Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Villa Al Assala Palmeraie

Route De Fes, Kilomètre 4 , Palmeraie, 40000 Marrakech, Morocco

#93 of 153 B&Bs and Inns in Marrakech

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 216 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    8.5

  • Location

    8

  • Facilities

    7.9

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    7.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 39

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom is right next to the bed and can not be closed off so there's a full view into it. We were in need of a pool and also selected this place because of that. It turned out that the pool is not an actual swimming pool, but more a very shallow water basin. Keep in mind that it is not in walking distance from anything but luckily they provide a good taxi service when needed.

    Very nice and spacious property. The staff is trying very hard to make it your best experience and make you feel comfortable instead of being another number passing through. It's a secluded and spacious property. I also enjoyed the little balcony and large bathtub.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absulutely everything was perfect.

    Wonderful hotel. Design reminds you all those movies & novels about African adventures. They have fireplaces! The garden is unbelievable. The manager Malik and his assistant Mustafa were extremely helpful and kind.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hot water supply more dependable !

    Location afforded peace and quiet from the hustle and bustle of the center city Médina yet only 15 min drive by hotel ordered taxi. Staff was outstanding Hannan , Mustaffa , NanNan and three other associates which all welcomed us and took care of every need

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Maybe winter is not so good to go as it is not as well prepared for colder temperatures

    I loved the Moroccan style of the hotel and the cleanliness of the place

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Alittle far away from city centre and attractions. Poor breakfast. Old room furnitures.

    Very quite place with nice garden. Very Friendly staff treated me as a family member.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The massages that we both had were weak. This is something I would not do again. The hammam was not functioning. The drivers were very helpful and accommodating, though for the price (because of the distance to/from Jemaa el-Fnaa), I would have used more taxi's and less of their services, though very nice.

    Beautiful location, though under OUR circumstances, a little far form the action. If we had had more time to spend it would have been better (no fault of the hotel) because this is really a place to enjoy. The pool and grounds are very, very pretty. The other guests were low key and self-contained. The staff was really lovely. Because of some health-related issues my husband needed a second little bed which they obliged beautifully. Staff were EXTREMELY accommodating about our late check-out time. They needed our room back but allowed us access to another room to shower (after a massage) and get it together for our very late departure. It was the type of thing that makes you want to return because not all people/places would make that choice on your behalf; it was MUCH appreciated.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The menu is a little limited and the prices are quite high, 60 Moroccan dirhams for two cups of tea and 35 Moroccan dirhams for Coke Zero is an example. But the breakfast, which comes with the suite rate, is nice; pancakes, bread, cake and fresh fruit salad with juice and tea or coffee so it sets you up for the day.

    The private gated 10 suite villa is the perfect place to relax and unwind. Luscious gardens and peaceful surroundings made this an ideal retreat. Mustafa and Fathiye are attentive and meet every request with 'of course, no problem' and a smile :) The staff place towels and sun hats on the loungers by the pool each morning too.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wish I had more time to enjoy this wonderful place! No matter how long I stay it is never enough!

    I love this quiet haven in the outskirts of bustling Marrakesh! The pool, the food, the rooms...everything is just so wonderful! The staff are friendly and wonderful, too.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The food menu for lunch and dinner was limiting as I don't eat meat but the quality was still very good. An outdoor shower by the pool would be ideal as everyone was pretty sweaty! The metal furniture on the balconies is not ideal as it heats in the sun. I used the indoor chairs.

    The staff are outstanding! Always smiling, always happy to help and extremely hard working. Everyone acknowledges you during the day which was appreciated as I was travelling alone. The gardens are beautifully kept and all general areas have a high level of cleanliness. The pool was a dream in the extreme heat and big enough to have a proper swim. Breakfast was very filling and it was served all day! I will miss the omlettes... There are good quality alcohol beverages rather than local brands. I really loved the vibe here and would return in a heart beat - great value! thank you.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Really there is nothing I can think of that I did not like. Even the wifi is good (even by the pool)!

    This is my 3rd time staying at this lovely place and each time I leave more impressed! The rooms are lovely, the food excellent, and that pool is glorious!!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite Junior Triple
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing specific but reading some other reviews it seems that the expectations sometimes are higher. This is not a western style business hotel, therefore some details might unintentionally disappoint. If you're looking for that type of accommodation, you won't find there pristinely decorated but characterless rooms- this is not the style here. It's simple yet warm in its welcome. And that's its charm.

    The place is stunning. Easy to find if you just load up google maps in advance. Away from the noise of the médina but close enough to venture into it. The staff are brilliant- thank you to everybody who made our stay great. We also enjoyed dinners there- great food! Overall amazing value for money. Breakfasts are brilliant

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was very basic. The television was ridiculous. It was very amateurishly attached to the wall . We stopped asking the staff to fix it as we were embarrassed by how many times we called them.

    Almost everything.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was difficult to find because no sign anywhere of the house being a hotel. The bedroom furnishing. No carpet on the bedside, nothing to put your suitcase on, no door to the bathroom, unfit breakfast for the price asked, 20 euros for two, bad bread, industrial jam, soggy cake and dreadful coffee.

    The garden and the nice staff.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very nice hotel. We had the pool just for us. Aissam and the rest of the staff are very nice. The food was very good. You hear nothing but the birds. The garden is massive and the WiFi is fast. Very good value for the price.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The taxi from the villa into town was ridiculously expensive. From the city to the villa, if you have not booked through them, was much cheaper. A little disappointing if you spent already much money there.

    The staff was very kind!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mehdi at the front desk was very helpful and kind. very peaceful place to stay.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent staff and beautiful hotel to relax and yet very close to Marrakech center

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not much l did not like

    Location Gardens

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms

    Garden

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite Junior Triple
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were very casual.. dressed in jeans.when we asked for more pancakes for breakfast they refused

    The location the quietness the gardens

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful and very peaceful villa with happy and friendly and very helpful staff!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite Junior Triple
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food - very poor

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The always trying to charge more for food taxi extra

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is the first time to eat breakfast without egg, poor breakfast

    Location far from traffic 2- all staff were excellent and helpful

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Suite Junior Triple
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bad smell near the pool and every time you walk out of the room

    Good breakfast, nice pool, quiet

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything, they make you feel like at home, the breakfast is superb and the staff is amazing.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The pool is truly glorious! One of my favorite features of this place is the pool. The rooms are lovely too.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location

    Calm peaceful and luxurious

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wi-Fi slow

    Relaxed

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent garden and very calm villa. Very polite staff. We had a great time

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wonderfull small hotel on perfect location Beautifull gardens surrounding rooms. and spr nice management!!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hospitality of the staff. The intimate nature of the hotel. The pool was amazing everything was clean and it was so peaceful.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The ambiance is tranquil and the food is outstanding. The pool is truly a daily pleasure :)

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very private.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    First they gave us a room where the bathroom has no privacy (no door). When we asked for another room they said there is no other room. Then, we said that we want to leave. Then, they found a room which had a door for the bathroom. Room standards are low. The villa is not easy to find. The address doesn't say anything. Even on the property there is no sign. We had to call them many times to get the directions.

    Palmerai region. The garden of the villa. I think in Palmerai all facilities have similiarly designed gardens.

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nothing really.every single person working there us friendly and service minded. Clean rooms. Convivial atmosphere. Don't go there if you don't appreciate peace and quiet.

    An oasis of rest and comfort after busy conference days at the Palmeraie. Excellent quality food and service. Nice hammam and massage service.perfect location close to town.

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Room are a bit empty, they are just too big vs the amount of furnitures (no mini-fridge, too small tvs etc). The staff is slow, but that is a problem the entire Morocco is experiencing... no real attention to details and no common sense seem to prevail. But once again, that says more about Morocco than this hotel in particular.

    Great place, quiet and pretty! They have a fire place in the main building that guests can use, which is a unique feature especially when it gets cold at night. Amazing swimming pool area and garden, great view from the rooms.

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Not worth the price charged, as this property dwells on faded glory. The rooms, as well as the majority of the facilities are in dire need of refurbishing. During the whole stay we only had lukewarm water in the shower. Furthermore, the hotel taxi(s) which they work with (not sure if the hotel receives a % of this, but probably do) are ridiculously overcharged 200dirham, for a 7 minute ride which a normal cab would charge 30 dirham. Even though very difficult to proof, but both myself and my girlfriend fell seriously ill, with some form of food poisoning, 10 hrs after consuming a lunch at the property. Finally, and probably most disturbing was at checkout, when a gentleman, who we had not seen during the entire 3 days of our stay, was managing the checkouts/payments, charged us an additional €10 on top of the total invoice (which was also converted from dirhams to euros at an absurd rate), for what he called a new charge by the credit card companies (not at all true); my credit card company is currently disputing this. Not sure if this was just a "bad luck" moment for us, or if this is a structural problem this property is suffering from.

    The staff are amazing, and compensated for a lot for this rather disappointing property, and are what keeps it going. The gardens are also a plus point; well kept and groomed.

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    There was a lack of hot running water & food is not cooked fresh reheated when your ready to eat :(

    The staff are really friendly and helpful.

There are also 15 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 39

Browse Villa Al Assala Palmeraie traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: