Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Sultana Royal Golf

Royal Golf - Bp 448, 45000 Afeggou, Morocco

#2 of 2 hotels in Afeggou

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 50 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    8.4

  • Location

    8.1

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    8.3

  • Value for money

    7.3

  • Free WiFi

    8.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 11

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    5.0
    No wifi in the rooms as advertised! Not business friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Azur Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This was not a match for me for one huge reason. No wifi in the rooms! (as advertised) The rooms are in seperate buildings apart from the restaurant/lobby and there is only wifi in the restaurant and lobby. Furthermore, the restaurant/lobby shuts down strictly at 10pm and goes dark so you basically can't use wifi after 10pm unless you sit in the pitch black outside the building that hosts the restaurant. I didn't have cell/data service in Morocco so I needed wifi in order to communicate with others and do some work from abroad. It's AT LEAST 15 minutes drive from town (or anything), which was a bit annoying as the drive from Marrakech acrosst the Atlas mountains was long and stressful enough (4 hours of twists and turns)

    The food was good and it's a romantic location for couples to see many stars at night (being in the middle of nowhere). Staff are very friendly and attentive. The first night I had the entire resort to myself as I seemed to be the only guest there. A little creepy actually but good for peace and quiet.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    9.2
    Incredible luxury, breathtaking scenery, and a very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The location is decidedly odd what with it being in the middle of a clearly abandoned development project 20 minutes outside of Ouarzazarte -- trying to build a large golf course and luxury villa community out in the desert was not a good idea to say the least--but the hotel itself is its own oasis at the end of what looks to be an abandoned road. Better signage leading to the hotel from the highway would help guests. To help with water management, it would be best if the grounds were watered very early in the morning or in the evening so as to use less water while preventing ground burn. Plus, it would allow the staff to avoid being out in the 35C sun!

    Incredible luxury, breathtaking scenery, and a very accommodating staff during our two night stay. We were looking for a place where we could just relax and "treat ourselves" in the middle of a long road trip and the Sultana delivered! The staff was also very accommodating to members of our party who were vegan and the food on the whole was excellent.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2017

    7.1
    Ok for a one nighter
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Majorelle Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    *We got a different room than the one we booked and got no explanation as to why when I asked the receptionist... *Hotel too far from the lake *Very cold in the room

    *Great ambiance in the bar / lounge area. *Great breakfast

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2017

    9.6
    A more European experience on the desert side of the Atlas
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Khôl Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Despite the name, there is no longer a golf course here and in fact this whole "village" was a speculative real estate development, which has only partially come off. So the hotel is really good, and is a real oasis. But many of the properties around it are unfinished - and will probably never be finished. Basically don't be put off when you drive into this "village" and see a lot of empty houses. Keep going to the hotel, drive inside and park your car (and you will need a car) and enjoy it. It is very peaceful, you will be well looked after, and the restaurant is top notch.

    There are relatively few luxury hotels on this side of the Atlas - but this is one of them. So if you have had your fill of berber tents and tagines, and are looking for a more European experience, this place is for you. The restaurant in particular was very good, serving a great range of dishes. The bar is really well stocked. So this is not typical Morocco, far from it, but the hotel is extremely comfortable, everything is very clean, there are great views of the lake, the staff speak good English - so there is a lot here to like. We chose to stay in their top suite, which is actually in a separate house located about 5 minutes drive away from the main hotel. The upside is that staying there was like having your own palatial mansion (and this is where the owners live as well, so you are not alone - and there are about 5 guest rooms in this mansion in total). The downside is that, apart from breakfast, you have to go over to the main hotel for lunch and dinner. But that was fine - if you have a car.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2017

    9.2
    like oasis in the desert
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Ivoire Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    it's cold at the bathroom.

    it's a very relaxing place, nice garden, restaurant, big room with big bath room. The staffs are kind and helpful. The food at the hotel restaurant were delicious. Special thanks for the service of the waiter who's wearing glasses (sorry, forgot his name)

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    6.7
    Nice place away from Ourzazate
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Azur Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds were Hard. Breakfast could be better

    Quite with pool and garden

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2016

    10
    Honeymoon
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cannelle Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The coffee was to strong. The waiter do not understand how to make cuppochino.

    Food was good.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2015

    7.1
    Nice Hotel complex, good view and relaxing at the Pool was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Not 100% clean, which should be a given at this Room Price. Chewing gum on the carpet, Dirty Table cloth. The Hotel is in the middle of nowhere. 1 out of 3 nights that we Stayed there we appeared to be the only guests, Quite spooky. The breakfast was terrible - Dirty dishes Were Used, stale bread, the Same pancakes seemed to have Been reheated a Few days in a row. Absolutely not suitable for this Hotel category. We have had better and fresher breakfasts at small, cheap Riads. To top it Off, the owner was screaming and fighting with One of her employees During breakfast.

    Nice Hotel complex, good view and relaxing at the Pool was Nice. Dinner was excellent yet very overpriced.

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2015

    8.8
    Stunning location, lovely place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Cold shower in evening but hot in morning.

    Stunning location, lovely place. Peaceful and pleasant. Staff friendly.

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2015

    10
    Friendly and helpful staff, good kitchen, quite location,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Friendly and helpful staff, good kitchen, quite location, very comfortable rooms. The best value for money during our trip through Morocco.

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2015

    10
    excellent hotel with very warm welcome from everyone
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    excellent hotel with very warm welcome from everyone we will be back very soon many thanks

There are also 3 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 11

Browse Sultana Royal Golf traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: