Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Villa Garance

10, Rue A. Eddakhil, 44000 Essaouira, Morocco

#4 of 56 B&Bs and Inns in Essaouira

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 475 B&B reviews

9.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.3

  • Comfort

    9

  • Location

    9.6

  • Facilities

    8.9

  • Staff

    9.5

  • Value for money

    8.9

  • Free WiFi

    9.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more- opens a dialog box
Write a review

Showing 1 – 75

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2018

    10
    Beautiful riad with a perfect location, close to everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Beautiful riad with a perfect location, close to everything. The staff is really helpful and friendly. The room is clean and comfy. The breakfast on the rooftop with the amazing view is one of the highlights of our trip.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2018

    9.6
    best breakfast in all of morocco with omelette and the best,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    our room was airless, with shutters opening onto the staff's break room--all other rooms seemed gorgeous.

    best breakfast in all of morocco with omelette and the best, richest coffee we had. Staff exceedingly helpful with everything.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2018

    7.5
    Great location and good breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Checkout was weird, somehow we had to pay city tax in cash and the room was already charged to my creditcard without consent. Also room had no windows.

    Great location and good breakfast. Staff overall very nice.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2018

    10
    We had an amazing and very plesent stay at the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When we arrived we found out the room we were suppose to stay at, had no window (one of the superior rooms). To us it was not acceptable because this is one of the most important criterion when choosing a room. The hotel where kind enough to make an effort and change the room for us and we really appreciate it. If it is important to you I suggest to make sure that you room has a window (I'm pretty sure most of theme do). Any way, don't let it give you any second though, inconvinions happen, and the important thing was that they helped us.

    We had an amazing and very plesent stay at the hotel. The staff members were welcoming and everything was very nice and comfortable. Breakfast was the best we had and the rooms were clean and had everything we needed.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2018

    7.1
    The location is excellent and the staff friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our room was extremely damp and smelly. We appreciate that Essaouira can get damp in the Medina, but that doesn't mean you have to rent rooms so damp that after two nights the occupants start feeling ill, as we did. The other rooms in the hotel are, apparently, fine, so it's really just the one we were in - which begs the question why rent that one in the first place. It's a shame, as the place could be a really nice hotel. But not if one of your rooms is virtually uninhabitable.

    The location is excellent and the staff friendly.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2018

    8.3
    Good place to stay in a great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No window in our room. There was one window that opened out to a communal area in the building.

    Great location. Breakfast on roof terrace. Had dinner there and it was very good. Friendly staff. Close to all the attractions and the beach.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2018

    9.6
    Very nice accommodation in a very good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I would have liked a small electric fan for the room as there was no airconditioning

    Everything from the staff to the facilities was exceptionally nice.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2018

    7.1
    Good Location and Gentleman Who Service Breakfast Earns Five Stars All On His Own
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The woman who runs the checkout desk is fine, but got less nice as our stay ended. Our checkout experience was quote odd. She asked for cash and was cagey when I asked if we could use our credit card, acting like it was a big hassle. In the end, we insisted and it took 2 seconds. Perhaps it was less profitable to the road to use a credit card, but the experience felt very off.

    The gentleman who seems to run most of the hotel guest services is wonderful. Attentive, good service. At the surface level, this hotel is great. Cute read in a good location. The location really is quite wonderful. The foot terraces! They are the best. The hotel contains a take one / leave one library, which I think is a nice perk. Breakfast is included.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2018

    10
    An oasis of calm in the medina
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Villa Garance was my home from home for a few very relaxing days. A really comfortable bed, beautiful breakfasts served on the roof terrace and wonderful service from the staff. I loved it and will definitely return.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2018

    9.2
    Excellent medina option with massive terrace
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room only had one high up small external window so was a little dark didn't have great ventilation.

    Great location Friendly staff Nice terrace for relaxing Excellent breakfast Comfy massive bed

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    10
    Everything was brilliant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no information provided about parking other than that it was available in a location nearby. It would have been useful to have the location to make it easier.

    Everything was brilliant. Loved our stay in a traditional Riad!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    10
    A very charming villa with kind and helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights

    We stayed at Villa Garance for 4 days with a group of friends. The villa is perfectly located, close to the beach, city center and all the important attractions. The villa is charming, very clean and with a nice rooftop, where you can enjoy a superb breakfast. But the most important: people were very kind, always helpful so we spent an amazing time there!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    10
    Essaouira
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing to dislike!

    Breakfast on the roof terrace was amazing, our bedroom was beautifully decorated in a traditional way. Marie and Pierre were very welcoming and helpful. The staff were all very nice and friendly! I would definitely recommend this Riad and have done since we came home. We will definitely visit again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    9.2
    Pierre, the proprietor was very nice and helpful, and the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wifi connection was a bit slow and spotty. There was a bee swarm during breakfast that kept increasing because of the honey and jam (this wasn't the hotel's fault but it was a bit annoying). If possible, ask the staff if you can take your breakfast down to your room.

    Pierre, the proprietor was very nice and helpful, and the rest of the staff were also kind. The room and the riad's common areas were beautifully curated. The riad is located down a quiet alley which helped at night.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    9.2
    The location is brilliant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    n/a

    The location is brilliant. Tucked away in a side street of the busy Medina. The staff are friendly and extremely welcoming. Our room was cosy and clean and a perfect haven after the busy Medina. Breakfast on the roof is picturesque and I would definitely go back.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    10
    perfect stay! We will come back for sure and will tip this place to our friends
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We had a more than perfect stay at Villa Garance. It was all lovely! Our room, the towels, the bathroom, the staff, the breakfast, the rooftop, the owners and the vibe. We absolutely loved it! and are coming back for sure! Also the massage was perfect with nice warm towels. Thank you for having us

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    10
    Old world charm
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property was well located and was easy walking distance to the port, the beach, restaurants and the many streets of the Medina. The staff were very friendly and Marie and Pierre were helpful with organizing laundry, transport to the airport and answering any questions we had.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    10
    Typical riad in the centre of the Medina
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing! Just what we hoped for.

    A lovely riad - very peaceful, down a quiet side street. Helpful and pleasant staff who recommended a restaurant for the first night and booked a return taxi to the airport. Loved having breakfast on the roof terrace - although we witnessed cheeky seagulls making off with a Moroccan pancake or two...

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    6.3
    Very Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Overall we were very disappointed with our stay here. Be careful with your room selection and ask for one with a window opening on to the street. Although the website says all rooms have windows opening onto the street, they unfortunately do not. Our room was very dark and smelly but most of the other room are beautiful. We asked to swap to another standard room however the staff did not let us which was frustrating considering we could see that these were not all occupied. In addition, our card got charged on the first night of our stay without us knowing. We then were asked to pay city taxes when we checked out but were told we could not use a card to pay this (and we didn’t have any cash).

    Good location, WiFi is good, the man the serves breakfast is super lovely.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    9.6
    Made our stay in Essaouira perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We arrived and felt welcome immediately, we arranged to have dinner that night and everything was amazing. The wifi works, which is better than some other places in Morocco so that's always a positive

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    9.6
    Old world cgarm
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our bedroom didn't have a window onto the street which made it dim.

    I loved the decor the friendly staff the central location and the rooftop breakfast area.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2017

    7.5
    Double check your bill!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are right next to a school, therefore very noisy, word of advice: skip the cooking class and go eating next door and also check your bill at the end - they tried to overcharge us for almost 60 Euros which leaves a really bitter aftertaste for an otherwards pleasant stay.

    The breakfast is AMAZING!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    10
    very comfortable atmosphere, friendly staff who spoke various languages, really enjoyed our stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast was outstanding, fresh fruit and yogurt, freshly squeezed orange juice, a selection of crepes/muffins with preserves plus tea/coffee served on the roof terrace. Its in the middle of the market area so well situated, also surprisingly quiet at night. Great choice

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    10
    An excellent choice to spend relaxed days in Essauira
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Very friendly and helpful staff , great location in the heart of Medina , very clean and comfortable apartment with nice interior design , I would definitely recommend it !

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2017

    10
    Wonderful place & team
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Essaouira is a perfect place for a soft landing in Marocco. Very nice communication upfront, they also organized a taxi to pick me up from Marrakesch airport. Was an efficient and comfortable way to travel and cheaper than most online offers. The villa made me feel at home right from the start, highly engaged team (thank you again to everybody), nice and clean room, daily room service. Dinner was fantastic as well. Not to forget the scenic and nice breakfast in the rooftop terrace! Location also great to reach everything quite fast, still very quiet at night. Full recommendation!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    10
    Personnel (extremely friendly and helpful)
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too bad they don’t serve alcohol...

    Personnel (extremely friendly and helpful) Products in the bathroom Breakfast on the terrace Great maroccan cuisine (we ate at the riad at night)

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    8.3
    The staff was great and the Medina was manageable for a 1st timer
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Walking up the stairs but that is part of staying in a riad

    The staff was excellent. I thought we were closer to the beach and at first glance I was a little offput be the alley the hotel was in because u fear what u dont know

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    9.2
    Good place, good price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nice, clean room, good bathroom. Decent breakfast on a really nice terrace and good wifi. Helpful staff. Mostly used the place as a launchpad for doing our own thing. Top tip: Restaurant du Coeur does great seafood. Don't eat fish at the port, it's crap. La clé de voûte is overrated, but Umia is really good for a romantic evening meal. Taros is a supringly fun rooftop bar near the main square for post-dinner drinks. There's a vineyard out of town that does a great wine tasting and tour, comes with lunch and a couple of hours in their secluded pool. The beach is really quite nice and surprisingly safe.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    10
    Great location, very charming, romantic riad, great staff and great food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although very comfy, I would have preferred a queen (double or king bed) we had 2 twin beds next to each other.

    The staff were super helpful and friendly. Comfortable beds. Very charming romantic riad! This riad had the best breakfast we had in all of Morocco. The dinner was incredibly good too!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    8.3
    The hotel has a really cozy look and feel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel seems to have an issue with mice and insects at the moment, due to work that is being done in the area? We found little mouse drops all over our room floor and even encountered a cockroach.......

    The hotel has a really cozy look and feel. From the roof terrace you have a really nice view over the town of Essaouira and you can even see the ocean. Breakfast in the morning is served on the roof terrace, with the sound of the sea on the background and their nice and homemade breakfast it makes for a great start of your day.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    9.6
    Fabulous!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only bad thing was that we couldn't stay longer than one night!

    The staff were lovely and made us feel right at home. The room was quiet, spacious, clean and comfortable. The bed was the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in at a hotel anywhere. Shower was good. A good breakfast was served on the terrace on the roof which was nice. Location is excellent, walking distance to the bus station, close to the port and right in the middle of the fabulous shopping & restaurant area.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    10
    Our bed was incredibly comfortable and the room light and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our bed was incredibly comfortable and the room light and big. Beautiful house and great breakfast on the rooftop Staff very friendly and always helpful

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    9.6
    Beautiful friendly and comfortable villa in the heart of the medina
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I think it may be better with a young family to stay out of medina. Location brilliant for adults shopping but as no pool you have to head for beach to cool down.

    Friendly staff who were great with kids. Comfy and lovely family room.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2017

    9.2
    A really excellent week spent in a relaxing Riad with friendly staff in a friendly town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite
    • Stayed 8 nights

    We are a family of 5 (three kids 10-12) and we were in the family room but with hindslight we would probably have been better with 2 rooms rather than squeezing the extra bed into the room. The property is great - with lots of character although some of the furniture/furnishing probably need repair/replacement in the near future.

    Great location in the old town. Interesting Riad building with lots of character. Friendly staff and owners. Excellent breakfast served each morning on the roof terrace by a friendly man. The cook is also very nice and makes all the great breads and jams for the breakfasts.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    9.2
    Pleasant stay in lovely riad
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The riad is lovely decorated. The room and the toilet are spacious and with lots of shelves to keep all the things you can need during the week. Hairdryer is provided. The wifi signal is very good. Staff was very nice as I was a bit poorly the last day of my stay and we could check out later and they also offered me to prepare some soft meal. Breakfast was good, I might suggest modifying it slightly from day to day, as if you spend a whole week there you get tired of it. The place is very well located in the Medina. Easy to find and close to nice restaurants. I would go back for sure!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    9.2
    Good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    They only take cash Had to climb up a couple of flights with suit cases, they offered to help but no one was available so we moved it ourselves.

    Nice terrace with a kitchen. Room was spacious (quad) with a balcony. Clean and well maintained.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    10
    A perfect place to stay, very close to all amenities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing we disliked about our accommodation.

    Breakfast was lovely with a variety of warm breads and preserves, fruit & yogurt and freshly squeezed orange juice.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    9.2
    Lovely botique hotel in the centre of Essaouira.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The water pressure on the shower was a little lacking but was enough to wash hair etc

    Lovely botique hotel in the centre of Essaouira. Beautifully designed with spacious rooms. Nice rooftop breakfast of bread and jam with a good sized pot of tea or coffee.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    6.7
    Good Hotel with not so good neighborhood
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dirty & clean bedsheets aren't kept in arranged way & one can see it in front of room. Location is in narrow lane which always stinks.

    Staff is very friendly. Property is well maintained. Terrace has got good view.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    10
    We loved this place!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    As you're in the middle of the medina, there'll be noise! And it's hot... sleep with the windows open and it's cooler but noisy. Closed - it's quiet and hot! But this wouldn't stop me staying again!

    Super helpful and caring staff really made our stay. Nothing was too much trouble. Amazing breakfasts on the roof and the one dinner we had (after emails with the cook directly) after our long journey from the uk was outstanding. The best location also. Rita on reception is an absolute angel - we adored her!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2017

    9.2
    A lovely place to chill
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Anyone with mobility problems will need to be aware that there are many steps to climb in a riad, therefore this type of accommodation would not be suitable. Also we did get bothered by wasps at breakfast time. I guess there must have been a nest nereby but not a relaxing start to the day, to have half a dozen wasps buzzing around your plate.

    A traditional morrocan riad, in the heart of the medina. Shops and restaurants are right on your doorstep. A ten minute walk takes you to the long beach, where you can find activities such as camel and horse riding, kite surfing. There are some beachside restaurants that offer sunbathing facilities such as loungers, umbrellas etc. Also, many spas and hamans locally to the riad. A great base for a morrocan adventure. As a destination we found Essouria more relaxed and laid back than places like Fez and Marrakesh, traders not so pushy and a much smaller place to navigate. A perfect place to spend a few days.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2017

    8.8
    Pleasant stay in a beautiful riad.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit noisy at times due to the school across the road. We also only found out halfway through our stay, by seeing someone eating them, that eggs were available for breakfast!

    Very pleasant riad, owned and run by a delightful couple from France, in a very central position just off the main shopping street in the medina.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2017

    10
    Absolutely lovely. Great roof patio!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room didn't really have a window which was weird but at least it was quiet😆

    Great location; really nice to go back to after wandering the town.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    9.6
    Nice and sunny place to stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    At the arrival we were told we can pay by credit card. At the end of our stay, we were informed that paying by card means 3,5% extra costs for the transaction because the amount payable is too little. That was an unpleasant surprise, as we have stayed in other places in Morocco before for even smaller sums and nobody asked comission for paying by card.

    Very nice riad in a very good location - everything's walking distance. Nicely furnished and decorated, clean. We enjoyed the breakfast on terrace where you can have a view of the city and the ocean.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2017

    9.2
    Very nice villa
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Stairs, as well as platform bed, might challenge some guests.

    Great view from the top deck. Attractive style. Lovely staff. Very clean. Great location. Good service at the breakfast.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2017

    10
    Great place to stay in Essouira! We highly recommend it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The most comfortable and beautiful Riad we have visited during our trip to Essouira. As this used to be a Jewish home before it was turned into a Riad, the place is huge. High ceilings, big rooms. Complemented by comfortable beds and cushions, both of which are quite rare in these parts. Not to mention their beautiful roof terrace and great staff.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2017

    10
    Extraordinary place to stay. Amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Extraordinary place to stay. They had every detail in place from the decor, burning fires lit, extraordinary service and an amazing breakfast with home made marmalade from the roof tope each day. Amazing.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2017

    8.3
    Sunny, colourful and intriguing winter holiday
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Access to the hotel is via a narrow side alley inside the medina. We felt unsafe to return to the riad after around 9.30pm when the shops and stalls nearby shut and it becomes dark and a bit lonely. During the day and early evening the souk was colourful and characterful, and generally friendly. We had to search to find restaurants that are licensed. The big majority are not. But we were very happy with the ones we discovered. The level of poverty is concerning, but we felt very welcome and unthreatened.

    Charming old riad, beautifully modernised, friendly and welcoming. Felt very safe once indoors. Essouaira and Mogador together sit in a beautiful bay where we spent several happy days bathed in winter sunshine. The old port is bustling and fascinating, with traditional wooden boat building and fishing craft. A fascinating African destination for a winter holiday.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2017

    9.6
    Highly recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was great.

    Really friendly and accommodating hosts, Pierre and Mary. All staff were friendly. Food was great. Good terrace for breakfast and lazy morning. Our room was directly on the terrace. Very private, comfortable, and well appointed.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2016

    10
    Magical Riad set in beautiful harbor town
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    If you don't like stairs do do a terrace room, otherwise great.

    Beautiful Riad, lovely hosts, excellent room, majestic breakfast on the terrace and unbelievable surrounds! We loved every moment!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2016

    10
    Best hotel in our trip.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Best hotel in our trip. Excellent breakfast on the terrace with view on the ocean. Extremly friendly, welcoming and professional staff. Pierre was perfect host who gave great advice about local area. We would be happy to return and highly recommend staying here.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2018

    10
    Above expectations!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Everything; beautiful property, location, fantastic staff, excellent breakfast and a super-hospitable owner.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2018

    10
    Good location, very helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good location, very helpful staff

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2018

    7.9
    The breakfast was excellent!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast was excellent! Also the owner was super kind and helpful! And the riad is very well located in terms of the city.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2018

    9.6
    Nice little hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nice little hotel in the medina of Essaouira with friendly staff and beautiful rooms - we can really recommend staying here :-)

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2018

    7.1
    I can recomend Villa Garance to my friends
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The rooms were very nice,- the roof-terrace good.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2018

    10
    Wonderful riad in Essaouira
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful riad in a little side street in the medina. Very comfortable with a lot of attention to detail.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2018

    9.6
    Location, cozy, nice staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite with Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location, cozy, nice staff

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    9.2
    Location, nice and helpful staff, breakfast, atmosphere of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location, nice and helpful staff, breakfast, atmosphere of the riad

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    9.6
    Very good in all its aspects.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi could get improved

    Very good in all its aspects.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    10
    Very good location, good accommodations and nice staffs.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was fine.

    Very good location, good accommodations and nice staffs.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2018

    10
    Great location, nice and clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location, nice and clean. Comfortable beds. I would stay again

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    7.9
    Good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was located on the first floor and it was quite dark.

    We loved the rooftop terrace.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    9.6
    Exceptional
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    There are no comments available for this review

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    10
    Traditional riad
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tea and coffee availability

    Traditional riad

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    10
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    10
    nice place with friendly staff and not very far from...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nice place with friendly staff and not very far from anything .

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    10
    Perfect place to stay in Essaouria
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only that we aren't still there

    Great location, very central to all the places you want to see and eat in, but also very quiet

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    10
    Prefect 4 day get away
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The staff where amazing !!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    9.6
    A good base for Essaouria visit
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Good position in the center of town Nice building and helpfull staff

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    9.6
    Muy buena
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amabilidad

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    7.5
    Breakfast at the rooftop terrace with sea gulls!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast at the rooftop terrace with sea gulls! We loved it. Good place to stay overall.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    10
    an excellent break well worth the effort.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 18 nights

    The idea of breakfast on the roof is not good when the wind is blowing strongly

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    10
    The room was very nice and the location was excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was very nice and the location was excellent.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    6.3
    great place, boring staff except breakfast group
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    lazy receptionist had barely tips, difficult to communicate with and no kingsize single matrass bed.

    great breakfast at the roof with plenty of food !

    Stayed in January 2018

Showing 1 – 75

Browse Villa Garance traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: