Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Villa De L'Ô

3 Rue Mohamed Ben Messaoud, Ahl Agadir, 44000 Essaouira, Morocco

#36 of 56 B&Bs and Inns in Essaouira

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 88 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    8.7

  • Location

    9.6

  • Facilities

    8.1

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    7.6

  • Free WiFi

    8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 36

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2018

    6.7
    Ideally suited for a 2 day stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Unik Prestige Room
    • Stayed 11 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No shower cubicle in this room ,unlike other rooms .only a hand held shower in the bath , not good. Staying for up to 7-10 days not advisable as breakfast is extremely limited . THE SAME EVERY DAY.

    Staying for 10 days view of the beach lovely view

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2018

    10
    Lovely Riad that captures the vintage Essaouira identity!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Unik Prestige Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I have enjoyed staying at Villa de L'O! It has one of the loveliest rooftops to sit for a drink at the sunset/ and sunrise! The decor was a combination of vintage Essaouira photographs and an eclectic design which makes it very aesthetically pleasurable. It is also situated just right at the entrance of the Medina, which makes it very practical. Staff are super friendly and helpful and would go out of their way to accommodate all your requests.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    7.5
    Great location, but needs maintenance
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Unik Prestige Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maintenance required

    Great location, colonial style hotel, but not really up to date. Tooftop terrace in bad state. Most beautful view on the beach, but needs maintenance. Rooms were fine. Public spaces were so so.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    10
    A convenient, comfortable, "authentic" hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Unik Prestige Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This comfortable hotel is in a very convenient location for exploring Essaouira. The architecture and furnishings are authentically Arabian. The staff are very friendly, The Wifi is excellent, and the view from the rooftop "breakfast room" is beautiful. Highly recommended.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    8.8
    Enjoyable stay and beautiful view from the terrasse
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Unik Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bath should have a shower. We had a terrible experience at Sam’s Restaurant.

    Beautiful property, elegant decor and exceptional view on the beach from the terrasse.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    7.5
    It is safe.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Unik Prestige Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The handle of the door that was given to us is a bit off. I mean the cover of the handle is feeling off needs repairing.The wifi was slow.

    It is safe.There's a lot of restaurants nearby who has served us even if it iwas a bit late in the evening. People were quite helpful.Most important thing was that what ever we request they readily give them with a smile.We requested for 2 double bed rooms.The first one given to us was really good because we like the 2 beds in a room so that we can sleep well.The second one was superb it is spacius.The shower and water was good. The staff in the hotel like Redovane the receptionist was fantastic.Bouchra was really,really good always smiling.Nadia the cleaner and Mustapha they were wonderful.I if I will come back to Essaouira still I will stay in this hotel

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    9.2
    Lovely riad in a great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Unik Prestige Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I think that advertising a bar and minibar is disingenous as there is no alcohol on the premises - soft drinks only. It's not a problem but for Europeans in particular I think it's good to know in advance.

    The Villa de L'o is in a fantastic location - just inside the Medina but with fabulous views of the ocean. The rooms are beautifully decorated with individual styles and are very comfortable. The staff were very friendly, particuarly the lady who served us breakfast. I would recommend staying here.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    10
    Gorgeous hotel in the city centre, 1 min to the beach!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Unik Prestige Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Some noise due to road works just outside the hotel.

    Very friendly staff! Such a wonderful building, lovely authentic atmosphere... a perfect break away from a city like London.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2017

    10
    Amazing hotel situated at a great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Unik Prestige Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was perfect- it is a great hotel, the staff are very friendly and helpful and the food was superb. The location is perfect- very close to the beach, port and medina. Amazing stay and would throughly recommend.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    7.9
    An attractive building in a good setting.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Unik Prestige Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The maintenance of the rooms was neglected. The toilet cistern was filling constantly, a sink tap was dripping and the wood around the sinks and bath were beginning to rot. They were slow to replace a light bulb. It was a shame to simple maintenance not being attended to. The roof terrace was also in need of attention.

    The location and decor were lovely. The staff were very helpful and pleasant. The breakfast was very good. The first room we were allocated was very dark and depressing but the room we were then allocated was bright and cheerful. The hamman looked lovely but was not in use during our stay, probably because it was over priced. The roof terrace had magnificent views and we enjoyed having our breakfast there.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    7.9
    The property was beautiful and the staff was very friendly...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Unik Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The rooms were beautiful and the bathroom was quite large although it had a bath with a shower hose that wasn't very convenient. We didn't like that the bathroom only had a curtain instead of a door which didn't allow for much privacy. The hotel front door is locked at night and you have to ring a bell to get let in which is great for security although one night we waited about 20 minutes at 11:45pm for someone to let us in. The security guard may have been sleeping. Not the best safety wise.

    The property was beautiful and the staff was very friendly and welcoming.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    4.6
    Location was convenient to Medina.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Unik Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just drops of water from shower. Having a shower impossible. The request for a rebate was denied. €130,- for the night is outrageous. Further negative items. View was to a blank wall, breakfast just sweet items, TV picture without tone.

    Location was convenient to Medina. Air conditioning was working.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    9.2
    Comfy seaside riad in the medina
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Unik Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower didn't give much water.

    Ancient riad with really large room and nice breakfast on the roof with sea view. The beginning of our Morocco trip couldn't be better.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2018

    9.2
    Great location on Medina walls so great for both beach and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Unik Prestige Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location on Medina walls so great for both beach and town. Really good breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    9.2
    Staff were very accommodating to our young kids
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Unik Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Internet was a bit slow

    Staff were very accommodating to our young kids

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    9.2
    Essaouira is a great place to stay. The center is really nice and the hotel is great
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Unik Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    -

    Great hotel situated in the center and 2 minutes from the beach. Beautiful room and friendly staff

    Stayed in November 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2016

    10
    Staff friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hotel has a parakeet or some such bird in the atrium which squawks loudly at dawn which does wake you up.

    Staff friendly and helpful. Colonial splendour galore. The terrace is maybe the best in the Medina and the location is excellent. Our standard room was small for the money but the rest of the hotel is great to chill in.

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2016

    10
    Extremely accommodating and lovely staff - nothing is too...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    There's a club nearby that plays music late into the night.

    Extremely accommodating and lovely staff - nothing is too much trouble. Beautiful and well kept riad. Location was perfect, 3 minutes from the beach, the harbour and the medina. View from roof top of the sea was amazing.

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2016

    7.9
    The hotel was very beautiful and the location was awesome!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The water pressure for hot water was a trickle. If the cold water was turned on to increase pressure the water temperature was very cold as there wasn't enough hot water to counter it. The drain in the bathroom was quite stinky and needed a cleaning.

    The hotel was very beautiful and the location was awesome! The staff were lovely and helpful and the rooms clean and comfortable

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2016

    6.7
    Hyper stylized,beautiful property.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Don't expect a great night sleep on the third floor. Our room was right across from a "staff" facility and by 4AM- loud foot steps, doors slamming, things clanging, conversations going- starts or ends your slumber.

    Hyper stylized,beautiful property.

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2016

    8.3
    Lovely location and roof terrace beautiful breakfasts which...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The cheaper rooms are not fantastic, ours (occident) was small, didn't have any natural light and was very dimly lit. Our shower didn't work properly nor did one of the bedside lights. A peek into the other rooms though showed you get what you pay for, they looked gorgeous. We were happy to save the money though and the website is clear that they have two more basic rooms for better value.

    Lovely location and roof terrace beautiful breakfasts which we were allowed to have on the terrace in the sun. Cosy living rooms for drinks in the evening and pretty decor. Wonderful wonderful staff who organised our horse riding trip. It also has a sweet hammam where we had massages, exfoliations and the like.

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2015

    10
    Everything!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Everything!!!We were given the "uniq suite" on the roof, and it was the best stay I could have imagined having in Essaouira, what a beautiful place, gorgeous room, wonderful comfy bed,so romantic to look at the sea in the morning and evening from the roof- but above all, I will never in all my life forget the kindness of the staff here!! Wow!! All of you at L'O , you are all angels, God bless you and thank you for your kindness to this stranger. Wonderful hotel, I will return whenever i am here. thank you, villa de l'o!

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2015

    8.8
    Great location just inside the medina walls.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Admittedly our first impressions of the hotel weren't so good, it took rather long to check in and the room we were allocated only had internal windows and a very squeaky floor! However, the hotel were very amenable about moving us to a lovely room so not a big problem. The terrace and sun loungers could do with a bit of TLC.

    Great location just inside the medina walls. It is a lovely peaceful environment, great colonial decor, delicious breakfast on the roof terrace with views across the beach. The room L'Odessy was beautiful furnished, light, had a fab bathroom and lovely mezzanine.

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2015

    10
    Wonderful property, best location in the town with a very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing really, the wifi in our room didn't work but we could go downstairs where the signal was much stronger

    Wonderful property, best location in the town with a very easy access to souks and the beach. very attentive and friendly staff

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2015

    5.8
    Location is good, and the view from the upper terasse...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    There was no door between the bedroom and the bathroom, just a curtain. There was also not a shelf or anything to put your shower gel/shampoo in the shower. It is very difficult to shower holding that in hand... Bedsheets were of low quality and old, already making balls. Personnel was talking very loudly to the personnel of the hotel in front, just under our window before 7am...

    Location is good, and the view from the upper terasse stunning. A bit outside of the hassle of the old medic a, which I really enjoyed.

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2015

    8.3
    On the edge of the medina, so you were close enough to dip...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Staff need to pay more attention to offering guests refreshments - you could die of thirst whilst sunbathing on the roof terrace! Are room - Onxy - was very dark, even with all the lights on.

    On the edge of the medina, so you were close enough to dip in and out. Very clean in all areas. Quirky decor. Friendly staff.

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2015

    10
    From the mint tea to greet us to the view from the terrace...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    From the mint tea to greet us to the view from the terrace drinking rosé in the evening our stay could not have been more perfect. We will definitely return.

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2015

    9.6
    The villa has been restored in a unique way and gives a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We stayed in L'Occident room - the shower was very weak and really needs sorting. The only downside of an excellent stay.

    The villa has been restored in a unique way and gives a lovely calm feel about the communal areas and the bedrooms. There is a small terrace on the roof with great views overlooking the bay (a little windy in February!). Breakfast were excellent and the service was very efficient and friendly. The location was excellent for the Medina and nearby restaurants and also for strolls along the beach.

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2015

    9.6
    The Reception staff were really efficient and friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The Reception staff were really efficient and friendly. Nothing was too much trouble and despite working long hours were always cheery and sweet. The colonial decor was stylish and comfortable

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2016

    9.6
    The decoration was amazing
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The decoration was amazing The stuff was nice

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2016

    9.6
    Nicest hotel we have stayed in Morocco made even better by...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Nicest hotel we have stayed in Morocco made even better by the lovely staff.

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2016

    9.2
    Excellent location and room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No bad experience, however the Haman was small.

    Excellent location and room.

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Lounge aeria, poor wifi.

    Location,terrace, rooftop view, concept & design, staff

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2015

    8.8
    Staff was very interested in making us comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Would have liked a view room as facility was very minimally occupied

    Staff was very interested in making us comfortable

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2015

    10
    Idyllic location and wonderful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Idyllic location and wonderful staff

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2015

    9.6
    The athmospere was excellent as was the breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The athmospere was excellent as was the breakfast. Nice and quite but yet very centrally located. Execellent value for your money.

There are also 16 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 36

Browse Villa De L'Ô traveller photo gallery