Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hôtel Columbus Monte Carlo 3 stars

23 Avenue Des Papalins, 98000 Monte Carlo, Monaco

#9 of 16 hotels in Monte Carlo

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1400 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    8.2

  • Location

    8.2

  • Facilities

    7.9

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    7.3

  • Free WiFi

    8.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2018

    10
    We Tavel a lot all over the world and that was the best...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We Tavel a lot all over the world and that was the best service that we ever got! The stuff was absolutely incredible. Start with the concierge that helped as to get to the best places in monoco, the house kipping that was really nice and thorough and the room service stuff that was nice and quick. The room was nice and we had a really beautiful view from our balcony

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2018

    10
    A wonderful experience!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wish there was more bottled water in the room.

    We were only there for one night from our cruise ship. We were able to check in early, the balcony in our room had an amazing view. Bed was very comfortable, and water pressure in the shower was great. Very helpful staff arranged for our taxi early in the morning, and spent time giving us sightseeing tips. The checkout process was very quick. The pool was also amazing.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    9.2
    Excellent. We'll no doubt stay here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Housekeeping didn't replace tea and milk in the room daily as it says they will do in the room information. Had to go seek our own out at reception and was directed to the bar where I stood and waited, and waited. Eventually got a jug of milk, then waited and waited for tea bags. Next day room service left the jug of (now warm) milk and again didn't replace tea and milk. So I went on the wander again. Only a small thing you may say, but when you pay the best part of £200 per night I'd expect the standard to be high and for this to not need to be an issue.

    Great location, great balcony to sit on at the front of the hotel. Recently updated since our last stay. Very good upgrades, very clean. As a runner there were some great convenient places to go running from this location.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    8.8
    Reliable wifi, extremely comfortable bed, room styled nicely...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quite a long walk to casino, noise from corridor early in the morning, needed to air out our room - smelt like smoke when we arrived. Parking was expensive but so is everything. (Not hotel related, but..) it was Sunday and we didn’t realise EVERYTHING would be shut in Monaco, was like a ghost town.

    Reliable wifi, extremely comfortable bed, room styled nicely, friendly and efficient parking/front door staff. Quick check in process.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    8.3
    Beautifully Remodeled Boutique Hotel in a Quiet Area
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The location isn't that great. 5-10 minutes to the central shopping area, 15-20 to the palace, and need to take a cab to the casino. However, that meant it was quiet which i loved.

    They recently remodeled so the lobby, bar, restaurant, and rooms are all gorgeous. I'm a design snob and this place was simply beautiful, especially the rooms.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    10
    The food and the room was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food and the room was great. The concierge staff absolutely wonderful, there wasn’t anything that was too much trouble - make sure you tip them as they deserve it.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    10
    Loved this hotel, perfect value for money, the room was...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved this hotel, perfect value for money, the room was beautiful, very spacious and very clean. The bed was like sleeping on a cloud, very very comfortable, the location is perfect also, only a short walk to everything.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    6.7
    Overall it was good experience and I would come back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had to ask for a shampoo and remind hotel staff to add bath liquids next day. But hair conditioner we never could find. Another thing is that our room was not available when we arrived. I was pretty tired and had to wait for 2 hours. Spoiled my impression about the hotel for sure. And we arrived AFTER LUNCH! Not in the morning.

    Elemis bath liquids, clean bathroom, balcony, quiet

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    10
    Loved it!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing - it was great! Free shuttle service was good, would be even better it it was more frequent.

    Amazing staff! We loved the quietness of the location, but its not too far to get to anything (nothing is far in Monte Carlo!).

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    10
    The hotel in itself was very well accommodating and the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The hotel in itself was very well accommodating and the members of staff were friendly and very helpful. I will definitely come back to stay at this hotel.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    10
    Fabulous hotel in a great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fabulous hotel in a great location. Hotel was very clean, staff were very friendly and helpful 😁 sorted our trips and taxis, very courteous. Would definitely recommend. And we would be happy to return. 😁

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    9.6
    GREAT HOTEL - SUPERB PLACE FOR OUR SHORT VISIT IN MONACO
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    - THE HOTEL PROBABLY WAS IN MIDDLE OF RENOVATION -THE MAIN ENTRANCE WAS NOT READY WHEN ARRIVED - THE BREAKFAST SERVICE WAS NOT AT ALL ORGANISED - ALTHOUGH MANY WAITERS WORKING THERE ! I FELT THAT MAYBE IT WAS THE 1ST AND 2ND DAY OF OPENING

    THE ROOM AND THE HOTEL SPACES WERE VERY NICELY DECORATED - THE STAFF SERVICE EXCELLENT. GREAT LOCATION AND ROOM VIEW.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2018

    10
    Stylish, comfortable and well run. A hotel to return to.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Just a nudge please to the housekeeper to ensure the milk, coffee and tea is topped up please!

    Superb coastal hotel, with very comfortable bed and stylishly decorated room. Friendly staff. It was hard for us to tell whether we had been given the renovated or yet-to-be-renovated room. Great sea view. Comfortable sunbeds by the pool. Well located just 20 mins walk from the centre of Monaco. We certainly will return again in the near future. The hotel is close by the world renowned Prince Rainier III Classic Car Museum which was a treat to visit.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2018

    9.6
    Great location, just 2 minutes walk from Port De Fontveille...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A fridge in the room would be great. There is a Mini-Bar fridge but you are not allowed to take hotel items out and store your own as it supposedly detects items being removed and you get charged. Because of that we had to leave champagne bottle at the reception desk and ask them to cool it down for us instead of just using the fridge in the room.

    Great location, just 2 minutes walk from Port De Fontveille with Prince Albert’s Car Museum, handy grocery store and McDonald’s. It is also just a pleasant walk away from Port Hercules and Monte-Carlo, handy if you like walking around or if you do not fancy a 20€ Taxi ride or taking a free shuttle from the hotel. Nice swimming pool, it is big enough so it is never crowded. Also very close to Heliport De Monaco so if you enter Monaco in a Helicopter you get to this hotel within minutes. Helpful staff, big rooms, bigger than expected. Hotel is clean and fresh.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2018

    7.5
    The suits were good size, well equipped the view was nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • King Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no service at the pool, and it was open from noon which I found inconvenient since it is August.

    The suits were good size, well equipped the view was nice.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2018

    10
    Location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had breakfast at terrace and hungry birds were waiting for your sharing meal) and it interrupted us a little. Mirror light in bathroom didn’t work (do not remember room number)

    Location. Not center, but good place! Like it very much! Clean room! Concierge service! Interior!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    9.2
    Rooms and food were lovely, location was good and view from...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only problem worth mentioning... there’s no bar or drinks service around the pool !!, a vending machine with no prices. Also, you need to remove shoes before entering pool area, that’s ok, but when you leave there’s no where to sit to put socks and shoes back on ?, a bench or even a small wall would have been ok, but nothing (come on Columbus, sort it out).

    Rooms and food were lovely, location was good and view from room very good

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    8.8
    Very welcoming people. Nothing was too much trouble and really enjoyed ourselves
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was very expensive, with coffee and juice extra

    Room was amazing with huge bed. The concierge were fantastic really helpful when we needed a specific medication from the chemist. The valet parking was also good if expensive.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    7.5
    cleanliness and white paint--fresh rooms !
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Suite with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    mattress and mosquito repellant is a must !!! how cud guests sleep with mosquitoes--not done

    cleanliness and white paint--fresh rooms !!! evening liqueor shots with fresh fruits were a treat to get et for evening

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    3.3
    Dina (at the front desk) and the guys working in the bar...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    -No welcome drink - even though water- at check-in provided -The employees need more information about Monaco to supply to the guests because we got at least 80% wrong information. Eg: 1) no cinema in Monaco -we found indoor and outdoor cinema-; 1) dress cose to enter some places and these rules did not exist there 3) we asked for a restaurant with seafood and were told about very expensive restaurants. We found many others with half price and much better. -We were surprised in our check- out the parking wasn’t included in the price of the stay. We should have been informed by the front desk, which should give all the information to the customer, we know that the front desk have to clarify about all the facilities. -We called to ask for someone to pick up the luggage from the room and we re still waiting.

    Dina (at the front desk) and the guys working in the bar were so kind and helpful with us.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    9.6
    Pleasant hotel with good value for price just outside the main tourist region of Monte Carlo
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location was a little far from the main area of attractions, especially for walking in the hot sun, but it was easy enough to get a bus at a nearby bus stop if you don't have a car.

    The bed was very comfortable and the staff very accommodating.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    10
    Good staff, very comfortable beds, nice view, modern and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I would only give a little tiny minus for the not so varied breakfast, it was tasty though

    Good staff, very comfortable beds, nice view, modern and clean room

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    7.1
    The hotel was clean and comfortable and it was a good...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Some of the staff were a little unfriendly and the process for booking taxis was really difficult

    The hotel was clean and comfortable and it was a good location

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    9.6
    Good place
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only the fact that the entrance was partially closed due to renovation work. Oh and also the noise is quite easily comes inside the room.

    The room was comfortable and very good in terms of price. Really nice location in the calm area of Monaco away from the parties and loud people.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    2.5
    worst hotel ever, there is no entrance door of the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    there is no beach and no parking they charge 40 euro parking it s insane never try this hotel so dangerous for your brain and mind sanity!

    worst hotel ever, there is no entrance door of the hotel. you enter the hotel from a restaurant. the personel is very unpleasant and humiliating you. They call you every time to come down for some reasons. I am a Millionaire. I have chosen this hotel since it has a beach. But good news: There is no beach. My McLaren 500k Euro car has been in public parking, it was soo sad. They are against rich people i think. Very very discriminating personnel. Even the developing Arab countries have better service. Breakfast was soo weak. Just some bread and butter. Nothing special. They even did not ask if I would like to have coffee or some drinks. I have paid 500 Euro for 2 nights. I must have gone mad!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    9.6
    Great place to stay in Monaco - value for money was very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    N/A

    Hotel was great for the price paid in this location and the facilities available also. Visited for my birthday and was given a great little cake for the occasion.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2018

    7.5
    Very nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel was under renovation with only access through retstaurant. We had a stroller with baby which we had to bring up and down to first floor. Parking should’ve been organized better since we were told we could just park our car and spaces were tight! But staff came to help us and valet guy was very nice and help us park car and carried our bags up!

    Staff are very nice and helpful. Hotel is nicely located, walking distance to Monaco stadium, shopping center and Monaco-Ville. We had sea views from room with balcony.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    10
    Still Fabulous..
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Building works in hotel not reported or apparent during booking but highlighted clearly by reception staff on arrival, woken twice at 9am on weekdays by building operations underway, halted quickly and efficiently each time by staff without need of reporting.. Mini Bar (fridge) now apparently hooked up to the network meaning, that if you lift a single item it’s automatically added to your bill..! Efficiency? Or lack of trust.. you decide...

    Recently refurbished rooms are well ordered, clean and fresh, superb artworks in room although DC artwork in reception now in ‘storage’ (shame).. view over Roserie is just Outstanding.. quick and simple stroll to extensive amenities on offer in the principality.. Concierge service quick and efficient, admin quick and trouble free, pool not used but appeared well equipped.. overall, an excellent repeat stay.. we will return again.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    9.2
    Great place to stay in Monaco that is close To the center and very peaceful environment
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was perfect for us

    The staff was very very nice. The check-in experience was fabulous. We experienced a few issues during our stay but the staff was immediate to resolve everything and they gave us excellent service and made up for any discrepancies.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    9.2
    This hotel has fabulous spacious rooms with gorgeous views.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is not in the centre though and difficult to walk into Monte Carlo with all the tunnels. Costs a 15 Euro taxi as a flat rate.

    This hotel has fabulous spacious rooms with gorgeous views. The staff were friendly and very helpful, especially the concierge desk.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    9.6
    Fantastic welcome, our bags were taken to our room for us,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fantastic welcome, our bags were taken to our room for us, we were upgraded to a suite, and the valet parking for our car was unexpected but most welcome. Lovely room, with a fantastic sea view. One of the best hotels we’ve stayed in, for both service, location and a good nights sleep.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    8.8
    Good room but horrible stuff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Well let's start of the first incident with the voiturier ( car parking guys) or concierge. At first I was driving passing Columbus when one of those guys was kicking an Ice Cube towards the road. If I would not stop my car he would hit it with that Ice Cube, well he would was kicking it quite high what could lead to a broken front window or a few scratches on my brand new car. Second of all, when I parked my car just outside of the hotel cause there were no one who can come and take care of that well I do understand that is not a five stars hotel. So I parked it and went inside for a few minutes to pick a few things from the room. When I came out that guy was talking to me like I was his friend who stole his money or something. Telling me that I needed to leave the car keys down at his desk. I explained that there were nobody at the desk so I ran passed it. Well that didn't quite convinced him so he started to say everything again about the rules of leaving your keys. Dear Columbus, please write the rules in a big capital letters! In front of your entrance to hang the car keys to the concierge desk, otherwise people like me would suffer from your car parking guys. Thank you. P. S Please teach them manners

    The rooms of the hotel were good. We stayed in the room with the view to the little fountain and some part of the sea. Everything was clean. The rest of the staff were great and helpful. Except the parking or concierge guys I don't care how they are calling themselves.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    6.3
    Dress well to get a decent room at check in
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was meant to be a seaside view. The photos on the site showed a small balcony and sliding doors. Our room only had a small window and no balcony. We complained and initially were told there could be no change. Maybe it was because we were dressed very casual from our long drive. However, after asking for the mgr, we were amazed to be given an upgraded room.

    Location good. Concierge staff very good. Pool good

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    4.2
    Just terrible
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    We booked a sea view room and expected a relax hotel stay with nice view. But we were disappointed when we saw only the sea between the gap. The worst problem is the renovation construction were on going. The laud electric drill noise are spread to the whole building in morning, it woke us up and wasted our relax hotel stay. We talked to the receptionist and she said they cannot do anything, she also mentioned we are checking out on the day and we are offered ear plugs. She excused the information is on their website, but we booked the room on booking.com . We heard the noise even from outside of the building.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    5.4
    Building site
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms where lovely but the public areas where not available as the renovation work was still going in , we paid over the price to stay here yet the manager was never available to talk to. We where NOT told about the renovation work was still going on , we paid over the price a year ago because they said that it would be renovated by the time we arrived this clearly had not happen, I have stayed here many times before but over the years I am afraid the hotel has gone down hill such a shame as a lot of my friends and customers stay here but am afraid I don’t think that will be an option any more. I tired to call many times when I arrived back home to talk to the manager but was never available and never call me back as promised by the staff very sad and dispointing that I had to write this as I waited for a reply from the hotel before rating the hotel but to this day they haven’t contacted me very short sighted, they will make the excuse of the renovation but then they should had informed guests or compensated them ,not even a drink was offered terrible customer service not what I expected at all !!!

    The staff where very helpful in very difficult times considering the place I. The public areas where like a building site

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    5.8
    The room had tiny windows, which is a no go for such a price.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms with tiny windows and no wifi...

    The room had tiny windows, which is a no go for such a price. The hotel just opened and the smell of paint was very dominant. The WiFi was not functional and a lot of works were still going on during operation.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    9.6
    Beautiful place!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Beautiful place! Location is great, rooms are clean and well-designed, friendly staff, lovely swimming pool! Really reasonable price! So much enjoyed our stay at Columbus! Definitely will come back to this hotel

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    9.2
    Phenomenal! I hope to visit again some day!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately, they had quite a bit of construction and I wish they did it later in the day.

    Where do I even start? We arrived before check-in time and they took care of our bags and gave us access to the pool. Later, they brought our bags right into our room. The location is great and close to many restaurant options. The shuttle was extremely helpful in going to the train station and visiting some of the tourist spots. The hotel is beautiful inside and the room was one of the most comfortable that I’ve been to. I highly recommend getting a room with a balcony of you get a chance.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    9.6
    I loved the renovation and most of all i love the location...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Maybe the are a understaff at the reception. One single person operating the phone, check outs, check ins and daily tasks appear to be too much, and this influences the quality of service delivered at the desk.

    I loved the renovation and most of all i love the location and the cleaness. it is the perfect spot. Fontevielle is my favourite part of MC.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    10
    A great quiet location right by the Old Port with some really great resturants right below!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    At times, during the rain the staff would not let you enter where the Valet stood thru the garage to take the elevator up to the reception....they made you go allthe way around......which we complained about!!!! Second time it occurred, a woman staff manager from the reception angrily tried to prevent us from going that way, the way they were going up to the reception area,we werein evening attire......but finally after some firm convincing from me she said ok. Finally.....terrible shampoo and NO creme rinse!!!!

    Everything.......All was just great😎 The water view from the room was fabulous! Even in the midst of the renovation....all was accomplished with the guests in mind! The dinner meal was great. Nice breakfast Very friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    2.5
    Terrible hotel! Construction in progress!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel just started a major reconstruction! I was staying there at the end of May 2018 , just a few days ago, hotel was dusty, dirty and noisy! I terminated my stay earlier! Don’t be fooled by the lower price they offer, this hotel must be shut down!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    5.8
    Not my cup of tea.
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    They seem to have a problem with clean linens. They say they want you to feel warm and welcome, yet they have a "tactile" minibar (that means if you touch something in the mini bar, you are automatically charged). How much contempt do you have for your guests with something like that installed?

    The staff was okay and I had a nice view.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    9.6
    A top choice in Monaco, at a relatively reasonable price point. Ask for an upper floor!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No problems, only good experiences.

    Modern hotel with modern finishes, including things like bedside USB ports, no need for power converters. Good location if a bit south, but plenty of top dining options within 4-5 minute walk. Train station about 10 minutes away if walking. Concierge was very helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    7.5
    The property has been under renovation and the works have...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The property has been under renovation and the works have over run. Considering that the price of a room were about three times normal because of the Classic F1 we were disappointed. We asked and obtained a reduction in the room rate.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    4.6
    Really poor.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Given second(maybe third!) class treatment compared to the other customer checking in. Noisy building work going on next to my room. Extremely overpriced for what it was even by Monaco standards.

    The location is ok, once you get there.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    9.2
    Very pleasant
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some employees didn't speak English, beverages from mini fridge were unreasonably expensive.

    Room was a decent size, recently renovated so modern furniture and TV, blackout curtains, big sliding doors and a beautiful ocean view. Has a public swimming pool. Room service was surprisingly nice and good value.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    4.6
    Inacceptable. The hotel / elevator is actually being renovated. It was impossible to sleep because t
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Inacceptable. The hotel / elevator is actually being renovated. It was impossible to sleep because the elevator sounds where so loud that you could hear it in the complete hotel. Its obvious that the hotel manager knew this issue but nevertheless sold the rooms for highest price! Its close to betray!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    6.7
    Enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Did not use the restaurant or bar area as rennovations taking place, small unattractive reception area

    Nice clean room with friendly staff and beautiful view

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    8.8
    Very good given the refurbishment issues.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Difficult to judge as the hotel is in the midst of a major refurbishment but once complete will no doubt be back to its former glory. The lack of a restaurant (other than breakfast) is a negative.

    Rooms comfortable and staff very helpful. Location excellent for my meetings.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    3.8
    Crumbling infrastructure. When you book a view it means backyard view!
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    When i booked via booking.com. Room suppose to have a view, main reason for booking. I was explained that view is onto the backyard. Insult to any basic intellect. Crumbling infrastructure. I don't recommend, avoid. It is better pay more and stay somewhere else.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2017

    10
    The room was super clean, the staff was very friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was super clean, the staff was very friendly. We had dinner in the restaurant of the hotel because it was Christmas Eve, and the dishes were delicious.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2017

    2.9
    Would not recommended if you're going to Columbus for your honeymoon or leisure. Very bad experiene
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel under renovation. Very noisy during the day.. front desk staffs were not helpful with requested information and caused unnecessary and inconvenience in planning for travel to Porto fino.

    Nothing great.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2017

    4.6
    It was disappointing for such a highly rated place
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They didn't tell us they're doing renovation. Throughout the stay, there were water leaks in the room, telephone didn't work in the room, heater broke on the last night. Oh, and their extra bed is not comfortable and was placed in a corner where the heater doesn't get to.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2017

    6.7
    Very central and facilities good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was work going on in the hotel with drilling and banging very close to the room from before 0900 in the morning to 1800 at night, no chance if a long lie in!!

    Everything was good in regards to the hotel facilities etc nothing to dislike.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    2.5
    Don't book if you want to be in the room between 9-17
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There should be a warning about the huge renovation going on in the hotel (at least until Mai 2018). According to the check-in it is in EVERY room (I tried two totally different rooms) and from 9 in the morning until 5 or 6 in the evening (or today even a bit earlier) there is drilling noise that is unbearable. I would feel way to guilty as a hotel to offer something like this without warning.

    If you leave the room early and come back late it is quite okay. A bit old / used (the mattress + the bathroom + "wood furniture") but okay if you just want to sleep there. When this doesn't matter for you the price is one of the best in Monaco!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    7.5
    Very nice and professional staff at the reception.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Repairs at the hotel, quite noisy, would expect discount price which was not the case

    Very nice and professional staff at the reception. Spacious room, confortable bed.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2017

    5.8
    it was a nice hotel, but as advised the fact that they were reforming dropped the quality a lot.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the fact that they were reforming from 0900 until 1800 with a horrible noise, impossible to stay at the room. I dont think you can charge 100pct when these kind of works was ongoing

    it was good breakfast and nice staff

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    3.3
    The hotel was undergoing renovations, which it clearly...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was undergoing renovations, which it clearly needed, lots of noice. The room was warn down, and the AC was leeking. High price for a low standard hotel.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    10
    Great stay!
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There is a refurbishment going on, they started work at 8.30! In fairness it wasn't that big an issue but.......

    Really enjoyed the very chilled out lounge area! We were given an upgrade to a suite without asking!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    4.2
    It was clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were building works (and will be for 8 months they said) and we weren’t informed in advance. There was loud drilling we could hear from our room from 9am until 6pm every day. For one whole day the hot water went off and at other times the water came out of the taps a dirty brown. The staff were indifferent to this and offered no compensation. The a.c. Was feeble and noisy. The “sea view” was mostly of other people’s apartments with a sliver of sea. The pool was small and shared with a huge apartment complex; not really part of the hotel. This hotel is a very long way from Monte Carlo. All of the drinks , snacks and meals were extortionately expensive. The cleaners left an envelope in the bathroom expecting a tip. We thought we’d get luxury but we were disappointed.

    It was clean. The bed was comfy and the tv was good. There was a fridge. There was a free shuttle service around Monaco, however this was infrequent.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    5.4
    Reception staff lovely to deal with.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not an ideal area for a quick walk to restaurants or bars. €15 for a 2 min taxi ride through the tunnel to the marina was a bit shocking. The hotel has a shuttle for certain hours but last one is at 6pm so no good for dinner.

    Reception staff lovely to deal with. Room was spacious although the carpet was threadbare in some places.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    10
    Great sea views and friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The parking is 25$ per night and the spots in the garage are very narrow (although this is probably common in Monaco, where every square cm is precious). On the flip side, the staff offered to park the car for us every time we need it.

    Probably the most friendliest and professional staff we've seen. Great views, although we didn't have a balcony. Nice interior garden and pool. Delicious breakfast, especially because of the perfectly cooked crapes and soft croissants.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    5.0
    The hotel was going through renovations which caused a lot...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel was going through renovations which caused a lot of disruption to the stay and this hotel mentioned it but didn't accommodate for the noise which was disappointing. The rate paid was also expensive for what it was.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    5.8
    While there the hotel was in the process of renovation, so...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast served is more resembling a cheap Italian hotel claiming to have more stars than it deserves, than a decent hotel in Monaco. For the money it should be on par with something more....and the 10 o’clock deadline is punched hard by the restaurant staff, as if there is no tomorrow. One comment: C’mon!? Greay to have parking within the hotel - but the price for it brings tears to your eyes.

    While there the hotel was in the process of renovation, so hope is that next year when all is said and done it will be much nicer. Staff was nice as ever, and the location is just excellent.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    4.6
    Liked the hotel and location was ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was very tired and worn out Thread bear carpets, sink was cracked, walls marked and looked dirty Parking was expensive 35 Euros a day

    Liked the hotel and location was ok

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    6.7
    good value for money compared to other hotels in Monaco and the local prices
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No drinks in the lobby in the later evening; medium service quality of staff in the bar

    Good location (sea around the corner; bars and restaurants as well as shopping mall just a few minutes away; easy to reach by taxi, airport bus (less than 10 min to the bus-station) or heli) Room of a good size

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    5.0
    interesting but never come back to this hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    looks very cheap inside with dirty carpet Charge me for parking low qoualite wifi extremly expenses for the value of offer far away from room to the sea

    position

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    9.6
    Amazing Hotel Service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff are very courteous and helpful. Patrick the Chief Concierge even recommended great art museums in the Riviera. Our Shuttle driver was very pleasant.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    3.3
    Full payment was required upfront when making the booking...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Full payment was required upfront when making the booking but felt overpriced for value of accommodation and facilities upon arrival, despite the pleasant pictures advertised online.. Construction/refurbishment works where taking place during my stay, however no warning of this or any information was made available prior to arrival or even whilst checking in. The first room I was given was directly connected to the external scaffolding so the builders had a rather intrusive view of my room whilst the curtains were open. I reported the discrepancies with the room immediately to reception however they refused to guarantee a replacement room. It wasn’t until I posted images and comments over social media that another room was made available the next day. No discount or partial refund was offered as a gesture of good will for the inconveniences caused. My booking was for a total of three nights and bottle of champagne was left in the room which was appreciated. However, I did not open it as wasn’t really going to sit there drinking on my own.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    4.2
    Monaco great, the Columbus not so.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unattended lobby. Grubby carpet up to reception. Cracked basin in the room. Difficult to open window. No tea making facilities. Toilet loose. TV remote u/s. Shabby room. Carpet worn. Very poor value for the price (200€)

    Friendly reception staff.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    5.8
    Disapointed in Monte Carlo. Certsinly not value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    For the price carpets thread bare. Water presure too low. No evening dinner menu on display? Car parking at 35euro per night?

    Breakfast too expensive ate locally.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    7.5
    Generally really good we didn't actually stay in the hotel much
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Uncomfortable pillows, carpet, bed cushions shabby. No in room tea / coffee making facilities. A bit more decor to brighten would be nice No face flannels in bathroom

    Location, balcony, view Good furniture in bedroom Hotel style good but needs refurb, lots of wear and tear

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    5.4
    did not expect top luxury for 250 a night in Monaco but fell short of the price paid
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was no mention of the 35 euro charge per night for car parking Dated rooms for the price charged. Hotel took 100 quid from my card in case of use of the mini bar, still awaiting them to pay it back

    Comfortable room sea view was nice balcony good shower nice and powerful

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    8.3
    Decent place and friendly staff but a weak pool and lobby with no after work drink options on site.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lobby lacked a bar and restaurant. There are no good places to congregate for drinks. The pool layout is strange with limited space to go for sun. Also, there was no pool service for food or drinks.

    Nice location close to various restaurants, bars, etc. Friendly staff and very helpful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    10
    Huge potential!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The constant drilling during the day due to building alterations; breakfast choice could have been better.

    The apartment was fabulous, the staff were really helpful and friendly and the pool was superb!

    Stayed in September 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hôtel Columbus Monte Carlo traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: