Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Ani 3 stars

Borka Talevski 5, 1000 Skopje, Macedonia

#98 of 115 hotels in Skopje

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 189 hotel reviews

6.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    6.4

  • Comfort

    6.2

  • Location

    8

  • Facilities

    5.7

  • Staff

    8

  • Value for money

    6.8

  • Free WiFi

    6.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 53

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    4.6
    Dirty, noisy, way below the expectations.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hygiene was disappointing, shower was broken and there was no shampoo. I could hear all the noises produced in all rooms and floors of the facility. The towels were old and rough. They could have offered at least breakfast to improve the overall image.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    4.0
    Never again, don't fall for the cheap price as you may regretted later when is too late as I did
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was nothing to like, the place is there just for commercial reasons to earn some money quick and that's it as for service what service, there is nothing there at all at 10 PM the place is closed so you have a key to go in from the side door and that's it, the first day there was only one towel in the room and I had to ask tor a glass as there was nothing in the bathroom, as for any soaps and shampoos in the bathroom it was a joke, there was a small half used bottle of liquid soap for hand washing and that was it, so you have to use that if you have shower or buy one yourself the choice is yours. Yes it is cheap but there was reason why it was cheap I made mistake and I paid for it but if someone read my review should think twice before chooses this hotel. Finally if I was offered to stay there for free I can assure you I wont be taking the offer, sorry to be negative but that's the way I feel.

    Unfortunately, absolutely nothing.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    6.3
    Rooms were nice and clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bathrooms was quite old and very small.

    Rooms were nice and clean. Overall for that price it is quite good option, especially if you are booking it 1-2 before your trip.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    4.2
    Brrrrrrrrrr...never again!!! They should put real pics of hotel in Booking.com
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything! Brrrrrrrrrr...hairs everywhere??? Shower blocked by long disgusted hairs&terrible smell? Beds full of dust&blonde&black hair, not cleaned or vacuumed for years maybe? Sheets with disgusting brown marks...brrrr i dont want even to think again of it. I complained to a cleaner and she was so sorry&nice to me but the room was still horrible with dirtiness&terrible sewige smell. No even soap for hands? Shampoo didnt exist. Just shower towel, no hand towel. My pics can show u better how my rooms looked alike. Fleas?!?! I cant prove that by pics.

    Nothing! I regret totally!!! I choosed this place for a good location for me, but it was drama for all other options.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    10
    Perfect price/performance ratio
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi could have better performance sometimes.

    Perfect almost center location for awesome price. Nice cosy Old school atmosphere of the hotel. Very helpful staff at reception. Late checkin.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    9.6
    Excellent location, with clean rooms, friendly staff and perfect parking situation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very nice and friendly staff. Although the hotel is very central and in about 15 minutes walk close to the city center, the neighborhood is absolutely quiet and safe. It offers perfect price value. The car is parked safely. Perfect stay for a city trip.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2016

    4.6
    Staff was nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    First of all, we paid 33€ per night per double room (december 2016), without breakfast. This price ir too expensive for this kind of hotel in Skopje. You can get a much better lodgement for the same price. The bed is uncomfortable, bad and old mattress. The bathroom is uncomfortable and narrow, toilet seat cover doesn't stay up. You can't throw paper to the toilet. Don't have neither plugs nor light switches next to the bed. Only 2 towels for 2 people (where do you stand your feet when you go out of the shower?), first day they didn't even cleaned the room or changed our towels. No hair dryer in the room (they lend us a mini hair dryer when we asked one). All room is old and narrow, old bed, old toilet, old interior, old carpet. Wifi works poorly. Breakfast costs 5€ (you can eat a good breakfast in any bakery for 2€). Very bad value/price. It would be ok if it costed half its price.

    Staff was nice. Location is good, next to several local restaurants and a nice local pub, and near to the city center (15 minutes walking distance).

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2016

    9.2
    comfort and good price
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly,anđ obliging staff,particularly the lovely,Daniela.Possibly the shower and bathroom could be ungraded and modernised?But all said was very clean.Would stay agaiń....

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2016

    2.5
    Not advisable
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    According to the reservation I had to pay a certain price for one night, all included, but the receptionist charged me three euros more. No reason at all for that: she cheated on the price charging a wrong change in my credit card. I asked her why but she gave no explanation. She gave me a room without any soap, shampoo and showergel. While in the booking it was written 'room with a view', the only view from the window was a horrible, dirty place behind the hotel. Worse than that, the air in the room was totally unbreathable: there was an unbearable smell from the outside and from the toilet. I was obliged to ask for another room. The receptionist gave me another room which was better but there were no heavy curtains on the windows so, if you sleep there, you will wake up as soon as it clears outside.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2016

    8.3
    Fair place near the city center.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    When we booked, the room was for 5 people, but when we went, we are offered a room with 3 beds. We were with 2 chilren, 5 and 7 yrs old. It was a last minute booking. Anyway we accepted the deal and stayed for one night. It was already late.

    Place feeling safe, just opposite of an embassy. Silent, but near the city center. Good for sleeping, and rest. Parking is free on the street, next day we were able to visit the city, leaving the car on the parking place. (Near the old town parking is trouble, you have to send SMS to somewhere, and if yuour phone is not working like ours, your car will be locked in the parking place and pay penalty.)

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2016

    3.3
    Not recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The accommodation was not clean. Never changed our garbage, towels or sheets within the week. Very unaccommodating staff.

    Location was convinient and within walking distance to the city center and old market.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    7.9
    Location is very convenient.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    During the booking I missed that the facility is pet friendly. Having dogs all around is not the best experience for me.

    Location is very convenient.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    8.3
    The hotel was a short walk to Macedonia square.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel was a short walk to Macedonia square. The man at the front desk was very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    7.5
    Cool and good
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nema dorucak

    Centar grada

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    5.8
    Not so clean.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not so clean. Could have provided some more cleaning products in the toilet.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    6.3
    Old building with old facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Old building with old facilities

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    6.7
    The internet was very bad.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The internet was very bad.hot water was not always there.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    8.8
    Hotel ANI well done
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing at all

    It was a budget hotel but couldn't do enough for us it was great

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    10
    safe and quiet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very safe and quiet neighborhood. You can return from the city center by foot in the evening.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    3.3
    I don't recommend anyone.I could take shower because of cleanliness
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Nothing

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    2.5
    The hotel was more beautiful in the picture.
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything

    Nothing

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    5.0
    Toilet!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Toilet! Noise from the outside of the nearby restaurant fan from early morning.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    6.7
    Staff, location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No hair dryer, tea/ coffee making,shower needs update great location, good service

    Staff, location

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    6.7
    Friendly atmosphere, free parking and excelent location,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not very comfortable room.

    Friendly atmosphere, free parking and excelent location, just 10 mins away from City Center

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    10
    Nice hotel,everything wos good
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything is good

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2017

    8.8
    Excellent location near city and with fair price
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing I could put my finger on.

    The location, the price and the free parking.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2017

    9.2
    Nice wi-fi
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nice wi-fi Close to city centre Not 5 stars, but good for thise price

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2017

    7.5
    Bathroom is in a poor condition in a room that I was in.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom is in a poor condition in a room that I was in.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2016

    9.2
    great value deal!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    great value deal! quiet/clean/warm and downtown, close to everything! would come back again for sure.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2016

    5.0
    Towels like paper no air cond no phone no cubicle shower no shampoo soap bed is good
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No a c no phone

    Location

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    5.4
    this is hotel not for busness people.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Comfort, cleanliness, wi fi was almost absent.

    Kind staff, an owner and staff were very polite

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    7.9
    Perfect for a cheap short stay, nice staff, central.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms were not in the best shape.

    The staff is really great, very nice and gave us helpful advise.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2016

    7.9
    Cheap basic room.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Basic breakfast not worth 5€... Almost no Internet connection!

    Cheap basic room.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2016

    6.7
    Average
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The wifi was not working well. The staff don't speak good English. There is no elevator. No soup in the toilet.

    Location. Value for money.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2016

    7.5
    Staff simpatico e disponibile
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff simpatico e disponibile

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2016

    8.8
    Close to city center.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Close to city center. The owner was helpful! Quiet location!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2016

    8.3
    Very good value for money!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very good value for money! Friendly and helpful staff :)

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2016

    9.2
    Made to feel really welcome throughout my stay and helped in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Would have been nice to be able to buy breakfasts and snacks/meals as there were plenty of tables chairs in the lounge area to have offered this.

    Made to feel really welcome throughout my stay and helped in anyway they could. Would defiantly recommend.

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2016

    4.2
    location, close to the city center
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Old interior, old toilet, old bed (did not have a good night sleep at all), no wifi, very low value for money

    location, close to the city center parking in front of the hotel

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2016

    8.8
    The staff was very accommodating and friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Only problems were with the bathroom. The toilet didn't always flush properly, and the shower could use some updating (nozzle mount broken and doors don't close). The floor got a bit wet, but it wasn't a big deal.

    The staff was very accommodating and friendly. The room was comfortable, with two twin beds, a wardrobe, and a desk. There were extra blankets, but they weren't necessary because the room was very warm for January! A previous reviewer complained that the bathroom has a sign saying not to throw toilet paper in the toilet, which is standard throughout the country. We found the bathroom to be nice and clean, only a few minor problems. The location is okay, about 10 minutes from the center, depending on how fast you walk. If you take a taxi there, be sure to clarify that you want Hotel Ani, not Villa Ani, which is elsewhere in town. All in all, a nice room, and you can't beat the price!

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2015

    7.9
    The room was very clean, and they cleaned it every day;
    • Solo traveller

    there is no night light, in order to turn off the lights you must get out of bed and go to the other end of the room

    The room was very clean, and they cleaned it every day; big comfortable bed, the bathroom was old, but also very clean, the staff was very helpful; the hotel is in a walking distance from the center and the Stone Bridge -about 15 minutes, the neighbourhood is very quiet

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2015

    7.1
    Very friendly and helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Almost no water on the 3th floor - and the water that did reach had two states - burning hot or cold A bit noisy due to the pub next to the hotel

    Very friendly and helpful staff Great location - walking distance to the center Pet friendly Parking space

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2015

    9.2
    Our flight arrived very late and so we just wanted a bed for...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The shower was tatty-the breakfast was very basic but OK for one night. We followed the very kind Hertz guy in our hire car....it would have taken us a lot longer on our own.

    Our flight arrived very late and so we just wanted a bed for the night-the night staff were very helpful-and so were the day staff,so it suited us fine. The room was clean & comfortable.

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2015

    4.2
    Free Wi Fi
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I don't mind basic hotels, but the standard of this hotel is really poor. Uncomfortable bed, shower door that does not close, and sprays water all over the floor, toilet that does not take toilet paper, Air conditioning that did not work, TV remote that does not work unless you are 1 yard from the TV, and curtains that do not cover the windows fully. Towels,and pillows were average at best. Worst thing was the member of staff who ripped us off. We asked him if we could use the hotel phone to call a taxi, he let us use his mobile and then charged us 50 denars for a 1 minute phone call. Location was good, but overall a very disappointing stay.

    Free Wi Fi Like to point out the one Lady who worked their in the mornings was very friendly and helpful.

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2016

    7.9
    location, friendly staff
    • Solo traveller

    no wifi in room, breakfast was just satifactory

    location, friendly staff

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2016

    8.3
    the service, the silence
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    one bed lampbulb was broken

    the service, the silence

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2016

    10
    Super staff, very friendly and helpful, good price over...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    location a bit hard to find

    Super staff, very friendly and helpful, good price over quality

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2015

    6.3
    Staff were very helpful and friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The shower

    Staff were very helpful and friendly

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2015

    7.1
    Great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    a bit too expencive and they overcharge for laundry!!

    Great location!

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2015

    5.0
    Personel perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bathroom, bed and cleaning.

    Personel perfect.

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2015

    6.7
    Staff was really kind and helpful.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Some renovation would be needed in the bathrooms.

    Staff was really kind and helpful.

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2015

    7.5
    The young guy looked after us well
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Nothing special, and difficult to find.

    The young guy looked after us well

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2015

    9.6
    Made to feel very welcome.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Made to feel very welcome. Excellent English and good breakfast

There are also 34 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 53

Guests also reviewed these properties: