Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa sea & spa, MGallery collection 5 stars

Boulevard Mohamed V, 44 000 Essaouira, Morocco

#38 of 88 hotels in Essaouira

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 827 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    8.6

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    8.3

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    7.1
    Housekeeping exceptional, location & beach lounging
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very poor quality air con, room fridges not working, management needs to invest in hotel to justify rates they charge

    Housekeeping exceptional, location & beach lounging

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    7.9
    The location is perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lady who checked us in at reception was a bit rude and unfriendly. She spoke to us very loudly and when we queried why the rate we booked online was different to the rate we had to pay when we arrived she was rude and seemed like she was shouting at us in front of other guests. It was a bit strange that there was no rate given and she just said that’s the price. The hotel is a little bit old. It’s a pity this lady did not treat us well at the beginning and set a bad atmosphere for us.

    The location is perfect. Close to the beach and the Médina. The pool was nice although there were a few kids who were noisy. The sea view room was great and we loved watching the sunset on our balcony. The bed was very comfortable. All the standard room amenities you would expect. Good food, room service food was great.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    5.8
    Doesn't live up to expectations
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioning didn't work properly and shower bi-polar. Complained in the morning and were moved to another room where once again the air conditioning didn't work and the shower was bi-polar - guess it's the same story for all rooms... In addition to this the hotel rooms are dated and look tired, you would expect much more for the money you pay. Food and drinks are again very expensive with the food being average to say the best.

    Pool area is nice. Location is good.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    7.9
    On the final bill they tried to charge us for room service and mini bar stuff that we didn’t consume
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Cleanning staff left our doors open twice. Also it is weird that they come in to your room in the later afternoon hours and I was in the shower . The other time my friend was sleeping. We told the font desk we didn’t want them to come in and they still did. It was weird!

    I liked the hotel and amenities. The food at the beach restaurant was excellent.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    8.8
    Great location, very helpful, friendly staff, closed to the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Showers are not working properly, the water is very, very hot! WiFi is very slow on and off for two day.

    Great location, very helpful, friendly staff, closed to the old town, Médina and beach.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    9.2
    We wanted to stay longer
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately the humid climate in Essouira creates a musty smell which I noticed in our hotel room and in many shops in the Medina. Because I have allergies, I think I may be more sensitive to that sort of thing.

    A lovely place that has a lot of perks, the warm indoor spa pool open at night from 7-9 pm, the incredible balcony with a view through the the palms of the other large outdoor pool area, the great room service, comfy bed, good ac, safe and fridge. Our 2nd day was actually almost too cool and windy to swim in the pool. There were lots of ways to lounge by the pool, a fun place for families. We didn't swim at the beach, but the hotel has a nice bar/restaurant and their own set up of beach umbrellas and lounges there too. A nice walk to a great Medina, with lots of art galleries and studios and interesting cafes and crafts.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2018

    5.0
    Nothing apart from the duty manager MS Lobna and The check...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor hotel and extremely expensive! Don’t get fooled NO SAFETY PRECAUTIONS FOR ADULTS OR CHILDREN

    Nothing apart from the duty manager MS Lobna and The check out staff!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    9.2
    Amazing beach area
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Overpriced restaurants with disappointing food (eat in the Médina instead!) Expected more from the breakfast, but what they have is good

    Amazing beach area Very comfortable Close to the Médina Nice pool (a bit cold)

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    9.6
    Pleasant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Price was too high even for one night and additive 300dh for 2person for breakfast is ridicoulous in morocco

    Beautiful and clean. Very nice and helpful stuff. Quiet even with View to beach and street.bed is incredible comfortable. Great hotel

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    7.5
    5 star swimming pool, 3 star hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property is old and needs an update. Rooms look like they were designed in the 70s. The “private beach” is not a private beach but a section on the main beach with their own loungers. 15 euro per person for breakfast is very expensive.

    The swimming pool and loungers. Staff were very helpful.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    6.3
    Location and the room
    • Business trip
    • People with friends
    • Executive Suite with Ocean View (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We suffered from air-conditioning not working during our stay, the room was like a sauna. They said they fixed it, but it was not fixed.

    Location and the room

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    9.6
    Lovely hotel in a great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 9 nights

    A little more shade on the terrace at breakfast is the only thing I can think of everything else was excellent.

    Very nice hotel in a fantastic location across the road from the beach and 10 minute walk into the old town. Rooms were very comfortable, with the best bed I have ever slept in and lovely quiet air-con. Staff were very helpful and the food was good. The pool area had lovely loungers and when we were there (end of June) there were always some available. Alternatively the nearby roof top solarium had double mattresses...but no shade. The private beach area was a bonus and the beach was kept clean and tidy.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    6.3
    The pool is glorious! The rest of it is not!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Definitely not a 5 star hotel and the shabbiness would rate it as a 2 star or less. Many of the staff were aloof and service was slow. I had an issue and had requested to speak to the general manager and Instead got a junior manager who only became flexible when I pointed out the company’s mission statement. When she went to tell the front desk staff to only charge us for one breakfast not two there was a big argument between her and the staff. I found the whole matter to be draining and unprofessional. The food, other than breakfast, was mediocre and inconsistent and another reason not to consider it a 5 star. The whole hotel needs to be gutted and overhauled. Bathrooms are crumbling, mould and dirt has accumulated and whoever painted should’ve been fired. The dining room chairs and tables are substandard, the furniture in the lobby is kitschy and the chair & table in the bedroom is what you might expect to find in a 1 staff hotel. Accorhotels should be embarrassed to include such a rundown hotel in their chain. I have never stayed in their hotels and I would be reluctant to again as the pictures did not resemble what we found. I have written many hotel reviews and have never written one that has even come close to a rating this low. If the negative review sounds like sour grapes on my part, the pictures confirm the state of the hotel.

    The pool and beach were the highlight. Very comfortable sun beds although they should consider narrower ones so there could be more of them. The breakfast was very good with a large variety & selection albeit on the high side price wise. The location was close walk to the Medina. The bedding was very soft and the down pillows were so comfortable I may buy them from the Sofitel online store.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    9.2
    Location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Pool View (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/A

    Location. Pool. Very friendly and professional staff. We had a room related problem that was swiftly resolved by the front office hotel team and Hassan the customer services manager.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    9.6
    Really enjoyed our time there and those small comments that were critical didn’t deter us.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool was very cold and it was windy which did restrict the sun bathing comfort. Although the private section of the beach was good there was no protection from the wind and therefore not comfortable to use.

    Breakfast good but expect that some might have found it not English enough

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    7.1
    the pool with the beds where nice,
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    service during breakfast - you had to ask 3 times to get your table ready, ask for spoons, ask again for tea, juice. there were plenty of waiters but not so interested of helping you, more at laughting and chatting. the hotel needs some renovations - outside (the elevation) and inside (the wadrorobe doors hae fallen 2 times, the handle in the WC broke and I was locked inside). The bar is HORRIBLE - how can you let people smoke inside in the XXI century?

    the pool with the beds where nice, comfortable room

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    9.6
    A great location right by the beach and a short walk to the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great balconies, both seaside and poolside, that would be perfect for enjoying a good cappuccino in the morning... if there was anywhere in the hotel to get one. Seriously, €4 for hot water with powder cappuccino mix.

    A great location right by the beach and a short walk to the medina, with a very luxurious resort feel to the hotel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    9.2
    Chilled luxury hotel in a very chilled town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathroom could do with a refurb. Elements of room could do with refurb; eg curtains. More British TV channels. But these are minor points.

    Great location. Spacious, clean, quiet room with lots of storage. Fast free wifi. Friendly and helpful staff. Good quality and value breakfast. Decent restaurant. Pleasant bar. Big pool and gym! Quality sun loungers and pool service. Lovely beach lounging area and bar service. Nice beach restaurant.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    6.7
    Close to city and comfy beds but old glory hotel with noisy rooms (lots of families with children)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff (reception), unfriendly and impatient, when I asked them a question about my bill and I speak French so language was not the issue. The rest of the staff (door gatekeeper and cleaning room ladies), very friendly and helpful. Hotel is old and you see that in the bathroom (tiles broken, poor ventilation, etc) and in the halls (old used carpets) it’s time of glory is far away! Lots of families with children so noisy to sleep and to rest by the pool. If you have no children, I would advise you go to another quieter hotel. If coming back to the city, I will stay in another hotel.

    Extremely close to the Essaouira Medina and restaurants. Beds are comfy and big. Beach is extremely nice to walk, not to swim.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    8.8
    I was delighted with the facilities, the location and the food at this upscale resort hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Because it is so big there is a certain level of anonymity which has its plusses and minuses.

    This hotel has all the mod cons a contemporary traveler could desire and is close enough to the Medina to allow guests to take easy advantage of the restaurants, shops and nightlife. The pool is vast and immaculate and the breakfast staff is charming and attentive. The views from each room I visited were superb.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    9.6
    Great place to stay in Essaouira
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed for 3 nights and found the hotel to be really good value for money. The pool is great and the location, whilst slightly outside of the medina is fantastic as it’s opposite the beach and very peaceful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    6.7
    A little more efficiency on service would make me rate a 9 for this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Air Conditioning did not work even though complained for 3 consecutive days and every day were told that it has been fixed. Finally requested a table fan to be able to have comfortable sleep at night.

    Location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    8.3
    Great luxury spot from which to enjoy all that Essaouira has to offer
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A couple of the communal areas starting to show signs of wear

    Excellent but expensive breakfast inc a juice bar, big pool, great sunloungers, comfy bed and perfect location from which to explore Essaouira

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    9.2
    The room was spacious, the breakfast was excellent, the sun...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unlike inside the hotel, the staff at the beach bar were quite slow. The hotel could also do with a lick of paint.

    The room was spacious, the breakfast was excellent, the sun beds were comfortable and the staff were attentive.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    8.8
    Good apart from food after breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The restaurant dinner menu was very expensive for what you received, which did not always meet the menu description but seemed a compromise.

    View of the sea was excellent, all staff were friendly.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    10
    Friendly well-appointed and well designed hotel, close to centres of interest.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Excellent hotel, warm welcome and friendly staff, wonderful breakfast with a lot of variety. And a rose pink piano that our son was allowed to play. In particular we appreciated the kindness of the receptionist Kalima, and Laila who looked after our rooms and us as well, and Aziz and Hicham in the restaurant.The management team were also welcoming and helpful as were all the staff we encountered. The hotel is only few minutes walk from the beach and the Medina. We did not use the spa but the pool was great and sheltered from the wind.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    5.4
    Only book this if you want a pool/private beach and good location for a cheap price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s a very tired hotel with many cracks and mold spots. I also found a cockroach in the bedroom and hallways were dusty and dirty. It definitely needs a clean up/renovation!

    The location, the pool area, the breakfast, the private beach. Staff was friendly and accommodating.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    8.8
    Some of the receptionists were rude!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Some of the receptionists were rude! And there's no such thing as room service so it's not really a 5* hotel. If they don't want to deliver a coffee they just don't pick up the phone!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    8.8
    Good hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom needs some renovations, water temperature was inconsistent, and water ends up on the bathroom floor because the cover used is useless, making it unpleasant to take showers. Breakfast is expensive.

    Best hotel in Essaouira, clean, well located on a walking distance to the port and the medina market. the staff is very welcoming and professional.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    10
    I want to go back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Everything was awesome in this hotel, its near everything, right on the beach... the breakfast is good, the staff is very friendly... the hot sea water jacuzzi is excellent... the hamam they have is really nice too... especially the hotest room.. amazing.... The bed is really comfy... the small terrace with the view on the swiming poor and the birds... wow wow We arrived at Essaouira tired and stressed out... and this experience made us live again... I would definitely recommend this hotel...

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    5.4
    fitness
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    change your manager at the reception, she steals the money of the hotel's customers. February 16 during the calculation at the reception desk, she took from us for breakfast 60 euros (20 euros per person), although the price of breakfast is 15 euros. The credit card did not accept,she sad it was a lie that the system does not work, and the cash did not provide a cash check for 60 euros. she disgraces your hotel. she look on a kind , of 35-45 years, , not high, redhair.

    fitness

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    10
    perfect hotel , proximity to medina and harbour perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    nothing

    Everything ,staff are best in the world ,bed is best I've ever slept in ,restaurant staff better than Queen Mary , beach area boy the best ever worth his weight in gold so helpful to my wheelchair bound wife as were the amazing girls in reception. Will be back again and again

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    7.9
    Place and service was nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower glass wasn’t closing well so shower room floor become wet very easily Only one cup of orange juice and they hate to take empty dishes from dinning table

    Place and service was nice

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    9.2
    We had a lovely time
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The all year round swimming pool was totally unseated so was agonisingly cold. I didn’t expect it to be warm but I did expect it to be suitable for swimming. I swim regularly outside in the UK and it seemed about 9 to 20 c only

    The food was excellent

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    10
    Simply amazing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It is a 10 out of 10 for me.

    I simply liked everything. Cannot wait to find another moment to go, and I have recommended it to everyone potentially interested.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    9.6
    My family of five adults loved our stay at Le Medina in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My family of five adults loved our stay at Le Medina in Essaouira. The welcome tea and cool towel was very refreshing and set the tone for our stay. We booked a junior suite with a view of the pool. It was really lovely and they put out fruit and cookies for our arrival. Perfect location and beautiful facilities.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    10
    It was a delightful place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I booked with children and hoped to get rooms together but this was sorted out by the staff on the day- so it was fine in the end.

    It was a delightful place. Even the smell of it was tranquil. The staff were pleasing and always a pleasure to interact with. We felt totally cared for. The breakfast was delicious and so worth it. Will definitely come back!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    10
    Great place to stay on the beach, softest sheets in the world!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The beds in Le Medina are enough to go for. So comfy, the best sheets I have ever experienced. It was a great stay, enormous room, bath, balcony. Immediately relaxing and friendly staff. Can't recommend highly enough.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    8.3
    Great location, friendly staff. Expensive for what it is.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The big outdoor pool wasn't heated, therefore no use, at least in the winter months. The indoor pool was small and only free for guests between 7-9pm.

    Fabulously comfy beds; great private beach with huge loungers.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2017

    8.8
    Over all pretty good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Took too much time to check out, only one person is working at the time although people are waiting in line. We almost missed out bus..

    Very good location: facing the beach, not far from medina, and very close to the bus station.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2017

    10
    Great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Suite with Pool View (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The ocean view room view is amazing. The location is a very short walk to the medina and harbour. The staff could not do enough to help. I felt really looked after for the duration of my stay. Loubna, a manager, who greeted me at the hotel was so helpful arranging things for me to make sure my stay would be a comfortable one. Thank you Loubna. I look forward to my next trip to Le Medina.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2017

    10
    Wonderful stay in stunning hotel , incredible location and best team of staff found in Morrocco
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Slightly expensive drinks in bar

    Fantastic staff, always incredibly helpful and eager to please. Most attentive. Beautiful interior courtyard set around stunning pool where breakfast is served. Location ideal , short stroll ( max 5mins) to the medina and harbour . Very good tapas in bar with live local music, most enjoyable. Excellent lunch menu also served by pool if required.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    5.8
    Breakfast was good however please keep in mind you need to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A big surprise at the check-out - after being asked if anything was taken from minibar - answer was negative but then when we were suppose to drive away we were asked to go back to reception and were asked to paid for a...coffee taken from the machine which was placed in our room, btw it was not a standard room but suite so one could expect some extras are included, also there was no visable sign that coffee, tea or so is paid extra. Ok at the end seems we didnt pay for it (didnt check my credit card account yet) but it was embarassing, lady at the reception said that she will pay from her own cash etc..5stars hotel, suite and coffee machine i the room not for free..hmm. Gym equipment quite limitted and old..but at least usage for free ;)

    Breakfast was good however please keep in mind you need to pay extra for that (at the time of the trip 150 MAD pp)

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    9.6
    Awesome hotel with an Ocean View.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    This 5 star hotel is an oasis of comfort at Essaouira. The food is amazing, the staff is polite and helpful, and there was a private beach area with an attached beach restaurant, all part of the hotel. It was a really great overall experience. We chose an Ocean View room, and were able to open the door to a balcony, letting in the ocean breeze and the sound of the waves. I would recommend this as the best hotel to stay at in Essouira.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    10
    Amazing hotel with beach views
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great hotel, the best location opposite the beach and near the medina for restaurants and shopping. Breakfast was incredible, really comfy bed, huge room and the staff were so helpful! Loved the bar!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2017

    5.0
    Underwhelming, didn't not meet expectations.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were mostly very unfriendly, the main swimming pool was unheated and as a result unusable and the indoor pool was inaccessible before 7pm. We ordered coffee and cake one morning by the outdoor pool and were waiting over 35 minutes for its arrival. The room was okay but a little basic. Bathroom wall was a bit crumbly and the balcony needed a good luck of paint. Hairdryer was useless! Would have forgiven all of this in a hotel that was less than 5* but really expected more from a 5*hotel! We stayed in a riad in Marrakesh later on in the week and it was so much nicer in every way it was ridiculous!

    The hotel was well situated

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    6.7
    Great location, friendly staff. old facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    hotelroom was very old, bathroom, open cracks and in need of immediate attention. breakfast had very low price/value. 30€ for average/poor buffet that wasnt refilled regularly despite having loads of staff/managers. we went ro a nice cafe in the medina instead for a fraction of the price.

    Location is great, walkingdistance to medina. nice view with sun on the ocean view rooms.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    7.9
    Very nice reception, bar, pool and private area of the beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The decor of the rooms are dated. Not a 5 star hotel on this item. Prices are though so it’s a mismatch

    Very nice reception, bar, pool and private area of the beach. Staff were extremely friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    9.6
    I would be very happy to stay here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little tired and no tea / coffee making facilities.

    It's location is fab, right on the beach, very short, flat walk to the Medina. It was clean and the staff were pleasant. Nice pool, but the sun's gone behind the building be 4 So a sea view room with a balcony would be a good choice.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    10
    Wonderful Hotel in a great small city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I can honestly say there is nothing I can complain about.

    This is an excellent hotel in wonderful location within walking distance of the Medina and right beside the beach. Fabulous buffet breakfast.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    4.2
    This has never been a 5-star hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool water was extremely cold. Service is non-existing. Barely anyone among the hotel staff speaks understandable English. No refill at the breakfast.

    Location is good.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    8.8
    Good size comfortable room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Breakfast and meals expensive compared to what is available nearby

    Good size comfortable room. Well located on sea front, about a 10 minute walk to the town centre.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    8.3
    A perfect place to visit Essaouira
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel can use a makeover. Restaurent at the beach was really slow. Breakfast cheese and meat weren't cooled, so they were sweating and looked overaged

    Nice hotel, with a good swimmingpool, good beds Also the private beach and beds were perect Parking assistence was excellent Room cleaning was also great People of the hotel were friendly

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    5.4
    A torn review
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    While the lobby and public areas of Le Medina are beautiful, the living areas leave much to be desired: dirty hallways, mould on the shower walls, excessively cracked paint on the balcony, etc. The state of the rooms made it feel like a cheaper hotel than the lobby; but the location of the hotel near the beach and close to the medina were ideal. Overall probably too expensive for what its worth, but also likely one of the best in the area.

    The bed was quite comfy and the room service was quick and efficient. The food for lunch was excellent and reasonably priced. Wonderful pool area. Welcome party with complimentary wine and hors d'oeuvre was an unexpected delight. Check in was a breeze.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    7.5
    Comfortable clean well run hotel in an excellent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms (we had 3) are looking a little tired and less than pristine.

    Great breakfast buffet, lots of choice. Best to try to arrive early - on our first morning we arrived around 10am and had to ask for plates, cups etc. Staff were always polite, pleasant and most helpful. Good air conditioning, comfy beds and a great location near the medina and the beach.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    8.8
    The breakfast was fine, good selection, staff did struggle...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the service at breakfast was slow

    The breakfast was fine, good selection, staff did struggle to cope when restaurant was full the hotel was good, rooms tiered, pool and beds good

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    10
    Stunning lobby .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was average ... very comfortable bed and pillows ..... cute balcony overlooking the ocean. Nice toiletteries.

    Stunning lobby ..... so colourful ... Art Deco stunning . Beautiful pool area !

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    9.2
    Hotel comfort close to Medina Labirynth
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Balcony with high handrail blocks the view, small opening is treathing privacy, AC was not very effective, some visual barrier with neighbourgh as well as between street & private beach

    Very close to Medina; but you may reach the door with your car. Private beach, pool and good view over the Ovean with Mogador Island. Art objects (peintures, scluptures and comfortable chairs with attractive colors)

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    10
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only two sachets of coffee in room !

    The welcome we received was next to none, cool lavendar scented towel relaxed and calmed us from the heat of the day and a pleasant glass of mint tea too. From then on all was super , saying that we didn’t eat at the hotel but enjoyed a night cap in the very tastefully decorated lounge bar . We were up graded to a sea front room which was a pleasant and appreciated jester, although I am sure we would not have been disappointed with our original choice. Bed was one of the most comfortable we have experienced We would both recommend this Hotel, as a treat.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    9.6
    Relaxing, completely relaxing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hair dryer in the room went bang I my hand whilst using it. All the electric went off- we reported it to reception but no one came until we complained in person. The electricity came back on but the appliance was not replaced!!

    The staff are amazing in the bar and around the pool. Most of the reception staff are really helpful too

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    5.4
    Great location at an excellent resort but hotel badly needs renovation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Tired hotel needs renovation. Plumbing in bathroom leaky.. Breakfast €15,- per person too expensive. Chairs on room veranda dirty.

    Poolside service excellent. Fitness centre adequate. Safe guarded parking outside. Large flat screen TV in room

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    5.0
    Two beds joined together was very uncomfortable .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No good service for a five star

    Two beds joined together was very uncomfortable .water cannot go out as the wash Bassin was blocked and never repaired , no bathroom mat. No bed mat . This is not a 5 star. The amenities were for a 3 star, disappointed

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    9.2
    Amazing peaceful and very comfortable with perfect weather
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The service in the restaurant and bar was extremely slow. Plenty of staff but they all appeared to be hovering around not doing much. Customer service needs to be improved and should great customers with a smile!

    Most comfortable hotel, beds amazing loved the peace quite. Highly recommend it!😀 The location and island was amazing first time we've travelled to the location. Previously regular visitors to Egypt. This is our holiday destination going back in March.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    10
    Will definitely stay again and will recommend to friends.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Suite with Pool View (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perhaps could provide some form of live entertainment. May help with social interaction of the guests.

    Food, room service, bed WAS extra comfy, staff were polite and friendly.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    5.8
    Very poor air conditioning, I recommend for the winter only
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Twin Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very weak air conditioning. In fact, I think it was just air blowing without any cooling effect. Terrible for 100euro/night! I did not sleep well at all here. The woman at reception told me to sit down and wait while she checked me in. It took 30 minutes that I was sitting there!

    Great location, just outside the old town.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    4.2
    Not worth a 5 stars at all!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    For sure not a 5 stars at all - everything is old and expensive for the quality the corridors are very dirty the pool is super cold even in summer time the breakfast is super expensive for the variety and the quality You can find WAY better eleswhere! Crazy that Sofitel keeps a hotel in such a bad shape in its brand and collection

    The beds are good and the situation of the hotel

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    7.5
    Good location not meeting the standards of five star hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The first room we received when checking had a bad smell. It was very considered from the hotel to upgrade the room. Lack of customer service from the staff. We were not informed about the facilities and the receptionists at the spa told me to look the prices on the website, instead of informing me the prices in English. The variety of items served in breakfast were poor. To our opinion it did not meet the standards of a five star hotel.

    The hotel pool was good and the location was excellent.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    10
    Stunning hotel- not to be missed
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is just wonderful. Beautiful decor throughout. The rooms are modern and comfortable. The staff were outstanding, from reception to security who even escorted us across the road. The hotel has a lovely beach restaurant and section at the beach with modern sun loungers. Cool towels and mint tea were provided on arrival which was a lovely touch. The €15 breakfast was exceptional with so much choice. The staff ensure that your coffee and orange juice were always topped up.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    10
    Superb
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had the breakfast on our last day which was very nice but not really worth paying £12 for when we could have breakfast in the Medina with coffee and juice for £2.50. If the hotel lowered the price to around £6 I'm sure more guests would accept this.

    The bed was comfortable, towels changed twice a day, pool facilities excellent with comfortable sun beds. The Staff were all excellent and friendly.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    9.6
    Amazing hotel with great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Needed faster service on the restaurant but apart from that, stay was very good!

    The bed was super comfortable! I literally sunk into the deep soft sheets :-)

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    9.2
    Total relax in Essaouira!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    They do not offer breakfast included rates and breakfast is quite expensive for what it is offered.

    Perfect location in front of the beach, 5min walking from the Medina of Essaouira. Nice and helpful staff. Nice swimming pool area confy and big sunbeds.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    7.5
    Nice stay, quite comfortable but eat and drink out as prices are a rip off
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Communication (not a lot of English spoken) and prices, far too expensive for food and drinks versus the quality of food etc which was no more than mediocre Medina Standard. We weren't allowed in the hotel with pizzas and had to eat them outside. £7.50 for cornflakes, I don't think so. Mostly the dining areas were empty and when we wanted lobster (which they didn't have thank goodness) we were told 100dh per 100 grams. In the end we went to Zarah's Grill and had an amazing lobster for half the price.

    The room size, wi-fi was good, very clean and an easy walk to the Medina

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    8.3
    Lovely place but pricey...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The pool was absolutely freezing! Almost impossible to use. The main problem was the prices....extremely expensive food and drinks - for example £6 for a small lager and £12 for a small salad.

    The bed was super comfy and the pool area fantastic. Our room generally was really nice.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    5.4
    Not worth the money didn't feel like a 5 star
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 11 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't like that I paid for a 5 star hotel when it felt like a 3 star. Breakfast wasn't anything special and wasn't worth the money, breakfast should be including in the room price. When I checked in I was told to sit in the reception area and the was a lack of communication at check- in as the porter ( who ever he was) was running between me and the receptionist to check us in - uncesssary, its caused breakdown of communication as I asked the guy (running between me and the receptionist) if breakfast inculded he said yes, later found out it wasn't. The women at the boutique (inside the hotel) was completely rude, I wanted to buy sun cream and she tried to charge me more then what was on the price tag, when I asked her why are you charging me more, she said it was a mistake and peel off the price tag of the bottle, she said everything was fixed price, I then replied if everything was fixed price why isn't there any prices on the products. (The sun cream was the only thing that had a price tag) just felt it was a con.

    The bed was so uncomfortable but very clean

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    8.3
    Laid back Essaouira
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a mistake on our final bill which took longer than necessary to sort out but it was OK in the end

    The hotel was in the perfect loaction just five minutes walk from the city walls. It was calm away from the hustle and bustle and around the pool there was a gentle breeze - much better than the more aggressive wind on the beach . The beds were very comfortable with really good bed linen

    Stayed in May 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: