Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis
  1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. Myanmar hotel reviews
  3. Yangon Region hotel reviews
  4. Yangon hotel reviews
  5. Reviews of Merchant Art Hotel

Reviews of Merchant Art Hotel 4 stars

67/71, YayTarShar Lan Thit, Bahan Township, Bahan, 11221 Yangon, Myanmar

#43 of 241 hotels in Yangon

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 831 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    8.4

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    8.2

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    8.4

  • Free WiFi

    7.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more- opens a dialog box
Write a review

Showing 1 – 75

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2019

    10
    Friendly staff and well-located.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Art Concept Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    How slow the drain system in the bathroom is. When you have a shower and the water doesn't go down immediately, there's becoming a flood in bathroom and the water is just everywhere.

    The location is really close to Shwedagon pagoda in which you can just walk there. You can also view it from the hotel's rooftop bar and restaurant. I quite enjoyed the traditional Burmese breakfast they serve there. The staffs are friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2019

    9.6
    Good location and amazing views to Swedagon Pagoda from the...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Art Concept Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast is good but during the peak hours it becomes a bit caótica, staff is not very responsive.

    Good location and amazing views to Swedagon Pagoda from the roof bar. Nice and comfortable room.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2019

    8.3
    The staff were so lovely.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Art Concept Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was very smelly, but if you shut the door you couldn’t smell it in the room.

    The staff were so lovely. The view from the roof is wonderful and a beer at night with the sun setting is such a great way to end your day.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2019

    8.3
    Good Hotel with good Locations
    • Group
    • Art Concept Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    staff was so so but some of them are nice and help us for changed pillow or can give us for breakfast on last day that we leave hotel too early and they gave us for free breakfast with take home .. so i didnt expect this much

    i like the room very clean and good locations too and we like breakfast its so good and nice rooftop to see good view with Shwedagon pagoda and i would back to stay in this hotel again

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2019

    8.3
    Nice stay in Yangon
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Art Concept Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Like 99% of Asian small hotels, the shower is "open" in the bathroom.

    Very nice and clean hotel, very well located. The terrace bar is very nice to see the big pagoda drinking some beers and relax. The room was spacious and clean.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2019

    8.3
    The Sty has been very comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Art Deluxe Double Room without Window
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Forget about the breakfast.

    The Sty has been very comfortable. The hotel is situated in walking distance to the Shwedagon Pagoda. A Drive from/to the airport is about 7000Kyat and its 2 km to downtown. The room was clean although it hat an uncomfortable smell on arrival. the staff was very friendly but did not understand everything i asked. Shower and WFi worked fine. would i come back here? yes.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2019

    8.3
    Nice stay, great location and rooftop view, beautiful art display
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Art Concept Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our bathroom did not have a shower space, which means the bathroom floor was totally wet after showering. It can be a bit noisy from the surrounding neighbors as the hotel is close to other buildings.

    Very good location near Shwedagon pagoda, with a great view from the rooftop bar. The bed was comfortable, the room is spacious. Breakfast quality was excellent with lots of choices (buffet + menu with variety of choices for on-demand eggs or sandwiches) We loved the art displayed in each level, especially the art on level 5 - beautiful colourful paintings between the rooms doors. The staff is nice & helpful. Great value for money (we stayed 1 night).

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2019

    5.8
    Not the best
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Art Concept Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not sure how rooms are prepared but there was no towel in the room plus water didn't go down from the shower causing a flood in all bathroom. Not how u want to start your stay in the hotel. Be careful when u are dinning in roof bar. During checkout I have been asked to pay for things which I have not ordered. things were not part of the bill which I got in the roof bar. Also has been asked to pay for what has already been paid in the restaurant.

    Breakfast ok quite some choice incl fresh fruits and veggies. Close to shwedagon pagoda.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2019

    8.8
    location is good, close to Shwedagon Pagoda, but not many...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Art Concept Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    very old and poor local buildings outside of the window, but i guess that's normal in the city. waken up by birds in the early morning

    location is good, close to Shwedagon Pagoda, but not many good restaurants nearby. nice and helpful staff. breakfast is not bad, enough choices. amazing rooftop. lights and view, it' perfect

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2019

    8.3
    The staff, like in other places in Myanmar tries to be very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Art Concept Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We expect more from the roof bar and in reality it was much worse. On the photographs they made a photomontage and put nice trees in the place of ugly buildings which you can see from there. The Shwedagon Pagosa alsi can bee seen but not so spectacular as expected.

    The staff, like in other places in Myanmar tries to be very helpful and is very nice. Although, they dont speak very good English. Breakfast was good with variet of products and things made on demand like salads, omelettes and sandwiches (sandwiches not so good).

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2019

    6.3
    Location and staff is good need to clean the bathrooms properly. It is smelly.
    • Group
    • Art Deluxe Twin Room without Window
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bathroom is really smelly and bed sheets seems to be dirty. May be it washed but not comfortable and we lay our bed sheets over it. Two people stay in the room. We like tea. They only keep one tea packet/day for two people. Not sure why.

    Staff is very nice and helpful. Breakfast is very good. In night beautiful to see the Pagoda from the roof top

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2019

    8.3
    Comfortable Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Art Deluxe Double Room without Window
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked a no window room but got an upgrade. Beds were very comfortable. Also, we had an early morning flight and the staff packed us breakfast in a box. We booked it for the location near the temple but we ended up not going, only sleep between fights.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2019

    8.8
    Nice hotel with beautiful paintings on the walls.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Art Concept Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nice hotel with beautiful paintings on the walls. The room was spacious and comfortable. Good breakfast buffet with the possibility to order, at no extra costs, many things like eggs, waffles, etc. The hotel is very close to the main Pagoda,

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2019

    9.2
    Nice view over Shwezigon Pagoda from the rooftop!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Art Concept Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No other real attractions around - to get to Sula Pagoda a (cheap) taxi might be needed.

    Nice view over Shwezigon Pagoda from the rooftop! Good restaurants nearby.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2019

    4.6
    the location is near the pagoda, thats good beacuse you can...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Art Deluxe Twin Room without Window
    • Stayed 1 night

    the terrace, that seems in pictures to be great, was in reparation and the view wasnt like the pictures! We felt very disappointed. the restaurant in the roof top didnt work during the day! very cheap, but we wont come back!

    the location is near the pagoda, thats good beacuse you can go walking, but definitly the neighbourhood is not nice at all.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2019

    5.8
    Lost opportunities in a potentially good environment.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Art Concept Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was really basic and poorly appointed and lit. If they only put as much design effort into the rooms as much as they did putting “Art” on the walls of the corridor, they might have provided a far better guest experience then they did...In the end, ‘hip’ paintings on corridor walls do little for your guest experience. No power outlets to speak of (One in our room), , no accent lighting, just those awful, high Kelvin LED ceiling cans with the whitest of white coloration, no end tables, no cabinets, no hot water heater or cups/saucers. and no chairs to sit. The bath was extraordinarily bad; when you took a shower, the entire bath, mat and sink got t;otally wet and very slippery. Look, I’m an Architect, with much hospitality design experience, who knows it takes no more effort to design space with comfort and creativity, then it takes to design something bad...it just take foresight and understanding of what guests need and appreciate....doesn’t have to take a lot of $, just creative experience. Regarding other F & B experiences, tTe rooftop restaurant’s food was disgusting as the furniture, lighting and appointments was beyond bad. i.e. Chicken Rollups with ham and ‘Seaweed’(!) I spit it out as it was revolting. Again, it doesn’t take much to make that rooftop view work for you; but, it does take some creative design and cooking initiative.

    Breakfast here was pretty good, with many options offered for all to select from.. Actually, the breakfast was the most redeeming factor in staying here, aside from its close proximity to to Shwe Dagon Pagoda. Only complaint was that more fruit could be offered for people like me who need to avid carbs.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2019

    6.7
    The room quite big and clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hot water system not working properly and the power suppler it cut off make the air conditioner in the room not work during the night . The roof top bar need more attention. You get billions view from pagoda but the place not look nice and welcoming. The floor I stay still renovating and the painting left on the floor it not look tidy at all . For me and my family we not be back this hotel for sure sorry but it not what you post in booking.com when we make a reservation.

    The room quite big and clean

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2019

    9.2
    What more can you ask for ?
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Art Concept Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very difficult to fault but I didn't eat the breakfast,very light continental type but hey one man's meat etc .

    The staff were exceptional. The rooms beautifully decorated. The comfort and quality were about as good as it gets for that price range. Is there any more I can say really ?

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2019

    10
    Very comfortable stay in a great location in Yangon
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Art Deluxe Double Room without Window
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms aren’t huge.

    Great location near shwe Dagon pagoda. Roof terrace with great views. Hot shower and air con. Good breakfast spread with lots on offer.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2019

    7.1
    Bom café da manhã e o atendimento do hotel nos agradou,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Art Deluxe Twin Room without Window
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Localização a atração principal da cidade, porém sem nenhum outro atrativo próximo, lugar é muito feio e sujo. Yangon de uma maneira geral deixa muito a desejar para o turismo.

    Bom café da manhã e o atendimento do hotel nos agradou, atenciosos, fizemos o early check in, pois chegamos às 10:00 do aeroporto.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2019

    7.5
    Nice location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Roof top could be easily improved. Breakfast on the roof top could be better.

    location is nice, french speaker staff at front desk, quiet room with nice view.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2019

    7.1
    Very friendly staff, great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Art Deluxe Double Room without Window
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room smelled because of neighboring smokers, bathroom was wet all over the place because of the shower and breakfast was mediocre

    Very friendly staff, great location!

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2019

    10
    Amazing breakfast buffet.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Art Deluxe Double Room without Window
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Amazing breakfast buffet. I absolutely love it ! Great location with extremely awesome neighborhood. All staffs are super friendly and helpful. I wish I could stay there longer. I'll stay at Merchant Art Hotel again if I have a chance to return to Yangon. Vote 5* for this incredible hotel. Highly recommend !

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2019

    9.2
    The location was great , breakfast fab .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Art Concept Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location was great , breakfast fab . Stuff very helpful and polite always... the view of the Shwedagon Pagoda from the roof top restaurant was fabulous. The only problem ( and an recurrent problem in Burma ) was the lack of a shower box ( or similar) in the tiny bathroom which result in the unpleasant flooding every time you had a shower. If not for this , the Merchant would have been perfect.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2019

    8.8
    Welcoming staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Art Concept Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    From the window of our room we could see nature-rich scenery, which would be great if it wasn't mixed with a lot of trash. The rooftop is really nice at night but disappointing during the day. It needs some improvement.

    Welcoming staff. They speak good english. Nice and spacious room. Rooftop has beautiful views at night.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2019

    7.5
    MERCHANT Art Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Art Concept Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    In a built area,so can be noisy with outside windows 3 percent charge on using credit card Paying in local currency is higher than what the dollar rate is paid at.

    Breakfast amazing choice great service Great service at desk and concierge Wi-Fi generally good Location good to Shewedagon pagoda

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2019

    8.8
    Our stay here was excellent!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Art Concept Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I can’t think of anything.

    I thought that breakfast was really good, a good variety of Asian food and euro breakfast. Y’all had cooked veggies and fresh ones too! And the night view on the roof top was excellent!!

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2019

    10
    Great base to explore Yangon
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Art Deluxe Double Room without Window
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The roof area wasn't so nice during the day. Laundry was expensive.

    The staff were brilliant and helpful. The location was fantastic very close to Shwedagon and a short ride from everything else. Rooms were very clean and the artwork makes the stay even more enjoyable.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2019

    10
    Nice , friendly and fantastic location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Art Concept Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom ...( it seems to be a burmese problem) there were no separation between toilet and shower and no Shower box.The little curtain isn't enough to avoid the bathroom flood after each shower

    The location , the view from the terrace restaurant,the friendly stuff, lovely breakfast .Good rooms

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2019

    10
    Inspired deeply by Myanmar Culture
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Art Concept Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location of Merchant Hotel was perfectly situated. The staff were incredibly personable and friendly. The hotel had modern ammenities and the best rooftop view in the city. The Myanmar culture was an incredible tribally diverse experience. On the streets you can buy a bird and set it free. In gratitude and loving kindness, it is culturally respectful to offer flowers for prayer in the pagoda and a donation to assist for the care of the nuns and monks of the pagoda in an envelope. An enriched Buddhist experience that will open your heart and mind.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2019

    10
    Lovely staff and very helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Art Concept Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower takes time to drain bathroom floor stays wet for a long time.

    Lovely staff and very helpful. Good breakfast with good optiona for vegetarians/vegans.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2019

    9.6
    Overall a really good experience, high value hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Art Concept Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It smelled a bit weird in the room (from the toilet) when we moved in. It was fixed the day after. The rooftop could use a pool to be even better. The restaurant is not the best at lunch/ dinner, but you can eat anywhere else In Myanmar!

    The breakfast was really good! Basic stuff on buffet, and then they made eggs and pancakes on order! Also they arranged a late check-out for us, since our bus went late in the evening, which was much appreciated. Very good location, close to the pagoda. Overall, a really good hotel

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2019

    8.8
    Amazing breakfast: the menu on request was very nice and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Art Concept Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I would like to find a bar on the rooftop garden, where to drink or have a snack in the eventing. To improve the shower in order to not flood all the bathroom.

    Amazing breakfast: the menu on request was very nice and complete. From this location was easy to reach several landmark of the city.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2019

    8.3
    Convenient atms outside.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Art Deluxe Double Room without Window
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The serenity of the rooftop can be slightly ruined by electronic hum from kitchen equipment

    Convenient atms outside. Staff very nice. Bed was very comfortable. Overall a good stay

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2019

    8.3
    Very nice and helpful staff as well as a great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Art Concept Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The shower drain was not working very well and the quality of the breakfast could be improved

    Very nice and helpful staff as well as a great location. Good value for money.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2019

    8.3
    Thank you for your warm welcome.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Art Deluxe Double Room without Window
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sometime the water will become dirty, but it is OK, I can drink bottle water.

    I receive a warm welcome, the receptionist here are very nice and patient, they help me booking day tour and excharge money, wonderful custom service, thank you.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2019

    10
    Cost effective
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Art Deluxe Twin Room without Window
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing I can think of

    Nice and helpful staff; easy check in and check out; good location within walking distance to the main tourist attract - the biggest pogoda.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2019

    7.1
    The view of the pagoda from the roof is not Photoshopped.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Art Concept Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    None of the hotels that we stayed at had memorable breakfasts but this was different. The selection looks ok but when you start eating it goes bad. The pancake needed a steak knife to cut! Both scrambled and fried eggs and where cold. It looked like they cut the meat off the bacon and served the fat. The "juice" wasn't fruit but sugar, colouring, and artificial flavour. None of Bain-marie where warm so all the food you'd expect to be warm was room temperature.

    The view of the pagoda from the roof is not Photoshopped. It is hot when the sun is high but the sunsets are nice. If you don't take you art to seriously then the hallway decorations will give you something else to smile about on your ins and outs. Shwedagon and Kandawgyi are only a short walk but down town Yangon is a bit of a trek. The door staff where very friendly and helpful with directions, taxis, bags, ......

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2019

    9.2
    Nice Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great location for the Shwedagon Pagoda visiting it is very near .We get up early morning to visit ,we can get nice picture of sunrise with Shwedagon Pagoda after that back to hotel for breakfast .

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2019

    10
    Wonderful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Art Concept Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything. Good location, very close to schwedagon pagoda. Good staff, very kind, possibility of reservations (bus, taxis and many more) nice rooftop

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2019

    7.9
    The property is close to Shwedagon pagoda.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Art Deluxe Double Room without Window
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom has no separate zone for shower and toilet.

    The property is close to Shwedagon pagoda. The staffs are very nice. They can speak english and we can exchange money at the hotel.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2019

    7.5
    It is a nice hotel with a friendly staff and good breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Art Deluxe Twin Room without Window
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No windows in the room.

    It is a nice hotel with a friendly staff and good breakfast. My only complaint is for $35.00 I got a room without a window. I can’t even remember staying at $30+/night hotel where they offered rooms without windows.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2018

    8.3
    nice place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Art Concept Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    would need more variety on breakfast.

    localisation near Shwedagon Pagoda, clean room, very good laundry service (price, quality and quick). rooftop bar,

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2018

    7.9
    Good Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Art Concept Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We first wanted to book a room without a window but decided to pay the 10$ more per night to get a room with a window. Waste of money though! Our view was out onto a back alley and on all the AC's from our and other rooms. So we might as well have had no window at all. Also the food at the restaurant wasnt really worth the money. I had a pizza and it looked like they just heated up frozen pizza.

    Staff was nice and friendly. Our aircon wasn't working in the beginning so we called the concierge and the problem was fixed within 15min. The beds were very comfortable and the room was clean.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2018

    9.2
    Really close to the tourist sights.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Art Deluxe Double Room without Window
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really.

    Really close to the tourist sights. Hotel was very clean and had a great breakfast, tons of things to choose from. Shower was awesome. Staff was great and very willing to help.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2018

    10
    Amazing hotel with great rooftop views!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Art Concept Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only one thing - when you shower, the whole bathroom floor becomes wet, as there is no separated space for shower.

    Everything is super new and clean, beautiful design. The view from the rooftop is great and just as the photos show - I wish we had more than one night so we could have a dinner on the rooftop. The hotel staff is very helpful - they let us download and print a document using their computer and also gave us a later check out! The breakfast has enough food options, must try their delicious pancakes! The room was spacious and comfortable. The location is minutes away from Shwedagon Pagoda. We wanted to have lunch before going there and the hotel recommended us a place next door called Jana Mon Ethnic, Mon Cuisine - we loved every dish!

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2018

    10
    Great stay in Yangon
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Art Concept Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Very nice hotel within walking distance to the Shwedagon Pagoda. Room is large and clean and great bed! Breakfast was fantastic!! Staff friendly. Great view from the top! Highly recommend.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2018

    8.3
    Nice Rooftop Bar with view to shwezigon pagoda.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Art Deluxe Double Room without Window
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tiny room and now I windows.

    Nice Rooftop Bar with view to shwezigon pagoda. Also location of hotel is superb to walk to a lot of sights. Room was tiny and had no window, but it was clean. Breakfast was great!

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2018

    6.3
    Staff and service were great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Art Concept Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No separate shower area in toilet in standard rooms. Had to upgrade to much more expensive room (additional usd40 per night) to get a separate shower/bath tub area.

    Staff and service were great.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2018

    5.8
    A budget backpacjing hotel close to shwedagon pagoda
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Art Concept Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room pictures looked better on booking.com than what the room is in reality. so the expectation was set wrong by booking.com

    The. lose proximity to the shwedagon pagoda

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2018

    9.2
    Close stay to Shwedagon with good comfort.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Art Concept Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was small, but sufficient. The roof top bar was not in use and seems to be deserted (just nice view to Shwedagon Pagoda, but places to sit)

    Great location next to Shwedagon, rooms are clean and breakfast offers some options.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2018

    9.6
    Great location with rooftop view for see Shwedagon pagoda.
    • Family with young children
    • Art Deluxe Double Room without Window
    • Stayed 1 night

    It have a the cigarette smell in the walkway and near the elevator.

    Great location with rooftop view for see Shwedagon pagoda. Hotel is very clean and good facility. Staff can speak English and willingness to support.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2018

    8.3
    friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Art Deluxe Double Room without Window
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    slightly on the expensive side given that it’s not exactly located downtown (but perfect location for a visit to the Shwedagon Pagoda - 10min walk)

    friendly staff

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2018

    9.2
    Cleanliness is exellence.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Art Deluxe Twin Room without Window
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower and toilet is not separate. When you finished shower all room wet and I afraid my mom slip-on the bathroom floor. Good luck she is not.

    Cleanliness is exellence. Good service.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2018

    6.7
    Was ok but I wouldn’t stay here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Art Concept Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bedrooms are very uncomfortable. Shower is located over WC without any basin. So after taking a shower you can’t really use the flooded bathroom and it gets very dirty. We finally paid double price for a suite just to have a proper bathroom. No view from windows. Breakfast is very messy and limited. (S. Picture)

    Close to the temple Shwedagon with a view on it from hotel’s roof. Can have a dinner (ok quality) 6-10pm on the roof too.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2018

    9.6
    A great stay in a great location.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Art Concept Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast were not an event. But that’s all.

    Perfect location, 5 min walk from the Shwedagon Pagoda, on a fairly quiet street. Rooms are perfectly clean and always smell nice, and silent - we had the room with window. The beds are very comfy and the rooms are spacious enough for you to work in and also to do yoga. The terrace lacks a little atmosphere, but has a beautiful view of the pagoda and a pleasant breeze at night which is a great plus for a hectic town like Yangon. Overall we had a very good stay.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2018

    9.6
    It was very clean, the staff was amazing, really nice lovely...
    • Family with young children
    • Art Deluxe Twin Room without Window
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    great place to stay and we loved it.

    It was very clean, the staff was amazing, really nice lovely rooftop view of the pagoda. the restaurant on the roof was very cute and staff was lovely but it was a bit expensive for dinner, and food wasn’t very good, better for a drink with family or friends. Artwork was beautiful we especially liked the interactive paintings very creative. Our kids loved it!!

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2018

    9.2
    Ideal location for historical and local Yangon!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Art Concept Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast could have been better.

    The hotel was in an amazing location, only ten minutes walk from the shwadagon pagoda - which is a must-see!! The rooftop was lovely at night for a cold beer and the staff were super friendly. Bed was v comfy. Overall, excellent value for money and comfortable.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2018

    8.3
    It is close to Shwe Dong.
    • Solo traveller
    • Art Deluxe Twin Room without Window
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food in the restaurant is not so good but very expensive i.e. the normal rise in other restaurants 500 kyats and here 3000 kyats...

    It is close to Shwe Dong. Hotel is modern and clean.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2018

    6.7
    Quite spacious rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    For me the actual rooms and facilities at the hotel were worse than from the pictures. Expected something more cosy and modern. Quite disappointing breakfast in a very weird room. Nice idea of the rooftop bar though very strangely and cheaply set up

    Quite spacious rooms. Hotel has a roof top bar Nice idea with the art/ pictures.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2018

    8.3
    Location is good, staff was nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Art Deluxe Double Room without Window
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The terrace isn’t as great as it looks at the photos, breakfast is quite limiting / portions are small. Staff was kind but didn’t speak very good english

    Location is good, staff was nice

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2018

    7.5
    Good deal
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Art Deluxe Double Room without Window
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant upstairs doesn’t offer the best food and is overpriced. Laundry prices are also incompatible with everything else we paid for. Cheesy art everywhere, ha.

    It’s a cheap hotel in a city that’s not the most touristic destination so with that in mind, it’s a decent hotel.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2018

    6.7
    clean and great location, not the most helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Art Deluxe Double Room without Window
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Pick up from the airport costed me literally double my other friends as the hotel charges USD20 while if you take a taxi from the airport it costs you USD10. Also the staff are not very knowledgable or helpful when it comes to offering tour services around. I would stay there though for the location and cleanliness but do anything I want outside of the hotel.

    The place has a great location and easy to walk around to check different attractions in the city especially the main pagoda

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2018

    6.7
    Good!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite Concept
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The area a bit dirty, but if you what to be in the heart of living with community then here’s the place to be!!

    Quite central! But I feel not suitable for families, small children that is!!

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2018

    7.9
    I would rate it 7.5 out of 10. Friendly staff, good bfast , clean rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Art Deluxe Twin Room without Window
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Safe box didnt work and never fixed it , roof top closes very early.

    I stayed in the hotel for 2 nights and the people were very nice , great breakfast included, clean rooms, the safe box didnt work thou. I would give a 7.5 out of 10. The location is also good.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2018

    9.6
    The location, the staff, the WiFi and good breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Art Concept Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There’s no division between the shower and the toilet so there’s always a flooding after taking a shower

    The location, the staff, the WiFi and good breakfast

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2018

    7.1
    Only for it was cheap we would not stay there
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Art Deluxe Double Room without Window
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had to move room as first room had two single beds. Room we were moved to was smaller but with a bigger bed. Bathroom smelled in new room. The view was a derelict site

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2018

    9.2
    - Room clean and comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Art Deluxe Double Room without Window
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    - the terrace on the last floor does not look like as shown in the picture.

    - Room clean and comfortable - Staff very professional and helpful - Full breakfast - Good location not far from Schwedagon pagoda

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2018

    10
    The hotel is incredible but the people that work inside are the real secret
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Art Concept Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    - The staff is always at your disposal and speaks very good English! They also help you find out new things to do in Yangon! - Breakfast is really good and for every taste

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2018

    9.6
    Excellent service and value for money
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Art Concept Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the rroftop bar was closed - I think due to the wet weather but not sure.

    Really liked the view to the Pagoda. Beds were comfortable, staff were super helpful and the value for money was excellent.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2018

    10
    Comfortable modern hotel close to Shwegadon Pagoda
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Art Concept Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    While there was no noise from the street - our room faced a green back yard - we easily heard everyone passing bye outside the room door especially suitcases with wheels. Carpeted floors could be a solution.

    Staff was attentive, polite, helped with all requests. The room was spacy, air condition worked fine at all time, a broken kettle was replaced immediately. Extensive breakfast choice.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2018

    8.8
    The restaurant in the rooftop facing the main pagoda in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Art Deluxe Twin Room without Window
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    People at the reception do not speak pretty good English. Also, the shuttle service from the airport was a little expensive ($20).

    The restaurant in the rooftop facing the main pagoda in Yangon. Also, they were very nice letting us to check in early in the morning.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2018

    9.2
    I am very satisfied
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Art Deluxe Twin Room without Window
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff was very friendly and helpful. The place is near a famous temple, so it is comfortable. We had late check out without any fee, it is very kindful.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2018

    7.1
    the staff is very good and friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Art Concept Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the pillow is too soft after sleeping my neck hurt, and the floor cleaner use i very slipery, hope your side can do some changes about this 2 and everything is perfect.

    the staff is very good and friendly. all of them come with a good smile

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2018

    8.3
    Great location next to the Shwegadon Pagoda.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Art Deluxe Double Room without Window
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was a bit disappointed by the rooftop bar/restaurant, they could do much more out of it. But the view on the Shwegadon pagoda from there is really good.

    Great location next to the Shwegadon Pagoda.

    Stayed in October 2018

Showing 1 – 75

We Price Match
We Price Match
Low rates • No booking fees • Find cheaper? We'll refund the difference!