.Breakfast on the terraze was lovely.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2016

    10
    Beautiful riad with fantastic manager
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite - Two Bedrooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a beautiful riad with super rooms, lovely furnishings, a great library and interesting art work. The owner and manager are so friendly and helpful and really made sure we had a wonderful stay. The manager even showed us how to make an authentic tagine.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2018

    10
    The perfect place!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    One of the most friendly, beautiful and peaceful places I ever visited.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2018

    10
    we were in this place for 1 night after our original riad only had 2 nights available. Had we known
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    the staff was lovely and so helpful. Our room was beautiful - spacious and quiet

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    9.6
    Great place
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite - Two Bedrooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great place

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    10
    Feels like home , very clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Feels like home , very clean

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    10
    Great for the kids
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite - Two Bedrooms
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great for our two kids. There are 2 cats they coulf play with and they had plenty of space i the family room.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    9.6
    Hayat makes all the difference
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hayat makes all the difference

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    10
    I loved Riad Watier and would love to return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing was negative!

    I was a single woman traveling. I was made to feel so comfortable and safe. I loved the staff!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    10
    Paradise in the medina
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wonderful decor and ambience. Phenomenal service and food. They even have a resident tortoise and two charming cats.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    10
    Ryad Watier is my favorit riad. It is not only, the atmosphere, the arts. It is somthing indefinable
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The homemade yogurt and hot showers - everything...

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    10
    Amazing place, staff and service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite - Two Bedrooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amazing place, staff and service. Simply unbeatable!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    10
    Perfect city for break and perfect place to stay to experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent Riad. Attentive informed involved staff Dinners excellent food and excellent value including vegetarian Excellent value massage too

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    9.2
    Beautiful art, fireplace, structural details in room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful art, fireplace, structural details in room. Lovely sheets and towels, friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2017

    10
    I would 100% recommend this Riad to stay in.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite - Two Bedrooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Warm welcome. Hayat was so helpful with any request. Rooms and beds comfortable. Excellent breakfast. Lovely dinner. Beautiful decor.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    9.6
    A beautiful house very a great view at the roof terrace.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    10
    The friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The friendly staff. Many thanks to Hyatt & all other staff for making our stay memorable.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    9.2
    Nice lady, nice stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bees at the breakfast

    Nice lady, nice stay

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    8.8
    perfect base to explore Essaouira
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Generously sized rooms, comfy bed, good location, nice rooftop, personal service.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    10
    Absolutely beautiful riad, exceptional design, very clean,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely beautiful riad, exceptional design, very clean, comfortable beds. Hyatt the host was great, very hospitable. Definitely recommend.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    10
    A great place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The riad is a well cared for and characterful place with friendly staff and a relaxing atmosphere. I really enjoyed my stay.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    9.6
    The owner and staff were fantastically welcoming and warm and efficient.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I could have stayed longer!

    Prompt courteous replies

    Stayed in October 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: