Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Germanoff House 4 stars

Car Samuel 57, 6000 Ohrid, Macedonia

#26 of 95 B&Bs and Inns in Ohrid

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 163 hotel reviews

9.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.3

  • Comfort

    8.7

  • Location

    9.7

  • Facilities

    8.6

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    9.2

  • Free WiFi

    7.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    9.2
    A very central apartment with an amazing view of the lake
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom - it would have been nice to have had shower instead of a bath with a shower hose as was difficult to stand up as the ceiling was too low

    Clean towels every day and the croissants were a really nice touch

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    9.6
    Fantastic view, the interior is authentic and good, the room...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Piano Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bad was not very good but ok

    Fantastic view, the interior is authentic and good, the room was large and the piano was so good, and the balcony is large enough for everything :)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    7.9
    Nice, no-frills place to stay in the centre of Ohrid old town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Piano Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked for 5 and the room was for 4, so we had to pay for an extra room. The property was described as a hotel but it’s more of a guest house.

    It was nice and clean and the view from the piano room was divine. The location is great.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    9.6
    The place is great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The place is great! Host is very friendly. Room with terrace is a perfect place to relax, drink morning coffee with lake view in the sun. House is located in the old town, close to the lake, monuments and restaurants. It was really enjoyable stay.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    6.7
    Good location but very small room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was very small - not much bigger than the size of the bed. We could not find out how to get into the property and had to rely on the help of a neighbour. The room was ok for one night, but I wouldn't recommend it for any longer.

    Spacious bathroom

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    8.8
    Real meaning of perfect is this house.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No kitchen if you want to cook.

    Just in the middle of city centrum. Really perfect lake view for top floor from balkony. Comfortable big rooms. You can wash your face in lake while swimming in the morning.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    9.2
    Wonderful town, very nice people, beautiful view of lake Ohrid
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The AC unit worked well but it was very old and noisy. The noise was also inconsistent so it made it a bit difficult to fall asleep. They should fix them or change them. The second night, we decided to open the windows but there was music coming from the beach, probably from bars and/or people having a good time. It wasn't very loud but you could hear it well. Also, the streets are very narrow and the property is a bit difficult to get to. Parking is on the street right in front of the property. We were parked literally right in front of the door so that our car didn't block the road. I understand the owners live in that building and they reserve a spot for their guests but if you leave and come back (and someone took your spot), or if there's another guest that has a car, I'm not sure what they do (I think they look for another parking spot in the streets nearby). That was not an issue for us though.

    This property is very well located, very close to Potpeş beach (pronounced Potpesh), Tsar Samuil's fortress, the ancient theater and Jovan Kaneo church, in the heart of the medieval city centre. It is not a hotel (no reception, restaurant, common area). We had the entire third floor (2 rooms), with one bathroom for both (outside of the rooms). One room had a very nice balcony with a view of lake Ohrid. It is owned by a family. The son seems to be in charge of greeting guests and tending to their needs. They are very nice people and they make it easy to communicate with them if you need anything (you can simply knock on their door and they come right away, or you can call them). We stayed for 2 days and had plenty of things to do without feeling the need to drive anywhere. This was our favourite place in Macedonia.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    9.6
    Great view of Ohrid Lake in old town below the castle.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Piano Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great view of Ohrid Lake in old town below the castle. It is also so close to the center. Special thanks to owners who helped us while the streets were closed.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    10
    Everything was perfect!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was perfect! Germanoff House is located in great place in Ohrid - the centre of an old town, but in a quiet street, very close to the beach. The double room isn't big, but has a nice view and very big bathroom including towels, hairdryer, shampoos and shower gels. The standard was like in good hotel with every day towel changing and room cleaning. What's more, every day we had crossaints supply :)). There was also air- conditioner, which is crucial in this region, TV, fridge, kettle - everything you need. We didn't expected such a quality for this price - it's realy a hotel standard. The hosts are nice and helpful, the owner helped us a lot. Higly recommended!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    10
    A timeless destination with old world charm and world class service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Piano Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing to dislike. We only wished we had more time to spend at Germanoff House.

    The staff at Germanoff House were phenomenal. From regular and clear communication, easy and accurate driving directions though the beautiful labyrinth that Ohrid is, to ensuring all of our expectations were exceeded. They personalised their service to our needs and went above and beyond to help us retrieve some property we lost at Sv Naum (an hours drive from Germanoff House) through their own selfless and tireless efforts. I cannot recommend the accomodation any more highly.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    9.0
    Our last three days were in the so-called Piano Room: large,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We arrived around 10 pm local time (plane was late). Germanoff House in total darkness (though of course we had a booking). Knocking on the door and ringing 'Reception' bell had no effect. We stood outside with our cases, feeling ridiculous. Eventually I managed to rouse someone who spoke English in the house opposite, who very kindly got someone (the owner's granddaughter?) to let us in - all this took over half an hour. We were shown into a v poky (if cheap) little room, with nowhere even to put our things exc. in the bathroom. But next day - moved into the fine 'Piano Room'! see above. The owner is kindly, but doesn't speak any Western European language, and isn't brilliant at basic arithmetic (she spent hours trying to tot up our bill, given uncertain exchange rates!). They don't take credit/debit cards, despite what it said on our booking form. Everything is reckoned through euros - we weren't warned of this. WizzAir was in several ways pretty rough-and-ready, though of course cheap...

    Our last three days were in the so-called Piano Room: large, well-furnished, with a nice balcony overlooking the lake (art-deco wrought ironwork). A few basics provided to make a breakfast - otherwise, one could go next door (Villa Santa Sofia) and pay. A quite exceptional room, and inexpensive: 60 euros a night, but we got a discount to 50, thanks to a phone talk with the owner's English-speaking grandson. Well located in picturesque Old Town - quiet, but close to harbour etc., and 'New town' with shops.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    9.2
    This is a small privately owned guest house set on a narrow...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This is a small privately owned guest house set on a narrow cobbled street right by the centre of Ohrid. The upstairs apartment is spacious and the balcony offers beautiful views of the lake.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    9.2
    Clean and spacious room with lovely view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Piano Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We would have liked proper tea and coffee making facilities and some utensils to prepare a simple plate of fruit or bowl of muesli.

    The room was spacious and clean, lovely balcony, view fantastic.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2017

    10
    Mesmerising view of the Ohrid Lake and very spacious and beautiful room
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This was not my first stay in Germanoff House. I frequently travel to Ohrid and once I found this house I do not want to stay elsewhere. Located right in the old town, in perfectly restored house very near the main square and a stone away from St Sophia Church. I usually have a double room, I like it very much, but this time I got the Piano Room. It was absolutely fantastic. Very spacious room with a large glass doors to the terrace. And the view was mesmerising. In Ohrid having the view of the lake is the best you can do for yourself. I can not tell what time was better to sit in comfortable armchairs on the terrace and sip coffee. Early morning, when sun was raising or at sun set. Even during night the view is beautiful. There is a flat screen TV, but with such a view I did not even turn it on. There is a water cattle, tea and coffee bags so you can make a hot drink at any time. Plus croissants for the morning. Bathroom is rather large and you can move freely without stepping on anything. Spotless clean, very cosy and very nice hosts. One more thing: In the old houses in Ohrid there is frequently the smell of mould or you can feel stale moisture in the air. Here you can relax, clean, fresh and dry air is everywhere. When they restored the building they obviously made a very good job. Next time, I will book Piano room for sure.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    9.6
    Bijou, very nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only to have on display the Internet, the kettle leaked so could do with replacing

    Great location,small room but bathroom made up for it, management were great and very quick to respond

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    9.6
    Nice stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    None

    Centrally located, beautiful villa with the breathtaking view of the lake, very friendly host, Mr Zoran, who also arranged for us a transfer to Berat. Would love to come back again

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2017

    10
    Warm room in very cold weather really matters
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I stayed in a small double room for two nights. The room is not very big due to the large king size bed, but it was very comfortable. The bathroom was rather big with two big windows. WI FI was strong. It was the second time that I stayed in the same room. As I travelled with friends we all stayed in different villas and had different experiences with our accommodation. I was lucky to stay in Villa Germanoff as the heating was fantastic. Everybody else was cold in their rooms in other houses. As in January and February it is rather cold in Ohrid excellent heating was a great asset. As winter is a low season most houses for rent did not invest in heating system, so guests have to heat their rooms with airconditioners, which is not enough. Villa Germanoff had not only the airconditioning, but also proper heating system. If you are coming to Ohrid in winter season this is the very best place to stay. If I return to Ohrid I will certainly stay here.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2017

    4.6
    Although I had a reservation for this house, I was told that...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Although I had a reservation for this house, I was told that it was not possible to stay there when I arrived to Ohrid. They sent me an e-mail only two hours before my arrival time. They said that I could stay in another house nearby - which had a smaller room, smaller bed and less options. In addition to this scandal, the guy at the other house asked for more money - which was totally unfair!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2016

    7.1
    Disappointing but still good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    When we arrived, we found out that the owners are away and just left the key with a girl from a neighbor restaurant, with insufficient level of English, that just wanted to give us the key and take our passports - that is irresponsible. They should at least let us know before we arrive. The day after, a nice old lady came with no knowledge of English at all. The room was very small and the "Private parking" that was promised is just a place on the side of a narrow street - very scary for rental cars. Overall, we were very disappointed.

    The place is clean and the value for money is good.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2016

    9.6
    Hidden gem of affordable accommodation
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Building work right next door we could hear, but honestly did not affect our stay as all screened off and apart from noise was unobtrusive!

    Not expecting breakfast, so the prepacked chocolate croissant was a pleasant surprise and a good start to the day. First impression on arrival at night is "Oh my god where are we going, is it safe" but to be honest it does feel safe and even though it is up a cobbled/slabbed back street, it is perfectly central and everything is within an easy walking distance. We upgraded the first night to the top floor with balcony - very spacious and beautiful views us bathroom has a bath. This is perfect for families as two big double room and bathroom. Shower is hand held over bath tho. Our remaiming two nights we returned to our smaller room with huge bathroom, big shower but no bath. No balcony and cosy. Although cheap the service and comfort was excellent. Planning to book the Piano room for next visit.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2016

    8.8
    Room with a view....
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Piano Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed is REALLY hard! Obviously we all have different opinions in beds and the host can't please everyone, but this was like a park bench!

    Excellent location, charming and informative host. Huge room, nice balcony with beautiful lake view, serviced daily, decent shower, hot drinks facilities, really enjoyed our stay.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    10
    The perfect place to stay in the heart of Ohrid
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The host was extremely friendly and helpful. He personally collected us from the airport and dropped us off again, and was so knowledgeable about the local area. The apartment was in the perfect location in the ancient part of the city, on a charming cobbled street, and the apartment itself was beautifully presented, clean and spacious. The view from the terrace across the lake was breathtaking and we felt completely at home from the minute we arrived.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    9.6
    My family and I stayed for 4 nights at the top apartment.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was too soft for me....

    My family and I stayed for 4 nights at the top apartment. The view from the balcony was amazing. Rooms were spacious, comfortable and very clean. Highly recommend staying here.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    7.9
    Nice rooms in a good location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Arrival and departure were a bit difficult as there is no reception. Booked room was rather small and had no view. Ask for the piano room overlooking the lake of Ohrid.

    Nice appartment house in good location in the old town of Ohrid. Restaurants and the harbour are just a few steps away. Very friedly owner.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2016

    9.2
    Great location and value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The air-conditioner in one of the rooms had to be switched off during the night due to the noise it was making. There is a bath tub with a hand-held shower but no screen or shower curtan, so the floor gets quite wet.

    The best thing about the villa is its location. Being in the old part of Ohrid it is within walking distance to many of the attractions. The beach is a couple of minutes walk. Restaurants and various shops are within a short walking distance. We booked the apartment on the top floor, which comprises two separate double rooms and a shared bathroom. One of our rooms had a magnificent view of the lake, beach and church St Sofia. Sitting on the balcony watching the sunset over the lake was magical. The other room was a bit smaller with no balcony. The staff member we interacted with was polite and helpful. We arrived before check-in time and although the room was not yet ready, we were provided with the room keys, permitted to leave the luggage in the room and use the bathroom to refresh. Free parking in front of the villa was a bonus.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2016

    8.3
    The hotel is cute and well located, but the room I stayed in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I was not happy that when I arrived I was not explained anything, only placed with a demand for my passport to keep. It was not until 24hrs after check in that anything was explained to me.

    The hotel is cute and well located, but the room I stayed in was very small with the toilet basically right next to the head of the bed (obviously in a separate room). This is uncomfortable if there is more than 1 of you in the room. The staff were very nice and apologetic about feeling a bit misled about the balcony (which is for only some rooms).

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2016

    9.6
    Magnificent lake view!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Piano Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked the piano room because our daughter likes to play the piano. Unfortunately it was way out of tune so it wasn't a pleasure to play/listen.

    The lake view was magnificent! The room was big with a nice big bathroom. We have 2 children aged 15 and 11 and we felt there was plenty of space for us in the "piano room".

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2016

    9.2
    A very friendly and helpful host.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was a bit noisy at the weekend because of clubs and discos nearby.

    A very friendly and helpful host. Really close to a beach. Nice view from the balcony.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    9.2
    A romantic room in an ideal location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Piano Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The moldy spots in the bathroom could use a little extra scrubbing ;)

    This place is perfectly located in the old town close to everything. Our room was clean and spacious with a nice balcony that overlooked the water. We would definitely book here again.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    10
    Perfect lake view, clean rooms and friendly staffs.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect lake view, clean rooms and friendly staffs.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    9.6
    Lake views
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It can be difficult to drive to

    Excellent location in the old city, great owners who are willing to help

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    10
    Perfect location for exploring the old town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect location for exploring the old town. Zoran the host of the villa was great, very helpful and hospitable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    9.6
    Amazing room with an amazing view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Piano Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amazing room with an amazing view. Would definitely go back.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    9.6
    Very good location and extremely kind staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very good location and extremely kind staff! Thank you for making our stay so wonderful!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    5.8
    No Wi-fi and no staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wi-fi is not working totally. Owner of the hostel is not in there so nobody interested with us.

    Hostel is close to the center and clean.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    8.8
    Cosy room with a nice view and perfect location
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Piano Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Best location, super friendly ...I would go back!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    9.2
    Pleasant stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not available breakfast

    View

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    8.8
    Perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Piano Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    -

    Beautiful view and everything closeby

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    10
    Perfect stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Piano Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was perfect

    The view from the bacony is amazing. Big living room! Nice bathroom

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    7.5
    Clean rooms, central location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower was leaking at the time, can be noisy at the street

    Great location, clean room

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    9.2
    The magic of Ohrid.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    No issues all good.

    Great view from the balcony & super location. The host was really friendly and helpful as well.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2017

    8.8
    Great property | great location | great staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Zoran, the owner, is a great guide and the true value added of the place (which is in any case a great place in a great location).

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2017

    10
    One of the most wonderful stays I've ever had. And I traveled 105 different countries.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Piano Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Location,location, location and a view. What else do you need?

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2016

    10
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    excellent location and accommodation! Zoran the owner is simply kind and expert!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2016

    8.3
    Cozy small room, unfortunately loud construction work next door.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Construction works in front of the house caused a lot of noise.

    Nice cozy room, small but two persons can manage.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2016

    10
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Piano Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Beautiful, spacious room (we had the piano room), friendly owners, great location in the centre of ohrid, amazing view over the lake

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2016

    8.3
    Excellent location, comfortable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    towels smelled a little musty

    location was excellent

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2016

    8.3
    Great location, really friendly people.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Great location, really friendly people.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2016

    9.6
    Great location and nice comfortable rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location and nice comfortable rooms

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2016

    9.2
    Lovely location, very friendly owner, beautiful Town,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely location, very friendly owner, beautiful Town, delicious food.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2016

    4.2
    Good view from the balcony
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Having booked a double bedroom apartment, upon arrival we were faced with two separate bedrooms with joined bathroom. Of course the owner was no where to be found to explain the whole situation and since it was Easter holiday we didn't have a choice but to stay in the one room with two small children. Also we were planning to pay by credit card as it is stated on Booking, but at the end it was not possible so we had to pay in cash without a receipt of course. Definitely we will not be coming back, nor we would recommend this place to families.

    Good view from the balcony

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2016

    9.6
    Located in the charming old part of the town with several...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    They don't have an actual reception, which made communicating with the staff a bit clumsy. But through the internet it all worked out nicely.

    Located in the charming old part of the town with several good restaurants near by. At least my room had a splendid view over lake Ohrid.

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2016

    9.2
    The villa's location is just at the center of historic...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Air conditioner

    The villa's location is just at the center of historic downtown. We got the up floor with a great lake and the city view. FYI, top floor has two rooms belonging only to you. The bathroom is between these two rooms. Rooms and the bathroom were very clean. The owner was a wise person. You can enjoy listening him anything about Ohrid.

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2016

    10
    Due to renovation, we were moved to Vila Dea.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Due to renovation, we were moved to Vila Dea...an excellent hotel. We loved the lakeview from the balcony, the room and location. The short distance from old city was perfect for enjoying a walk by the lake. We enjoyed our stay there a lot!

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2015

    10
    Great piano apartment with the view of the Ohrid lake!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Great piano apartment with the view of the Ohrid lake! Situated in the heart of Ohrid, clean, spacious and comfortable - very good place to stay. The host is nice and helpful. Theres a place to park your car. Definitely recommend!

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2015

    9.2
    A small and good hotel with very good aspect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    By the Booking description it is possible to pay with Visa/Mastercard; we asked it the previous evening just in case, the answer was "yes", but finally they didn't accept the card-payment. (It was especially annoying, because in the evening we withdraw denars for the dinner - so this "misunderstanding" duplicated the banking fees.)

    A small and good hotel with very good aspect.

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2015

    6.7
    Located in the old part of town and wonderful to be able to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    we did not get the balcony room as booked but ended up with a cramped bedroom and oversized bathroom

    Located in the old part of town and wonderful to be able to walk everywhere

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2015

    10
    Very charming place, in the heart of Ohrid, with a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very charming place, in the heart of Ohrid, with a beautiful view over the lake. Sweet and friendly host. Clean and comfortable. Very good breakfast. Highly recommended!

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2015

    7.9
    Well located and a nice room (Piano Room)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Neither an apartment nor a hotel. But the owner provided things like a plate and wine glasses when we asked Parking very tricky.

    Well located and a nice room (Piano Room)

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2015

    10
    We had the top rooms for one night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    We had the top rooms for one night. Nice place, nice rooms, nice owners! Fantastic balcony with a spectacular view over lake Ohrid. We will come back...

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2015

    7.9
    The Owners are really nice, as well as the view.
    • Couple

    Limited parking space as it is in the old city. Also the room description is misleading, so the Piano room (Klavierzimmer) does neither have a bathtub nor a filled up Minibar or windows and doors being soundproof. So the music from somewhere in the city or the sounds from the staircase might disturb. Please be aware in case you intend to book the advertised apartment, this is not a closed apt. The apt is actually two separated double bed rooms and a shared bathroom with bathtub, that are all accessible from the hallway in the upper floor, which means if you book one of this rooms you might share the bath in case the other room is also occupied.

    The Owners are really nice, as well as the view. Breakfast would be in a next door Hotel, as they are not allowed to serve. The Owner reserved us a parking spot in the street just in front of the house.

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2015

    10
    My boyfriend and I had an extremely pleasant stay with the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    My boyfriend and I had an extremely pleasant stay with the Germanoff guest house. It's run by Zoran and his son, and they're the most welcoming and helpful people I think I've ever met! They are on hand next door if you need help with anything. We booked the piano room which is very spacious, clean, comfortable and has good facilities (the shower is lovely!). We booked it mainly for the view you get from the balcony. It's stunning! The location seriously couldn't be better. You are a 1 minute walk from amazing restaurants and the lake where you can get lovely boat tours and water taxis to all your favourite places! The prices reflect the time of year obviously and we headed there in June, just before the peak season. Even at it's to price, his accommodation is seriously good value for money and I can't recommend it enough. We will definitely be coming back! Thank you to Zoran and his family for welcoming us and ensuring we had a wonderful stay!

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2015

    9.2
    The owner is so nice and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    I've had a problem when making the booking via booking.com. It has been resolved without creating much trouble thanks to the owner.

    The owner is so nice and helpful. He tried to arrange everything for the guests to be comfortable. The view of the room is breathtaking.

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2015

    7.9
    The calm, the view, the good location in downtown
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room had no bathroom and the one on the floor had to be shared with another room. There was no window or fresh air facility in the bathroom.

    The calm, the view, the good location in downtown

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2015

    9.6
    Superb location in the old town of Ohrid.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Lack of a window in the bathroom, hard to control the temperature (out of season).

    Superb location in the old town of Ohrid. Very nice view, comfy bed, lots of space.

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2015

    8.3
    The view was superb.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The place was freezing at night. We definitely needed more covers. Hauling suitcases up steep, cobblestone alleys could be a chore for older people.

    The view was superb. Staff was very accommodating and helpful.

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2015

    7.9
    Good location, satellite tv, cheap laundry service (1 euro...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Be clear that the cheaper double room we booked online was not the room pictured- the pictured room is the Piano Room (which is stunning).

    Good location, satellite tv, cheap laundry service (1 euro per item, underwear free)

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2016

    10
    Incredible location, proprietor provided amazing service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Incredible location, proprietor provided amazing service. Beautiful property right in the old town.

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2016

    7.9
    Nice location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    During the night might be a bit noisy, if your room is just above the street.

    Nice location. The Old City is always a go. Awesome.

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2016

    9.6
    Everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No parking space as mentioned and shared bathroom as not mentioned for our room

    Everything

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2015

    10
    Located in the middle of the old town.
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Located in the middle of the old town. Very friendly owner who can give you all the information you want.

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2015

    10
    Excellent location, excellent value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Excellent location, excellent value. Stayed in the double room which has no view, however the room is bright, clean and a bargain

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2015

    10
    everytink, very nice poeple,
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    everythink was perfect

    everytink, very nice poeple,

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2015

    8.8
    Location and friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Location and friendly staff

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2015

    10
    Excellent location - in the heart of Ohrid Old Town!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Everything was perfect!

    Excellent location - in the heart of Ohrid Old Town! Fabulous view from the terrace. The piano room is huge and luxorious.

There are also 20 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Germanoff House traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: